DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-11, filed 10/07/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-7, 10-16, 19-23, and 26-30 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as assertedly being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0304178 Al ("Wei") in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0076873 Al ("Xiao") have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US-20210143886-A1 to Chung.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-11, filed 10/07/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 9, 18, and 25 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as assertedly being unpatentable over Wei and Xiao in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230101379 Al ("Manolakos") have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US-20210143886-A1 to Chung.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-16, 19-23, and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200304178 A1 to Wei et al., from hereon Wei in view of US-20210143886-A1 to Chung et al., from hereon Chung and US 20180076873 A1 to Xiao et al., from hereon Xiao.
Regarding claim 1 Wei teaches…a method comprising: receiving, by a user equipment (UE), reference signals (RSs) on one or more RS resources(P.08 discloses… method of wireless communication includes transmitting a cell-common beamformed channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) resource ), a first RS resource of the one or more RS resources being configured for a first plurality of types of CSI measurement (P.08 and P. 10… transmitting a first CSI report based on measurements of the cell-common beamformed CSI-RS resource, means for receiving a user equipment (UE)-specific beamformed CSI-RS resource from the serving base station, wherein the UE-specific beamformed CSI-RS resource is configured based on the first CSI report, and means for transmitting a second CSI report based on measurements of the UE-specific beamformed CSI-RS resource ); performing, by the UE, one or more RS measurements on the RSs received on the one or more RS resources(P.88 discloses… UE transmitting the measurements … UE 115 triggers measurement logic 1501, stored in memory 282, and executed by controller/processor 280 to measure CSI of the cell-common beamformed CSI-RS resource. The resulting CSI report is generated through execution of CSI report generator 1502, under control of controller/processor 280. UE 115 will then transmit the CSI reports over mobile radios 1500a-r and antennas 252a-r ); but does not teach…determining, by the UE, a first type of CSI measurement from the first plurality of types of CSI measurement based on the one or more RS measurements and a first reporting rule; generating, by the UE, a first CSI report, wherein the first CSI report is generated with the first RS resource used by the UE for the first type of CSI measurement of the first plurality of types of CSI measurement; and reporting, by the UE, the first CSI report.
Chung teaches… determining, by the UE, a first type of CSI measurement from the first plurality of types of CSI measurement based on the one or more RS measurements and a first reporting rule; generating, by the UE, a first CSI report (P.403 discloses… receive the CSI related configuration information (step, S1210). In addition, the processor 1421 control the transceiver 1423 to receive a reference signal for a CSI measurement (step, S1220). Furthermore, the processor 1421 may generate CSI (step, S1230). The CSI may be generated based on a CSI omission rule. For example, the CSI omission rule may be configured/defined based on methods 1 to 3 described above. The CSI omission rule may be differently configured depending on the reporting type and part of the CSI. The CSI omission rule may be configured by considering a priority of the multiple base stations),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wei by incorporating the teachings of Chung because the method and device allow for various modes of sending and receiving to the UE indicating one or more reference signal resources and configurations CSI related configuration and rules determined based on type of CSI, part of the CSI, priority information, or information from base station (Chung, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Xiao teaches…wherein the first CSI report is generated with the first RS resource used by the UE for the first type of CSI measurement of the first plurality of types of CSI measurement; and reporting, by the UE, the first CSI report(P. 34 and 59 );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wei by incorporating the teachings of Xiao because the method and device allow for various modes of sending and receiving to the UE indicating one or more reference signal resources and configurations also report configuration that include IM, and a few others (Xiao, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 2 Wei, Chung, and Xiao teach…the method of claim 1, Xia teaches…wherein the first CSI report comprises a first channel quality indicator (CQI) value derived based on the first RS resource used by the UE for the first type of CSI measurement(P.41 discloses… The UE calculates each CQI based on the indicated CSI-RS resources and CSI-IM resources, and the eNB assumes the UE does not perform UE side interference or CQI adjustments ).
