DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hideki et al. (JP 2010280867; see machine translation; hereinafter Hideki).
With regards to claim 11, Hideki teaches a method comprising:
measuring a pressure for each of two different locations (90; [0134]) within a fluidized bed reactor system (10C; FIG. 4) that comprises a reactor capable of containing a fluidized bed and a cycle gas loop (see L30-L40), wherein one or both of the two different locations (see dashed lines connected to 90; FIG. 4) is not at a flowmeter (no flowmeter located near 90);
calculating a pressure drop based on the two measured pressures ([0134]);
calculating a first superficial gas velocity (SGValt) (gas tower velocity) for the fluidized bed based on the pressure drop ([0115]);
operating the fluidized bed reactor system based at least in part on the SGValt ([0127]); and
producing a polyolefin in the fluidized bed reactor system ([0126-0127]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hideki et al. (JP 2010280867; see machine translation; hereinafter Hideki) in view of Gysling (US Patent 7,418,877).
With regards to claim 12, Hideki teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the operating of the fluidized bed reactor comprises modifying an operating parameter of the fluidized bed reactor system ([0127]). However, Hideki is silent regarding the method comprising obtaining a second superficial gas velocity (SGVfm) for the fluidized bed using the flowmeter.
Gysling teaches a method of calculating a superficial gas velocity based on the pressure drop (via 118; FIG. 1; col. 4, lines 31-50); obtaining a second superficial gas velocity (SGVfm) using the flowmeter (114; FIG. 1; col. 4, lines 31-50).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method as taught by Gysling to the method as taught by Hideki with reasonable expectation of accurately measure the gas velocity (col. 3, lines 32-52; Gysling).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hideki et al. (JP 2010280867; see machine translation; hereinafter Hideki) in view of Forsythe et al. (US Publication 2018/0238623; hereinafter Forsythe).
With regards to claim 14, Hideki teaches the method of claim 11. However, Hideki is silent regarding wherein (a) the flowmeter comprises a Venturi flowmeter or (b) the flowmeter comprises a Pitot tube.
Forsythe teaches a fluidized bed system, similar to Hideki, wherein an example of a flowmeter comprises a Pitot tube ([0038]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the flowmeter as taught by Forsythe to the fluidized bed reactor system as taught by Hideki with reasonable expectation of measuring flow as originally intended ([0174]; Hideki).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 and 15-20 are allowed.
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior arts on record fail to anticipate and/or suggest the combination of the claimed invention. Specifically, the prior arts fail to teach, inter alia, the limitation of “comparing the SGValt and the SGVfm, wherein the comparison comprises an absolute value of a difference between the SGValt and the SGVfm; and operating the fluidized bed reactor system based at least in part on said comparing of the SGValt and the SGVfm”.
The closest prior art on record, Hideki, teaches a method of operating a fluidized bed reactor (see above). However, Hideki does not teach using two different types of sensor (pressure sensor(s) and flowmeter) as required by the claims. Thus, Hideki does not teach “comparing the SGValt and the SGVfm, wherein the comparison comprises an absolute value of a difference between the SGValt and the SGVfm; and operating the fluidized bed reactor system based at least in part on said comparing of the SGValt and the SGVfm” as required by claims 1 and 13.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 11-12 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/QXN/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/STEPHEN D MEIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853