DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 12/18/2025 has been entered. Claims 1,9,29 and 36 have been amended. Claims 6-7,14-15,33-34 and 40 have been canceled in this amendment. No New Claim has been added in this amendment. Claims 1,3-5,8-9,11-13,16,29,31-32,35-36 and 38-39 are pending in this application, with claims 1,9,29 and 36 being independent.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejection of Claims 1,3-5,8-9,11-13,16,29,31-32,35-36 and 38-39 under 35 U.S.C. §102 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to a new ground of rejection being used in the current office action.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4,11-12,31 and 38 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,9,29 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parron et al. (WO2020/036928Al, hereinafter referred to as “Parron”)-IDS in view of Zhang et al. (US 2021/0400537 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Zhang”) and further in view of Oliver (GB2571260A, hereinafter referred to as “Oliver”).
Regarding Claims 1,9,29 and 36, Parron discloses a user equipment (UE) (Parron Fig.1 Page:2 A UE) and a network entity (Parron Fig.1 Page:2 A RAN (i.e. network entity)) to: receive, at a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, a plurality of PDCP PDUs from a radio link control (RLC) sublayer (Parron Fig.1 Page:3,9-12 The UE or RAN receives PDCP PDU at the PDCP layer), wherein each of the plurality of PDCP PDUs is associated with a respective data flow of a plurality of data flows (Parron Fig.1 Page:9-12 A data flow for a PDU session), and wherein each data flow of the plurality of data flows is mapped to a respective data radio bearer (DRB) of one or more DRBs (Parron Fig.1 Page:3,9-12 A DRB for the data flow); and enable, at the PDCP layer, PDCP out-of-order delivery (OOOD) of the plurality of PDCP PDUs associated with one or more data flows of the plurality of data flows of a DRB of the one or more DRBs to an upper layer (Parron Fig.1 Page:9-12 The UE or RAN implements Out of order delivery (i.e. no delay delivery) using tag) based on at least one of a number of the one or more data flows of the DRB (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim).
Parron does not explicitly disclose enable, at the PDCP layer, PDCP out-of-order delivery (OOOD) of the plurality of PDCP PDUs associated with one or more data flows of the plurality of data flows of a DRB of the one or more DRBs to an upper layer based on a respective data rate of the one or more data flows.
However, Zhang from the same field of invention discloses enable, at the PDCP layer, PDCP out-of-order delivery (OOOD) of the plurality of PDCP PDUs associated with one or more data flows of the plurality of data flows of a DRB of the one or more DRBs to an upper layer based on a respective data rate of the one or more data flows (Zhang Para[0254] For high throughput flows, out-of-order packets are sent to the upper layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Parron to have the feature of “enable, at the PDCP layer, PDCP out-of-order delivery (OOOD) of the plurality of PDCP PDUs associated with one or more data flows of the plurality of data flows of a DRB of the one or more DRBs to an upper layer based on a respective data rate of the one or more data flows” as taught by Zhang. The motivation would have been for service efficiency (Zhang Para[0002]).
Parron in view of Zhang does not explicitly disclose enable, at the PDCP layer, PDCP out-of-order delivery (QOOD) of the plurality of PDCP PDUs associated with one or more data flows of the plurality of data flows of a DRB of the one or more DRBs to an upper layer based on a respective congestion window size of each of the one or more data flows.
However, Oliver from the same field of invention discloses enable, at the PDCP layer, PDCP out-of-order delivery (QOOD) of the plurality of PDCP PDUs associated with one or more data flows of the plurality of data flows of a DRB of the one or more DRBs to an upper layer based on a respective congestion window size of each of the one or more data flows (Oliver Page:16 The out-of-delivery is configured and packet sent to the upper layer when a buffer is congested).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Parron and Zhang to have the feature of “enable, at the PDCP layer, PDCP out-of-order delivery (QOOD) of the plurality of PDCP PDUs associated with one or more data flows of the plurality of data flows of a DRB of the one or more DRBs to an upper layer based on a respective congestion window size of each of the one or more data flows” as taught by Oliver. The motivation would have been to (Oliver Para[]).
