This office action is in response to the amendment of the application serial number 18/162,145 filed on09/25/2025 .
Claims 1-10, 11-20, 21-25, 26-30 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10, 11-20, 21-25, 26-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2-3, 6-9, 11, 12-13, 16-19, 21, 22, 25, 26, 27, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GHOLMIEH et al. ( US 20180103364, hereinafter, GHOLMIEH’s 364) in view of Catovic et al. ( US 20180324759, hereinafter, Catovic’s 759 ).
Regarding to the claim 1, US 20180103364 teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to:
obtain an indication of a uniform resource locator (URL), wherein the URL includes user access information for access MBMS service ( obtain an indication of a uniform resource locator (URL), wherein the URL includes user access information for access MBMS service) [see Paragraphs 0078 & 0038 & 0126 & 0006 & 0111 & 0118 & 0081 & 0085 ].
Receive, based on the indication of URL, TMGI service announcement associated with the MBMS service ( [0065] In various aspects for a group call service, a TMGI may be announced, and a general purpose MBMS subchannel 760 may be established between the GCS AS 722 and the group call client 704. The general purpose MBMS subchannel 760 may be established through an association between the general purpose MBMS subchannel 760 and the TMGI (e.g., a TMGI associated with a group call service). The general purpose MBMS subchannel 760 may carry a UDP port of the source of a group call service and IP address of the group call service. The general purpose MBMS subchannel 760 may be limited to specific parameters, which may describe limited aspects of a group call service. The parameters of the general purpose MBMS subchannel 760 may be carried in a map group to bearer message (e.g., to inform the UE 702 about the start and/or access of a group call service). The map group to bearer message may include a TMGI, an MBMS subchannel for audio and floor control, and a mission critical push-to-talk (MCPTT) group identifier in the activated MBMS bearer used for the group call service, and so forth) [see Paragraph 0065]
However, US 20180103364 does not explicitly teach receive, based at least in part on the user access information, a service announcement associated with the ROM service.
US 20180324759, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches
Receive a service announcement associated with the ROM ( based on the list of TMGIs for broadcast services, receiving a service announcement associated with the ROM service ) [see Paragraphs 0007 & 0024 & 0028 & 0033 & 0034 & 0036 & 0045 & 0053 & 0055 & 0059 & 0060 & 0062 & 0066 & 0067 0068 & 0069 ]
[0006] Various embodiments may include methods for receiving a MBMS Service on a computing device, including receiving a list of TMGIs for broadcast services in a network on a computing device, determining, in the computing device, whether any of the TMGIs on the list correspond to any ROM services supported by the computing device based at least in part on any of the TMGIs being within ranges allocated to the ROM services supported by the computing device, and acquiring at least one of the ROM services supported by the computing device in response to determining that any of the TMGIs on the list correspond to any of the ROM services supported by the computing device.
[0007] Various embodiments may include methods for receiving a MBMS Service on a computing device, including receiving a list of TMGIs for broadcast services in a network on a computing device from a broadcast channel, determining, in the computing device, whether any of the TMGIs on the list correspond to a ROM SA based at least in part on any of the TMGIs being within ranges allocated to ROM SA services, obtaining a list of ROM service TMGIs from the ROM SA in response to determining that any of the TMGIs on the list correspond to the ROM SA, and acquiring a ROM service supported by the computing device using at least one of the ROM service TMGIs.
[0008] Various embodiments may include methods for receiving a MBMS Service on a ROM computing device, including activating one or more TMGIs on the ROM computing device from a sub-range of TMGIs corresponding to supported service types of broadcast services intended for use by ROM computing devices, determining whether one or more supported broadcast services are available in response to activating the one or more TMGIs, and receiving one or more supported broadcast services on the ROM computing device in response to determining one or more supported broadcast services are available
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20180103364 in view of US 20180324759 because US 20180324759 suggests that These improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 2, US 20180103364 further teach wherein the one or more processors, to obtain the URL, are configured to: receive the URL via a network node associated with the service announcement, receive the URL via a network that is independent from the service announcement, or identify the URL in a set of URLs that are indicated in a communication protocol ( wherein the one or more processors, to obtain the URL, are configured to: receive the URL via a network node associated with the service announcement, receive the URL via a network that is independent from the service announcement, or identify the URL in a set of URLs that are indicated in a communication protocol ) [see Paragraphs 0078 & 0038 & 0126 & 0006 & 0111 & 0118 & 0081 & 0085 & 0065 ].
