The amendment filed 5/7/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-40 are pending.
Claims 1-40 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ibrahim et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210400654 A1) in view of Liu et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210100003 A1) and Abotabl et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210352667 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Ibrahim, Liu, and Abotabl.
In regard to Claim 1, Ibrahim teaches A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (UE, Para. 103), comprising: one or more frequency domain resources of the CORESET (CORESETs may be defined by a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources), Para. 103).
Ibrahim teaches receiving, from the network node, CORESET configuration information (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station. The maximum number of CORESETs may remain the same (e.g., up to three) for SBFD slots or half-duplex slots. For half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), CORESETs may be defined by a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources), whereas for SBFD slots, CORESETs may be defined by a second frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources_FD), Para. 103).
Ibrahim teaches receiving, from the network node and during a slot (FIG. 10 is a diagram 1000 illustrating an example CORESET configuration for HD and D+U slots (e.g., SBFD slot) for a UE, Para. 92, FIG. 10), a control channel communication via the CORESET (A PDCCH within one BWP may be referred to as a control resource set (CORESET), Para. 63, FIG. 2B. A CORESET may correspond to a set of physical resources in time that a UE uses to monitor for PDCCH/DCI, where each CORESET may include one or more symbols in the time domain, Para. 89), the CORESET being associated with a configuration that is based at least in part on a slot type associated with the slot, the slot type including a full-duplex slot type or a half-duplex slot type (a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources) may be provided for CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1402) in half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation) and a second frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources_FD) may be provided for CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14).
Ibrahim fails to teach transmitting, to a network node, a capability report indicating that the UE supports modification of available frequency domain resources of a control resource set (CORESET) based at least in part on a type of slot in which a monitoring occasion occurs, and although Ibrahim teaches receiving, from the network node, CORESET configuration information, Ibrahim fails to teach receiving, based at least in part on transmitting the capability report, information.
Liu teaches transmitting, to a network node, a capability report (the UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message to the base station (and/or to a network entity via a base station), Para. 109) indicating that the UE supports modification (The base station (or network entity) may use the UE type indicated in the UE capability message when selecting or otherwise configuring a control resource set for a control channel for the UE to monitor, Para. 110, FIG. 2) of available frequency domain resources of a control resource set (CORESET) (Slot configuration 215 illustrates an example of a control resource set 225 (e.g., CORESET 225) that expands the PDCCH region of the slot to eight symbols. The control resource set 225 configured according to slot configuration 215 may identify the time/frequency domain resources that the UE is to monitor in order to receive control information from the base station, Para. 115, FIG. 2) based at least in part on a type of slot (FIG. 2 illustrates a set of example slot configurations 200 that support PDCCH resources for reduced capability UE, Para. 105, FIG. 2. The control resource set 225 configured according to slot configuration 215, Para. 115, FIG. 2) in which a monitoring occasion occurs (selecting or otherwise configuring a control resource set for a control channel for the UE to monitor, Para. 110, FIG. 2).
Liu teaches one or more frequency domain resources of the CORESET (Slot configuration 215 illustrates an example of a control resource set 225 (e.g., CORESET 225) that expands the PDCCH region of the slot to eight symbols. The control resource set 225 configured according to slot configuration 215 may identify the time/frequency domain resources that the UE is to monitor in order to receive control information from the base station, Para. 115, FIG. 2).
Liu teaches receiving, based at least in part on transmitting the capability report (The base station (or network entity) may use the UE type indicated in the UE capability message when selecting or otherwise configuring a control resource set for a control channel for the UE to monitor, Para. 110, FIG. 2), information (The control resource set 225 configured according to slot configuration 215 may identify the time/frequency domain resources that the UE is to monitor in order to receive control information from the base station, Para. 115, FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Ibrahim since Liu provides a technique for a UE to transmit a capability message to a network device for configuring resources related to CORESETs, which can be introduced into the system of Ibrahim to permit UE to inform base stations of capabilities to permit appropriate configurations of resources involving CORESETs.
Although Ibrahim in view of Liu teaches one or more frequency domain resources of the CORESET, Ibrahim in view of Liu fails to teach wherein one or more frequency domain resources that at least partially overlap in a frequency domain with uplink resources or guard band resources of a full-duplex slot are unavailable during the full-duplex slot.
Abotabl teaches wherein one or more frequency domain resources (overlapping portion of the DL frequency portion 1704A, Para. 171, FIG. 17) that at least partially overlap in a frequency domain with uplink resources (an overlapping portion (in frequency) between uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) communications, Para. 170, FIG. 17) or guard band resources of a full-duplex slot (a slot for an SBFD carrier 1702, Para. 171, FIG. 17) are unavailable (The scheduled entity 106 disregarding any information related to the overlapping portion of the DL frequency portion 1704A, Para. 171, FIG. 17) during the full-duplex slot (a slot for an SBFD carrier 1702, Para. 171, FIG. 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abotabl with the teachings of Ibrahim in view of Liu since Abotabl provides a technique to disregard information related to overlapping portions of downlink and uplink communications in slots of SBFD, which can be introduced into the system of Ibrahim in view of Liu to permit certain frequency domain resources to be ignored and unutilized when those resources involve overlapping downlink transmissions and uplink transmissions that conflict within slots of SBFD.
In regard to Claim 2, Ibrahim teaches the CORESET configuration information indicates a set of frequency domain resources associated with the CORESET (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station, Para. 103), and wherein the configuration that is based at least on part on the slot type (for half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), CORESETs may be defined by a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources), whereas for SBFD slots, CORESETs may be defined by a second frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources_FD), Para. 103) includes: the set of frequency domain resources if the slot type is the half-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1402) in half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), or a subset of frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14), of the set of frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1402, Para. 106, FIG. 14) [the examiner notes that two inner frequency resources of 1404 are the same as the frequency resources at the outer edges of 1402, and are substantively the same as a “subset” of 1402’s frequency resources], if the slot type is the full-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14).
In regard to Claim 3, Ibrahim teaches the full-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14) includes one or more first subbands associated with downlink communications (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing resource bandwidths containing DL Data, Para. 106), one or more second subbands associated with uplink communications (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing a resource bandwidth containing PUSCH, Para. 106), and one or more guard bands (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing guard bands between the PUSCH resource bandwidth and the DL Data resource bandwidths, Para. 106, FIG. 5B), and wherein the subset of frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14) includes frequency domain resources that do not overlap in the frequency domain with the one or more second subbands (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing a resource bandwidth containing PUSCH, Para. 106) or the one or more guard bands (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing guard bands between the PUSCH resource bandwidth and the DL Data resource bandwidths, Para. 106, FIG. 5B).
In regard to Claim 4, Ibrahim teaches the CORESET configuration information indicates a set of frequency domain resources associated with the CORESET (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station, Para. 103), wherein the slot type is the full-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), and wherein the configuration that is based at least on part on the slot type is an adapted configuration (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station. For half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), CORESETs may be defined by a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources), whereas for SBFD slots, CORESETs may be defined by a second frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources_FD), Para. 103) associated with: one or more frequency domain resources (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), of the set of frequency domain resources (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station, Para. 103), that do not overlap in the frequency domain with uplink resources (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing a resource bandwidth containing PUSCH, Para. 106) or guard band resources (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing guard bands between the PUSCH resource bandwidth and the DL Data resource bandwidths, Para. 106, FIG. 5B) of the slot being available for the CORESET (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14).
