DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 9 December 2025.
Claims 1, 4-12 and 15-24 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 12, 15 and 19-20 are amended.
Claims 2-3 and 13-14 are canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-17, filed 9 December 2025, with respect to the 35 USC § 103 Rejection of Claims 1, 4-12 and 15-24 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC § 103 Rejection of Claims 1, 4-12 and 15-24 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-6, 12, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are:
“a first indication information”… and “power saving mode”…
It is unclear whether power saving mode starts with second and third information, without the first information.
Dependent claims 2-3 and 7-11 are also rejected since they are dependent upon the rejected claims set forth above.
Claims 4-6 recites “indication information” in line 3. It is unclear whether claim’s 4-6 “indication information” refers to “second information” or “third indication information” recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 12 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (WO 2020/165200 A1), hereinafter Wang [provided in the IDS dated 1/31/2023], in view of Kim et al (WO 2020/222509 A1), hereinafter Kim, where English Language of the convenient translation of (US 2023/0131118 A1), per MPEP 901.05, and further in view of Laselva et al (US 2022/0174608 A1), hereinafter Laselva.
Regarding Claim 1, Wang discloses an indication method of a power saving mode, comprising:
instructing (see Figure 1 and page 23, lines 1-27; instructing/COT structure info obtained from GC-PDCCH explicitly indicates), by a network side device in a channel occupancy time (COT) of an unlicensed band (see Figure 1 and page 15, lines 29-31 and page 18, lines 7-10 and 18-28 and page 22, lines 30-35 and page 23, lines 1-27; by a network side device/gNB in a channel occupancy time (COT)/(channel occupancy time (COT)) of an unlicensed band/unlicensed spectrum), a terminal to enter a power saving mode (see Figure 1 and page 23, lines 1-27; a terminal/UE to enter a power saving mode/skip PDCCH monitoring);
wherein before the instructing (see Figure 1 and page 23, lines 1-27; wherein before the instructing/COT structure info obtained from GC-PDCCH explicitly indicates), by the network side device in the COT of the unlicensed band (see Figure 1 and page 15, lines 29-31 and page 18, lines 7-10 and 18-28 and page 22, lines 30-35 and page 23, lines 1-27; by the network side device/gNB in the COT of the unlicensed band/unlicensed spectrum), the terminal to enter the power saving mode (see Figure 1 and page 23, lines 1-27; the terminal/UE to enter the power saving mode/skip PDCCH monitoring);
wherein the parameter related to the power saving mode (see page 16 after table, lines 4-13; wherein the parameter/DMRS related to the power saving mode/(power saving)) comprises at least one of.
Although Wang discloses instructing, by a network side device in a channel occupancy time (COT) of an unlicensed band, a terminal to enter a power saving mode as set forth above,
Wang does not explicitly disclose “the method further comprises configuring a parameter related to the power saving mode of the terminal”.
However, Kim discloses an indication method of a power saving mode, comprising:
the method further comprises configuring a parameter related to the power saving mode of the terminal (see Figure 8 and paragraphs 46, 52, 121 and 190-195; the method further comprises configuring a parameter/(DCI, referred to as a power saving signal (POSS), power saving command, a power control signal) related to the power saving mode/(power saving) of the terminal/UE);
wherein the parameter related to the power saving mode (see Figure 8 and paragraphs 190-195; wherein the parameter/(DCI, referred to as a power saving signal (POSS), power saving command, a power control signal) related to the power saving mode/power saving) comprises at least one of:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “the method further comprises configuring a parameter related to the power saving mode of the terminal” as taught by Kim in the system of Wang to provide a method and apparatus for saving power of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Kim).
Although the combination of Wang and Kim discloses the parameter related to the power saving mode as set forth above,
The combination of Wang and Kim does not explicitly disclose “second indication information indicating at least one of: a type of channel state measurement performed in the power saving mode”.
However, Laselva discloses an indication method of a power saving mode, comprising:
second indication information indicating at least one of: a type of channel state measurement performed in the power saving mode (see Figure 4 and paragraphs 66, 87 and 90; second indication information indicating at least one of: a type of channel state measurement/(relaxed evaluation state) performed/performed in the power saving mode/power saving mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “second indication information indicating at least one of: a type of channel state measurement performed in the power saving mode” as taught by Laselva in the combined system of Wang and Kim to provide optimized UE behavior in terms of relaxed radio measurements for UE power saving is realized (see page 7, paragraph 87, lines 10-12 of Laselva).