Regarding to the claim 3, US 20180103364 further teaches wherein the URL comprises one or more of: a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) that identifies the ROM service, an indication of a domain associated with ROM services, an indication of one or more name and value pairs, a label, a universal resource identifier (URI) that indicates a resource associated with the ROM service, or a query ( ( [0078] In another aspect, the UE 702 may receive the TMGI from a server (e.g., a domain name system (DNS) server). For example, eMBMS service layer 708 may obtain a uniform resource identifier (URI) (e.g., URL), which may be based on the current PLMN (e.g., a PLMN in which the UE 702 is operating). In an aspect, the URI may include a mobile country code (MCC) and/or a mobile network code (MNC). For example, a URI of mccxxx_mncyyy.operator.com may be used to query a server for an operator with an MCC of xxx and an MNC of yyy. In an aspect, the URI may include an indication or an agency or group call service. For example, a URI of mccxxx_mncyyy.operator.com/GDCH?agency=San_Diego_PD may be used to query a server to obtain a GDCH associated with group call service(s) of the San Diego police department. In such an aspect, the UE 702 may receive the TMGI of the GDCH 762 from the server in response to the URI.) [see Paragraph 0078 ].
Regarding to the claim 6, US 20180103364 and US 20180324759 teach the limitations of the claim 3 above.
However, US 20180103364 does not explicitly teach wherein, based at least in part on the ROM service including a broadcast service, the TMGI includes a value of one or more of a mobile country code (MCC) or a mobile network code (MNC) that are associated with the broadcast service.
US 20180324759, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein, based at least in part on the ROM service including a broadcast service, the TMGI includes a value of one or more of a mobile country code (MCC) or a mobile network code (MNC) that are associated with the broadcast service ( wherein, based at least in part on the ROM service including a broadcast service, the TMGI includes a value of one or more of a mobile country code (MCC) or a mobile network code (MNC) that are associated with the broadcast service ) [see Paragraphs 0007 & 0024 & 0028 & 0033 & 0034 & 0036 & 0045 & 0053 & 0055 & 0059 & 0060 & 0062 & 0066 & 0067 0068 & 0069 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20180103364 in view of US 20180324759 because US 20180324759 suggests that These improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 7, US 20180103364 and US 20180324759 teach the limitations of the claim 3 above.
However, US 20180103364 does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more name and value pairs include one or more of: a service area indication that indicates a set of service areas that are associated with a user service description, a frequency indication that indicates a frequency channel number that is associated with the service announcement, a subcarrier spacing indication that indicates a subcarrier spacing of a service announcement channel that is associated with the service announcement, a bandwidth indication that indicates a bandwidth of the service announcement channel, or a service identification that indicates a value of the service announcement channel that is associated with the service announcement.
US 20180324759 further teaches wherein the one or more name and value pairs include one or more of: a service area indication that indicates a set of service areas that are associated with a user service description, a frequency indication that indicates a frequency channel number that is associated with the service announcement, a subcarrier spacing indication that indicates a subcarrier spacing of a service announcement channel that is associated with the service announcement, a bandwidth indication that indicates a bandwidth of the service announcement channel, or a service identification that indicates a value of the service announcement channel that is associated with the service announcement ( wherein the one or more name and value pairs include one or more of: a service area indication that indicates a set of service areas that are associated with a user service description, a frequency indication that indicates a frequency channel number that is associated with the service announcement, a subcarrier spacing indication that indicates a subcarrier spacing of a service announcement channel that is associated with the service announcement, a bandwidth indication that indicates a bandwidth of the service announcement channel, or a service identification that indicates a value of the service announcement channel that is associated with the service announcement ) [see Paragraphs 0007 & 0024 & 0028 & 0033 & 0034 & 0036 & 0045 & 0053 & 0055 & 0059 & 0060 & 0062 & 0066 & 0067 0068 & 0069 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20180103364 in view of US 20180324759 because US 20180324759 suggests that These improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 8, US 20180103364 and US 20180324759 teach the limitations of the claim 3 above.
However, US 20180103364 does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more name and value pairs include one or more of: a label that indicates an identification of a file distributed via the ROM service, or a user service that is announced on the ROM service.
