DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in the figure 4A, the x and y axis are missing labelings. As an example, what do x and y represent, time, depth or distance, etc? Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
2. Previous rejection is withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s amendment filed on 02/06/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 3, 6-8, 14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, “Transmission compensated primary reflection retrieval in the data domain and consequences for imaging,” Geophysics (2019) in views of Beylkin, “Discrete radon Transform,” IEEE Transaction on Acoustics, Speech and Signal Processing, Vol. ASSP-35 No. 2 (1987) (hereinafter Beylkin), Ravasi, WO/2017/160162 (hereinafter Ravasi) and Grobbe et al., US-PGPUB 2019/0293832 (hereinafter Grobbe)
Regarding Claims 1 and 14. Zhang discloses determining an internal multiples-free seismic dataset (Abstract), comprising: obtaining a seismic dataset based on a seismic survey, wherein the seismic dataset comprises a plurality of space-time gathers (Introduction, seismic data; Fig. 4, 7-8, 15), and
wherein the seismic survey uses a seismic source and a plurality of seismic receivers to detect a time-series of samples of earth motion caused by a plurality of seismic waves propagating through a subsurface (page Q31, Examples section),
determining a first truncation operator, wherein the first truncation operator mutes samples of each trace after a first predetermined intercept time; determining a second truncation operator, wherein the second truncation operator mutes samples of each trace before a second predetermined intercept time (Abstract, truncation in time domain after each convolution or correlation; Theory section in discussing temporal truncations, Fig. 1); and applying, Marchenko internal multiple attenuation on the seismic dataset using the first truncation operator and the second truncation operator to determine an internal multiples-free seismic dataset (Abstract, internal multiple reflections are removed; Introduction section page Q28, revised Marchenko equations),
determining a seismic image of the subsurface using the internal multiples-free seismic dataset (Examples section starting on page Q31 and the figures therein)
Zhang does not disclose transforming, by a computer processor, the seismic dataset into an intercept time-ray-parameter (t-p) domain using a forward Radon transform to produce a transformed seismic dataset, and does not disclose performing, using a drilling system comprising a drill bit attached to a drillstring, a drilling operation through the subsurface based on the presence of hydrocarbon.
Ravasi discloses using the redatumed geophysical data to decide where to drill (page 17, lines 1-6) implemented using a computer (Page 15, lines 21-24) and Marchenko redatuming (page 1) and internal multiples (pages 18-19)
Grobbe discloses a drilling operation comprising a drill bit attached to a drillstring (Abstract; Fig. 1, Paragraphs [0021], [0039], [0046])
Beylkin discloses transforming the seismic dataset into an intercept time-ray-parameter (t-p) domain using a forward Radon transform to produce a transformed seismic dataset (page 163, left column, sections, I and II, section VIII; Figs. 5-6; Abstract)
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Ravasi, Grobbe and Beylkin in Zhang and transform, by a computer processor, the seismic dataset into an intercept time-ray-parameter (t-p) domain using a forward Radon transform to produce a transformed seismic dataset, and perform, using a drilling system comprising a drill bit attached to a drillstring, a drilling operation through the subsurface based on the presence of hydrocarbon, with optimal computation efficiency.
Regarding Claims 3 and 16. Ravasi discloses determining, using a seismic interpretation workstation, a drilling target within a hydrocarbon reservoir based on the seismic image (page 17, lines 1-6, usage of redatumed geophysical data to decide where to drill)
Regarding Claims 6-8 and 18-20. Beylkin discloses determining a transformed gather, wherein the transformed gather comprises a seismic trace for each of a plurality of ray-parameters, by transforming a space-time gather among the plurality of space-time gathers from a space-time domain to the t-p domain using a t- p transform, determining a muted gather by muting each trace of the transformed gather based on a first (Claims 7, 19: second) predetermined intercept time, and inverting the muted gather using an inverse t-p transform, (Claims 8, 20: wherein determining a muted gather further comprises muting at least one trace based on a ray-parameter value of the at least one trace (pages 169-170, applying the inverse DRT to the “masked” tau-p)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, “Transmission compensated primary reflection retrieval in the data domain and consequences for imaging,” Geophysics (2019) in views of Beylkin, “Discrete radon Transform,” IEEE Transaction on Acoustics, Speech and Signal Processing, Vol. ASSP-35 No. 2 (1987), Ravasi, WO/2017/160162 and Grobbe, US-PGPUB 2019/0293832 as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Daly, US-PGPUB 2010/0157733 (hereinafter Daly)
Regarding Claim 5. The modified Zhang does not disclose the seismic dataset comprises a calibrated seismic dataset.
