DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 26-27 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Newly added claim 26-27 are similar to the non-elected claim 7 and 8. Applicant cancelled 7-8 as the claims are non-elected. However applicant have included similar claim limitations of 7-8 as claims 26-27.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 26-27 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites, “said application program including an optimizer module, said optimizer module being configured to optimize rendering of a 3D model utilizing said digital assets”. The phrase “a 3D model “ has an instance before the limitation. Therefore the phrase should be “the 3D model”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 28 recites, “wherein said optimizer module comprises one or more of a decimation component, a user role-based asset downloading component, a lazy loading component, an offline loading component, an on-demand loading component or a zoom level based component,
wherein said decimation component is configured to reduce the polygon counts in the 3D model mesh, and
wherein said user role-based asset downloading component is configured to reduce downloading to assets based on requirements of said user, and
wherein said lazy loading component is configured to pre-load one or more lightweight skin models corresponding to the 3D model and utilizing said one or more lightweight skin models as placeholders, and
wherein said offline loading component is configured to utilize local storage to store assets downloaded from a server, and
wherein said on-demand loading component is configured to download assets from a server as required for the 3D model, and
wherein said zoom level based component is configured to render and display the 3D model based on how far or how close the user can view the 3D model.”
The claim recites one or more of a decimation component, a user role-based asset downloading component, a lazy loading component, an offline loading component, an on-demand loading component or a zoom level based component. So out of six different components any one component is required in the limitation. However applicant claims functionalities of each component. If the limitation has one out of six different components, the functionality of other five components will be invalid So the limitation is ambiguous.
For purpose of examinations, functionality of any one component is interpreted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10-12, 17-18, 23-24 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 20240394389 “Wen”) in view of Rowley (US Pat. Pub. No. 20230082513 “Rowley”).
Regarding claim 1, Wen teaches A system for rendering a model on a display(Fig. 1A), the system being connected to a network (Fig. 1A element 150) comprising an Internet network (“[0036]…… the backend server system 120 via the network 150 (e.g., via cellular data) and communication between the backend server system 120 and the safety administration system 130 via a wired and/or a wireless high-speed data communication network (including the Internet), communications of the devices are not limited in this manner”), said system comprising:
a user computer (computing devices 114, 120, and 130 are shown in FIG. 1A) configured with a browser program, said browser program being operatively coupled to the network, and configured for loading an application program over the Internet and running said application program on said user computer, said application program comprising a program for rendering a model, and being responsive to one or more inputs and user actions for manipulating the model (“[0035] Various example computing devices 114, 120, and 130 are shown in FIG. 1A. In general, the computing devices can be any computing device such as a desktop, laptop or tablet computer, personal computer, wearable computer, server, personal digital assistant (PDA), hybrid PDA/mobile phone, mobile phone, smartphone, set top box, voice command device, digital media player, and the like. A computing device may execute an application (e.g., a browser, a standalone application, etc.) that allows a user to access interactive user interfaces, view images, analyses, or aggregated data. [0093]…… where the user interface may be generated (e.g., the user interface data may be executed by a browser accessing a web service and may be configured to render the user interfaces based on the user interface data). The user may then interact with the user interface through the web-browser”);
a remote server (Fig. 1A element 120) configured for storing a plurality of digital assets associated with the model, said remote server being coupled to the Internet (“[0086]…. the remote computer may be connected to the user's computer through any type of network, including a local area network (LAN) or a wide area network (WAN), or the connection may be made to an external computer (for example, through the Internet using an Internet Service Provider)”) and configured for downloading and uploading one or more said plurality of digital assets to the application program running on said user computer (“[0047]…… Video data may be automatically uploaded to an backend server system (e.g., in the cloud) for further analysis, such as automatically uploading five seconds before to five seconds after each safety event is detected. Still images may also be captured and stored locally and/or transmitted to the backend server system. [0055] At block 304, the backend server system 120 stores the received image data. The image data may be stored in one or more data stores and/or databases. [0067]….. In some embodiments, such as in the example of FIG. 4, the method may be performed by one or more computing systems that are part of the safety administration system 130 to retrieve image data from a backend server system 120”);
said application program being configured for downloading one or more digital assets from said remote server (“[0067]….. In some embodiments, such as in the example of FIG. 4, the method may be performed by one or more computing systems that are part of the safety administration system 130 to retrieve image data from a backend server system 120”) but is silent about rendering a three-dimensional model; said application program comprising a program for rendering a 3D model, and being responsive to one or more inputs and user actions for manipulating the 3D model; a remote server configured for storing a plurality of digital assets associated with a 3D model, said remote server being coupled to the Internet and configured for downloading and uploading one or more said plurality of digital assets to the application program running on said user computer said application program being configured for downloading one or more digital assets from said remote server
said application program including an optimizer module, said optimizer module being configured to optimize rendering of a 3D model utilizing said digital assets;
