Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 19, 23-25, 27-29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (2022/0217746), hereinafter Kang, in view of Josiam et al. (KR 102010559 B1), hereinafter Josiam.
Re. Claim 1 and 29, Kang teaches a first network entity for wireless communication (Fig. 14), comprising: a first antenna array including a first plurality of antenna elements (¶0427 - The UE capability information may include the number of panels (groups) which may be supported by the UE, information indicating whether multi-panel based simultaneous transmission may be performed); a second antenna array including a second plurality of antenna elements (¶0427 - The UE capability information may include the number of panels (groups) which may be supported by the UE, information indicating whether multi-panel based simultaneous transmission may be performed); a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to (Claim 18 - One or more processors controlling the one or more transceivers; and one or more memories operably connectable to the one or more processors): cause transmission, to a second network entity, of beam management capability information (Fig. 14, ¶0427 - The UE may report UE capability information to the BS (S1410)) comprising first information indicative that the first network entity comprises the first antenna array and the second antenna array (¶0427 – … the UE capability information may include the number of panels (groups) which may be supported by the UE…), wherein the first antenna array is configured to support operation in a first frequency band and the second antenna array is configured to support operation in a second frequency band (¶0323 - UE which may perform the simultaneous transmission through multiple [different] Tx panels. ¶0324 - Further, even in the multi-CC based operation, panel implementation may be identical with respect to multiple CCs according to the UE or not identical. ¶0337-0338 - … panel information for each CC/band index (group) may be reported. In the case where the UE reports the same panel information to multiple specific (adjacent) CC/band indexes (groups), the case may implicitly mean that the corresponding CC/band indexes (groups) is implemented as the same panel); determine, based on beam training information corresponding to the first antenna array, (¶0431 - The UE may perform beam management with the BS for each panel based on the configuration (S1430). As an example, the UE may perform beam training for one or more panels included in the configuration, and may also report, to the BS, the information determined or calculated through this)
Yet, Kang does not expressly teach determining a first beam index from one or more first beam indexes for a plurality of beams in the first frequency band, and determining a second beam index from one or more second beam indexes for a plurality of beams in the second frequency band, wherein the second beam index is determined based on an indication indicative of the first beam index and cause transmission, to the second network entity, of information indicative of the second beam
However, Josiam explicitly teaches determining a first beam index from one or more first beam indexes for a plurality of beams in the first frequency band (Pg. 16, Line 9 - The process may select one or more beams for channel quality information (step 1210)… The process then maps the index of the selected beam to channel quality values (step 1215)); determining a second beam index from one or more second beam indexes for a plurality of beams in the second frequency band, wherein the second beam index is determined based on an indication indicative of the first beam index (Pg. 16 Line 22 - The user terminal may report a subset of beams selected according to an indexing scheme); and cause transmission, to the second network entity, of information indicative of the second beam (Pg. 16 Line 22 - The process then transmits the index of the selected beam (step 1220)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Josiam to the teaching of Kang. The motivation for such would be as Josiam provides a means for determining a first beam index from a frequency band (Josiam, Pg. 16 Line 9) and determining and transmitting a second beam index from the first beam index (Josiam, Pg. 16 Line 22). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 25 and 30, Kang teaches a first network entity for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory (Fig. 14), wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive beam management capability information comprising first information indicative that a second network entity comprises a first antenna array including a first plurality of antenna elements and a second antenna array including a second plurality of antenna elements (¶0427 – … the UE capability information may include the number of panels (groups) which may be supported by the UE…), wherein the first antenna array is configured to support operation in a first frequency band and the second antenna array is configured to support operation in a second frequency band (¶0323 - UE which may perform the simultaneous transmission through multiple [different] Tx panels. ¶0324 - Further, even in the multi-CC based operation, panel implementation may be identical with respect to multiple CCs according to the UE or not identical. ¶0337-0338 - … panel information for each CC/band index (group) may be reported. In the case where the UE reports the same panel information to multiple specific (adjacent) CC/band indexes (groups), the case may implicitly mean that the corresponding CC/band indexes (groups) is implemented as the same panel); perform a beam training procedure for the first frequency band (¶0431 - The UE may perform beam management with the BS for each panel based on the configuration (S1430). As an example, the UE may perform beam training for one or more panels included in the configuration, and may also report, to the BS, the information determined or calculated through this);
Yet, Kang does not expressly teach wherein the beam training procedure is configured to enable the second network entity to determine a first beam index from one or more first beam indexes for a plurality of beams in the first frequency band, receiving second information indicative of a second beam index selected from one or more second beam indexes for a plurality of beams in the second frequency band based on the first beam index, wherein the second beam index corresponds to a second beam in the second frequency band.
