DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Document D1 (JIA MIN ET AL: “Access Point Optimization for Reliable Indoor Localization Systems", IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON RELIABILITY, IEEE SERVICE CENTER, PISCATAWAY, NJ, US, vol. 69, no. 4, 1 December 2020 (2020-12-01), pages 1424-1436, XP011822886, ISSN: 0018-9529, DOI: 10.1109/TR.2019.2955748 . , [retrieved on 2020-11-30].
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 19, Document D1 teaches a method, a computing device of selecting a deployment of network elements (see abstract), comprising: a processor configured with processor-executable instructions to:
means for obtaining information regarding a plurality of network element locations in a geographic area (see abstract: Location fingerprinting using WLAN is the most acknowledged technique for indoor localization purposes. Both accuracy and coverage can be enhanced by deploying the WLAN access points (APs) appropriately), communication characteristics of network element types suitable for deployment in the plurality of network element locations, and a deployment cost of the network elements (see abstract and par. IV: A hybrid technique is proposed to select the optimal APs configuration that merges the traditional fingerprint difference and geometric dilution of precision-based methods. A distinguishing feature of this work is the inclusion of two significant constraints, which are the consideration of walls and people attenuation factor in the optimization process), means for repeating the operations of: generating a candidate network deployment based on a selection of the network element locations and a selection of network element types (see par. IV: page 6; Algorithm 2: 4: Repeat step until leaf node), simulating performance of the candidate network deployment based on the determined network demand using a bottleneck structure model (see par. IV: page 6; Algorithm 2); and determining whether a stop condition is satisfied by the candidate network deployment (see par. IV: page 6); and means for selecting a deployment of communication network elements according to the candidate network deployment in response to determining that the stop condition is satisfied (see par. IV: page 6; Algorithm 2: end if).
Document D does not mention network demand in the geographic area. However,
the network demand from user equipment (UEs) in the geographic area is obvious to a person skilled in the art. In case there is no demand, no network will be deployed in an area. A
network, i.e. a network element is deployed once there is demand.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective the filling date of claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the network demand from user equipment (UEs) in the geographic area to the method of Document D in order for providing enough bandwidth and service to UEs.
Regarding claims 2, 11, and 20, Document D also teaches modifying the candidate network deployment using an output of the bottleneck structure model to generate a next candidate network deployment in response to determining that the stop condition is not satisfied before performing the operations of simulating performance and determining whether the stop
condition is satisfied (see par.V: multiple times refers to a limited number of
repetitions, as an unlimited number of repetitions).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Document D also teaches wherein the network element types comprise one or more of a base station, a small cell, or a repeater device (see abstract).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Document D also teaches generating the candidate network deployment based on a selection of the network element locations and a selection of network element types comprises generating the candidate network deployment further based on a selection of signal routes among network elements; and selecting the deployment of communication network elements according to the candidate network deployment comprises selecting the deployment of communication network elements further based on the selection of signal routes among the network elements. (see pars. IV and V: document D1 involves a set of candidate AP positions, they must have been created. In addition, in order to simulate the operation of the network, the interconnections of the network must have been established, in order to; and provide for a credible simulation. In an operational networks the network elements are interconnected and communicate as such, hence it seems only realistic for the simulation to arrange for this types of connections, too).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Document D also teaches wherein determining whether the stop condition is satisfied by the candidate network deployment comprises determining whether the deployment cost of the network elements of the candidate network deployment meets a deployment cost condition (see par. IV).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Document D also teaches wherein determining whether the stop condition is satisfied by the candidate network deployment comprises determining whether a run time condition has been satisfied (see par. IV: page 6; Algorithm 2: end if).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Document D also teaches wherein simulating a performance of the candidate network deployment based on the determined network demand using the bottleneck structure model comprises simulating a scheduling of signals by each of the network elements (see pars. IV and V: In order to simulate an operational set of network elements, the scheduling of signals should be simulated, too, as that is the normal operational condition of the network).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Document D teaches mention wherein simulating a performance of the candidate network deployment based on the determined network demand using the bottleneck structure model (see pars. IV and V). Document D does not mention simulating a formation of beamformed signals by one or more of the network elements. However, simulating a formation of beamformed signals by one or more of the network elements in wireless communication networks is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective the filling date of claimed invention (AIA ) to modify simulating a formation of beamformed signals by one or more of the network elements in wireless communication networks to the method of Document D in order for providing good service to UEs.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not mention wherein simulating a performance of the candidate network deployment based on the determined network demand using the bottleneck structure model comprises using a time division water filling model for signal scheduling operations performed by one or more of the network elements, as specified in claim.
Therefore, they are objected.
Conclusion
/DAVID Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643