Response to Amendment
This Office action is in response to the Amendment, filed 3/23/2026. Claims 1, 4-7, 10, 12, and 13 are amended and claims 2, 3, 8, 9, and 14-16 are cancelled. Claims 1, 4-7, 10-13, and 17-20 are pending in the application.
The objection to claim 5 is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s Amendment. The objections to claims 14-16 are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s claim cancellation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 3/23/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 12 under 35 USC § 103 and 35 USC § 102, respectively, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection is made with prior art combination Esenaliev in view of Chance and Huang. Examiner notes that the new grounds of rejection is made in light of Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 and 12, incorporating limitations from previously presented claims 2 and 3. Updated rejections to claims 1, 12, and their respective dependents are outlined below under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103.
Applicant's Remarks, see page 7, filed 3/23/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 2 and 3 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that prior art Huang et al. (US 20150265154 A1) was relied upon, particularly Figures 6 and 9 and the description attendant thereto, and such figures fail to disclose a structure configured to reflect excitation light multiple times internally within the light delivery element to produce a uniform distribution of the excitation light that exits the light delivery element through the plurality of protruding elements. Applicant specifically argues that Figures 6 and 9 disclose sensors that redirects light to directly exit the sensor, rather than reflect the light internally. As originally presented, claims 2 and 3 do not recite the limitations of reflecting excitation light multiple times internally, nor do they recite the limitations of the excitation light exciting the light delivery element through the plurality of protruding elements, as those are newly added limitations. As for claim 2, Examiner notes that Applicant fails to particularly point out why prior art Huang et al. fails to meet the limitations of claim 2 and only points to Figures 6 and 9 of Huang et al. failing to disclose light being reflected internally. Applicant claims the limitation of the light delivery element being configured to distribute the excitation light in a substantially uniform manner through the protruding elements, in which Examiner mapped to the prisms 90 reference element from ¶ 0057 and Fig. 6 of Huang et al. as well as ¶ 0065, in which it is stated that the amount of light reflected from each prism 90 within the stepped-prism light splitting structure 118 may be approximately uniform. Although claim 2 has been cancelled, the amended claims 1 and 12 contain subject matter similar to that recited in claim 2, and Examiner considers the subject matter of claim 2 to remain anticipated by prior art combination Esenaliev et al. (US 20190142316 A1), Chance (US 5987351 A), and Huang et al. As for claim 3, Examiner points out that the rejection relied on ¶ 0061 and ¶ 0062 of Huang et al., involving embodiments disclosed in Figs. 7 and 8 of Huang et al., rather than only relying on Figs. 6 and 9 for the rejection. Both Figs. 7 and 8 and ¶ 0061 and ¶ 0062 disclose that each prism may include a mirrored surface that can be entirely reflective, with potentially two or more mirrors used to redirect the light emitting components. Under broad reasonable interpretation, Examiner considered using two or more mirrors would be able to carry out the intended function of reflecting the excitation light internally within the light delivery element multiple times. Furthermore, ¶ 0065 of Huang also discloses that “the thin stepped prism portion 122 may be covered by a material 124 that is highly transmissive for wave propagation and may provide total internal reflection at each prism 90.” Although claim 3 has been cancelled, the amended claims 1 and 12 contain subject matter similar to that recited in claim 3, and Examiner considers the subject matter of claim 3 to remain anticipated by prior art combination Esenaliev et al., Chance, and Huang et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 has been amended to include the limitation “and at least a portion of the superior sagittal sinus at the end of the claim. Examiner notes that alignment with at least a portion of a superior sagittal sinus has already been claimed earlier [see line 3 of claim 7]. It is unclear why it has been amended to be claimed again and whether Applicant intended on claiming alignment of at least a portion of a different sinus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esenaliev (US 20190142316 A1) in view of Chance (US 5987351 A), further in view of Huang et al. (US 20150265154 A1), hereinafter Huang.
