DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s remarks, filed 6/3/2026, are acknowledged and entered into the record. Applicants amended claims 1, 13 and 17 in the remarks of 6/3/2026.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. The present application claims benefit under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) to U.S. Provisional application 63/304,955, filed 1/31/2022.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-27) in the reply filed 3/25/2024 is acknowledged. Claims 28-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/25/2024.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3, 8-19 and 22-29 are pending. Claims 28-29 are withdrawn. Claims 1-3, 8-19 and 22-27 are being examined on the merits.
Claim Objections and Rejections- Withdrawn
The objections of claims 1 and 17 because of informalities is withdrawn. Applicants amended the claims to obviate the objections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claim 13 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, is withdrawn. Applicants amended claim 13 to obviate the rejection for indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections- Maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-19 and 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Topp et al., (Journal of Clinical Oncology, 2014, 32(36)) and Faulds et al., (from IDS; US 20140275237; published 9/18/2014).
Topp et al. teaches a phase II trial of Blinatumomab, which is an anti-CD19/CD3 bispecific T cell-engager (BiTE) antibody, for treating patients with B-precursor acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL; abstract). Topp teaches that multiple cohorts received treatments with Blinatumomab. Specifically, “the dose of 15 ug/m2 per day was evaluated in the first cohort (cohort 1);” and that “because of grade 4 cytokine release syndrome (CRS) in one patient, a treatment prephase with dexamethasone up to 24 mg for up to 5 days and/or 200 mg/m2 of cyclophosphamide for up to 4 days was permitted,” (pg. 3, para. 2). Further, “in addition, in the second cohort (cohort 2a), the initial dose in the first week of treatment was lowered to 5 ug/m2 per day and then increased to 15 ug/m2 per day,” (pg. 3, para. 2). Topp teaches that within cohort 1, patients showed the highest rates of AEs overall and of SAEs; and one patient developed grade 4 CRS, and was replaced (pg. 5, para. 1). Topp teaches two patients (across cohorts) had grade 4 CRS; a treatment prephase consisting of dexamethasone and cyclophosphamide was recommended thereafter, and no incidence of grade > 3 CRS was reported during the remainder of the study (pg. 12, para. 1). Topp concludes, “Clinically important AEs of specific interest included CRS; recently, administration of an anti-interleukin-6 antibody was described as a feasible approach for the management of CRS in patients treated with CD19 CAR-modified T cells. In our study, stepwise dosing, along with prephase treatment seemed to be successful in the prevention of severe CRS,” (pg. 13, para. 2).
Thus, Topp teaches that a single administration of 15 ug/m2 per day dose of the bispecific antibody Blinatumomab can induce CRS, and that, subsequently, efforts were made to alter the dosing regime in order to mitigate CRS in response to Blinatumomab. Topp also teaches the art of administering an anti-IL-6 antibody as a means of managing CRS in patients treated with CD19-binding T cell constructs analogous to the CD19 BiTE of the invention. Thus, Topp provides motivation to the skilled artisan to devise strategies to mitigate CRS in response to Blinatumomab, including subsequent treatment with an additional agent to ameliorate CRS once it has been induced. However, Topp does not teach administration of beraprost.
Faulds et al. teaches the use of beraprost as a therapeutic for the treatment of viral disease and other pathologies associated with the induction of a cytokine storm (abstract). Faulds teaches a cytokine storm as an activated immune system response in which large amounts of pro-inflammatory cytokines, such as INF-γ and IL-6, are released (pg. 1, para. 0004); and is also termed hypercytokinemia (para. 0005). Faulds teaches “in various embodiments a therapeutic agent is provided that inhibits the release of overstimulated cytokines and chemokines, especially INF-γ,” (pg. 1, para. 0011); and that “it was discovered that specific GPCR agonists, such as beraprost sodium are a potent inhibitor of the hypercytokinemia,” (pg. 1, para. 0012). Faulds teaches that cytokine storms can occur in a number of infectious and non-infectious diseases, including graft versus host disease, sepsis, systemic inflammatory response syndrome, and others; and that the (beraprost) therapeutic compositions may be used in the treatment and/or prophylaxis of any of these pathologies (pg. 5, para. 0221). Thus, Faulds teaches that beraprost may be used to treat CRS, generally, and regardless of the pathology that initiates