DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments on 08/21/25 have been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-16, and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection as necessitated by claim amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al. (US 20150277125) in view of Munakata et al. (US 20170017096).
Regarding claim 1, Hirano teaches a head-mounted display (fig. 6, ¶2, head mounted display (HMD)), comprising, a frame (support member 161 attached to frame 10); a light projector (image forming unit 111) coupled to the frame (fig. 1 and ¶185 to ¶188; ¶185 an image display device 100, 200, 300, or 400 attached to the frame 10. In this example, the display apparatus in Example 1 and others is specifically of a binocular type including two image display devices, but may be a monocular type including one image display device. An image forming unit 111 or 211 offers image display in a color, e.g., green.); a waveguide (light guide plate 121) configured to direct images from the light projector (111) to a user’s eye (viewer’s eye 20; light guide plate 121 shown in fig. 1-6 and ¶191-¶203, ¶231-¶235). Hirano does not specifically teach at least one flexure element coupled to the frame and physically supporting the waveguide in the frame, the at least one flexure element including at least two flexible arms i) extending away from a coupling point that secures the flexure element to the frame and ii) configured to flex to exert inward pressure on the waveguide. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Munakata teaches an eyewear (fig. 1-5) comprising, at least one flexure element (clipping arms 7a) coupled to the frame (frames shown in fig. 5) and physically supporting the waveguide (lens shown in fig. 1-5) in the frame (frames shown in fig. 5), the at least one flexure element (7a) including at least two flexible arms (7a and 7b) i) extending away from a coupling point (area that couples the 7a and 7b to brow bar) that secures the flexure element (7a and 7b) to the frame (frame shown in fig. 1-5) and ii) configured to flex to exert inward pressure on the waveguide (abstract, the lower left and right hooking parts 5a and 5b, as an extension of the clipping arms 7a and 7b, exercise their elastic force towards the opposite sides, thus moving away from each other). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide display of Hirano with at least one flexure element coupled to the frame and physically supporting the waveguide in the frame, the at least one flexure element including at least two flexible arms i) extending away from a coupling point that secures the flexure element to the frame and ii) configured to flex to exert inward pressure on the waveguide of Munakata, for the purpose of making the lens interchangeable (¶25).
Regarding claim 2, Hirano in view of Munakata teaches the invention as set forth above and Hirano further teaches the at least one flexure element (162) abuts against an outer peripheral edge of the waveguide (121, shown in fig. 5) to physically support the waveguide in the frame (161 attached to frame 10, ¶185).
Regarding claim 3, Hirano in view of Munakata teaches the invention as set forth above and Hirano further teaches each flexure element (162) of the at least one flexure element (162) comprises a flexible material (¶196, buffer member is made of resin, and is specifically made of epoxy resin, modified silicone resin, epoxy modified silicone resin, urethane resin) configured to apply an inward biasing force (shown in fig. 5) against the waveguide (121).
Regarding claim 4, Hirano in view of Munakata teaches the invention as set forth above and Hirano further teaches the waveguide (121) is at least partially transparent to visible light to enable the user to view a real-world environment (¶198, light guide unit 120 is semi-transmissive (see-through type)) through the waveguide (121; ¶85, the material for the light guide plate is specifically exemplified by a transparent glass substrate including soda lime glass and super white glass, an optical glass including quartz glass and BK7, a plastic substrate, a plastic sheet and plastic film.).
Regarding claim 5, Hirano in view of Munakata teaches the invention as set forth above and Hirano further teaches the waveguide (121) is separated from the light projector (111) by a gap (shown in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Hirano in view of Munakata teaches the invention as set forth above and Hirano further teaches the at least one flexure element (162) comprises at least three flexure elements (shown in fig. 5D there are five buffer member 162) .
Regarding claim 7, Hirano in view of Munakata teaches the invention as set forth above and Hirano further teaches the light projector (111) comprises at least three subprojectors (¶100, light-emitting element for the light source includes, red, green, blue, and white light emitting elements. Alternatively, the light emitted from these red, green, and blue light emitting elements, i.e., red, green, and blue light, may be mixed and made uniform in luminance using a light bulb to obtain white light, note: each light emitting element is a subprojector, for example the red light emitting element is one subprojector, the green light emitting element is second subprojector, and the blue light emitting element is third subprojector), wherein each of the three subprojectors (red, green, blue light emitting element) is configured to emit light of a different wavelength (¶100,emits the wavelength of red, green, and blue).
