DETAILED ACTION
This application, 18/161239, attorney docket 2663.1021, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The applicant or assignee is FUJI ELECTRIC CO., LTD.., and claims foreign priority to 2022-033673, filed 03/04/2022. Claims 1-5 and 14-18 are pending and are considered below. Examiner John Bodnar has inherited the instant application. Note that examiner will use numbers in parentheses to indicate numbered elements in prior art figures, and brackets to point to paragraph numbers where quoted material or specific teachings can be found.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended claim 1 to include the direction of coolant flow in the longitudinal direction, which is the same as a direction of extension of the semiconductor modules, and argues that the art or record Yoshihiko does not teach the limitation because the flow path of Yoshihiko does not extend along that direction. Examiner disagrees. Cooling tubes 22 extend and flow across the figure between the modules, so Yoshihiko appears to read on the first part of the amended claim 1. However, Yoshihiko does not teach the amended limitation, “a first flow path that extends in the longitudinal direction of the cooler, and a second flow path that extends in the longitudinal direction of the cooler, the first flow path positioned closer to the plurality of semiconductor modules than the second flow path” because all the flow paths are equidistant from the modules, and all flow the same direction. Therefore, the previous rejection based on Yoshihiro is withdrawn.
New claim 14 is distinguished from Yoshihiko because Yoshihiko does not teach “the plurality of third flow paths positioned closer to the plurality of semiconductor modules than the first flow path and the second flow path, the plurality of semiconductor modules are arrayed in the longitudinal direction of the cooler and are coupled to, or in contact with, the first cooling surface, and the passive element is coupled to, or in contact with, the second cooling surface”.
Yoshihiko teaches the third flow paths 22 between the modules but they extend longitudinally, not arranged perpendicular to the longitudinal direction, and the first and second flow paths extend perpendicular to the longitudinal direction. The passive element of Yoshihiko contacts a second surface of only one of the second surfaces of the third flow paths.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Sevakivi et al. (U.S. 2017/0118868).
As for claim 1,
Sevakivi teaches in figures 1 and 2, a semiconductor device comprising:
a cooler (1) that is elongated in a longitudinal direction of the cooler (into the page toward the left) and through which a refrigerant is flowable ([0012]);
a plurality of semiconductor modules (4), each semiconductor module of the plurality of semiconductor modules including one or more semiconductor elements ([0034]);
and a passive element (5) configured to drive the plurality of semiconductor modules ([0005]),
wherein the cooler includes:
a first cooling surface (6) that extends in the longitudinal direction of the cooler;
a second cooling surface (7) that opposes the first cooling surface,
a first flow path (22) that extends in the longitudinal direction of the cooler, and a second flow path (21) that extends in the longitudinal direction of the cooler, the first flow path positioned closer to the plurality of semiconductor modules than the second flow path,
the plurality of semiconductor modules is arrayed in the longitudinal direction of the cooler and is coupled to, or in contact with, the first cooling surface, the passive element is coupled to, or in contact with, the second cooling surface (shown in figure 1),
and the cooler is configured such that, with a flow of the refrigerant through the cooler, the refrigerant flows through the first flow path then flows through the second flow path. ([0026])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sevakivi in view of Tokuyama et al. (U.S. 2018/0013355).
As for claim 2,
Sevakivi teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, but does not teach:
a housing containing the passive element, the cooler, and the plurality of semiconductor modules, wherein:
the housing includes a mounting surface on which the passive element is mounted, and a direction that the passive element, the cooler, and a semiconductor module of the plurality of semiconductor modules are stacked is parallel to the mounting surface.
However, Tokuyama teaches in figures 2A-2D, a housing (400) containing the passive element (500), the cooler (integrated into 400 [0043]), and the plurality of semiconductor modules (300), wherein:
the housing includes a mounting surface on which the passive element is mounted (sides of slots 405 and 406), and a direction that the passive element, the cooler, and a semiconductor module of the plurality of semiconductor modules are stacked is parallel to the mounting surface. (2D).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of this application to add the housing of Tokuyama to the device of Sevakivi because the housing is needed contain and protect the elements from harsh environments and provide external mounting. One skilled in the art would have combined these elements with a reasonable expectation of success.
As for claim 3,
Sevakivi in view Tokuyama makes obvious the semiconductor device according to claim 2, and in the combination Tokuyama teaches
spaces (405 and 40d) provided between the plurality of semiconductor modules and the mounting surface, and between the cooler and the mounting surface, respectively,
and conductors (shown in figure 5b) are positioned in the spaces, respectively, and
conductors electrically connect the plurality of semiconductor modules and the passive element to each other. (connections shown in 5b).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of this application use the sides of the openings to run the electrical connections because it protects the wiring from snags. One skilled in the art would have combined these elements with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach a header with a cooling surface that faces the second element surface.
Claim 5 depends from claim 4 and includes that same novel limitation.
Claims 14-18 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
the prior art does not teach or make obvious the device of claim 14 that includes a plurality of third flow paths positioned closer to the plurality of semiconductor modules than the first flow path and the second flow path
Claims 15-18 depend from claim14 and include the same novel limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN A BODNAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893