Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities: A complete listing of all the claims is not present. Claims 2, 5, 6 and 9-20 are missing. . Appropriate correction is required.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 39-41 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: The invention of claims 39-41 is drawn to the process for the practice of the previously elected claims. The inventions are distinct if it can be shown that either: (1) the process as claimed can be practiced by another materially different apparatus or by hand, or (2) the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another materially different process. The apparatus as previously claimed can be used to couple a pencil to a users garments instead of the eyewear required in claim 39.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 39-41 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28, 29 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samuels (US 2022/0026737) in view of Kren (US 5,414,906).
Regarding claim 28, Samuels discloses an apparatus comprising:
a) a silicone sleeve (304; Paragraph 65, line 15 describes silicone) comprising:
i) two opposed open ends (Fig. 19 shows the temple 20 extending through two open ends);
ii) at least a partially continuous side wall extending between the two opposed open ends, the silicone sleeve configured to grip a first object (Figs. 18-20 as shown); and
b) a U-shaped clip (40, Fig. 19 as shown) having a least a portion permanently coupled to the sleeve (Fig. 18 as shown), the U-shaped clip configured to retain a second object between the U-shaped clip and the silicone sleeve (the device as shown in Fig. 18 can be used in the same manner as the device shown in Figs. 1-2).
Samuels fails to disclose wherein the sleeve is cylindrical in shape.
Kren teaches a cylindrical shaped sleeve (4, Fig. 3 as shown).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use alter the sleeve profile Samuels in a cylindrical shape as demonstrated by Kren when using the device with eyewear with round temple pieces.
Regarding claim 29, Samuels further discloses where the first object is a temple arm (26) of eyewear and the second object is clothing (14, Fig. 1 shows wherein the device can be used in this manner).
Regarding claim 31, Samuels further discloses where the U-shaped clip comprises a nub (Fig. 19 as shows nub at the distal end of the clip) projecting from the U-shaped clip, the nub configured to apply pressure to the second object.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Samuels and Kren as applied to claim 28 above, and further in view of Underwood et al. (US 10,161,697).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Samuels and Kren disclose the invention except for where the internal portion of the U-shaped clip comprises a one or more flow channels filled with molded silicone joining to portions of the cylindrical silicone sleeve.
Underwood et al. teach a device with flow channels (32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include features that would enhance bonding between the retaining member and the sleeve. Flow channels included in the clip would allow material to flow into the holes when the two portions are manufactured as separate parts when different materials are desired or when separate manufacturing is desired. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the parts separate since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177,179.
Claim(s) 32-36 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samuels in view of Underwood et al.
Regarding claims 32-33, Samuels discloses an apparatus comprising:
a) a silicone sleeve (304; Paragraph 65, line 15 describes silicone) comprising:
ii) a tubular body defining a longitudinal interior cavity (306) configured to receive a temple arm (20) of a pair of eyewear, the tubular body having an interior wall bounding the interior cavity and an exterior wall (Figs. 18-20 as shown);
ii) a base portion having a first edge surrounding a first aperture of the interior cavity; and iii) a crown portion having a second edge surrounding a second aperture of the interior cavity (Fig. 19 shows two opposed apertures into the cavity defining the base and crown); and
b) a clip (40) coupled to the silicone sleeve by an overmold process (The method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability itself. Therefore this limitation has not been given patentable weight. MPEP 2113), the clip comprising:
ii) an external segment (Fig. 18 as shown) extending from the silicone sleeve and configured to engage an item of clothing to retain the eyewear (Fig. 1 as shown),
wherein the silicone sleeve is configured to slip on and off the temple arm without the use of tools (the device shown in Figs. 18-20 can operate in this manner).
Samuels fails to disclose i) an internal segment embedded within the silicone sleeve, the internal segment including at least one flow channel filled with silicone joining the internal segment to the silicone sleeve; wherein the internal segment includes a plurality of flow channels each filled with elastomeric material joining the internal segment to the elastomeric sleeve.
Underwood et al. teach a device with flow channels (32) filled with elastomeric material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include features that would enhance bonding between the retaining member and the sleeve. Flow channels included in the clip would allow material to flow into the holes when the two portions are manufactured as separate parts when different materials are desired or when separate manufacturing is desired. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the parts separate since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177,179.
Regarding claim 34, Samuels further discloses wherein the external segment of the clip is U-shaped (Figs. 18-20 as shown) and is bendable and configured to spring away (Paragraph 51 discloses the flex properties of the material) from the exterior wall of the silicone sleeve to receive and retain an item of clothing between the external segment and the exterior wall of the silicone sleeve.
Regarding claim 35, Samuels further discloses wherein the external segment further comprises a nub (Fig. 19 as shows nub at the distal end of the clip) projecting from an interior surface of the external segment, the nub configured to apply pressure to an object retained between the external segment and the silicone sleeve (Figs. 1 and 2 as shown).
Regarding claim 36, Samuels further discloses wherein the interior wall of the tubular body is a continuous surface without breaks or ridges that could catch or otherwise impede insertion of a temple arm into the interior cavity (Figs. 18-20 as shown).
Regarding claim 38, Samuels further discloses wherein at least one of the interior wall and the exterior wall of the tubular body has a textured surface finish (Fig. 20 shows wherein the exterior and interior surfaces have corners that provide a texture to the walls).
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Samuels and Underwood et al. as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Kren.
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Samuels and Underwood et al. disclose the invention except for wherein the interior cavity is substantially cylindrical.
Kren teaches a cylindrical shaped sleeve (4, Fig. 3 as shown).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use alter the sleeve profile Samuels in a cylindrical shape as demonstrated by Kren when using the device with eyewear with round temple pieces.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL S LEE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3677