However, Josiam explicitly teaches wherein the beam training procedure is configured to enable the second network entity to determine a first beam index from one or more first beam indexes for a plurality of beams in the first frequency band (Pg. 16 Line 9 - The process may select one or more beams for channel quality information (step 1210)… The process then maps the index of the selected beam to channel quality values (step 1215)) receiving second information indicative of a second beam index selected from one or more second beam indexes for a plurality of beams in the second frequency band based on the first beam index (Pg. 16 Line 22 - The user terminal may report a subset of beams selected according to an indexing scheme), wherein the second beam index corresponds to a second beam in the second frequency band (Pg. 16 Line 22 - The process then transmits the index of the selected beam (step 1220)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Li 1 to the teaching of Kang. The motivation for such would be as Josiam provides a means for determining a first beam index from a frequency band (Josiam, Pg. 16 Line 9) and determining and transmitting a second beam index from the first beam index (Josiam, Pg. 16 Line 22). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 2, Kang and Josiam teach Claim 1
Kang further teaches wherein the beam training information includes respective measurement information corresponding to each beam of the plurality of beams in the first frequency band (¶0431 - The UE may perform beam training for one or more panels included in the configuration), and wherein the plurality of beams in the plurality of beams includes a first beam corresponding to the first beam index (¶0168 - The DL BM procedure may include (1) transmission of beamformed DL reference signals (RSs) (e.g., CIS-RS or SS Block (SSB)) of the eNB).
Re. Claim 3, Kang and Josiam teach Claim 1
Kang further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: perform, based on the plurality of beams, a beam training procedure corresponding to the first antenna array (¶0431 - The UE may perform beam training for one or more panels included in the configuration), wherein, to perform the beam training procedure, the at least one processor is configured to generate the beam training information (¶0422 - the operations of the BS/UE according to the above-described embodiments… may be stored in a memory… in the form of a command/program… for driving at least one processor).
Yet, the combination of Kang does not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive, via the first antenna array, a plurality of beams in the first frequency band, wherein the plurality of beams in the first frequency band includes a first beam corresponding to the first beam index.
However, Josiam explicitly teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive, via the first antenna array, a plurality of beams in the first frequency band, wherein the plurality of beams in the first frequency band includes a first beam corresponding to the first beam index (Pg. 16 Line 6 - The process begins by measuring channel quality parameters for signals received on multiple beams (step 1205). For example, in step 1205, the user terminal may measure the signal strength of the received signal. & Pg. 15 Line 41 - embodiments of the invention may be implemented in other communications media… [e.g.] in the frequency band of existing cellular communication systems).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Josiam to the teachings of Kang and Josiam. The motivation for such would be as Josiam provides a means to receive via an antenna array containing a plurality of beams (Josiam, Pg. 16 Line 6). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 4, Kang and Josiam teach Claim 1
Kang further teaches wherein, to determine the second beam index based on the first beam index, the at least one processor is configured to determine the second beam index without performance of a beam training procedure corresponding to the second antenna array (¶0431 - Step S1430 may also be omitted according to whether the beam management needs to be performed. Examiner interprets this to mean that the UE can determine whether the current beam used is functioning properly, rendering the need for a beam management procedure unnecessary).
