Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, lines 16-17, filed 1/20/2026, with respect to claims 1, 11, and 16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claims 1, 11, and 16 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11, and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Since the independent claims 1, 11, and 16 remain rejected, the rejections of the dependent claims 5-6, 8-10, 12, and 17 persist.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11-12, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RUAN, et al. (US 20120281778 A1, hereinafter, "RUAN") in view of TRAININ (US 20120020226 A1, hereinafter, "TRAININ"), JANG, et al. (US 20100291945 A1, hereinafter, "JANG") and TAKATA, et al. (US 20230247562 A1, hereinafter, "TAKATA").
Regarding claim 11, RUAN teaches a system (paragraph 0161; figure 20, 2000: multiple access
wireless communication system), comprising:
a processor (paragraph 0174; figure 20, 2030 and 2070: processor);
and a memory having instructions stored thereon (paragraph 0174; figure 20, 2032 and 2072:
memory) which, when executed on the processor, performs operations comprising:
determining, by an access point in a Wi-Fi network, channel state information (CSI) for a plurality of wireless stations (STAs) in the Wi-Fi network, wherein the determining comprises:
RUAN writes, “FIG. 9 presents a flowchart of an example algorithm 900 for determining the precoders
and decorrelators based on the stream assignments and subspace constraints as well as the channel
state information (determined in the first stage) in accordance the second stage of the subject
interference mitigation scheme (paragraph 0118). Processors 2130 and 2170 can direct (e.g., control,
coordinate, manage, etc.) operation at base station 2110 and access terminal 2150, respectively.
Respective processors 2130 and 2170 can be associated with memory 2132 and 2172 that store
program codes and data. Processors 2130 and 2170 can also perform computations to derive frequency
and impulse response estimates for the uplink and downlink, respectively (paragraph 0174). RUAN
indicates that the channel state information is determined in the first stage for the precoders and
decorrelators in the second stage. RUAN also indicates the processors can perform computations to
derive frequency and impulse response estimates.
RUAN fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “transmitting, by the access point, a null data packet (NDP) request frame to the plurality of STAs, the NDP request frame identifying a response order for the plurality of STAs;”, “and receiving, at the access point, a response from each of the STAs, wherein transmission of the response by the respective STA is based on the response order;”, “calculating, by the access point and based on the CSI, one or more precoder matrices and one or more decoder matrices relating to interference alignment for data transmission between the plurality of STAs in the Wi-Fi network;”, “and transmitting, by the access point and to the plurality of STAs in the Wi-Fi network, a trigger frame to initiate peer-to-peer (P2P) transmission between the plurality of STAs using the one or more precoder matrices and the one or more decoder matrices, the P2P transmission comprising:”, “simultaneously transmitting, in the Wi-Fi network, data between at least two pairs of STAs, of the plurality of STAs using the one or more precoder matrices and the one or more decoder matrices for interference alignment of the simultaneous transmissions”, and
“and using a P2P physical layer protocol data unit allocated based on the trigger frame.”
However, in analogous art, TRAININ teaches transmitting, by the access point, a null data packet (NDP) request frame to the plurality of STAs, the NDP request frame identifying a response order for the plurality of STAs;
TRAININ writes, “FIG. 3 illustrates a procedure for an access point to request sounding measurements, in accordance with some embodiments. Procedure 300 may be performed by an AP, such as AP 102 (FIG. 1). Operation 310 comprises transmitting an NDP sounding message from the AP to the STAs. Operation 320 comprises transmitting an announce message from the AP to the STAs. The announce message may be a multicast message or a broadcast message. Operation 330 comprises including a list of unicast RAs of the STAs for which a sounding measurement is requested in the announce message. Operation 340 comprises ordering the list of RAs to identify the order of response from the STAs” (paragraph 0020).