Regarding Claim 4, Wang discloses the method, wherein the instructing (see Figure 1 and page 23, lines 1-27; wherein the instructing/COT structure info obtained from GC-PDCCH explicitly indicates), by the network side device in the COT of the unlicensed band (see Figure 1 and page 15, lines 29-31 and page 18, lines 7-10 and 18-28 and page 22, lines 30-35 and page 23, lines 1-27; by the network side device/gNB in the COT/(channel occupancy time (COT)) of the unlicensed band/unlicensed spectrum), the terminal to enter the power saving mode (see Figure 1 and page 23, lines 1-27; the terminal/UE to enter the power saving mode/skip PDCCH monitoring) comprises:
sending (see Figure 8, step 50 and page 20, lines 1-12 and 31-35; sending/send), by the network side device (see page 15, lines 29-31 and page 18, lines 7-10 and 18-28 and page 22, lines 30-35 and page 23, lines 1-27; by the network side device/gNB), indication information to the terminal within the COT (see page 23, lines 1-27; indication information/(COT structure info) to the terminal/UE within the COT/COT), and instructing the terminal to enter the power saving mode by using the indication information (see page 23, lines 1-27; and instructing/(COT structure info obtained from GC-PDCCH explicitly indicates) the terminal/UE to enter the power saving mode/(skip PDCCH monitoring) by using the indication/indicates information/COT structure info obtained from GC-PDCCH explicitly indicates).
Regarding Claim 12, Wang discloses a method for determining whether to enter a power saving mode, comprising:
determining, by a terminal based on an indication of a network side device within a channel occupancy time (COT) of an unlicensed band (see Figure 1 and page 15, lines 29-31 and page 18, lines 7-10 and 18-28 and page 22, lines 30-35 and page 23, lines 1-27; by a terminal/UE based on an indication/(structure info obtained from GC-PDCCH explicitly indicates) of a network side device/gNB within a channel occupancy time (COT)/(channel occupancy time (COT)) of an unlicensed band/unlicensed spectrum), whether to enter a power saving mode (see page 23, lines 1-27; whether to enter a power saving mode/skip PDCCH monitoring);
after entering the power saving mode (see page 23, lines 1-27; after entering the power saving mode/skip PDCCH monitoring for a number of slots), performing, by the terminal (see page 23, lines 1-27; by the terminal/UE).
wherein the parameter related to the power saving mode (see page 16 after table, lines 4-13; wherein the parameter/DMRS related to the power saving mode/(power saving)).
Although Wang discloses determining, by a terminal based on an indication of a network side device within a channel occupancy time (COT) of an unlicensed band, whether to enter a power saving mode as set forth above,
Wang does not explicitly disclose “performing a power saving operation based on a parameter related to the power saving mode configured by the network side device for the terminal”.
However, Kim discloses a method for determining whether to end a power saving mode, comprising:
a power saving operation based on a parameter related to the power saving mode configured by the network side device for the terminal (see Figure 8 and paragraphs 46, 52, 121 and 190-195; a power saving operation/(go to sleep (GTS) or power saving (POSS)) based on a parameter/(DCI, referred to as a power saving signal (POSS), power saving command, a power control signal) related to the power saving mode/(power saving) configured by the network side device/(base station) for the terminal/UE);
wherein the parameter related to the power saving mode (see Figure 8 and paragraphs 190-195; wherein the parameter/(DCI, referred to as a power saving signal (POSS), power saving command, a power control signal) related to the power saving mode/power saving) comprises at least one of:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “performing a power saving operation based on a parameter related to the power saving mode configured by the network side device for the terminal” as taught by Kim in the system of Wang to provide a method and apparatus for saving power of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Kim).
Although the combination of Wang and Kim discloses the parameter related to the power saving mode as set forth above,
The combination of Wang and Kim does not explicitly disclose “second indication information indicating at least one of: whether the terminal performs a type of channel state measurement performed in the power saving mode”.
