DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the response to the amendment filed on 02/18/2026. Claims 1, 6, 9, 14, and 17 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication 2008/0034441 to Saha in view of U.S. Publication 2014/0096041 to Gowen.
With respect to Claim 1:
Saha teaches:
A method for syndicating customizable content, the method comprising, at a server computing device associated with a syndication provider (Saha: ¶¶ [0111] [0195]):
receiving a customizable content package from a content provider, wherein the customizable content package includes information that enables a visual rendering of the customizable content package to be generated (i.e. receiving container document from provider, wherein the container document contains tools that enable a visual rendering of customized content to be generated) (Saha: ¶ [0132] “In block 503, the configuration server system may serve a web application to the representative. A representative may be operating a client device and/or user system capable of providing inputs to the web application (or standalone application) to configure a container document or personalized container document…The web application ( or standalone application) may include, for example, an editor for editing the header and/or other portions of the container document and other tools for configuring and/or designing a personalized container document. Such other tools may include, for example, an action bar, for receiving actions to be executed; a tab set, including a layout tab, a colors tab, a color code editor, and other modules; an available content tab to create custom modules and/or define the module taxonomy; a live preview pane; a module picker; a header and footer tab; and a URL editor tab.”);
for a respective syndication recipient of a plurality of syndication recipients, wherein the respective syndication recipient manages a respective syndication recipient content package (i.e. each user or representative manages their respective container document) (Saha: ¶ [0110] “For security reasons, or to restrict the number of users that have access to the application, a partner may provide the local, standalone application to the representatives for installation on their user systems, for example. The representatives may be identified as having administrative privileges for the user group. These privileges may enable the representative to receive the web application (or install the local application) to create and/or define one or more personalized container documents for users of the user group. The web application received ( or local application installed) by the representative may include a HTML editor to enable the representative to edit a container document, for example.”):
transmitting the customizable content package to the syndication recipient (i.e. providing a customizable container document to each representative of the user group of a plurality of user groups) (Saha: ¶¶ [0131] [0132] “To begin the configuration process, in block 502, a representative of the user group may login to a configuration server system, For example, a representative may include a corporate representative of the user group, a web master of the user group, an agent of the user group selected by the user group, or any other person or group of people selected to represent the user group for purposes of configuring a container document…In block 503, the configuration server system may serve a web application to the representative. A representative may be operating a client device and/or user system capable of providing inputs to the web application (or standalone application) to configure a container document or personalized container document. A servlet associated with a configuration server may serve the web application to the client device and/or user system. The client device may receive the web application and execute the web application on the client device. Where the application is a standalone application, the standalone application may be installed and executed on the client device. The web application (or standalone application) may include, for example, an editor for editing the header and/or other portions of the container document and other tools for configuring and/or designing a personalized container document.”),
wherein the customizable content package imposes at least one restriction with respect to how the customizable content package can be modified (i.e. container document has certain layouts locked with respect to how the container document can be modified) (Saha: ¶ [0133] “The layout tab may include a selection of predefined layouts that, for example, enable the user to freeze (or lock) a certain portion of the container document or permit a user to control all content on the container document. FIG. 6 depicts an example application interface 600 including a layout tab 601 in accordance with an exemplary embodiment. As shown in FIG. 6, application 600 may also include an action bar 602 having a "Save Now" button 602a and a "Preview" element 602b. As shown in FIG. 6, application 600 may also include a locking portion that allows the representative to select whether to freeze (or lock) a portion of the container document. To select the freeze (or lock) option, the representative may activate the radio button 604 associated with freezing (or locking) the content. To allow users to fully customize the container document, the representative may select radio button 605 associated with unlocking the content.”);
