DETAILED ACTION
This final rejection is responsive to the amendment filed 29 October 2025. Claims 21-42 are pending. Claims 21, 28 and 35 are independent claims. Claims 21 and 23-41 are amended. Claim 42 is new.
Response to Remarks
35 U.S.C. 101
Applicant’s amendments have been fully considered and they are persuasive. The rejections are withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant’s prior art arguments have been fully considered and they are partially persuasive.
Applicant argues (pg. 8) that Stone does not teach the newly amended claim 21 which specifies that a sensor coupled to the main body, the sensor to detect movement of the main body relative to a reference as the main body moves along the track.
Examiner agrees that the previously cited embodiment of Stone does not teach the newly amended claim 21 and the corresponding independent claims. However, another embodiment of Stone, presented in Fig. 10, teaches the limitation in question, as further detailed below. The newly amended limitations necessitate new grounds of rejection.
Applicant further argues (pgs. 8-9) that other independent claims were not addressed. However, the other independent claims recite a non-transitory machine-readable medium and a method that performs the function of the system of claims 21-27. Moreover, the newly amended limitation of the independent claims necessitates new grounds of rejection, which is further addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 22, 27-29, 34-36, 41, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stone (US 2015/0239686 A1) hereinafter known as Stone.
Regarding independent claim 21, Stone teaches:
A vehicle restraint system comprising: a main body moveable along a track; (Stone: Fig. 10 and ¶[0044]; Stones teaches a vehicle restraint system that is moveable along a track.)
a sensor coupled to the main body, the sensor to detect movement of the main body relative to a reference as the main body moves along the track; (Stone: Fig. 10 and ¶[0044]; Stone teaches a sensor 22’.)
machine readable instructions; and programmable circuitry to at least one of instantiate or execute the machine readable instructions to: collect, via the sensor, data representative of at least one of movement or loads of the main body during a loading/unloading operation; and (Stone: Fig. 10 and ¶[0044]-¶[0045]; Stone teaches a sensor 22’, which monitors the infinite plurality of intermediate positions.)
...
An embodiment of Stone does not explicitly teach but another embodiment teaches:
generate a profile of the loading/unloading operation based on the collected data. (Stone: Figs. 11-13 and ¶[0046]; Stone teaches storing the plurality of feedback signals 44 as historical data. ¶[0055] teaches the vehicle being coupled to the barrier and sensing the plurality of position when the vehicle shifts back and forth. The foregoing is interpreted as the profile.)
Stone is in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, as it is directed to vehicle restraint systems. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine a vehicle restraint system that include a sensor to collect various data to store a profile of the vehicle restraint system. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine these teachings because the combination would allow controlling the barrier based on historical data, as suggested by Stone: ¶[0054].
Regarding claim 22, Stone further teaches the vehicle restraint system of claim 21.
Stone further teaches:
wherein the collected data includes data pertaining to at least one of positional height values, velocity values, or acceleration values of the main body during the loading/unloading operation. (Stone: ¶[0027] and ¶[0052]; Stone teaches a sensor on the vehicle restraint which receives feedback signals 44. The sensor senses a position of the sensor of the barrier, speed, and direction of movement.)
Regarding claim 27, Stone further teaches the vehicle restraint system of claim 21.
Stone further teaches:
wherein one or more of the at least one programmable circuit is to analyze the generated profile to determine whether a rate of change of the vehicle restraint system exceeds a rate of change threshold, and initiate a warning in response to determining that the rate of change exceeds the rate of change threshold. (Stone: ¶[0052]; Stone teaches determining if the performance of the barrier fails to meet one or more threshold. The values used are rate of acceleration. ¶[0053] further teaches generating a fault signal.)
Regarding claims 28, 29, 34-36, and 41, these claims recite a non-transitory machine-readable medium and a method that performs the function of the system of claims 21, 22, and 27; therefore, the same rationale for rejection applies.
Regarding claim 42, Stone further teaches the vehicle restraint system of claim 21.
Stone further teaches:
including a hook rotatably coupled to the main body. (Stone: Fig. 1 and ¶[0025]; Stone further teaches a barrier that is rotatably coupled to the main body that includes a track.)