However, Laselva discloses a method for determining whether to enter a power saving mode, comprising:
second indication information indicating at least one of: a type of channel state measurement performed in the power saving mode (see Figure 4 and paragraphs 66, 87 and 90; second indication information indicating at least one of: a type of channel state measurement/(relaxed evaluation state) performed/performed in the power saving mode/power saving mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “second indication information indicating at least one of: a type of channel state measurement performed in the power saving mode” as taught by Laselva in the combined system of Wang and Kim to provide optimized UE behavior in terms of relaxed radio measurements for UE power saving is realized (see page 7, paragraph 87, lines 10-12 of Laselva).
Regarding Claim 19, Wang discloses a network side device (see Figure 5 and page 11, lines 13-20; a network side device/network node 500), comprising a processor (see Figure 5 and page 11, lines 13-15; comprising a processor/processing circuitry 510), a memory (see Figure 5 and page 11, line 19; a memory/memory 530), and an instruction stored in the memory and executable on the processor (see Figure 5 and page 11, lines 13-20; and an instruction/instructions stored/stored in the memory/(memory 530) and executable/executing on the processor/processing circuitry 510), wherein the program or the instruction (see Figure 5 and page 11, lines 13-20; wherein the instruction/instructions), when executed by the processor (see Figure 5 and page 11, lines 13-20; when executed/executing by the processor/processing circuitry 510), causes the network side device to perform:
instructing (see Figure 1 and page 23, lines 1-27; instructing/structure info obtained from GC-PDCCH explicitly indicates), in a channel occupancy time (COT) of an unlicensed band (see Figure 1 and page 15, lines 29-31 and page 18, lines 7-10 and 18-28 and page 22, lines 30-35 and page 23, lines 1-27; in a channel occupancy time (COT)/(channel occupancy time (COT)) of an unlicensed band/unlicensed spectrum), a terminal to enter a power saving mode (see Figure 1 and page 23, lines 1-27; a terminal/UE to enter a power saving mode/skip PDCCH monitoring);
configuring a parameter related to the power saving mode of the terminal (see page 16 after table, lines 4-13; configuring a parameter/DMRS related to the power saving mode/(power saving) of the terminal/UE);
wherein the parameter related to the power saving mode (see page 16 after table, lines 4-13; wherein the parameter/DMRS related to the power saving mode/(power saving)) comprises at least one of.
Although Wang discloses instructing, in a channel occupancy time (COT) of an unlicensed band, a terminal to enter a power saving mode as set forth above,
Wang does not explicitly disclose “configuring a parameter related to the power saving mode of the terminal”.
However, Kim discloses a network side device, causes the network device to perform:
configuring a parameter related to the power saving mode of the terminal (see Figure 8 and paragraphs 46, 52, 121 and 190-195; configuring/configured a parameter/(DCI, referred to as a power saving signal (POSS), power saving command, a power control signal) related to the power saving mode/(power saving) of the terminal/UE);
wherein the parameter related to the power saving mode (see Figure 8 and paragraphs 190-195; wherein the parameter/(DCI, referred to as a power saving signal (POSS), power saving command, a power control signal) related to the power saving mode/power saving) comprises at least one of:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “configuring a parameter related to the power saving mode of the terminal” as taught by Kim in the system of Wang to provide a method and apparatus for saving power of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Kim).
Although the combination of Wang and Kim discloses the parameter related to the power saving mode as set forth above,
The combination of Wang and Kim does not explicitly disclose “second indication information indicating at least one of: a type of channel state measurement performed in the power saving mode”.
However, Laselva discloses a network side device, comprising:
second indication information indicating at least one of: a type of channel state measurement performed in the power saving mode (see Figure 4 and paragraphs 66, 87 and 90; second indication information indicating at least one of: a type of channel state measurement/(relaxed evaluation state) performed/performed in the power saving mode/power saving mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “second indication information indicating at least one of: a type of channel state measurement performed in the power saving mode” as taught by Laselva in the combined system of Wang and Kim to provide optimized UE behavior in terms of relaxed radio measurements for UE power saving is realized (see page 7, paragraph 87, lines 10-12 of Laselva).