Rowley teaches, rendering a three-dimensional model; a program for rendering a 3D model, and being responsive to one or more inputs and user actions for manipulating the 3D model; (“[0078] In the example of FIG. 7, at least one third-party 703 (e.g., a gambling bookkeeper) may interface with server 720 to provide input that may be used to control live content 740, such as using the input data to control metadata 738 that is output in live broadcast 722.”);
a remote server configured for storing a plurality of digital assets associated with a 3D model, said remote server being coupled to the Internet and configured for downloading and uploading one or more said plurality of digital assets to the application program running on said user computer said application program being configured for downloading one or more digital assets from said remote server (“[0072]….. Content player 732 is implemented as software with machine readable instructions that, when executed by a processor of client device 730, receives metadata 738 in live broadcast 722 from server 720 and generates a 3D model 736 defining the base environment and then updates 3D model 736 in real-time as metadata 738 is received”)
optimizer module (integral part of client device 730) being configured to optimize rendering of a 3D model utilizing digital assets (“[0076]….. In certain embodiments, content player 732 is based on the Unreal engine, or other similar graphical software, and generates and/or updates 3D model 736 according to metadata 738 received in live broadcast 722, and then generates live content 140 for output on display 906 client device 730 by rendering images of 3D model 736”);
Wen and Rowley are analogous art as both of them are related to image processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Wen by rendering a three-dimensional model; having a program for rendering a 3D model, and being responsive to one or more inputs and user actions for manipulating the 3D model, a remote server configured for storing a plurality of digital assets associated with a 3D model, said remote server being coupled to the Internet and configured for downloading and uploading one or more said plurality of digital assets to the application program running on said user computer said application program being configured for downloading one or more digital assets from said remote server and said application program including an optimizer module, said optimizer module being configured to optimize rendering of a 3D model utilizing said digital assets as taught by Rowley.
The motivation for the above is to provide progressive rendering of a 3D model.
Wen modified by Rowley teaches said optimizer module including a user role based downloading mechanism, said user role based downloading mechanism including a component configured to retrieve user permissions associated with the user, a component configured to retrieve only those digital assets based on said permissions associated with said user (Wen “[0016]….. In some embodiments, the permissions may be grouped by role, such that all users assigned to a certain role within an organization will have access to the same data. [0067] FIG. 4 is a flow diagram illustrating one embodiment of an example method for retrieving appropriate image data based on digital user permissions for the purpose of ensuring data privacy”); and
said application being configured to render the 3D model based on said retrieved digital assets (Rowley “[0076]….. In certain embodiments, content player 732 is based on the Unreal engine, or other similar graphical software, and generates and/or updates 3D model 736 according to metadata 738 received in live broadcast 722, and then generates live content 140 for output on display 906 client device 730 by rendering images of 3D model 736”).
Claim 12 is directed to a method claim and its steps are similar in scope and functions performed by the system claim 1 and therefore claim 12 is also rejected with the same rationale as specified in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 18 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (Wen “[0082] Various embodiments of the present disclosure may be a system, a method, and/or a computer program product at any possible technical detail level of integration. The computer program product may include a computer readable storage medium (or mediums) having computer readable program instructions thereon for causing a processor to carry out aspects of the present disclosure”) claim and its scope and function are re similar in scope and functions performed by the system claim 1 and therefore claim 18 is also rejected with the same rationale as specified in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 10 Wen modified by Rowley teaches further including an on-demand loading module (Rowley fig. 1 integral part of client) comprising a component responsive to a user action for selecting a feature associated with the 3D model rendered by said application, and a component configured to retrieve a digital asset associated with said selected feature, and said application being configured to render the 3D model with said retrieved digital asset (Rowley “[0101] In one example of operation, interactive input engine 910 continuously collects dynamic characteristics 728 as user 734 interacts with client device 730, and provides dynamic characteristics 728 as input to content fill engine 912. Content player 732 receives, from server 720, live broadcast 722 containing metadata 738 with empty nodes 1038. Content player 732 generates and updates 3D model 736 based upon metadata 738 to create a base environment of virtual environment 725 as virtual newsroom including floors, walls, ceilings, and furniture”).
Regarding claim 11 Wen modified by Rowley teaches wherein said feature is selected from a feature list, said feature list being displayed with the model, and said feature list being configured to be responsive to the user action, and said application being configured to retrieve the digital asset associated with said selected feature (Rowley “[0048] FIG. 4 shows one example production GUI 400 that allows production controller 114 to define broadcast parameters 112 to control virtual environment 125 and live broadcast 122 for use, by client device 130 for example, to generate one or more of a 2D, a 3D, a virtual reality (VR), augmented reality (AR), and any other metaverse, based upon volumetric content of both live and recorded media streams……Production controller 114 may set/change properties defined by second camera tab 402(2) to define an alternative configuration of virtual environment 125 (e.g., an alternative newsroom setup). Production controller 114 may activate a “Go Live!” button 406 (shown in the top right corner of GUI 400) to cause the displayed settings (e.g., of camera tab 402(1) in this example) to be used to control virtual environment 125 and live broadcast 122”).
