DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 12/11/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/11/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the waveguide platform includes a substrate layer, a cladding layer over the substrate layer, and a waveguide layer over the cladding layer” as recited in claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2-4,6,9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee) (US 20220385036 A1) in view of “Interferometric interrogation of π-phase shifted fiber Bragg grating sensors” (hereinafter Srivastava) and De Valicourt (WO 2017131879 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses in Fig. 2A
A laser device [Fig. 2A] (Para. [0032]) comprising:
a gain region [RSOA 105] (See Fig. 1D) (Paras. [0060, 0069]) configured to emit a beam of light (Para. [0064]); and
a photonics device [115] (Para. [0061]) optically coupled to the gain chip [105] (Para. [0060]), the photonics device [115] comprising:
a waveguide platform [waveguides 117 see Fig. 1A] (Para. [0061]) including an input waveguide [connection of 105 to 130] (Para. [0064]), which is optically coupled to the gain region [105] (Para. [0064]), the input waveguide [connection of 105 to 130] (Para. [0064]) in optical communication with a cascaded arrangement of waveguide structures [210] (Para. [0069]) on the waveguide platform (Paras. [0064,0069]),
wherein the waveguide structures cooperate to yield a single resonance frequency [Figs 2B,2C] (Paras. [0065,0069]) of the light that feeds back into the gain region [105] (Para. [0065]) to produce a self-injection lock for the laser device (Para. [0069]).
Lee fails to disclose,
The gain region comprising a gain chip
the photonic device comprising a photonics chip
the waveguide structures including waveguide grating structures
the waveguide grating structures comprising:
a first waveguide grating structure configured to produce a single resonance frequency within a stopband; and
a second waveguide grating structure in optical communication with the first waveguide grating structure, the second waveguide grating structure configured to diffract a narrowband resonance, overlapping with the stopband of the first waveguide grating structure, back toward the gain chip, while passing any light outside of the stopband of the first waveguide grating structure out of the waveguide platform;
De Valicourt discloses in Fig. 2,
an InP based RSOA (Para. [0057]) coupled to a silicon photonics integrated circuit [210] (Para. [0050])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the InP based RSOA and the photonics device of Lee as a silicon photonics integrated circuit as shown in De Valicourt for the purpose of efficient current injection and for using a cost effective material in silicon. (De Valicourt Paras. [0042,0057])
Lee in view of De Valicourt fails to disclose,
the waveguide structures including waveguide grating structures
the waveguide grating structures comprising:
a first waveguide grating structure configured to produce a single resonance frequency within a stopband; and
a second waveguide grating structure in optical communication with the first waveguide grating structure, the second waveguide grating structure configured to diffract a narrowband resonance, overlapping with the stopband of the first waveguide grating structure, back toward the gain chip, while passing any light outside of the stopband of the first waveguide grating structure out of the waveguide platform;
Srivastava discloses,
a cascaded arrangement of waveguide grating structures [πFG and FBG filter Fig. 2] (Page 90) comprising
a first waveguide grating structure [πFBG] configured to produce a single resonance frequency within a stopband [Fig. 1 Page 89] (Page 89, right column, paragraph 1); and
a second waveguide grating structure [FBG filter] in optical communication with the first waveguide grating structure [πFBG] (Page 89, right column, last paragraph and Page 90, left column first paragraph), the second waveguide grating structure [FBG Filter] configured to diffract a narrowband resonance (Page 90, left column first paragraph), overlapping with the stopband of the first waveguide grating structure [πFBG] (See Fig. 1, Page 89, right column), back toward a gain chip [ASE Fig. 2], while passing any light outside of the stopband (Fig. 1) of the first waveguide grating structure [πFBG] out of a waveguide platform (Page 90, left column first paragraph);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the πFBG grating and the filter FBG grating as the resonance and filter structures (respectively) of the modified device of Lee for the purpose of retaining only a desired narrow transmission peak in the device. (Srivastava Page 89, right column, last paragraph and Page 90, left column first paragraph)
Regarding claim 2, Lee in view of Srivastava and De Valicourt as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in De Valicourt Fig. 2,
wherein the gain chip [250] comprises a reflective semiconductor optical amplifier (RSOA) (Para. [0050]).
Regarding claim 3, Lee in view of Srivastava and De Valicourt as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in De Valicourt Fig. 2,
wherein the gain chip [250] comprises an indium phosphide (InP) based RSOA (Para. [0050]).
Regarding claim 4, Lee in view of Srivastava and De Valicourt as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in De Valicourt Fig. 2,
wherein the photonics chip comprises a silicon photonics integrated circuit [210] (Para. [0050]).