Regarding claim 3 Wei, Chung, and Xiao teach…the method of claim 1, Xiao teaches…wherein the one or more RS resources comprise one or more ports, and each RS resource of the one or more RS resources comprises at least one RS port of the one or more ports(P. 24 and 45)..
Regarding claim 4 Wei, Chung, and Xiao teach…the method of claim 1, Wei teaches…wherein the one or more RS resources are one or more non-zero power channel state information-reference signal (NZP CSI-RS) resources configured as a NZP CSI-RS resource set (Fig. 8 P. 75).
Regarding claim 5 Wei, Chung, and Xiao teach…the method of claim 1, Wei teaches…wherein the first plurality of types of CSI measurement comprises a type for channel measurement associated with a first transmission hypothesis/scheme, a type for channel measurement associated with a second transmission hypothesis/scheme, a type for interference measurement, or a type for muting(P. 59 discloses..interference measurement as follows…. Interference measurement in class A reporting may include one CSI-interference measurement (IM) resource per CSI process. The UE may report rank indicator, and CQI, as well as PMI, which consists of a first PMI corresponding to the parameters (i.sub.11, i.sub.12) and one or multiple second PMI corresponding to the parameter, i.sub.2).
Regarding claim 6 Wei, Chung, and Xiao teach…the method of claim 1, Wei teaches…wherein the first type of CSI measurement is a type for channel measurement associated with a first transmission hypothesis/scheme, a type for channel measurement associated with a second transmission hypothesis/scheme, a type for interference measurement P. 59 discloses……. Interference measurement in class A reporting may include one CSI-interference measurement (IM) resource per CSI process. The UE may report rank indicator, and CQI, as well as PMI, which consists of a first PMI corresponding to the parameters (i.sub.11, i.sub.12) and one or multiple second PMI corresponding to the parameter, i.sub.2), or a type for muting.
Regarding claim 7 Wei, Chung, and Xiao teach…the method of claim 1, Wei teaches…wherein the one or more RS resources and the first reporting rule are associated with a CSI report configuration(P. 90 discloses… A-CSI trigger will request a single CSI reporting according to the following rule. If both the UE-specific and cell-common beamformed CSI-RS resources are transmitted on the same subframe, the cell-common beamformed CSI-RS resource may be used for A-CSI reporting. If the most recent UE-specific and cell-common beamformed CSI-RS resources are separated by less than or equal to K subframes,).
Regarding claim 10 Wei teaches…an apparatus comprising (P. 175 discloses the apparatus): a non-transitory memory storage comprising instructions (P. 94); and one or more processors in communication with the non-transitory memory storage, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to perform (P. 145-147): receiving reference signals (RSs) on one or more RS resources(P.91 discloses…UE 115 begins sending CSI reports for the detected CSI-RS resources at subframe n+4 after receiving the CSI-RS resource at subframe n. Thus, after UE-specific beamformed CSI-RS resource 1200 at subframe 0 ),, a first RS resource of the one or more RS resources being configured for a first plurality of types of CSI measurement (P.08 and P. 10… transmitting a first CSI report based on measurements of the cell-common beamformed CSI-RS resource, means for receiving a user equipment (UE)-specific beamformed CSI-RS resource from the serving base station, wherein the UE-specific beamformed CSI-RS resource is configured based on the first CSI report, and means for transmitting a second CSI report based on measurements of the UE-specific beamformed CSI-RS resource ); performing one or more RS measurements on the RSs received on the one or more RS resources(P.88 discloses… UE transmitting the measurements … UE 115 triggers measurement logic 1501, stored in memory 282, and executed by controller/processor 280 to measure CSI of the cell-common beamformed CSI-RS resource.); but does not teach… determining a first type of CSI measurement from the first plurality of types of CSI measurement based on the one or more RS measurements and a first reporting rule: generating a first CSI report, wherein the first CSI report is generated with the first RS resource used by the apparatus for the first type of CSI measurement of the first plurality of types of CSI measurement; and reporting the first CSI report.