Regarding claims 17 and 23 Wen modified by Rowley teaches further including the steps of, providing a plurality of features associated with the 3D model, each of said plurality of features being responsive to a user action; selecting a feature from said plurality of features associated with the 3D model rendered by said application in response to a user action; downloading a digital asset associated with said selected feature from the server; rendering the model with said downloaded digital asset (Rowley “[0048] FIG. 4 shows one example production GUI 400 that allows production controller 114 to define broadcast parameters 112 to control virtual environment 125 and live broadcast 122 for use, by client device 130 for example, to generate one or more of a 2D, a 3D, a virtual reality (VR), augmented reality (AR), and any other metaverse, based upon volumetric content of both live and recorded media streams……Production controller 114 may set/change properties defined by second camera tab 402(2) to define an alternative configuration of virtual environment 125 (e.g., an alternative newsroom setup). Production controller 114 may activate a “Go Live!” button 406 (shown in the top right corner of GUI 400) to cause the displayed settings (e.g., of camera tab 402(1) in this example) to be used to control virtual environment 125 and live broadcast 122
[0032] FIG. 1 shows one example system 100 for generating live content 140 of a virtual environment for display on client devices 130. Live content 140 contains, at least in part, real-time video content that is rendered within the virtual environment. System 100 includes a server 120 that runs a processing application 126 (for video, computer generated images and volumetric experiences) that receives media streams 106, including image data, and metadata for generating environments”).
Regarding claim 24 Wen modified by Rowley teaches wherein said plurality of features comprises a list of features, said list of features being displayed with the model and being configured to be responsive a user action for selecting one or more of the features from said list of features (Rowley “[0048] FIG. 4 shows one example production GUI 400 that allows production controller 114 to define broadcast parameters 112 to control virtual environment 125 and live broadcast 122 for use, by client device 130 for example, to generate one or more of a 2D, a 3D, a virtual reality (VR), augmented reality (AR), and any other metaverse, based upon volumetric content of both live and recorded media streams……Production controller 114 may set/change properties defined by second camera tab 402(2) to define an alternative configuration of virtual environment 125 (e.g., an alternative newsroom setup). Production controller 114 may activate a “Go Live!” button 406 (shown in the top right corner of GUI 400) to cause the displayed settings (e.g., of camera tab 402(1) in this example) to be used to control virtual environment 125 and live broadcast 122”).
Regarding claim 28, Wen modified by Rowley teaches, wherein said optimizer module comprises one or more of a decimation component, a user role-based asset downloading component, a lazy loading component, an offline loading component, an on-demand loading component or a zoom level based component, ((Wen “[0016]….. In some embodiments, the permissions may be grouped by role, such that all users assigned to a certain role within an organization will have access to the same data. [0067] FIG. 4 is a flow diagram illustrating one embodiment of an example method for retrieving appropriate image data based on digital user permissions for the purpose of ensuring data privacy”); and
wherein said decimation component is configured to reduce the polygon counts in the 3D model mesh, and
wherein said user role-based asset downloading component is configured to reduce downloading to assets based on requirements of said user, wherein said lazy loading component is configured to pre-load one or more lightweight skin models corresponding to the 3D model and utilizing said one or more lightweight skin models as placeholders, and
wherein said offline loading component is configured to utilize local storage to store assets downloaded from a server, and
wherein said on-demand loading component is configured to download assets from a server as required for the 3D model, and
wherein said zoom level based component is configured to render and display the 3D model based on how far or how close the user can view the 3D model.
(Wen “[0016]….. In some embodiments, the permissions may be grouped by role, such that all users assigned to a certain role within an organization will have access to the same data. [0067] FIG. 4 is a flow diagram illustrating one embodiment of an example method for retrieving appropriate image data based on digital user permissions for the purpose of ensuring data privacy”); and
Claim(s) 2-3, 9, 13-15, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen modified by Rowley as applied to claims 1, 12 and 18 above, and further in view of Dragoljevic et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 20170139824 “Dragoljevic”).
Regarding claim 2 Wen modified by Rowley is silent about wherein said optimizer module comprises a parallel downloading mechanism, said parallel downloading mechanism comprising a component for downloading low resolution digital assets from said remote server, and application being configured to render the 3D model based on said low resolution digital assets, said parallel downloading mechanism comprising a component for downloading full resolution digital assets from said remote server in parallel, a component configured for determining when all said full resolution assets have been download from said remote server, and a component configured for replacing said low resolution digital assets with said downloaded full resolution digital assets, and said application being configured to render the 3D model based on said downloaded full resolution digital assets.
