DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Final Rejection is in response to Applicant’s arguments and remarks filed on 5/14/2026. Claims 1, 14, and 25 have been amended, claims 22-24 have been cancelled, and claims 26-28 have been added. Therefore, claims 1-21 and 25-28 are pending in the application and are being considered on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 5/14/2026 have been fully considered with the following results:
Regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant has amended claims 1, 14, and 25 in an effort to overcome the rejection, stating that the prior art fails to teach or suggest the newly amended claim language.
The Examiner agrees that the prior art of reference does not teach the newly amended claim language including “wherein said secret object is generated by said trusted firmware from said retrievable secret such that said retrievable secret is not exposed in plaintext to said secure guest instance.” However, due to further search and consideration, the Examiner uncovered Pestoni et al. (US 20130124862) and Nunez et al. (US 20190034357) that in combination with the previous combination of references teach and/or suggest the newly amended claim language. As such, the Examiner will maintain the rejection. For further detail please refer to the 103 rejection section below.
The Examiner would also like to note that claim 9 will still be indicated as containing allowable subject matter as the other indicated claims have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 11-16, 18, 20, 25, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buendgen et al. (US 20200285746), Allen (US 20200076607), Ramachandran et al. (US 20230036145), Beda, III (US 8677449), and Pestoni et al. (US 20130124862).
Regarding claims 1, 14, and 25, Buendgen teaches: A method / system / computer program product for personalizing a secure guest instance from a generic boot image (boot image of secure guest par. 0043), using a trusted firmware that maintains metadata of said secure guest instance (secure interface control using guest metadata par. 0043) retrieving, by said secure guest instance, a secret object derived from said at least one retrievable secret from said trusted firmware (secure interface control receiving secret as part of the guest metadata which is cryptographically linked to a guest par. 0043);
Buendgen does not explicitly teach passing a request structure including metadata to establish a secret and modifying metadata, verifying the request structure and modifying metadata as specified, retrieving a secret object that is not exposed in plaintext, or using said retrieved secret to personalize the secure guest instance.
However, Allen teaches: passing a request structure from said secure guest instance (a number of requests may be issued by applications associated with the secrets data par. 0018) to said trusted firmware (an application may request the creation of a new secret that may be stored in the hypervisor-managed secrets compartment par. 0018, and the application server may include firmware par. 0055) for modifying said metadata of said secure guest instance (the secrets management VM image may contain secret metadata 828 with secrets metadata 830 which may correspond to secret 822 and a secrets data store 836 par. 0052) and to establish at least one retrievable secret in said metadata of said secure guest instance that is specific to said secure guest instance (the hypervisor-managed secrets compartment and/or the secrets managed VM instances may provide the mapping between requests and the secrets that correspond to the requests using lookup tables, metadata, identification tables, and/or other methods to ensure that the proper secret goes to the proper requester par. 0040);
Allen is within the same field of invention as Buendgen as it relates to system security and secret handling.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Buendgen with the teachings of Allen since the teachings of Allen provide a better security solution for protecting secrets in complex systems with a large number of guest virtual machines.
Allen does not explicitly teach modifying metadata or personalizing guest instances, or that the secret is not exposed in plain-text.
However, Ramachandran teaches: verifying, by said trusted firmware, said request structure and upon success modifying said metadata as specified by said request structure (using firmware to verify account request approval and in response to approval, updating account metadata par. 0007 – 0010 wherein the user interfaces/accounts can involve vault secrets par. 0052);
Ramachandran is combinable due to being within the same field of invention as the prior combination, such as security and secret handling.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Buendgen and Allen with the teachings of Ramachandran since the creation of vault secrets and updating metadata as outlined by Ramachandran would enhance the methods/systems of the prior combination by creating trust relationships between accounts and storing key value pairs through metadata associated with the relationship, and further implementing a secret engine to enable permissions/trust relationships.
Ramachandran does not explicitly teach personalizing guest instances or that the secret is not exposed in plain-text.
However, Beda teaches: using, by said secure guest instance, said retrieved secret object to personalize said secure guest instance (using external metadata, which can be sensitive, to customize virtual machines Col. 5 Lines 44 – 52).
Beda is combinable with the previous combination due to relating to enforcing security policy by controlling metadata.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Buendgen, Allen, and Ramachandran with the teachings of Beda since the customization aspects of Beda would enhance the prior combination through allowing virtual machines to be booted in a customized manner using external metadata that would allow for trusted agents to authenticate/provide tokens to the virtual machines.