CRS. Faulds teaches beraprost in pharmaceutical formulations (pg. 6, para. 0115), and administration of beraprost formulations in a method for treating a cytokine storm (pgs. 13-14, claims 1 and 10-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the methods taught by Topp to include administration of a pharmaceutical composition of beraprost for mitigating CRS. One would have been motivated to do so given the suggestion by Topp that mitigating CRS is an important consideration when administering the bispecific antibody Blinatumomab, especially when administered at high initial doses. There would have been a high expectation of success given the knowledge that administration of a pharmaceutical composition of beraprost is effective in inhibiting a cytokine storm (i.e. treating CRS) in response to a viral infection, as taught by Faulds et al. Thus, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
As the combination of Topp and Faulds makes obvious a method of administering beraprost in order to inhibit CRS resulting from administration of a bispecific antibody directed toward cancer immunotherapy (i.e. as a cancer treatment; claims 1-16), it stands to reason that the same obviousness would apply to methods to administer beraprost for treatment of CRS itself (i.e. as a non-cancer CRS treatment), wherein the CRS is induced by administration of any bispecific antibody to a subject (re. claims 17-27).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, the combination of Topp and Faulds teaches a method of treating cancer (or CRS) in a subject, comprising administering a single CRS-inducing dose of a bispecific antibody and an additional pharmaceutical composition comprising beraprost (including BPS-314d), as described above. Faulds teaches administration of beraprost specifically for suppression of a cytokine storm, regardless of the insult that initiates the cytokine storm, as beraprost is a GPCR agonist that suppresses production of cytokines. Faulds teaches “for a treatment of a patient having a pathology characterized by a cytokine cascade, the dosage of the composition comprising a beraprost isomer (e.g., beraprost isomer A (BPS-314d)) will be that amount that is effective to treat the pathology such as a viral disease (the “effective amount”) and/or to partially or fully inhibit the cytokine cascade, e.g., as indicated by the production of a pro-inflammatory cytokine such as INF-γ, and/or CCL2, and/or IL-6,” (pg. 9, para. 0155). It is obvious to optimize the dose of beraprost to treat the excessive cytokine cascade of CRS by partially, but not fully, inhibiting the cytokine cascade in a manner that allows for T cells to maintain killing of the cancer cells. MPEP section 2144.05 (II)(A) discusses the obviousness of routine optimization. “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” T cells kill cancer cells via multiple mechanisms; for example Topp teaches the bispecific antibody, Blinatumomab, transiently induces a cytolytic synapse between a cytotoxic T cell and the cancer cell target; consequently, granzyme-containing granules and the pore-forming perforin fuse with the T-cell membrane and discharge their toxic content (pg. 2, Introduction). Thus, the release of cytokines is not an exclusive mechanism for inducing cancer cell death. This is evidenced by the instant specifications (Experiment 12, pg. 50, para. 00245), which teaches that BPS-314d (i.e. CTO1681; esuberaprost; specs. pg. 22, para. 0092) reduces cytokine levels, but does not impact or interfere with the tumor/ target cell killing effect of CD19-directed CAR-T cells (pg. 51, para. 00248). Thus the prior art composition of Faulds would not be expected to reduce T cell-mediated cell killing by more than 5% given the instant spec teaches that it is an inherent property of BPS-314d, at doses up to 225 nM (see Figures 1A-1G), to reduce cytokine release but not reduce T cell-mediated target cell killing by more than 5%. Further, as Faulds teaches that administering beraprost reduces IL-6 and IFN-γ (pg. 13, claim 1), as well as TNF-α (Pg. 10, example 3, para. 0167), it is an inherent property that BPS-314d would dose-dependently reduce levels of IL-6, TNF-α and IFN-γ (see instant Figures 1A-1G). Thus the combination of Topp and Faulds makes obvious the methods of instant claims 1 and 17.
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Topp further teaches administering an anti-IL-6 antibody is a feasible approach for management of CRS (pg. 13, para. 2) and thus makes obvious administering a second pharmaceutical composition of claims 2 and 18.
Regarding claims 3 and 19, Faulds teaches wherein the therapeutic agent (beraprost) is effective at partially or fully suppressing the cytokine storm characterized by release of large amounts of IFN-γ, IL-10 or IL-6 (‘237; pg. 13, claims 1 and 10; see also pg. 13, Table 9, for examples of beraprost effectively reducing cytokines); and thus makes obvious instant claims 3 and 19.