Re. Claim 6, Kang and Josiam teach Claim 1
Additionally, Kang further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: cause transmission, to the second network entity, information indicative of at least one of (¶0154 - The UE transmits information from the eNB through Uplink (UL). The information which the eNB and the UE transmit and receive includes data and various control information and there are various physical channels according to a type/use of the information which the eNB and the UE transmit and receive): a change in a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state associated with a second beam corresponding to the second beam index (¶0174-0175 - A UE may be RRC-configured with a list of up to M candidate transmission configuration indication (TCI) states at least for the purpose of quasi co-location (QCL) indication, where M may be 64. Each TCI state may be configured with one RS set. Each ID of DL RS at least for the purpose of spatial QCL (QCL Type D) in an RS set may refer to one of DL RS types such as SSB, P-CSI RS, SP-CSI RS, A-CSI RS, etc. Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “Or”); a change in a control resource set (CORESET) pool index associated with the second beam; or a change in a quasi-co-location (QCL) type configuration associated with the second beam.
Re. Claim 7, Kang and Josiam teach Claim 1
Additionally, Kang further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: cause transmission of a notification to the second network entity to switch from a third beam corresponding to the first beam index to a fourth beam corresponding to the second beam index (Fig. 12, & ¶0371 - The UE capability information of Proposal 1 may indicate/configure the Tx panels (and/or Rx panels) for multiple specific CCs within the valid range of the panel information to be changed).
Re. Claim 8, Kang and Josiam teach Claim 7
Additionally, Kang further teaches wherein the notification comprises information indicative of at least one of: a change in a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state corresponding to a switch from the third beam to the fourth beam at the second network entity (¶0174-0175 - A UE may be RRC-configured with a list of up to M candidate transmission configuration indication (TCI) states at least for the purpose of quasi co-location (QCL) indication, where M may be 64. Each TCI state may be configured with one RS set. Each ID of DL RS at least for the purpose of spatial QCL (QCL Type D) in an RS set may refer to one of DL RS types such as SSB, P-CSI RS, SP-CSI RS, A-CSI RS, etc. Examiner interprets that the above cited steps can be similarly used to conduct the switch between first and second to third and fourth beams, much like it could be used to establish a first and second beam. Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “Or”); a change in a control resource set (CORESET) pool index corresponding to the switch from the third beam to the fourth beam at the second network entity; OR a change in a quasi-co-location (QCL) type configuration corresponding to the switch from the third beam to the fourth beam at the second network entity.
Re. Claim 19, Kang and Josiam teach Claim 1
Additionally, Kang further teaches wherein the information indicative of the second beam index is based on information indicative of the first beam index and information indicative of a configuration of a plurality of configurations of the first antenna array and the second antenna array (¶0427 - The UE may report, to the BS, at least one of (Tx/Rx) panel related configuration/information for the multi-CC/band based operation… as the UE capability).
Re. Claim 23, Kang and Josiam teach Claim 1
Additionally, Kang further teaches wherein the first frequency band corresponds to a first frequency range and the second frequency band corresponds to a second frequency range (Table 1 & ¶0123 - An NR frequency band is defined as a frequency range of two types FR1 and FR2).
Re. Claim 24, Kang and Josiam teach Claim 23
Additionally, Kang further teaches wherein the first frequency range and the second frequency range are non-overlapping (Table 1 & ¶0123 - An NR frequency band is defined as a frequency range of two types FR1 and FR2).
Re. Claim 27, Kang and Josiam teach Claim 25.
Additionally, Kang further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: cause transmission, to the second network entity, information indicative of at least one of (¶0154 - The UE transmits information from the eNB through Uplink (UL)). The information which the eNB and the UE transmit and receive includes data and various control information and there are various physical channels according to a type/use of the information which the eNB and the UE transmit and receive): a change in a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state associated with a second beam corresponding to the second beam index (¶0174-0175 - A UE may be RRC-configured with a list of up to M candidate transmission configuration indication (TCI) states at least for the purpose of quasi co-location (QCL) indication, where M may be 64. Each TCI state may be configured with one RS set. Each ID of DL RS at least for the purpose of spatial QCL (QCL Type D) in an RS set may refer to one of DL RS types such as SSB, P-CSI RS, SP-CSI RS, A-CSI RS, etc. Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “Or”); a change in a control resource set (CORESET) pool index associated with the second beam; OR a change in a quasi-co-location (QCL) type configuration associated with the second beam.
Re. Claim 28, Kang and Josiam teach Claim 25.
