DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-4 and 7-17 of U.S. Application 18/161369 filed on October 9, 2025 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant argues on page 5 that Higashiyama does not qualify as prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(1) because it was published after the effective filing date of the instant applicant, which is October 1, 2020.
The examiner agrees that Higashiyama does not qualify as prior art under 102(a)(1), however, Higashiyama does qualify as prior art under 102(a)(2) has being effectively filed before the effective filing date of the instant application based on Higashiyama’s priority date of May 15, 2020.
The applicant argues on pages 5-6, that both Higashiyama and that instant application are commonly owned by Murata Manufacturing Co. Ltd. and therefore the commonly owned 102(b)(2)(c) exception should apply.
The examiner points out in accordance with MPEP 717.02(a)(I) that “in order to invoke common ownership to except a disclosure as prior art, the applicant (or the patent owner) must provide a statement that the disclosure of the subject matter on which the rejection is based and the claimed invention were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The statement should either be on or begin on a separate sheet and must not be directed to other matters (37 CFR 1.4(c) ). The statement must be signed in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33(b).” The applicant has provided no such statement in accordance with the MPEP, therefore the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higashiyama (US 20230114545) in view of Saeki (JP 2014225944, see English Machine Translation attached).
Regarding claim 8, Higashiyama teaches (see figs. 4 and 5 below) a stator assy (85) (¶ 30) comprising:
a shaft (81) having a rotor yoke (89) extending therefrom (¶ 34; ¶ 32);
a housing (83, 93) including a first housing member (83) and a second housing member (93) that define a space on an inner side thereof (¶ 29; ¶ 37);
a stator (85) disposed in the space of the housing (83, 93) (¶ 30; ¶ 32);
a magnet (90) on an outer surface of the rotor yoke (89) to face the stator (85) (¶ 32; ¶ 33); and
wherein the first housing member (83) includes a main wall (83A), a side wall (83B), and an inner wall (84), wherein the main wall (83A) is circular in a plan view, and wherein the side wall (83B) is cylindrical in the plan view, is disposed along an outer peripheral end of the main wall (83A), and extends in a direction perpendicular to a main surface of the main wall (83A) (figs. 4 and 5; ¶ 29; ¶ 30).
Higashiyama does not explicitly teach an insulating resin disposed in the space and that fixes the first housing member, the second housing member, and the stator to each other.
However, Saeki teaches (see fig. 1 below) an insulating resin (30) disposed in the space and that fixes the first housing member (24), the second housing member (25), and the stator (23) to each other (Abstract; pages 1-3) in order to enhance heat dissipation from the stator (Saeki, pages 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Higashiyama and provide an insulating resin disposed in the space and that fixes the first housing member, the second housing member, and the stator to each other as taught by Saeki in order to enhance heat dissipation from the stator (Saeki, pages 1-2).
Regarding claim 9/8, Higashiyama in view of Saeki teaches the device of claim 8, Higashiyama further teaches (see figs. 4 and 5 above) the inner wall (84) is cylindrical in the plan view, is disposed at a center of the main wall (83A), and extends in a direction perpendicular to the main surface of the main wall (83A) (figs. 4 and 5; ¶ 29; ¶ 30).
Regarding claim 10/9/8, Higashiyama in view of Saeki teaches the device of claim 9, Higashiyama further teaches (see figs. 4 and 5 above) the inner wall (84) includes a hollow portion (84A) and the main wall (83A) has an opening (see annotated fig. 5 above) in an area overlapping the hollow portion (84A) (figs. 4 and 5; ¶ 29; ¶ 30).
Regarding claim 11/10/9/8, Higashiyama in view of Saeki teaches the device of claim 10, Higashiyama further teaches (see figs. 4 and 5 above) the second housing member (93) includes a main wall (see annotated fig. 5 above) and a side wall (see annotated fig. 5 above) (figs. 4 and 5; ¶ 29; ¶ 30).
Regarding claim 12/11/10/9/8, Higashiyama in view of Saeki teaches the device of claim 11, Higashiyama further teaches (see figs. 4 and 5 above) the main wall (see annotated fig. 5 above) of the second housing member (93) is circular in the plan view, and wherein the side wall (see annotated fig. 5 above) of the second housing member (93) is cylindrical in the plan view, is disposed along an outer peripheral end of the main wall (see annotated fig. 5 above), and extends in a direction perpendicular to a main surface of the main wall (see annotated fig. 5 above) of the second housing member (93) (figs. 4 and 5; ¶ 29; ¶ 30).
Regarding claim 13/12/11/10/9/8, Higashiyama in view of Saeki teaches the device of claim 12, Higashiyama further teaches (see figs. 4 and 5 above) the main wall (see annotated fig. 5 above) of the second housing member (93) has, at a center, an opening (see annotated fig. 5 above) that extends through the main wall (see annotated fig. 5 above) in a thickness direction (figs. 4 and 5; ¶ 29; ¶ 30).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 1-4, 7 and 14-17 allowed.
Conclusion
7. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834