DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, Figures 1-4, claims 1-6 and 8-20, in the reply filed on June 3, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 7 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 3, 2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 (line 18) “of insert is” should recite –of the insert is--.
In claim 9 (line 1) “The swivel joint” should recite –The swivel assembly--.
For the purpose of examining the application, it is assumed that appropriate correction has been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9, 10 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ungchusri et al. (US 6,595,555).
As to claim 1, Ungchusri et al. disclose a swivel assembly, comprising:
a first pipe section having a first end fitting 14 and a second pipe section having a second end fitting 12 corresponding to and receiving the first end fitting, each of the first and second end fittings having an inner surface and an outer surface; and
a swivel joint 16 rotatably securing, via the corresponding first and second end fittings, the first and second pipe sections together along a central axis to define a fluid passageway therethrough, the swivel joint including:
a sleeve 48 disposed on the outer surface of the first end fitting, and
an insert 50 disposed on the inner surface of the second end fitting,
wherein the insert includes a plurality of insert grooves 64 integrally formed in the insert, and the sleeve includes a plurality of sleeve groove 58 each sleeve groove corresponding to an insert groove such that when the first and second pipe sections are secured together along the central axis, corresponding ones of the sleeve grooves and the insert grooves are aligned to form a bearing raceway for supporting a plurality of ball bearings 52 therein,
wherein the first and second pipe sections are formed of a corrosion-resistant material, and
wherein at least a portion of the sleeve or at least a portion of the insert is formed of a material having a greater hardness than the corrosion-resistant material of the first and second pipe sections (Figures 1-2; C3 L18-20,42-45; C4 L39-42).
As to claim 2, Ungchusri et al. disclose a swivel assembly wherein the outer surface of the first end fitting 14 defines a reduced outer diameter configured to receive at least a portion of the sleeve 48 therearound (Figures 1-2).
As to claim 3, Ungchusri et al. disclose a swivel assembly wherein the inner surface of the second end fitting 12 defines a counterbore configured to receive at least a portion of the insert 50 therein (Figures 1-2).
As to claim 4, Ungchusri et al. disclose a swivel assembly wherein at least one of the sleeve grooves 58 and the insert grooves 64 are hardened (Figures 1-2; C3 L18-20,42-45; C4 L39-42).
As to claim 5, Ungchusri et al. disclose a swivel assembly wherein the insert 50 is threadedly secured to the second end fitting 12 (bolts 72 threadably secure insert 50 to second end fitting 12 via retainer 68; Figures 1-2).
As to claim 6, Ungchusri et al. disclose a swivel assembly wherein the sleeve 48 is threadedly secured to the first end fitting 14 (bolts 72 threadably secure sleeve 48 to first end fitting 14 via retainer 68; Figures 1-2).
As to claim 9, Ungchusri et al. disclose a swivel assembly wherein the first end fitting 14 is a male fitting and the second end fitting 12 is a female fitting for receiving the male fitting, and
wherein the second end fitting includes a lubrication port 84,86 extending from an external surface of the second end fitting to an interior surface of the second end fitting (Figures 1-2).
As to claim 10, Ungchusri et al. disclose a swivel assembly wherein the first and second end fittings 14,12 are each formed of a material independently selected from stainless steel and polycarbonate, and
wherein the swivel joint 16 is formed of a hardened low or high alloy steel material (Figures 1-2; C3 L18-20,42-45; C4 L39-42).
As to claim 17, Ungchusri et al. disclose a swivel assembly comprising:
a first pipe section having a first end fitting 14 having an inner surface and an outer surface, at least a portion of the first pipe section formed of a corrosion-resistant material;
a second pipe section having a second end fitting 12 having an inner surface and an outer surface, at least a portion of the second pipe section formed of the corrosion-resistant material; and
a swivel joint 16, the swivel joint rotatably securing the first and second end fittings together along a central axis, the swivel joint comprising a sleeve 48 disposed on the outer surface of the first end fitting and an insert 50 disposed on the inner surface of the second end fitting,
wherein the swivel joint is formed of a material having a greater hardness than the corrosion-resistant material of the first and second pipe sections (Figures 1-2; C3 L18-20,42-45; C4 L39-42).
As to claim 18, Ungchusri et al. disclose a swivel assembly wherein the sleeve 48 comprises a plurality of sleeve grooves 58 and the insert 50 comprises a plurality of insert grooves 64, corresponding ones of the sleeve grooves and the insert grooves are aligned to form bearing raceways for supporting a plurality of ball bearings 52 therein, the bearing raceways comprising a hardened material (Figures 1-2; C3 L18-20,42-45; C4 L39-42).