Regarding claim 1, Esenaliev discloses a system for measuring one or more analytes within cerebral venous blood flow [system 200 for optoacoustically measuring cerebral oxygenation, see in ¶ 0042; venous oxygen saturation, see in ¶ 0045], comprising:
an excitation light source [light emitter 12, see in ¶ 0050] configured to selectively produce one or more wavelengths of excitation light [generate light pulses or modulated continuous wave light at one or more wavelengths, see in ¶ 0044; Light of one or more wavelengths, ¶ 0075], the one or more wavelengths of excitation light operable to cause an analyte present within venous blood flow to photoacoustically produce at least one ultrasonic signal [venous oxygen saturation from the measured acoustic pressure, see in ¶ 0045; While the light emitter 12 and the acoustic sensor 14 may not be in direct alignment with each other, the ultrasound signals radiate in all directions within the brain and therefore can be adequately detected by the acoustic sensor, see in ¶ 0058];
a light delivery element [The light from the source can be provided to the light emitter 12 using a cable 18 that contains an optic waveguide (fiber-based or non-fiber-based), see in ¶ 0051] configured to be disposed on a posterior region of a human head [see position in Fig. 2A], the light delivery element configured to receive the excitation light from the excitation source [The light emitter 12 is configured to emit light, such as near infrared (NIR) laser light, that is generated by a light source, such as a laser (not shown). The light from the source can be provided to the light emitter 12 using a cable 18 that contains an optic waveguide (fiber-based or non-fiber-based) and one or more electrical wires, see in ¶ 0051], the light delivery element having a scalp side surface, a back surface opposite the scalp side surface, a plurality of side surfaces extending between the scalp side surface and the back surface [light emitter 12 has a back side opposite of the side facing the scalp, as well as a left and right side, as shown in Fig. 2A], wherein the scalp side surface is configured with a plurality of outwardly extending protruding elements [When the light emitter is placed against the head of the subject, the protruding fiber can reach the scalp surface through hair to establish direct contact with the scalp. The direct contact between the fiber and the scalp can help reduce energy loss associated with absorption by hair, thereby resulting in better delivery of light to the SSS, see in ¶ 0052; Examiner notes that protruding elements in the form of optical fibers can be interpreted as outwardly protruding towards the scalp], wherein the protruding elements are configured as light conduits [one optical fiber of the fiber optic waveguide may be configured to protrude distally through the housing, in order to minimize optical energy losses in the hair of the subject, see in ¶ 0052; fiber optic waveguide of the cable 18 comprises a plurality of optical fibers, see in ¶ 0053];
an ultrasound receiving mechanism [acoustic sensor 14, see in ¶ 0050; see also in ¶ 0058] configured to be disposed on an anterior region of the human head [see positioning in Fig. 2A], the mechanism including at least one ultrasonic receiver disposed to sense the at least one photoacoustically produced ultrasonic signal and produce a sensed signal representative of the photoacoustically produced ultrasonic signal [While the light emitter 12 and the acoustic sensor 14 may not be in direct alignment with each other, the ultrasound signals radiate in all directions within the brain and therefore can be adequately detected by the acoustic sensor, see in ¶ 0058]; and
a controller [processor 215, see in ¶ 0042] in communication with the excitation light source and the ultrasound receiving mechanism, and a memory storing instructions [program may comprise program instructions stored on a computer readable memory, see in ¶ 0080], the instructions when executed cause the controller to:
control the excitation light source to selectively produce the one or more wavelengths of excitation light [generate light pulses or modulated continuous wave light at one or more wavelengths, see in ¶ 0044; Light of one or more wavelengths, ¶ 0075]; and
measure an amount of the analyte present within the cerebral venous blood flow using the sensed signals produced by the at least one ultrasonic receiver, the sensed signals representative of the photoacoustically produced ultrasonic signals [The processor 215 can, for example, compute the venous oxygen saturation from the measured acoustic pressure, see in ¶ 0045].
Examiner notes that Esenaliev discloses that “one fiber may be aligned directly above the SSS, such that the SSS can be illuminated with high specificity while minimizing the influence of signals from non-SSS areas” in ¶ 0053, thereby providing at least for two different placement locations which are necessitating spacing the fibers apart. However, Esenaliev fails to clearly disclose that the plurality of protruding elements are spaced apart from one another. Esenaliev also fails to disclose wherein the light delivery element includes a fully reflective material attached to the plurality of side surfaces and to the back surface, and the light delivery element is configured such that the fully reflective material is disposed to reflect the excitation light multiple times internally within the light delivery element to produce a uniform distribution of the excitation light exiting the light delivery element through the plurality of protruding elements.