Regarding Claim 20, Wang discloses a terminal (see Figure 4 and page 11, lines 2-12; a terminal/wireless device 400), comprising a processor (see Figure 4 and page 11, lines 2-13; comprising a processor/processing circuitry 410), a memory (see Figure 4 and page 11, lines 2-13; a memory/memory 430), and a program or an instruction stored in the memory and executable on the processor (see Figure 4 and page 11, lines 2-13; and an instruction/instructions stored/stored in the memory/(memory 430) and executable/executing on the processor/processing circuitry 410), wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor (see Figure 4 and page 11, lines 2-13; wherein the instruction/instructions, when executed/executing by the processor/processing circuitry 410), causes the terminal to perform:
determining, based on an indication of a network side device within a channel occupancy time (COT) of an unlicensed band (see Figure 1 and page 15, lines 29-31 and page 18, lines 7-10 and 18-28 and page 22, lines 30-35 and page 23, lines 1-27; by a terminal/UE based on an indication/(structure info obtained from GC-PDCCH explicitly indicates) of a network side device/gNB within a channel occupancy time (COT)/(channel occupancy time (COT)) of an unlicensed band/unlicensed spectrum), whether to enter a power saving mode (see page 23, lines 1-27; whether to enter a power saving mode/skip PDCCH monitoring);
after entering the power saving mode (see page 23, lines 1-27; after entering the power saving mode/skip PDCCH monitoring for a number of slots), performing, by the terminal (see page 23, lines 1-27; by the terminal/UE),
wherein the parameter related to the power saving mode (see page 16 after table, lines 4-13; wherein the parameter/DMRS related to the power saving mode/(power saving)) comprises at least one of:
Although Wang discloses determining, by a terminal based on an indication of a network side device within a channel occupancy time (COT) of an unlicensed band as set forth above,
Wang does not explicitly disclose “performing a power saving operation based on a parameter related to the power saving mode configured by the network side device for the terminal”.
However, Kim discloses a terminal, causes the terminal to perform:
performing a power saving operation based on a parameter related to the power saving mode configured by the network side device for the terminal (see Figure 8 and paragraphs 46, 52, 121 and 190-195; performing a power saving operation/(go to sleep (GTS) or power saving (POSS)) based on a parameter/(DCI, referred to as a power saving signal (POSS), power saving command, a power control signal) related to the power saving mode/(power saving) configured by the network side device/(base station) for the terminal/UE);
wherein the parameter related to the power saving mode (see Figure 8 and paragraphs 190-195; wherein the parameter/(DCI, referred to as a power saving signal (POSS), power saving command, a power control signal) related to the power saving mode/power saving) comprises at least one of:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “performing a power saving operation based on a parameter related to the power saving mode configured by the network side device for the terminal” as taught by Kim in the system of Wang to provide a method and apparatus for saving power of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Kim).
Although the combination of Wang and Kim discloses the parameter related to the power saving mode as set forth above,
The combination of Wang and Kim does not explicitly disclose “second indication information indicating at least one of: a type of channel state measurement performed in the power saving mode”.
However, Laselva discloses a terminal, comprising:
second indication information indicating at least one of: a type of channel state measurement performed in the power saving mode (see Figure 4 and paragraphs 66, 87 and 90; second indication information indicating at least one of: a type of channel state measurement/(relaxed evaluation state) performed/performed in the power saving mode/power saving mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “second indication information indicating at least one of: a type of channel state measurement performed in the power saving mode” as taught by Laselva in the combined system of Wang and Kim to provide optimized UE behavior in terms of relaxed radio measurements for UE power saving is realized (see page 7, paragraph 87, lines 10-12 of Laselva).
Regarding Claim 21, Wang discloses the network side device, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the network side device to further perform:
sending indication information to the terminal within the COT (see Figure 8, step 50 and page 20, lines 1-12 and 31-35 and page 23, lines 1-27; sending/send indication information/(COT structure info) to the terminal/UE within the COT/COT), and instructing the terminal to enter the power saving mode by using the indication information (see page 23, lines 1-27; and instructing/(COT structure info obtained from GC-PDCCH explicitly indicates) the terminal/UE to enter the power saving mode/(skip PDCCH monitoring) by using the indication/indicates information/COT structure info obtained from GC-PDCCH explicitly indicates).