and receiving, at the access point, a response from each of the STAs, wherein transmission of the response by the respective STA is based on the response order;
TRAININ writes, “FIG. 4 illustrates a procedure for a wireless station to respond to a sounding request, in accordance with some embodiments. Procedure 400 may be performed by an STA, such as STA 108 (FIG. 1). Operation 410 comprises receiving an NDP sounding message from the AP. Operation 420 comprises receiving an announce message from the AP containing a list of STAs to provide sounding measurements. Operation 430 comprises determining if the STA is on the list. Operation 440 comprises resetting the sounding measurement if the STA is not on the list. Operation 450 comprises computing a sounding measurement if the STA is on the list. Operation 460 comprises transmitting the sounding measurement at a time based on the ordering of the STAs in the list. In some embodiments, the time of transmission is determined such that a short interframe spacing (SIPS) is achieved between the sounding measurement transmissions from each STA” (paragraph 0021).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of RUAN to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by TRAININ that "relate to apparatus and methods associated with wireless local area network communication. Some embodiments relate to Wireless Fidelity (Wi-Fi) networks and networks operating in accordance with one of the IEEE 802.11 standards. Some embodiments relate to communications and data transmission between an access points (AP) and wireless local area network devices or stations (STAs)." TRAININ provides motivation for modification of the invention stating, "Some embodiments may allow an access point to request that multiple stations compute sounding measurements with minimal time delay between measurements" (abstract).
RUAN and TRAININ fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “calculating, by the access point and based on the CSI, one or more precoder matrices and one or more decoder matrices relating to interference alignment for data transmission between the plurality of STAs in the Wi-Fi network;”, “and transmitting, by the access point and to the plurality of STAs in the Wi-Fi network, a trigger frame to initiate peer-to-peer (P2P) transmission between the plurality of STAs using the one or more precoder matrices and the one or more decoder matrices, the P2P transmission comprising:”, “simultaneously transmitting, in the Wi-Fi network, data between at least two pairs of STAs, of the plurality of STAs using the one or more precoder matrices and the one or more decoder matrices for interference alignment of the simultaneous transmissions”, and “and using a P2P physical layer protocol data unit allocated based on the trigger frame.”
However, in analogous art, JANG teaches calculating, by the access point and based on the CSI, one or more precoder matrices and one or more decoder matrices relating to interference alignment for data transmission between the plurality of STAs in the Wi-Fi network;
JANG writes, “According to the interference alignment scheme, each of the source nodes S1, S2, and S3
may design a precoding matrix so that interference in each of the destination nodes D1, D2, and D3 may
be aligned. Each of the source nodes S1, S2, and S3 may use a decoding matrix to align and reduce or
eliminate the interference. The precoding matrix and the decoding matrix may be calculated based on
interference channel information of the destination nodes D1, D2, and D3” (paragraph 0048). Each of
the source nodes S1, S2, and S3 denotes a transmitter, for example, a base station or a relay in a
downlink of a cellular system and a terminal or a relay in an uplink of the cellular system. Each of the
destination nodes D1, D2, and D3 denotes a receiver, for example, a terminal or the relay in the
downlink of the cellular system and a base station or the relay in the uplink of the cellular system
(paragraph 0044). JANG states each source node may design a precoding matrix so that interference in
each of the destination nodes may be aligned. JANG further specifies that each of the source nodes may
use a decoding matrix to align and reduce or eliminate the interference. The precoding matrix and the
decoding matrix may be calculated based on interference channel information of the destination nodes.
RUAN mentioned above the term node may refer to any apparatus which functions as a transmitter or
receiver, including base stations, access point, and/or user devices.
simultaneously transmitting, in the Wi-Fi network, data between at least two pairs of STAs of
the plurality of STAs using the one or more precoder matrices and the one or more decoder matrices
for interference alignment of the simultaneous transmissions.
JANG writes, “The plurality of transmit-receive pairs may apply a simultaneous transmission/reception
scheme based on the collected interference channel information in the concurrent mode” (paragraph
0007). JANG adds, “Where the concurrent mode is selected, the transmit-receive pairs 511, 512, and
513 may use a simultaneous transmission/reception scheme” (paragraph 0075; figure 5). JANG specifies
that the transmit-receive pairs may apply a simultaneous transmission/reception scheme based on the
collected interference channel information in the concurrent mode. JANG indicates and illustrates in
figure 5, while in concurrent mode the transmit-receive pairs may use a simultaneous
transmission/reception scheme.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of RUAN and TRAININ to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by JANG that "relates to a communication system and more particularly, to a communication system that may collect interference channel information to apply a simultaneous transmission/reception scheme using the collected interference channel information." JANG provides motivation for modification of the invention stating, "The aforementioned simultaneous transmission/reception scheme may be applicable to enhance the frequency efficiency. Accordingly, in another aspect, a technology is disclosed that may decrease the overhead in the communication system and may appropriately reflect changes of interference channels in the multiple cells of FIG. 2" (paragraph 0058). JANG adds, "By suspending collecting and reporting of the interference channel information in the concurrent mode, it is possible to decrease the overhead in the communication system" (paragraph 0069).
