DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Selvamani Sundaramahalingam (WO – 2012/164587 A2, from IDS).
As per claim 1, Selvamani discloses Internal Breather For Spring Brake Actuator comprising:
a service brake function and a parking brake function, the spring brake actuator (The spring brake actuator is a combination of a diaphragm chamber for applying service brake and spring chamber for applying spring brake/parking brake., Fig: 7) comprising:
a housing (1, 30, 2, 27, Fig: 7) with a housing base (30, Fig: 7),
a compression spring (12, Fig: 7) and a ram assembly (5, 7, Fig: 7) with a spring brake piston (5, Fig: 7) disposed in the housing (Fig: 7),
wherein the ram assembly (5, 7) separates a spring chamber (9, Fig: 7), in which the compression spring (12) is disposed, from a parking chamber (4, Fig: 7),
wherein the compression spring (12) acts on the ram assembly (5, 7) and provides the parking brake function, in which the spring brake piston (5) shifts through a hole (32, Fig: 7) of the housing base (30) toward a diaphragm (23, Fig: 7) and causing a braking action via a push rod (29, Fig: 7),
a check valve (50, Fig: 7-8) of the ram assembly (5, 7) that allows an air flow to the parking chamber (Fig: 7),
wherein the check valve (50) includes a one-way valve (55, Fig: 7-8) and a supporting element (70, Fig: 7-8) that secures the one-way valve (55) in the ram assembly (5, 7).
As per claim 16, Selvamani discloses wherein when compound braking occurs in which the parking brake function and the service brake function are both activated, high pressure in the service chamber vents through a valve element into the spring brake piston and into the spring chamber, and the high pressure passes through the supporting element and the one-way valve from the spring chamber into the parking chamber until pressure equalization is reached between the parking chamber, and the spring chamber and the one-way valve closes and blocks backflow (Both spring brake and service brake combination application, Page 10, Paragraph 4 – Page 13, Paragraph 4, Fig: 7-8).
As per claim 18, Selvamani discloses wherein the housing base (30) separates a parking brake part (1, Fig: 7) from a service brake part (2, Fig: 7).
As per claim 19, Selvamani discloses wherein the spring brake actuator (1) is a component of a compressed air brake system of a commercial vehicle (This invention relates to an internal breather device and breather valve for a spring brake actuator used in the brake system of a motor vehicle, Page 1, Ln: 3, Fig: 7-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selvamani Sundaramahalingam (WO – 2012/164587 A2, from IDS) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Krebs et al. (US – 2018/0073500 A1).
As per claim 2, Selvamani discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the one-way valve is a duckbill valve.
Krebs discloses Motor/Pump Unit Having A Single Elastic Diaphragm comprising:
wherein the one-way valve is a duckbill valve (non-return valve 15, The non-return valve is constructed from an elastomer material and has a lip valve which is formed as a so-called duckbill valve, [0031], Fig: 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Internal Breather For Spring Brake Actuator of the Selvamani to use the one-way valve in which the one-way valve is a duckbill valve as taught by Krebs in order to provide cost-effective, lighter and has a smaller spatial requirement than mechanical resiliently loaded non-return valves with a barrier member.
As per claim 11, Selvamani discloses wherein the supporting element (70, Fig: 8) is fitted into the ram assembly (5, Fig: 8) by way of a press fitting, a snap fit, a threaded fastening (63, 65, threaded fastening, Fig: 8), an adhesive bonding, a shrink fitting, or a riveting.
As per claim 12, Selvamani discloses wherein the ram assembly (5, 7) and the compression spring (12) are located within a first space defined by the housing base (30) and a first housing cover (1, Fig: 7).
As per claim 13, Selvamani discloses a second housing cover (27, Fig: 7), a service chamber (22, Fig: 7), and a service brake spring (26, Fig: 7), wherein the diaphragm (24, Fig: 7) is located within a second space defined by the housing base (30) and the second housing cover (27), the diaphragm (24) disposed between the service chamber (22) and the service brake spring (26, Fig: 7).
As per claim 20, Selvamani discloses a spring brake actuator (1, Fig: 7-8).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selvamani Sundaramahalingam (WO – 2012/164587 A2, from IDS) as modified by Krebs et al. (US – 2018/0073500 A1) as applied to claims 1-2 and 12-13 above, and further in view of Senthil Kumar Arangarasan (WO – 2020/194078 A1).
As pr claim 14, Selvamani discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the ram assembly includes a further diaphragm and a support piston, and wherein the support piston includes a valve seat, in which the one-way valve is fixed by the supporting element.
Arangarasan discloses Spring Brake Actuator Use In Commercial Vehicle comprising:
wherein the ram assembly (9, 15, 20, Fig: 1) includes a further diaphragm (15, Fig: 1) and a support piston (9, Fig: 1), and wherein the support piston (9) includes a valve seat (Attached figure and Fig: 1), in which the one-way valve (Attached figure and Fig: 1) Is fixed by the supporting element (9, 15, 20, Attached figure and Fig: 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Internal Breather For Spring Brake Actuator of the Selvamani as modified by Krebs to make the ram assembly includes a further diaphragm and a support piston, and wherein the support piston includes a valve seat, in which the one-way valve is fixed by the supporting element as taught by Arangarasan in order to less of susceptible to pressure leakage, easy to install and maintain, by preventing any relative movement between the sealing member and the cylinder housing.
As per claim 15, Arangarasan further discloses a parking piston (9, Fig: 1), which separates the spring chamber (12) from the parking chamber (14), and which includes a valve seat (Attached figure and Fig: 1), in which the one-way valve (Attached figure and Fig: 1) is fixed by the supporting element (9, 15, 20, Attached figure and Fig: 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior art and teaching references fail to disclose wherein the supporting element comprises a ring element with an opening at one side and a tapered part at its opposing side, and wherein the tapered part includes a central venting hole, which is connected at a tip of the tapered part to one or a plurality of side holes, that allows an air flow through the supporting element (Claim 3), wherein the supporting element comprises a ring element with an opening at one side and a tapered part at its opposing side, and wherein the tapered part includes at least one hole extending in the same axial direction, offset from a central axis of the supporting element, which extends axially through the tapered part and allows an air flow through the supporting element (Claim 5), wherein the supporting element fixes the duckbill valve in a hole of the ram assembly and provides a reinforcement and a retainment of the duckbill valve and provides a backflow resistance to the duckbill valve (Claim 7), wherein the supporting element has an outer shape corresponding to an inner shape of the duckbill valve (Claim 8), and wherein the one-way valve is a metal bonded duckbill valve, and wherein the supporting element is a ring element and fixes the duckbill valve in a hole of the ram assembly (Claim 9), and wherein the check valve is constructed of only two parts, wherein the two parts are a duckbill valve and the supporting member, wherein the duckbill valve includes elastomeric lips that are self-contained and seal against each other to block flow.
Claim 4 depends on claim 3, claim 6 depends on claim 5 and claim 10 depends on claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A: Stojic (US – 6,148,711),
B: Swander, Jr. et al. (US – 3,813,994),
C: Swander, Jr. et al. (US – 3,712, 181),
D: FISHER et al. (US – 2015/0144440 A1),
E: Park (US – 2014/0305300 A1),
F: Akin et al. (US – 2013/0032437 A1), and
G: Gravier (US – 2004/0060784 A1).
/SAN M AUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616