Claim(s) 5-6, 9-10 and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kim, and further in view of Laselva, and further in view of Li et al (WO 2015/039677 A1), hereinafter Li.
Regarding Claim 5, Although the combination of Wang, Kim and Laselva discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Wang, Kim and Laselva does not explicitly disclose “wherein the indication information comprises indication signaling or energy saving response information, wherein the energy saving response information is a response to an energy saving request initiated by the terminal”.
However, Li discloses the method, wherein the indication information comprises indication signaling or energy saving response information, wherein the energy saving response information is a response to an energy saving request initiated by the terminal (see page 21, lines 24-35 and page 22, lines 18-37 and page 23, lines 1-33; wherein the energy saving response/(energy response) information is a response/response to an energy saving request/(energy request) initiated by the terminal/user equipment (UE) 120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the indication information comprises indication signaling or energy saving response information, wherein the energy saving response information is a response to an energy saving request initiated by the terminal” as taught by Li in the combined system of Wang, Kim and Laselva to provide a method for saving transmission energy of the user equipment (see page 1, lines 6-7 of Li).
Regarding Claim 6, Wang discloses the method, wherein before the sending, by the network side device, the indication information to the terminal within the COT, the method further comprises:
initiating, by the network side device (see Figure 1 and page 6, lines 18-27 and 34-36 and page 7, lines 1-7; by the network side device/gNB), channel access of the unlicensed band (see Figure 1 and page 6, lines 18-27 and 34-36 and page 7, lines 1-7 and page 14, lines 1-10; channel access/(channel access) of the unlicensed band/unlicensed frequency spectrum 16), to obtain the COT of the unlicensed band (see page 6, lines 34-36 and page 7, lines 1-7; to obtain the COT/(channel occupancy time (COT) period 20) of the unlicensed band/unlicensed frequency spectrum 16): and
sharing (see Figure 1 and page 1, lines 15-18 and page 6, lines 34-36; sharing/shared), by the network side device (see Figure 1 and page 1, lines 15-18 and page 6, lines 34-36; by the network side device/gNB), obtained COT with the terminal (see Figure 1 and page 1, lines 15-18 and page 6, lines 34-36; obtained COT/COT with the terminal/UE).
Regarding Claim 9, Wang discloses the method, wherein the indication signaling comprises a downlink signal, wherein the downlink signal comprises at least one of:
a downlink signal carried on a group common PDCCH (see page 22, lines 19-29; a downlink signal/(DCI and DMRS) carried on a group common PDCCH/GC-PDCCH).
Regarding Claim 10, Although the combination of Wang, Kim and Laselva discloses the channel occupancy time (COT) as set forth above,
The combination of Wang, Kim and Laselva does not explicitly disclose “receiving the energy saving request initiated by the terminal; and sending the energy saving response information to the terminal”.
However, Li discloses the method,
receiving the energy saving request initiated by the terminal (see page 21, lines 24-35 and page 22, lines 18-37 and page 23, lines 1-33; receiving/transmitted the energy saving request/(energy request) initiated by the terminal/user equipment 120); and
sending the energy saving response information to the terminal (see page 21, lines 24-35 and page 22, lines 18-37 and page 23, lines 1-33; sending/transmitted the energy saving response/(energy response) information to the terminal/UE 120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “receiving the energy saving request initiated by the terminal; and sending the energy saving response information to the terminal” as taught by Li in the combined system of Wang, Kim and Laselva to provide a method for saving transmission energy of the user equipment (see page 1, lines 6-7 of Li).
Regarding Claim 22, Although the combination of Wang, Kim and Laselva discloses the network side device as set forth above,
The combination of Wang, Kim and Laselva does not explicitly disclose “wherein the indication information comprises indication signaling or energy saving response information, wherein the energy saving response information is a response to an energy saving request initiated by the terminal”.
