DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed March 30, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al. (hereinafter Wang2) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2025/0063466 A1) in view of WANG et al. (hereinafter Wang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2025/0168715 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang2 teaches a communication apparatus (relay node 1, figure 15), which is a first relay node (relay node 1, figure 15) or included in the first relay node, a first data radio bearer (DRB) of a terminal (user/UE, figures 1, 2, and 15) corresponding to a first logical channel (LCH) (logical channel 1; [0346]), the first LCH is for transmitting packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) data (PDCP data; [0346]) corresponding to a source donor node (donor node 1, figure 15) ([0346]; [0347]; teaches a first DRB of a user/UE corresponding to a logical channel 1 transmitting data corresponding to a donor node 1), the communication apparatus comprising:
a memory (inherent component of the relay node, figures 15 and 24) storing instructions; and at least one processor (processing unit, figures 15 and 24) in communication with the memory, the at least one processor configured, upon execution of the instructions, to perform the following steps:
generating configuration information of a second LCH (logical channel 2; [0346]) corresponding to the first DRB, wherein the second LCH is for transmitting a PDCP data corresponding to a target donor node (donor node 2, figure 15); and sending the configuration information of the second LCH to the terminal ([0346]; [0347]; [0348]; [0393]; teaches generating configuration of a second logical channel (logical channel 2) corresponding to the DRB and sending the configuration to the user/UE);
the first relay node (relay node 1, figure 15) comprises an access relay node of the terminal (mobile terminal part; figure 1) ([0007]; [0347]; teaches the relay node comprises an access node of the user/UE; figure 1); and
a second relay node (relay node 3, figure 15) is on a link between the first relay node (relay node 1, figure 15) and the source donor node (donor node 1, figure 15) ([0347]; as depicted in figure 15).
However, Wang2 may not explicitly disclose the source donor node is the source donor node during a first relay node handover and the target donor node is the target donor node during the first relay node handover, or the source donor node is the source donor node during a second relay node handover and the target donor node is the target donor node during the second relay node handover.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches and suggests the source donor node is the source donor node during a first relay node handover and the target donor node is the target donor node during the first relay node handover, or the source donor node is the source donor node during a second relay node handover and the target donor node is the target donor node during the second relay node handover ([0045]; [0159]; teaches handover from a relay node where the anchor node 1 is the source node and the anchor node 2 is the target node; figure 2C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate handover from a relay node where the anchor node 1 is the source node and the anchor node 2 is the target node as taught by Wang with the method and apparatus for determining a condition for transmitting the data packet by using other transmission paths, thereby effectively using multiple transmission paths to implement the data packet transmission as disclosed by Wang2 for the purpose of updating the configuration of the first node during the handover of the first node when moving, so that the relay node may continuously provide service for a user equipment accessing the first node, as suggested by Wang.
Regarding claim 2, Wang2, as modified by Wang, further teaches and discloses wherein a PDCP data corresponding to the source donor node is processed using a PDCP configuration information corresponding to the source donor node, and the PDCP data is processed using a PDCP configuration information corresponding to the target donor node ([0346]; [0347]; [0348]; teaches the PDCP data corresponds to a source anchor node and processed using the configuration information).
Regarding claim 3, Wang2, as modified by Wang, further teaches and discloses sending indication information to the terminal, wherein the indication information indicates the terminal to process uplink data using the PDCP configuration information ([0346]; [0347]; [0348]; teaches indicates information for processing PDCP uplink data).
Regarding claim 4, Wang2 discloses determining a condition for transmitting the data packet by using other transmission paths thereby effectively using multiple transmission paths to implement the data packet transmission, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the source donor node is the source donor node during the first relay node handover, the target donor node is the target donor node during the first relay node handover, and the operations comprises: after the first relay node performs a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) switch or after a general packet radio service tunneling protocol (GTP) tunnel is established between the first relay node and the target donor node, sending the indication information to the terminal.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Wang further teaches and suggests wherein the source donor node is the source donor node during the first relay node handover, the target donor node is the target donor node during the first relay node handover ([0045]; [0159]; teaches handover from a relay node where the anchor node 1 is the source node and the anchor node 2 is the target node; figure 2C), and the operations comprises: after the first relay node performs a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) switch or after a general packet radio service tunneling protocol (GTP) tunnel is established between the first relay node and the target donor node, sending the indication information to the terminal ([0045]; [0197]; teaches sending the information after configuration of the GTP-U tunnel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate handover from a relay node where the anchor node 1 is the source node and the anchor node 2 is the target node as taught by Wang with the method and apparatus for determining a condition for transmitting the data packet by using other transmission paths, thereby effectively using multiple transmission paths to implement the data packet transmission as disclosed by Wang2 for the purpose of updating the configuration of the first node during the handover of the first node when moving, so that the relay node may continuously provide service for a user equipment accessing the first node, as suggested by Wang.