Claims 23, 30, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stone in view of McNeill (US 2013/0327914 A1) hereinafter known as McNeill.
Regarding claim 23, Stone further teaches the vehicle restraint system of claim 21.
Stone does not explicitly teach but McNeill teaches:
wherein one or more of the at least one programmable circuit is to analyze the generated profile to detect whether a landing gear collapse event occurred, and initiate a warning in response to determining that the landing gear collapse event occurred. (McNeill: ¶[0034]; McNeill teaches a trailer stand sensor configured to sense whether the trailer is properly engaged and supporting the trailer. The foregoing is interpreted as a landing gear collapse event, since the trailer not being properly engaged may cause a collapse.)
McNeill is in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, since it is directed to loading and unloading trucks. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine a vehicle restraint system that include a sensor to collect various data to store a profile of the vehicle restraint system as taught by Stone with further determining landing gear collapse event as taught in McNeill. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Stone to include teachings of McNeill, because the combination would allow determination of whether the trailer is properly supported, as suggested by McNeill: ¶[0034].
Regarding claims 30 and 37, these claims recite a non-transitory machine-readable medium and a method that performs the function of the system of claim 23; therefore, the same rationale for rejection applies.
Claims 24, 25, 31, 32, 38, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stone in view of Brooks (US 2016/0009177 A1) hereinafter known as Brooks.
Regarding claim 24, Stone further teaches the vehicle restraint system of claim 21.
Stone does not explicitly teach but Van Mill teaches:
wherein one or more of the at least one programmable circuit is to analyze the generated profile to detect whether a load at a rear end of a vehicle exceeds a weight load threshold. (Brooks: Fig. 51 and ¶[0121] and ¶[0054]; Brooks teaches sensing misalignment by monitoring an overload condition, wherein the sensor is mounted to a vertically moveable portion of a vehicle restraint.)
Brooks is in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, since it is directed to loading and unloading. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine a vehicle restraint system that include a sensor to collect various data to store a profile of the vehicle restraint system as taught by Stone with further determining an overload event based on a weight threshold on one end of the vehicle as taught in Brooks. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Stone to include teachings of Brooks, because the combination would allow prevention of misalignment, as suggested by Brooks: ¶[0121].
Regarding claim 25, Stone in view of Brooks further teaches the vehicle restraint system of claim 24.
Brooks further teaches:
wherein one or more of the at least one programmable circuit is to, in response to detecting that the load at the rear end of the vehicle exceeds the weight load threshold, analyze the generated profile to detect whether a tilt state of a trailer occurred in response to detecting that the load at the rear end of the vehicle exceeds the weight load threshold. (Brooks: Fig. 51 and ¶[0121] and ¶[0054]; Brooks teaches sensing misalignment by monitoring an overload condition, wherein the sensor is mounted to a vertically moveable portion of a vehicle restraint.)
Regarding claims 31, 32, 38, and 39, these claims recite a non-transitory machine-readable medium and a method that performs the function of the system of claim 23 and 24; therefore, the same rationale for rejection applies.
Claims 26, 33, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stone in view of Gleason (US 2006/0182559 A1) hereinafter known as Gleason.
Regarding claim 26, Stone further teaches the vehicle restraint system of claim 21.
Stones does not explicitly teach but Gleason teaches:
wherein one or more of the at least one programmable circuit is to analyze the generated profile to detect whether at least one of the main body failed to return to an initial position after the loading/unloading operation or whether one or more springs of the main body require maintenance or repair. (Gleason: ¶[0020]; Gleason teaches a sensor that informs the operator if the barrier has returned to its stored position.)
Gleason is in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, since it is directed to loading and unloading. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine a vehicle restraint system that include a sensor to collect various data to store a profile of the vehicle restraint system as taught by Stone with further determining whether the barrier has not returned to the initial position as taught in Gleason. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Stone to include teachings of Gleason, because the combination would allow the operator to make the necessary adjustments, as suggested by Gleason: ¶[0020].
Regarding claims 33 and 40, these claims recite a non-transitory machine-readable medium a method that performs the function of the system of claim 26; therefore, the same rationale for rejection applies.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEKSEY OLSHANNIKOV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118