DETAILED ACTION
Priority
It is noted that the instant application is identified as a continuation of application No. 16/287,667, now U.S. Pat No. 11,565,059. The claim set of the instant application was originally restricted from the parent case, and as such, the instant application should be filed as a divisional. Please change the Application Data Sheet to reflect the correct relationship between the instant application and parent application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 12, 15-17, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bowen (US 2016/0157524).
With respect to claim 11, Bowen teaches a vaporizer device (Abstract) and method (Paragraph [0081]) comprising: a resistive heating element, 106, (Paragraphs [0084] and [0085]); circuitry configured to control delivery of electrical power to the resistive heating element from a power source (Paragraphs [0083]-[0085]), the resistive heating element operates to provide heat to a vaporizable material to cause vaporization of the vaporizable material (Paragraph [0088]-[0093]) into a flowing air stream to form an entrained aerosol; and data is then sent to the controller (e.g., receiving data) from the heating element that characterizes the temperature and the temperature profile of the heating element during the user’s puff, the amount of power (e.g., power delivery to the heating element) (Paragraph [0083]). Upon receiving this data, the controller then predicts the amount of vapor to be generated by the vaporization material that is delivered to the user (Abstract; Paragraphs [0048], [0083]) by determining the partial dose amount produced during a puff, and the total amount dose of vapor produced (Paragraph [0087]).
The partial and total doses measured that are delivered to the user, are first located at the heating element, given that the heating element generates the vapor. Thus, the determined doses are also measured at the heater (See also, Paragraph [0114]; temperature of vaporizable material near the heater is measured)
Based on the prediction, the controller then controls the amount of vaporization of the material to achieve a desired dose (Paragraph [0083], [0134]; Figures 10) by controlling the power to the heater (e.g., in watts; see above) (Paragraphs [0113]-[0117]) by either increasing or decreasing said power (Figures 5 and 6; Paragraph [0124]) to achieve a total dose (e.g., target yield). Specifically, as seen in figure 5 and 6, the watts are increased or decreased, according to the equations in paragraphs [0099]-[0102]).
With respect to claim 12, the “flow rate” data of claim 11 is listed among a plurality of optional data. Claim 12 does not explicitly require the use of the flow rate, and thus, the limitations related to said flow rate in claim 12 are also still optional.
Regardless, Bowen discloses measuring flow rate with a flow sensor (Paragraphs [0090], [0124]).
With respect to claim 15, Bowen discloses that the target yield comprises a constant, a, b or c (Paragraphs [0100]-[0102]).
With respect to claim 16, the “use-adjustable parameter” of claim 15 is listed among a plurality of optional selections. Claim 16 does not explicitly require the use of “user-adjusted parameter” amongst the optional selections. Thus, limitations related to said user-adjusted parameters are still optional.
Regardless, Bowen discloses a user-adjusted parameter such as time period (Paragraph [0110]).
With respect to claim 17, Bowen discloses adjusting the present vapor amount threshold (e.g., target yield) from one puff to the next based on the user’s prior puff (Paragraph [0048]).
With respect to claim 20, Bowen discloses that the predicting including executing an algorithm using the received data (Paragraphs [0099]-[0103]).
With respect to claim 21, Bowen discloses that the device comprises a resistive heating element, 106, (Paragraphs [0084] and [0085]); circuitry configured to control delivery of electrical power to the resistive heating element from a power source (Paragraphs [0083]-[0085]), the resistive heating element operates to provide heat to a vaporizable material to cause vaporization of the vaporizable material (Paragraph [0088]-[0093]) into a flowing air stream to form an entrained aerosol.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
____________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowen (US 2016/0157524) in view of Huang et al (US 2016/0255878).
With respect to claims 13 and 14¸ Bowen does not explicitly disclose that the target yield is proportional to flow rate. Huang teaches an electronic vaporizer similar to Bowen including using inputs to control the power of the heater to increase or decrease the power delivery to the heating element in order to arrive at a target aerosol yield (Paragraph [0009]; where the flow rate is used to adjust the power to the heater to adjust the amount of vaporization to arrive at a target amount of vapor). The heating power adjustment is done proportionally (e.g., as a function of the flow rate, as required by claim 14) to flow rate (Paragraphs [0007]- [0008]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bowen with the teachings of Huang to adjust the amount of vaporization using the heater in order to provide precise measurement of the inhalation process.
____________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowen (US 2016/0157524) in view of Cochand et al. (US 2014/0020693).
With respect to claims 18 and 19, Bowen does not explicitly disclose controlling the power delivery to the resistive heating element is further in response to an amount of power required to maintain a predefined temperature of the resistive heating element and selecting the power delivery such that the heating element temperature remains under a predetermined temperature.
Cochand teaches an electronic vaporizer similar to Bowen including maintaining the temperature of the heating element at a predetermined temperature and below a maximum temperature (Paragraph [0092]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bowen with the teachings of Cochand to include the temperature limits in order to avoid unwanted chemical degradation and maintain a vaporization amount.
Conclusion
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745