Dragoljevic teaches optimizer module comprises a parallel downloading mechanism (integral part of element 205), said parallel downloading mechanism comprising a component for downloading low resolution digital assets from remote server, and application being configured to render content based on said low resolution digital assets, said parallel downloading mechanism comprising a component for downloading full resolution digital assets from said remote server in parallel, a component configured for determining when all said full resolution assets have been download from said remote server, and a component configured for replacing said low resolution digital assets with said downloaded full resolution digital assets, and said application being configured to render the content based on said downloaded full resolution digital assets (ABSTRACT “ Also, the object manager can retrieve objects from local memory, a cache, or the network sequentially or in parallel”.
[0073] At block 706, process 700 can retrieve the first available image. In some implementations, a mobile device simultaneously queries memory cache, disk cache, and a network source for the image and takes the first available image from any source. In some implementations, the mobile device retrieves a lower quality version of the image associated with a first readily available data source. [0076]…… For example, a user of a mobile application can request to view a high resolution version of a thumbnail profile picture in a social media mobile application. In some implementations, process 800 can be performed in response to a user changing pages, views, or windows in a mobile application (e.g., a social media mobile application) or on a mobile device display (e.g., using an interactive web browser). If process 800 determines at block 806 that an image is not available in high quality, process 800 continues to block 808. If process 800 determines that an image is available in high quality, the high quality version of the image is used and process 800 continues to block 816 where the process 800 ends”);
Dragoljevic and Wen modified by Rowley are analogous art as both of them are related to content processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Wen modified by Rowley by having said optimizer module that comprises a parallel downloading mechanism, said parallel downloading mechanism comprising a component for downloading low resolution digital assets from said remote server, and application being configured to render the 3D model based on said low resolution digital assets, said parallel downloading mechanism comprising a component for downloading full resolution digital assets from said remote server in parallel, a component configured for determining when all said full resolution assets have been download from said remote server, and a component configured for replacing said low resolution digital assets with said downloaded full resolution digital assets, and said application being configured to render the 3D model based on said downloaded full resolution digital assets similar to having optimizer module that comprises a parallel downloading mechanism said parallel downloading mechanism comprising a component for downloading low resolution digital assets from remote server, and application being configured to render content based on said low resolution digital assets, said parallel downloading mechanism comprising a component for downloading full resolution digital assets from said remote server in parallel, a component configured for determining when all said full resolution assets have been download from said remote server, and a component configured for replacing said low resolution digital assets with said downloaded full resolution digital assets, and said application being configured to render the content based on said downloaded full resolution digital assets as taught by Dragoljevic.
The motivation for the above is to render high quality images based on progressive image data.
Regarding claim 3 Wen modified by Rowley is silent about wherein said optimizer module comprises an offline loading mechanism, said offline loading mechanism comprising a component for receiving a request to download a digital asset from said remote server, a component configured for determining if said digital asset is available in local storage, a component configured for downloading said digital asset from said remote server if said digital asset is not available in said local storage and storing said digital asset in said local storage, a component configured for retrieving said digital asset from said local storage if available in said local storage, and said application being configured to render the 3D model based on said retrieved digital asset.
Dragoljevic teaches optimizer module (integral part of element 205) comprises an offline loading mechanism, said offline loading mechanism comprising a component for receiving a request to download a digital asset from said remote server, a component configured for determining if said digital asset is available in local storage, a component configured for downloading said digital asset from said remote server if said digital asset is not available in said local storage and storing said digital asset in said local storage, a component configured for retrieving said digital asset from said local storage if available in said local storage, and said application being configured to render content based on said retrieved digital asset (“[0024] In some implementations, the object manager can choose to display images from local memory, cache, or the network sequentially or in parallel. For example, if the object manager determines that an image is available in local memory, it will instruct the mobile device to display the image from local memory instead of retrieving the image from the network. The object manager can also display a combination of images from local memory and the network. [0073] At block 706, process 700 can retrieve the first available image. In some implementations, a mobile device simultaneously queries memory cache, disk cache, and a network source for the image and takes the first available image from any source. In some implementations, the mobile device retrieves a lower quality version of the image associated with a first readily available data source”);
Dragoljevic and Wen modified by Rowley are analogous art as both of them are related to content processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Wen modified by Rowley by having said optimizer module that comprises an offline loading mechanism, said offline loading mechanism comprising a component for receiving a request to download a digital asset from said remote server, a component configured for determining if said digital asset is available in local storage, a component configured for downloading said digital asset from said remote server if said digital asset is not available in said local storage and storing said digital asset in said local storage, a component configured for retrieving said digital asset from said local storage if available in said local storage, and said application being configured to render the 3D model based on said retrieved digital asset similar to optimizer module that comprises an offline loading mechanism, said offline loading mechanism comprising a component for receiving a request to download a digital asset from said remote server, a component configured for determining if said digital asset is available in local storage, a component configured for downloading said digital asset from said remote server if said digital asset is not available in said local storage and storing said digital asset in said local storage, a component configured for retrieving said digital asset from said local storage if available in said local storage, and said application being configured to render content based on said retrieved digital asset as taught by Dragoljevic.