As to claim 19, Ungchusri et al. disclose a swivel assembly wherein the sleeve 48 is threadedly secured to the first end fitting 14 (bolts 72 threadably secure sleeve 48 to first end fitting 14 via retainer 68; Figures 1-2).
As to claim 20, Ungchusri et al. disclose a swivel assembly wherein the insert 50 is threadedly secured to the second end fitting 12 (bolts 72 threadably secure insert 50 to first end fitting 12 via retainer 68; Figures 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ungchusri et al. in view of Ungchusri et al.2 (US 6,164,707)
As to claim 8, Ungchusri et al. fail to explicitly disclose a swivel assembly wherein the insert includes a passageway through which the plurality of ball bearings may be inserted into the bearing raceways.
Ungchusri et al.2 teach a swivel assembly wherein an end fitting 114 includes a passageway 150 through which a plurality of ball bearings 124 may be inserted into bearing raceways 118,120; the passageway providing for ease of insertion of the ball bearings and ease of assembly of the swivel assembly (Figure 2). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the swivel assembly disclosed by Ungchusri et al. wherein the second end fitting and insert comprise a passageway, as taught by Ungchusri et al.2, in order to provide for ease of insertion of the ball bearings and ease of assembly of the swivel assembly.
As to claim 11. Ungchusri et al. disclose a method of assembling a swivel assembly, the method comprising:
coupling a sleeve 48 to an outer surface of a first end fitting 14 of a first pipe section, the sleeve having a plurality of sleeve grooves 58 disposed on an outer surface thereof, the plurality of sleeve grooves each configured to fit a plurality of ball bearings 52 therein;
coupling an insert 50 to an inner surface of a second end fitting 12 of a second pipe section, the insert having a plurality of insert grooves 64 disposed on an inner surface thereof, the plurality of insert grooves each configured to align with one of the plurality of sleeve grooves to define a plurality of bearing raceways therebetween when the swivel assembly is fully assembled;
inserting the sleeve into the insert, thereby fluidly coupling the first and second pipe sections via the swivel assembly; and
disposing the plurality of ball bearings into the at least one bearing raceway of the swivel assembly,
wherein the first and second pipe sections are formed of a corrosion-resistant material, and
wherein at least a portion of the insert or the sleeve is formed of a material having a greater hardness than the corrosion-resistant material of the first and second pipe sections (Figures 1-2; C3 L18-20,42-45; C4 L39-42).
Ungchusri et al. fail to explicitly disclose a swivel assembly wherein the insert and the second end fitting include a passageway through which the plurality of ball bearings may be inserted into the bearing raceways.
Ungchusri et al.2 teach a swivel assembly wherein an end fitting 114 includes a passageway 150 through which a plurality of ball bearings 124 may be inserted into bearing raceways 118,120; the passageway providing for ease of insertion of the ball bearings and ease of assembly of the swivel assembly (Figure 2). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the swivel assembly disclosed by Ungchusri et al. wherein the second end fitting and insert comprise a passageway, as taught by Ungchusri et al.2, in order to provide for ease of insertion of the ball bearings and ease of assembly of the swivel assembly.
As to claim 12, Ungchusri et al. disclose a method wherein coupling the sleeve 48 to the outer surface comprises engaging, via corresponding threads, the sleeve and the first end fitting 14 (bolts 72 threadably secure sleeve 48 to first end fitting 14 via retainer 68; Figures 1-2).
As to claim 13, Ungchusri et al. disclose a method wherein the outer surface of the first end fitting 14 defines a reduced outer diameter surface, and coupling the sleeve 48 to the outer surface comprises disposing the sleeve around the reduced outer diameter surface (Figures 1-2).
As to claim 14, Ungchusri et al. disclose a method wherein coupling the insert 50 to the inner surface comprises engaging, via corresponding threads, the insert and the second end fitting 12 (bolts 72 threadably secure insert 50 to second end fitting 12 via retainer 68; Figures 1-2).
As to claim 15, Ungchusri et al. disclose a method wherein the insert 50 is formed of a hardened low or high alloy steel material (Figures 1-2; C3 L18-20,42-45; C4 L39-42).
As to claim 16, Ungchusri et al. disclose a method wherein the at least a portion of the insert 50 or the sleeve 48 formed of a material having a greater hardness than the corrosion-resistant material of the first and second pipe sections 14,12 has been hardened by one or more of induction heat treatment, carburizing, nitriding, laser heat treatment, quench, and tempering optimization (Figures 1-2; C3 L18-20,42-45; C4 L39-42).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 and 8-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
11/14/25
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619