In regard to Claim 5, Ibrahim teaches the CORESET configuration information indicates a set of frequency domain resources associated with the CORESET (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station, Para. 103), the method further comprising: performing one or more operations (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing resource bandwidths containing DL Data, Para. 106) associated with the CORESET using only a subset of frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14) of the set of frequency domain resources (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station, Para. 103) if the slot type is the full-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), wherein the subset of frequency domain resources includes frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14) that do not overlap in the frequency domain with uplink resources (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing a resource bandwidth containing PUSCH, Para. 106) or guard band resources of the slot (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing guard bands between the PUSCH resource bandwidth and the DL Data resource bandwidths, Para. 106, FIG. 5B).
In regard to Claim 6, Ibrahim teaches performing the one or more operations comprises: mapping one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates (monitor PDCCH candidates in a PDCCH search space (e.g., common search space, UE-specific search space) during PDCCH monitoring occasions on the CORESET, Para. 63, FIGS. 2B, 14) to the subset of frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14) if the slot type is the full-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14).
In regard to Claim 7, Ibrahim teaches performing the one or more operations comprises: performing an interleaving operation (transmission and reception of wireless signals necessarily includes a number of components for analog and digital purposes (e.g., interleaver), Para. 40. Layer 1, which includes a physical (PHY) layer, may include interleaving, Para. 67) using only the subset of frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14) if the slot type is the full-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14).
In regard to Claim 8, Ibrahim teaches the CORESET configuration information is associated with a search space configuration associated with a search space (the UE may also receive a configuration of one or more search space (SS) sets in a RBW and a SS set that defines one or more monitoring occasions of a CORESET in the RBW, Para. 97) that is associated with a first CORESET (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14) and a second CORESET (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1402) in half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), wherein the slot is associated with a control channel monitoring occasion that is associated with the search space (a first SS, e.g., SS1 1406, may be configured to define monitoring occasions in half-duplex slots and may be associated with the CORESET #1 at 1402. Similarly, a second SS, e.g., SS2 1408, may be configured to define monitoring occasions in the SBFD slots (e.g., D+U slots) and may be associated with the CORESET #1 at 1304, Para. 106, FIG. 14), and wherein the CORESET is the first CORESET if the slot type is the full-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14) or the second CORESET if the slot type is the half-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1402) in half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14).
In regard to Claim 9, Ibrahim teaches the first CORESET is associated with a first set of frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14) and the second CORESET is associated with a second set of frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1402, Para. 106, FIG. 14), and wherein the first set of frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14) do not overlap, in the frequency domain, with uplink resources (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing a resource bandwidth containing PUSCH, Para. 106) or guard band resources of the slot (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing guard bands between the PUSCH resource bandwidth and the DL Data resource bandwidths, Para. 106, FIG. 5B).
In regard to Claim 10, Ibrahim teaches the CORESET configuration information is associated with a search space configuration associated with a search space (the UE may also receive a configuration of one or more search space (SS) sets in a RBW and a SS set that defines one or more monitoring occasions of a CORESET in the RBW, Para. 97), wherein the search space configuration indicates that the search space is associated with a first CORESET group and a second CORESET group (when a UE receives SS1 1406, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in half-duplex slots, such as CORESET #1 at 1402. When the UE receives SS2 1408, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in SBFD lots, such as CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14), wherein the CORESET configuration information indicates groups (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station. For half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), CORESETs may be defined by a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources), whereas for SBFD slots, CORESETs may be defined by a second frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources_FD), Para. 103), from the first CORESET group (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14) or the second CORESET group (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1402) in half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), associated with the CORESET (When the UE receives SS2 1408, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in SBFD lots, such as CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14), wherein the first CORESET group is associated with the full-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14) and the second CORESET group is associated with the half-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1402) in half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), and wherein the CORESET is selected from the first CORESET group (When the UE receives SS2 1408, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in SBFD lots, such as CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14) or the second CORESET group based at least in part on the slot type (when a UE receives SS1 1406, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in half-duplex slots, such as CORESET #1 at 1402, Para. 106, FIG. 14).
In regard to Claim 11, Ibrahim teaches the CORESET configuration information is associated with a search space configuration associated with a search space (the UE may also receive a configuration of one or more search space (SS) sets in a RBW and a SS set that defines one or more monitoring occasions of a CORESET in the RBW, Para. 97), wherein the search space configuration indicates that the search space is associated with a first CORESET group and a second CORESET group (when a UE receives SS1 1406, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in half-duplex slots, such as CORESET #1 at 1402. When the UE receives SS2 1408, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in SBFD lots, such as CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14), and wherein the slot is associated with a control channel monitoring occasion that is associated with the search space (a first SS, e.g., SS1 1406, may be configured to define monitoring occasions in half-duplex slots and may be associated with the CORESET #1 at 1402. Similarly, a second SS, e.g., SS2 1408, may be configured to define monitoring occasions in the SBFD slots (e.g., D+U slots) and may be associated with the CORESET #1 at 1304, Para. 106, FIG. 14), the method further comprising: activating an active CORESET group, of the first CORESET group or the second CORESET group (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station. For half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), CORESETs may be defined by a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources), whereas for SBFD slots, CORESETs may be defined by a second frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources_FD), Para. 103), based at least in part on the slot type (For half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), CORESETs may be defined by a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources), whereas for SBFD slots, CORESETs may be defined by a second frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources_FD), Para. 103), wherein the CORESET is included in the active CORESET group (a first SS, e.g., SS1 1406, may be configured to define monitoring occasions associated with the CORESET #1 at 1402. Similarly, a second SS, e.g., SS2 1408, may be configured to define monitoring occasions associated with the CORESET #2 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14).
In regard to Claim 12, Ibrahim teaches the first CORESET group is associated with the full-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14) and the second CORESET group is associated with the half-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1402) in half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), wherein the slot type is the half-duplex slot type (CORESET #1 in half-duplex slots, such as CORESET #1 at 1402, Para. 106, FIG. 14), and wherein the active CORESET group is the second CORESET group (when a UE receives SS1 1406, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in half-duplex slots, such as CORESET #1 at 1402, Para. 106, FIG. 14), the method further comprising: switching, for another control channel monitoring occasion, included in another slot, that is associated with the search space (When the UE receives SS2 1408, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in SBFD lots, such as CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14), the active CORESET group from the second CORESET group to the first CORESET group based at least in part on the other slot being the full-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14); and receiving, during the other slot, another control channel communication using another CORESET, of the one or more CORESETs, that is included in the first CORESET group (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), based at least in part on switching the active CORESET group (a second SS, e.g., SS2 1408, may be configured to define monitoring occasions in the SBFD slots (e.g., D+U slots) and may be associated with the CORESET #1 at 1304, Para. 106, FIG. 14).
