DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/30/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 3. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 4. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 5. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows : 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 6. Claim(s) 1 , 4 -8, 11-15 and 18-20 is/ are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inch et al. (US 20 21/0124475 A1) in view of Singh et al. (US 201 9/0005717 A1) . 7. With reference to claim 1, Inch teaches A computer system comprising a processor electronically coupled to a memory, wherein the processor performs processor operations (“ Computing system 100 can include one or more processor(s) 110 (e.g., central processing units (CPUs), graphical processing units (GPUs), holographic processing units (HPUs), etc.) Processors 110 can be a single processing unit or multiple processing units in a device or distributed across multiple devices (e.g., distributed across two or more of computing devices 101-103). ” [0024] “ The processors 110 can have access to a memory 150, which can be contained on one of the computing devices of computing system 100 or can be distributed across of the multiple computing devices of computing system 100 or other external devices. ” [0028] ) Inch also teaches accessing hypertext virtual markup language encoded (HTVML-encoded) text; (“ Browser 436 can be a web browser implemented in the XR environment 434. In various implementations, browser 436 can be one or more virtual panels or objects that display web content. For example, browser 436 can be a process that interprets HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and other code and markup languages into renderable content and actions between objects and/or the user. In some implementations, the browser 436 can create web pages using a document object model (DOM) where rendered content and scripts are created as a hierarchy of elements. In some cases, some data objects used by the browser 436 can exist outside the DOM. The browser 436 can receive content, which can include tags specifying the type of content (e.g., specifying whether it is 3D content or whether it is associated with 3D content with an address or path to the 3D content). The browser 436 can have code (e.g., native code, a plugin, a loaded script, or other instructions) that cause the browser 436 to send content identifiers and content positions within the browser 436 to the XR environment 434, gesture monitor and identifier 438, content type identifier 440, and/or content retriever 442 ” [0045] “ content type identifier 440 can accomplish this by analyzing the encoding, structure, or other features of the content itself, or by supplying the content to a machine learning model trained to identify content types. The type identified by content type identifier 440 can control how the XR environment 434 displays content provided to it by the content retriever 442. ” [0047] “ When a user visits a website, various content items can be displayed such as text, images, videos, etc. ” [0052] ““ process 500 can receive, from the browser, an identification of one or more content items included in a current website displayed in the browser. This and other communications described below, e.g., between the artificial reality environment and the browser, can be performed using inter-process communications (IPCs) messages. Block 504 is shown in dotted lines, indicating that, in some implementations, this step is skipped. In some implementations, a plug-in, native code, or a loaded script can review the content of the current website and identify certain types of content items, e.g., based on HTML tags, content post-fix identifiers, identifiers imbedded in the content items, an analysis of the content itself, or using other tags. ” [0054] ) Inch further teaches displaying the HTVML-encoded text in an immersive video frame of a display of a virtual reality (VR) environment; and displaying in the immersive video frame HTVML content associated with the HTVML-encoded text, (“ “Virtual reality” or “VR,” as used herein, refers to an immersive experience where a user's visual input is controlled by a computing system. ” [0021] “ Browser 436 can be a web browser implemented in the XR environment 434. In various implementations, browser 436 can be one or more virtual panels or objects that display web content. For example, browser 436 can be a process that interprets HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and other code and markup languages into renderable content and actions between objects and/or the user. ” [0045] “ content type identifier 440 can accomplish this by analyzing the encoding, structure, or other features of the content itself, or by supplying the content to a machine learning model trained to identify content types. The type identified by content type identifier 440 can control how the XR environment 434 displays content provided to it by the content retriever 442. ” [0047] “ When a user visits a website, various content items can be displayed such as text, images, videos, etc. In some cases, the content items in a website can be 3D content items, such as a 3D image or video (e.g., an image or video where changing the viewing angle changes the perspective of various objects shown in the image or video) or a panoramic image or video (e.g., an image or video where the image or current video frame is contoured into a 3D shape, such as an ellipsoid or cylinder, with a user's viewpoint set at the center of the 3D shape which the user can rotate to view different parts of the image or video frame). … the associated 3D content can be one of various types, such as environment content (e.g., a panoramic image, a panoramic video, a 3D image, or an artificial reality environment) or a 3D model. ” [0052] “ process 500 can receive, from the browser, an identification of one or more content items included in a current website displayed in the browser. This and other communications described