DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/30/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Refer to the following more detailed annotated art rejections, with annotated figures added.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 04/17/25.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
In Fig. 1(b), numeral “15” references the resin body (20), not the joining surface. Refer to Fig. 1(c) and to paragraph [0009] of the specification.
Note: The joining surface is the outer circumferential surface of the resin body and the inner circumferential surface of the metallic body.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 01/30/26 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. 11,590,608 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2016-121745.
As to claim 1, and with reference to the translated claims and the figures, and the following annotated figure, JP 2016-121745 discloses a composite molded body (10) comprising: a metallic molded body (14) and a resin molded body (12) sealing (by molding, [0015]; by adhesive, [0021]) the metallic molded body (14); the metallic molded body having a cavity therein; the metallic molded body having at least one opening through a joining surface (the opening extends through (into and along) the joining surface) with the resin molded body (see figures), the at least one opening through the joining surface is directly connected to the cavity (Fig. 1); the joining surface of the metallic molded body with the resin molded body is roughened at a periphery of the at least one opening (see figures), the roughened joining surface (15a) at the periphery of the at least one opening of the metallic molded body having a porous structure in which holes are formed (see [0019]) in a range of an average depth from 10 to 70 μm (see [0031]); and with the resin having been solidified in a state of entering into an interior of the porous structure formed in the joining surface at the periphery of the at least one opening of the metallic molded body, the at least one opening of the metallic molded body is sealed with the resin molded body in the composite molded body. Refer to paragraphs [0018], [0019] of the translation.
As to claim 2, JP 2016-121745 discloses the composite molded body according to claim 1, wherein the metallic molded body is a tubular metallic molded body having a first end surface and a second end surface opposite the first end surface (see figures), the cavity is a through hole having a first opening on a side of the first end surface and a second opening on a side of the second end surface, the joining surface is an annular joining surface surrounding the first opening on the first end surface, and the first opening is sealed with the resin molded body (see Figs. 1-3, for example). Refer to the following annotated figure.
As to claim 3, JP 2016-121745discloses the composite molded body according to claim 1, wherein the metallic molded body has a top surface, a bottom surface opposite the top surface, and side surfaces, the cavity is an internal hollow part, the opening is formed in the top surface and connected to the internal hollow part, the joining surface is an annular joining surface surrounding the opening, and the opening is sealed with the resin molded body. Refer to Figs. 1-3, for example, and paragraphs [0013] - [0020] of the translation. Refer to the following annotated figure.
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2016-120648.
As to claim 1 and with reference to the claims and the figures and the following annotated figure, JP 2016-120648 discloses a composite molded body comprising: a metallic molded body (10) and a resin molded body (2) sealing the metallic molded body ([0016] - [0018]); the metallic molded body having a cavity therein (see following annotated figure); the metallic molded body having at least one opening (see annotated figure) through (into and along) a joining surface (see annotated figure) with the resin molded body, the at least one opening through the joining surface is directly connected to the cavity (Fig. 1); the joining surface of the metallic molded body with the resin molded body is roughened at a periphery of the at least one opening, the roughened joining surface (12) at the periphery of the at least one opening of the metallic molded body having a porous structure in which holes are formed in a range of an average depth from 10 to 70 μm (see [0037]); and with the resin having been solidified in a state of entering into an interior of the porous structure formed in the joining surface at the periphery of the at least one opening of the metallic molded body, the at least one opening of the metallic molded body is sealed with the resin molded body in the composite molded body. Refer to Figs. 1a-c and paragraphs [0007] - [0008], and [0014] - [0020].
As to claim 2, JP 2016-120648 discloses the composite molded body according to claim 1, wherein the metallic molded body is a tubular metallic molded body having a first end surface and a second end surface opposite the first end surface, the cavity is a through hole having a first opening on a side of the first end surface and a second opening on a side of the second end surface, the joining surface is an annular joining surface surrounding the first opening on the first end surface, and the first opening is sealed with the resin molded body. Refer to Figs. 1a-c and paragraphs [0007] - [0008], and [0014] - [0020] of the translation.
As to claim 3, JP 2016-120648 discloses the composite molded body according to claim 1, wherein the metallic molded body has a top surface, a bottom surface opposite the top surface, and side surfaces, the cavity is an internal hollow part, the opening is formed in the top surface and connected to the internal hollow part, the joining surface is an annular joining surface surrounding the opening, and the opening is sealed with the resin molded body. Refer to Figs. 1a-c and paragraphs [0007] - [0008], and [0014] - [0020] of the translation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
James M. Hewitt II
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3679
/JAMES M HEWITT II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679