Regarding claims 8-10, 12, 22-25 and 27; the combination of Topp and Faulds makes obvious the method of treating cancer (or CRS) in a subject comprising administration of a bispecific antibody and an additional therapeutic composition comprising beraprost, as described above. Topp teaches alternative prephase treatments (dexamethasone and/or cyclophosphamide) to prevent CRS; and suggests administering an anti-IL-6 antibody after administration of the bispecific antibody to treat CRS once it has been detected. Faulds teaches the administration of beraprost may be used in the treatment or prophylaxis of CRS; with treatment being directed to administering beraprost after onset of virally-mediated CRS. Thus, each of Topp and Faulds contemplate strategies whereby the beraprost may be provided before, concurrently or after the administration of the CRS-inducing dose of a bispecific antibody. As described above, the MPEP teaches routine experimentation for optimizing protocols are obvious where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art (MPEP Section 2144.05(II)(A)). Faulds teaches beraprost binds GPCRs to inhibit cytokine release, which is downstream of, and regardless of, the insult that initiates CRS. Thus, it would be obvious to a skilled artisan to administer beraprost concurrently with administration of a CRS-inducing dose of a bispecific antibody, as a prophylaxis, in order to prevent the occurrence of CRS; likewise it is obvious to administer beraprost for treatment, after CRS has been induced and/or detected. Thus, claims 8-10, 12 and 22-25, whereby the order of administrating the CRS-inducing dose of a bispecific antibody relative to the beraprost CRS treatment are varied, are obvious modifications that would result from routine optimization of the general protocol of the combination of Topp and Faulds. Further, as administration of beraprost as a prophylactic, whereby it is administered concurrently with the administration of the CRS-inducing dose of a bispecific antibody, and prevents the excessive release of cytokines, it naturally flows from concurrent administration that the subject does not experience CRS; and thus claim 27 is also made obvious.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Topp and Faulds makes obvious the method of treating cancer (or CRS) in a subject comprising administration of a therapeutic composition comprising beraprost, as described above. Faulds further teaches the administration of the composition comprising beraprost for the treatment of CRS in a mouse model of lethal influenza, wherein the beraprost composition is administered for 6 days (pg. 13, example 8, paras. 0187-0189). Thus Topp and Faulds make obvious instant claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, Faulds teaches the administration of the beraprost composition via a route selected from inhalation, transdermal, intravenous, subcutaneous, or oral administration (pg. 14, claim 23), and thus makes obvious instant claim 13.
Regarding claims 14-16, the combination of Topp and Faulds makes obvious the method of treating cancer (or CRS) in a subject comprising administration of a bispecific antibody and an additional therapeutic composition comprising beraprost, as described above. Topp teaches the bispecific antibody of the cancer immunotherapy is Blinatumomab (re. instant claim 15), which is a CD19-CD3 bispecific antibody, or BiTE (re. instant claim 16); and functions through the recruitment of T cells (pg. 2, Introduction). Thus, the antibody of the invention has a mechanism of action of recruitment and activation of immune cells (re. instant claim 14).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Topp and Faulds makes obvious the method of treating CRS in a subject comprising administration of a bispecific antibody and an additional therapeutic composition comprising beraprost, as described above. Faulds further teaches the treatment of CRS resulting from a lethal dose of influenza virus, termed the mouse lethal challenge influenza model (pg. 11, example 4, para. 0168). In example 8 (pg. 13, para. 0187), said mice were separated into treatment groups to determine the efficacy of a beraprost composition in inhibiting cytokine release resulting from influenza virus challenge. Table 9 (pg. 13, Example 8, beraprost vs PSS groups vs uninfected groups) shows that treatment with a beraprost composition reduced the concentration of cytokines CCL2, IFN-γ, IL-6 and IL-10 (associated with CRS) compared to the placebo group (re. claim 26) or the uninfected group, which did not show CRS. It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to utilize influenza virus injections rather than bispecific antibody administration as a means to induce CRS for the purposes of treating the symptoms of CRS with a beraprost composition. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success as CRS (i.e., cytokine storm or hypercytokinemia) is a systemic inflammatory response that can be triggered by a variety of factors including T cell activating immunotherapies, or by viral infection, as taught by Faulds (pg. 1, para. 0004). Thus, the combination of Topp and Faulds makes obvious instant claim 26.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Each of applicant’s arguments, I-XI, will be addressed separately below.
I. Applicants contend that Topp does not teach a CRS-inducing amount of bispecific antibody in a single administration. Applicants contend that Topp teaches the opposite of a single dose administration, as Topp uses step-wise dosing specifically to prevent CRS; thus Topp teaches away from single high-dose administration (remarks, pg. 9).
