Detailed Action
Summary
1.This office action is in response to the RCE filed on September 10, 2026.
2. Claims 1-23 are pending and has been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
4. Drawings submitted on 01/31/2023 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-17 and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 16 and 20 are recited “predetermined portion” used in the claims are vague and unclear and leaves the reader in doubt as to the meaning because the claims does not define what is considered to be “predetermined portion”. Does the predetermined portion have a specific value, if so what is this value?
For the purpose of this examination, examiner understood “when first and second dead time lies between the high side switching signal and the low side switching signal. The first and second dead time have a length that is correlated with the resonant period, so the high side power switch and the low side power switch can achieve soft switching, such as zero voltage switching (ZVS) ” as is equivalent to predetermined portion.
Claims 17 and 19 are dependent on Claim 16, thus are also rejected because of their dependency.
Claims 21-23 are dependent on Claim 16, thus are also rejected because of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-17 and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) (a)(2) as being anticipated by Dusmez “2020112243”.
In re to claim 16, Dusmez discloses a method (Figs. 2 -7 an apparatus of conversion circuit and method operation) comprising: receiving a measurement signal representing a power converter state (input voltage sensor 532/732, inductor current sensor 526/726 and output voltage sensor 534/734);
receiving a control signal representing a duration of a power converter resonant period (Fig. 3: inductor charging and discharging signals, dead time and switching ON and OFF signals are correlated to resonant period );
determining, based on the power converter state and the power converter resonant period (the dead times before and after are correlated with the resonant period), a charging interval (Fig. 3 shows a switches cycle charging/increasing an inductor current), a first dead time interval after the charging interval (see dead time interval of the switching cycle after charging interval), a discharging interval ( inductor current is decreasing/discharging of the switching cycle), and a second dead time interval after the discharging interval in a switching cycle, (the dead time after inductor current is decreasing /discharging, see fig. 3 ), wherein the second dead time interval is a predetermined portion of the power converter resonant period (as indicated in Fig. 3 in the switching periods of AC cycle (300), the second dead time intervale is a predetermined portion of a correlated with the resonant period. Examiner noted that when first and second dead time lies between the high side switching signal and the low side switching signal. The first and second dead time have a length that is correlated with the resonant period, so the high side power switch and the low side power switch can achieve soft switching, such as zero voltage switching (ZVS) as is equivalent to predetermined portion); and generate control signals for a power converter based on the charging interval, the first dead time interval, the discharging interval, and the second dead time interval (Fig.5 shows a controller 500 causes to generate signals to turn the control switches of the conversion circuit 520 on and off based on data/signal receives, see prag.0046) .
In re to claim 17, Dusmez discloses (Figs. 2-7) wherein the state of the power converter includes at least one of: a zero voltage switching (ZVS) state of a prior switching cycle (see prag.0022-0026 ) , a non ZVS state of the prior switching cycle, an average power converter current of the prior switching cycle (see prag. 0039,0044, 0053.) , a peak current within the charging interval of the prior switching cycle (0039-0040, 0044 and claim 5 ) , a peak current of the discharging interval within the prior switching cycle (0039-0040, 0044 and claim 5 ), a power converter input voltage of the prior switching cycle (input voltage sensor 532) , a power converter output voltage of the prior switching cycle (output voltage sensor 534) , or a resonant impedance of the power converter .
In re to claim 19, Dusmez discloses (Figs. 2-7) wherein the power converter state indicates whether a switching node of the power converter transitions to a target voltage prior to enabling a switch of the power converter (Fig.3) ; and the method further comprises adjusting the power converter resonant period or a period of the switching cycle based on whether the switching node transitions to the target voltage prior to enabling the switch of the power converter (see parag.0021-0022,0025-0026 and 0037-0038, 0042 and Fig. 3 ).
