DETAILED ACTION
This Action is non-final and is in response to the claims filed 01/27/2023. Claims 1-20 are currently pending, of which claims 1-20 are currently rejected.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a controller communicatively coupled to the memory array; a proof of space cryptocurrency logic” first disclosed in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Closest figure showing this is Fig. 2, which shows the proof of space cryptocurrency logic inside the controller. However, it does not show the proof of space cryptocurrency logic as a separate component from the controller as disclosed in Claim 1.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“proof of space cryptocurrency logic” in claim 1, interpreted as the controller 126, shown in Figs. 1C and 2, executing the algorithmic steps to perform the proof of space cryptocurrency process disclosed in Fig. 12 and ¶0115-0119, including steps for generating plots disclosed in Fig. 13 and ¶0120-0122, and further including the steps for generating cryptocurrency tables disclosed in Fig. 14 and ¶0123-0126, as described in ¶0080, where ¶0080 states the proof of space cryptocurrency logic inside the controller 126 performs proof of space cryptocurrency processing operations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-11 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the one or more redundancy processes”. It is unclear if applicant intends this to be the “one or more data redundancy processes” recited in claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 inherits the same deficiency as claim 7 by reason of dependence and is rejected for the same reasons therein.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the one or more redundancy processes”. It is unclear if applicant intends this to be the “one or more data redundancy processes” recited in claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 10-11 inherit the same deficiency as claim 7 by reason of dependence and are rejected for the same reasons therein.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the one or more redundancy processes”. It is unclear if applicant intends this to be the “one or more data redundancy processes” recited in claim 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 15-19 inherit the same deficiency as claim 7 by reason of dependence and are rejected for the same reasons therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Cohen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: US 20220027355 A1), hereinafter “Cohen”.
Regarding Claim 12, Cohen teaches:
A method comprising:
utilizing a proof of space cryptocurrency process comprising a first data generation stage and a second data verification stage (¶0036, e.g., space server can allocate an amount of drive storage for generating proofs-of-space. Each plot file cryptographically verifies data);
wherein during the data generation stage, one or more data redundancy processes are utilized to reduce the size of data required during the first data generation stage (¶0053, e.g., compression of set of tables can be performed during the generating of entries).
Regarding Claim 13, Cohen teaches:
The method of claim 12, wherein the first data generation stage comprises generating a plurality of tables of entries (¶0037, e.g., plotting generates a set of tables of entries).
Regarding Claim 14, Cohen teaches:
The method of claim 13, wherein the one or more redundancy processes comprises at least one propagation step and a compression step (¶0050, e.g., forward-propagation and backpropagation is performed; ¶0053, e.g., compression of set of tables can be performed during the generating of entries).
Regarding Claim 15, Cohen teaches:
The method of claim 14, wherein the one or more redundancy processes comprises at least a forward propagation step, a backward propagation step, and a compression step (¶0050, e.g., forward-propagation and backpropagation is performed; ¶0053, e.g., compression of set of tables can be performed during the generating of entries).
Regarding Claim 16, Cohen teaches:
The method of claim 15, wherein the backward propagation step is a one-step backward propagation step (¶0050, e.g., backpropagation is performed after forward-propagation process).
Regarding Claim 17, Cohen teaches:
The method of claim 15, wherein, in response to completing the one or more redundancy processes, at least one table is redundant (¶0054, e.g., space server can compress sets of tables that contain redundant information).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen in view of NPL: “Chia proof of Space Construction” (Cited in IDS on 01/27/2023), hereinafter “Chia”.
Regarding Claim 18, Cohen teaches The method of claim 15. Cohen does not teach:
wherein the compression step utilizes a Huffman compression method.
However, Chia explains how Huffman encoding is used for compression of data on disk representation. Chia explains “In order to compress the on disk representation, we can store deltas between each , which are small, since there are approximately uniformly distributed integers of size . We can efficiently encode these deltas with a variable scheme like Huffman encoding.” (Chia: Page 8 Checkpoint Tables)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine the Huffman encoding for compression of data as taught by Chia with the compression method as taught by Cohen. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose Proof-of-space blockchains using plotting of tables, and Chia enhances the model of Cohen by compressing data for disk representation. See Chia: Page 8 Checkpoint Tables.