Specifically for claims 1 and 9, Parron discloses the UE and the network entity that includes a processor (Parron Page:20 A processor) and a memory (Parron Page:20 A storage (i.e. memory)).
Claims 5,13 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parron in view of Zhang, Oliver and further in view of WANG et al. (US 2019/0268801 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Wang”).
Regarding claims 5,13 and 32, Parron in view of Zhang and Oliver discloses a method and a wireless device as explained above for Claim 1. Parron in view of Zhang and Oliver does not explicitly disclose disable the PDCP OOOD for each individual data flow of the one or more data flows of the DRB for which the respective data rate of the corresponding individual data flow is above a threshold.
However, Wang from the same field of invention discloses disable the PDCP OOOD for each individual data flow of the one or more data flows of the DRB for which the respective data rate of the corresponding individual data flow is above a threshold (Wang Fig.4 Para[0042-44] The out of delivery is not performed when threshold is crossed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Parron, Zhang and Oliver to have the feature of “disable the PDCP OOOD for each individual data flow of the one or more data flows of the DRB for which the respective data rate of the corresponding individual data flow is above a threshold” as taught by Wang. The motivation would have been to reduce data loss (Wang Para[0010]).
Claims 8,16 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parron in view of Zhang, Oliver and further in view of DEBBAGE et al. (US 2021/0119930 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Debbage”).
Regarding claims 8,16 and 35, Parron in view of Zhang and Oliver discloses a method and a wireless device as explained above for Claim 1. Parron in view of Zhang and Oliver does not explicitly disclose disable the PDCP OOOD for each individual data flow of the one or more data flows of the DRB for which the congestion window size is above a threshold.
However, Debbage from the same field of invention discloses disable the PDCP OOOD for each individual data flow of the one or more data flows of the DRB for which the congestion window size is above a threshold (Debbage Para[0076,0103] When congestion is detected, a traffic is moved from one path to another).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Parron, Zhang and Oliver to have the feature of “disable the PDCP OOOD for each individual data flow of the one or more data flows of the DRB for which the congestion window size is above a threshold” as taught by Debbage. The motivation would have been to reduce loan on network (Debbage Para[0002]).
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parron in view of Zhang, Oliver and further in view of wang and further in view of Debbage.
Regarding claims 39, Parron in view of Zhang and Oliver discloses a method and a wireless device as explained above for Claim 1. Parron in view of Zhang and Oliver does not explicitly disclose disabling the PDCP 000D for each individual data flow of the one or more data flows of the DRB for which the respective data rate of the corresponding individual data flow is above a threshold or for which the congestion window size is above a threshold.
However, Wang from the same field of invention discloses disable the PDCP OOOD for each individual data flow of the one or more data flows of the DRB for which the respective data rate of the corresponding individual data flow is above a threshold (Wang Fig.4 Para[0042-44] The out of delivery is not performed when threshold is crossed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Parron, Zhang and Oliver to have the feature of “disable the PDCP OOOD for each individual data flow of the one or more data flows of the DRB for which the respective data rate of the corresponding individual data flow is above a threshold” as taught by Wang. The motivation would have been to reduce data loss (Wang Para[0010]).
Parron in view of Zhang, Oliver and Wang does not explicitly disclose disabling the PDCP 000D for each individual data flow of the one or more data flows of the DRB for which the congestion window size is above a threshold
However, Debbage from the same field of invention discloses disable the PDCP OOOD for each individual data flow of the one or more data flows of the DRB for which the congestion window size is above a threshold (Debbage Para[0076,0103] When congestion is detected, a traffic is moved from one path to another).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Parron, Zhang, Oliver and Wang to have the feature of “disable the PDCP OOOD for each individual data flow of the one or more data flows of the DRB for which the congestion window size is above a threshold” as taught by Debbage. The motivation would have been to reduce loan on network (Debbage Para[0002]).
Although specific columns, figures, reference numerals, lines of the reference(s), etc. have been referred to, Applicant should consider the entire applied prior art reference(s).
Conclusion
/Sudesh M. Patidar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415