receiving, from the syndication recipient, a content customization package that defines at least one modification to the visual rendering of the customizable content package that conforms to the at least one restriction (i.e. representative of user group selects a portion of the container document to be locked, wherein a change/modification do not apply to the locked position) (Saha: ¶¶ [0133] [0134] “The layout tab may include a selection of predefined layouts that, for example, enable the user to freeze (or lock) a certain portion of the container document or permit a user to control all content on the container document. FIG. 6 depicts an example application interface 600 including a layout tab 601 in accordance with an exemplary embodiment. As shown in FIG. 6, application 600 may also include an action bar 602 having a "Save Now" button 602a and a "Preview" element 602b. As shown in FIG. 6, application 600 may also include a locking portion that allows the representative to select whether to freeze (or lock) a portion of the container document. To select the freeze (or lock) option, the representative may activate the radio button 604 associated with freezing (or locking) the content. To allow users to fully customize the container document, the representative may select radio button 605 associated with unlocking the content…Upon receiving the application, the representative may select which container document to be configured in block 504. If the user group has not previously configured a container document, the representative may initialize a container document to be configured. If the user group has configured one or more instances of container documents, the representative may be presented with an interface that enables the representative to select from among the container documents to configure.” Furthermore, as cited in ¶ [0136] “Element selection portion 702 may enable a representative to select the portion of the container document that is being changed. For example, as depicted, a user may select to change the container document's header, background, title, etc. Color palette 703 may enable a user to select a color from those colors presented on the palette for the selected portion of the container document. Text box 704 may enable a representative to directly enter a known color code into text box 704 to select a color for the selected portion of the container document. Preview pane 705 may display a mock-up of the colors selected for the container document. FIG. 8 depicts another embodiment of an application interface 800 to illustrate the colors selected for a container document.”),
wherein the respective syndication recipient content package references the content customization package (i.e. URL is used to identify customized container document) (Saha: ¶ [0146] “In block 1603, information may be extracted from the URL. The identity of the user group and the particular instance of the container document may be extracted from the URL. For example, if the URL has a known format as described above, the hosted server system may parse the URL to extract the "usergroupname" and "instancename" strings from the URL. This information may then be used to look-up user group preferences and/or the personalized container document as will be explained in greater detail below.”); and
generating, according to distribution logic that is configured to reduce an amount of memory storage consumed, a respective customized content package for the syndication recipient based on the customizable content package and the content customization package (i.e. generating or publishing container document with selected configurations, wherein distribution or scalability logic stored in non-relational database is configured reduce an amount of memory) (Saha: ¶ [0136] “Preview pane 705 may display a mock-up of the colors selected for the container document. FIG. 8 depicts another embodiment of an application interface 800 to illustrate the colors selected for a container document.” Furthermore, as cited in ¶ [0140] “In block 509, the container document may be published. As referred to herein, publishing the container document may include any manner of making the container document available to users, including, but not limited to, saving the container document and indicating to the hosted server system that the container document is to be available to its users.” Furthermore, as cited in ¶¶ [0054] [0055] “Scalability: The hosted server system provides this service from a scalable platform achieved, for example, through segmenting data for use with a non-relational database server. This solution balances scale and ease of data coherency. Certain types of non-relational data storage systems allow massively scalable write operations. For example, a database that does not provide transaction or locking support while storing time-series data with entries is not considered a relational database because an entry for the relation (Column1Value, Colunm2Value, ... ) is not unique, but rather a time series. By using such a non-relational database, the system may become massively scalable. Most write operations to shared data are initiated from a small set of users ( one or a few partner administrators), while read operations are initiated widely (e.g., each time an end-users requests a page, the template for an associated container document may be loaded). Scalability may also be achieved using a traditional relational database, highly replicated for scalable read operations, with master failover to enable high availability. Using this approach may increase overhead and add complexity and latency to the system… Nevertheless, a simple non-relational storage system as described above enables a system and service for distributing configurable container documents to perform well on a massive scale. Such a system and service involves centralized writing and decentralized reads, high throughput (scalability and simplicity) and high availability (supporting failover). The database structure described enables implementation at much lower cost (fewer servers needed at a given scale) than other alternatives such as the highly-replicated relational database example.”), […]; and