below, e.g., between the artificial reality environment and the browser, can be performed using inter-process communications (IPCs) messages. Block 504 is shown in dotted lines, indicating that, in some implementations, this step is skipped. In some implementations, a plug-in, native code, or a loaded script can review the content of the current website and identify certain types of content items, e.g., based on HTML tags, content post-fix identifiers, identifiers imbedded in the content items, an analysis of the content itself, or using other tags. ” [0054] ) Inch does not explicitly teach the HTVML content comprises a three-dimensional (3D), immersive presentation format. This is what Singh teaches (“ a markup language that is a superset of HTML is provided, enabling the definition of web pages as immersive spaces that can be manipulated and reconfigured. The markup language comprises one or more asset definitions, spatial environment definitions and a layout instantiating the defined assets within the spatial environment, to altogether comprise the immersive space. … the markup and scripting can be used to define page “translators” that ascribe semantics to pre-existing web pages, so that can they be re-interpreted as immersive 3D spaces instead of 2D documents as originally intended. … a virtual or immersive space is a 3D world housing virtual rooms within which internet content is made available and, more particularly, comprises a virtual environment that contains a 3D layout of a combination of links to other immersive spaces and assets or multidimensional media content such as 3D objects, lights, viewpoints, data for medical, scientific or information visualization, immersive sound and video, and even existing legacy 2D layouts of text and images. ” [0037-0039]) T herefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Singh into Inch , in order to provide spaces better lend themselves to a spatial and social setting . 8. With reference to claim 4, Inch teaches the HTVML content comprises a rendering of the VR environment. (“ Browser 436 can be a web browser implemented in the XR environment 434. In various implementations, browser 436 can be one or more virtual panels or objects that display web content. For example, browser 436 can be a process that interprets HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and other code and markup languages into renderable content and actions between objects and/or the user. In some implementations, the browser 436 can create web pages using a document object model (DOM) where rendered content and scripts are created as a hierarchy of elements. ” [0045] “ a plug-in, native code, or a loaded script can review the content of the current website and identify certain types of content items, e.g., based on HTML tags, content post-fix identifiers, identifiers imbedded in the content items, an analysis of the content itself, or using other tags. ” [0054]) 9. With reference to claim 5, Inch teaches d isplaying in the immersive video frame the HTVML content associated with the HTVML-encoded text is initiated by detecting an eye gaze of a viewer on a predetermined portion of the HTVML-encoded text. (“ “Virtual reality” or “VR,” as used herein, refers to an immersive experience where a user's visual input is controlled by a computing system. ” [0021] “ Browser 436 can be a web browser implemented in the XR environment 434. In various implementations, browser 436 can be one or more virtual panels or objects that display web content. For example, browser 436 can be a process that interprets HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and other code and markup languages into renderable content and actions between objects and/or the user. ” [0045] “ content type identifier 440 can accomplish this by analyzing the encoding, structure, or other features of the content itself, or by supplying the content to a machine learning model trained to identify content types. The type identified by content type identifier 440 can control how the XR environment 434 displays content provided to it by the content retriever 442. ” [0047] “ When a user visits a website, various content items can be displayed such as text, images, videos, etc. In some cases, the content items in a website can be 3D content items, such as a 3D image or video (e.g., an image or video where changing the viewing angle changes the perspective of various objects shown in the image or video) or a panoramic image or video (e.g., an image or video where the image or current video frame is contoured into a 3D shape, such as an ellipsoid or cylinder, with a user's viewpoint set at the center of the 3D shape which the user can rotate to view different parts of the image or video frame). … the associated 3D content can be one of various types, such as environment content (e.g., a panoramic image, a panoramic video, a 3D image, or an artificial reality environment) or a 3D model. ” [0052] “ when a content item in a webpage is associated with 3D content, an indicator can be presented with the content. In some implementations, the indicator can be a user interface (UI) element, such as a graphic, color, animation, shading, etc., displayed in association with the web-based content item. In other implementations, the indicator can be an effect added to the web-based content item, such as a shading or shadow effect, when the user selects, hovers on, or directs her gaze at the web-based content item associated with 3D content. … process 500 can receive, from the browser, an identification of one or more content items included in a current website displayed in the browser. This and other communications described below, e.g., between the artificial reality environment and the browser, can be performed using inter-process communications (IPCs) messages. Block 504 is shown in dotted lines, indicating that, in some implementations, this step is skipped. In some implementations, a plug-in, native code, or a loaded script can review the content of the current website and identify certain types