Additionally, Kang teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to transmit a respective weight for each direction of a plurality of directions in a coverage region associated with the first beam (¶0159 - the control information… the UE receives from the eNB may include a downlink/uplink ACK/NACK signal, a Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), a Precoding Matrix Index (PMI), a Rank Indicator (RI), and the like. Examiner interprets that the weight is considered under similar control information).
Claims 5, 20-22, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang, in view of Josiam and Li et al. (CN 117729636 A), hereinafter Li 1.
Re. Claim 5, Kang and Josiam teach Claim 1
However, the combination of Kang and Josiam does not expressly teach wherein the beam management capability information further comprises second information indicative of the first network entity supporting the first frequency band and the second frequency band
Yet, Li 1 explicitly teaches wherein the beam management capability information further comprises second information indicative of the first network entity supporting the first frequency band and the second frequency band (Pg. 4, Line 20 - the first frequency band, the second frequency band and the third frequency band are respectively three bandwidth parts BWP on one or more carriers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Li 1 to the teaching of Kang and Josiam. The motivation for such would be as Li 1 provides a means to receive via an antenna array a plurality of beams (Li 1, Pg. 4, Line 20). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 20, Kang and Josiam teach Claim 1
Additionally, Kang further teaches obtaining, from the function, the information indicative of the second beam index, and wherein to determine the second beam index (¶0428 - The UE may receive, from the BS, a configuration related to a panel) wherein the first antenna array and the second antenna array are configurable into a plurality of configurations (¶0242 - Which physical/logical antennas or antenna ports are mapped to one panel may be variously altered according to a position/distance/correlation between the antennas, an RF configuration and/or antenna (port) virtualization scheme).
Yet, the combination of Kang and Josiam does not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to: input, into a function, information indicative of the first beam index and information indicative of a configuration of the plurality of configurations; and the at least one processor is configured to determine the second beam index based on the information indicative of the second beam index
However, Li 1 explicitly teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: input, into a function, information indicative of the first beam index and information indicative of a configuration of the plurality of configurations (Claim 6 - Transmitting first configuration information on the third frequency band, wherein the first configuration information is used for configuring the first frequency band, the first configuration information comprises first indication information, and the first indication information is used for indicating the L synchronous signal blocks); and the at least one processor is configured to determine the second beam index based on the information indicative of the second beam index (Pg. 5, Line 39 - the method further comprises: determining multiple second beams according to the first echo signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Li 1 to the teaching of Kang. The motivation for such would be as Li 1 provides a means to take first beam configuration information and determine a second beam (Li 1, Pg. 5, Line 39). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 21, Kang, Josiam, and Li 1 teach Claim 20
Additionally, Kang further teaches wherein the function is configured independent of signaling from the second network entity (¶0428 - The UE may receive, from the BS, a configuration related to a panel. Examiner interprets that the UE is able to receive this information and configuration independent of a second entity).
Re. Claim 22, Kang, Josiam, and Li 1 teach Claim 20
Additionally, Kang further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to generate the function based on the beam training information (¶0431 - The UE may perform beam training for one or more panels included in the configuration).
Re. Claim 26, Kang and Josiam teach Claim 25
However, the combination of Kang and Josiam does not expressly teach wherein the beam management capability information further comprises second information indicative of the first network entity supporting the first frequency band and the second frequency band
Yet, Li 1 explicitly teaches wherein the beam management capability information further comprises third information indicative of the second network entity supporting the first frequency band and the second frequency band (Pg. 4, Line 20 - the first frequency band, the second frequency band and the third frequency band are respectively three bandwidth parts BWP on one or more carriers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Li 1 to the teaching of Kang and Josiam. The motivation for such would be as Li 1 provides a means to receive via an antenna array a plurality of beams (Li 1, Pg. 4, Line 20). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Claims 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Josiam as well as Firouzbakht (2022/0116790), hereinafter Firouzbakht.
Re. Claim 9, Kang and Josiam 1 teach Claim 1.
However, neither Kang nor Josiam teach wherein the first antenna array and the second antenna array have a same boresight direction.