US 20180324759 further teaches wherein the one or more name and value pairs include one or more of: a label that indicates an identification of a file distributed via the ROM service, or a user service that is announced on the ROM service ( wherein the one or more name and value pairs include one or more of: a label that indicates an identification of a file distributed via the ROM service, or a user service that is announced on the ROM service ) [see Paragraphs 0007 & 0024 & 0028 & 0033 & 0034 & 0036 & 0045 & 0053 & 0055 & 0059 & 0060 & 0062 & 0066 & 0067 0068 & 0069 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20180103364 in view of US 20180324759 because US 20180324759 suggests that These improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 9, US 20180103364 and US 20180324759 teach the limitations of the claim 3 above.
However, US 20180103364 does not explicitly teach wherein the ROM service comprises one or more of: a multimedia broadcast/multicast service (MBMS), or a broadcast service.
US 20180324759, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the ROM service comprises one or more of: a multimedia broadcast/multicast service (MBMS), or a broadcast service ( wherein the ROM service comprises one or more of: a multimedia broadcast/multicast service (MBMS), or a broadcast service ) [see Paragraphs 0007 & 0024 & 0028 & 0033 & 0034 & 0036 & 0045 & 0053 & 0055 & 0059 & 0060 & 0062 & 0066 & 0067 0068 & 0069 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20180103364 in view of US 20180324759 because US 20180324759 suggests that These improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 11, US 20180103364 teaches a network node for wireless communication, comprising :
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memory, configured to:
provide an indication of a uniform resource locator (URL), wherein the URL includes user access information for access MBMS service ( obtain an indication of a uniform resource locator (URL), wherein the URL includes user access information for access MBMS service) [see Paragraphs 0078 & 0038 & 0126 & 0006 & 0111 & 0118 & 0081 & 0085 ].
transmit, based at least in part on the user access information (on the indication of URL ) , TMGI service announcement associated with the MBMS service ( [0065] In various aspects for a group call service, a TMGI may be announced, and a general purpose MBMS subchannel 760 may be established between the GCS AS 722 and the group call client 704. The general purpose MBMS subchannel 760 may be established through an association between the general purpose MBMS subchannel 760 and the TMGI (e.g., a TMGI associated with a group call service). The general purpose MBMS subchannel 760 may carry a UDP port of the source of a group call service and IP address of the group call service. The general purpose MBMS subchannel 760 may be limited to specific parameters, which may describe limited aspects of a group call service. The parameters of the general purpose MBMS subchannel 760 may be carried in a map group to bearer message (e.g., to inform the UE 702 about the start and/or access of a group call service). The map group to bearer message may include a TMGI, an MBMS subchannel for audio and floor control, and a mission critical push-to-talk (MCPTT) group identifier in the activated MBMS bearer used for the group call service, and so forth) [see Paragraph 0065]
However, US 20180103364 does not explicitly teach transmit, based at least in part on the user access information, a service announcement associated with the ROM service.
US 20180324759, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches
transmit a service announcement associated with the ROM ( based on the list of TMGIs for broadcast services, receiving a service announcement associated with the ROM service ) [see Paragraphs 0007 & 0024 & 0028 & 0033 & 0034 & 0036 & 0045 & 0053 & 0055 & 0059 & 0060 & 0062 & 0066 & 0067 0068 & 0069 ]
[0006] Various embodiments may include methods for receiving a MBMS Service on a computing device, including receiving a list of TMGIs for broadcast services in a network on a computing device, determining, in the computing device, whether any of the TMGIs on the list correspond to any ROM services supported by the computing device based at least in part on any of the TMGIs being within ranges allocated to the ROM services supported by the computing device, and acquiring at least one of the ROM services supported by the computing device in response to determining that any of the TMGIs on the list correspond to any of the ROM services supported by the computing device.
[0007] Various embodiments may include methods for receiving a MBMS Service on a computing device, including receiving a list of TMGIs for broadcast services in a network on a computing device from a broadcast channel, determining, in the computing device, whether any of the TMGIs on the list correspond to a ROM SA based at least in part on any of the TMGIs being within ranges allocated to ROM SA services, obtaining a list of ROM service TMGIs from the ROM SA in response to determining that any of the TMGIs on the list correspond to the ROM SA, and acquiring a ROM service supported by the computing device using at least one of the ROM service TMGIs.