Regarding claim 9, Hirano in view of Munakata teaches the invention as set forth above and Hirano further teaches the waveguide (121) comprises at least one fiducial mark (¶201, the light guide plate 121 is partially cut out to obtain a sloped surface, i.e., cut-out portion 124, and the resulting sloped surface is provided thereon with a light reflection film, i.e., first deflection section 130 by vapor deposition, note: the light reflection film angle shows the optical location and orientation of the waveguide) to facilitate optical location and orientation sensing of the waveguide (121) when assembling the waveguide (121) to the frame (161 attached to frame 10).
Regarding claim 12, Hirano in view of Munakata teaches the invention as set forth above and Hirano further teaches the frame comprises an eyeglasses frame (shown in fig. 6 and 7, shows an eyeglass frame).
Regarding claim 13, Hirano teaches an optical assembly (fig. 6, ¶2, head mounted display (HMD)), comprising, a light projector (image forming unit 111) configured to project an image for display to a user (viewer’s eye 20; light guide plate 121 shown in fig. 1-6 and ¶191-¶203, ¶231-¶235), the light projector (111) coupled to a frame (fig. 1 and ¶185 to ¶188; ¶185 an image display device 100, 200, 300, or 400 attached to the frame 10. In this example, the display apparatus in Example 1 and others is specifically of a binocular type including two image display devices, but may be a monocular type including one image display device. An image forming unit 111 or 211 offers image display in a color, e.g., green.); and a waveguide (121) held laterally in place relative to the frame (161 attached to frame 10, shown in fig. 6) and to the light projector (111) by at least two flexure elements (buffer member 162 in ¶195 and ¶196, shown in fig. 5C) secured to the frame (161 attached to frame 10). Hirano does not specifically teach each of the at least two flexure elements, including at least two flexible arms i) extending away from a coupling point that secures a flexure element to the frame and ii) configured to flex to exert inward pressure on the waveguide, and applying a holding force against a peripheral edge of the waveguide. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Munakata teaches an optical assembly, comprising
each of the at least two flexure elements (7a and 7b), including at least two flexible arms (7a and 7b) i) extending away from a coupling point (area that couples the 7a and 7b to brow bar) that secures a flexure element (7a and 7b) to the frame (frame shown in fig. 1-5) and ii) configured to flex to exert inward pressure on the waveguide (abstract, the lower left and right hooking parts 5a and 5b, as an extension of the clipping arms 7a and 7b, exercise their elastic force towards the opposite sides, thus moving away from each other), and applying a holding force against a peripheral edge of the waveguide (shown in fig. 1-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the assembly of Hirano with each of the at least two flexure elements, including at least two flexible arms i) extending away from a coupling point that secures a flexure element to the frame and ii) configured to flex to exert inward pressure on the waveguide, and applying a holding force against a peripheral edge of the waveguide of Munakata, for the purpose of making the lens interchangeable (¶25).
Regarding claim 14, Hirano in view of Munakata teaches the optical assembly (fig. 5D) of claim 13, wherein the at least two flexure elements (162) comprise at least three flexure elements (shown in fig. 5D there are five buffer member 162) each secured to the frame (161 attached to frame 10, ¶185) and applying the holding force against the peripheral edge of the waveguide (121, shown in fig. 5).
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al. (US 20150277125) in view of Munakata et al. (US 20170017096) as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Woltman et al. (US 20170160548).
Regarding claim 8, Hirano in view of Munakata teaches the invention as set forth above but does not specifically teach the waveguide comprises at least one input grating positioned adjacent to the light projector, wherein the at least one input grating is configured to enable light from the light projector to enter into the waveguide. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Woltman teaches the head-mounted display (fig. 1 and 2), wherein the waveguide (waveguide 100) comprises at least one input grating (input-coupler 112 and ¶24, input-coupler 112 can be transmissive (e.g., a transmission grating)) positioned adjacent to the light projector (¶35, display engine 204 that generates an image), wherein the at least one input grating (112 and ¶24) is configured to enable light from the light projector (204) to enter into the waveguide (100 and ¶35, light travel through the waveguide 100, from the input-coupler 112 to the output-coupler 114 by wave of TIR). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the head-mounted display of Hirano in view of Munakata with the waveguide comprises at least one input grating positioned adjacent to the light projector, wherein the at least one input grating is configured to enable light from the light projector to enter into the waveguide of Woltman, for the purpose of generating an image to the user (¶35).