Yet, Firouzbakht explicitly teaches wherein the first antenna array and the second antenna array have a same boresight direction (¶0036 - The first and second antenna beams may have the same boresight pointing direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Firouzbakht to the teaching of Kang and Josiam. The motivation for such would be as Firouzbakht provides that a first and second array can have the same boresight direction (Firouzbakht, ¶0036). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 14, Kang and Josiam teach Claim 1
Neither Kang nor Josiam teach wherein the first antenna array has a first boresight direction and the second antenna array has a second boresight direction that is different than the first boresight direction.
Yet, Firouzbakht explicitly teaches wherein the first antenna array has a first boresight direction and the second antenna array has a second boresight direction that is different than the first boresight direction (¶0065 - these antenna use beamforming networks to generate one or more first antenna beams that have a first boresight pointing direction in the elevation plane and one or more second antenna beams that have a second (different) boresight pointing direction in the elevation plane).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Firouzbakht to the teaching of Kang and Josiam. The motivation for such would be as Firouzbakht provides that a first and second array can have different boresight directions (Firouzbakht, ¶0065). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Josiam and Tidestav et al. (2024/0155408), hereinafter Tidestav.
Re. Claim 10, Kang and Josiam teach Claim 1
Yet, neither Kang nor Josiam teach wherein to determine the second beam index based on the first beam index, the at least one processor is configured to: determine, for each beam of the plurality of beams in the second frequency band, a respective projection of energy in a coverage region of a first beam corresponding to the first beam index; and determine a particular beam from the plurality of beams in the second frequency band corresponding to a largest projection of energy, wherein a beam index of the particular beam is the second beam index.
However, Tidestav explicitly teaches wherein to determine the second beam index based on the first beam index, the at least one processor is configured to: determine, for each beam of a plurality of beams in the second frequency band, a respective projection of energy in a coverage region of a first beam corresponding to the first beam index (¶0012 - A set of measurement results may comprise measurement results of the same type/s, e.g. with the same dimension and/or the same parameter type, e.g. pertaining to signal strength or signal quality, e.g. RSRP (Received Signal Received Power) or received energy, e.g. pertaining to a same time interval and/or frequency range and/or beam or beam pair); and determine a particular beam from the plurality of beams in the second frequency band corresponding to a largest projection of energy, wherein a beam index the particular beam is the second beam index (¶0012 - A set of measurement results may comprise measurement results of the same type/s, e.g. with the same dimension and/or the same parameter type, e.g. pertaining to signal strength or signal quality, e.g. RSRP (Received Signal Received Power) or received energy, e.g. pertaining to a same time interval and/or frequency range and/or beam or beam pair. ¶0072 - It may be switched to the first beam pair (or first beam) if the signal quality or signal strength measured on the second beam pair (or second beam) is considered to be insufficient. Examiner interprets that this change between first and second could be done in the inverse, after the beam is determined, based on its signal quality).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Tidestav to the teaching of Kang and Josiam. The motivation for such would be as Tidestav provides that a beam out of a plurality can be determined based on the projection of energy from the beam (Tidestav, ¶0012). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang, in view of Josiam, Tidestav, and Li et al. (CN 118118061 A), hereinafter Li 2.
Re. Claim 11, Kang, Josiam, and Tidestav teach Claim 10
However, neither Kang, Josiam, nor Tidestav teach wherein to determine the respective projection of energy, the at least one processor is configured to: for each respective direction of a plurality of directions in the coverage region: combine a respective conjugate transpose of a beamforming vector representing the beam of the plurality of beams with a respective steering vector associated with the respective direction to generate a respective combined value ; and apply a respective weight associated with the respective direction to the respective combined value to generate a respective weighted combined value wherein the respective projection of energy of the beam in the coverage region of the first beam is based on the respective weighted combined value generated for each respective direction of the plurality of directions.