However, Li discloses the network device, wherein the indication information comprises indication signaling or energy saving response information (see page 21, lines 24-35 and page 22, lines 18-37 and page 23, lines 1-33; wherein the indication information comprises energy saving response information/energy response),
wherein the energy saving response information is a response to an energy saving request initiated by the terminal (see page 21, lines 24-35 and page 22, lines 18-37 and page 23, lines 1-33; wherein the energy saving response/(energy response) information is a response/(energy response) to an energy saving request/(energy request) initiated by the terminal/user equipment 120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the indication information comprises indication signaling or energy saving response information, wherein the energy saving response information is a response to an energy saving request initiated by the terminal” as taught by Li in the combined system of Wang, Kim and Laselva to provide a method for saving transmission energy of the user equipment (see page 1, lines 6-7 of Li).
Regarding Claim 23, Wang discloses the network side device, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the network side device to further perform:
initiating channel access of the unlicensed band (see Figure 1 and page 6, lines 18-27 and 34-36 and page 7, lines 1-7 and page 14, lines 1-10; initiating channel access/(channel access) of the unlicensed band/unlicensed frequency spectrum 16), to obtain the COT of the unlicensed band (see page 6, lines 34-36 and page 7, lines 1-7; to obtain the COT/(channel occupancy time (COT) period 20) of the unlicensed band/unlicensed frequency spectrum 16); and
sharing obtained COT with the terminal (see Figure 1 and page 1, lines 15-18 and page 6, lines 34-36; sharing/shared obtained COT/COT with the terminal/UE).
Claim(s) 7 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kim, and further in view of Laselva, and further in view of Li, and further in view of Singh et al (WO 2020/032618 A1), hereinafter Singh.
Regarding Claim 7, Although the combination of Wang, Kim, Laselva and Li discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Wang, Kim, Laselva and Li does not explicitly disclose “configuring the channel access parameter for the terminal”.
However, Singh discloses the method, wherein before the obtaining the COT shared with the terminal, the method further comprises:
configuring the channel access parameter for the terminal (see page 16, paragraphs 100-101; configuring the channel access parameter/(channel access parameter) for the terminal/UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “configuring the channel access parameter for the terminal” as taught by Singh in the combined system of Wang, Kim, Laselva and Li to perform listen before talk (LBT) operation (see page 16, paragraph 100, lines 7-8 of Singh).
Regarding Claim 24, Although the combination of Wang, Kim, Laselva and Li discloses the network side device as set forth above,
The combination of Wang, Kim, Laselva and Li does not explicitly disclose “configuring the channel access parameter for the terminal”.
However, Singh discloses the network side device, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the network side device to further perform:
configuring the channel access parameter for the terminal (see page 16, paragraphs 100-101; configuring the channel access parameter/(channel access parameter) for the terminal/UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “configuring the channel access parameter for the terminal” as taught by Singh in the combined system of Wang, Kim, Laselva and Li to perform listen before talk (LBT) operation (see page 16, paragraph 100, lines 7-8 of Singh).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kim, and further in view of Laselva, and further in view of Li, and further in view of Singh, and further in view of Gacanin et al (EP 3 300 430 A1), hereinafter Gacanin.
Regarding Claim 8, Although the combination of Wang, Kim, Laselva, Li and Singh discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Wang, Kim, Laselva, Li and Singh does not explicitly disclose “wherein the channel access parameter comprises at least one of: a contention window length”.
However, Gacanin discloses wherein the channel access parameter comprises at least one of:
a contention window length (see page 2, paragraph 15; wherein the channel access parameter/(channel access parameter) comprises at least one of: a contention window length/contention window length).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the channel access parameter comprises at least one of: a contention window length” as taught by Gacanin in the combined system of Wang, Kim, Laselva, Li and Singh to control channel access in a contention-based packet-switched access network (see page 1, paragraph 1 of Gacanin).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kim, and further in view of Laselva, and further in view of Li, and further in view of Choi et al (US 2017/0215179 A1), hereinafter Choi.
Regarding Claim 11, Although the combination of Wang, Kim, Laselva and Li discloses energy saving request as set forth above,
The combination of Wang, Kim, Laselva and Li does not explicitly disclose “wherein the energy saving request comprises at least one of: uplink control signaling”.