Regarding claim 15, Hirano in view of Munakata teaches the invention as set forth above and Hirano further teaches the waveguide (121) comprises at least one input (shown in fig. 1 where the image projector 111 light travel into the waveguide 121) optically aligned with at least one respective subprojector (¶100, light-emitting element for the light source includes, red, green, blue, and white light emitting elements. Alternatively, the light emitted from these red, green, and blue light emitting elements, i.e., red, green, and blue light, may be mixed and made uniform in luminance using a light bulb to obtain white light, note: each light emitting element is a subprojector, for example the red light emitting element is one subprojector, the green light emitting element is second subprojector, and the blue light emitting element is third subprojector), wherein each of the three subprojectors (red, green, blue light emitting element) is configured to emit light of a different wavelength (¶100,emits the wavelength of red, green, and blue) of the light projector (111). Hirano does not specifically teach an input grating. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Woltman teaches the optical assembly (fig. 1 and 2), wherein the waveguide (waveguide 100) comprises at least one input grating (input-coupler 112 and ¶24, input-coupler 112 can be transmissive (e.g., a transmission grating)) positioned adjacent to the light projector (¶35, display engine 204 that generates an image), wherein the at least one input grating (112 and ¶24) is configured to enable light from the light projector (204) to enter into the waveguide (100 and ¶35, light travel through the waveguide 100, from the input-coupler 112 to the output-coupler 114 by wave of TIR). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the optical assembly of Hirano in view of Munakata with an input grating of Woltman, for the purpose of generating an image to the user (¶35).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al. (US 20150277125) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Munakata et al. (US 20170017096)
Regarding claim 10, Hirano teaches the invention as set forth above. Hirano (fig. 1) however, lacks a clear disclosure of the waveguide is further supported in the frame by an adhesive material. However, in another embodiment, Hirano teaches the head-mounted display (fig. 13, wherein the waveguide (121) is further supported in the frame (161 attached to frame 10) by an adhesive material (¶10, the fixing member being provided around the light guide plate to fix the light guide plate to the support member and ¶80, the fixing member may be an adhesive layer). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head mounted display of Hirano in view of Munakata, to have the waveguide be further supported in the frame by an adhesive material as taught by another embodiment of Hirano, for the purpose of fixing the light guide plate to the support member(¶193).
Regarding claim 11, Hirano in view of Munakata teaches the invention as set forth above and Hirano further teaches the adhesive material (¶10, the fixing member being provided around the light guide plate to fix the light guide plate to the support member and ¶80, the fixing member may be an adhesive layer) is positioned between the waveguide (121) and the frame (161 attached to frame 10), in at least three distinct locations (as shown in fig. 13 as fixing member 172). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 10.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al. (US 20150277125) in view of Munakata et al. (US 20170017096) and Woltman et al. (US 20170160548) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Wall et al. (US 20170235142).
Regarding claim 16, Hirano in view of Munakata and Woltman teaches the invention as set forth above but does not specifically teach the waveguide comprises three input gratings optically aligned with three respective subprojectors of the light projector, wherein each of the three subprojectors is configured to project light of a different wavelength. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Wall teaches the optical assembly (fig. 2), wherein the waveguide (100B, 100G, 100R) comprises three input gratings (input coupler 112B, 112G, 112R and ¶23 the input-coupler 112 can be transmissive (e.g., a transmission grating)) optically aligned with three respective subprojectors (¶23, the light source assembly can include, 3.g., red, green and/or blue light emitting elements) of the light projector (display engine 204), wherein each of the three subprojectors (¶23, the light source assembly can include, 3.g., red, green and/or blue light emitting elements) is configured to project light of a different wavelength ((¶23, the light source assembly can include, 3.g., red, green and/or blue light emitting elements, note: the different color represent the different wavelengths). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the optical assembly of Hirano in view of Munakata and Woltman with the waveguide comprises three input gratings optically aligned with three respective subprojectors of the light projector, wherein each of the three subprojectors is configured to project light of a different wavelength of Wall, for the purpose of generating an image to the user (¶35).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al. (US 20150277125) in view of Munakata et al. (US 20170017096) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Topliss et al. (US 20100283887).
Regarding claim 17, Hirano in view of Munakata teaches the invention as set forth above but does not specifically teach each of the flexure elements comprises two flexible arms extending away from a coupling point that secures the flexure element to the frame. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Topliss teaches the optical assembly (fig. 6), wherein each of the flexure elements (biassing element 23 with two arms 25) comprises two flexible arms (two arms 25) extending away from a coupling (mount 24) point that secures the flexure element (23 and 25) to the frame (attached to the plate (frame) as shown in fig. 6 and 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the optical assembly of Hirano in view of Munakata with each of the flexure elements comprises two flexible arms extending away from a coupling point that secures the flexure element to the frame of Topliss, for the purpose of ensuring the lens element stay in place (¶61 and ¶62).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al. (US 20150277125) in view of Munakata et al. (US 20170017096) and Woltman et al. (US 20170160548).
