DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of claims
Claims 1, 2,4,10,11,12,13,15,20 are amended.
Claims 8 and 19 are canceled.
Claims 21-22 are new claims.
Claims 1-7,9-18,20-22 are pending.
Response to arguments
Applicant’s amendments are entered. Applicant’s remarks are also entered into
the record. A new search was made necessitated by the applicant’s amendments
and remarks. A new reference was found. A new rejection is made herein.
Applicant’s arguments are now moot in view of the new rejection of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5,9-16 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20130103313A1 to Moore et al. (herein after “Moore”) in view of US20210237727 A1 to Ishibashi et al. (herein after “Ishibashi”).
Regarding claim 1, Moore teaches A method, comprising: receiving, using a first processor, a request to navigate from an initial location to a goal location responsive to an input provided via a graphical user interface; (See Moore at least para[0084] Navigation module 1238 may at least function to calculate navigation routes based on at least a starting point and destination point (e.g., starting point 107 and destination point 109 of FIG. 1, claim 1 calculate a plurality of routes extending from a starting point to a destination point;)
generating, with the first processor, a plurality of candidate paths based on the goal location from an autonomous vehicle, wherein the at least one first processor is remote from the autonomous vehicle (See Moore para[0074] Attention is now directed towards embodiments of a system architecture that may be embodied within any portable or non-portable device including but not limited to a communication device (e.g. mobile phone, smart phone), a multi-media device (e.g., MP3 player, TV, radio), a portable or handheld computer (e.g., tablet, netbook, laptop), a desktop computer, an All-In-One desktop, a peripheral device, or any other system or device adaptable to the inclusion of system architecture 1200)
generating, using the first processor, a candidate path from first location to second location, wherein the generating the candidate path comprises optimizing at least one cost and at least one constraint associated with the candidate path; (figure 1, see Moore para[0048] For example, in addition to the distance and estimated travel time, a navigation tile may also include information regarding the cost of tolls along the route and traffic status with traffic pictorials 360, 361, and 362., para[0006] User preferences may indicate that a user would like to avoid toll roads, avoid traffic, minimize travel distance, minimize travel time, take a scenic route, etc)
However, Moore does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach second processor which is mounted on the vehicle received candidate path from the first processor(remote from the vehicle) to determine the candidate path is acceptable candidate path that complies with a risk classification scheme. Nevertheless, Ishibashi same field of endeavor teaches receiving, using a second processor, the candidate path from the first processor, wherein the second processor is onboard the autonomous vehicle; (See Ishibashi para[0029] The judgment processing IC unit 30 receives the route candidate data output from the recognition processing IC unit 20, and determines a cruise route of the motor vehicle based on the route candidate data)
generating, using the second processor, a route plan based on the candidate path, wherein generating a route comprises determining, using the second processor, that the candidate path is an acceptable candidate path; (See Ishibashi abstract an IC unit for performing judgment processing for cruise control of the vehicle, );
generating, using the second processor, an output, wherein generating the output comprises determining, using the second processor, that the route complies with a risk classification scheme (See Ishibashi para[0012] performing judgment processing for cruise control of the vehicle, using ASIL-D function) and
navigating, using the second processor, the autonomous vehicle from the initial location to the goal location based on the route. (See Ishibashi abstract an IC unit for performing judgment processing for cruise control of the vehicle)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Moore’s device and method of comparing and selecting alternative navigation route with Ishibashi’s judgment processing for cruise control of the vehicle complies with a risk classification scheme in order to allow to increase the operational reliability of the vehicle control device (see Ishibashi para[0010]).
Regarding claim 2, Moore and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 1. Moore teaches wherein generating the plurality of candidate paths comprises: generating the plurality of candidate paths based on one or more visualization modes, each visualization mode providing a representation of a trajectory from the first location to the [[goal]] second location (See Moore para[0059] In step 805, navigation tiles can be displayed on a screen with the pictorial representation of a navigation route and details about the route.), or
generating the plurality of candidate paths based on a plurality of previously generated candidate paths within a predetermined radius of the first location and/or the goal location. (See Moore Figure 1, para[0029] FIG. 1 shows an illustrative screen shot of map 100 with several alternative routes displayed simultaneously in accordance with various embodiments.).
Regarding claim 3, Moore and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 1. Moore teaches wherein the one or more visualization modes include a lane graph view, an intersection view, or a wireframe view. (See Moore para[0032] The route callouts in map 100 only display the names given to each route, but can, according to some embodiments, display more information, including distance and estimated travel time for the corresponding route. The amount of information displayed in a callout may be adjusted by the user. , figure 3).