As described in the rejection (above), Topp teaches that multiple cohorts received treatments with Blinatumomab. Specifically, “the dose of 15 ug/m2 per day was evaluated in the first cohort (cohort 1);” and that “because of grade 4 cytokine release syndrome (CRS) in one patient, a treatment pre-phase with dexamethasone up to 24 mg for up to 5 days and/or 200 mg/m2 of cyclophosphamide for up to 4 days was permitted,” (pg. 3, para. 2). Thus Topp presents the problem (cohort 1), in that an initial 15 ug/m2 dose induced CRS. Topp then modifies the administration regime as a solution to the problem, by administering step-wise dosing (cohort 2). Faulds teaches an alternative solution, which is to administer beraprost to treat CRS. Thus the combination of Topp and Faulds makes obvious a single, CRS-inducing dose of Blinatumomab, and co-treatment with beraprost. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Topp does not teach away from administering beraprost with a single high-dose of Blinatumomab, as Topp does not contemplate the beraprost treatment of Faulds. Topp teaches that it is known in the art that a single, high dose of Blinatumomab can be administered as a cancer treatment, but that CRS may be induced. Topp does not teach that Blinatumomab cannot be administered in a high dose, and Topp does not teach that beraprost cannot be administered for treating CRS; thus Topp does not teach away. The combination of Topp and Faulds makes obvious a single, high dose of Blinatumomab, with beraprost treatment for CRS, in a method of treating cancer.
II-III. Applicants contend that the Office’s interpretation of single administration to encompass a 4-week continuous infusion is unreasonably broad; and that a continuous infusion over 4 weeks is the opposite of a single administration.
Topp’s infusion protocol is consistent with the art for administering Blinatumomab, which is the recited bispecific antibody of claim 15. Too add context to the methods of Topp, Nagorsen et al. (Pharmacology and Therapeutics, 2012) teaches Blinatumomab is administered as a continuous infusion, whereby in the initial trials a short-term infusion occurred for 2-4 hours once, twice or thrice weekly; however, due in part to the short ~2 hour half-life of Blinatumomab, ever since, all trials with blinatumomab use administration with continuous i.v. infusion for a minimum of 4 weeks (pg. 337, section 6; pg. 338, Table 1). Nagorsen also teaches that the most important AEs were CRS and occurred in cycle 1 at the onset of treatment (pg. 341, section 11, para. 2), and that all three short-term infusion trials were terminated early based on AEs such as CRS (pg. 337, section 5). Thus, it is reasonable to expect that a “single administration” encompasses the continuous first cycle infusion which is traditionally used in administering Blinatumomab. Topp administered a higher dose of Blinatumomab in cohort 1 (15 ug/m2), which induced CRS, and lowered the first cycle dose to 5 ug/m2 in the first cycle before elevating it back to 15 ug/m2 in the subsequent cycle/doses for cohort 2. Thus, it is clear from Topp and Nagorsen that the initial high-dose infusion is the CRS-inducing administration, and it is reasonable for the skilled artisan to interpret a “CRS-inducing single administration” of Blinatumomab to encompass the first dose of the first cycle of continuous infusion. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a “single bolus”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claims as written do not limit the administration of the bispecific antibody to a “discrete administration event” or a “single bolus” administration. As bispecific antibody therapy may rely on a continuous infusion method of administering the treatment, and where the art recognizes that CRS is usually induced after the first dose of the first cycle, the claims encompass a single continuous infusion as a single administration; and the methods of Topp comprise a single administration of Blinatumomab as an continuous infusion of the first dose of the protocol. If applicants believe that administering a “single bolus” of high dose Blinatumomab in a cancer treatment is a novel and patentably distinct feature of the invention, applicants are invited to amend the claims to limit the parameters of administration (e.g., the duration) which they believe to be inventive over the prior art.
IV-V and VII. Applicants contend that the Office fails to consider Topp as a whole; that Faulds does not cure Topp’s deficiencies. Applicants contend that one cannot extract Topp’s recognition of CRS as a concern while simultaneously ignoring Topp’s explicit teaching that step-wise dosing prevents CRS (remarks, pg. 11). Further, that Faulds makes no mention of bispecific antibodies whatsoever, let alone an amount of bispecific antibody that induces CRS in a single administration (pg. 12). Thus, modifying Topp would render it unsatisfactory for its intended purpose.