Chance teaches a configuration for optical coupling to a biological tissue via optical fibers and particularly discloses a plurality of protruding elements are spaced apart from one another for optical coupling a region covered by hair [see in Fig. 7a and 7 and the description thereof beginning in column 14, line 63].
Esenaliev and Chance are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of measuring analytes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Esenaliev, who recognize the use of protruding elements on body regions covered by hair, to incorporate the teachings of Chance and include that the plurality of protruding elements are spaced apart from one another in order to maximize the reach of light delivery.
Esenaliev, as modified, still fails to disclose wherein the light delivery element includes a fully reflective material attached to the plurality of side surfaces and to the back surface, and the light delivery element is configured such that the fully reflective material is disposed to reflect the excitation light multiple times internally within the light delivery element to produce a uniform distribution of the excitation light exiting the light delivery element through the plurality of protruding elements.
However, Huang discloses a fully reflective material attached to the plurality of side surfaces and to the back surface, and the light delivery element is configured such that the fully reflective material is disposed to reflect the excitation light multiple times internally within the light delivery element [each prism may contain two or more mirrors or mirrored surfaces and might be entirely reflective for the purpose of redirecting light, see in ¶ 0061 – ¶ 0062; the thin stepped prism portion 122 may be covered by a material 124 that is highly transmissive for wave propagation and may provide total internal reflection at each prism 90, see in ¶ 0065] to produce a uniform distribution of the excitation light exiting the light delivery element through the plurality of protruding elements [prisms 90, see in ¶ 0057 and Fig. 6; the amount of light reflected from each prism 90 within the stepped-prism light splitting structure 118 may be approximately uniform, see in ¶ 0065].
Esenaliev and Huang are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of photoacoustic sensors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Esenaliev to incorporate the teachings of Huang and include that the light delivery element includes a fully reflective material attached to the plurality of side surfaces and to the back surface, and the light delivery element is configured such that the fully reflective material is disposed to reflect the excitation light multiple times internally within the light delivery element in order to maximize even distritbution of excitation light. In addition, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Esenaliev to incorporate the teachings of Huang and include the intended function of producing a uniform distribution of the excitation light exiting the light delivery element through the plurality of protruding elements in order to provide greater energy yield.
Regarding claim 4, Esenaliev, as modified, discloses the system of claim 1.
Esenaliev fails to disclose that the light delivery element further includes a semi-reflective material attached to the scalp side surface, the semi-reflective material disposed to reflect less than all of the excitation light incident to the semi-reflective material internally within the light delivery element. However, Huang discloses that the light delivery element further includes a semi-reflective material attached to the scalp side surface, the semi-reflective material disposed to reflect less than all of the excitation light incident to the semi-reflective material internally within the light delivery element [see in ¶ 0061 – ¶ 0062; Examiner notes that when integrating the fully reflective prism, the exit surface must exhibit semi-reflective properties as well, as it can neither be fully reflective to allow for (parts of) the light to exit, nor can it be fully transparent, as it would show reflective properties solely depending on the material chosen for at least for certain angles of incidence].
Esenaliev and Huang are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of photoacoustic sensors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Esenaliev to incorporate the teachings of Huang and include that the light delivery element further includes a semi-reflective material attached to the scalp side surface, the semi-reflective material disposed to reflect less than all of the excitation light incident to the semi-reflective material internally within the light delivery element in order to allow light to pass through the material when needed.
Regarding claim 7, Esenaliev, as modified, discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the light delivery element has an incidence region that includes the plurality of protruding elements, wherein the incidence region is configured to permit alignment with at least a portion of a superior sagittal sinus, at least a portion of a transverse sinus, and at least a portion of the superior sagittal sinus [to target the SSS or the confluence of the sinuses, see in ¶ 0059; Examiner notes that light emitter 12 is located at confluence of sinuses, where the SSS and both sides of the transverse sinus meet (see in Fig. 2A), allowing the incidence region to permit alignment with both the at least a portion of the SSS and at least a portion of both sides of the transverse sinus].