Regarding claim 7, Wang2 discloses determining a condition for transmitting the data packet by using other transmission paths thereby effectively using multiple transmission paths to implement the data packet transmission, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the source donor node is the source donor node during the first relay node handover, the target donor node is the target donor node during the first relay node handover, and the operations further comprises: receiving indication information from the target donor node through the source donor node; and maintaining a connection to the source donor node during the handover based on the indication information.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Wang further teaches and suggests wherein the source donor node is the source donor node during the first relay node handover, the target donor node is the target donor node during the first relay node handover ([0045]; [0159]; teaches handover from a relay node where the anchor node 1 is the source node and the anchor node 2 is the target node; figure 2C), and the operations further comprises: receiving indication information from the target donor node through the source donor node; and maintaining a connection to the source donor node during the handover based on the indication information ([0237]; [0486]; [0510]; teaches maintaining connection with the source anchor node).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate handover from a relay node where the anchor node 1 is the source node and the anchor node 2 is the target node as taught by Wang with the method and apparatus for determining a condition for transmitting the data packet by using other transmission paths, thereby effectively using multiple transmission paths to implement the data packet transmission as disclosed by Wang2 for the purpose of updating the configuration of the first node during the handover of the first node when moving, so that the relay node may continuously provide service for a user equipment accessing the first node, as suggested by Wang.
Regarding claim 8, Wang2 discloses determining a condition for transmitting the data packet by using other transmission paths thereby effectively using multiple transmission paths to implement the data packet transmission, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the operations further comprises: sending capability indication information to the target donor node through the source donor node, wherein the capability indication information indicates that the first relay node supports a capability of maintaining the connection to the source donor node during the handover.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Wang further teaches and suggests wherein the operations further comprises: sending capability indication information to the target donor node through the source donor node, wherein the capability indication information indicates that the first relay node supports a capability of maintaining the connection to the source donor node during the handover ([0237]; [0486]; [0510]; teaches exchanging configuration information for indicating maintaining connection with the source anchor node).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate handover from a relay node where the anchor node 1 is the source node and the anchor node 2 is the target node as taught by Wang with the method and apparatus for determining a condition for transmitting the data packet by using other transmission paths, thereby effectively using multiple transmission paths to implement the data packet transmission as disclosed by Wang2 for the purpose of updating the configuration of the first node during the handover of the first node when moving, so that the relay node may continuously provide service for a user equipment accessing the first node, as suggested by Wang.
Regarding claim 9, Wang2, as modified by Wang, further teaches and discloses wherein the first LCH corresponds to a general packet radio service tunneling protocol-user plane (GTP-U) tunnel (tunnels) between the first relay node and the source donor node, and the second LCH corresponds to a GTP-U tunnel between the first relay node and the target donor node ([0346]; [0347]; [0348]; teaches generating configuration of tunnels corresponding to DRB and sending the configuration to the UE).
Regarding claim 10, Wang2, as modified by Wang, further teaches and discloses wherein the operations further comprises: receiving, through the source donor node, information about a backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) address allocated by the target donor node, wherein the BAP address allocated by the target donor node to the first relay node is different from a BAP address allocated by the source donor node to the first relay node ([0008]; [0009]; [0010]; [0090]; [0399]; teaches receiving information about BAP address of the node).
Regarding claim 11, Wang2 teaches a communication apparatus (user/UE, figures 1, 2, and 15), which is a terminal (user/UE, figures 1, 2, and 15) or included in the terminal, a first data radio bearer (DRB) of the terminal corresponds to a first logical channel (LCH) (logical channel 1; [0346]), and the first LCH is for transmitting packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) data (PDCP data; [0346]) corresponding to a source donor node (donor node 1, figure 15) ([0346]; [0347]; teaches a first DRB of a user/UE corresponding to a logical channel 1 transmitting data corresponding to a donor node 1), the communication apparatus comprising:
a memory (inherent component of the user/UE, figures 1, 2, and 15) storing instructions; and at least one processor (inherent component of the user/UE, figures 1, 2, and 15) in communication with the memory, the at least one processor configured, upon execution of the instructions, to perform the following steps:
receiving configuration information of a second LCH (logical channel 2; [0346]) from a first relay node (relay node 1, figure 15), wherein the second LCH is for transmitting a PDCP data (PDCP data; [0346]) corresponding to a target donor node (donor node 2, figure 15); and configuring the second LCH for the first DRB ([0346]; [0347]; [0348]; [0393]; teaches receiving configuration of a second logical channel (logical channel 2) corresponding to the DRB and configuring the second logical channel for the DRB);
the first relay node (relay node 1, figure 15) is an access relay node of the terminal (mobile terminal part; figure 1) ([0007]; [0347]; teaches the relay node comprises an access node of the user/UE; figure 1); and
a second relay node (relay node 3, figure 15) is on a link between the first relay node (relay node 1, figure 15) and the source donor node (donor node 1, figure 15) ([0347]; as depicted in figure 15).