In regard to Claim 13, Ibrahim teaches the CORESET configuration information is associated with a search space configuration associated with a search space (the UE may also receive a configuration of one or more search space (SS) sets in a RBW and a SS set that defines one or more monitoring occasions of a CORESET in the RBW, Para. 97) that is associated with the CORESET configuration information (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station. For half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), CORESETs may be defined by a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources), whereas for SBFD slots, CORESETs may be defined by a second frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources_FD), Para. 103), and wherein the search space is a UE-specific search space (when a UE receives SS1 1406, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in half-duplex slots, such as CORESET #1 at 1402. When the UE receives SS2 1408, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in SBFD lots, such as CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14).
In regard to Claim 14, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Ibrahim teaches the UE.
Ibrahim fails to teach the capability report further indicates that the UE supports adapting CORESET configurations according to slot types, and wherein the reception of the control channel communication using the configuration that is based at least in part on the slot type is based at least in part on the transmission of the capability report.
Liu teaches the capability report (a UE capability message, Para. 109, FIG. 2) further indicates (the UE type may be associated with, for example, a reduced capability UE having a reduced bandwidth, Para. 109, FIG. 2) that the UE supports adapting CORESET configurations (a control resource set 225 (e.g., CORESET 225), Para. 115, FIG. 2. Control resource set 225 selected by the base station, as illustrated in slot configurations 205, 210, 215, and/or 220, expand the size of the control region with a slot in order to support the reduced capability UE type, Para. 117, FIG. 2) according to slot types (FIG. 2 illustrates a set of example slot configurations 200 that support PDCCH resources for reduced capability UE, Para. 105, FIG. 2. The control resource set 225 configured according to slot configuration 215, Para. 115, FIG. 2), and wherein the reception of the control channel communication (receive control information from the base station, Para. 115, FIG. 2) using the configuration (The control resource set 225 may be configured dynamically, Para. 115, FIG. 2) that is based at least in part on the slot type (FIG. 2 illustrates a set of example slot configurations 200 that support PDCCH resources for reduced capability UE, Para. 105, FIG. 2. The control resource set 225 configured according to slot configuration 215, Para. 115, FIG. 2) is based at least in part on the transmission of the capability report (The base station (or network entity) may use the UE type indicated in the UE capability message when selecting or otherwise configuring a control resource set for a control channel for the UE to monitor, Para. 110, FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Ibrahim since Liu provides a technique for a UE to transmit a capability message to a network device for configuring resources related to CORESETs, which can be introduced into the system of Ibrahim to permit UE to inform base stations of capabilities to permit appropriate configurations of resources involving CORESETs.
In regard to Claim 15, Ibrahim teaches the CORESET is associated with a set of frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14), and wherein the set of frequency domain resources includes one or more control channel elements (monitor PDCCH candidates in a PDCCH search space (e.g., common search space, UE-specific search space) during PDCCH monitoring occasions on the CORESET, Para. 63, FIGS. 2B, 14).
In regard to Claim 16, Ibrahim teaches the full-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14) includes a subband full-duplex slot type (CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14).
In regard to Claim 17, Ibrahim teaches A method of wireless communication performed by a network node (base station, Para. 103), comprising: one or more frequency domain resources of the CORESET (For half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), CORESETs may be defined by a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources), Para. 103).
Ibrahim teaches transmitting CORESET configuration information to the UE (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station. The maximum number of CORESETs may remain the same (e.g., up to three) for SBFD slots or half-duplex slots. For half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), CORESETs may be defined by a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources), whereas for SBFD slots, CORESETs may be defined by a second frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources_FD), Para. 103).
Ibrahim teaches transmitting, during a slot (FIG. 10 is a diagram 1000 illustrating an example CORESET configuration for HD and D+U slots (e.g., SBFD slot) for a UE, Para. 92, FIG. 10), a control channel communication, for the UE, via the CORESET (A PDCCH within one BWP may be referred to as a control resource set (CORESET), Para. 63, FIG. 2B. A CORESET may correspond to a set of physical resources in time that a UE uses to monitor for PDCCH/DCI, where each CORESET may include one or more symbols in the time domain, Para. 89), the CORESET being associated with a configuration that is based at least in part on a slot type associated with the slot, the slot type including a full-duplex slot type or a half-duplex slot type (a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources) may be provided for CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1402) in half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation) and a second frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources_FD) may be provided for CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14).
Ibrahim fails to teach receiving a capability report indicating that a user equipment (UE) supports modification of available frequency domain resources of a control resource set (CORESET) based at least in part on a type of slot in which a monitoring occasion occurs, and although Ibrahim teaches transmitting CORESET configuration information to the UE, Ibrahim fails to teach transmitting, based at least in part on receiving the capability report, information.
Liu teaches receiving a capability report (the UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message to the base station (and/or to a network entity via a base station), Para. 109) indicating that a user equipment (UE) supports modification (The base station (or network entity) may use the UE type indicated in the UE capability message when selecting or otherwise configuring a control resource set for a control channel for the UE to monitor, Para. 110, FIG. 2) of available frequency domain resources of a control resource set (CORESET) (Slot configuration 215 illustrates an example of a control resource set 225 (e.g., CORESET 225) that expands the PDCCH region of the slot to eight symbols. The control resource set 225 configured according to slot configuration 215 may identify the time/frequency domain resources that the UE is to monitor in order to receive control information from the base station, Para. 115, FIG. 2) based at least in part on a type of slot (FIG. 2 illustrates a set of example slot configurations 200 that support PDCCH resources for reduced capability UE, Para. 105, FIG. 2. The control resource set 225 configured according to slot configuration 215, Para. 115, FIG. 2) in which a monitoring occasion occurs (selecting or otherwise configuring a control resource set for a control channel for the UE to monitor, Para. 110, FIG. 2).
Liu teaches one or more frequency domain resources of the CORESET (Slot configuration 215 illustrates an example of a control resource set 225 (e.g., CORESET 225) that expands the PDCCH region of the slot to eight symbols. The control resource set 225 configured according to slot configuration 215 may identify the time/frequency domain resources that the UE is to monitor in order to receive control information from the base station, Para. 115, FIG. 2).
Liu teaches transmitting, based at least in part on receiving the capability report (The base station (or network entity) may use the UE type indicated in the UE capability message when selecting or otherwise configuring a control resource set for a control channel for the UE to monitor, Para. 110, FIG. 2), information (The control resource set 225 configured according to slot configuration 215 may identify the time/frequency domain resources that the UE is to monitor in order to receive control information from the base station, Para. 115, FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Ibrahim since Liu provides a technique for a UE to transmit a capability message to a network device for configuring resources related to CORESETs, which can be introduced into the system of Ibrahim to permit UE to inform base stations of capabilities to permit appropriate configurations of resources involving CORESETs.
Although Ibrahim in view of Liu teaches one or more frequency domain resources of the CORESET, Ibrahim in view of Liu fails to teach wherein one or more frequency domain resources that at least partially overlap in a frequency domain with uplink resources or guard band resources of a full-duplex slot are unavailable during the full-duplex slot.