However, Choi discloses the method, wherein the request comprises at least one of:
uplink control signaling (see paragraph 220; wherein the energy saving request comprises at least one of: uplink control signaling/uplink control information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the energy saving request comprises at least one of: uplink control signaling” as taught by Choi in the combined system of Wang, Kim, Laselva and Li to provide a signal transmission method that transmits at least one of the following a control signal, a channel and a data channel in a partial sub-frame when performing a channel occupancy operation in an unlicensed band (see pages 1-2, paragraph 9 of Choi).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kim, and further in view of Laselva, and further in view of Wong et al (US 2016/0135176 A1), hereinafter Wong.
Regarding Claim 15, Although the combination of Wang, Kim and Laselva discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Wang, Kim and Laselva does not explicitly disclose “wherein the performing, by the terminal, a power saving operation comprises at least one of: monitoring a specific physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate set at the first time-frequency range”.
However, Wong discloses the method, wherein the performing, by the terminal, a power saving operation comprises at least one of:
monitoring a specific physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate set at the first time-frequency range (see paragraphs 5 and 31; monitoring/monitoring a specific/specific PDCCH candidate set/(PDCCH candidate set) at the first time-frequency range/set of consecutive control channel elements (CCEs) on which a PDCCH is mapped).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the performing, by the terminal, a power saving operation comprises at least one of: monitoring a specific physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate set at the first time-frequency range” as taught by Wong in the combined system of Wang, Kim and Laselva to provide a User Equipment Specific Search Space (USS) for LC-MTC UE (see page 1, paragraph 8 of Wong).
Regarding Claim 16, Although the combination of Wang, Kim and Laselva discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Wang, Kim and Laselva does not explicitly disclose “wherein the performing, by the termina, a power saving operation comprises at least one of: monitoring a specific PDCCH candidate set at the first time-frequency range”.
However, Wong discloses the method, wherein the specific PDCCH candidate set comprises one of:
a user-specific search space set (see paragraphs 5, 27, 31 and 36; a user-specific search space set/user search space (USS)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the specific PDCCH candidate set comprises one of: a user-specific search space set” as taught by Wong in the combined system of Wang, Kim and Laselva to provide a User Equipment Specific Search Space (USS) for LC-MTC UE (see page 1, paragraph 8 of Wong).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kim, and further in view of Laselva, and further in view of Wong, and further in view of Seo et al (US 2015/0146642 A1), hereinafter Seo.
Regarding Claim 17, Although the combination of Wang, Kim, Laselva and Wong discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Wang, Kim, Laselva and Wong does not explicitly disclose “wherein the performing channel state measurement comprises at least one of: performing RRM measurement”.
However, Seo discloses the method, wherein the performing channel state measurement comprises at least one of:
performing RRM measurement (see paragraph 126; wherein the performing channel state measurement comprises at least one of: performing RRM measurement/radio resource management measurement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the performing channel state measurement comprises at least one of: performing RRM measurement” as taught by Seo in the combined system of Wang, Kim, Laselva and Wong to provide a method of efficiently allocating a resource to a plurality of UEs (see page 1, paragraph 3 of Seo).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kim, and further in view of Laselva, and further in view of Wong, and further in view of Aiba et al (WO 2019/160660 A1), hereinafter Aiba.
Regarding Claim 18, Although the combination of Wang, Kim, Laselva and Wong discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Wang, Kim, Laselva and Wong does not explicitly disclose “wherein the performing uplink transmission comprises at least one of: performing scheduling request (SR) transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)”.
However, Aiba discloses the method,
wherein the performing uplink transmission comprises at least one of:
performing scheduling request (SR) transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (see paragraphs 18-21; wherein the performing uplink transmission comprises at least one of: performing scheduling request (SR)/(scheduling request (SR)) transmission/transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)/ physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the performing channel state measurement comprises at least one of: performing RRM measurement” as taught by Aiba in the combined system of Wang, Kim, Laselva and Wong to improve communication capacity, speed, flexibility and/or efficiency (see page 1, paragraph 4 of Aiba).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ma et al (US 2025/0024372 A1) discloses Power Saving Techniques. Specifically, see paragraphs 33-49, 53-65 and 89-95.
/L.A.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2469 /Ian N Moore/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469