RUAN, TRAININ, and JANG fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “and transmitting, by the access point and to the plurality of STAs in the Wi-Fi network, a trigger frame to initiate peer-to-peer (P2P) transmission between the plurality of STAs using the one or more precoder matrices and the one or more decoder matrices, the P2P transmission comprising:” and “and using a P2P physical layer protocol data unit allocated based on the trigger frame.”
However, in analogous art, TAKATA teaches and transmitting, by the access point and to the
plurality of STAs in the Wi-Fi network, a trigger frame to initiate peer-to-peer (P2P) transmission
between the plurality of STAs using the one or more precoder matrices and the one or more decoder
matrices, the P2P transmission comprising:
TAKATA writes, “In Triggered P2P, like the UL MU transmission in 11ax, the AP may transmit, to a
terminal (e.g., referred to as a ‘Direct Link Scheduled (DLS) STA’) that initiates transmission by P2P, a
control signal (e.g., a Trigger frame) that is a trigger for a P2P The Trigger frame may include, for
example, information on resources used for P2P link transmission. The terminal may transmit data to
the STA (e.g., referred to as a “Direct Link Peer (DLP) STA”) in a P2P link (or referred to as a Direct Link),
for example, after receiving the Trigger frame” (paragraph 0065). TAKATA adds, “STA 200 may estimate
information on the degree of reduction of interference to AP 100 (in other words, a parameter relevant
to beamforming; e.g., BF .sub.effect), for example, based on beamforming applied in STA 200 (e.g.,
Precoding, antenna-switching control, etc.) and a channel estimation value for the AP-STA channel”
(paragraph 0143). TAKATA indicates a trigger frame to initiate P2P transmission. TAKATA suggests the
station may estimate information on the degree of reduction interference to the AP based on
beamforming applied in the station, such as precoding, etc.
and using a P2P physical layer protocol data unit allocated based on the trigger frame.
TAKATA writes, “A terminal may transmit an uplink signal (also referred to as an uplink response signal,
for example) to the AP based on the Trigger frame, for example. The uplink response signal is also
referred to as, for example, a Trigger based Physical layer convergence procedure Protocol Data Unit
(TB PPDU)” (paragraph 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of RUAN, TRAININ, and JANG to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by TAKATA that "relates to a terminal and a communication method." TAKATA provides motivation for modification of the invention stating, "In this method, for example, it is possible to reduce the interference with the uplink reception processing of the AP by the P2P link transmission, so as to improve uplink throughput" (paragraph 0078). JANG adds, "...it is possible to reduce the interference by P2P lurk transmission with the uplink reception processing of AP 100, and it is thus possible to improve the uplink throughput" (paragraph 0134).
Regarding claim 12, RUAN, TRAININ, JANG, and TAKATA teach the system of claim 11,
Additionally, RUAN teaches wherein a wireless access point (AP) calculates the one or more
precoder matrices and one or more decoder matrices relating to interference alignment.
RUAN writes, “Transmitters 102 and receivers 104 may represent any type of wireless communication
device which may have both transmit and receive capabilities. The controller 106 may be a stand-alone
wireless communication device configured to communicate wirelessly with transmitters 102 and
receivers 104, or may be located within one of transmitters 102 or receivers 104. For, example, the
transmitters and receiver can include base stations, access point, and/or user devices. The term node as
used herein is used to refer to any apparatus which functions as a transmitter or receiver” (paragraph
0052). RUAN indicates the transmitters and receiver can include base stations, access point, and/or user
devices. JANG previously stated above, the precoding matrix and the decoding matrix may be calculated
based on interference channel information of the destination nodes.
Claim 1 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 11 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 11. Claim 1 is rejected under the same rational as claim 11.
Claims 16-17 are memory claims corresponding to the apparatus claims 11-12 that have already
been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 11-12. Claims 16-17
are rejected under the same rational as claims 11-12.
Claim(s) 5 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RUAN, TRAININ, JANG, and TAKATA as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of YANG, et al. (US 20210160889 A1, hereinafter, "YANG").
Regarding claim 5, RUAN, TRAININ, JANG, and TAKATA teach the method of claim 1,
RUAN, TRAININ, JANG, and TAKATA fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the CSI is determined based on sounding between the one or more STAs and an AP.”
However, in analogous art, YANG teaches wherein the CSI is determined based on sounding
between the one or more STAs and an AP.