Beda does not explicitly teach that the secret is not exposed in plain-text.
However, Pestoni teaches: wherein said secret object is generated by said trusted firmware from said retrievable secret such that said retrievable secret is not exposed in plaintext to said secure guest instance (content may not be able to be decrypted and consumed without the private binding key from the decrypted application. For example, a tamper-resistant virtual machine may ensure that the private binding key of an application remains a secret during execution par. 0049 Therefore, the use of the binding key ensures that secrets stay encrypted during execution/runtime of the application.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Buendgen, Allen, Ramachandran, and Beda with the teachings of Pestoni since the use of a binding key would enhance the prior combination by ensuring that the plaintext of a secret can only be exposed when necessary and by the necessary component. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that using a binding key for a general secret/secret object allows for only necessary decryption, so in the case of this limitation the guest instance may not be allowed access to the binding key and therefore the secret would never be exposed to plaintext by the guest instance, only the encrypted object would be provided.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Buendgen teaches: wherein each request structure is integrity protected such that said integrity of said request structure is verified by said trusted firmware (secret bound to metadata being transferred to a trusted component is integrity protected par. 0043).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Buendgen teaches: wherein said request structure comprises an image measurement value of said secure guest instance passing said request structure (private key of secure interface control comprises a cryptographic measure of a boot image par. 0008), and wherein said trusted firmware rejects said request structure if said measurement value of a boot image of said secure guest instance does not match said image measurement value (the portion of metadata that contains the secret is encrypted by a key that only a secure interface control can compute where verification is used to match guest and secret par. 0043 - 0044, the key including a cryptographic measure of the boot image par. 0008).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Buendgen teaches: wherein said request structure comprises encrypted data that is only decryptable by said trusted firmware (secure interface control decrypting secret using an exclusively computed key par. 0018 – 0019).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Buendgen teaches: wherein data of said request structure are encrypted (hardware security module can encrypt data par. 0035), and wherein a modification of said metadata of said secure guest instance comprises adding some of said encrypted data as a secret to said metadata (secrets are transported to a secure interface control as encrypted through a secure channel as part of the guest metadata which is cryptographically linked to the guest, therefore the secret is added as part of the metadata and is encrypted/must be decrypted using a private key par. 0043 – 0044).
Regarding claim 11, Ramachandran teaches: wherein said request structure comprises an indication on how to modify said metadata of said secure guest instance (approval of account provisioning includes updating account metadata, which is specified by instructions included by the program par. 0007).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Buendgen, Allen, Beda, and Pestoni with the teachings of Ramachandran since the creation of vault secrets and updating metadata as outlined by Ramachandran would enhance the methods/systems of the prior combination by creating trust relationships between accounts and storing key value pairs through metadata associated with the relationship, and further implementing a secret engine to enable permissions/trust relationships. Ramachandran is combinable due to being within the same field of invention as the prior combination, such as security and secret handling.
Regarding claim 12, Beda teaches: wherein said metadata comprises controls that determine operations that are executable by said secure guest instance (trusted agent requests a token from the metadata server that is used for authentication as well as determining whether or not requests will be approved/executed Col. 5 Line 44 – Col. 6 Line 26).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Buendgen, Allen, Ramachandran, and Pestoni with the teachings of Beda since the customization aspects of Beda would enhance the prior combination through allowing virtual machines to be booted in a customized manner using external metadata that would allow for trusted agents to authenticate/provide tokens to the virtual machines. Beda is combinable with the previous combination due to relating to enforcing security policy by controlling metadata.
Regarding claim 13, Beda teaches: creating said request structure to modify said metadata of said secure guest instance that has been created but not yet started (modification of external metadata for virtual machine which has not yet been booted but for which information has been created for Col. 5 Line 44 – Col. 6 Line 26).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Buendgen, Allen, Ramachandran, and Pestoni with the teachings of Beda since the customization aspects of Beda would enhance the prior combination through allowing virtual machines to be booted in a customized manner using external metadata that would allow for trusted agents to authenticate/provide tokens to the virtual machines. Beda is combinable with the previous combination due to relating to enforcing security policy by controlling metadata.