Chung teaches… determining a first type of CSI measurement from the first plurality of types of CSI measurement based on the one or more RS measurements and a first reporting rule: generating a first CSI report(P.403 discloses… receive the CSI related configuration information (step, S1210). In addition, the processor 1421 control the transceiver 1423 to receive a reference signal for a CSI measurement (step, S1220). Furthermore, the processor 1421 may generate CSI (step, S1230). The CSI may be generated based on a CSI omission rule. For example, the CSI omission rule may be configured/defined based on methods 1 to 3 described above. The CSI omission rule may be differently configured depending on the reporting type and part of the CSI. The CSI omission rule may be configured by considering a priority of the multiple base stations),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wei by incorporating the teachings of Chung because the method and device allow for various modes of sending and receiving to the UE indicating one or more reference signal resources and configurations CSI related configuration and rules determined based on type of CSI, part of the CSI, priority information, or information from base station (Chung, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Xiao teaches…wherein the first CSI report is generated with the first RS resource used by the apparatus for the first type of CSI measurement of the first plurality of types of CSI measurement; and reporting the first CSI report(P. 34 and 59 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wei by incorporating the teachings of Xiao because the method and device allow for various modes of sending and receiving to the UE indicating one or more reference signal resources and configurations also report configuration that include IM, and a few others (Xiao, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 11 Wei, Chung, and Xiao teach…the apparatus of claim 10, Xiao teaches…wherein the first CSI report comprises a first channel quality indicator (CQI) value derived based on the first RS resource that is used by the apparatus for the first type of CSI measurement(P.41 discloses… The UE calculates each CQI based on the indicated CSI-RS resources and CSI-IM resources, and the eNB assumes the UE does not perform UE side interference or CQI adjustments ).
Regarding claim 12 Wei, Chung, and Xiao teach…the apparatus of claim 10, Xiao teaches…wherein the one or more RS resources comprise one or more ports, and each RS resource of the one or more RS resources comprises at least one RS port of the one or more ports (P.45 ).
Regarding claim 13 Wei, Chung, and Xiao teach…the apparatus of claim 10, Wei teaches…wherein the one or more RS resources are one or more non-zero power channel state information-reference signal (NZP CSI-RS) resources configured as a NZP CSI-RS resource set(Fig. 8, P.75 ).
Regarding claim 14 Wei, Chung, and Xiao teach…the apparatus of claim 10, Wei teaches… wherein the first plurality of types of CSI measurement comprises a type for channel measurement associated with a first transmission hypothesis/scheme, a type for channel measurement associated with a second transmission hypothesis/scheme, a type for interference measurement, or a type for muting (P. 59 discloses..interference measurement as follows…. Interference measurement in class A reporting may include one CSI-interference measurement (IM) resource per CSI process. The UE may report rank indicator, and CQI, as well as PMI, which consists of a first PMI corresponding to the parameters (i.sub.11, i.sub.12) and one or multiple second PMI corresponding to the parameter, i.sub.2)..
Regarding claim 15 Wei, Chung, and Xiao teach…the apparatus of claim 10, Wei teaches…wherein the first type of CSI measurement is a type for channel measurement associated with a first transmission hypothesis/scheme, a type for channel measurement associated with a second transmission hypothesis/scheme, a type for interference measurement(P. 59 discloses……. Interference measurement in class A reporting may include one CSI-interference measurement (IM) resource per CSI process. The UE may report rank indicator, and CQI, as well as PMI, which consists of a first PMI corresponding to the parameters (i.sub.11, i.sub.12) and one or multiple second PMI corresponding to the parameter, i.sub.2), or a type for muting.
Regarding claim 16 Wei, Chung, and Xiao teach…the apparatus of claim 10, Wei teaches…wherein the one or more RS resources and the first reporting rule are associated with a CSI report configuration P. 90 discloses… A-CSI trigger will request a single CSI reporting according to the following rule. If both the UE-specific and cell-common beamformed CSI-RS resources are transmitted on the same subframe, the cell-common beamformed CSI-RS resource may be used for A-CSI reporting. If the most recent UE-specific and cell-common beamformed CSI-RS resources are separated by less than or equal to K subframes,).