MPEP 2143(I) teaches that some teaching, suggestion or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention support a conclusion of obviousness. Topp teaches a high dose administration of Blinatumomab induces CRS, and that a step-wise dosing regime is one alternative solution, for preventing onset of CRS. Faulds teaches beraprost mitigates CRS, regardless of the pathology which initiates CRS. It is obvious to combine the single dose, CRS-inducing, administration of Blinatumomab of Topp with the administration of beraprost, of Faulds, as a single method. Topp is considered as a whole, but is only relied on for teaching that a high initial dose of Blinatumomab may be administered in a cancer treatment, though it may cause CRS. As described above, one cannot attack references individually when the rejection is based on the combination of references. In response to applicant's argument that Topp teaches an alternative method and Faulds does not contemplate bispecific antibody therapies, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). As described in the Response of the office action of 9/25/2024, Faulds teaches that beraprost is effective in treating CRS regardless of the pathology which induced the CRS. Topp teaches administering a high dose of Blinatumomab induces CRS, which should be addressed. Nagorsen supports that it is known in the art that Blinatumomab may induce CRS at initial doses. The teachings, suggestions and motivations of Topp and Faulds make obvious administering beraprost to treat/prevent CRS in response to high dose Blinatumomab administration. While Topp suggests step-wise dosing in an effort to mitigate induction of CRS, it does not dissuade an artisan from, instead, administering the CRS-inducing high dose of Blinatumomab and also administering beraprost to mitigate CRS. Topp also teaches that alternative agents may be administered to help mitigate CRS. The examiner maintains that Topp is relied on for teaching a method of administering a high dose of bispecific antibody, which induces CRS, as a cancer treatment method was known in the art; thus administering a CRS-inducing high dose of bispecific antibody is not, itself, a novel and patentably distinct concept. Nagorsen supports that it is well-known that bispecific antibody therapies can induce CRS, especially at initial doses. Faulds teaches a solution to CRS is to administer beraprost. That Topp also teaches a step-wise dosing strategy to prevent CRS from being induced is not a deficiency to Topp; the skilled artisan may certainly contemplate alternative strategies, whereby Faulds presents an obvious alternative, which is to administer beraprost. Modifying Topp does not render it unsatisfactory for its intended purpose, which it to administer Blinatumomab to treat cancer. Topp’s offers teachings of various AEs associated with different administration strategies, and provides suggestion to the artisan to have strategies to mitigate CRS if it occurs, including suggesting dexamethasone or anti-IL-6 antibody therapy, which provides motivation to the skilled artisan to look to Faulds for alternative CRS treatment strategies when administering Topp’s initial high dose Blinatumomab method for treating cancer. Topp teaches the art that high dose Blinatumomab may be administered in a cancer treatment. Thus, a method of administering a CRS-inducing high-dose of Blinatumomab is not a point of novelty over the art, and administering beraprost to treat CRS is not a point of novelty over the art. Their combination into a method for treating cancer is obvious.
VI. Applicants contend that beraprost is not a substitutable agent for dexamethasone or anti-IL-6 antibody. Applicants contend that Faulds teaches beraprost for treating CRS induced by viral cytokine storms, and that it has “immune modulating activity”, thus one of skill in the art would be dissuaded from using it in a bispecific antibody therapy.
The examiner has addressed these arguments in previous office actions; see 9/25/2024 for discussion of Faulds teaching “CRS induced from any pathology”, see 10/21/2025 for contention that beraprost has “immune modulating activity”. First, Faulds teaches beraprost for treating CRS from any pathology that induces it and teaches a wide range of effective doses dependent on circumstances of the patient. Faulds teaches beraprost acts on GPCRs of T cells to reduce cytokine release, including IL-6. It is obvious that beraprost has some degree of “immune modulating activity” as its very purpose is to modulate cytokine release from T cells to mitigate CRS. Faulds does indicate any further interference from beraprost on general T cell function. For example, Faulds teaches beraprost for treating CRS induced by a viral infection, but Faulds does not teach that beraprost interferes with T cell function in overcoming the viral infection. Faulds does not teach that beraprost halts T cell immune activity at any dose; this is an obvious over-interpretation of “immune modulating activity” by applicant. Faulds teaches that beraprost administration can be dose divided or titrated, clearly contemplating appropriate dosing to maintain effectiveness. Further, Topp teaches that T cells kill cancer cells through perforin/granzyme mechanisms, that are not cytokine related. Topp teaches anti-IL-6 antibodies to treat CRS, whereby it is clear that blocking cytokine IL-6 activity does not interfere with T cell function for killing tumor cells; both beraprost and tocilizumab (of Topp) inhibit IL-6 activity to reduce CRS. Thus, beraprost is a simple substitution for, at least, tocilizumab in treating CRS induced by bispecific antibody therapy, for the same function, with predictable results.
VIII-XI. Applicants contend that the claims are commensurate in scope with unexpected results; that there is no “routine optimization” when the general conditions are not disclosed; that “no clear expectation being defied” is contrary to the law; and that the “inherent property” argument does not necessarily flow from the teachings of the prior art.