Regarding Claim 19, Cohen teaches The method of claim 15. Cohen does not teach:
wherein the compression method utilizes a modified park storage format.
However, Chia teaches:
wherein the compression method utilizes a modified park storage format (Page 8 Checkpoint Tables, e.g., Compression using Huffman encoding involved storing entries in parks).
The motivation to combine provided with respect to claim 18 applies equally to claim 19.
Claims 1 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen in view of Bahar et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: US 20190377508 A1), hereinafter “Bahar”.
Regarding Claim 1, Cohen teaches:
A device (¶0082, e.g., instructions can be implemented in a user computer) comprising:
a processor (¶0082, e.g., computer-executable component can be a processor);
…
a proof of space cryptocurrency logic (¶0010, ¶0058-0060, e.g., Proof-of-space executes a cryptographic hash; ¶0082, e.g., instructions can be performed in software) configured to:
utilize a proof of space cryptocurrency process comprising a first data generation stage and a second data verification stage (¶0036, e.g., space server can allocate an amount of drive storage for generating proofs-of-space. Each plot file cryptographically verifies data);
wherein during the data generation stage, one or more data redundancy processes are utilized to reduce the size of data required during the first data generation stage (¶0053, e.g., compression of set of tables can be performed during the generating of entries).
Cohen does not teach:
a memory array comprising a plurality of memory devices; and
a controller communicatively coupled to the memory array;
However, Bahar teaches:
a memory array comprising a plurality of memory devices (¶0042, e.g., flash memory devices include plurality of memory cells; Fig. 4); and
a controller communicatively coupled to the memory array (Fig. 4, e.g., shows controller coupled to flash memory area);
Cohen further discloses the computer readable medium can store instructions, where this computer readable medium can be a flash memory. See Cohen ¶0082. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine the storage device including the controller and memory devices having a plurality of memory cells as taught by Bahar with the user computer as taught by Cohen. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose optimizing of storage devices, and Bahar enhances the model of Cohen by allowing for the proof-of-space generation to be implemented in a computer device including a flash memory, and a controller to read and write data to the flash memory. See Bahar: ¶0028.
Regarding Claim 20, Cohen teaches:
A device (¶0082, e.g., instructions can be implemented in a user computer) comprising:
a processor (¶0082, e.g., computer-executable component can be a processor);
…
a proof of space cryptocurrency logic (¶0010, ¶0058-0060, e.g., Proof-of-space executes a cryptographic hash; ¶0082, e.g., instructions can be performed in software) configured to generate cryptocurrency by:
generating a plot … (¶0036, e.g., the space server can generate a plot file), comprising:
a plurality of tables populated with data entries (¶0037, e.g., plotting generates a set of tables of entries) which are processed utilizing at least:
a forward propagation step wherein one or more redundant entries are removed;
a backward propagation step (¶0050, e.g., forward-propagation and backpropagation is performed; ¶0054, e.g., space server can compress sets of tables that contain redundant information); and
a compression step (¶0053, e.g., compression of set of tables can be performed during the generating of entries); and
retrieving, in response to a challenge, one or more proofs of ownership of the generated plot (¶0014, e.g., space server retrieves proof-of-space (i.e., a series of tuples from the plot file) that confirms the presence of the plot file on disk and is responsive to the challenge).
Cohen does not teach:
a memory array comprising a plurality of memory devices; and
a controller communicatively coupled to the memory array;
generating a plot within the memory array
However, Bahar teaches:
a memory array comprising a plurality of memory devices (¶0042, e.g., flash memory devices include plurality of memory cells; Fig. 2; and
a controller communicatively coupled to the memory array (Fig. 2 e.g., shows controller coupled to flash memory area);
Cohen further discloses the computer readable medium can store instructions, where this computer readable medium can be a flash memory. See Cohen ¶0082. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine the storage device including the controller and memory devices having a plurality of memory cells as taught by Bahar with the user computer as taught by Cohen. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose optimizing of storage devices, and Bahar enhances the model of Cohen by allowing for the proof-of-space generation to be implemented in a computer device including a flash memory, and a controller to read and write data to the flash memory. See Bahar: ¶0028. Combination would yield the generation of plot files within the flash memory area (memory array).