storing the delta in the memory storage of the server computing device in lieu of storing the respective customized content package (i.e. storing the distribution or scalability logic or configurations stored in non-relational database or dynamic table via server without storing the respective container document) (Saha: ¶¶ [0056] [0057] “Multiple Levels of Configurability: The content served may be configured by the partner/user group, which configuration can specify constraints under which end users associated with the entity may further configure the content…Dynamic Provision of Container Documents: Partner/user groups may select a uniquely indexed partner domain that may be stored in a dynamic table by the hosted server system. By storing this uniquely indexed partner domain, the hosted server system may dynamically provide container documents associated with a partner/user group in a highly scalable manner.”);
receiving, from a client computing device, a request to provide the respective customized content package for a particular syndication recipient of the plurality of syndication recipients (i.e. container document is published/available to all users in the group or the container document is provided to recipient who requested respective content) (Saha: ¶ [0140] “In block 509, the container document may be published. As referred to herein, publishing the container document may include any manner of making the container document available to users, including, but not limited to, saving the container document and indicating to the hosted server system that the container document is to be available to its users.” Furthermore, as cited in ¶¶ [0144] [0145] “In block 1602, the hosted server system may determine whether the request is for a container document. As described above, the URL for a container document may be, for example, http://www.host.com/ig/p/usergroupname/instancename and the "Ip/" may indicate that the URL is associated with a container document associated with a partner/user group… In another example, a user may request a URL selected by the user group such as "start.usergroup.net." Upon receipt of this request, the hosted server system may determine a true path ( e.g., "partnerpage.host.com/usergroup. net") associated with this request and decode the true path to determine the domain name.”); and
providing the respective customized content package, generated using the stored delta and the customizable content package, to the client computing device (i.e. providing the personalized container document, generated using the distribution logic and container document, to the user) (Saha: ¶ [0156] “The display preference data packet may specify a user's personal settings for each container document, for example. The hosted server system may then use this information to serve the personalized container document to the user. The resulting personalized container document may contain the content configured by the user group and the personalized settings configured by the user, for example.” Furthermore, as cited in ¶¶ [0056] [0057] “Multiple Levels of Configurability: The content served may be configured by the partner/user group, which configuration can specify constraints under which end users associated with the entity may further configure the content…Dynamic Provision of Container Documents: Partner/user groups may select a uniquely indexed partner domain that may be stored in a dynamic table by the hosted server system. By storing this uniquely indexed partner domain, the hosted server system may dynamically provide container documents associated with a partner/user group in a highly scalable manner.”).
Saha does not explicitly disclose wherein the respective customized content package includes one or more cascading style sheets (CSS), and wherein the generating includes: generating a delta that represents distinctions between the customizable content package and the content customization package.
However, Gowen further discloses:
wherein the respective customized content package includes one or more cascading style sheets (CSS) (i.e. customized content layout includes cascading style sheet) (Gowen: ¶ [0413] “In one embodiment, data separation in a layout to separate structure from content to a first degree may be accomplished using a markup language such as MBML described further above and content presentation markup language similar in some respects to cascading style sheet (CSS) script used to separate content from structure in hypertext markup language (HTML).”), and
wherein the generating includes: generating a delta that represents distinctions between the customizable content package and the content customization package (i.e. generating tags that represent changes or distinctions between the template and customized content) (Gowen: ¶ [0372] “In one embodiment, a user may preview the automated settings for the photo effects on any tagged template and modify or tweak those settings, including adding and deleting or activating and deactivating certain effects. When the template is saved, it is a new tagged template. If the tag has been changed, it may also be saved as a new stylistic indicator associated with a certain theme of the template. Such indicators may be reused in other templates provided that they become popular with users. Indicators that exhibit rejection by users may be purged from the system.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to add Gowen’s wherein the respective customized content package includes one or more cascading style sheets (CSS), and wherein the generating includes: generating a delta that represents distinctions between the customizable content package and the content customization package to Saha’s providing the respective customized content package to the client computing device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order “to improve upon existing system functionality and to expand the reach of the system to provide additional functionalities not only relevant to the aspects of creating and editing projects through the interface, but also relevant to other aspects of a user's experience and of system back-end operations including network activities undertaken to fulfill client orders of created projects.” (Gowen: ¶ [0008]).