Applicants contend that the Office suggested “a specific dose limitation in the claim” and that applicants therefore amended the claim to recite wherein the composition “does not reduce T cell mediated killing of a cancer cell by more than 5% and dose-dependently reduces levels of IL-6, TNFα and IFN-γ in the subject”. Applicants then contend the Office shifted positions to an argument of inherency. The examiner points out that the amendments are to “functional limitations” and not to “a specific dose limitation”. Therefore, applicant did NOT amend the claims as the Office suggested. Functional limitations are subject to inherency. The applicants claim the beraprost isomer BPS-314d, which is the identical BPS-314d isomer taught by Faulds to be most effective. There is no structural difference in the applicant’s BPS-314d and the BPS-314d of Faulds; both are being taught to reduce CRS. Thus, it is routine optimization of the skilled artisan to find the optimal dose as desired, including the dose which does not reduce T cell mediated killing by more than 5% and reduces IL-6, TNFα and IFN-γ in the subject. If applicants claim a “dose” merely by desired functional properties, a skilled artisan, using an identical compound, can titrate the dose to have the same functional properties. There is no novel or patentably distinct concept to finding an appropriate dose of an identical compound that is known in the art and being used for the same purposes as described in the art. The question of patentability, based on the suggestions of the examiner, related to whether the applicants found an unexpected new dose, for the same compound. In which case, the “dose” may be compared to the range of doses of beraprost taught by Faulds. The Office did not argue that the “results” are not claimed, the Office argued that the “specific doses” are not claimed, such that they may be compared to those doses taught by Faulds. Regarding Example 12 (remarks, pg. 15, para. 2); an argument for an inherent property of a compound/structure does not need to be prior art. The examiner can cite post-art, or the instant specifications, for demonstration that a property was inherently present in the compound of the prior art, if their structures are identical. Finding an appropriate dose which decreases cytokine release without decreasing T-cell mediated killing of tumor cells is not an unexpected result. As described above, T cells kill tumor cells through other pathways, beyond cytokine release, and Faulds does not teach that beraprost-mediated reduction in CRS halts all T cell activity. Faulds teaches, generally, a daily dose is about 0.1 to about 300 ug/kg/day of beraprost for treating CRS (pg. 9, para. 0155). Thus, for applicant’s argument for unexpected results for administering beraprost, for treating CRS, in the same way that Faulds teaches beraprost for treating CRS, the question is whether applicant’s doses are significantly different than the doses taught by Faulds. If they are not, then it is obvious for the skilled artisan to optimize the doses of Faulds for their desired functionalities, whereby the functional outcomes are inherent properties of the identical compound. Applicants continue to put forth an argument that a skilled artisan may have conceived of the mere possibility that beraprost mediated reduction in CRS would interfere with T cell activity towards tumor cells, and thus it is unexpected that it does not. Faulds does not teach away from using beraprost to reduce cytokine release, whereby T cell activity is halted; there is no evidence in Faulds to suggest to a skilled artisan that beraprost would not allow T cell killing of tumor cells to be maintained. Applicant’s reliance on a hypothetical contemplation of a skilled artisan as evidence of unexpected results is not persuasive. Applicants have not demonstrated a specific dose of beraprost that is beyond that contemplated by Faulds; the beraprost is being administered for the same purpose as taught by Faulds. The functional properties of BPS-314d are inherent, and it is within the routine optimization of the artisan to find an appropriate dose of beraprost to reduce CRS without reducing T cell mediated killing of tumor cells, when applying the methods of Faulds to the methods of Topp. Applicant’s reliance on the “immune-modulating activity” phrase of Faulds is an over-interpretation, as described above. Faulds does not teach away from administering beraprost because doing somehow thwarts otherwise innate T cell function; rather Faulds is describing that beraprost reduces cytokine release (such as IL-6) from T cells to mitigate CRS. Toclizumab also inhibits IL-6 activity and it is a standard treatment for CRS in bispecific antibody therapy. Faulds does not teach that beraprost inhibits perforin/granzyme mediated killing functions of T cells, which Topp describes as the mechanism for Blinatumomab-mediated killing of tumor cells. The combination method of Topp and Faulds means the inherent properties of beraprost, of Faulds, are applied in the context of bispecific antibody-mediated killing of tumor cells, of Topp. To argue that Faulds’ methods (and compounds) cannot have inherent properties because Faulds did not contemplate using beraprost in combination with bispecific antibody therapy is attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The use of beraprost to treat CRS induced by bispecific antibody therapy to treat cancer is consistent with both the teachings of Topp and Faulds, and beraprost is being used for the same purposes as taught by Faulds, with a reasonable expectation for success, and with all of its inherent properties; it is within the routine optimization of the skilled artisan to determine the optimal doses of beraprost in the methods of Topp. The hypothetical contemplation that beraprost might not work in bispecific antibody therapy, only to find out that it does, is not an example of unexpected results. The artisan needs only a reasonable expectation for success, and has that for beraprost, as taught by Faulds. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections – Maintained
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 8-19 and 22-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-5, 10-13, 15-18, 20-24, 29 and 31 of copending Application No. 18/679,999 in view of Topp et al., (Journal of Clinical Oncology, 2014, 32(36)) and Faulds et al., (from IDS; US 20140275237; published 9/18/2014) and Brownstein et al., (from IDS; US 20200129617; published 4/30/2020).