Regarding claim 18, Hirano teaches a method of assembling a head-mounted display (fig. 6, ¶2, head mounted display (HMD)), the method comprising, mounting a waveguide (light guide plate 121) to a frame (fig. 1 and ¶185 to ¶188; ¶185 an image display device 100, 200, 300, or 400 attached to the frame 10. In this example, the display apparatus in Example 1 and others is specifically of a binocular type including two image display devices, but may be a monocular type including one image display device. An image forming unit 111 or 211 offers image display in a color, e.g., green.); with at least one flexure element (buffer member 162 in ¶195 and ¶196, shown in fig. 1 to 5) coupled to the frame (161 attached to frame 10); laterally moving the waveguide relative to the frame to align at least one input (shown in fig. 1 where the image projector 111 light travel into the waveguide 121) of the waveguide (121) with a light projector (111) coupled to the frame (161 attached to frame 10, shown in fig. 6); and fixing the waveguide (121) to the frame (161 attach to frame 10) in position with the at least one input (shown in fig. 1 where the image projector 111 light travel into the waveguide 121) aligned with the light projector (111). Hirano does not specifically teach the at least one flexure element including at least two flexible arms i) extending away from a coupling point that secures the flexure element to the frame and ii) configured to flex to exert inward pressure on the waveguide. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Munakata teaches the method, comprising the at least one flexure element including at least two flexible arms (7a and 7b) i) extending away from a coupling point (area that couples the 7a and 7b to brow bar) that secures the flexure element (7a and 7b) to the frame (frame shown in fig. 5) and ii) configured to flex to exert inward pressure on the waveguide (abstract, the lower left and right hooking parts 5a and 5b, as an extension of the clipping arms 7a and 7b, exercise their elastic force towards the opposite sides, thus moving away from each other). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide method of Hirano with the at least one flexure element including at least two flexible arms i) extending away from a coupling point that secures the flexure element to the frame and ii) configured to flex to exert inward pressure on the waveguide of Munakata, for the purpose of making the lens interchangeable (¶25). Hirano in view of Munakata does not specifically teach laterally moving the waveguide relative to the frame to align at least one input grating of the waveguide with a light projector coupled to the frame; and fixing the waveguide to the frame in position with the at least one input grating aligned with the light projector. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Woltman teaches the method, comprising, laterally moving the waveguide (waveguide 100) relative to the frame (¶40, frame) to align at least one input grating (input-coupler 112 and ¶24, input-coupler 112 can be transmissive (e.g., a transmission grating)) of the waveguide (100) with a light projector (¶35, display engine 204 that generates an image) coupled to the frame (¶40, frame); and fixing the waveguide (100) to the frame (¶40, frame) in position with the at least one input grating (input-coupler 112 and ¶24, input-coupler 112 can be transmissive (e.g., a transmission grating)) aligned with the light projector (shown in fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the method of Hirano in view of Munakata with laterally moving the waveguide relative to the frame to align at least one input grating of the waveguide with a light projector coupled to the frame; and fixing the waveguide to the frame in position with the at least one input grating aligned with the light projector of Woltman, for the purpose of generating an image to the user (¶35).
Regarding claim 19, Hirano in view of Munakata and Woltman teaches the invention as set forth above and Hirano further teaches optically determining the position and orientation (¶201, the light guide plate 121 is partially cut out to obtain a sloped surface, i.e., cut-out portion 124, and the resulting sloped surface is provided thereon with a light reflection film, i.e., first deflection section 130 by vapor deposition, note: the light reflection film angle shows the optical location and orientation of the waveguide) of the waveguide (121) relative to the frame (161 attached to frame 10) prior to fixing the waveguide (121) to the frame (161 attached to frame 10).
Regarding claim 20, Hirano in view of Munakata and Woltman teaches the invention as set forth above and Hirano further teaches the lateral movement of the waveguide (121, since the material use to make the flexure is flexible, it would allow the movement of the waveguide to flex) flexes the at least one flexure element (¶196, buffer member is made of resin, and is specifically made of epoxy resin, modified silicone resin, epoxy modified silicone resin, urethane resin).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HENRY DUONG/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872 10/18/25