Abotabl teaches wherein one or more frequency domain resources (overlapping portion of the DL frequency portion 1704A, Para. 171, FIG. 17) that at least partially overlap in a frequency domain with uplink resources (an overlapping portion (in frequency) between uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) communications, Para. 170, FIG. 17) or guard band resources of a full-duplex slot (a slot for an SBFD carrier 1702, Para. 171, FIG. 17) are unavailable (The scheduled entity 106 disregarding any information related to the overlapping portion of the DL frequency portion 1704A, Para. 171, FIG. 17) during the full-duplex slot (a slot for an SBFD carrier 1702, Para. 171, FIG. 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abotabl with the teachings of Ibrahim in view of Liu since Abotabl provides a technique to disregard information related to overlapping portions of downlink and uplink communications in slots of SBFD, which can be introduced into the system of Ibrahim in view of Liu to permit certain frequency domain resources to be ignored and unutilized when those resources involve overlapping downlink transmissions and uplink transmissions that conflict within slots of SBFD.
In regard to Claim 18, Ibrahim teaches the CORESET configuration information indicates a set of frequency domain resources associated with the CORESET (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station, Para. 103), and wherein the configuration that is based at least on part on the slot type (for half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), CORESETs may be defined by a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources), whereas for SBFD slots, CORESETs may be defined by a second frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources_FD), Para. 103) includes: the set of frequency domain resources if the slot type is the half-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1402) in half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), or a subset of frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14), of the set of frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1402, Para. 106, FIG. 14) [the examiner notes that two inner frequency resources of 1404 are the same as the frequency resources at the outer edges of 1402, and are substantively the same as a “subset” of 1402’s frequency resources], if the slot type is the full-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14).
In regard to Claim 19, Ibrahim teaches the full-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation) includes one or more first subbands associated with downlink communications (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing resource bandwidths containing DL Data, Para. 106), one or more second subbands associated with uplink communications (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing a resource bandwidth containing PUSCH, Para. 106), and one or more guard bands (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing guard bands between the PUSCH resource bandwidth and the DL Data resource bandwidths, Para. 106, FIG. 5B), and wherein the subset of frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14) includes frequency domain resources that do not overlap in the frequency domain with the one or more second subbands (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing a resource bandwidth containing PUSCH, Para. 106) or the one or more guard bands (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing guard bands between the PUSCH resource bandwidth and the DL Data resource bandwidths, Para. 106, FIG. 5B).
In regard to Claim 20, Ibrahim teaches the CORESET configuration information indicates a set of frequency domain resources associated with the CORESET (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station, Para. 103), wherein the slot type is the full-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), and wherein the configuration that is based at least on part on the slot type is an adapted configuration (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station. For half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), CORESETs may be defined by a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources), whereas for SBFD slots, CORESETs may be defined by a second frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources_FD), Para. 103) associated with: one or more frequency domain resources (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), of the set of frequency domain resources (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station, Para. 103), that do not overlap in the frequency domain with uplink resources (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing a resource bandwidth containing PUSCH, Para. 106) or guard band resources (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing guard bands between the PUSCH resource bandwidth and the DL Data resource bandwidths, Para. 106, FIG. 5B) of the slot being available for the CORESET (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14).
In regard to Claim 21, Ibrahim teaches the CORESET configuration information is associated with a search space configuration associated with a search space (the UE may also receive a configuration of one or more search space (SS) sets in a RBW and a SS set that defines one or more monitoring occasions of a CORESET in the RBW, Para. 97) that is associated with a first CORESET (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14) and a second CORESET (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1402) in half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), wherein the slot is associated with a control channel monitoring occasion that is associated with the search space (a first SS, e.g., SS1 1406, may be configured to define monitoring occasions in half-duplex slots and may be associated with the CORESET #1 at 1402. Similarly, a second SS, e.g., SS2 1408, may be configured to define monitoring occasions in the SBFD slots (e.g., D+U slots) and may be associated with the CORESET #1 at 1304, Para. 106, FIG. 14), and wherein the CORESET is the first CORESET if the slot type is the full-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14) or the second CORESET if the slot type is the half-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1402) in half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14).
In regard to Claim 22, Ibrahim teaches the CORESET configuration information is associated with a search space configuration associated with a search space (the UE may also receive a configuration of one or more search space (SS) sets in a RBW and a SS set that defines one or more monitoring occasions of a CORESET in the RBW, Para. 97), wherein the search space configuration indicates that the search space is associated with a first CORESET group and a second CORESET group (when a UE receives SS1 1406, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in half-duplex slots, such as CORESET #1 at 1402. When the UE receives SS2 1408, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in SBFD lots, such as CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14), wherein the CORESET configuration information indicates groups (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station. For half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), CORESETs may be defined by a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources), whereas for SBFD slots, CORESETs may be defined by a second frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources_FD), Para. 103), from the first CORESET group (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14) or the second CORESET group (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1402) in half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), associated with the CORESET (A UE may be configured with multiple CORESETs, Para. 89), wherein the first CORESET group is associated with the full-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14) and the second CORESET group is associated with the half-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1402) in half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), and wherein the CORESET is selected from the first CORESET group (When the UE receives SS2 1408, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in SBFD lots, such as CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14) or the second CORESET group based at least in part on the slot type (when a UE receives SS1 1406, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in half-duplex slots, such as CORESET #1 at 1402, Para. 106, FIG. 14).
In regard to Claim 23, Ibrahim teaches the CORESET configuration information is associated with a search space configuration associated with a search space (the UE may also receive a configuration of one or more search space (SS) sets in a RBW and a SS set that defines one or more monitoring occasions of a CORESET in the RBW, Para. 97), wherein the search space configuration indicates that the search space is associated with a first CORESET group and a second CORESET group (when a UE receives SS1 1406, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in half-duplex slots, such as CORESET #1 at 1402. When the UE receives SS2 1408, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in SBFD lots, such as CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14), and wherein the slot is associated with a control channel monitoring occasion that is associated with the search space (a first SS, e.g., SS1 1406, may be configured to define monitoring occasions in half-duplex slots and may be associated with the CORESET #1 at 1402. Similarly, a second SS, e.g., SS2 1408, may be configured to define monitoring occasions in the SBFD slots (e.g., D+U slots) and may be associated with the CORESET #1 at 1304, Para. 106, FIG. 14), the method further comprising: activating an active CORESET group, of the first CORESET group or the second CORESET group (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station. For half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), CORESETs may be defined by a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources), whereas for SBFD slots, CORESETs may be defined by a second frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources_FD), Para. 103), based at least in part on the slot type (For half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), CORESETs may be defined by a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources), whereas for SBFD slots, CORESETs may be defined by a second frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources_FD), Para. 103), wherein the CORESET is included in the active CORESET group (a first SS, e.g., SS1 1406, may be configured to define monitoring occasions associated with the CORESET #1 at 1402. Similarly, a second SS, e.g., SS2 1408, may be configured to define monitoring occasions associated with the CORESET #2 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14).