Regarding claim 6, Lee in view of Srivastava and De Valicourt discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above and further discloses in Srivastava,
wherein the first waveguide grating structure [πFBG] includes a single defect cavity Bragg grating configured to operate as a resonator (Page 89, left column, second paragraph).
Regarding claim 9, Lee in view of Srivastava and De Valicourt as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in Srivastava,
wherein the second waveguide grating structure [Filter FBG Fig. 2] comprises a filter Bragg grating [Abstract, Page 89, right column, last paragraph].
Regarding claim 11, Lee in view of Srivastava and De Valicourt as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in Lee Fig. 2A,
wherein the input waveguide [connection of 105 to 130] is split between a first waveguide arm [140 to 125] and a second waveguide arm [145 to 125] on the waveguide platform (Paras. [0069,0076]).
Examiner notes paragraph [0076] of Lee discloses the coupler can be a Y-coupler, with a single port at an input side from [105] and two ports facing the wavelength selective element [210].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Srivastava and De Valicourt as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. (hereinafter Park) (US 20060104322 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Lee in view of Srivastava and De Valicourt discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 and further discloses,
wherein a waveguide layer [Lee Fig. 3A] defines the input waveguide [Lee connection of 105 to 130 Fig. 2A] and the cascaded arrangement of waveguide grating structures [Srivastava Fig. 2] on the waveguide platform (Lee Para. [0067]).
Lee in view of Srivastava and De Valicourt fails to disclose,
wherein the waveguide platform includes a substrate layer, a cladding layer over the substrate layer, and the waveguide layer over the cladding layer,
Park discloses in Fig. 2,
a waveguide platform [22] (Para. [0008]) including a substrate layer [221] (Para. [0008]), a cladding layer [222] (Para. [0008]) over the substrate layer [221] (Para. [0008]), and a waveguide layer [223] (Para. [0008]) over the cladding layer [222] (Para. [0008])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the waveguide platform structure of Park as the waveguide platform structure of the modified device of Lee for the purpose of using a cost effective substrate material of silicon.
Claims 7,8,10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Srivastava and De Valicourt as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of “Silicon photonic grating-assisted contra-directional couplers” (hereinafter Shi).
Regarding claim 7, Lee in view of Srivastava and De Valicourt discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above and further discloses in Srivastava,
wherein the first waveguide grating structure [πFBG] comprises a periodic grating structure (Page 88, eight column, last paragraph) configured to produce a pi phase shift in a central portion thereof (Page 88, eight column, last paragraph).
Lee in view of Srivastava and De Valicourt fails to disclose,
wherein the first waveguide grating structure comprises a grating-assisted contradirectional coupler
Shi discloses in Fig. 3,
a π-shifted grating-assisted contradirectional coupler (Fig. 3, Section 3.2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the π-shifted grating-assisted contradirecitonal coupler of Shi as the first waveguide grating structure of the modified device of Lee for the purpose of allowing direct integration of the grating structure with other photonic devices. (Shi Section 7.2, second paragraph)
Regarding claim 8, Lee in view of Srivastava, De Valicourt and Shi as applied to claim 7 above further discloses in Shi,
wherein the pi phase shift is an abrupt change in a spatial pattern of waveguide modulation [Fig. 3, section 3.2], such that a periodic structure of the waveguide modulation is shifted in spatial phase by pi radians Section 3.2) on either side of an interface [middle shifted portion Fig. 3], which generates a confined field of the light at a resonance wavelength (Shi section 3.2), with the light circulating around the pi phase shift. [Fig. 3] (Section 3.2 and note under Fig. 3)
Regarding claim 10, Lee in view of Srivastava and De Valicourt discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above and further discloses in Shrivastava,
wherein the second waveguide grating [FBG filter] structure comprises a periodic grating structure without a pi phase shift (Page 89, right column, last paragraph and Page 90, left column first paragraph).
Lee in view of Srivastava and De Valicourt fails to disclose,
the second waveguide grating structure comprising a grating-assisted contradirectional coupler
Shi discloses in Fig. 2,
a waveguide grating structure [Fig. 2] comprising a grating-assisted contradirecitonal coupler (Section 3.1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the contradirectional coupler structure of Shi with the FBG filter of Lee in view of Shrivastava for the purpose of allowing propagation in both positive and negative directions. (Shi Section 3.1)
Regarding claim 12 Lee in view of Srivastava, De Valicourt and Shi as applied to claim 11 above further discloses,
wherein the first waveguide arm [Lee Fig. 2A 140 to 125] comprises:
a first waveguide branch [Lee Fig. 2A connection of 140 to 205] (Lee Para. [0064]) coupled between the input waveguide [Lee Fig. 2A 130] (Lee Para. [0064]) and an input port of the first waveguide grating structure [input port of π-shifted grating Shi Fig. 3 in place of Lee 205] (Shi section 3.2);
a second waveguide branch [Lee Fig. 2A connection of 204 to 125] coupled between a transmission port of the first waveguide grating structure [through port of π-shifted grating Shi Fig. 3 in place of Lee 205] (Shi section 3.2) and an input port of the second waveguide grating structure [Ao+ port Shi Fig. 2 in place of Lee 125] (Shi section 3.1);
and a third waveguide branch coupled with a reflection port of the first waveguide grating structure [drop port Shi Fi. 3 in place of Lee 205] (Shi section 3.2).