In re to claim 20, Dusmez discloses an apparatus (Figs. 2 -7 an apparatus of conversion circuit and its operation) comprising : a power converter having a positive input (Fig.2 :positive terminal of Vin 230) , a negative input (negative terminal of Vin) , a positive output (positive output terminal of Vout 240) , and a negative output (negative output terminal of Vout) , the power converter including a first switch (223/723) , a second switch (225/725) , and an inductor (221/721) , the first switch and the second switch coupled in series between the positive and negative outputs (223/723
and 225/725 are in series) , and a first current terminal of the first switch (225/725) coupled to a second current terminal of the second switch and the inductor (225/725) and inductor (221/721); and
a controller circuit (Figs. 5 : controller 100) configured to controller circuit configured to receive signals indicating a state and a resonant period of the power converter (controller 500 is configured to receive from an inductor current sensor 532/732, input voltage sensor 530/730 and output voltage sensor 534/734, see Figs 2-3 and 7) ;
determine a charging interval (Fig. 3 shows a switches cycle charging/increasing an inductor current) , a first dead time interval after the charging interval (see dead time interval of the switching cycle after charging interval), and a discharging interval of a switching cycle of the power converter ( inductor current is decreasing/discharging
of the switching cycle) , based on the state and the resonant period of the power converter (the dead times before and after are correlated with the resonant period), and a second dead time interval after the discharging interval (the dead time after inductor current is decreasing /discharging, see fig. 3 ), wherein the second dead time interval is a predetermined portion of the resonant period of the power converter (as indicated in Fig. 3 a switching periods of AC cycle (300), the second dead time intervale is a predetermined portion of a correlated with the resonant period. Examiner noted that when first and second dead time lies between the high side switching signal and the low side switching signal. The first and second dead time have a length that is correlated with the resonant period, so the high side power switch and the low side power switch can achieve soft switching, such as zero voltage switching (ZVS) ” as is equivalent to predetermined portion) ; and
generate control signals for the power converter based on the charging interval, the first dead time interval, the discharging interval, and the second dead time interval (Fig.5 shows a controller 500 causes to generate signals to turn the control switches of the conversion circuit 520 on and off based on data/signal receives, see prag.0046) .
In re to claim 21, Dusmez discloses (Figs. 2-7) a transition measurement circuit ( Dumez Figs. 5 and 7 shows inductor current sensor 726 ) coupled to the first current terminal of the first switch (Fig. 7 resistor 728 of the inductor current sensor 726 is coupled to 723) , the second current terminal of the second switch (resistor 728 of the inductor current sensor 726 is coupled to 728) , the inductor (721) , and the controller circuit (current sensor 726 is coupled to controller) , the transition measurement circuit configurable to generate a signal indicating (IL) , as the state of the power converter, whether the first current terminal of the first switch transitions (223/723) to a target voltage prior to the controller circuit enabling the first switch of the power converter (see Fig. 3 graph 300 of an example switch operation changing the state of a conversion circuit ).
In re to claim 22, Dusmez discloses (Figs. 2-7) further comprising a third switch (Fig. 7: 72/) and a fourth switch (727) coupled in series between the positive and negative outputs (729 and 727 coupled in series between positive and negative rails) , wherein the controller circuit is configurable to switch the third and fourth switches at a lower frequency than switching the first and second switches (control switches 223 and 225 is also referred to as the “fast leg” is equivalent to fast switching frequency and the PFC leg including the PFC switches 227 and 229 is also referred to as the “slow leg is equivalent to slow switching frequency., see prag. 0033.)
In re to claim 23, Dusmez discloses (Figs. 2-7) wherein the state of the power converter includes at least one of: a zero voltage switching (ZVS) state of a prior switching cycle (see prag.0022-0026 ) , a non ZVS state of the prior switching cycle, an average power converter current of the prior switching cycle (see prag. 0039,0044, 0053.) , a peak current within the charging interval of the prior switching cycle (0039-0040, 0044 and claim 5 ) , a peak current of the discharging interval within the prior switching cycle (0039-0040, 0044 and claim 5 ), a power converter input voltage of the prior switching cycle (input voltage sensor 532) , a power converter output voltage of the prior switching cycle (output voltage sensor 534) , or a resonant impedance of the power converter .
6. Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) (a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang “2021040821.