YANG writes, “To obtain the CSI necessary for beamforming, the beamformer may perform a channel
sounding procedure with the beamformee. For example, the beamformer may transmit one or more
sounding signals (for example, in the form of a null data packet (NDP)) to the beamformee (paragraph
0097). As described above, APs 102 and STAs 104 can support multi-user (MU) communications; that is,
concurrent transmissions from one device to each of multiple devices (for example, multiple
simultaneous downlink (DL) communications from an AP 102 to corresponding STAs 104) ...” (paragraph
0099). YANG specifies to obtain the CSI necessary for beamforming, the beamformer may perform a
channel sounding procedure with the beamformee. YANG indicates that MU communications occur
between the AP and the STAs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of RUAN, TRAININ, JANG, and TAKATA to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by YANG that "relates generally to wireless communication, and more specifically, to parser and interleaving parameter design for resource unit (RU) aggregation." YANG provides motivation for modification of the invention stating, "Particular implementations of the subject matter described in this disclosure can be implemented to realize one or more of the following potential advantages. In some implementations, the described techniques can be used to enhance signaling capability for communications associated with high efficiency (HE) WLAN operations (such as defined in IEEE 802.11ax) or extremely high throughput (EHT) operations (such as defined in IEEE 802.11be). The enhanced signaling capability may more specifically relate to single-user transmissions and promote increased spectral efficiency and signaling throughput over non-adjacent RUs within a wireless channel" (paragraph 0070). YANG adds, "It is also possible to more accurately direct transmissions by increasing the number of transmit antennas. This is especially advantageous in MU transmission contexts in which it is particularly important to reduce inter-user interference" (paragraph 0098).
Regarding claim 8, RUAN, TRAININ, JANG, and TAKATA teach the method of claim 1, wherein determining the CSI for the one or more STAs comprises:
RUAN, TRAININ, JANG, and TAKATA fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “receiving, at an AP, a report from each of the one or more STAs estimating CSI from the respective STA.”
However, in analogous art, YANG teaches receiving, at an AP, a report from each of the one or more STAs estimating CSI from the respective STA.
YANG writes, “The method may be performed by an apparatus of a transmitter device, and may include
transmitting sounding sequences over a wireless channel to a receiver device, the sounding sequences
configured for obtaining channel state information (CSI) of the wireless channel. The method may
include transmitting or receiving one or more non-sounding frames over the wireless channel associated
with a channel report of the receiver device. The method may include transmitting a frame soliciting the
channel report from the receiver device. The method may include receiving the channel report solicited
from the receiver device, the channel report including CSI of the wireless channel responsive to at least
the sounding sequences. In some instances, the one or more non-sounding frames may include frames
transmitted over the wireless channel by a wireless communication device associated with the
transmitter device or the receiver device. In some other instances, the one or more non-sounding
frames may include a trigger frame...” (paragraph 0006). YANG adds, “Some implementations
more specifically relate to a wireless communication device (such as an access point (AP) or a station
(STA)) configured to aggregate a set of RUs as part of a communication (for example, a single-user
transmission) with an associated recipient device (paragraph 0068). YANG specifies that the method
may include transmitting or receiving one or more non-sounding frames over the wireless channel
associated with a channel report of the receiver device. YANG also indicates that the transmitter device,
which may include transmitting sounding sequences over a wireless channel to a receiver device, the
sounding sequences configured for obtaining channel state information (CSI) of the wireless channel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of RUAN, TRAININ, JANG, and TAKATA to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by YANG that "relates generally to wireless communication, and more specifically, to parser and interleaving parameter design for resource unit (RU) aggregation." YANG provides motivation for modification of the invention stating, "Particular implementations of the subject matter described in this disclosure can be implemented to realize one or more of the following potential advantages. In some implementations, the described techniques can be used to enhance signaling capability for communications associated with high efficiency (HE) WLAN operations (such as defined in IEEE 802.11ax) or extremely high throughput (EHT) operations (such as defined in IEEE 802.11be). The enhanced signaling capability may more specifically relate to single-user transmissions and promote increased spectral efficiency and signaling throughput over non-adjacent RUs within a wireless channel" (paragraph 0070). YANG adds, "It is also possible to more accurately direct transmissions by increasing the number of transmit antennas. This is especially advantageous in MU transmission contexts in which it is particularly important to reduce inter-user interference" (paragraph 0098).