Regarding claim 10, Esenaliev, as modified, discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a head apparatus configured to support the light delivery element and ultrasound receiving mechanism, the head apparatus configured to position the light delivery element on a posterior region of a human head, and configured to position at least a part of the ultrasound receiving mechanism on an anterior region of the human head, the light delivery element having an incidence region configured to permit alignment with at least a portion of a superior sagittal sinus, and at least a portion of a left transverse sinus or at least a portion of a right transverse sinus [see in Fig. 2A and 2B; see also in ¶ 0008 and ¶ 0050].
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esenaliev (US 20190142316 A1) in view of Chance (US 5987351 A) and Huang (US 20150265154 A1), further in view of Wang et al. (US 20110275890 A1), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 5, Esenaliev, as modified, discloses the system of claim 1.
Esenaliev fails to disclose that the back surface have a curvilinear shape configured to direct excitation light incident to the back surface internally within the light delivery element towards the protruding elements.
However, Wang discloses that the back surface have a curvilinear shape configured to direct excitation light incident to the back surface internally within the light delivery element towards the protruding elements [see in Fig. 4 and ¶ 0057].
Esenaliev and Wang are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of photoacoustics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Esenaliev to incorporate the teachings of Wang and included the back surface having a curvilinear shape configured to direct excitation light incident to the back surface internally within the light delivery element towards the protruding elements in order to further increase light yield.
Regarding claim 11, Esenaliev, as modified, discloses the system of claim 1.
Esenaliev fails to disclose that the light delivery element has a plurality of incidence subregions, the incidence subregions disposed to permit alignment with at least a portion of a superior sagittal sinus, and at least a portion of a transverse sinus, and wherein the instructions when executed cause the controller to direct the excitation light to select ones of the plurality of incidence subregions. Examiner notes that Esenaliev does disclose light delivery alignment with at least a portion of a superior sagittal sinus and at least a portion of a transverse sinus [to target the SSS or the confluence of the sinuses, see in ¶ 0059].
However, Wang discloses a light delivery element that has a plurality of incidence subregions, the incidence subregions disposed to permit alignment with at least a portion of a superior sagittal sinus, and at least a portion of a transverse sinus, and wherein the instructions when executed cause the controller to direct the excitation light to select ones of the plurality of incidence subregions [the step of directing the excitation light to said posterior region of said human head using said light delivery element, includes directing the excitation light to said posterior region in a substantially uniform distribution of light intensity, see in ¶ 0047].
Esenaliev and Wang are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of photoacoustics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Esenaliev to incorporate the teachings of Wang and included that the light delivery element has a plurality of incidence subregions, the incidence subregions disposed to permit alignment with at least a portion of a superior sagittal sinus, and at least a portion of a transverse sinus, and wherein the instructions when executed cause the controller to direct the excitation light to select ones of the plurality of incidence subregions in order to selectively deliver excitation light to desired locations, in cases of anatomical differences of various patients.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esenaliev (US 20190142316 A1) in view of Chance (US 5987351 A) and Huang (US 20150265154 A1), further in view of Schmidt et al. (DE 102005036147 A1), hereinafter Schmidt.
Regarding claim 6, Esenaliev, as modified, discloses the system of claim 1.
Esenaliev fails to disclose that the light delivery element includes a diffusive reflector disposed proximate the back surface, the diffusive reflector configured to reflect excitation incident to the diffusive reflector internally within the light delivery element towards the protruding elements in a uniform distribution.
However, Schmidt discloses the light delivery element includes a diffusive reflector disposed proximate the back surface, the diffusive reflector configured to reflect excitation incident to the diffusive reflector internally within the light delivery element towards the protruding elements in a uniform distribution [The white LEDs first radiate against a diffuse reflector device, which effects a beam homogenization and then directs the excitation light onto the measurement area, see in ¶ 0012 and Fig. 1].
Esenaliev and Schmidt are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of optical measurements at the head. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Esenaliev to incorporate the teachings of Schmidt and include that there is a diffusive reflector configured to reflect excitation incident to the diffusive reflector internally within the light delivery element towards the protruding elements in a uniform distribution to ensure that the emitted light is distributed homogenously.