The motivation for the above is to use readily available image for efficient rendering without having to wait for remote image data.
Regarding claims 13 and 19 Wen modified by Rowley is silent about wherein said plurality of digital assets stored on said server comprise one or more low-resolution digital assets and one or more high-resolution digital assets, further comprising the steps of, downloading said one or more low-resolution digital assets; downloading said one or more high-resolution digital assets; optimizing the 3D model utilizing said one or more low-resolution digital assets downloaded from said server; rendering and displaying said optimized 3D model with said one or more low-resolution digital assets; determining when said one or more high-resolution digital assets are downloaded from said server; replacing said low-resolution digital assets with said high-resolution assets downloaded from said server; optimizing the 3D model utilizing said high-resolution digital assets downloaded from said server; and rendering and displaying said optimized 3D model with said high-resolution digital assets.
Dragoljevic teaches plurality of digital assets stored on said server comprise one or more low-resolution digital assets and one or more high-resolution digital assets, further comprising the steps of, downloading said one or more low-resolution digital assets; downloading said one or more high-resolution digital assets; optimizing content utilizing said one or more low-resolution digital assets downloaded from said server; rendering and displaying said optimized content with said one or more low-resolution digital assets; determining when said one or more high-resolution digital assets are downloaded from said server; replacing said low-resolution digital assets with said high-resolution assets downloaded from said server; optimizing the content utilizing said high-resolution digital assets downloaded from said server; and rendering and displaying said optimized content with said high-resolution digital assets (“[0073] At block 706, process 700 can retrieve the first available image. In some implementations, a mobile device simultaneously queries memory cache, disk cache, and a network source for the image and takes the first available image from any source. In some implementations, the mobile device retrieves a lower quality version of the image associated with a first readily available data source. [0076]…… For example, a user of a mobile application can request to view a high resolution version of a thumbnail profile picture in a social media mobile application. In some implementations, process 800 can be performed in response to a user changing pages, views, or windows in a mobile application (e.g., a social media mobile application) or on a mobile device display (e.g., using an interactive web browser). If process 800 determines at block 806 that an image is not available in high quality, process 800 continues to block 808. If process 800 determines that an image is available in high quality, the high quality version of the image is used and process 800 continues to block 816 where the process 800 ends”);
Dragoljevic and Wen modified by Rowley are analogous art as both of them are related to content processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Wen modified by Rowley by having said plurality of digital assets stored on said server comprise one or more low-resolution digital assets and one or more high-resolution digital assets, further comprising the steps of, downloading said one or more low-resolution digital assets; downloading said one or more high-resolution digital assets; optimizing the 3D model utilizing said one or more low-resolution digital assets downloaded from said server; rendering and displaying said optimized 3D model with said one or more low-resolution digital assets; determining when said one or more high-resolution digital assets are downloaded from said server; replacing said low-resolution digital assets with said high-resolution assets downloaded from said server; optimizing the 3D model utilizing said high-resolution digital assets downloaded from said server; and rendering and displaying said optimized 3D model with said high-resolution digital assets similar to having plurality of digital assets stored on said server comprise one or more low-resolution digital assets and one or more high-resolution digital assets, further comprising the steps of, downloading said one or more low-resolution digital assets; downloading said one or more high-resolution digital assets; optimizing content utilizing said one or more low-resolution digital assets downloaded from said server; rendering and displaying said optimized content with said one or more low-resolution digital assets; determining when said one or more high-resolution digital assets are downloaded from said server; replacing said low-resolution digital assets with said high-resolution assets downloaded from said server; optimizing the content utilizing said high-resolution digital assets downloaded from said server; and rendering and displaying said optimized content with said high-resolution digital assets as taught by Dragoljevic.
The motivation for the above is to render high quality images based on progressive image data.
Regarding claims 14 and 20 Wen modified by Rowley is silent about wherein one or more of said digital assets are stored in local memory, and further comprising the steps of, determining if said one or more digital assets requested from said server are stored in local memory; if said one or more digital assets requested from said server are stored in said local memory, retrieving said one or more digital assets from said local memory; optimizing the 3D model utilizing said one or more digital assets retrieved from said local memory; and rendering and displaying said optimized 3D model with said digital assets retrieved from said local memory.