Regarding claim 9, RUAN, TRAININ, JANG, and TAKATA teach the method of claim 8, further comprising:
RUAN, TRAININ, JANG, and TAKATA fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “transmitting a trigger frame from the AP to each of the one or more STAs,” and “wherein the one or more STAs transmit the report based on receiving the trigger frame.”
However, in analogous art, YANG teaches transmitting a trigger frame from the AP to each of the one or more STAs,
YANG writes, “The method may be performed by an apparatus of a transmitter device, and may include
transmitting sounding sequences over a wireless channel to a receiver device, the sounding sequences
configured for obtaining channel state information (CSI) of the wireless channel. The method may
include transmitting or receiving one or more non-sounding frames over the wireless channel associated
with a channel report of the receiver device. The method may include transmitting a frame soliciting the
channel report from the receiver device. The method may include receiving the channel report solicited
from the receiver device, the channel report including CSI of the wireless channel responsive to at least
the sounding sequences. In some instances, the one or more non-sounding frames may include frames
transmitted over the wireless channel by a wireless communication device associated with the
transmitter device or the receiver device. In some other instances, the one or more non-sounding
frames may include a trigger frame...” (paragraph 0006). YANG adds, “Some implementations
more specifically relate to a wireless communication device (such as an access point (AP) or a station
(STA)) configured to aggregate a set of RUs as part of a communication (for example, a single-user
transmission) with an associated recipient device (paragraph 0068).
wherein the one or more STAs transmit the report based on receiving the trigger frame.
YANG writes, “The method may be performed by an apparatus of a transmitter device, and may include
transmitting sounding sequences over a wireless channel to a receiver device, the sounding sequences
configured for obtaining channel state information (CSI) of the wireless channel. The method may
include transmitting or receiving one or more non-sounding frames over the wireless channel associated
with a channel report of the receiver device. The method may include transmitting a frame soliciting the
channel report from the receiver device. The method may include receiving the channel report solicited
from the receiver device, the channel report including CSI of the wireless channel responsive to at least
the sounding sequences. In some instances, the one or more non-sounding frames may include frames
transmitted over the wireless channel by a wireless communication device associated with the
transmitter device or the receiver device. In some other instances, the one or more non-sounding
frames may include a trigger frame...” (paragraph 0006). YANG adds, “Some implementations
more specifically relate to a wireless communication device (such as an access point (AP) or a station
(STA)) configured to aggregate a set of RUs as part of a communication (for example, a single-user
transmission) with an associated recipient device (paragraph 0068). YANG specifies that the method
may include transmitting or receiving one or more non-sounding frames over the wireless channel
associated with a channel report of the receiver device. YANG also indicates that the transmitter device,
which may include transmitting sounding sequences over a wireless channel to a receiver device, the
sounding sequences configured for obtaining channel state information (CSI) of the wireless channel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of RUAN, TRAININ, JANG, and TAKATA to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by YANG that "relates generally to wireless communication, and more specifically, to parser and interleaving parameter design for resource unit (RU) aggregation." YANG provides motivation for modification of the invention stating, "Particular implementations of the subject matter described in this disclosure can be implemented to realize one or more of the following potential advantages. In some implementations, the described techniques can be used to enhance signaling capability for communications associated with high efficiency (HE) WLAN operations (such as defined in IEEE 802.11ax) or extremely high throughput (EHT) operations (such as defined in IEEE 802.11be). The enhanced signaling capability may more specifically relate to single-user transmissions and promote increased spectral efficiency and signaling throughput over non-adjacent RUs within a wireless channel" (paragraph 0070). YANG adds, "It is also possible to more accurately direct transmissions by increasing the number of transmit antennas. This is especially advantageous in MU transmission contexts in which it is particularly important to reduce inter-user interference" (paragraph 0098).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RUAN, TRAININ, JANG, TAKATA, and YANG as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of MERLIN, et al. (US 20220345187 A1, hereinafter, "MERLIN").
Regarding claim 6, RUAN, TRAININ, JANG, TAKATA, and YANG teach the method of claim 1,
RUAN, TRAININ, JANG, TAKATA, and YANG fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “determining a sounding interval;” and “and initiating the sounding, at the AP, based on the sounding interval.”
However, in analogous art, MERLIN teaches determining a sounding interval;
MERLIN writes, “The transmission schedule may indicate periodic times or intervals at which D2 is to
transmit sounding frames over the wireless channel” (paragraph 0185). MERLIN continues, “...the
second wireless communication devices D2 may be an AP such as the APs 102 and 602 described with
reference to FIGS. 1 and 6A, respectively” (paragraph 0183).
and initiating the sounding, at the AP, based on the sounding interval.