Claim 12, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esenaliev (US 20190142316 A1) in view of Huang (US 20150265154 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Esenaliev discloses a method for measuring one or more analytes within cerebral venous blood flow of a subject [see in ¶ 0012], comprising:
using an excitation light source [light emitter 12, see in ¶ 0050] to produce one or more wavelengths of excitation light [generate light pulses or modulated continuous wave light at one or more wavelengths, see in ¶ 0044; Light of one or more wavelengths, ¶ 0075], the one or more wavelengths of excitation light operable to cause an analyte present within venous blood flow to photoacoustically produce at least one ultrasonic signal [venous oxygen saturation from the measured acoustic pressure, see in ¶ 0045; While the light emitter 12 and the acoustic sensor 14 may not be in direct alignment with each other, the ultrasound signals radiate in all directions within the brain and therefore can be adequately detected by the acoustic sensor, see in ¶ 0058];
directing the excitation light to a posterior region of a human head [see position in Fig. 2A] using a light delivery element [The light from the source can be provided to the light emitter 12 using a cable 18 that contains an optic waveguide (fiber-based or non-fiber-based), see in ¶ 0051], the excitation light oriented to be incident to at least a portion of a superior sagittal sinus of the subject, at least a portion of a left transverse sinus, or at least a portion of a right transverse sinus of the subject [the light can be emitted toward a superior sagittal sinus of the infant's head, see in ¶ 0008];
wherein the light delivery element comprising a scalp side surface, a back surface opposite the scalp side surface, a plurality of side surfaces extending between the scalp side surface and the back surface [light emitter 12 has a back side opposite of the side facing the scalp, as well as a left and right side, as shown in Fig. 2A], wherein the scalp side surface is configured with a plurality of outwardly extending protruding elements [When the light emitter is placed against the head of the subject, the protruding fiber can reach the scalp surface through hair to establish direct contact with the scalp. The direct contact between the fiber and the scalp can help reduce energy loss associated with absorption by hair, thereby resulting in better delivery of light to the SSS, see in ¶ 0052; Examiner notes that protruding elements in the form of optical fibers can be interpreted as outwardly protruding towards the scalp]
using an ultrasound receiving mechanism [acoustic sensor 14, see in ¶ 0050; see also in ¶ 0058] to sense ultrasonic signals from an anterior tissue region of the subject [see positioning in Fig. 2A], and to produce sensed signals representative of the sensed ultrasonic signals [While the light emitter 12 and the acoustic sensor 14 may not be in direct alignment with each other, the ultrasound signals radiate in all directions within the brain and therefore can be adequately detected by the acoustic sensor, see in ¶ 0058]; and
using a controller [processor 215, see in ¶ 0042] in communication with the excitation light source and the ultrasound receiving mechanism [see in ¶ 0042] to measure an amount of the analyte present within the at least a portion of the superior sagittal sinus of the subject, the at least said portion of said left transverse sinus, or the at least said portion of said right transverse sinus of the subject using the sensed signals produced by the ultrasound receiving mechanism [The processor 215 can, for example, compute the venous oxygen saturation from the measured acoustic pressure, see in ¶ 0045; see also ¶ 0008].
Esenaliev fails to disclose wherein a fully reflective material is attached to the plurality of side surfaces and to the back surface, and the light delivery element is configured such that the fully reflective material is disposed to reflect the excitation light multiple times internally within the light delivery element to produce a uniform distribution of the excitation light exiting the light delivery element through the plurality of protruding elements.
However, Huang discloses a fully reflective material attached to the plurality of side surfaces and to the back surface, and the light delivery element is configured such that the fully reflective material is disposed to reflect the excitation light multiple times internally within the light delivery element [each prism may contain two or more mirrors or mirrored surfaces and might be entirely reflective for the purpose of redirecting light, see in ¶ 0061 – ¶ 0062; the thin stepped prism portion 122 may be covered by a material 124 that is highly transmissive for wave propagation and may provide total internal reflection at each prism 90, see in ¶ 0065] to produce a uniform distribution of the excitation light exiting the light delivery element through the plurality of protruding elements [prisms 90, see in ¶ 0057 and Fig. 6; the amount of light reflected from each prism 90 within the stepped-prism light splitting structure 118 may be approximately uniform, see in ¶ 0065].