Regarding claim 19 Wei teaches…a method comprising: configuring, by a base station (BS) (claim 11), one or more RS resources for a user equipment (UE) (P. 89 the UE receives a UE-specific beamformed CSI-RS resource from the serving base station, wherein the UE-specific beamformed CSI-RS resource is configured based on the first CSI report.), a first RS resource of the one or more RS resources being configured for a first plurality of types of CSI measurement(P.08 and P. 10… transmitting a first CSI report based on measurements of the cell-common beamformed CSI-RS resource, means for receiving a user equipment (UE)-specific beamformed CSI-RS resource from the serving base station, wherein the UE-specific beamformed CSI-RS resource is configured based on the first CSI report, and means for transmitting a second CSI report based on measurements of the UE-specific beamformed CSI-RS resource ); transmitting, by the BS to the UE, reference signals (RSs) on the one or more RS resources; and receiving, by the BS from the UE in response to transmitting the RSs, a channel state information (CSI) report (P. 91), the CSI report being based on the RSs transmitted to the UE on the one or more RS resources and a first reporting rule configured by the BS for the CSI report( P.88 discloses… UE transmitting the measurements … UE 115 triggers measurement logic 1501, stored in memory 282, and executed by controller/processor 280 to measure CSI of the cell-common beamformed CSI-RS resource. The resulting CSI report is generated through execution of CSI report generator 1502, under control of controller/processor 280. UE 115 will then transmit the CSI reports over mobile radios 1500a-r and antennas 252a-r ), but does not teach…, and the CSI report comprising a first channel quality indicator (CQI) value corresponding to the first RS resource as a resource for a first type of CSI measurement, wherein the first type of CSI measurement is determined by the UE from the first plurality of types of CSI measurement.
Chung teaches…and the CSI report comprising a first channel quality indicator (CQI) value corresponding to the first RS resource as a resource for a first type of CSI measurement(P.403 discloses… receive the CSI related configuration information (step, S1210). In addition, the processor 1421 control the transceiver 1423 to receive a reference signal for a CSI measurement (step, S1220). Furthermore, the processor 1421 may generate CSI (step, S1230). The CSI may be generated based on a CSI omission rule. For example, the CSI omission rule may be configured/defined based on methods 1 to 3 described above. The CSI omission rule may be differently configured depending on the reporting type and part of the CSI. The CSI omission rule may be configured by considering a priority of the multiple base stations),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wei by incorporating the teachings of Chung because the method and device allow for various modes of sending and receiving to the UE indicating one or more reference signal resources and configurations CSI related configuration and rules determined based on type of CSI, part of the CSI, priority information, or information from base station (Chung, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Xiao teaches…wherein the first type of CSI measurement is determined by the UE from the first plurality of types of CSI measurement(P.41 discloses… The UE calculates each CQI based on the indicated CSI-RS resources and CSI-IM resources, and the eNB assumes the UE does not perform UE side interference or CQI adjustments ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wei by incorporating the teachings of Xiao because the method and device allow for various modes of sending and receiving to the UE indicating one or more reference signal resources and configurations also report configuration that include IM, and a few others (Xiao, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 20 Wei, Chung, and Xiao teach…the method of claim 19, Xiao teaches…wherein the one or more RS resources comprise one or more ports, and each RS resource of the one or more RS resources comprises at least one RS port of the one or more ports (P.24 and P. 45 ).
Regarding claim 21 Wei, Chung, and Xiao teach…the method of claim 19, Wei teaches…wherein the one or more RS resources are one or more non-zero power channel state information-reference signal (NZP CSI-RS) resources configured as a NZP CSI-RS resource set (Fig. 8, P.75 ).