Regarding claim 4, Moore and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 1. Moore teaches wherein generating the plurality of candidate paths based on the plurality of previously generated candidate within the predetermined radius of the first location and/or the goal location further comprises generating the plurality of candidate paths based on at least one of blockages associated with the plurality of previously generated candidate paths, waypoints associated with the plurality of previously generated candidate paths, trajectory acceptance rates associated with the plurality of previously generated candidate paths, or an environment associated with the plurality of previously generated candidate paths. (See Moore para[0035] Sidebar 140 can provide the user with relevant, context-appropriate information in a manner that does not affect the readability of map 100. Sidebar 140 is located discretely on the side of the display and shows key information regarding five calculated routes that may allow a user to determine which route is best;, figure 1)
Regarding claim 5, Moore and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 1. Moore teaches wherein the at least one cost and/or the at least one constraint associated with each corresponding candidate path is provided via the graphical user interface using a shade of a color. (See Moore para[0031] For example, each route may be highlighted in a different color. Roads displayed on map 100 that are not along any of the calculated routes may be displayed in a more discrete color and/or in thinner lines than roads that are along one or more routes,[0034] para[0034] Calculated routes can be prioritized based on a set of user preferences. For example, the user preferences may indicate that a user would like to avoid toll roads, avoid traffic, minimize travel distance, minimize travel time, take a scenic route, travel on a particular road, or stop at a POI en route, figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Moore and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 1. Moore teaches wherein the graphical user interface provides a visual representation of features present in an environment in which the vehicle is located, the visual representation including features located within a predetermined distance from each candidate path. (See Moore figure 1, para[0036] Context-appropriate menu 142 can be accessed to perform various functions that are relevant to the currently displayed screen. While the device is in route-selection mode (i.e., as displayed on map 100) menu 142 may provide options to enter a list mode (discussed in detail below with respect to FIG. 3), hide the sidebar, show traffic, show POIs, and show terrain. If a user decides to show terrain, the roads and highlighted routes may be altered such that they remain easily visible and distinguishable. Menu 142 may be accessed in any suitable manner, including but not limited to tapping and holding the touch-screen display.).
Regarding claim 10, Moore and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 1. Moore teaches wherein each candidate path provided in the graphical user interface includes a plurality of editable waypoints located along [[the]] a_trajectory and between the starting first location and the [[goal]] second location. (see Moore para[0044] The POI section of sidebar 240 indicates that the user has chosen to display gas stations along the route. Icons 220 and 222 represent two gas stations that are currently visible on map 200. Icon 220 is highlighted, indicating that the user selected it (e.g., by tapping it). Selecting icon 220 can, according to some embodiments, result in the display of context-appropriate menu 242. Menu 242 can allow the user to set the location of icon 220 as either the new destination or add the location as a waypoint on the way to the original destination point (i.e., destination point 109 of FIG. 1)., figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, Moore and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 1. Moore teaches wherein the input is provided via the graphical user interface (see Moore para[0072] a graphical user interface (GUI).) responsive to a request for remote vehicle assistance (see claim 24 provide navigation assistance along one of the plurality of navigational routes) provided by the vehicle at the starting initial location. (See Moore para[0074] any portable or non-portable device including but not limited to a communication device (e.g. mobile phone, smart phone), a multi-media device (e.g., MP3 player, TV, radio), a portable or handheld computer (e.g., tablet, netbook, laptop), a desktop computer, an All-In-One desktop, a peripheral device, or any other system or device adaptable to the system architecture 1200 which include navigation module 1238)
Regarding claim 12, Moore teaches A system comprising: at least one non-transitory storage media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the processors to: (see Moore para[0077] Peripherals interface 1216 couples the input and output peripherals of the system to processor 1218 and computer-readable medium 1201. One or more processors 1218 communicate with one or more computer-readable mediums 1201 via controller 1220. Computer-readable medium 1201 can be any device or medium that can store code and/or data for use by one or more processors 1218. )
receive using a first processor, a request to navigate from an initial location to a goal location responsive to an input provided via a graphical user interface; (See Moore at least para[0084] Navigation module 1238 may at least function to calculate navigation routes based on at least a starting point and destination point (e.g., starting point 107 and destination point 109 of FIG. 1, claim 1 calculate a plurality of routes extending from a starting point to a destination point;)
generate, using the first processor, a plurality of candidate paths based on the goal location from an autonomous vehicle, wherein the first processor is remote from the autonomous vehicle; (See Moore para[0074] any portable or non-portable device including but not limited to a communication device (e.g. mobile phone, smart phone), a multi-media device (e.g., MP3 player, TV, radio), a portable or handheld computer (e.g., tablet, netbook, laptop), a desktop computer, an All-In-One desktop, a peripheral device, or any other system or device adaptable to the system architecture 1200 which include navigation module 1238)