Yet, Li 2 explicitly teaches wherein to determine the respective projection of energy, the at least one processor is configured to: for each respective direction of a plurality of directions in the coverage region: combine a respective conjugate transpose of a beamforming vector representing the beam of the plurality of beams with a respective steering vector associated with the respective direction to generate a respective combined value (Pg. 5, Line 9 - performing mode normalization processing on the second intermediate vector to obtain a second reference vector; Wherein, the sixth formula is: p1 ' = u1-us * usH * u1;… represents a first intermediate vector, u1 represents a second unit vector, us represents a first unit vector, usH represents a conjugate transpose for us); and apply a respective weight associated with the respective direction to the respective combined value to generate a respective weighted combined value (Pg. 2, Line 28 - rotating the direction of the first beam vector and the second beam vector according to the first included angle and the residual correlation coefficient to obtain a first target vector and a second target vector); wherein the respective projection of energy of the beam in the coverage region of the first beam is based on the respective weighted combined value generated for each respective direction of the plurality of directions (Pg. 2, Line 28 - rotating the direction of the first beam vector and the second beam vector according to the first included angle and the residual correlation coefficient to obtain a first target vector and a second target vector).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Li 2 to the teaching of Kang, Josiam, and Tidestav. The motivation for such would be as Li 2 provides that beamforming can be influenced by a system of weighted values (Li 2, Pg. 2, Line 28). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 12, Kang, Josiam, Tidestav, and Li 2 teach Claim 11
Neither Kang, Josiam, nor Tidestav teach wherein each respective weight is configured independent of signaling from the second network entity
Yet, Li 2 expressly teaches wherein each respective weight is configured independent of signaling from the second network entity (Pg. 2, Line 28 - rotating the direction of the first beam vector and the second beam vector according to the first included angle and the residual correlation coefficient to obtain a first target vector and a second target vector. Examiner interprets these steps to show that the process of applying the weights is done independent of the second networking entity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Li 2 to the teaching of Kang, Josiam, and Tidestav. The motivation for such would be as Li 2 provides that beamforming can be influenced by a system of weighted values (Li 2, Pg. 2, Line 28). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 13, Kang, Josiam, Tidestav, and Li 2 teach Claim 11
Additionally, Kang teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive, from the second network entity, each respective weight associated with each respective direction of the plurality of directions in the coverage region (¶0159 - the control information… the UE receives from the eNB may include a downlink/uplink ACK/NACK signal, a Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), a Precoding Matrix Index (PMI), a Rank Indicator (RI), and the like. Examiner interprets that the weight is considered under similar control information).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view Josiam, Firouzbakht, and Tidestav.
Re. Claim 15, Kang, Josiam, and Firouzbakht teach Claim 14
Neither, Kang, Josiam, nor Firouzbakht teach wherein to determine the second beam index based on the first beam index, the at least one processor is configured to: determine, for each beam of the plurality of beams in the second frequency band, a respective projection of energy in a coverage region of a first beam corresponding to the first beam index; combine a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the first beam with the respective projection of energy to generate a first combined value; and determine a particular beam from the plurality of beams in the second frequency band corresponding to a largest first combined value, wherein a beam index of the particular beam is the second beam index.
However, Tidestav explicitly teaches wherein to determine the second beam index based on the first beam index, the at least one processor is configured to: determine, for each beam of the plurality of beams in the second frequency band, a respective projection of energy in a coverage region of a first beam corresponding to the first beam index (¶0012 - A set of measurement results may comprise measurement results of the same type/s, e.g. with the same dimension and/or the same parameter type, e.g. pertaining to signal strength or signal quality, e.g. RSRP (Received Signal Received Power) or received energy, e.g. pertaining to a same time interval and/or frequency range and/or beam or beam pair); combine a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the first beam with the respective projection of energy to generate a first combined value (¶0013 - The parameter reported on may be the parameter the measurement results of the set and/or the combination pertains to and/or represents, in particular RSRP and/or a delay characteristic and/or received energy); and determine a particular beam from the plurality of beams in the second frequency band corresponding to a largest projection of energy, wherein a beam index of the particular beam is the second beam index (¶0012 - A set of measurement results may comprise measurement results of the same type/s, e.g. with the same dimension and/or the same parameter type, e.g. pertaining to signal strength or signal quality, e.g. RSRP (Received Signal Received Power) or received energy, e.g. pertaining to a same time interval and/or frequency range and/or beam or beam pair. ¶0072 - It may be switched to the first beam pair (or first beam) if the signal quality or signal strength measured on the second beam pair (or second beam) is considered to be insufficient. Examiner interprets that this change between first and second could be done in the inverse, after the beam is determined, based on its signal quality).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Tidestav to the teaching of Kang, Josiam, Firouzbakht. The motivation for such would be as Tidestav provides that a beam out of a plurality can be determined based on the projection of energy from the beam (Tidestav, ¶0012). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang, in view of Josiam, Firouzbakht, Tidestav, and Li 2.