Dragoljevic teaches one or more of said digital assets are stored in local memory, and further comprising the steps of, determining if said one or more digital assets requested from said server are stored in local memory; if said one or more digital assets requested from said server are stored in said local memory, retrieving said one or more digital assets from said local memory; optimizing content utilizing said one or more digital assets retrieved from said local memory; and rendering and displaying said optimized content with said digital assets retrieved from said local memory (“[0024] In some implementations, the object manager can choose to display images from local memory, cache, or the network sequentially or in parallel. For example, if the object manager determines that an image is available in local memory, it will instruct the mobile device to display the image from local memory instead of retrieving the image from the network. The object manager can also display a combination of images from local memory and the network. [0073] At block 706, process 700 can retrieve the first available image. In some implementations, a mobile device simultaneously queries memory cache, disk cache, and a network source for the image and takes the first available image from any source. In some implementations, the mobile device retrieves a lower quality version of the image associated with a first readily available data source”);
Dragoljevic and Wen modified by Rowley are analogous art as both of them are related to content processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Wen modified by Rowley by having one or more of said digital assets are stored in local memory, and further comprising the steps of, determining if said one or more digital assets requested from said server are stored in local memory; if said one or more digital assets requested from said server are stored in said local memory, retrieving said one or more digital assets from said local memory; optimizing the 3D model utilizing said one or more digital assets retrieved from said local memory; and rendering and displaying said optimized 3D model with said digital assets retrieved from said local memory similar to having one or more of said digital assets are stored in local memory, and further comprising the steps of, determining if said one or more digital assets requested from said server are stored in local memory; if said one or more digital assets requested from said server are stored in said local memory, retrieving said one or more digital assets from said local memory; optimizing content utilizing said one or more digital assets retrieved from said local memory; and rendering and displaying said optimized content with said digital assets retrieved from said local memory as taught by Dragoljevic.
The motivation for the above is to perform efficient rendering by taking image data from local storage to have less dependency on networked data.
Regarding claims 9, 15 and 21 Wen modified by Rowley and Dragoljevic teaches wherein said offline loading mechanism comprises a updating component for determining if said digital asset in said local storage needs to be updated, and if said digital asset needs to be updated, said updating component being configured to retrieve an updated copy of said digital asset from said server and store said updated copy of said digital asset in said local storage (Dragoljevic “[0030]…. In general, a user can use device 100 to view, modify, or store images that are in mobile applications (e.g., other applications 166). For example, a user of device 100 can view a picture of his friend on a newsfeed in a social media mobile application using display 130. [0040] The image manager 342 can also be configured to prioritize the display of images. In some implementations, the image manager 342 can receive a request from a mobile application to display an image, and in response, the image manager 342 can determine whether the image is available in the device's local memory or whether an image is available from a network resource. In some implementations, the image manager 342 can store an association between different versions of the same image, and prioritize the list.”).
Claim(s) 4, 16 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen modified by Rowley as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of S{RING (US Pat. Pub. No. 20220245882 “Spring”).
Regarding claim 4 Wen modified by Rowley is silent about wherein said optimizer module comprises an on-demand loading mechanism, said on-demand loading mechanism comprising a component responsive to a user input on a mesh location on the 3D model rendered by said application, a component configured to display metadata associated with said mesh location in response to said user input, and said on-demand loading mechanism comprising a component responsive to another user input for selecting said displayed metadata, and a component configured to retrieve digital assets from said remote server associated with said selected metadata, and said application being configured to render the 3D model with said retrieved digital assets.
Spring teaches optimizer module comprises an on-demand loading mechanism (Fig. 1 integral part of element 111), said on-demand loading mechanism comprising a component responsive to a user input on a mesh location on a model rendered by application, a component configured to display metadata associated with said mesh location in response to said user input, and said on-demand loading mechanism comprising a component responsive to another user input for selecting said displayed metadata, and a component configured to retrieve digital assets associated with said selected metadata, and said application being configured to render the model with said retrieved digital assets (“[0077] In one embodiment, the 3D scene is rendered as usual (e.g. as a point cloud or mesh or using image-based rendering techniques) with a 3D graphics library (such as OpenGL or Direct3D). [0111] In one embodiment, to make an annotation in the 3D scene the user taps the add function in annotation menu 484. After add is selected, the user can hold a point within the 3D scene to bring up a magnifying window, and then drag to target a point in the scene once the user releases the point the annotation (e.g., annotation 482 and/or 483) can be placed…… For example, annotation 482 could be captioned “White Wall” and the additional detail information could include “painted, drywall, etc.”. In one embodiment, only the caption of annotation 482 is shown in the 3D model and the additional detail information is provided when the annotation 482 is selected by the user.”);
Spring and Wen modified by Rowley are analogous art as both of them are related to content processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Wen modified by Rowley by having optimizer module comprises an on-demand loading mechanism, said on-demand loading mechanism comprising a component responsive to a user input on a mesh location on a model rendered by said application, a component configured to display metadata associated with said mesh location in response to said user input, and said on-demand loading mechanism comprising a component responsive to another user input for selecting said displayed metadata, and a component configured to retrieve digital assets from said remote server associated with said selected metadata, and said application being configured to render the 3D model with said retrieved digital assets similar to having optimizer module comprises an on-demand loading mechanism, said on-demand loading mechanism comprising a component responsive to a user input on a mesh location on a model rendered by application, a component configured to display metadata associated with said mesh location in response to said user input, and said on-demand loading mechanism comprising a component responsive to another user input for selecting said displayed metadata, and a component configured to retrieve digital assets associated with said selected metadata, and said application being configured to render the model with said retrieved digital assets as taught by Spring.