With respect to Claims 9 and 17:
All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected to claim 1. Claim 9 recites “A non-transitory computer readable storage medium configured to store instructions that, when executed by at least one processor included in a server computing device, cause the server computing device to syndicate customizable content, by carrying out steps that include:” (Saha: ¶ [0186]) the steps of method claim 1. Claim 17 recites “A server computing device configured to syndicate customizable content, the server computing device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the server computing device to carry out steps that include:” (Saha: ¶ [0186]) the steps of method claim 1. Claims 9 and 17 do not teach or define any new limitations beyond claim 1. Therefore they are rejected under the same rationale.
With respect to Claim 2:
Saha teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the respective syndication recipient content package includes content associated with the particular syndication recipient (i.e. content package includes content associated with recipient or personalized content associated with the recipient) (Saha: ¶¶ [0153] [0154] “As described above, based on the taxonomy defined by the user group, a user may personalize (e.g., select which modules may be included in the personalized container document, apply personal preferences to those modules, determine the location of those modules within the container page, etc.) the container document associated with the user group. In one example, a user may personalize the container document without logging in to Google, for example. In this example, the user may customize a container document in an "offline" environment ( e.g., the user is not logged-in). The customizations may be stored in a cookie, for example, so that when the user does log in for the first time (or the first time after making "offline" customizations), the cookie-based preferences may be transferred to the server…If the user has personalized the partner container document, in block 1607, instead of the default settings being applied to the partner container document, the user's personal settings may be applied to the container document. The hosted server system may determine whether the user is recognized and whether the user has personalized the container document simultaneously.”).
With respect to Claims 10 and 18:
All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected to claim 2. Claims 10 and 18 do not teach or define any new limitations beyond claim 2. Therefore they are rejected under the same rationale.
With respect to Claim 3:
Saha teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein the respective customized content package includes second information that enables a second visual rendering of the respective customized content package to be generated (Examiner notes that the second/third visual rendering, under BRI, is just an additional pop-up or browser window) (i.e. container document includes hyperlinked data that reroutes user to that link) (Saha: ¶ [0092] “For example, where a user group is associated with computer hardware provider, links 201a may include links to particular services provided by the computer hardware provider (e.g., service and support) and links to particular goods provided by the computer hardware provider (e.g., desktops, laptops, peripherals, and/or printers). Where a user group is associated with an Internet Service Provider (ISP), links 201a may include links to email, content driven pages provided by the ISP ( e.g., sports, finance, shopping, etc.), customer service, and the like.” Furthermore, as cited ¶ [0186] “Module server 14 may provide data for the container document by interpreting and/or parsing instructions in the module specification associated with the module. According to one embodiment, module server 14 may serve the module content to the container document through the use of a browser iFRAME. An iFRAME may be generally understood to be an independently operated browser window instance inside the container document.”).
With respect to Claims 11 and 19:
All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected to claim 3. Claims 11 and 19 do not teach or define any new limitations beyond claim 3. Therefore they are rejected under the same rationale.
With respect to Claim 4:
Saha teaches:
The method of claim 3, wherein the second visual rendering is embedded in a third visual rendering of the respective syndication recipient content package (Examiner notes that the third visual rendering, under BRI, is just an additional pop-up or browser window) (i.e. container document includes iFrame which enables content to be displayed via independently operated browser window to be generated) (Saha: ¶ [0186] “Module server 14 may provide data for the container document by interpreting and/or parsing instructions in the module specification associated with the module. According to one embodiment, module server 14 may serve the module content to the container document through the use of a browser iFRAME. An iFRAME may be generally understood to be an independently operated browser window instance inside the container document.”).