However, Wang2 may not explicitly disclose the source donor node is a source donor node during a first relay node handover and the target donor node is a target donor node during the first relay node handover, or the source donor node is the source donor node during a second relay node handover and the target donor node is the target donor node during the second relay node handover.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches and suggests the source donor node is a source donor node during a first relay node handover and the target donor node is a target donor node during the first relay node handover, or the source donor node is the source donor node during a second relay node handover and the target donor node is the target donor node during the second relay node handover ([0045]; [0159]; teaches handover from a relay node where the anchor node 1 is the source node and the anchor node 2 is the target node; figure 2C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate handover from a relay node where the anchor node 1 is the source node and the anchor node 2 is the target node as taught by Wang with the method and apparatus for determining a condition for transmitting the data packet by using other transmission paths, thereby effectively using multiple transmission paths to implement the data packet transmission as disclosed by Wang2 for the purpose of updating the configuration of the first node during the handover of the first node when moving, so that the relay node may continuously provide service for a user equipment accessing the first node, as suggested by Wang.
Regarding claim 12, Wang2, as modified by Wang, further teaches and discloses wherein a PDCP data corresponding to the source donor node is processed using PDCP configuration information corresponding to the source donor node, and the PDCP data is processed using PDCP configuration information corresponding to the target donor node ([0346]; [0347]; [0348]; teaches the PDCP data corresponds to a source anchor node and processed using the configuration information).
Regarding claim 13, Wang2, as modified by Wang, further teaches and discloses wherein the operations further comprises: receiving indication information from the first relay node; and the configuring the second LCH for the first DRB comprises: configuring the second LCH for the first DRB based on the indication information, to associate the first DRB with two LCHs ([0346]; [0347]; [0348]; teaches a first DRB of a user/UE corresponding to a logical channel 1 transmitting data corresponding to a donor node 1 and a second logical channel (logical channel 2) corresponding to the DRB and configuring the second logical channel for the DRB).
Regarding claim 14, Wang2, as modified by Wang, further teaches and discloses wherein the PDCP data comprises uplink PDCP data corresponding to the target donor node, and the operations further comprises: receiving indication information from the first relay node; and processing, based on the indication information, uplink data using the PDCP configuration information corresponding to the target donor node, to obtain the uplink PDCP data corresponding to the target donor node ([0346]; [0347]; [0348]; teaches indicates information for processing uplink PDCP data).
Regarding claim 16, Wang2 teaches and discloses a communication system, comprising:
a first relay node (relay node 1, figure 15); and a terminal (user/UE, figures 1, 2, and 15);
a first data radio bearer (DRB) (DRB; [0346]) of the terminal corresponds to a first logical channel (LCH) (logical channel 1; [0346]), the first LCH is for transmitting packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) data (PDCP data; [0346]) corresponding to a source donor node (donor node 1, figure 15) ([0346]; [0347]; teaches a first DRB of a user/UE corresponding to a logical channel 1 transmitting data corresponding to a donor node 1);
the first relay node is configured to: generate configuration information of a second LCH (logical channel 2; [0346]) corresponding to the first DRB, the second LCH is for transmitting a PDCP data (PDCP data; [0346]) corresponding to a target donor node (donor node 2, figure 15); and send the configuration information of the second LCH to the terminal ([0346]; [0347]; [0348]; [0393]; teaches generating configuration of a second logical channel (logical channel 2) corresponding to the DRB and sending the configuration to the user/UE);
the first relay node (relay node 1, figure 15) is an access relay node of the terminal (mobile terminal part; figure 1) ([0007]; [0347]; teaches the relay node comprises an access node of the user/UE; figure 1); and
a second relay node (relay node 3, figure 15) is on a link between the first relay node (relay node 1, figure 15) and the source donor node (donor node 1, figure 15) ([0347]; as depicted in figure 15);
the terminal is configured to: receive configuration information of the second LCH from the first relay node; and configure the second LCH for the first DRB ([0346]; [0347]; [0348]; [0393]; teaches the user/UE receiving configuration of a second logical channel (logical channel 2) corresponding to the DRB and configuring the second logical channel for the DRB).
