DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communication: The RCE filed on 05/04/2026 and the Supplemental claims filed on 05/22/2026. This action is made non-final.
Claims 1-14 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 13, and 14 are independent claims.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pope et al. (US 2015/0135108 A1; hereinafter Pope) in view of Karunamuni et al. (US 2018/0335939 A1; hereinafter Karunamuni).
As to claim 1, Pope teaches:
A method (see ¶ 0006), comprising:
at an electronic device in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices (see Figs. 1A-1B and ¶ 0156, 0278):
displaying, via the display generation component, a respective user interface including a first user interface object (see Fig. 5A and ¶ 0286; Fig. 5A illustrates a first user interface (e.g., an application user interface, such as a map application user interface) with content (e.g., a map and navigation instructions) that is displayed on a display 502 of a portable multi-function device 100);
while displaying the respective user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first user input directed to the first user interface object (see Figs. 5M-5N and ¶ 0294; while displaying the first user interface, detecting an activation of the physical home button or menu button 204 (e.g., into which fingerprint sensor 169 is integrated)); and
in response to receiving the first user input, processing touch information (see Figs. 5M-5N and ¶ 0294), including:
in accordance with a determination that the first user input includes a tap input that is detected at an input device that is remote from the first user interface object, displaying, via the display generation component, a home screen user interface, wherein the home screen user interface is different from the respective user interface (see Figs. 5M-5N and ¶ 0294; while displaying the first user interface, detecting an activation of the physical home button or menu button 204 (e.g., into which fingerprint sensor 169 is integrated); and in response, replacing the first user interface (e.g., ceasing to display the first user interface) with a predefined user interface (e.g., a home screen or application launch interface associated with the physical home button or menu button 204). In some embodiments, as illustrated in FIGS. 5M-5N, upon detecting activation 534 of the physical home button or menu button 204 (e.g., via a tap or press input on the physical button 204), the first user interface (e.g., the multi-tasking user interface shown in FIG. 5M) is no longer displayed on display 502, as shown in FIG. 5N. In some embodiments, the first user interface (e.g., the map application user interface) is replaced (e.g., in its entirety) with a predefined user interface (e.g., a home screen or application launch user interface, as shown in FIG. 5N). See Fig. 4B and ¶ 0285; menu button into which fingerprint sensor is integrated includes separate menu button {~remote from the first user interface object}. See ¶ 0278; finger inputs can be replaced with input from another input device including mouse based input or a mouse and finger contacts are, optionally, used simultaneously);
performing the processing the touch information one or more times including at least one time where the first user input includes the tap input (see ¶ Figs. 5M-5N and ¶ 0294).
Pope further teaches:
in accordance with a determination that the first user input includes a swipe input that is detected at the input device that is remote from the first user interface object and meets first criteria, displaying, via the display generation component, a second user interface (see ¶ Figs. 5D-5E and ¶0288; while displaying a first user interface, detecting a movement of a fingerprint on fingerprint sensor 169 in a second direction (e.g., in a vertical direction or along the long-axis of the multi-purpose device; upward); and in response, displaying a second user interface different from the first user interface. As shown in FIG. 5D, in some embodiments, while displaying the first user interface (e.g., map application), the movement of a fingerprint (e.g., fingerprint 514 and associated movement 516) is detected on fingerprint sensor 169 of device 100, the corresponding movement 516 being in a second direction (e.g., in a vertical direction or along the long-axis of the multi-purpose device; upward, with reference to the orientation of device 100 shown in FIG. 5D). In accordance with a determination that movement 516 of fingerprint 514 is in the second direction (e.g., in a vertical upward direction, from the location of fingerprint 514 shown in FIG. 5D to the location of fingerprint 514 shown in FIG. 5E), a second user interface (e.g., multi-tasking user interface 517) is displayed, as shown in FIG. 5E); and
performing the processing the touch information one or more times including at least one time where the first user input includes the tap input, and at least one time where the first user input includes the swipe input (see ¶ Figs. 5M-5N, 5D-5E and ¶ 0294, 0288).