of content items, e.g., based on HTML tags, content post-fix identifiers, identifiers imbedded in the content items, an analysis of the content itself, or using other tags. ” [0053-0054]) 10. With reference to claim 6, Inch teaches the processor operations further comprise: receiving, using a machine learning algorithm, a plurality of candidate HTVML content; and selecting, using the machine learning algorithm, the HTVML content from the plurality of candidate HTVML content based at least in part on feedback from a viewer of the immersive video frame. (“ Computing system 100 can include one or more processor(s) 110 (e.g., central processing units (CPUs), graphical processing units (GPUs), holographic processing units (HPUs), etc.) Processors 110 can be a single processing unit or multiple processing units in a device or distributed across multiple devices (e.g., distributed across two or more of computing devices 101-103). ” [0024] “ Browser 436 can be a web browser implemented in the XR environment 434. In various implementations, browser 436 can be one or more virtual panels or objects that display web content. For example, browser 436 can be a process that interprets HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and other code and markup languages into renderable content and actions between objects and/or the user. ” [0045] “ content type identifier 440 can accomplish this by analyzing the encoding, structure, or other features of the content itself, or by supplying the content to a machine learning model trained to identify content types. The type identified by content type identifier 440 can control how the XR environment 434 displays content provided to it by the content retriever 442. … Content retriever 442 can receive an identification of one or more pieces of content (e.g., from the browser 436 upon loading a website or upon user selection of a content item) and can retrieve it from local storage or a remote location. ” [0047-0048] “ the indicator can be an effect added to the web-based content item, such as a shading or shadow effect, when the user selects, hovers on, or directs her gaze at the web-based content item associated with 3D content. … process 500 can receive, from the browser, an identification of one or more content items included in a current website displayed in the browser. This and other communications described below, e.g., between the artificial reality environment and the browser, can be performed using inter-process communications (IPCs) messages. Block 504 is shown in dotted lines, indicating that, in some implementations, this step is skipped. In some implementations, a plug-in, native code, or a loaded script can review the content of the current website and identify certain types of content items, e.g., based on HTML tags, content post-fix identifiers, identifiers imbedded in the content items, an analysis of the content itself, or using other tags. ” [0053-0054]) 11. With reference to claim 7, Inch d oes not explicitly teach the 3D, immersive presentation format comprises any combination of audio, video, images, animation, and gestures . This is what Singh teaches (“ To provide a more flexible presentation space for emerging web content such as panoramic and stereo images and video, three dimensional (“3D”) objects, audio, animations, medical imaging, geographical and other spatial data, the following embodiments can interpret web pages as immersive spaces. ” [0032] “ a markup language that is a superset of HTML is provided, enabling the definition of web pages as immersive spaces that can be manipulated and reconfigured. The markup language comprises one or more asset definitions, spatial environment definitions and a layout instantiating the defined assets within the spatial environment, to altogether comprise the immersive space. … the markup and scripting can be used to define page “translators” that ascribe semantics to pre-existing web pages, so that can they be re-interpreted as immersive 3D spaces instead of 2D documents as originally intended. … a virtual or immersive space is a 3D world housing virtual rooms within which internet content is made available and, more particularly, comprises a virtual environment that contains a 3D layout of a combination of links to other immersive spaces and assets or multidimensional media content such as 3D objects, lights, viewpoints, data for medical, scientific or information visualization, immersive sound and video, and even existing legacy 2D layouts of text and images. ” [0037-0039]) T herefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Singh into Inch , in order to provide spaces better lend themselves to a spatial and social setting . 12. Claim 8 is similar in scope to claim 1, and thus is rejected under similar rationale. 13. Claims 11-14 are similar in scope to claims 4-7, and they are rejected under similar rationale. 14. Claim 15 is similar in scope to the combination of claims 1 and 7, and thus is rejected under similar rationale. Inch additionally teaches A computer program product comprising a computer readable program stored on a computer readable storage medium, wherein the computer readable program, when executed on a processor system, causes the processor system to perform processor operations (“ The processors 110 can have access to a memory 150, which can be contained on one of the computing devices of computing system 100 or can be distributed across of the multiple computing devices of computing system 100 or other external devices. A memory includes one or more hardware devices for volatile or non-volatile storage, and can include both read-only and writable memory. For example, a memory can include one or more of random access memory (RAM), various caches, CPU registers, read-only memory (ROM), and writable non-volatile memory, such as flash memory, hard drives, floppy disks, CDs, DVDs, magnetic storage devices, tape drives, and so forth. A memory is not a propagating signal divorced from underlying hardware; a memory is thus non-transitory. Memory 150 can include program memory 160 that stores programs and software, such as an operating system 162, 3D web interaction system 164, and other application programs 166. ” [0028] “ A non transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a computing system, cause the computing system to perform operations for presenting a web-based content item in a first artificial reality environment ,” claim 1) 15. Claims 18-20 are similar in scope to claims 4-6, and they are rejected under similar rationale. 