[0008] Various embodiments may include methods for receiving a MBMS Service on a ROM computing device, including activating one or more TMGIs on the ROM computing device from a sub-range of TMGIs corresponding to supported service types of broadcast services intended for use by ROM computing devices, determining whether one or more supported broadcast services are available in response to activating the one or more TMGIs, and receiving one or more supported broadcast services on the ROM computing device in response to determining one or more supported broadcast services are available
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20180103364 in view of US 20180324759 because US 20180324759 suggests that These improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 12, US 20180103364 further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to provide the URL, are configured to: provide the URL via a network node associated with the service announcement, or provide the URL via a network that is independent from the service announcement ( wherein the one or more processors, to provide the URL, are configured to: provide the URL via a network node associated with the service announcement, or provide the URL via a network that is independent from the service announcement ) [see Paragraphs 0078 & 0038 & 0126 & 0006 & 0111 & 0118 & 0081 & 0085 & 0065 ].
Regarding to the claim 13, US 20180103364 further teaches wherein the URL comprises one or more of: a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) that identifies the ROM service, an indication of a domain associated with ROM services, an indication of one or more name and value pairs, a label, a universal resource identifier (URI) that indicates a resource associated with the ROM service, or a query ( ( [0078] In another aspect, the UE 702 may receive the TMGI from a server (e.g., a domain name system (DNS) server). For example, eMBMS service layer 708 may obtain a uniform resource identifier (URI) (e.g., URL), which may be based on the current PLMN (e.g., a PLMN in which the UE 702 is operating). In an aspect, the URI may include a mobile country code (MCC) and/or a mobile network code (MNC). For example, a URI of mccxxx_mncyyy.operator.com may be used to query a server for an operator with an MCC of xxx and an MNC of yyy. In an aspect, the URI may include an indication or an agency or group call service. For example, a URI of mccxxx_mncyyy.operator.com/GDCH?agency=San_Diego_PD may be used to query a server to obtain a GDCH associated with group call service(s) of the San Diego police department. In such an aspect, the UE 702 may receive the TMGI of the GDCH 762 from the server in response to the URI.) [see Paragraph 0078 ].
Regarding to the claim 16, claim 16 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 6 above.
Regarding to the claim 17, claim 17 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 7 above.
Regarding to the claim 18, claim 18 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 8 above.
Regarding to the claim 19, claim 19 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 9 above.
Regarding to the claim 21, US 20180103364 teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment ( UE ), comprising:
obtaining an indication of a uniform resource locator (URL), wherein the URL includes user access information for access MBMS service ( obtain an indication of a uniform resource locator (URL), wherein the URL includes user access information for access MBMS service) [see Paragraphs 0078 & 0038 & 0126 & 0006 & 0111 & 0118 & 0081 & 0085 ].
Receiving, based on the indication of URL, TMGI service announcement associated with the MBMS service ( [0065] In various aspects for a group call service, a TMGI may be announced, and a general purpose MBMS subchannel 760 may be established between the GCS AS 722 and the group call client 704. The general purpose MBMS subchannel 760 may be established through an association between the general purpose MBMS subchannel 760 and the TMGI (e.g., a TMGI associated with a group call service). The general purpose MBMS subchannel 760 may carry a UDP port of the source of a group call service and IP address of the group call service. The general purpose MBMS subchannel 760 may be limited to specific parameters, which may describe limited aspects of a group call service. The parameters of the general purpose MBMS subchannel 760 may be carried in a map group to bearer message (e.g., to inform the UE 702 about the start and/or access of a group call service). The map group to bearer message may include a TMGI, an MBMS subchannel for audio and floor control, and a mission critical push-to-talk (MCPTT) group identifier in the activated MBMS bearer used for the group call service, and so forth) [see Paragraph 0065]
However, US 20180103364 does not explicitly teach receive, based at least in part on the user access information, a service announcement associated with the ROM service.
US 20180324759, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches
receivea service announcement associated with the ROM ( based on the list of TMGIs for broadcast services, receiving a service announcement associated with the ROM service ) [see Paragraphs 0007 & 0024 & 0028 & 0033 & 0034 & 0036 & 0045 & 0053 & 0055 & 0059 & 0060 & 0062 & 0066 & 0067 0068 & 0069 ]
[0006] Various embodiments may include methods for receiving a MBMS Service on a computing device, including receiving a list of TMGIs for broadcast services in a network on a computing device, determining, in the computing device, whether any of the TMGIs on the list correspond to any ROM services supported by the computing device based at least in part on any of the TMGIs being within ranges allocated to the ROM services supported by the computing device, and acquiring at least one of the ROM services supported by the computing device in response to determining that any of the TMGIs on the list correspond to any of the ROM services supported by the computing device.