Pope does not teach the second user interface is the home screen user interface. However, Karunamuni is relied upon for teaching the deficient limitations. Specifically, Karunamuni teaches:
in accordance with a determination that the first user input includes a swipe input that is detected at the input device that is remote from the first user interface object and meets first criteria, displaying, via the display generation component, the home screen user interface (Karunamuni: ¶ 0235-0236, 0243; displaying a first interface object, home affordance 5002 shown in fig. 5B1, that can receive a first user input such as a swipe input which results in display of a home screen as shown in Figs. 5B1-5B3 and 5B11-5B13; ¶ 0191-0192; discloses the first user input can be received from one or more input device 451 in communication with electronic device 450 as shown in fig. 4B and the input can directed to the first interface object by having the input at the touch-sensitive surface on input device 451 at locations that correspond to respective locations on the electronic device 450).
Both references are related to navigating between user interfaces; therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Pope with the teachings of Karunamuni to provide a method that allows the user to switch from one user interface to a home screen user interface using swipe gesture as claimed. One of ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because of the overlapping subject matter, and the advantages described in Karunamuni of providing with improved methods and interfaces for navigating between user interfaces and interacting with control objects thereby increasing the effectiveness, efficiency, and user satisfaction with computing devices (Karunamuni: see ¶ 0020).
As to claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Pope and Karunamuni further teach: wherein processing the touch information includes: in response to receiving the first user input: in accordance with a determination that the first user input includes a swipe input that is detected at the input device that is remote from the first user interface object and meets second criteria, different from the first criteria, displaying, via the display generation component, an application switching user interface; and the method further comprises: performing the processing the touch information one or more times includes at least one time where the swipe input that is detected at the input device that is remote from the first user interface object and meets the second criteria (Pope: see ¶ Figs. 5D-5E and ¶0288; while displaying a first user interface, detecting a movement of a fingerprint on fingerprint sensor 169 in a second direction (e.g., in a vertical direction or along the long-axis of the multi-purpose device; upward); and in response, displaying a second user interface different from the first user interface. As shown in FIG. 5D, in some embodiments, while displaying the first user interface (e.g., map application), the movement of a fingerprint (e.g., fingerprint 514 and associated movement 516) is detected on fingerprint sensor 169 of device 100, the corresponding movement 516 being in a second direction (e.g., in a vertical direction or along the long-axis of the multi-purpose device; upward, with reference to the orientation of device 100 shown in FIG. 5D). In accordance with a determination that movement 516 of fingerprint 514 is in the second direction (e.g., in a vertical upward direction, from the location of fingerprint 514 shown in FIG. 5D to the location of fingerprint 514 shown in FIG. 5E), a second user interface (e.g., multi-tasking user interface 517) is displayed, as shown in FIG. 5E).
As to claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated. Pope and Karunamuni further teach: wherein the respective user interface is a user interface of a first application, the method further comprising wherein processing the touch information includes: in response to receiving the first user input: in accordance with a determination that the first user input includes a swipe input that is detected at the input device that is remote from the first user interface object and meets third criteria, different from the first criteria and the second criteria, displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface of a second application, different from the first application; and the method further comprises: performing the processing the touch information one or more times includes at least one time where the swipe input that is detected at the input device that is remote from the first user interface object and meets the third criteria (Pope: see ¶ Figs. 5D-5E and ¶ 0288; In accordance with a determination that movement 516 of fingerprint 514 is in the second direction (e.g., in a vertical upward direction, from the location of fingerprint 514 shown in FIG. 5D to the location of fingerprint 514 shown in FIG. 5E), a second user interface (e.g., multi-tasking user interface 517 including user selectable icons corresponding to a set of most-recently used applications, such as a notes application, a camera application, a photo viewer application, and a voice memo recording application; where selection of one of the icons in the multi-tasking user interface 517 will cause the device to run an application corresponding to the selected icon as a currently active application, sometimes called a foreground application) is displayed, as shown in FIG. 5E. For example, selection of the "notes" icon will cause the device to run the notes application as a currently active application and selection of the "camera" icon will cause the device to run the camera application as a currently active application).
