DETAILED ACTION
2. The amendment filed September 26, 2025 has been received and entered.
3. Claims 1 and 26-36 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
4. Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claim 29 with claims 1, 26-28, and 35 as linking claims, in the reply filed on September 26, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that a search of all of the groups would not be burdensome because the searches would overlap. This is not found persuasive because while the searches might overlap to some degree, they would not be coextensive. In addition, the fact that applicant has claimed each embodiment separately is evidence that applicant believes each to be a distinct invention with separately patentable characteristics.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
5. Claims 30-34 and 36 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
6. Claims 1, 26-29, and 35 are examined on the merits.
Specification
7. The amendment filed December 12, 2023 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The amendment to the specification amends the specification to delete all mention of references that had been cited in the originally filed specification. This represents a significant change in scope from the original disclosure as all prior art material that was considered to be relevant has now been deleted.
Applicant is required to reintroduce the deleted material to correct the new matter issue in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
8. Claims 1, 26-29, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural product without significantly more.
MPEP § 2106 sets forth the Subject Matter Eligibility Test to determine if a claim is directed to patent eligible subject matter. Step 1 asks if a claim is directed to a statutory category of invention. Applicant’s claims are directed to a product; thus, the answer to Step 1 is Yes.
The analysis then moves to Step 2A, Prong One, which asks if a claim recites to a product of nature. In this case, applicant’s claims recite a drink composition comprising water, preservative, mineral, trace mineral, dietary fiber, milk, sweetener, essential oil, emulsifier, at least 18% dairy fat, rheology modifier, vitamin, and protein. Each of these ingredient can be a naturally occurring ingredient as defined by applicant in the specification. Thus, the claims do recite products of nature. MPEP § 2106.04(b) states that “When a claim recites a nature-based product limitation, examiners should use the markedly different characteristics analysis discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(c) to evaluate the nature-based product limitation and determine the answer to Step 2A.”
MPEP § 2106.04(c)(I) states that “if the nature-based product limitation is not naturally occurring, for example due to some human intervention, then the markedly different characteristics analysis must be performed to determine whether the claimed product limitation is a product of nature exception…”. To perform the markedly different characteristic analysis, MPEP § 2106.04(c)(II) states “The markedly different characteristics analysis compares the nature-based product limitation to its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state. Markedly different characteristics can be expressed as the product’s structure, function, and/or other properties…”.
In this case, there is no indication that mixing the specified ingredients together as commensurate in scope with the stated claims changes the structure, function, or other properties of the ingredients in any marked way in comparison with the closest naturally occurring counterpart. The closest naturally occurring counterpart for each ingredients is the ingredient itself because each is a naturally occurring compound. Each ingredient appears to maintain its naturally occurring structure and properties and is merely present in the combination. In addition, there is nothing to show that mixing the ingredients in the particular concentrations produces any sort of marked distinction. Thus, the claimed mixture as a whole does not display markedly different characteristics in comparison with the naturally occurring counterparts. Therefore, the answer to Step 2A, Prong One, is Yes.
Thus, the analysis must move to Step 2A, Prong Two, which asks if the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. As discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2) this evaluation is performed by identifying whether there are additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception and evaluating these additional elements to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. In this case, applicant’s claims are directed to a composition with an intended use as a ”sport drink”. MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2) specifically states that a claim is only directed to “an intended use of a claimed invention or a field of use limitation, then it cannot integrate a judicial exception under the ‘treatment or prophylaxis’ consideration.” Therefore, applicant’s intended use is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Thus, the answer to Step 2A, Prong Two, is No.
Thus, the analysis must move to Step 2B which asks if claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. MPEP § 2106.05 states that this evaluation is performed by “Evaluating additional elements to determine whether they amount to an inventive concept requires considering them both individually and in combination to ensure that they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.” In this case, the additional element in the claims is the combination of the ingredients. However, MPEP § 2106.05(d) states that well-understood, routine, and conventional activities are not sufficient to show that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Mixing specific compounds does not amount to significantly more than a combination of judicial exception because mixing compounds is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field. Thus, mixing the ingredients together does not amount to significantly more than a combination of judicial exception because mixing compounds is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field.
In addition, applicant’s intended use as a “sport drink” is not considered to amount to significantly more. As discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(I)(A), “Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use” is not considered to be enough to qualify as significantly more. An intended use of a claimed composition only generally links the exception to the field of use. Therefore, the additional elements are not considered to amount to significantly more. Thus, the answer to Step 2B is No. Consequently, the claims are not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 1, 26-29, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson (US 2011/0135803).
This reference teaches a dairy based beverage. The reference teaches that raw milk is separated into an aqueous component (milk) and a fat component. The reference then teaches that the fat component can be recombined with the aqueous component to improve the characteristics of the beverage. The reference also teaches that protein and salt (a mineral as defined by applicant at paragraph 72 of the specification) can be added to this composition (see paragraphs 49 and 50). The reference teaches that additional ingredients can be added to vary the characteristics of the beverage. The reference teaches that additional ingredients include sugar (a sweetener), carrageenan (an emulsifier as defined by applicant at paragraph 70), hydroxy cellulose (rheology modifier as defined by applicant at paragraph 71), essential oils including fennel oil, clove oil, peppermint oil, thyme oil, basil oil (preservatives as defined by applicant at paragraph 67), dietary fiber, vitamins, selenium (trace mineral), and water (see, for example, paragraph 56, 61, 76, and 77).
The reference does not specifically teach adding the ingredients together in the amounts claimed by applicant. However, as discussed in MPEP section 2144.05(II)(A), “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’ In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” Varying the concentration of ingredients within a beverage composition is not considered to be inventive unless the concentration is demonstrated as critical. In this particular case, there is no evidence that the claimed concentration of the ingredients produces an unexpected result. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameter, this optimization of ingredient concentration would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention.
10. No claims are allowed.
/SUSAN HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655