generate, using the first processor, a candidate path from first location to second location, wherein the generating the candidate path comprises optimizing at least one cost and at least one constraint associated with the candidate path; (figure 1, see Moore para[0048] For example, in addition to the distance and estimated travel time, a navigation tile may also include information regarding the cost of tolls along the route and traffic status with traffic pictorials 360, 361, and 362., para[0006] User preferences may indicate that a user would like to avoid toll roads, avoid traffic, minimize travel distance, minimize travel time, take a scenic route, etc)
However, Moore does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach second processor which is mounted on the vehicle received candidate path from the first processor(remote from the vehicle) to determine the candidate path is acceptable candidate path that complies with a risk classification scheme. Nevertheless, Ishibashi same field of endeavor teaches receive, using a second processor, the candidate path from the first processor, wherein the second processor is onboard the autonomous vehicle; (See Ishibashi para[0029] The judgment processing IC unit 30 receives the route candidate data output from the recognition processing IC unit 20, and determines a cruise route of the motor vehicle based on the route candidate data)
generate, using the second processor, a route plan based on the candidate path, wherein generating a route comprises determining, using the second processor, that the candidate path is an acceptable candidate path; (See Ishibashi abstract an IC unit for performing judgment processing for cruise control of the vehicle, );
generate, using the second processor, an output, wherein generating the output comprises determining, using the second processor, that the route complies with a risk classification scheme(See Ishibashi para[0012] performing judgment processing for cruise control of the vehicle, using ASIL-D function);and
navigating, using the second processor, from the starting initial location to the goal location along the selected path based on the route. (See Ishibashi abstract an IC unit for performing judgment processing for cruise control of the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Moore’s device and method of comparing and selecting alternative navigation route with Ishibashi’s judgment processing for cruise control of the vehicle complies with a risk classification scheme in order to allow to increase the operational reliability of the vehicle control device (see Ishibashi para[0010]).
Regarding claim 13, Moore and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 12. Moore teaches wherein generating the plurality of candidate paths further cause the first processor to: generate the plurality of candidate paths based on one or more visualization modes, each visualization mode providing a representation of [[the]] a_trajectory from the first location to the [[goal]] second location(See Moore para[0059] In step 805, navigation tiles can be displayed on a screen with the pictorial representation of a navigation route and details about the route.),
or generate the plurality of candidate paths based on a plurality of previously generated candidate paths within a predetermined radius of the first location and/or the goal location(See Moore Figure 1, para[0029] FIG. 1 shows an illustrative screen shot of map 100 with several alternative routes displayed simultaneously in accordance with various embodiments.).
Regarding claim 14, Moore and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 12. Moore teaches wherein the one or more visualization modes include a lane graph view, an intersection view, or a wireframe view. (See Moore para[0032] The route callouts in map 100 only display the names given to each route, but can, according to some embodiments, display more information, including distance and estimated travel time for the corresponding route. The amount of information displayed in a callout may be adjusted by the user. , figure 3)
Regarding claim 15, Moore and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 12. Moore teaches wherein generating the plurality of candidate paths based on the plurality of previously generated candidate paths within a predetermined radius of the first location and/or the goal location further cause the first processor to generate the plurality of candidate paths based on at least one of blockages associated with the plurality of previously generated candidate paths, waypoints associated with the plurality of previously generated candidate paths, trajectory acceptance rates associated with the plurality of previously generated candidate paths, or an environment associated with the plurality of previously generated candidate paths. (See Moore para[0035] Sidebar 140 can provide the user with relevant, context-appropriate information in a manner that does not affect the readability of map 100. Sidebar 140 is located discretely on the side of the display and shows key information regarding five calculated routes that may allow a user to determine which route is best;, figure 1)
Regarding claim 16, Moore and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 12. Moore teaches wherein the at least one cost and/or the at least one constraint associated with each corresponding candidate path is provided via the graphical user interface using a shade of a color. (See Moore para[0031] For example, each route may be highlighted in a different color. Roads displayed on map 100 that are not along any of the calculated routes may be displayed in a more discrete color and/or in thinner lines than roads that are along one or more routes.),[0034] para[0034] Calculated routes can be prioritized based on a set of user preferences. For example, the user preferences may indicate that a user would like to avoid toll roads, avoid traffic, minimize travel distance, minimize travel time, take a scenic route, travel on a particular road, or stop at a POI en route, figure 1).