As to claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Pope and Karunamuni further teach: while displaying the respective user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second user input corresponding to a request to move the cursor beyond an edge of a display area of the display generation component; (Karunamuni: see ¶ 0456; disclose receiving a second input to move cursor beyond an edge of display, while displaying the first user interface detect swipe input that crosses the boundary of edge; ¶ 0076, 0193-0194; discloses cursor can replace touch input; ¶ 0092 discloses display generation component, graphic module 132, for rendering graphics for display; ¶ 0191-0192 discloses input can be received from device 300 with touch screen 451 at a corresponding location to the display device 450 shown in fig. 4B to manipulate the user device 450 according to the received input)
in response to receiving the second user input, processing second touch information including: moving the cursor to a first location at the edge of the display area of the display generation component; and (Karunamuni; ¶ 0193 discloses swipe movement can be performed by a mouse with a cursor moving along the path of the swipe)
in accordance with a determination that one or more system user interface display criteria are satisfied, displaying, via the display generation component, a first system user interface, different from the respective user interface; and performing the processing the second touch information one or more times including at least one time where the one or more system user interface display criteria are satisfied (Karunamuni: see ¶ 0456; disclose after determining the display criteria of movement in a predefined direction of upward, displaying a system user interface, displays a respective other user interfaces). Combining Pope and Karunamuni would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated. Pope and Karunamuni further teach: the first user interface object is displayed at a first edge of the display area of the display generation component; (Karunamuni: see ¶ 0235 discloses displaying a first interface object, home affordance 5002, at a first edge as shown in fig. 5B1)
the second user input corresponds to a request to move the cursor beyond the first edge of the display area of the display generation component; and (Karunamuni: see ¶ 0456; discloses receiving a second input to move cursor beyond an edge of display, while displaying the first user interface detect swipe input that crosses the boundary of edge; Karunamuni: see 0076, 0193-0194; discloses cursor can replace touch input)
the first system user interface is the home screen user interface (Karunamuni: see 0456; disclose after determining the display criteria of movement in a predefined direction of upward, displaying a first user system interface that is a home screen). Combining Pope and Karunamuni would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Pope and Karunamuni further teach: wherein the respective user interface is a lock screen user interface, and processing the touch information includes: (Karunamuni; see ¶ 0335; discloses displaying a lock screen user interface as shown in fig. 5G11);
in accordance with a determination that the first user input includes a swipe input that is detected at the input device that is remote from the first user interface object and meets second criteria, (Karunamuni ¶ 0335; discloses swipe from lock screen displays home screen, swipe up to unlock the device and navigate to a home user interface; ¶ 0191-0192; discloses input can be received from device 300 with touch screen 451 at a corresponding location to the display device 450 shown in fig. 4B to manipulate the user device 450 according to the received input)
including a requirement that the first user input includes a request to move a cursor beyond a bottom edge of a display area of the display generation component, displaying, via the display generation component, the home screen user interface; and (Karunamuni ¶ 0456; disclose displaying a home screen when input received is a swipe is a request to move cursor beyond bottom edge of display, display home screen when the navigation-gesture criteria require that the first input includes a movement of the first contact across the touch-sensitive surface that crosses a boundary of a predefined edge region of the touch-sensitive surface; Karunamuni ¶ 0076, 0193-0194 discloses cursor can replace touch input)
in accordance with a determination that the first user input includes a plurality of swipe inputs that is detected at the input device that is remote from the first user interface object and meets third criteria, different from the second criteria, displaying, via the display generation component, the home screen user interface; and the method further comprises performing the processing the touch information one or more times including at least one time where the first user input includes the swipe input that is detected at the input device that is remote from the first user interface object and meets the second criteria, and at least one time where the first user input includes the plurality of swipe inputs that is detected at the input device that is remote from the first user interface object and meets the third criteria (Karunamuni ¶ 0466; discloses plurality of swipes, two consecutive short swipes and meeting the third criteria of being at the bottom edge, displays home screen; Karunamuni ¶ 0191-0192 discloses input can be received from device 300 with touch screen 451 at a corresponding location to the display device 450 shown in fig. 4B to manipulate the user device 450 according to the received input). Combining Pope and Karunamuni would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Pope and Karunamuni further teach: wherein the respective user interface includes a second user interface object, separated from the first user interface object, the method further comprising: (Karunamuni ¶ 0332; discloses second user interface, status bar with right corner 402 and left corner 404 that is separate from a first user interface, other icons on the screen, as shown in fig. 5G2)
while displaying the respective user interface including the second user interface object, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second user input directed to a portion of the respective user interface that includes the second user interface object; and (Karunamuni ¶ 0332 discloses receiving a second user input directed to a portion of the display with the second interface object, a swipe gesture 5910 is detected on the right portion of the of the status bar as shown in fig. 5G2; Karunamuni ¶ 0191-0192 discloses input can be received from device 300 with touch screen 451 at a corresponding location to the display device 450 shown in fig. 4B to manipulate the user device 450 according to the received input)
in response to receiving the second user input, processing second touch information including: in accordance with a determination that the second user input is directed to a first portion of the second user interface object, displaying, via the display generation component, a control center user interface; and performing the processing the second touch information one or more times including at least one time where the second user input is directed to the first portion of the second user interface object (Karunamuni ¶ 0332; discloses displaying control center user interface, control panel 5914, when the second user input is directed to a portion of second user interface object, swipe input from right portion of the status bar as shown in figs. 5G2 and 5G3). Combining Pope and Karunamuni would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 12, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Pope and Karunamuni further teach: wherein processing the second touch information includes in accordance with a determination that the second user input is directed to a second portion of the second user interface object, different from the first portion, displaying, via the display generation component, a notification user interface and the method further comprises: performing the processing the second touch information one or more times including at least one time where the second user input is directed to the second portion of the second user interface object. (Karunamuni: see ¶ 0333; discloses displaying a notification user interface, notification 5932, when the second user input is directed to a second different portion of the second user interface, swipe gesture 5928 is directed to the center of the status bar, as shown in figs. 5G7, 5G8, and 5G9). Combining Pope and Karunamuni would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 13, claim 13 is directed to an electronic device, comprising: one or more processors; memory; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for implementing the method of claim 1; therefore, is rejected under similar rationale (Pope: see Figs. 1A-1B).