With respect to Claims 12 and 20:
All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected to claim 4. Claims 12 and 20 do not teach or define any new limitations beyond claim 4. Therefore they are rejected under the same rationale.
With respect to Claim 5:
Saha teaches:
The method of claim 4, wherein the second visual rendering is embedded using a hypertext markup language (HTML) iFrame tag (i.e. browser window is embedded using HTML iFrame) (Saha: ¶ [0089] “FIG. 2 depicts a container page 200 with a plurality of modules that have been incorporated into the container document using iFRAME and inline HTML techniques. These iFRAMES may allow the hosted server system to encapsulate the arbitrarily selected content defined by the user group. In one example, modules may also be served in the container document with or without an encapsulation layer. Encapsulation layers may provide useful functions in many types of systems, (e.g., serving a module within an !FRAME in an HTML document provides a security enhancing barrier).” Furthermore, as cited in ¶ [0186] “According to one embodiment, module server 14 may serve the module content to the container document through the use of a browser iFRAME. An iFRAME may be generally understood to be an independently operated browser window instance inside the container document.”).
With respect to Claim 13:
All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected to claim 5. Claim 13 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond claim 5. Therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
With respect to Claim 6:
Saha teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the respective customized content package includes at least one of: hypertext markup language (HTML); one or more scripts; or one or more assets (Saha: ¶ [0089] “FIG. 2 depicts a container page 200 with a plurality of modules that have been incorporated into the container document using iFRAME and inline HTML techniques. Furthermore, as cited in ¶ [0186] “According to one embodiment, module server 14 may serve the module content to the container document through the use of a browser iFRAME. An iFRAME may be generally understood to be an independently operated browser window instance inside the container document. One advantage of an iFRAME is that is protects the container document from the iFRAME's content and vice versa, e.g., JavaScript on the container document may not be permitted to access any JavaScript code in the inner iFRAME (same for CSS, DOM, or cookie objects).”).
With respect to Claim 14:
All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected to claim 6. Claim 14 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond claim 6. Therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
With respect to Claim 7:
Saha teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein: the respective customized content package includes one or more scripts (i.e. container document includes scripts or HTML code to customer the container/content package) (Saha: ¶¶ [0137] [0138] “In block 507, a header and footer for the container document may be customized. FIG. 9 depicts an exemplary embodiment of an application interface 900 including a header and footer tab 901 to enable a representative to customize the header and footer of a container document. As shown in FIG. 9, header and footer tab 901 may include a header portion 902 that may enable the representative to define a header to appear at the top of a container document. As shown in FIG. 9, header portion 902 may include a toolbar 908 that enables the representative to add an image to the header, add a link to the header, customize the font for the header, and/or edit the HTML code comprising the header. As depicted, header portion 902 may display a mock-up of the header that may appear on the container document. FIGS. 17 and 18 also illustrate exemplary application interfaces that may enable a representative to customize the header and footer of a container document…Header and footer tab 901 may also include a footer portion 903 that may enable the representative to define a footer to appear at the bottom of a container document, for example. A footer may include a link 904 associated with a privacy page, a link 905 associated with a terms of service page, a link 906 associated with a contact us page, and a link 907 associated with a service agreement page.”); and
at least one of the one or more scripts: generates a unique identifier based on a uniform resource locator (URL) that corresponds to the respective syndication recipient content package (i.e. once container document is published, URL is generated that corresponds to customized container document) (Saha: ¶ [0140] “The representative may select the publish button 1503 to publish the page. In such an embodiment, the URL 1502 of the container document may be displayed.” Furthermore, as cited in ¶ [0142] “In an exemplary embodiment, users of the user group may access a container document that has been configured by the user group, for example. As shown in FIG. 15, an exemplary URL for a container document may be, for example, http://www.host.com/ig/p/usergroupname/instancename, where "www.host.com" may represent the domain of the hosted server system, "usergroupname" may represent the user group, and "instancename" may represent a particular container document.”);
associates the unique identifier with the request (i.e. associates url with request) (Saha: ¶¶ [0143] [0144] “In block 1601, a request for a page may be received. As noted above, the request may be a URL request or a request using the destination IP address (if known by the user) of the container document. The request may be received by the hosted server system, for example…In block 1602, the hosted server system may determine whether the request is for a container document. As described above, the URL for a container document may be, for example, http://www.host.com/ig/p/usergroupname/instancename and the "/p/" may indicate that the URL is associated with a container document associated with a partner/user group.”); and
issues the request to the server computing device (i.e. issues request to hosted server system) (Saha: ¶ [0145] “Upon receipt of this request, the hosted server system may determine a true path ( e.g., "partnerpage.host.com/usergroup.net") associated with this request and decode the true path to determine the domain name. The hosted server system may then look up the domain name in a dynamic table or other dynamic storage module that is uniquely indexed by partner domain to determine how to function, for example.”).