In regard to Claim 24, Ibrahim teaches A user equipment (UE) (UE 350, Para. 68, FIG. 3) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more antennas (the UE 104 may each include a plurality of antennas, Para. 50, FIG. 1); and a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories that store code and are coupled with the one or more processors (controller/processor 359 can be associated with a memory 360 that stores program codes, Para. 69, FIG. 3), the processing system configured to cause the UE to: one or more frequency domain resources of the CORESET (For half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), CORESETs may be defined by a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources), Para. 103).
Ibrahim teaches receive, from the network node, CORESET configuration information (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station. The maximum number of CORESETs may remain the same (e.g., up to three) for SBFD slots or half-duplex slots. For half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), CORESETs may be defined by a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources), whereas for SBFD slots, CORESETs may be defined by a second frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources_FD), Para. 103).
Ibrahim teaches receive, from the network node and during a slot (FIG. 10 is a diagram 1000 illustrating an example CORESET configuration for HD and D+U slots (e.g., SBFD slot) for a UE, Para. 92, FIG. 10), a control channel communication via the CORESET (A PDCCH within one BWP may be referred to as a control resource set (CORESET), Para. 63, FIG. 2B. A CORESET may correspond to a set of physical resources in time that a UE uses to monitor for PDCCH/DCI, where each CORESET may include one or more symbols in the time domain, Para. 89), the CORESET being associated with a configuration that is based at least in part on a slot type associated with the slot, the slot type including a full-duplex slot type or a half-duplex slot type (a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources) may be provided for CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1402) in half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation) and a second frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources_FD) may be provided for CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14).
Ibrahim fails to teach transmit, to a network node, a capability report indicating that the UE supports modification of available frequency domain resources of a control resource set (CORESET) based at least in part on a type of slot in which a monitoring occasion occurs, and although Ibrahim teaches receive, from the network node, CORESET configuration information, Ibrahim fails to teach receive, based at least in part on transmitting the capability report, information.
Liu teaches transmit, to a network node, a capability report (the UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message to the base station (and/or to a network entity via a base station), Para. 109) indicating that the UE supports modification (The base station (or network entity) may use the UE type indicated in the UE capability message when selecting or otherwise configuring a control resource set for a control channel for the UE to monitor, Para. 110, FIG. 2) of available frequency domain resources of a control resource set (CORESET) (Slot configuration 215 illustrates an example of a control resource set 225 (e.g., CORESET 225) that expands the PDCCH region of the slot to eight symbols. The control resource set 225 configured according to slot configuration 215 may identify the time/frequency domain resources that the UE is to monitor in order to receive control information from the base station, Para. 115, FIG. 2) based at least in part on a type of slot (FIG. 2 illustrates a set of example slot configurations 200 that support PDCCH resources for reduced capability UE, Para. 105, FIG. 2. The control resource set 225 configured according to slot configuration 215, Para. 115, FIG. 2) in which a monitoring occasion occurs (selecting or otherwise configuring a control resource set for a control channel for the UE to monitor, Para. 110, FIG. 2).
Liu teaches one or more frequency domain resources of the CORESET (Slot configuration 215 illustrates an example of a control resource set 225 (e.g., CORESET 225) that expands the PDCCH region of the slot to eight symbols. The control resource set 225 configured according to slot configuration 215 may identify the time/frequency domain resources that the UE is to monitor in order to receive control information from the base station, Para. 115, FIG. 2).
Liu teaches receive, based at least in part on transmitting the capability report (The base station (or network entity) may use the UE type indicated in the UE capability message when selecting or otherwise configuring a control resource set for a control channel for the UE to monitor, Para. 110, FIG. 2), information (The control resource set 225 configured according to slot configuration 215 may identify the time/frequency domain resources that the UE is to monitor in order to receive control information from the base station, Para. 115, FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Ibrahim since Liu provides a technique for a UE to transmit a capability message to a network device for configuring resources related to CORESETs, which can be introduced into the system of Ibrahim to permit UE to inform base stations of capabilities to permit appropriate configurations of resources involving CORESETs.
Although Ibrahim in view of Liu teaches one or more frequency domain resources of the CORESET, Ibrahim in view of Liu fails to teach wherein one or more frequency domain resources that at least partially overlap in a frequency domain with uplink resources or guard band resources of a full-duplex slot are unavailable during the full-duplex slot.
Abotabl teaches wherein one or more frequency domain resources (overlapping portion of the DL frequency portion 1704A, Para. 171, FIG. 17) that at least partially overlap in a frequency domain with uplink resources (an overlapping portion (in frequency) between uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) communications, Para. 170, FIG. 17) or guard band resources of a full-duplex slot (a slot for an SBFD carrier 1702, Para. 171, FIG. 17) are unavailable (The scheduled entity 106 disregarding any information related to the overlapping portion of the DL frequency portion 1704A, Para. 171, FIG. 17) during the full-duplex slot (a slot for an SBFD carrier 1702, Para. 171, FIG. 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abotabl with the teachings of Ibrahim in view of Liu since Abotabl provides a technique to disregard information related to overlapping portions of downlink and uplink communications in slots of SBFD, which can be introduced into the system of Ibrahim in view of Liu to permit certain frequency domain resources to be ignored and unutilized when those resources involve overlapping downlink transmissions and uplink transmissions that conflict within slots of SBFD.
In regard to Claim 25, Ibrahim teaches the CORESET configuration information indicates a set of frequency domain resources associated with the CORESET (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station, Para. 103), and wherein the configuration that is based at least on part on the slot type (for half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), CORESETs may be defined by a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources), whereas for SBFD slots, CORESETs may be defined by a second frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources_FD), Para. 103) includes: the set of frequency domain resources if the slot type is the half-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1402) in half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), or a subset of frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14), of the set of frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1402, Para. 106, FIG. 14) [the examiner notes that two inner frequency resources of 1404 are the same as the frequency resources at the outer edges of 1402, and are substantively the same as a “subset” of 1402’s frequency resources], if the slot type is the full-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14).
In regard to Claim 26, Ibrahim teaches the full-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14) includes one or more first subbands associated with downlink communications (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing resource bandwidths containing DL Data, Para. 106), one or more second subbands associated with uplink communications (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing a resource bandwidth containing PUSCH, Para. 106), and one or more guard bands (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing guard bands between the PUSCH resource bandwidth and the DL Data resource bandwidths, Para. 106, FIG. 5B), and wherein the subset of frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14) includes frequency domain resources that do not overlap in the frequency domain with the one or more second subbands (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing a resource bandwidth containing PUSCH, Para. 106) or the one or more guard bands (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing guard bands between the PUSCH resource bandwidth and the DL Data resource bandwidths, Para. 106, FIG. 5B).
In regard to Claim 27, Ibrahim teaches the CORESET configuration information indicates a set of frequency domain resources associated with the CORESET (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station, Para. 103), wherein the slot type is the full-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), and wherein the configuration that is based at least on part on the slot type is an adapted configuration (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station. For half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), CORESETs may be defined by a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources), whereas for SBFD slots, CORESETs may be defined by a second frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources_FD), Para. 103) associated with: one or more frequency domain resources (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), of the set of frequency domain resources (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station, Para. 103), that do not overlap in the frequency domain with uplink resources (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing a resource bandwidth containing PUSCH, Para. 106) or guard band resources (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing guard bands between the PUSCH resource bandwidth and the DL Data resource bandwidths, Para. 106, FIG. 5B) of the slot being available for the CORESET (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14).