The motivation for the above is to obtain digital asset hierarchically to provide user to control the displaying of intended digital asset.
Regarding claims 16 and 22 Wen modified by Rowley is silent about wherein said 3D model comprises a mesh location, said mesh location being responsive to an input from the user, and further comprising the steps of, in response to said user input on said mesh location displaying metadata associated with said mesh location; said displayed metadata being responsive to another user input for selecting said displayed metadata; retrieving one or more digital assets associated with said selected metadata; optimizing the 3D model utilizing said one or more digital assets associated with said selected metadata; and rendering and displaying said optimized 3D model with said retrieved digital assets.
Spring teaches 3D model comprises a mesh location, said mesh location being responsive to an input from the user, and further comprising the steps of, in response to said user input on said mesh location displaying metadata associated with said mesh location; said displayed metadata being responsive to another user input for selecting said displayed metadata; retrieving one or more digital assets associated with said selected metadata; optimizing the 3D model utilizing said one or more digital assets associated with said selected metadata; and rendering and displaying said optimized 3D model with said retrieved digital assets (“[0077] In one embodiment, the 3D scene is rendered as usual (e.g. as a point cloud or mesh or using image-based rendering techniques) with a 3D graphics library (such as OpenGL or Direct3D). [0111] In one embodiment, to make an annotation in the 3D scene the user taps the add function in annotation menu 484. After add is selected, the user can hold a point within the 3D scene to bring up a magnifying window, and then drag to target a point in the scene once the user releases the point the annotation (e.g., annotation 482 and/or 483) can be placed…… For example, annotation 482 could be captioned “White Wall” and the additional detail information could include “painted, drywall, etc.”. In one embodiment, only the caption of annotation 482 is shown in the 3D model and the additional detail information is provided when the annotation 482 is selected by the user.”);
Spring and Wen modified by Rowley are analogous art as both of them are related to content processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Wen modified by Rowley by having a 3D model that comprises a mesh location, said mesh location being responsive to an input from the user, and further comprising the steps of, in response to said user input on said mesh location displaying metadata associated with said mesh location; said displayed metadata being responsive to another user input for selecting said displayed metadata; retrieving one or more digital assets associated with said selected metadata; optimizing the 3D model utilizing said one or more digital assets associated with said selected metadata; and rendering and displaying said optimized 3D model with said retrieved digital assets as taught by Spring.
The motivation for the above is to obtain digital asset hierarchically to provide user to control the displaying of intended digital asset.
Claim(s) 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen as modified by Rowley and further in view of Schembri et al. ( US Pat. Pub. No. 20230158403, “Schembri”).
Regarding claim 25, Wen as modified by Rowley doesn’t expressly teach, optimizer module comprises a decimation component, said model comprising a plurality of polygons and said decimation component being configured to reduce the number of said plurality of polygons, and said decimation component being further configured to maintain visual fidelity within a predetermined threshold.
However, Schembri teaches, a decimation component and a model comprising a plurality of polygons and said decimation component being configured to reduce the number of said plurality of polygons, and said decimation component being further configured to maintain visual fidelity within a predetermined threshold. (“[0076] In some embodiments of the disclosure, at least some of the plurality of predetermined quality levels define at least one of a threshold resolution for a polygonal mesh and a threshold resolution for a graphical texture. In some embodiments of the disclosure, the control circuitry 230 is configured to reduce a quality of one or more polygonal meshes included in the graphics data according to a predetermined quality level, in which the predetermined quality level defines a threshold resolution for a polygonal mesh. The control circuitry 230 thus performs one or more operations to reduce a resolution of one or more meshes according to the threshold resolution so that a mesh having a resolution greater than the threshold resolution is simplified to have a resolution that is less than or equal to the threshold resolution. Hence, the control circuitry 230 is configured to reduce a resolution of one or more meshes included in the initial graphics data so that the modified graphics data comprises mesh data for which the meshes have a resolution that is less than or equal to the threshold resolution. In this way, polygonal meshes with a smaller number of polygons and vertices, and thus having a reduced processing overhead, can be obtained for output to the second device.”)
