DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Column and line (or Paragraph Number) citations have been provided as a convenience for Applicants, but the entirety of each reference should be duly considered. Any recitation of a Figure element, e.g. “Figure 1, element T should be construed as inherently also reciting “and relevant disclosure thereto”.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 3 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/10/25.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 8/12/26. These drawings are accepted.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 58a for the elected Species A. That is, only the second (non-elected) embodiment (Species B, FIGS. 19-22) shows the bent portion 58a.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Bickerstaff.
For claim 1, Bickerstaff (4575967) discloses a vehicle door assembly (FIG.1), comprising:
a vehicle body structure (door 10) defining an opening (window opening 12);
a window (24/24a) movably connected to the vehicle body structure, the window being configured to move between a closed position (24a, dash-dot lines of FIG. 2) at least partially closing the opening and an open position (24, solid lines of FIG.2) exposing the opening such that the window is at least partially disposed between a body member of the vehicle body structure and a trim element of the vehicle body structure; and
a movement mechanism having a movable member (44, FIGS. 2-5) and a glass attachment structure (50,54,56) attached to the movable member for pivotal movement with respect thereto,
the movement mechanism being installed (in cavity 60) between the trim element (64) and the body member (62) and being configured to move the movable member and the window between the closed position and the open position,
the glass attachment structure including a bent portion (54; the bracket 54 as seen in cross-section (FIG.2) is generally U-shaped where the legs of the “U” are bent relative to the base of the “U” shape) to accommodate the window,
the vehicle body structure includes a guide assembly (66,94), and
the window travels along the guide assembly between the closed and open positions, the guide assembly defining a first travel path, the first travel path having a same shape of at least a portion of the window, and
the movement mechanism includes a track member (46) defining a second travel path such that the movable member moves along the second travel path between the closed position and the open position.
The guide assembly (66,94) is one of a plurality of guide assemblies located at opposite sides of the opening such that the window travels along the guide assemblies between the closed and open positions.
The trim element is a door trim panel and the body member is a door panel of a door attached to the vehicle body structure for pivotal movement with respect thereto.
For claim 18, the track member is rigidly fixed to the body member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 13-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lathers (3567209) in view of Bickerstaff (4575967).
For claim 1, Lathers discloses a vehicle door assembly, comprising:
a vehicle body structure (10) defining an opening (12; FIG.1);
a window 3211492 (18) movably connected to the vehicle body structure, the window being configured to move between a closed position (FIGS.1-2) at least partially closing the opening and an open position (FIG.3) exposing the opening such that the window is at least partially disposed between a body member (22) of the vehicle body structure and a trim element (headlining 24) of the vehicle body structure; and
a movement mechanism (“any operating means”, Col 2, lines 26-30) configured to move the window between the closed position and the open position,
the vehicle body structure includes a guide assembly (tracks 20, Col 2, lines 20-26; secured to the pillar structures 16), the window (18) travels along the guide assembly (tracks) between the closed and open positions, the guide assembly defining a first travel path, the first travel path having a same shape of at least a portion of the window (as seen in FIGS.2-3).
Lathers additional provides the guide assembly being one of a plurality of guide assemblies (where two tracks 20 are located one on each of the pillar structure 16) at opposite sides of the opening such that the window travels along the guide assemblies between the closed and open positions, and the first travel path has a substantially curved shape (FIGS.2-3) corresponding to the curved shape of the window (claim 5).
Lathers lacks the specific movement mechanism, a feature disclosed by Bickerstaff.
Bickerstaff (4575967) teaches a vehicle door assembly (FIG.1), comprising:
a vehicle body structure (door 10) defining an opening (window opening 12);
a window (24/24a) movably connected to the vehicle body structure, the window being configured to move between a closed position (24a, dash-dot lines of FIG. 2) at least partially closing the opening and an open position (24, solid lines of FIG.2) exposing the opening such that the window is at least partially disposed between a body member of the vehicle body structure and a trim element of the vehicle body structure; and
a movement mechanism having a movable member (44, FIGS. 2-5) and a glass attachment structure (54) attached to the movable member for pivotal movement with respect thereto,
the movement mechanism being installed (in cavity 60) between the trim element (64) and the body member (62) and being configured to move the movable member and the window between the closed position and the open position,
the glass attachment structure including a bent portion (54; the bracket 54 as seen in cross-section (FIG.2) is generally U-shaped where the legs of the “U” are bent relative to the base of the “U” shape) to accommodate the window,
the vehicle body structure includes a guide assembly (66,94), and
the window travels along the guide assembly between the closed and open positions, the guide assembly defining a first travel path, the first travel path having a same shape of at least a portion of the window, and
the movement mechanism includes a track member (46) defining a second travel path such that the movable member moves along the second travel path between the closed position and the open position.