In re to claim 16, Yang discloses an apparatus (Fig. 1A resonant half-bridge flyback power) comprising : a power converter having a positive input (Vin) , a negative input (ground) , a positive output (Vout coupled to positive rail) , and a negative output (vout coupled to ground) , the power converter including a first switch (30) , a second switch (40) , and an inductor (Np) , the first switch and the second switch coupled in series between the positive and negative outputs (30 and 40 in series) , and a first current terminal of the first switch (source of 30) coupled to a second current terminal of the second switch (drain of 40) and the inductor (NP); and
a controller circuit (Figs. 1A and 1B: controller 100) configured to controller circuit configured to receive signals indicating a state and a resonant period of the power converter (controller 100 is configured phase node HB to receive to Phase node signal)
; determine a charging interval (Fig.2 : when SH is ON state induction current IM is charging, see parag.0034) , a first dead time interval after the charging interval (TRL), and a discharging interval of a switching cycle of the power converter ( when SH is off state and SL is on state and inductor current is demagnetize/discharge ) , based on the state and the resonant period of the power converter, and a second dead time interval after the discharging interval, wherein the second dead time interval is a predetermined portion of the resonant period of the power converter (TRH and the dead time TRL have a length that is correlated with the resonant period, see prag. 0035) ; and generate control signals for the power converter based on the charging interval, the first dead time interval, the discharging interval, and the second dead time interval (see Fig.1B and 5-10: the controller configured execute based on charging and discharging, delay signal circuit , PWM, FB circuit to control the high and low side driver ,see prag.0032) .
In re to claim 17, Yang discloses wherein the state of the power converter includes at least one of: a zero voltage switching (ZVS) state of a prior switching cycle, a non ZVS state of the prior switching cycle ( see prag. 0006, 0035, 0038-0039, 0052 and claim 3 ), an average power converter current of the prior switching cycle, a peak current within the charging interval of the prior switching cycle (see parag.0063) , a peak current of the discharging interval within the prior switching cycle (see parag.0063), a power converter input voltage of the prior switching cycle, a power converter output voltage of the prior switching cycle, or a resonant impedance of the power converter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang “20210408921” in a view of Dusmez “20200112243”.
In re to claim 21, Yang as modified discloses (Fig. 1) the power converter apparatus but fails to discloses a transition measurement circuit coupled to the first current terminal of the first switch, the second current terminal of the second switch, the inductor, and the controller circuit, the transition measurement circuit configurable to generate a signal indicating, as the state of the power converter, whether the first current terminal of the first switch transitions to a target voltage prior to the controller circuit enabling the first switch of the power converter.
However, Dumez discloses a transition measurement circuit ( Dumez Figs. 5 and 7 shows inductor current sensor 726 ) coupled to the first current terminal of the first switch (Fig. 7 resistor 728 of the inductor current sensor 726 is coupled to 723) , the second current terminal of the second switch (resistor 728 of the inductor current sensor 726 is coupled to 728) , the inductor (721) , and the controller circuit (current sensor is coupled to controller) , the transition measurement circuit configurable to generate a signal indicating (IL) , as the state of the power converter, whether the first current terminal of the first switch transitions to a target voltage prior to the controller circuit enabling the first switch of the power converter (see Fig. 3 graph 300 of an example switch operation changing the state of a conversion circuit ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the power converter of Yang to include inductor current sensor 726 as thought by Dusmez because the controller regulates the peak or the average value of the inductor current such that to regulate the output voltage, thus for better regulation in the controller, se prag.0044
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 1-15 are allowed.
The following is an examiner statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 1 is allowed because the prior art in the record fails to disclose or suggest an apparatus including the limitation of “wherein the controller circuit is configured to determine the second dead time interval based on a quarter of the power converter resonant period.”
Claims 2-15 are dependent on claim 1, thus are allowed because of their dependency.
9. Claims 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 18 is objected to because the prior art in the record fails to disclose or suggest the method including the limitation of “wherein the second dead time interval is predetermined based on a quarter of the power converter resonant period.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Oh “ 20190036447” the present invention relates to converter increases magnetizing current, thus allowing decreased dead time for zero voltage switching, and hence improving full load efficiency by reducing switching losses.
Melanson “20100020569” the present invention relates generally to switching power regulator circuits, and more specifically, to a resonant switching power converter in which dead time between pulses is adaptively controlled.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SISAY G TIKU whose telephone number is (571)272-6898. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30AM-6:00PM.Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Crystal L Hammond can be reached at (571) 270-1682. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SISAY G TIKU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838