2DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 6-16 are finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lukes (2013/0213193).
Lukes discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, i.e., an advanced holding apparatus 20 comprising:
at least one screw bit body 66;
an attachment body 60;
5the at least one screw bit body comprising a plurality of laterally-bracing sidewalls 70, 72, a plurality of intermittent sidewalls defined by every other 70, 72, a first base tip surface, a second base intersection of 60 and 66;
the plurality of laterally-bracing sidewalls comprising a first lateral edge defined by first side of 72, a second lateral edge defined by the opposite side of 72, a bracing surface defined by one side of axial convex surface of 70, a second bracing surface defined by the opposite side of axial convex surface of 70, Fig. 4, and at least one engagement cavity through 72, Fig. 4;
the plurality of laterally-bracing sidewalls 70, 72 being radially positioned about 10a rotation axis of the at least one screw bit body Fig. 3;
the plurality of intermittent sidewalls intermittent 70, 72 being radially positioned about 10a rotation axis of the at least one screw bit body Fig. 3;
at least one of the plurality of intermittent sidewalls drive side 82 defined by 70 being flat zero degree drive angle defining a perpendicular line to the drive side [0069];
the first lateral edge and the second lateral edge being positioned at opposite ends of the laterally-bracing sidewall Figs. 3 and 4;
the first bracing surface being positioned adjacent to the first lateral edge Fig. 4; the second bracing surface being positioned adjacent to the second lateral edge Fig. 4;
the at least one engagement cavity 72 being positioned between the first bracing surface and the second bracing surface Fig. 4;
the at least one engagement cavity 72 extending into the at least one screw bit body from the first base toward the second base Figs. 2 and 4;
an entire cross-section of the at least one engagement cavity being parallel to the first base and the second base broken line, Fig. 2; and
the attachment body being connected adjacent to the second base Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 2, PA (prior art Lukes) meets the limitations, i.e., the advanced holding apparatus as claimed in claim 1, comprising: the first lateral edge being angular in shape Fig. 2; and the second lateral edge being angular in shape Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 6, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the advanced holding apparatus as claimed in claim 1, comprising: the first bracing surface and the second bracing surface each positioned relative to the plurality of intermittent sidewalls by a bracing angle; and the bracing angle being an obtuse angle Fig. 2.
Regarding claims 7-9, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the advanced holding apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of intermittent sidewalls is flat Fig. 6 alpha at 0 degrees [0069], convex and/or concave Figs. 10-12.
Regarding claim 10, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the advanced holding apparatus as claimed in claim 1, comprising: the plurality of intermittent sidewalls tapering diametrically from the first base to the second base, wherein a distance from the plurality of intermittent sidewalls to the rotational axis is smaller at the first base than at the second base Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 11, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the advanced holding apparatus as claimed in claim 1, comprising: the plurality of intermittent sidewalls tapering laterally from the first base to the second base, wherein a width of the plurality of intermittent sidewalls is smaller at the first base than at the second base Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 12, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the advanced holding apparatus as claimed in claim 1, comprising: the first bracing surface tapering laterally from the first base to the second base, wherein a width of the first bracing surface is smaller at the first base than at the second base; and the second bracing surface tapering laterally from the first base to the second base, wherein a width of the second bracing surface is smaller at the first base than at the second base Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 13, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the advanced holding apparatus as claimed in claim 1, comprising: the at least one engagement cavity 72 tapering laterally from the first base to the second base, wherein a width of the at least one engagement cavity is smaller at the first base than at the second base Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 14, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the advanced holding apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein a diameter of the screw bit body is greater at the second base than a diameter of the screw bit body at the first base Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 15, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the advanced holding apparatus as claimed in claim 1 comprising: the first base, the first bracing surface, and the second bracing surface each being flat Fig. 5, alpha at zero [0069]; and the first base being oriented perpendicular to the first bracing surface and the second bracing surface Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 16, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the advanced holding apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one engagement cavity is rounded Fig. 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PA in view of Huang (8,640,575).
PA (prior art, Luke) meets all of the limitations of claim 3, as described above, except for disclosing first and second lateral edges to be radial in shape.
Huang teaches a ball end 1 defining radial edges. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of PA with the ball end as taught by Huang to correspondingly shaped workpieces.
Claims 4 and 5 are finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PA in view of Lukes et al. (9,682,464 “Lukes`464”).
PA (prior art, Luke) meets all of the limitations of claim 4, as described above, except for the first bracing surface and the second bracing surface defined by sides of 70 each positioned relative to the plurality of intermittent sidewalls defined by every other 70, 72 by an acute bracing angle.
Lukes`464 teaches a driver with a protruding lead 24 with a rounded tip 26 defining an angle between the bracing surfaces Figs. 6A-6G. Lukes`464 further in Figs. 8A-8E discloses different shapes for the protruding lead. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of PA with the protruding lead as taught by Luke`464 for ease of engaging the cavity of the workpiece and to reduce scratching. Further it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the angle, e.g., acute or at a right angle depending on the workpiece and/or operational parameters and since it has been held that changing shape, dependent on work-piece parameters, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 US PQ 284(CCPA1954).
Claim 17 is finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PA in view of Pchola et al. (10,100,864 “Pchola”).
PA (prior art, Luke) meets all of the limitations of claim 17, as described above, except for the at least one engagement cavity to be angular, comprising a plurality of angled sections.
Pchola teaches driving tools having angular engagement cavities Figs. 1 and 6. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of PA with angular engaging cavity as taught by Pchola adept the tool for engaging either a Phillips head or a Robertson ® head.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 4, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that base reference Luke, fails to disclose the newly added feature of at least one of the plurality of intermittent sidewalls being flat. Applicant argues that shown in FIGS. 6 and 7 of Lukes, each of the intermittent sidewalls are convex in shape and not flat. Applicant further remarks that with regard to the spec on section 0069, the angle a does not determine the shape of the intermittent sidewall. Rather, angle α is measured between the drive side transition 82 and a radial line 98 extending from the rotational axis A" [0069]. applicant states that the angle α is measured between the top of the lobe and the adjacent bracing surfaces. Thus, taking angle a at 0 degrees would not alter the shape of the intermittent sidewall from being convex (as seen in FIG. 7) to being flat. Examienr, respectfully disagrees. Figs. 6 and 7 and the description in paragraph [0069] discloses a range of angles of between zero to ten degrees for the angle alpha, stating “[A] a zero degree drive angle provides a line perpendicular to the drive side transition surface that is parallel to a tangent of the inner and/or outer lobe diameters”. The vertical, tangent side defines at least one of the sidewalls to be “flat” at least partially.
/Hadi Shakeri/
February 6, 2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723