With respect to Claim 15:
All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected to claim 7. Claim 15 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond claim 7. Therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
With respect to Claim 8:
Saha teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of syndication recipients are identified based on the customizable content package (i.e. URL of personalized container document identifies users of the user group) (Saha: ¶ [0142] “As shown in FIG. 15, an exemplary URL for a container document may be, for example, http://www.host.com/ig/p/usergroupname/instancename, where "www.host.com" may represent the domain of the hosted server system, "usergroupname" may represent the user group, and "instancename" may represent a particular container document.” Furthermore, as cited in ¶ [0144] “In block 1602, the hosted server system may determine whether the request is for a container document. As described above, the URL for a container document may be, for example, http://www.host.com/ig/p/usergroupname/instancename and the "/p/" may indicate that the URL is associated with a container document associated with a partner/user group.”).
With respect to Claim 16:
All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected to claim 8. Claim 16 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond claim 8. Therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments see pages 10-11 of the Remarks disclosed, filed on 02/18/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 over Saha in view of Mahaffey have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S. Publication 2014/0096041 to Gowen.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure. The following reference are cited to further show the state of the art:
U.S. Publication 2016/0099963 to Mahaffey for disclosing Methods are provided for determining an enterprise risk level, for sharing security risk information between enterprises by identifying a security response by a first enterprise and then sharing the security response to a second enterprise when a relationship database profile for the first collection indicates the security response may be shared. Methods are also provided for determining whether to allow a request from an originating device where the request may have been initiated by a remote device.
U.S. Publication 2012/0240236 to Wyatt for disclosing A crawler program collects and stores application programs including application binaries and associated metadata from any number of sources such as official application marketplaces and alternative application marketplaces. An analysis including comparisons and correlations are performed among the collected data in order to detect and warn users about pirated or maliciously modified applications.
U.S. Publication 2008/0082421 to Onyon for disclosing An advanced contact identification system in a wireless communication network is configurable to increase subscribership and revenues for an enterprise service provider and vendors and to increase sales of content. A personal brand having a popular ringtone, graphic or other content may be widely shared among subscribers of the advanced contact identification system. Various configurations of a monetization scheme for subscribers to share popular and incentivized content drive sales for such content and increase revenue.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If any attempt to reach the examiner by telephone is unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Waseem Ashraf, can be reached at (571) 270-3948.
Another resource that is available to applicants is the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR). Information regarding the status of an application can be obtained from the (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAX. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, please feel free to contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
Applicants are invited to contact the Office to schedule either an in-person or a telephonic interview to discuss and resolve the issues set forth in this Office Action. Although an interview is not required, the Office believes that an interview can be of use to resolve any issues related to a patent application in an efficient and prompt manner.
/AZAM A ANSARI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621
March 5, 2026