Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. IN 202241005416, filed on 02/01/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/06/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Ianev et al. (2025/0056665), hereinafter Ianev in view of Sugawara, Yasuo (2025/0097873), hereinafter Sugawara.
Re. Claim 9, Ianev teaches an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity (¶0432 - the NSACF 7701 may send, to the AMF 70, a message indicating a network slice (e.g. a network slice identified by S-NSSAI-3) is not used. & ¶0433-0434 - The AMF 70 may follow one of the following behaviours below: The AMF 70 may deregister the UE 3 from the network slice which the UE 3 has not used for some time) the AMF entity comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor (Fig 18. & ¶0680 - It will be understood that each block of the block diagrams, can be implemented by computer program instructions. These computer program instructions may be provided to a processor of a general purpose computer) configured to perform a method consisting of: a notification indicating a release of at least one protocol data unit (PDU) session associated with a network slice for a user equipment (UE) (¶0411-0412 - the UE 3 request to release the PDU session identified by the PDU-Id activated on the network slice identified by S-NSSAI-3. The NSACF 7702 receives, from other network node (e.g. the SMF 71), notification that the PDU session which is identified by the PDU-Id and which is activated on the network slice identified by S-NSSAI-3 is released), because of inactivity; identifying whether there is any other PDU session associated with the network slice (Fig. 4, ¶0447 - FIG. 4 discloses a mechanism which enables a network to release PDU session(s) that is associated with a network slice via an NSACF 77 if there is no user plane activity for a long time); and deregistering the network slice, in case that the network slice is not used by any other PDU session associated with the network slice (¶0250 - the First Aspect discloses a mechanism which enables the network to deregister the UE from a network slice if there is no PDU sessions established by the UE on the network slice for a duration of time defined by the network operator).
However, Ianev does not explicitly teach receiving, from a session management function (SMF) entity, a notification.
Yet, Sugawara expressly teaches receiving, from a session management function (SMF) entity, a notification (¶0089 - The SMF has a Session Management function such as establishment, modification, and release of a PDU session, a function of IP address allocation to the UE and management thereof, a function of selection and control of the UPF, a function of configuring the UPF for routing traffic to an appropriate destination (transmission destination), a function of transmitting and/or receiving an SM part of a NAS message, a function of issuing a notification about arrival of downlink data (Downlink Data Notification), a function of providing SM information specific to the AN (for each AN) that is transmitted to the AN through the AMF over the N2 interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Sugawara to the teaching of Ianev. The motivation for such would be as Sugawara provides a SMF sending a notification to the AMF (¶0089, Sugawara). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 13, Ianev teaches a session management function (SMF) entity, the SMF entity comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor (Fig 18. & ¶0680 - It will be understood that each block of the block diagrams, can be implemented by computer program instructions. These computer program instructions may be provided to a processor of a general purpose computer) configured to perform a method consisting of: determine to release at least one protocol data unit (PDU) session associated with a network slice for a user equipment (UE) because of inactivity (¶0412 - The NSACF 7702 receives, from other network node (e.g. the SMF 71), notification that the PDU session which is identified by the PDU-Id and which is activated on the network slice identified by S-NSSAI-3 is released), and a notification indicating a release of the at least one PDU session, because of inactivity, wherein the network slice is deregistered (¶0411-0412 - the UE 3 request to release the PDU session identified by the PDU-Id activated on the network slice identified by S-NSSAI-3. The NSACF 7702 receives, from other network node (e.g. the SMF 71), notification that the PDU session which is identified by the PDU-Id and which is activated on the network slice identified by S-NSSAI-3 is released, in case that the network slice is not used by any other PDU session associated with the network slice (¶0250 - the First Aspect discloses a mechanism which enables the network to deregister the UE from a network slice if there is no PDU sessions established by the UE on the network slice for a duration of time defined by the network operator).
However, Ianev does not explicitly teach transmitting, to an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity via the transceiver, a notification.
Yet, Sugawara expressly teaches transmitting, to an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity via the transceiver, a notification (¶0089 - The SMF has a Session Management function such as establishment, modification, and release of a PDU session, a function of IP address allocation to the UE and management thereof, a function of selection and control of the UPF, a function of configuring the UPF for routing traffic to an appropriate destination (transmission destination), a function of transmitting and/or receiving an SM part of a NAS message, a function of issuing a notification about arrival of downlink data (Downlink Data Notification), a function of providing SM information specific to the AN (for each AN) that is transmitted to the AN through the AMF over the N2 interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Sugawara to the teaching of Ianev. The motivation for such would be as Sugawara provides a SMF sending a notification to the AMF (¶0089, Sugawara). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claims 1 and 9, Claims 1 and 9 are the method claims corresponding to Claims 5 and 13, as such these claims are rejected under the same basis as Claims 5 and 13 as outlined above.
Re. Claims 2, 6, 10, and 14, Ianev and Sugawara teaches Claims 1, 5, 9, and 13
Additionally, Ianev further teaches removing the network slice from allowed network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) associated with the UE (¶0434 - The AMF 70 may deregister the UE 3 from the network slice which the UE 3 has not used for some time, e.g. S-NSSAI-3 by removing S-NSSAI-3 from the Allowed NSSAI for the UE 3 and adding S-NSSAI-3 to the Rejected NSSAI).
Re. Claims 3, 7, 11, and 15, Ianev and Sugawara teaches Claims 1, 5, 9, and 13
Additionally, Ianev further teaches wherein, in case that no data is transferred for the at least one PDU session during a certain period of time, the at least one PDU session is determined to be released because of inactivity (Fig. 3, & ¶0382 - FIG. 3 discloses a mechanism which enables a network to deregister a UE 3 from a network slice or put the network slice in inactive state when the UE 3 registrations are controlled by an NSACF 7701 and the UE 3's PDU session(s) is controlled by an NSACF 7702, if the network slice is not used for a long time, e.g. no PDU sessions are established by the UE 3 on the network slice for certain duration of time or the PDU session are not active for certain duration of time)
Re. Claims 4, 8, 12, and 17, Ianev and Sugawara teaches Claims 1, 5, 9, and 13
Additionally, Ianev further teaches determining that the network slice is not deregistered, in case that there is any other PDU session associated with the network slice (Fig 3 & ¶0382 - FIG. 3 discloses a mechanism which enables a network to deregister a UE 3 from a network slice or put the network slice in inactive state when the UE 3 registrations are controlled by an NSACF 7701 and the UE 3's PDU session(s) is controlled by an NSACF 7702, if the network slice is not used for a long time, e.g. no PDU sessions are established by the UE 3 on the network slice for certain duration of time or the PDU session are not active for certain duration of time).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection. In the RCE application, the limitation “in case that an absence of the at least one active PDU session associated with the network slice is identified” was amended to “in case that the network slice is not used by any other PDU session associated with the network slice”. Examiner interprets that the amendment constitutes a broadening and altering of the scope of the original claim and as such, reopened search. In the course of this reopened search, Examiner found the reference Ianev et al. (2025/0056665) which disclosed the same elements as the presently claimed invention. As such, Examiner withdraws the previously provided allowance and presents the current rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Basu et al. (WO 2022018700 A2) – Fig. 2, ¶0094, ¶0112-0113, & ¶0169;
Casati et al. (WO 2022008179 A2) - ¶0068, & ¶0169;
Stefano et al. (2018/0324577) – Figs. 9, 10, 11, ¶0009-0026,¶0060-0066, ¶0167-0186
/N.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/ supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475