In regard to Claim 28, Ibrahim teaches the CORESET configuration information indicates a set of frequency domain resources associated with the CORESET (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station, Para. 103), wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to: perform one or more operations (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing resource bandwidths containing DL Data, Para. 106) associated with the CORESET using: only a subset of frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14) of the set of frequency domain resources (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station, Para. 103) if the slot type is the full-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), or the set of frequency domain resources if the slot type is the half-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), and wherein the subset of frequency domain resources includes frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14) that do not overlap in the frequency domain with uplink resources (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing a resource bandwidth containing PUSCH, Para. 106) or guard band resources of the slot (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing guard bands between the PUSCH resource bandwidth and the DL Data resource bandwidths, Para. 106, FIG. 5B).
In regard to Claim 29, Ibrahim teaches the CORESET configuration information is associated with a search space configuration associated with a search space (the UE may also receive a configuration of one or more search space (SS) sets in a RBW and a SS set that defines one or more monitoring occasions of a CORESET in the RBW, Para. 97) that is associated with a first CORESET (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14) and a second CORESET (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1402) in half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), wherein the slot is associated with a control channel monitoring occasion that is associated with the search space (a first SS, e.g., SS1 1406, may be configured to define monitoring occasions in half-duplex slots and may be associated with the CORESET #1 at 1402. Similarly, a second SS, e.g., SS2 1408, may be configured to define monitoring occasions in the SBFD slots (e.g., D+U slots) and may be associated with the CORESET #1 at 1304, Para. 106, FIG. 14), and wherein the CORESET is the first CORESET if the slot type is the full-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation) or the second CORESET if the slot type is the half-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1402) in half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14).
In regard to Claim 30, Ibrahim teaches the first CORESET is associated with a first set of frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14) and the second CORESET is associated with a second set of frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1402, Para. 106, FIG. 14), and wherein the first set of frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14) do not overlap, in the frequency domain, with uplink resources (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing a resource bandwidth containing PUSCH, Para. 106) or guard band resources of the full-duplex slot type (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing guard bands between the PUSCH resource bandwidth and the DL Data resource bandwidths, Para. 106, FIG. 5B).
In regard to Claim 31, Ibrahim teaches the CORESET configuration information is associated with a search space configuration associated with a search space (the UE may also receive a configuration of one or more search space (SS) sets in a RBW and a SS set that defines one or more monitoring occasions of a CORESET in the RBW, Para. 97), wherein the search space configuration indicates that the search space is associated with a first CORESET group and a second CORESET group (when a UE receives SS1 1406, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in half-duplex slots, such as CORESET #1 at 1402. When the UE receives SS2 1408, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in SBFD lots, such as CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14), wherein the CORESET configuration information indicates groups (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station. For half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), CORESETs may be defined by a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources), whereas for SBFD slots, CORESETs may be defined by a second frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources_FD), Para. 103), from the first CORESET group (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14) or the second CORESET group (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1402) in half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), associated with the CORESET (A UE may be configured with multiple CORESETs, Para. 89), wherein the first CORESET group is associated with the full-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14) and the second CORESET group is associated with the half-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1402) in half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), and wherein the CORESET is selected from the first CORESET group (When the UE receives SS2 1408, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in SBFD lots, such as CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14) or the second CORESET group based at least in part on the slot type (when a UE receives SS1 1406, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in half-duplex slots, such as CORESET #1 at 1402, Para. 106, FIG. 14).
In regard to Claim 32, Ibrahim teaches the CORESET configuration information is associated with a search space configuration associated with a search space (the UE may also receive a configuration of one or more search space (SS) sets in a RBW and a SS set that defines one or more monitoring occasions of a CORESET in the RBW, Para. 97), wherein the search space configuration indicates that the search space is associated with a first CORESET group and a second CORESET group (when a UE receives SS1 1406, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in half-duplex slots, such as CORESET #1 at 1402. When the UE receives SS2 1408, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in SBFD lots, such as CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14), and wherein the slot is associated with a control channel monitoring occasion that is associated with the search space (a first SS, e.g., SS1 1406, may be configured to define monitoring occasions in half-duplex slots and may be associated with the CORESET #1 at 1402. Similarly, a second SS, e.g., SS2 1408, may be configured to define monitoring occasions in the SBFD slots (e.g., D+U slots) and may be associated with the CORESET #1 at 1304, Para. 106, FIG. 14), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: activate an active CORESET group, of the first CORESET group or the second CORESET group (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station. For half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), CORESETs may be defined by a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources), whereas for SBFD slots, CORESETs may be defined by a second frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources_FD), Para. 103), based at least in part on the slot type (For half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), CORESETs may be defined by a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources), whereas for SBFD slots, CORESETs may be defined by a second frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources_FD), Para. 103), wherein the CORESET is included in the active CORESET group (a first SS, e.g., SS1 1406, may be configured to define monitoring occasions associated with the CORESET #1 at 1402. Similarly, a second SS, e.g., SS2 1408, may be configured to define monitoring occasions associated with the CORESET #2 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14).
In regard to Claim 33, Ibrahim teaches the first CORESET group is associated with the full-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14) and the second CORESET group is associated with the half-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1402) in half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), wherein the slot type is the half-duplex slot type (CORESET #1 in half-duplex slots, such as CORESET #1 at 1402, Para. 106, FIG. 14), and wherein the active CORESET group is the second CORESET group (when a UE receives SS1 1406, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in half-duplex slots, such as CORESET #1 at 1402, Para. 106, FIG. 14), wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to: switch, for another control channel monitoring occasion, included in another slot, that is associated with the search space (When the UE receives SS2 1408, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in SBFD lots, such as CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14), the active CORESET group from the second CORESET group to the first CORESET group based at least in part on the other slot being the full-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14); and receive, during the other slot, another control channel communication using another CORESET, of the one or more CORESETs, that is included in the first CORESET group (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), based at least in part on switching the active CORESET group (a second SS, e.g., SS2 1408, may be configured to define monitoring occasions in the SBFD slots (e.g., D+U slots) and may be associated with the CORESET #1 at 1304, Para. 106, FIG. 14).
In regard to Claim 34, as presented in the rejection of Claim 24, Ibrahim teaches the UE.
Ibrahim fails to teach the capability report further indicates that the UE supports adapting CORESET configurations according to slot types, and wherein the reception of the control channel communication using the configuration that is based at least in part on the slot type is based at least in part on the transmission of the capability report.