As to claim 14, claim 14 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform the method of claim 1; therefore, is rejected under similar rationale (Pope: see Figs. 1A-1B and ¶ 0007, 0147).
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pope and Karunamuni further in view of Tyler et al. (US 2018/0335920 A1; hereinafter Tyler).
As to claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Pope and Karunamuni further teach:
wherein processing the touch information includes:
in accordance with a determination that the first user input includes a tap input that is detected at a touch-sensitive display, on which the respective user interface is displayed, in communication with the electronic device, maintaining display of the respective user interface on the touch-sensitive display without displaying the home screen user interface (Pope: see ¶ 0279; touch-screen display 112 as illustrated in Fig. 1A enables direct interaction with user interface elements on the touch-screen display, a detected contact on the touch-screen acts as a ”focus selector,” so that when an input (e.g., a press input by the contact) is detected on the touch-screen display at a location of a particular user interface element (e.g., a button, window, slider or other user interface element), the particular user interface element is adjusted in accordance with the detected input. In some implementations focus is moved from one region of a user interface to another region of the user interface without corresponding movement of a cursor or movement of a contact on a touch-screen display (e.g., by using a tab key or arrow keys to move focus from one button to another button)).
Pope and Karunamuni do not appear to teach: in accordance with a determination that the first user input includes a swipe input that is detected at the touch-sensitive display and meets the first criteria, displaying, on the touch-sensitive display, the home screen user interface.
However, Tyler is relied upon for teaching the limitations. Specifically, Tyler discloses
in accordance with a determination that the first user input includes a tap input that is detected at a touch-sensitive display, on which the respective user interface is displayed, in communication with the electronic device, maintaining display of the respective user interface on the touch-sensitive display without displaying the home screen user interface (Tyler: ¶ 0230; maintaining display of the music application user interface without displaying the home screen when a tap input is at location 562 is detected as shown in figs. 5AK and 5AL).
in accordance with a determination that the first user input includes a swipe input that is detected at the touch-sensitive display and meets the first criteria, displaying, on the touch-sensitive display, the home screen user interface (Tyler: ¶ 0228; discloses upward swipe input on the touch screen and meeting the first criteria of the swipe being initiated at the home affordance 55 in a vertical manner, displays the home screen as shown in figs. 5AG and 5AF); and the method further comprises:
performing the processing the touch information one or more times including at least one time where the first user input includes the tap input that is detected at the touch-sensitive display, and at least one time where the first user input includes the swipe input that is detected at the touch-sensitive display (Tyler: see ¶ 0230, 0228).
The references, each is related to navigating between user interfaces; therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Pope/Karunamuni with the teachings of Tyler to provide a method that allows the user to manipulate user interface using touchscreen input as claimed. One of ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because of the overlapping subject matter, and the advantages described in Tyler of providing with improved interfaces for improved navigation to and from such interfaces, thereby increasing the effectiveness, efficiency, and user satisfaction with such devices (Tyler: see ¶ 0013).