Regarding claim 22 Wei, Chung, and Xiao teach…the method of claim 19, Wei teaches…wherein the first plurality of types of CSI measurement comprises a type for channel measurement associated with a first transmission hypothesis/scheme, a type for channel measurement associated with a second transmission hypothesis/scheme, a type for interference measurement P. 59 discloses..interference measurement as follows…. Interference measurement in class A reporting may include one CSI-interference measurement (IM) resource per CSI process. The UE may report rank indicator, and CQI, as well as PMI, which consists of a first PMI corresponding to the parameters (i.sub.11, i.sub.12) and one or multiple second PMI corresponding to the parameter, i.sub.2) or a type for muting.
Regarding claim 23 Wei, Chung, and Xiao teach…the method of claim 19, Wei teaches…wherein the first type of CSI measurement is a type for channel measurement associated with a first transmission hypothesis/scheme, a type for channel measurement associated with a second transmission hypothesis/scheme, a type for interference measurement(P. 59 discloses……. Interference measurement in class A reporting may include one CSI-interference measurement (IM) resource per CSI process. The UE may report rank indicator, and CQI, as well as PMI, which consists of a first PMI corresponding to the parameters (i.sub.11, i.sub.12) and one or multiple second PMI corresponding to the parameter, i.sub.2), or a type for muting.
Regarding claim 26 Wei teaches…an apparatus comprising (P. 146): a non-transitory memory storage comprising instructions (P. 98); and one or more processors in communication with the non-transitory memory storage, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to perform (P. 145-147): configuring one or more RS resources for a user equipment (UE), a first RS resource of the one or more RS resources being configured for a first plurality of types of CSI measurement(P. 89 the UE receives a UE-specific beamformed CSI-RS resource from the serving base station, wherein the UE-specific beamformed CSI-RS resource is configured based on the first CSI report.); transmitting, to the UE, reference signals (RSs) on the one or more RS resources; and receiving, from the UE in response to transmitting the RSs, a channel state information (CSI) report (P.91 ), the CSI report being based on the RSs transmitted to the UE on the one or more RS resources and a first reporting rule configured by the apparatus for the CSI report( P.88 discloses… UE transmitting the measurements … UE 115 triggers measurement logic 1501, stored in memory 282, and executed by controller/processor 280 to measure CSI of the cell-common beamformed CSI-RS resource. The resulting CSI report is generated through execution of CSI report generator 1502, under control of controller/processor 280. UE 115 will then transmit the CSI reports over mobile radios 1500a-r and antennas 252a-r ), but does not teach…, and the CSI report comprising a first channel quality indicator (CQI) value corresponding to the first RS resource as a resource for a first type of CSI measurement, wherein the first type of CSI measurement is determined by the UE from the first plurality of types of CSI measurement.
Chung teaches…, and the CSI report comprising a first channel quality indicator (CQI) value corresponding to the first RS resource as a resource for a first type of CSI measurement, (P.403 discloses… receive the CSI related configuration information (step, S1210). In addition, the processor 1421 control the transceiver 1423 to receive a reference signal for a CSI measurement (step, S1220). Furthermore, the processor 1421 may generate CSI (step, S1230). The CSI may be generated based on a CSI omission rule. For example, the CSI omission rule may be configured/defined based on methods 1 to 3 described above. The CSI omission rule may be differently configured depending on the reporting type and part of the CSI. The CSI omission rule may be configured by considering a priority of the multiple base stations),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wei by incorporating the teachings of Chung because the method and device allow for various modes of sending and receiving to the UE indicating one or more reference signal resources and configurations CSI related configuration and rules determined based on type of CSI, part of the CSI, priority information, or information from base station (Chung, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Xiao teaches…wherein the first type of CSI measurement is determined by the UE from the first plurality of types of CSI measurement(P.41 discloses… The UE calculates each CQI based on the indicated CSI-RS resources and CSI-IM resources, and the eNB assumes the UE does not perform UE side interference or CQI adjustments ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wei by incorporating the teachings of Xiao because the method and device allow for various modes of sending and receiving to the UE indicating one or more reference signal resources and configurations also report configuration that include IM, and a few others (Xiao, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 27 Wei, Chung, and Xiao teach…the apparatus of claim 26, Xiao teaches…wherein the one or more RS resources comprise one or more ports, and each RS resource of the one or more RS resources comprises at least one RS port of the one or more ports (P. 45).