Claims 2-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen in view of Bahar, further in view of Chia.
Regarding Claim 2, Cohen in view of Bahar teach:
The device of claim 1, wherein … the first data generation stage is a plotting stage (Cohen: ¶0036, e.g., the space server can generate a plot file).
Cohen in view of Bahar do not teach:
wherein the cryptocurrency process is a Chia
However, Chia explains plots are part of a Chia blockchain. Chia specifically argues “In the Chia Blockchain, these provers are referred to as farmers, since they create and maintain the plots.” (Chia: Page 5, Last paragraph)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine chia blockchain as taught by Chia with the blockchain of the space server as taught by Cohen in view of Bahar. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose Proof-of-space blockchains using plotting of tables, and Chia enhances the model of Cohen in view of Bahar because farmers that create the plotting creates and efficiently stores data on disk. See Chia Page 5, Last paragraph.
Regarding Claim 3, Cohen in view of Bahar in view of Chia teach:
The device of claim 2, wherein the plotting stage comprises generating a plurality of tables of entries (Cohen: ¶0037, e.g., plotting generates a set of tables of entries).
Regarding Claim 4, Cohen in view of Bahar in view of Chia teach:
The device of claim 3, wherein the plurality of tables comprises seven tables of entries (Cohen: ¶0065, e.g., plot files include a set of seven tables).
Regarding Claim 5, Cohen in view of Bahar in view of Chia teach:
The device of claim 4, wherein entries within one table reference at least one entry in another table (Cohen: Fig. 4; ¶0053, e.g., entries are forward-propagated to subsequent tables).
Regarding Claim 6, Cohen in view of Bahar in view of Chia teach:
The device of claim 5, wherein the data stored within a table is in a two-dimensional format (Cohen: ¶0053, e.g., Compression of set of tables replaces the position-offset format with a double-pointer format).
Regarding Claim 7, Cohen in view of Bahar in view of Chia teach:
The device of claim 6, wherein the one or more redundancy processes include a compression method (Cohen: ¶0053, e.g., Compression of set of tables replaces the position-offset format with a double-pointer format).
Regarding Claim 8, Cohen in view of Bahar in view of Chia teach:
The device of claim 7, wherein the compression method converts data from a two- dimensional format to a one-dimension format (Cohen: ¶0053, e.g., Compression of set of tables replaces the position-offset format with a double-pointer format).
Regarding Claim 9, Cohen in view of Bahar in view of Chia teach:
The storage device of claim 4, wherein the one or more redundancy processes include a multi-directional propagation method (Cohen: ¶0050, e.g., forward-propagation and backpropagation is performed).
Regarding Claim 10, Cohen in view of Bahar in view of Chia teach:
The storage device of claim 9, wherein the multi-directional propagation method includes a forward and backward propagation wherein a backward propagation directly after each forward propagation (Cohen: ¶0050, e.g., forward-propagation and backpropagation is performed).
Regarding Claim 11, Cohen in view of Bahar in view of Chia teach:
The device of claim 10, wherein the forward and backward propagation method identifies and removes redundant entries within the plurality of tables (Cohen: ¶0050, e.g., forward-propagation and backpropagation is performed; ¶0054, e.g., space server can compress sets of tables that contain redundant information).
Prior Art Made of Record
NPL: “The Liquidum Blockchain” (mgraczyk.com/liquidum_whitepaper.pdf) – teaches Chia using a Proof-of-Space mechanism. See Section 2.5 “Chia”. This is pertinent to the Chia blockchain included in the proof of space blockchain system as disclosed in the instant application on ¶0053 of the specification.
Conclusion
/C.H.D./
Carlos H. De La GarzaExaminer, Art Unit 2182 (571)272-0474
/EMILY E LAROCQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2182