Regarding claim 20, Moore teaches At least one non-transitory storage media storing instructions that, when executed by at least one or more processors, cause the processors to: (see Moore para[0077] Peripherals interface 1216 couples the input and output peripherals of the system to processor 1218 and computer-readable medium 1201. One or more processors 1218 communicate with one or more computer-readable mediums 1201 via controller 1220. Computer-readable medium 1201 can be any device or medium that can store code and/or data for use by one or more processors 1218. )
receive using a first processor, a request to navigate from an initial location to a goal location responsive to an input provided via a graphical user interface; (See Moore at least para[0084] Navigation module 1238 may at least function to calculate navigation routes based on at least a starting point and destination point (e.g., starting point 107 and destination point 109 of FIG. 1, claim 1 calculate a plurality of routes extending from a starting point to a destination point;)
generate, using a first processor, a plurality of candidate paths based on the goal location from an autonomous vehicle, wherein the at least one processor is remote from the autonomous vehicle; (See Moore para[0074] any portable or non-portable device including but not limited to a communication device (e.g. mobile phone, smart phone), a multi-media device (e.g., MP3 player, TV, radio), a portable or handheld computer (e.g., tablet, netbook, laptop), a desktop computer, an All-In-One desktop, a peripheral device, or any other system or device adaptable to the system architecture 1200 which include navigation module 1238)
generate, using the first processor, a candidate path from first location to second location, wherein the generating the candidate path comprises optimizing at least one cost and at least one constraint associated with the candidate path; (figure 1, see Moore para[0048] For example, in addition to the distance and estimated travel time, a navigation tile may also include information regarding the cost of tolls along the route and traffic status with traffic pictorials 360, 361, and 362., para[0006] User preferences may indicate that a user would like to avoid toll roads, avoid traffic, minimize travel distance, minimize travel time, take a scenic route, etc).
However, Moore does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach second processor which is mounted on the vehicle received candidate path from the first processor(remote from the vehicle) to determine the candidate path is acceptable candidate path that complies with a risk classification scheme. Nevertheless, Ishibashi same field of endeavor teaches receive, using a second processor, the candidate path from the first processor, wherein the second processor is onboard the autonomous vehicle; (See Ishibashi para[0029] The judgment processing IC unit 30 receives the route candidate data output from the recognition processing IC unit 20, and determines a cruise route of the motor vehicle based on the route candidate data)
generate, using the second processor, a route plan based on the candidate path, wherein generating a route comprises determining, using the second processor, that the candidate path is an acceptable candidate path(See Ishibashi abstract an IC unit for performing judgment processing for cruise control of the vehicle, );
generate, using the second processor, an output, wherein generating the output comprises determining, using the second processor, that the route complies with a risk classification scheme(See Ishibashi para[0012] performing judgment processing for cruise control of the vehicle, using ASIL-D function); and
navigating, using the second processor, from the initial location to the goal location along based on the route(See Ishibashi abstract an IC unit for performing judgment processing for cruise control of the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Moore’s device and method of comparing and selecting alternative navigation route with Ishibashi’s judgment processing for cruise control of the vehicle complies with a risk classification scheme in order to allow to increase the operational reliability of the vehicle control device (see Ishibashi para[0010]).
Regarding claim 21, Moore and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 1. However, Moore does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein generating the output further comprises, assessing the at least one cost and the at least one constraint according to the risk classification scheme. Nevertheless, Ishibashi same field of endeavor teaches wherein generating the output further comprises, assessing the at least one cost (See Ishibashi para[0060] a plurality of routes passing through the free space are generated, and the one requiring the lowest costs is selected from the plurality of routes.) and the at least one constraint according to the risk classification scheme (See Ishibashi at least para[0028] The recognition processing IC unit 20 generates at least one route candidate avoiding the obstacles on the road based on the estimated environment outside the vehicle, and outputs the generated route candidate as route candidate data, see para[0059]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Moore’s device and method of comparing and selecting alternative navigation route with Ishibashi’s judgment processing for cruise control of the vehicle complies with a risk classification scheme in order to allow to increase the operational reliability of the vehicle control device (see Ishibashi para[0010]).