Regarding claim 27, Buendgen teaches: wherein said secret object is not usable to reconstruct said retrievable secret outside said trusted firmware (even if the guest is hacked and the secure key and other data is stolen, it cannot be utilized by any owner other than the owner of the guest to which the secure key was originally assigned par. 0045)
Claim(s) 4, 17, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buendgen, Allen, Ramachandran, Beda, and Pestoni, and further in view of Sethi et al. (US 20210406345).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Sethi teaches: wherein said request structure comprises a universal unique identifier (UUID) of said secure guest instance (the client object may contain information pertaining to the OS and/or other attributes of the VM, the application seeking the license, and the encrypted UUID par. 0032), and wherein said trusted firmware rejects said request structure if said UUID of said secure guest instance passing said request structure does not match said UUID in said request structure (if the encrypted UUIDs do not match, the cloud computing site may abort the request par. 0040).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Buendgen, Allen, Ramachandran, Beda, and Pestoni with the teachings of Sethi since the usage of the UUID would enhance the prior combination by allowing validation of client objects with license keys and appending client object with the license key as a result of successful validation, serving as a way to bind keys to virtual machines.
Regarding claim 28, Sethi teaches: wherein said secret object is a representation of said retrievable secret that is not identical to said retrievable secret (the cloud computing site, using the client object, may create an instance for the license request sent by the application, more generally, the cloud computing site may create an instance for every license request and may forward a subset of the client object par. 0032 – 0034 therefore the secret object and what is ‘retrievable’ are not identical but instead one is a instance/subset of the other)
Claim(s) 6 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buendgen, Allen, Ramachandran, Beda, and Pestoni, and further in view of Jochheim et al. (US 20160112195).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Jochheim teaches: wherein said encrypted data of said request structure comprises an extension secret (central instance using master key and additional decryption structure to generate a key extension for the secret key that includes definition of additional component group that should in the future be decryptable using the extension par. 0041 - 0047), and wherein said trusted firmware rejects any request structure received after a first request structure with said extension secret does not match said extension secret of said first request structure received (additional component group is not decrypted if identifiers of the extended secret key do not match par. 0051 - 0052).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Buendgen, Allen, Ramachandran, Beda, and Pestoni with the teachings of Jochheim since the key extension of Jochheim would provide an additional decryption structure that can include definitions of future additional component groups that should be decryptable with the corresponding extended secret key, thereby allowing for software models to not be encrypted newly for every instance.
Claim(s) 8 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buendgen, Allen, Ramachandran, Beda, and Pestoni, and further in view of Weise et al. (US 20080181399).
Regarding claims 8 and 21, Weise teaches: wherein said trusted firmware (firmware resident on crypto accelerator/HSM par. 0029) provides cryptographic functions operating on protected keys (HSM securely generates long term secrets for use in cryptographic functions where the secrets can be a private/public/protected key par. 0009), wherein said secret object is a protected key which is only valid for use by said secure guest instance as arguments to one of said cryptographic functions (protected keys are only truly protected if generated and maintained inside the HSM, such that if it is not considered valid then it may not be protected cryptographically par. 0009).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Buendgen, Allen, Ramachandran, Beda, and Pestoni with the teachings of Weise since the protected keys of Weise provide protected keys for long term secrets and to physically protect access to, and use of, said secrets, further enhancing the keys security while providing scalability in using the keys.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buendgen, Allen, Ramachandran, Beda, Pestoni, and Jochheim, and further in view of Bringer (US 20180019874).
Regarding claim 10, Bringer teaches: wherein in said request structure, each retrievable secret is associated with a secret reference (secure communication request involves reference secret data which is associated with a secret between two devices par. 0006, 0028 – 0031, 0060 – 0075), and wherein said retrieving said secret object associated with said secret reference from said trusted firmware is enabled by a retrieval interface of said trusted firmware that takes said secret reference as input (inputs are sent by a communication interface and acquired by a data entry interface which determines if reference secret data matches other input data, such as keys or other secret data, to determine if the secure communication should occur when conditions are met par. 0069 – 0075).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Buendgen, Allen, Ramachandran, Beda, Pestoni, and Jochheim with the teachings of Bringer since the use of secret references as inputs provides datums that depend on images of input data which then use a verifier of reference secret data which allows for another avenue of verification between various devices using private keys from said devices.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buendgen, Allen, Ramachandran, Beda, and Pestoni, and further in view of Nunez et al. (US 20190034357).
Regarding claim 26, Nunez teaches: wherein said secret object is constrained to use within trusted-firmware-controlled operations (CPACF mechanisms par. 0006 may be used for storing and manipulating secret data par. 0007 and 0039)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Buendgen, Allen, Ramachandran, Beda, and Pestoni with the teachings of Nunez since the use of CPACF mechanisms would enhance the prior combination by providing the capability to restrict security modules being implemented in firmware to the cryptographic functions allowed by the firmware.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.S.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 2198
/PIERRE VITAL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2198