1 6. Claim(s) 2 , 3, 9, 10, 16 and 17 is/ are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inch et al. (US 2021/0124475 A1) and Singh et al. (US 2019/0005717 A1), as applied to claim s 1 , 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Harrison et al. (US 2008/0215994 A1). 1 7. With reference to claim 2, Inch teaches the HTVML content (“ Browser 436 can be a web browser implemented in the XR environment 434. In various implementations, browser 436 can be one or more virtual panels or objects that display web content. For example, browser 436 can be a process that interprets HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and other code and markup languages into renderable content and actions between objects and/or the user. ” [0045] “ a plug-in, native code, or a loaded script can review the content of the current website and identify certain types of content items, e.g., based on HTML tags, content post-fix identifiers, identifiers imbedded in the content items, an analysis of the content itself, or using other tags. ” [0054]) The combination of Inch and Singh does not explicitly teach a simulation of a person providing a comment. This is what Harrison teaches (“ As used herein the term virtual world means a representation of a real or fictitious environment having rules of interaction simulated by means of one or more processors that a real user may perceive via one or more display devices and/or may interact with via one or more user interfaces. As used herein, the term user interface refers to a real device by which a user may send inputs to or receive outputs from the virtual world. The virtual world may be simulated by one or more processor modules. Multiple processor modules may be linked together via a network. The user may interact with the virtual world via a user interface device that can communicate with the processor modules and other user interface devices via a network. ” [0032] “ messages 904a and 904a' may relate to entertainment, gossip and news. The size, shape, or other distinguishing marks on the messages will assist users to quickly identify messages that are of interest and may allow users to comment on the messages, or simply view and post related message in response to posted messages. ” [0078] ) T herefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Harrison into the combination of Inch and Singh , in order to produce a very realistic game experience. 18 . With reference to claim 3, Inch teaches the HTVML content (“ Browser 436 can be a web browser implemented in the XR environment 434. In various implementations, browser 436 can be one or more virtual panels or objects that display web content. For example, browser 436 can be a process that interprets HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and other code and markup languages into renderable content and actions between objects and/or the user. ” [0045] “ a plug-in, native code, or a loaded script can review the content of the current website and identify certain types of content items, e.g., based on HTML tags, content post-fix identifiers, identifiers imbedded in the content items, an analysis of the content itself, or using other tags. ” [0054]) The combination of Inch and Singh does not explicitly teach a simulation of multiple persons having a debate . This is what Harrison teaches (“ As used herein the term virtual world means a representation of a real or fictitious environment having rules of interaction simulated by means of one or more processors that a real user may perceive via one or more display devices and/or may interact with via one or more user interfaces. As used herein, the term user interface refers to a real device by which a user may send inputs to or receive outputs from the virtual world. The virtual world may be simulated by one or more processor modules. Multiple processor modules may be linked together via a network. The user may interact with the virtual world via a user interface device that can communicate with the processor modules and other user interface devices via a network. ” [0032] “ the real-world user can walk about the virtual space and find users to interact with, post messages, and hold discussions with one or more virtual avatar users in the virtual space. ” [0048] “ messages 904a and 904a' may relate to entertainment, gossip and news. The size, shape, or other distinguishing marks on the messages will assist users to quickly identify messages that are of interest and may allow users to comment on the messages, or simply view and post related message in response to posted messages. ” [0078]) T herefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Harrison into the combination of Inch and Singh , in order to produce a very realistic game experience. 19. Claims 9 and 16 are similar in scope to claim 2, and they are rejected under similar rationale. 20. Claims 10 and 17 are similar in scope to claim 3, and they are rejected under similar rationale. Conclusion 21. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Michelle Chin whose telephone number is (571)270-3697. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 8:00 AM-4:30 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http:/Awww.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Kent Chang can be reached on (571)272-7667. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https:/Awww.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https:/Awww.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MICHELLE CHIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614