As to claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Pope/Karunamuni/Tyler further teach: wherein processing the touch information includes:
in response to receiving the first user input: in accordance with a determination that the first user input includes a tap input that is detected on a touch-sensitive display on which the respective user interface is displayed, at a location of the first user interface object, forgoing display of the home screen user interface and maintaining display of the respective user interface; and the method further comprises:performing the processing the touch information one or more times including at least one time where the first user input includes the tap input that is detected on the touch-sensitive display on which the respective user interface is displayed (Tyler: see 0043, 0162, 0186; discloses touch sensitive display 451 in communication with device 300 as shown in figs. 3 and 4B; Tyler: see ¶ 0230; discloses maintaining display of the music application interface without displaying the home screen when a tap input is at location 562 is detected as shown in figs. 5AK and 5AL). Combining Pope and Karunamuni/Tyler would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pope and Karunamuni further in view of Lan et al. (US 2020/0019366 A1; hereinafter Lan) and Chaudhri et al. (US 2015/0365306 A1; hereinafter Chaudhri).
As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Pope and Karunamuni do not appear to teach, but Lan and Chaudhri are relied upon for teaching the limitations of claim 5.
Specifically, Lan discloses wherein processing the touch information includes:
in response to receiving the first user input: in accordance with a determination that the first user input includes a swipe input from a plurality of fingers and meets second criteria, displaying, via the display generation component, the home screen user interface, and performing the processing the touch information one or more times including at least one time where the first user input includes the swipe input from the plurality of fingers and meets the second criteria (Lan: see ¶ 0066; The touch event may alternatively be a swipe gesture, that is, touching a touch panel with a plurality of fingers, keeping the fingers in contact with the touch panel, and then moving, for example, pinching with three fingers to return to a home screen").
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Pope/Karunamuni and Lan for the benefit of having a device that is able “to reduce operation steps of a user, improve transaction processing efficiency of a mobile device, and further enhance user experience”, (Lan: see ¶ 0005).
Lan does not appear to explicitly disclose in accordance with a determination that the first user input includes the swipe input from the plurality of fingers and meets third criteria, different from the second criteria, displaying, via the display generation component, an application switching user interface.
However, Chaudhri discloses device and method comprising
in response to receiving the first user input: in accordance with a determination that the first user input includes a swipe input from a plurality of fingers and meets second criteria, displaying, via the display generation component, the home screen user interface; and performing the processing the touch information one or more times including at least one time where the first user input includes the swipe input from the plurality of fingers and meets the third criteria (Chaudhri: see ¶ 0561; discloses receiving swipe input, five contacts moving and meeting a second criteria of moving towards a center point, and in response displaying a home screen; Chaudhri: ¶ 0494-0495; discloses input can be received from device 100 with touch screen 195 at a corresponding location to the display device with display 194 shown in fig. 1D to manipulate the user device 194 according to the received input)
in accordance with a determination that the first user input includes the swipe input from the plurality of fingers and meets third criteria, different from the second criteria, displaying, via the display generation component, an application switching user interface (Chaudhri: ¶ 0546, 0548-0549, 0750; discloses swipe input with two fingers, moving fingers with contact 607A and contact 607B to the left and meeting third criteria of fingers moving horizontally, displays application switching interface switching from message application to calendar application, as shown in figs 6D-6G).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Pope/Karunamuni/Lan with Chaudhri for the benefit of having a device with “graphical user interfaces that provide intuitive and seamless interactions for multitasking on a handheld electronic device… [to]… complement or replace conventional touch inputs or gestures”, (Chaudhri: ¶ 0005).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pope and Karunamuni further in view of Bernstein et al. (US 2015/0067563A1; hereinafter Bernstein).
As to claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Pope and Karunamuni do not appear to teach, but Bernstein is relied upon for teaching the limitations of claim.
Bernstein discloses device and method comprising while displaying the respective user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second user input; and (Bernstein see ¶ 0192; discloses receiving a second input, movement of contact 18010 moves cursor 18008 in the user interface as shown in fig. 5c).
in response to receiving the second user input, processing second touch information including: in accordance with a determination that the second user input includes a request to move a cursor to a location of the first user interface object, selecting the first user interface object for input,and performing the processing the second touch information one or more times including at least one time where the second user input includes the request to move the cursor to the location of the first user interface object. (Bernstein see 0192; discloses receiving a second input dragging the cursor 18008 to first object, email 1, selects the first interface object, email 1 such that the email preview is displayed as shown in fig. 5D).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Pope/Karunamuni with Bernstein for the benefit of having a device with “interfaces [that] reduce the cognitive burden on a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface”, (Bernstein [0008]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-14 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968)).
/TUYETLIEN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179