Regarding claim 28 Wei, Chung, and Xiao teach…the of claim 26, Wei teaches…wherein the one or more RS resources are one or more non-zero power channel state information-reference signal (NZP CSI-RS) resources configured as a NZP CSI-RS resource set (Fig. 8, P. 75).
Regarding claim 29 Wei, Chung, and Xiao teach…the apparatus of claim 26, Wei teaches…wherein the first plurality of types of CSI measurement comprises a type for channel measurement associated with a first transmission hypothesis/scheme, a type for channel measurement associated with a second transmission hypothesis/scheme, a type for interference measurement, or a type for muting(P. 59 discloses..interference measurement as follows…. Interference measurement in class A reporting may include one CSI-interference measurement (IM) resource per CSI process. The UE may report rank indicator, and CQI, as well as PMI, which consists of a first PMI corresponding to the parameters (i.sub.11, i.sub.12) and one or multiple second PMI corresponding to the parameter, i.sub.2).
Regarding claim 30 Wei, Chung, and Xiao teach…the apparatus of claim 26, Wei teaches…wherein the first type of CSI measurement is a type for channel measurement associated with a first transmission hypothesis/scheme, a type for channel measurement associated with a second transmission hypothesis/scheme, a type for interference measurement (P. 59 discloses……. Interference measurement in class A reporting may include one CSI-interference measurement (IM) resource per CSI process. The UE may report rank indicator, and CQI, as well as PMI, which consists of a first PMI corresponding to the parameters (i.sub.11, i.sub.12) and one or multiple second PMI corresponding to the parameter, i.sub.2), or a type for muting.
Claim(s) 9, 18, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200304178 A1 to Wei et al., from hereon Wei, US-20210143886-A1 to Chung et al., from hereon Chung and US 20180076873 A1 to Xiao et al., from hereon Xiao in view of US 20230101379 A1 to Maolakos et al., from hereon Manolakos.
Regarding claim 9 Wei, Chung, and Xiao teach…the method of claim 1, but do not teach…wherein the first reporting rule specifies an efficiency requirement, a CQI requirement, a signal to noise ratio (SNR) requirement, a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) requirement, or a rank requirement, based on which the UE determines whether a RS resource is used for one or more of the first plurality of types of CSI measurement.
Manolakos teaches…wherein the first reporting rule specifies an efficiency requirement, a CQI requirement, a signal to noise ratio (SNR) requirement, a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) requirement, or a rank requirement, based on which the UE determines whether a RS resource is used for one or more of the first plurality of types of CSI measurement(P. 17 teaches… a user equipment (UE) wireless communications performed by a network entity in a wireless network, includes receiving from the UE one of a channel state information (CSI) report or a positioning state information (PSI) report transmitted on a lower layer channel, the CSI report comprising content including one or more of a Channel Quality Information (CQI), Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), Rank Indicator (RI), Layer Indicator (LI), and Layer 1 Reference Signal Receive Power (L1-RSRP) and the PSI report comprising information related to positioning measurements performed by the UE, wherein the CSI report and the PSI report were colliding and the one of the CSI report or the PSI report was prioritized for transmission by the UE using one or more priority rules; and processing the one of the CSI report or the PSI report that is received).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wei, Chung and Xiao by incorporating the teachings of Manolakos because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration using priority based ruling allowing for transmission of csi and psi reports (Manolakos, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 18 Wei, Chung, and Xiao teach…the apparatus of claim 10, but do not teach…wherein the first reporting rule specifies an efficiency requirement, a CQI requirement, a signal to noise ratio (SNR) requirement, a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) requirement, or a rank requirement, based on which the apparatus determines whether a RS resource is used for one or more of the first plurality of types of CSI measurement.