[0007] Various embodiments may include methods for receiving a MBMS Service on a computing device, including receiving a list of TMGIs for broadcast services in a network on a computing device from a broadcast channel, determining, in the computing device, whether any of the TMGIs on the list correspond to a ROM SA based at least in part on any of the TMGIs being within ranges allocated to ROM SA services, obtaining a list of ROM service TMGIs from the ROM SA in response to determining that any of the TMGIs on the list correspond to the ROM SA, and acquiring a ROM service supported by the computing device using at least one of the ROM service TMGIs.
[0008] Various embodiments may include methods for receiving a MBMS Service on a ROM computing device, including activating one or more TMGIs on the ROM computing device from a sub-range of TMGIs corresponding to supported service types of broadcast services intended for use by ROM computing devices, determining whether one or more supported broadcast services are available in response to activating the one or more TMGIs, and receiving one or more supported broadcast services on the ROM computing device in response to determining one or more supported broadcast services are available
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20180103364 in view of US 20180324759 because US 20180324759 suggests that These improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 22, claim 22 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 3 above.
Regarding to the claim 25, claim 25 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 6 above.
Regarding to the claim 26, US 20180103364 teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a network node, comprising:
providing an indication of a uniform resource locator (URL), wherein the URL includes user access information for access MBMS service ( obtain an indication of a uniform resource locator (URL), wherein the URL includes user access information for access MBMS service) [see Paragraphs 0078 & 0038 & 0126 & 0006 & 0111 & 0118 & 0081 & 0085 ].
transmit, based on the indication of URL, TMGI service announcement associated with the MBMS service ( [0065] In various aspects for a group call service, a TMGI may be announced, and a general purpose MBMS subchannel 760 may be established between the GCS AS 722 and the group call client 704. The general purpose MBMS subchannel 760 may be established through an association between the general purpose MBMS subchannel 760 and the TMGI (e.g., a TMGI associated with a group call service). The general purpose MBMS subchannel 760 may carry a UDP port of the source of a group call service and IP address of the group call service. The general purpose MBMS subchannel 760 may be limited to specific parameters, which may describe limited aspects of a group call service. The parameters of the general purpose MBMS subchannel 760 may be carried in a map group to bearer message (e.g., to inform the UE 702 about the start and/or access of a group call service). The map group to bearer message may include a TMGI, an MBMS subchannel for audio and floor control, and a mission critical push-to-talk (MCPTT) group identifier in the activated MBMS bearer used for the group call service, and so forth) [see Paragraph 0065]
However, US 20180103364 does not explicitly teach transmit, based at least in part on the user access information, a service announcement associated with the ROM service.
US 20180324759, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches
transmit a service announcement associated with the ROM ( based on the list of TMGIs for broadcast services, receiving a service announcement associated with the ROM service ) [see Paragraphs 0007 & 0024 & 0028 & 0033 & 0034 & 0036 & 0045 & 0053 & 0055 & 0059 & 0060 & 0062 & 0066 & 0067 0068 & 0069 ]
[0006] Various embodiments may include methods for receiving a MBMS Service on a computing device, including receiving a list of TMGIs for broadcast services in a network on a computing device, determining, in the computing device, whether any of the TMGIs on the list correspond to any ROM services supported by the computing device based at least in part on any of the TMGIs being within ranges allocated to the ROM services supported by the computing device, and acquiring at least one of the ROM services supported by the computing device in response to determining that any of the TMGIs on the list correspond to any of the ROM services supported by the computing device.
[0007] Various embodiments may include methods for receiving a MBMS Service on a computing device, including receiving a list of TMGIs for broadcast services in a network on a computing device from a broadcast channel, determining, in the computing device, whether any of the TMGIs on the list correspond to a ROM SA based at least in part on any of the TMGIs being within ranges allocated to ROM SA services, obtaining a list of ROM service TMGIs from the ROM SA in response to determining that any of the TMGIs on the list correspond to the ROM SA, and acquiring a ROM service supported by the computing device using at least one of the ROM service TMGIs.
[0008] Various embodiments may include methods for receiving a MBMS Service on a ROM computing device, including activating one or more TMGIs on the ROM computing device from a sub-range of TMGIs corresponding to supported service types of broadcast services intended for use by ROM computing devices, determining whether one or more supported broadcast services are available in response to activating the one or more TMGIs, and receiving one or more supported broadcast services on the ROM computing device in response to determining one or more supported broadcast services are available
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20180103364 in view of US 20180324759 because US 20180324759 suggests that These improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 27, claim 27 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 3 above.
Regarding to the claim 30, claim 30 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 6 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 10, 14, 15, 20, 23, 24, 28, 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2412