Application ‘999 claims a method of treating CRS in a subject undergoing CAR T-cell therapy wherein the method comprises administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising beraprost (claim 1); wherein the beraprost is beraprost sodium salt (claim 2), wherein the beraprost is BPS-314d (claim 4); wherein the CAR T-cell therapy remains effective for treatment of cancer and wherein the cancer is acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL; claim 5); wherein the subject is human (claim 10), whereby the CAR-T therapy and the beraprost composition are administered concurrently (claim 11), or whereby the beraprost composition is administered after the CAR T cell therapy (claim 12) , whereby the beraprost composition is administered up to about 7 days after the CAR T cell therapy (claim 13), whereby the beraprost composition is administered after the onset of CRS (claim 15), wherein the CRS is detected by an increased level of cytokines such as IL-6 (claims 16-17), whereby the beraprost composition is administered for 1 to 30 days (claim 18); whereby the beraprost composition is administered before the CAR-T cell therapy (claim 20); whereby the subject experiences reduced CRS (claim 21) or no CRS (claim 22); whereby the CAR T cell therapy comprises autologous CAR T cells (claim 23) or allogenic CAR T cells (claim 24); and whereby the amount of beraprost is 0.1 ug to about 5000 ug (claims 29 and 31).
The combination method of Topp and Faulds is described above, specifically whereby the CRS is induced by a single administration of a high-dose of bispecific antibody (i.e. the anti-CD19/CD3 antibody Blinatumomab), and wherein the beraprost composition does not reduce T cell mediated killing of cancer cells by more than 5%, and wherein the beraprost composition dose-dependently reduces levels of IL-6, TNF-α and IFN-γ in the subject.
Brownstein et al. teaches methods for mitigating cytokine release syndrome (CRS) and infusion related reactions associated with administration of T cell activating bispecific antibodies (abstract). Specifically, Brownstein teaches cytokine release syndrome is a systemic inflammatory response that can be triggered by a variety of factors, including T cell-activating cancer immunotherapies resulting from effects induced by binding of a bispecific antibody or CAR T cell to its antigen; and that CRS is the result of the massive release of cytokines including IFN-γ, IL-6 and TNF-α (pg. 1, para. 0004). Brownstein goes on to teach that “the management of the toxicities of cancer immunotherapy is a challenging clinical problem, and that mitigating CRS is a hallmark of administering certain treatment modalities, for example, bispecific antibodies targeting T cells,” (pg. 1, para. 0005).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the methods of treating CRS induced by CAR T cell therapy, of application ‘999, with the modification of treating CRS induced by a single administration of a CRS-inducing amount of a bispecific antibody, as taught by the combination of Topp and Faulds. One would have been motivated to do so given that CRS is induced by either bispecific antibody or CAR-T cell cancer immunotherapy as taught by Brownstein et al. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given that beraprost compositions inhibit CRS, induced by any pathology or insult, as taught by Faulds et al. Thus, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Specifically, application ‘999 claims 1-2, 4-5, 10, 13, 23-24, 29 and 31 over Topp, Faulds and Brownstein, makes obvious instant claims 1-3 and 13-19; ‘999 claims 11-12, 15-17 and 20 make obvious instant claims 8-10, 12 and 22-25; ‘999 claim 18 make obvious instant claim 11; ‘999 claims 21-22 makes obvious instant claims 26-27.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 8-19 and 22-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/325,930 in view of Topp et al., (Journal of Clinical Oncology, 2014, 32(36)) and Faulds et al., (from IDS; US 20140275237; published 9/18/2014) and Brownstein et al., (from IDS; US 20200129617; published 4/30/2020).
Application ‘930 claims a method of treating CRS or ICANS associated with CAR T cell administration in a subject comprising administering a population of CAR T cells and a first pharmaceutical composition comprising beraprost, a beraprost isomer, or an acceptable salt thereof, and wherein the pharmaceutical composition does not reduce the cell killing mediated by the population of CAR T cells by more than 5% (claim 1); wherein the pharmaceutical composition reduces levels of IL-6, IFN-γ and TNF-α (claim 2); and wherein the CAR T cells are a population of CD19-CD3 bispecific CAR T cells (claim 18). Application ‘930 also claims wherein the beraprost is BPS-314d (claims 8-9).
However, application ‘930 does not claim whereby the methods for treating cancer comprises administering a bispecific antibody, or a CRS-inducing amount of a bispecific antibody in a single administration.