MERLIN writes, “The transmission schedule may indicate periodic times or intervals at which D2 is to
transmit sounding frames over the wireless channel” (paragraph 0185). MERLIN continues, “...the
second wireless communication devices D2 may be an AP such as the APs 102 and 602 described with
reference to FIGS. 1 and 6A, respectively” (paragraph 0183).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of RUAN, TRAININ, JANG, TAKATA, and YANG to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by MERLIN that "relates generally to wireless communication, and more specifically, to sounding techniques for RF sensing in wireless communication systems." MERLIN provides motivation for modification of the invention stating, "As described herein, a transmitting device may support the use of diversity schemes. When performing beamforming, the transmitting beamforming array gain is logarithmically proportional to the ratio of N.sub.Tx to N.sub.SS. As such, it is generally desirable, within other constraints, to increase the number N.sub.Tx of transmit antennas when performing beamforming to increase the gain. It is also possible to more accurately direct transmissions by increasing the number of transmit antennas. This is especially advantageous in MU transmission contexts in which it is particularly important to reduce inter-user interference" (paragraph 0100). MERLIN adds, "In some implementations, the described techniques can be used to facilitate RF sensing that can support a wide range of applications. For example, by including the configuration of the transmitting device in the sounding data transmitted to the receiving device, the receiving device can obtain more accurate measurements of the wireless channel. Further, by generating channel reports only when the wireless channel changes by a threshold amount, aspects of the present disclosure may reduce the overhead associated with the channel sounding procedure" (paragraph 0113).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RUAN, TRAININ, JANG, and TAKATA as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of KHOJASTEPOUR, et al. (US 20150223173 A1, hereinafter, "KHOJASTEPOUR").
Regarding claim 10, RUAN, TRAININ, JANG, and TAKATA teach the method of claim 1,
RUAN, TRAININ, JANG, and TAKATA fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the simultaneous transmissions are interference aligned in a spatial domain using a plurality of antennas relating to the pairs of STAs.”
However, in analogous art, KHOJASTEPOUR teaches wherein the simultaneous transmissions
are interference aligned in a spatial domain using a plurality of antennas relating to the pairs of STAs.
KHOJASTEPOUR writes, “In another aspect of the present disclosure, a method of full-duplex
communication in a wireless network is provided that may include simultaneous transmission to a
plurality of receiving users and simultaneously receiving from a plurality of transmitting users in full
duplex, wherein the transmission of the transmitting users are aligned at the receiving users. In some
embodiments, the plurality of transmitting users and the plurality of receiving users are half duplex.
Each user may be equipped with multiple antenna and alignment of interfering signal of the transmitting
users at the receiving users can be performed in spatial domain. Linear precoding or filtering may also
be used at the transmitters or the receivers to mitigate the interference. In some embodiments, the
plurality of transmitting users and receiving users may be composed of two transmitting users and two
receiving users that are active. The alignment that is performed by at least one of communication nodes
may be in a distributed manner. The control signal may be communicated between the users directly”
(paragraph 0007). KHOJASTEPOUR indicates simultaneous transmission to a plurality of receiving users
and simultaneously receiving from a plurality of transmitting users, and each user may be equipped with
multiple antenna and alignment of interfering signal of the transmitting users at the receiving users can
be performed in spatial domain.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of RUAN, TRAININ, JANG, and TAKATA to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by KHOJASTEPOUR that "relates to strategies for enabling full duplex wireless systems. More particularly, the present disclosure is related to using interference alignment for enabling duplex wireless systems and/or enabling full duplex wireless systems using half duplex clients." KHOJASTEPOUR provides motivation for modification of the invention stating, "FDoS systems also enable an efficient media access control (MAC) design at the AP to handle clients with heterogeneous antenna capabilities, maximize the throughput of the enabled streams in the full duplex (FD) session, as well as reduce the overhead incurred in FDoS by half by facilitating a distributed implementation" (paragraph 0042). KHOJASTEPOUR adds, "The present disclosure is directed to increasing spectral efficiency in wireless communication systems." (paragraph 0006).
Claims 2-4, 7, 13-15, and 18-20 have been canceled by the applicant, respectfully.
Conclusion
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 3/19/2026
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475