However, Wang2 may not explicitly disclose the source donor node is a source donor node during a first relay node handover and the target donor node is the target donor node during the first relay node handover, or the source donor node is the source donor node during a second relay node handover and the target donor node is the target donor node during the second relay node handover.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches and suggests the source donor node is the source donor node during a first relay node handover and the target donor node is the target donor node during the first relay node handover, or the source donor node is the source donor node during a second relay node handover and the target donor node is the target donor node during the second relay node handover ([0045]; [0159]; teaches handover from a relay node where the anchor node 1 is the source node and the anchor node 2 is the target node; figure 2C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate handover from a relay node where the anchor node 1 is the source node and the anchor node 2 is the target node as taught by Wang with the method and apparatus for determining a condition for transmitting the data packet by using other transmission paths, thereby effectively using multiple transmission paths to implement the data packet transmission as disclosed by Wang2 for the purpose of updating the configuration of the first node during the handover of the first node when moving, so that the relay node may continuously provide service for a user equipment accessing the first node, as suggested by Wang.
Regarding claim 17, Wang2, as modified by Wang, further teaches and discloses wherein a PDCP data corresponding to the source donor node is processed using a PDCP configuration information corresponding to the source donor node, and the PDCP data is processed using a PDCP configuration information corresponding to the target donor node ([0346]; [0347]; [0348]; teaches the PDCP data corresponds to a source anchor node and processed using the configuration information).
Regarding claim 18, Wang2, as modified by Wang, further teaches and discloses wherein the first relay node is further configured to send an indication information to the terminal, the indication information indicates the terminal to process uplink data using the PDCP configuration information ([0346]; [0347]; [0348]; teaches indicates information for processing uplink PDCP data).
Regarding claim 19, Wang2, as modified by Wang, further teaches and discloses wherein the terminal is further configured to receive an indication information from the first relay node and configure the second LCH for the first DRB based on the indication information, to associate the first DRB with two LCHs ([0346]; [0347]; [0348]; teaches a first DRB of a user/UE corresponding to a logical channel 1 transmitting data corresponding to a donor node 1 and a second logical channel (logical channel 2) corresponding to the DRB and configuring the second logical channel for the DRB).
Claims 5, 6, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al. (hereinafter Wang2) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2025/0063466 A1) in view of WANG et al. (hereinafter Wang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2025/0168715 A1), and further in view of Huang et al. (hereinafter Huang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2012/0093070 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Wang2, as modified by Wang, teaches handover from a relay node where the anchor node 1 is the source node and the anchor node 2 is the target node, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the operations further comprises: sending indication information to the target donor node, wherein the indication information is used by the target donor node to indicate the terminal to delete the first LCH.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Huang teaches and suggests sending indication information to the target donor node, wherein the indication information is used by the target donor node to indicate the terminal to delete the first LCH ([0091]; [0092]; teaches the donor eNB indicating to the UE to update and delete the logical channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the donor eNB indicating to the UE to update and delete the logical channel as taught by Huang with the method and apparatus for handover from a source anchor node to a target anchor node as disclosed by Wang2, as modified by Wang, for the purpose of updating logical channel mapping relations in order to maintain QoS, as suggested by Huang.
Regarding claim 6, Wang2, as modified by Wang and Huang, further teaches and discloses wherein after the first relay node completes sending, to the terminal, the PDCP data that corresponds to the source donor node and that is buffered by the first relay node, sending the indication information to the target donor node ([0346]; [0347]; [0348]; teaches sending the PDCP data to the UE from the first relay node to the target anchor node).
Regarding claims 15 and 20, Wang2, as modified by Wang, further teaches and discloses wherein the operations further comprises: receiving indication information from the first relay node; and deleting the first LCH based on the indication information.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Huang teaches and suggests receiving indication information from the first relay node; and deleting the first LCH based on the indication information ([0091]; [0092]; teaches the donor eNB indicating to the UE to update and delete the logical channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the donor eNB indicating to the UE to update and delete the logical channel as taught by Huang with the method and apparatus for handover from a source anchor node to a target anchor node as disclosed by Wang2, as modified by Wang, for the purpose of updating logical channel mapping relations in order to maintain QoS, as suggested by Huang.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed March 30, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive specifically regarding the logical channels for transmitting PCDP data. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of WANG et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2025/0063466 A1).
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Suk Jin Kang/
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
June 13, 2026