The combination methods of Topp and Faulds are described above, whereby it is obvious to administer a CRS inducing amount of blinatumomab (a CD19-CD3 bispecific antibody) in a single administration with beraprost isomer BPS-314d in the first pharmaceutical composition. Topp teaches that CAR T cells targeting CD19 have been investigated in several single-center trials, with response rates as high as 83% (pg. 12, Disscussion, para. 1). Brownstein teaches CRS is a systemic inflammatory response that can be triggered by a variety of factors, including T cell-activating cancer immunotherapies resulting from effects induced by binding of a bispecific antibody or CAR T cell to its antigen; and that CRS is the result of the massive release of cytokines including IFN-γ, IL-6 and TNF-α (pg. 1, para. 0004). Brownstein goes on to teach that “the management of the toxicities of cancer immunotherapy is a challenging clinical problem, and that mitigating CRS is a hallmark of administering certain treatment modalities, for example, bispecific antibodies targeting T cells,” (pg. 1, para. 0005).
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to substitute a CD19/CD3 bispecific antibody therapy for a CD19/CD3 CAR T cell therapy in order to treat cancer because they are known treatment options for ALL, as taught by Topp. MPEP 2143(I)(B) supports a prima facie case for obviousness exists for simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. There would have been a reasonable expectation for success given that both bispecific antibody treatment and CAR T cell therapy may induce CRS, as taught by Brownstein, and that BPS-314d is effective to reduce symptoms of CRS regardless of the insult that causes CRS, as taught by Faulds. Thus the invention was prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art at the time the invention was made. Further, the limitation that BPS-314d dose-dependently reduces cytokines IL-6, TNF-α and IFN-γ is an inherent property of the BPS-314d compound, as described above.
Thus, application ‘930 claims 1-2, 8-11 and 17-18, over Topp, Faulds and Brownstein, make obvious instant claims 1, 3, 17 and 19.
Application ‘930 also claims wherein the method further comprises administering tocilizumab (claim 3) and thus makes obvious instant claims 2 and 18.
App. ‘930 claims wherein the beraprost composition is administered once CRS is detected (claim 7), before administration of CAR T cells (claim 12), after administration of CAR T cells (claim 13), or starting one day before and continuing for 14 days (i.e. concurrently; claim 16). Thus application ‘930 claims 7, 12-13 and 16, over Topp, Faulds and Brownstein, make obvious instant claims 8-10, 12 and 22-25.
App. ‘930 claims wherein the beraprost composition is administered for 1 day to about 30 days (claims 14-15), and thus makes obvious instant claim 11.
Faulds teaches the administration of the beraprost composition via a route selected from inhalation, transdermal, intravenous, subcutaneous, or oral administration (pg. 14, claim 23) and Topp teaches the bispecific antibody is administered I.V. Thus, application ‘930 over Topp, Faulds and Brownstein make obvious instant claim 13.
Topp teaches the CD19/CD3 bispecific antibody is blinatumomab; thus application ‘930 over Topp, Faulds and Brownstein, make obvious instant claims 14-16.
App. ‘930 claims wherein the subject has reduced treatment with the second composition (i.e. tocilizumab) as a result of treatment with the beraprost composition (claim 4); wherein the subject experiences reduced parkinsonism effects (claim 5) or reduced CRS or ICANS compared to a subject that does not receiving the beraprost composition (claim 6). Faulds teaches the administration of the beraprost composition via a route selected from inhalation, transdermal, intravenous, subcutaneous, or oral administration (pg. 14, claim 23) and Topp teaches the bispecific antibody is administered I.V. Thus, application ‘930 claims 4-6, over Topp, Faulds and Brownstein, make obvious instant claims 26-27.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants contend that both provisional NSDP rejection rely on the same combination of Topp, Faulds and Brownstein, and that the combination of Topp and Faulds is non-obvious as argued above, and that Brownstein does not cure the deficiencies of Topp and Faulds.
The examiner has maintained that the combination of Topp and Faulds makes obvious the instant claims, as described above. Brownstein teaches that CRS can be triggered by bispecific antibodies or CAR-T cells. Thus, the obviousness of using beraprost to treat CRS induced by bispecific antibody therapy applies to CRS induced by infusion of CAR-T cells, which encompasses wherein the continuous infusion of CAR-T cells is a single administration. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejections are maintained. Applicants are invited to amend the claims to distinguish a “single administration” from the continuous infusion that is standard in bispecific antibody or CAR-T therapy, whereby the claims clearly delineate the metes and bounds of what constitutes a CRS-inducing single administration, if they believe that the administration parameters are a patentable point of novelty.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES RYLAND MELCHIOR/Examiner, Art Unit 1644
/NELSON B MOSELEY II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642