Manolakos teaches… wherein the first reporting rule specifies an efficiency requirement, a CQI requirement, a signal to noise ratio (SNR) requirement, a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) requirement, or a rank requirement, based on which the apparatus determines whether a RS resource is used for one or more of the first plurality of types of CSI measurement(P. 17 teaches… a user equipment (UE) wireless communications performed by a network entity in a wireless network, includes receiving from the UE one of a channel state information (CSI) report or a positioning state information (PSI) report transmitted on a lower layer channel, the CSI report comprising content including one or more of a Channel Quality Information (CQI), Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), Rank Indicator (RI), Layer Indicator (LI), and Layer 1 Reference Signal Receive Power (L1-RSRP) and the PSI report comprising information related to positioning measurements performed by the UE, wherein the CSI report and the PSI report were colliding and the one of the CSI report or the PSI report was prioritized for transmission by the UE using one or more priority rules; and processing the one of the CSI report or the PSI report that is received).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wei, Chung and Xiao by incorporating the teachings of Manolakos because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration using priority based ruling allowing for transmission of csi and psi reports (Manolakos, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 25 Wei, Chung, and Xiao teach…the method of claim 19, but do not teach…wherein the first reporting rule specifies an efficiency requirement, a CQI requirement, a signal to noise ratio (SNR) requirement, a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) requirement, or a rank requirement, and enables the UE to determine whether a RS resource is used for one or more of the first plurality of types of CSI measurement.
Manolakos teaches… wherein the first reporting rule specifies an efficiency requirement, a CQI requirement, a signal to noise ratio (SNR) requirement, a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) requirement, or a rank requirement, and enables the UE to determine whether a RS resource is used for one or more of the first plurality of types of CSI measurement(P. 17 teaches… a user equipment (UE) wireless communications performed by a network entity in a wireless network, includes receiving from the UE one of a channel state information (CSI) report or a positioning state information (PSI) report transmitted on a lower layer channel, the CSI report comprising content including one or more of a Channel Quality Information (CQI), Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), Rank Indicator (RI), Layer Indicator (LI), and Layer 1 Reference Signal Receive Power (L1-RSRP) and the PSI report comprising information related to positioning measurements performed by the UE, wherein the CSI report and the PSI report were colliding and the one of the CSI report or the PSI report was prioritized for transmission by the UE using one or more priority rules; and processing the one of the CSI report or the PSI report that is received).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wei, Chung and Xiao by incorporating the teachings of Manolakos because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration using priority based ruling allowing for transmission of csi and psi reports (Manolakos, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 17, and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the main reason for allowance of the claims under discussion is the inclusion of “generating, by the UE based on the one or more RS measurements and the first reporting rule, a second CQI value for the first CSI report, wherein the second CQI value is generated with the first RS resource used by the UE as a second type of CSI measurement of the first plurality of types of CSI measurement; and reporting, by the UE, the first CSI report”, “generating, based on the one or more RS measurements and the first reporting rule, a second CQI value for the first CSI report, wherein the second CQI value is generated with the first RS resource used as a second type of CSI measurement of the first plurality of types of CSI measurement; and reporting the first CSI report”, and “wherein the CSI report further comprises a second CQI value corresponding to the first RS resource as a resource for a second type of CSI measurement of the first plurality of types of CSI measurement” as the prior art of record in stand-alone form nor in combination read into the disclosed claims as supported by the specification. Furthermore, the nearest prior art such as…. US-20230370223-A1 to Liu, US-20190052443-A1 to Cheng, US-20180175925-A1 to Liu, and US-10827477-B2 to Hang disclose CSI-reporting based on a plurality of measurement parameters but are silent on generating using rules newer values for CQI based on the resource used by the UE by a second type of csi measurement report.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO form PTO-892: US-20230370223-A1 to Liu, US-20190052443-A1 to Cheng, US-20180175925-A1 to Liu, and US-10827477-B2 to Hang.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2476
/AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476