Esenaliev and Huang are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of photoacoustic sensors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Esenaliev to incorporate the teachings of Huang and include that the light delivery element includes a fully reflective material attached to the plurality of side surfaces and to the back surface, and the light delivery element is configured such that the fully reflective material is disposed to reflect the excitation light multiple times internally within the light delivery element in order to maximize even distritbution of excitation light. In addition, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Esenaliev to incorporate the teachings of Huang and include the intended function of producing a uniform distribution of the excitation light exiting the light delivery element through the plurality of protruding elements in order to provide greater energy yield.
Regarding claim 13, Esenaliev, as modified, discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the step of directing the excitation light to the posterior region of the human head, includes directing at least a portion of the excitation light to be incident to the at least said portion of the superior sagittal sinus of the subject, the at least said portion of said left transverse sinus, and the at least said portion of said right transverse sinus in a manner that creates an acoustic aperture directed substantially toward the ultrasonic receiving mechanism [Examiner notes that one fiber may be aligned directly above the SSS, such that the SSS can be illuminated, see in ¶ 0053, thereby creating acoustic aperture above the superior sagittal sinus; Examiner further notes that light emitter 12 is located at confluence of sinuses, where the SSS and both sides of the transverse sinus meet (see in Fig. 2A), allowing the incidence region to permit alignment with both the at least a portion of the SSS and at least a portion of both sides of the transverse sinus. The optical fiber is aligned at the same location of the light emitter 12, therefore allowing for an acoustic aperture to align at a location that above a region covering the SSS and both sides of the transverse sinus].
Regarding claim 20, Esenaliev, as modified, discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the step of using said controller to measure said amount of said analyte includes using the sensed signals to identify at least one of the superior sagittal sinus, the left transverse sinus, or the right transverse sinus [see in ¶ 0041].
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esenaliev (US 20190142316 A1) in view of Duval (US 11576579 B2).
Regarding claim 17, Esenaliev, as modified, discloses the method of claim 12.
Esenaliev fails to disclose that the step of using said controller to measure said amount of said analyte includes determining a signal to noise ratio (SNR) for each of a plurality of channels.
However, Duval discloses a step of determining a signal to noise ratio (SNR) for a plurality of channels used [Upon determining the which channel pair shows the best score having the highest SNR and lowest current draw, the controller can select a particular channel pair at 1206, see in Col. 12, lines 9-12].
Esenaliev and Duval are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of multichannel optical medical sensors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Esenaliev to incorporate the teachings of Duval and include that the step of using said controller to measure said amount of said analyte includes determining a signal to noise ratio (SNR) for each of a plurality of channels, in order to maintain and monitor quality and performance of the channels.
Regarding claim 18, Esenaliev, as modified, discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the step of using said controller to measure said amount of said analyte includes measuring said amount of said analyte with said sensed signals from less than all of said channels [In some embodiments, the fiber optic waveguide of the cable 18 comprises a plurality of optical fibers, wherein each of the plurality of fibers is irradiated sequentially. For example, one fiber may be aligned directly above the SSS, such that the SSS can be illuminated with high specificity while minimizing the influence of signals from non-SSS areas., see in ¶ 0053].
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esenaliev (US 20190142316 A1) in view of Duval (US 11576579 B2), further in view of Schmid et al. (US 9733119 B2), hereinafter Schmid.
Regarding claim 19, Esenaliev, as modified, discloses the method of claim 17.
Esenaliev fails to disclose that the step of using said controller to measure said amount of said analyte includes determining a time delay of the sensed signals between the respective channels.
However, Schmid discloses the step of determining a time delay of the sensed signals between the respective channels [The time delays are calculated for each transducer and each pixel by knowing the distance between pixel and transducer and the speed of sound. If an acoustic matching layer with different speed of sound is used, then separate time delays are calculated inside and outside of the matching layer and added together, resulting in the overall transducer-pixel delay, see in Col. 34, lines 12-14].
Esenaliev and Schmid are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of optoacoustic systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Esenaliev to incorporate the teachings of Zalev and include the step of determining a time delay of the sensed signals between the respective channels for signal quality control and tuning purposes.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HY KHANH DOAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /TSE CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791