Liu teaches the capability report (a UE capability message, Para. 109, FIG. 2) further indicates (the UE type may be associated with, for example, a reduced capability UE having a reduced bandwidth, Para. 109, FIG. 2) that the UE supports adapting CORESET configurations (a control resource set 225 (e.g., CORESET 225), Para. 115, FIG. 2. Control resource set 225 selected by the base station, as illustrated in slot configurations 205, 210, 215, and/or 220, expand the size of the control region with a slot in order to support the reduced capability UE type, Para. 117, FIG. 2) according to slot types (FIG. 2 illustrates a set of example slot configurations 200 that support PDCCH resources for reduced capability UE, Para. 105, FIG. 2. The control resource set 225 configured according to slot configuration 215, Para. 115, FIG. 2), and wherein the reception of the control channel communication (receive control information from the base station, Para. 115, FIG. 2) using the configuration (The control resource set 225 may be configured dynamically, Para. 115, FIG. 2) that is based at least in part on the slot type (FIG. 2 illustrates a set of example slot configurations 200 that support PDCCH resources for reduced capability UE, Para. 105, FIG. 2. The control resource set 225 configured according to slot configuration 215, Para. 115, FIG. 2) is based at least in part on the transmission of the capability report (The base station (or network entity) may use the UE type indicated in the UE capability message when selecting or otherwise configuring a control resource set for a control channel for the UE to monitor, Para. 110, FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Ibrahim since Liu provides a technique for a UE to transmit a capability message to a network device for configuring resources related to CORESETs, which can be introduced into the system of Ibrahim to permit UE to inform base stations of capabilities to permit appropriate configurations of resources involving CORESETs.
In regard to Claim 35, Ibrahim teaches A network node (base station 310, Para. 72, FIG. 3) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more antennas (base station 180 may each include a plurality of antennas, Para. 50, FIG. 1); and a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories that store code and are coupled with the one or more processors (controller/processor 375 can be associated with a memory 376 that stores program codes, Para. 73, FIG. 3), the processing system configured to cause the network node to: one or more frequency domain resources of the CORESET (For half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), CORESETs may be defined by a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources), Para. 103).
Ibrahim teaches transmit CORESET configuration information (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station. The maximum number of CORESETs may remain the same (e.g., up to three) for SBFD slots or half-duplex slots. For half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), CORESETs may be defined by a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources), whereas for SBFD slots, CORESETs may be defined by a second frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources_FD), Para. 103).
Ibrahim teaches transmit, during a slot (FIG. 10 is a diagram 1000 illustrating an example CORESET configuration for HD and D+U slots (e.g., SBFD slot) for a UE, Para. 92, FIG. 10), a control channel communication, for the UE, via the CORESET (A PDCCH within one BWP may be referred to as a control resource set (CORESET), Para. 63, FIG. 2B. A CORESET may correspond to a set of physical resources in time that a UE uses to monitor for PDCCH/DCI, where each CORESET may include one or more symbols in the time domain, Para. 89), the CORESET being associated with a configuration that is based at least in part on a slot type associated with the slot, the slot type including a full-duplex slot type or a half-duplex slot type (a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources) may be provided for CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1402) in half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation) and a second frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources_FD) may be provided for CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14).
Ibrahim fails to teach receive a capability report indicating that a user equipment (UE) supports modification of available frequency domain resources of a control resource set (CORESET) based at least in part on a type of slot in which a monitoring occasion occurs, and although Ibrahim teaches transmit CORESET configuration information, Ibrahim fails to teach transmit, based at least in part on receiving the capability report, information.
Liu teaches receive a capability report (the UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message to the base station (and/or to a network entity via a base station), Para. 109) indicating that a user equipment (UE) supports modification (The base station (or network entity) may use the UE type indicated in the UE capability message when selecting or otherwise configuring a control resource set for a control channel for the UE to monitor, Para. 110, FIG. 2) of available frequency domain resources of a control resource set (CORESET) (Slot configuration 215 illustrates an example of a control resource set 225 (e.g., CORESET 225) that expands the PDCCH region of the slot to eight symbols. The control resource set 225 configured according to slot configuration 215 may identify the time/frequency domain resources that the UE is to monitor in order to receive control information from the base station, Para. 115, FIG. 2) based at least in part on a type of slot (FIG. 2 illustrates a set of example slot configurations 200 that support PDCCH resources for reduced capability UE, Para. 105, FIG. 2. The control resource set 225 configured according to slot configuration 215, Para. 115, FIG. 2) in which a monitoring occasion occurs (selecting or otherwise configuring a control resource set for a control channel for the UE to monitor, Para. 110, FIG. 2).
Liu teaches one or more frequency domain resources of the CORESET (Slot configuration 215 illustrates an example of a control resource set 225 (e.g., CORESET 225) that expands the PDCCH region of the slot to eight symbols. The control resource set 225 configured according to slot configuration 215 may identify the time/frequency domain resources that the UE is to monitor in order to receive control information from the base station, Para. 115, FIG. 2).
Liu teaches transmit, based at least in part on receiving the capability report (The base station (or network entity) may use the UE type indicated in the UE capability message when selecting or otherwise configuring a control resource set for a control channel for the UE to monitor, Para. 110, FIG. 2), information (The control resource set 225 configured according to slot configuration 215 may identify the time/frequency domain resources that the UE is to monitor in order to receive control information from the base station, Para. 115, FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Ibrahim since Liu provides a technique for a UE to transmit a capability message to a network device for configuring resources related to CORESETs, which can be introduced into the system of Ibrahim to permit UE to inform base stations of capabilities to permit appropriate configurations of resources involving CORESETs.
Although Ibrahim in view of Liu teaches one or more frequency domain resources of the CORESET available for a half-duplex slot type, Ibrahim in view of Liu fails to teach wherein one or more frequency domain resources that at least partially overlap in a frequency domain with uplink resources or guard band resources of a full-duplex slot are unavailable during the full-duplex slot.
Abotabl teaches wherein one or more frequency domain resources (overlapping portion of the DL frequency portion 1704A, Para. 171, FIG. 17) that at least partially overlap in a frequency domain with uplink resources (an overlapping portion (in frequency) between uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) communications, Para. 170, FIG. 17) or guard band resources of a full-duplex slot (a slot for an SBFD carrier 1702, Para. 171, FIG. 17) are unavailable (The scheduled entity 106 disregarding any information related to the overlapping portion of the DL frequency portion 1704A, Para. 171, FIG. 17) during the full-duplex slot (a slot for an SBFD carrier 1702, Para. 171, FIG. 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abotabl with the teachings of Ibrahim in view of Liu since Abotabl provides a technique to disregard information related to overlapping portions of downlink and uplink communications in slots of SBFD, which can be introduced into the system of Ibrahim in view of Liu to permit certain frequency domain resources to be ignored and unutilized when those resources involve overlapping downlink transmissions and uplink transmissions that conflict within slots of SBFD.
In regard to Claim 36, Ibrahim teaches the CORESET configuration information indicates a set of frequency domain resources associated with the CORESET (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station, Para. 103), wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the network node to: perform one or more operations (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing resource bandwidths containing DL Data, Para. 106) associated with the CORESET using: only a subset of frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14) of the set of frequency domain resources (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station, Para. 103) if the slot type is the full-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), or the set of frequency domain resources if the slot type is the half-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), and wherein the subset of frequency domain resources includes frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14) that do not overlap in the frequency domain with uplink resources (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing a resource bandwidth containing PUSCH, Para. 106) or guard band resources of the slot (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing guard bands between the PUSCH resource bandwidth and the DL Data resource bandwidths, Para. 106, FIG. 5B).