Daly discloses a calibrated seismic dataset (Paragraph [0018])
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Daly in Zhang and have a calibrated seismic dataset, so as to perform accurate seismic operation.
------------------------- ----------------------
Claims 1, 3, 6-8, 14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dukalski et al., “Overburden-borne internal demultiple formula,” Geophysics (2022) (cited by the Applicant) (hereinafter Dukalski) in views of Beylkin, “Discrete radon Transform,” IEEE Transaction on Acoustics, Speech and Signal Processing, Vol. ASSP-35 No. 2 (1987), Ravasi, WO/2017/160162 and Grobbe, US-PGPUB 2019/0293832.
Regarding Claims 1 and 14. Dukalski discloses determining an internal multiples-free seismic dataset (Abstract), comprising: obtaining a seismic dataset based on a seismic survey, wherein the seismic dataset comprises a plurality of space-time gathers (page V239, “MDD versus the formula in practice), and
wherein the seismic survey uses a seismic source and a plurality of seismic receivers to detect a time-series of samples of earth motion caused by a plurality of seismic waves propagating through a subsurface (pages V229-230, at least the section Elementary scattering relations, which discusses source/receivers)
determining, by the computer processor (page V241, “processor”, right column, last paragraph; V242, left column, top paragraph, “processor”), a first truncation operator, wherein the first truncation operator mutes samples of each trace after a first predetermined intercept time in a transform domain, determining, by the computer processor, a second truncation operator, wherein the second truncation operator mutes samples of each trace before a second predetermined intercept time in the transform domain (page V239, “MDD versus the formula in practice, truncated at t=0 and tmax); and applying, by the computer processor, Marchenko internal multiple attenuation on the transformed seismic dataset using the first truncation operator and the second truncation operators to determine the internal multiples-free seismic dataset (Abstract; Page V236, “Numerical Data Example,” section)
forming, by a computer processor, a seismic image based, at least in part, on the internal multiples-free seismic dataset (page V236, Figures in the “Numerical Data Example,” section).
Dukalski does not disclose transforming, by a computer processor, the seismic dataset into an intercept time-ray-parameter (t-p) domain using a forward Radon transform to produce a transformed seismic dataset and does not disclose performing, using a drilling system comprising a drill bit attached to a drillstring, a drilling operation through the subsurface based on the presence of hydrocarbon.
Ravasi discloses using the redatumed geophysical data to decide where to drill (page 17, lines 1-6) implemented using a computer (Page 15, lines 21-24) and Marchenko redatuming (page 1) and internal multiples (pages 18-19)
Grobbe discloses a drilling operation comprising a drill bit attached to a drillstring (Abstract; Fig. 1, Paragraphs [0021], [0039], [0046])
Beylkin discloses transforming, by a computer processor, the seismic dataset into an intercept time-ray-parameter (t-p) domain using a forward Radon transform to produce a transformed seismic dataset (page 163, left column, sections, I and II, section VIII; Figs. 5-6; Abstract)
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Ravasi, Grobbe and Beylkin in Dukalski and transform, by a computer processor, the seismic dataset into an intercept time-ray-parameter (t-p) domain using a forward Radon transform to produce a transformed seismic dataset, and perform, using a drilling system comprising a drill bit attached to a drillstring, a drilling operation through the subsurface based on the presence of hydrocarbon, with optimal computation efficiency.
Regarding Claims 3 and 16. Ravasi discloses determining, using a seismic interpretation workstation, a drilling target within a hydrocarbon reservoir based on the seismic image (page 17, lines 1-6, usage of redatumed geophysical data to decide where to drill)
Regarding Claims 6-8 and 18-20. Beylkin discloses determining a transformed gather, wherein the transformed gather comprises a seismic trace for each of a plurality of ray-parameters, by transforming a space-time gather among the plurality of space-time gathers from a space-time domain to the t-p domain using a t-p transform, determining a muted gather by muting each trace of the transformed gather based on a first (Claims 7, 19: second) predetermined intercept time, and inverting the muted gather using an inverse t-p transform, (Claims 8, 20: wherein determining a muted gather further comprises muting at least one trace based on a ray-parameter value of the at least one trace) (pages 169-170, applying the inverse DRT to the “masked” tau-p) (pages 169-170, applying the inverse DRT to the masked tau-p)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HYUN D PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857