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Srivastava, De Valicourt and Shi as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Zheng et al. (hereinafter Zheng) (US 20130016423 A1).
Regarding claim 13 Lee in view of Srivastava, De Valicourt and Shi as applied to claim 12 above further discloses,
wherein the second waveguide arm [Lee Fig. 2A 145 to 125] (Lee Para. [0064]) comprises:
a fourth waveguide branch [Lee Fig. 2A connection of 145 to 125] coupled between the input waveguide [Lee Fig. 2A 130] and a reflection port of the second waveguide grating structure [Bo- port Shi Fig. 2 in place of Lee 125] (Lee Para. [0064, Shi section 3.1);
Lee in view of Srivastava, De Valicourt and Shi fails to disclose,
a fifth waveguide branch split off from the fourth waveguide branch to a laser output
Zheng discloses in Fig. 2B,
a waveguide branch [160] (Para. [0062]) split off from a waveguide branch [114-2] (Para. [0042]) to a laser output (Para. [0051])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement a tap as shown in Zheng in the fourth waveguide branch of the modified device of Li for the purpose of controlling the amount of laser output relative to the gain of the laser cavity. (Zheng Para. [0051])
Regarding claim 14, Lee in view of Srivastava, De Valicourt, Shi and Zheng as applied to claim 13 above further discloses,
wherein the first waveguide grating structure [π-shifted grating Shi Fig. 3 in place of Lee 205 Fig. 2A] (Shi Section 3.2) includes a single defect cavity (Shrivastava page 89, left column first and second paragraphs) configured to produce a transmission spectrum of the light comprising the single resonance frequency within the stopband and a set of passband frequencies [Shrivastava Figs. 1 and 4] (Shrivastava Page 89, right column, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 15 Lee in view of Srivastava, De Valicourt, Shi and Zheng as applied to claim 14 above further discloses,
wherein the transmission spectrum of the light [Shrivastava Fig. 1] (Shrivastava Page 89, right column, first paragraph) is sent from the transmission port of the first waveguide grating structure [through port of π-shifted grating Shi Fig. 3 in place of Lee 205] (Shi Section 3.2) to the input port of the second waveguide grating structure [Ao+ port Shi Fig. 2 in place of Lee 125] (Shi Section 3.2), with remaining wavelengths of the light exiting through the reflection port of the first waveguide grating structure [drop port Shi Fi. 3 in place of Lee 205] (Shi section 3.1).
Regarding claim 16 Lee in view of Srivastava, De Valicourt, Shi and Zheng as applied to claim 15 above further discloses,
wherein the second waveguide grating structure [Shi Fig. 2] includes a filter grating [Shrivastava FBG filter Fig. 2] configured to produce a reflection spectrum of the light comprising a narrowband resonance [Shrivastava Fig. 1] (Page 90, left column first paragraph) within a stopband that overlaps with the stopband of the first waveguide grating structure [Shrivastava Fig. 1] (Shrivastava Page 89, right column, last paragraph and Page 90, left column first paragraph).
Regarding claim 17, Lee in view of Srivastava, De Valicourt, Shi and Zheng as applied to claim 16 above further discloses,
wherein the light within the reflection spectrum, including only the single resonance frequency (Shrivastava Fig. 1) (Shrivastava Page 89, right column, last paragraph) from the first waveguide grating structure [π-shifted grating Shi Fig. 3 in place of Lee 205 Fig. 2A], is sent from the reflection port of the second waveguide grating structure [Bo+ port Shi Fig. 2 in place of Lee 125] back to the gain chip [Lee 105 Fig. 2A with structure of De Valicourt 205 Fig. 2] (Lee Para. [0064], De Valicourt Para. [0057]), with remaining wavelengths of light exiting through a drop port of the second waveguide grating structure [Bl+ and Al+ ports Shi Fig. 2 in place of Lee 125] (Shi section 3.1).
Conclusion
/H.J.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2828 /TOD T VAN ROY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828