The guide assembly (66,94) is one of a plurality of guide assemblies located at opposite sides of the opening such that the window travels along the guide assemblies between the closed and open positions.
The trim element is a door trim panel and the body member is a door panel of a door attached to the vehicle body structure for pivotal movement with respect thereto.
For claim 18, Bickerstaff further teaches the track member (46) being rigidly fixed to the body member (FIG.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided the window of Lathers with a movement mechanism for a retractable window known from Bickerstaff as an obvious expedient to achieve the same predictable result of moving the window and in order to allow the window to be flush.
For claim 2, the trim element is a headliner (24) and the body member is a roof panel (22).
For claim 4, the window has a curved shape (FIG.3) as viewed from sides thereof.
For claims 5 and 6, the guide assembly (66,94 of Bickerstaff) is one of a plurality of guide assemblies located at opposite sides of the opening such that the window travels along the guide assemblies between the closed and open positions.
Lathers, as modified above, provides the curved shape of the window and therefore in combination with Bickerstaff, discloses the first travel path has a substantially curved shape corresponding to the curved shape of the window.
For claim 7, the shape of the second travel path is different from the shape of the first travel path such that with the window in the closed position the movable member (44 of Bickerstaff) is a first distance away from an adjacent portion of the first travel path and with the window in the open position the movable member is a second distance away from an adjacent portion of the first travel path, the first distance being different from the second distance (this is evident from FIG.2 of Bickerstaff showing the distance between 44 and the location of the window when the window is in the closed position being different than the distance between 44 and the location of the window in the opened position).
For claim 8, the glass attachment structure (54 of Bickerstaff) pivots relative to the movable member (44 of Bickerstaff) as the window is moved between the open position and the closed position (see FIG.3 of Bickerstaff showing the pivots 52 and 56).
For claim 9, the track member (46 of Bickerstaff) is positioned between (as seen in FIG. 1) the guide members (66,94 of Bickerstaff) (the guide members 66,94 are provided on either lateral side of the window whereas the track member 46 is provided in the middle/center portion of the window).
For claim 13, the glass attachment structure (54 of Bickerstaff) pivots relative to the movable member (44 of Bickerstaff) as the window is moved between the open position and the closed position.
For claim 14, Lathers further comprising
a lower door (tailgate 26) movably connected to the vehicle body structure,
the lower door being configured to move between an upper closed position (FIGS.1-2) and a lower open position (FIG.3) such that with both the lower door and the window in their respective closed positions a lower end of the window contacts an upper end of the lower door.
For claim 15, the window and the lower door are independently movable.
For claim 17, an overall height of the vehicle body structure is not increased when the window is located in the open position relative to the window being in the closed position.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lathers, as modified with Bickerstaff above and further in view of Cicala (2009/0113802).
For claim 10, the glass attachment structure (54 of Bickerstaff) includes a first element (not numbered but seen in FIG.3, marked-up below) and a second member (not numbered, FIG.3) attached to opposite ends of the movable member.
Lathers, as modified, fails to provide the attachment of the respective elements via respective hinges.
Cicala teaches two separate attachments as seen in FIGS. 3 and 14 for a window.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided separate hinges such as taught by Cicala in place of the one single hinge of Lathers, as modified (as seen in FIG.3 of Bickerstaff) since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPT 177, 179.
Claims 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lathers, as modified above, in view of the well known prior art.
For claims 11 and 16, Lathers, as modified, shows the window having an arcuate shape but fails to provide the window having a substantially curved shape as viewed from upper and lower ends thereof or the arcuate shape being compound as recited.
The examiner takes official notice that compound arcuate shaped windows are well known in the prior art for use in vehicles as evidenced by at least Leflet, Jr. et al. (3364005) (FIGS.2-3); Maynard (2002/0108324) ([0018]); Golightly (3264082) (Col 1, lines 23-34); and WO9707377 (describing modern aerodynamic vehicles having windows with compound curves as seen in FIGS.20A-20B (as seen below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided the window of Lathers, as modified, with a compound curve as taught by the well known prior art in order to allow the vehicle to be more aerodynamic.
Because applicant has not traversed the examiner’s assertion of official notice or applicant’s traverse is not adequate, the common knowledge or well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art. See MPEP 2144.03(C).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) as amended have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a)
/HILARY L GUTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612B