Regarding claim 22, Moore and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 1. However, Moore does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the risk classification scheme is ASIL-D. Nevertheless, Ishibashi same field of endeavor teaches wherein the risk classification scheme is ASIL-D (See Ishibashi paras[0035], [0039] and [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Moore’s device and method of comparing and selecting alternative navigation route with Ishibashi’s judgment processing for cruise control of the vehicle complies with a risk classification scheme in order to allow to increase the operational reliability of the vehicle control device (see Ishibashi para[0010]).
Claims 6-7 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20130103313A1 to Moore et al. (herein after “Moore”) in view of US20210237727 A1 to Ishibashi et al. (herein after “Ishibashi”) and US20210269056 A1 to Zhu (herein after “Zhu”).
Regarding claim 6, Moore and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 1. However, Moore and Ishibashi do not teach wherein the at least one constraint can include at least one of a buffer between a front of the vehicle and an object or a buffer between a side of the vehicle and an object. Nevertheless, Zhu same field of endeavor teaches wherein the at least one constraint can include at least one of a buffer between a front of the vehicle and an object or a buffer between a side of the vehicle and an object (See Zhu 5E, para[0029] The routing tables may further include an effective distance calculation table containing information describing distance penalties/rewards for a lane and/or driving maneuvers required to enter/exit the lane).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Moore’s device and method of comparing and selecting alternative navigation route with Zhu’s constrain include buffer (effective distance) in order to allow to allow the vehicle to travel with minimal human interaction or in some cases without any passengers. which may or may not be included in the route and map information (e.g., new roads and lanes configuration) (See Zhu para[0002], [0028]).
Regarding claim 7, Moore and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 1. However, Moore and Ishibashi do not teach wherein the at least one cost can include a lane change cost or a curvature cost. Nevertheless, Zhu same field of endeavor teaches wherein the at least one cost can include a lane change cost or a curvature cost. (See Zhu paras[0033] a shape of the lane (e.g., straight or curvature, para[0048] referring to FIG. 5E, effective distances table 355 includes a number of name-value pairs for effective distances labels (or costs) to calculate an effective distance for a particular lane and/or road based on lane/road characteristics and/or types of lane transitions., figure 5E).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Moore’s device and method of comparing and selecting alternative navigation route with Zhu’s constrain include buffer (effective distance) in order to allow to allow the vehicle to travel with minimal human interaction or in some cases without any passengers. which may or may not be included in the route and map information (e.g., new roads and lanes configuration) (See Zhu para[0002], [0028]).
Regarding claim 17, Moore and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 1. However, Moore and Ishibashi do not teach wherein the at least one constraint can include at least one of a buffer between a front of the vehicle and an object or a buffer between a side of the vehicle and an object. Nevertheless, Zhu same field of endeavor teaches wherein the at least one constraint can include at least one of a buffer between a front of the vehicle and an object or a buffer between a side of the vehicle and an object (See Zhu 5E), para[0029] The routing tables may further include an effective distance calculation table containing information describing distance penalties/rewards for a lane and/or driving maneuvers required to enter/exit the lane).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Moore’s device and method of comparing and selecting alternative navigation route with Zhu’s constrain include buffer (effective distance) in order to allow to allow the vehicle to travel with minimal human interaction or in some cases without any passengers. which may or may not be included in the route and map information (e.g., new roads and lanes configuration) (See Zhu para[0002], [0028]).
Regarding claim 18, Moore and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 1. However, Moore and Ishibashi do not teach wherein the at least one cost can include a lane change cost or a curvature cost. Nevertheless, Zhu same field of endeavor teaches wherein the at least one cost can include a lane change cost or a curvature cost. (See Zhu paras[0033] a shape of the lane (e.g., straight or curvature, para[0048] referring to FIG. 5E, effective distances table 355 includes a number of name-value pairs for effective distances labels (or costs) to calculate an effective distance for a particular lane and/or road based on lane/road characteristics and/or types of lane transitions., figure 5E).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Moore’s device and method of comparing and selecting alternative navigation route with Zhu’s constrain include buffer (effective distance) in order to allow to allow the vehicle to travel with minimal human interaction or in some cases without any passengers. which may or may not be included in the route and map information (e.g., new roads and lanes configuration) (See Zhu para[0002], [0028]).
Conclusion
/NAZIA AFRIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666