Re. Claim 16, Kang, Josiam, Firouzbakht, and Tidestav teach Claim 15
However, neither Kang, Josiam, Firouzbakht, nor Tidestav teach wherein to determine the respective projection of energy, the at least one processor is configured to: for each respective direction of a plurality of directions in the coverage region: combine a respective conjugate transpose of a beamforming vector representing the beam of the plurality of beams with a respective steering vector associated with the respective direction to generate a respective combined value ; and apply a respective weight associated with the respective direction to the respective combined value to generate a respective weighted combined value wherein the respective projection of energy of the beam in the coverage region of the first beam is based on the respective weighted combined value generated for each respective direction of the plurality of directions.
Yet, Li 2 explicitly teaches wherein to determine the respective projection of energy, the at least one processor is configured to: for each respective direction of a plurality of directions in the coverage region: combine a respective conjugate transpose of a beamforming vector representing the beam of the plurality of beams with a respective steering vector associated with the respective direction to generate a respective second combined value (Pg. 5, Line 9 - performing mode normalization processing on the second intermediate vector to obtain a second reference vector; Wherein, the sixth formula is: p1 ‘ = u1-us * usH * u1;… represents a first intermediate vector, u1 represents a second unit vector, us represents a first unit vector, usH represents a conjugate transpose for us); and apply a respective weight associated with the respective direction to the respective second combined value to generate a respective weighted combined value (Pg. 2, Line 28 – rotating the direction of the first beam vector and the second beam vector according to the first included angle and the residual correlation coefficient to obtain a first target vector and a second target vector); wherein the respective projection of energy of the beam in the coverage region of the first beam is based on the respective weighted combined value generated for each respective direction of the plurality of directions (Pg. 2, Line 28 – rotating the direction of the first beam vector and the second beam vector according to the first included angle and the residual correlation coefficient to obtain a first target vector and a second target vector).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Li 2 to the teaching of Kang, Josiam, and Tidestav. The motivation for such would be as Li 2 provides that beamforming can be influenced by a system of weighted values (Li 2, Pg. 2, Line 28). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 17, Kang, Josiam, and Firouzbakht teach Claim 16
Neither Kang, Josiam, Firouzbakht, nor Tidestav teach wherein each respective weight is configured independent of signaling from the second network entity.
Yet, Li 2 expressly teaches wherein each respective weight is configured independent of signaling from the second network entity (Pg. 2, Line 28 – rotating the direction of the first beam vector and the second beam vector according to the first included angle and the residual correlation coefficient to obtain a first target vector and a second target vector. Examiner interprets these steps to show that the process of applying the weights is done independent of the second networking entity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Li 2 to the teaching of Kang, Josiam, and Tidestav. The motivation for such would be as Li 2 provides that beamforming can be influenced by a system of weighted values (Li 2, Pg. 2, Line 28). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 18, Kang, Josiam, and Firouzbakht teach Claim 16
Additionally, Kang Teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive, from the second network entity, each respective weight associated with each respective direction of the plurality of directions in the coverage region (¶0159 – the control information… the UE receives from the eNB may include a downlink/uplink ACK/NACK signal, a Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), a Precoding Matrix Index (PMI), a Rank Indicator (RI), and the like. Examiner interprets that the weight is considered under similar control information).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025 have been fully considered but are considered moot in light of the introduction of new reference Josiam et al. (KR 102010559 B1), hereinafter Josiam. In light of the newly introduced limitations regarding beam indices used to identify a beam pair between the first plurality of beams and a second plurality of beams, Examiner has introduced Josiam alongside previous references in order to provide a new rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 which better contextualizes the claimed material. Previous reference Li et al. (CN 117729636 A), hereinafter Li 1 has been maintained for several dependent claims. Examiner upholds all rejections on dependent claims that rely on the newly amended independent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Du, Guan-xian (CN 112822695 A) – Pg. 6, Line 45; and
Liu et al. (CN 115442190 A) – Pg. 9 Line 25.
/N.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475