Schembri and Wen modified by Rowley are analogous art as both of them are related to graphics rendering.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Wen modified by Rowley to have the optimizer module to comprise a decimation component, said model comprising a plurality of polygons and said decimation component being configured to reduce the number of said plurality of polygons, and said decimation component being further configured to maintain visual fidelity within a predetermined threshold as taught by Schembri.
The motivation for the above is to use optimum number polygons in rendering for reduced processing overhead.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks Page 12, filed 05/20/2026 with respect to rejection of claims 18-24 under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks Page 12, filed 05/20/2026 with respect to rejection of claims under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks Page 12, filed 05/20/2026 with respect to rejection of claims under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The rejection have been maintained.
Applicant argues see remarks pages 13- 14 “Independent claim 1 as currently presented is directed to a "system for rendering a 3D model on a display, being connected……..Independent claim 1 as amended and currently presented comprises a system for rendering a three-dimensional (3D) model. Wen, in contrast, discloses and teaches capturing and altering, i.e. blurring, 2D video streams from cameras located in a vehicle. Wen fails to disclose, teach or suggest rendering a 3D model. Furthermore, according to Wen, "model" is used in the context of machine learning (ML) models for face/plate detection in the 2D video for purpose of blurring/unblurring to protect privacy, for instance, the identity of a person and/or the identification of a vehicle license plate…….an optimizer module configured to optimize the rendering of the 3D model utilizing digital assets from the remote server, as recited in independent claim 1 as amended and currently presented.”
Examiner replies, Examiner didn’t show Wen’s machine learning (ML) models as a model that is rendered. Wen’s system has a renderer that renders user interface and the user interface is considered a as a model. Wen collects the necessary data for rendering user interface or a model. Collecting data for 3d model from server and Rendering of 3d model by optimizer module is integrated from Rowley.
Applicant argues, see remarks Pages 14-15, “In view of these differences and deficiencies, it is submitted that there is no teaching or motivation, for one skilled in the art to modify Wen as alleged and therefore there is no basis for the obviousness rejection……..Rowley fails to remedy the deficiencies of Wen. Rowley is directed to a system and method for creating and distributing addressable virtual content with interactivity. As described and taught by Rowley, the virtual content may depict a live event and may be customized for each individual user based on dynamic characteristics (e.g., habits, preferences, etc.) …..and may also include graphic displays that include related data such as statistics corresponding to the live event, athletes at the event, and so on. The content of the display screens and graphics may be automatically selected based on the dynamic characteristics of the user.
Based on a careful reading, Rowley is concerned with an empty node/full node system configured to allow a producer to designate empty nodes (placeholders on virtual display screens)……..Therefore, even if one skilled in the art were to combine Wen and Rowley, which is not herein conceded, the resulting combination would still not be the same as the system defined by independent claim 1 as amended and currently presented.”
Examiner replies, Rowley[0072] [0078] teaches, a program for rendering a 3D model, and being responsive to one or more inputs and user actions for manipulating the 3D model. Rowley generates a 3d model and Rowley [0078] disclose a user input is provided for manipulation of a 3d model.
Additionally Rowley[0078] teaches, a remote server configured for storing a plurality of digital assets associated with a 3D model, said remote server being coupled to the Internet and configured for downloading and uploading one or more said plurality of digital assets to the application program running on said user computer said application program being configured for downloading one or more digital assets from said remote server, See“[0072]….. Content player 732 is implemented as software with machine readable instructions that, when executed by a processor of client device 730, receives metadata 738 in live broadcast 722 from server 720 and generates a 3D model 736 defining the base environment and then updates 3D model 736 in real-time as metadata 738 is received”.
Rowley [0078] teaches an optimizer module (integral part of client device 730) being configured to optimize rendering of a 3D model utilizing digital assets See [0076]….. In certain embodiments, content player 732 is based on the Unreal engine, or other similar graphical software, and generates and/or updates 3D model 736 according to metadata 738 received in live broadcast 722, and then generates live content 140 for output on display 906 client device 730 by rendering images of 3D model 736”
Examiner proposed to modify Wen by having a program for rendering a 3D model, and being responsive to one or more inputs and user actions for manipulating the 3D model, a remote server configured for storing a plurality of digital assets associated with a 3D model, said remote server being coupled to the Internet and configured for downloading and uploading one or more said plurality of digital assets to the application program running on said user computer said application program being configured for downloading one or more digital assets from said remote server and said application program including an optimizer module, said optimizer module being configured to optimize rendering of a 3D model utilizing said digital assets similar to having optimizer module being configured to optimize rendering of a model utilizing digital assets as taught by Rowley.
The motivation for the above is to provide progressive rendering of a 3D model.
In response to applicant’s argument for the dependent claims, see remarks Pages 15-16, examiner refers applicant to the reply given above for independent claim 1 above as applicant didn’t provide any additional argument for the dependent claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAPTARSHI MAZUMDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612