In regard to Claim 37, Ibrahim teaches the CORESET configuration information is associated with a search space configuration associated with a search space (the UE may also receive a configuration of one or more search space (SS) sets in a RBW and a SS set that defines one or more monitoring occasions of a CORESET in the RBW, Para. 97) that is associated with a first CORESET (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14) and a second CORESET (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1402) in half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14), wherein the slot is associated with a control channel monitoring occasion that is associated with the search space (a first SS, e.g., SS1 1406, may be configured to define monitoring occasions in half-duplex slots and may be associated with the CORESET #1 at 1402. Similarly, a second SS, e.g., SS2 1408, may be configured to define monitoring occasions in the SBFD slots (e.g., D+U slots) and may be associated with the CORESET #1 at 1304, Para. 106, FIG. 14), and wherein the CORESET is the first CORESET if the slot type is the full-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1404) in SBFD slots (e.g., under full-duplex operation) or the second CORESET if the slot type is the half-duplex slot type (CORESETs (e.g., CORESET #1 at 1402) in half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), Para. 106, FIG. 14).
In regard to Claim 38, Ibrahim teaches the first CORESET is associated with a first set of frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14) and the second CORESET is associated with a second set of frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1402, Para. 106, FIG. 14), and wherein the first set of frequency domain resources (CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14) do not overlap, in the frequency domain, with uplink resources (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing a resource bandwidth containing PUSCH, Para. 106) or guard band resources of the full-duplex slot type (FIG. 14 shows a SBFD slot containing guard bands between the PUSCH resource bandwidth and the DL Data resource bandwidths, Para. 106, FIG. 5B).
In regard to Claim 39, Ibrahim teaches the CORESET configuration information is associated with a search space configuration associated with a search space (the UE may also receive a configuration of one or more search space (SS) sets in a RBW and a SS set that defines one or more monitoring occasions of a CORESET in the RBW, Para. 97), wherein the search space configuration indicates that the search space is associated with a first CORESET group and a second CORESET group (when a UE receives SS1 1406, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in half-duplex slots, such as CORESET #1 at 1402. When the UE receives SS2 1408, the UE may be configured to monitor for CORESET #1 in SBFD lots, such as CORESET #1 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14), and wherein the slot is associated with a control channel monitoring occasion that is associated with the search space (a first SS, e.g., SS1 1406, may be configured to define monitoring occasions in half-duplex slots and may be associated with the CORESET #1 at 1402. Similarly, a second SS, e.g., SS2 1408, may be configured to define monitoring occasions in the SBFD slots (e.g., D+U slots) and may be associated with the CORESET #1 at 1304, Para. 106, FIG. 14), wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the network node to: activate an active CORESET group, of the first CORESET group or the second CORESET group (the UE may receive two frequency domain resources definition for the CORESET in a configuration from the base station. For half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), CORESETs may be defined by a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources), whereas for SBFD slots, CORESETs may be defined by a second frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources_FD), Para. 103), based at least in part on the slot type (For half-duplex slots (e.g., under half-duplex operation), CORESETs may be defined by a first frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources), whereas for SBFD slots, CORESETs may be defined by a second frequency domain definition (e.g., frequencyDomainResources_FD), Para. 103), wherein the CORESET is included in the active CORESET group (a first SS, e.g., SS1 1406, may be configured to define monitoring occasions associated with the CORESET #1 at 1402. Similarly, a second SS, e.g., SS2 1408, may be configured to define monitoring occasions associated with the CORESET #2 at 1404, Para. 106, FIG. 14).
In regard to Claim 40, as presented in the rejection of Claim 35, Ibrahim teaches the UE.
Ibrahim fails to teach the capability report indicating further indicates that the UE supports adapting CORESET configurations according to slot types, and wherein the transmission of the control channel communication using the configuration that is based at least in part on the slot type is based at least in part on the reception of the capability report.
Liu teaches the capability report (a UE capability message, Para. 109, FIG. 2) further indicates (the UE type may be associated with, for example, a reduced capability UE having a reduced bandwidth, Para. 109, FIG. 2) that the UE supports adapting CORESET configurations (a control resource set 225 (e.g., CORESET 225), Para. 115, FIG. 2. Control resource set 225 selected by the base station, as illustrated in slot configurations 205, 210, 215, and/or 220, expand the size of the control region with a slot in order to support the reduced capability UE type, Para. 117, FIG. 2) according to slot types (FIG. 2 illustrates a set of example slot configurations 200 that support PDCCH resources for reduced capability UE, Para. 105, FIG. 2. The control resource set 225 configured according to slot configuration 215, Para. 115, FIG. 2), and wherein the transmission of the control channel communication (receive control information from the base station, Para. 115, FIG. 2) using the configuration (The control resource set 225 may be configured dynamically, Para. 115, FIG. 2) that is based at least in part on the slot type (FIG. 2 illustrates a set of example slot configurations 200 that support PDCCH resources for reduced capability UE, Para. 105, FIG. 2. The control resource set 225 configured according to slot configuration 215, Para. 115, FIG. 2) is based at least in part on the reception of the capability report (The base station (or network entity) may use the UE type indicated in the UE capability message when selecting or otherwise configuring a control resource set for a control channel for the UE to monitor, Para. 110, FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Ibrahim since Liu provides a technique for a UE to transmit a capability message to a network device for configuring resources related to CORESETs, which can be introduced into the system of Ibrahim to permit UE to inform base stations of capabilities to permit appropriate configurations of resources involving CORESETs.
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 5/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 21 of the Remarks present the argument that For at least the reasons presented in the interview and without acquiescing in the Examiner's rejection, Applicant respectfully submits that claim 1, as amended, is patentable in view of IBRAHIM, LIU, and SHIM. For example, the Office Action has not shown that the cited sections of IBRAHIM, LIU, and SHIM, on which the Office Action relies, disclose the features as recited in claim 1, as amended. This argument is not persuasive. The limitations introduced by the amendments of Claims 1, 17, 24 and 35, which are not taught by Ibrahim or Liu, are taught by Abotabl et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210352667 A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ZHANG et al. (Pub. No.: US 20260088875 A1) teaches one or more frequency domain resources that at least partially overlap in a frequency domain with uplink resources or guard band resources of a full-duplex slot are unavailable during the full-duplex slot (the specific configuration indicates at least one physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) rate match pattern, which indicates a set of time occasions and physical resources within each time occasion of the set of time occasions, and wherein the physical resources cannot be used for PDSCH transmission. Since the physical resources cannot be used for PDSCH transmission, they cannot be used for CSI-RS transmission either. In this way, resources that cannot be used for CSI-RS transmission are implicitly indicated. In some examples, the rate match pattern can be configured such that it corresponds to a UL subband configuration for SBFD, Para. 97, FIG. 9).
HASSAN HUSSEIN et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200236661 A1) teaches one or more frequency domain resources that at least partially overlap in a frequency domain with uplink resources or guard band resources of a full-duplex slot are unavailable during the full-duplex slot (the downlink (DL) transmission of any control information can be evacuated/emptied/punctured within a decided full-duplex transmission in the opposite direction (uplink), FIGS. 7-9).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
6-17-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477