DETAILED ACTION
The amendments filed 12/02/2025 have been entered. Claims 1, 8, and 15 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application and are discussed on the merits below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/02/2025 have been fully considered but are considered moot because the amendments made have presented a combination of elements that have not been previously set forth and have necessitated a new grounds of rejection.
Response to Amendment
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC §103, amendments made to the claims have necessitated a new grounds of rejection as outlined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez Barrera et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0385442 A1; hereinafter Perez) in view of Krystek et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0218271 A1; hereinafter Krystek) and further in view of Gil et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0349840 A1; hereinafter Gil) and Gautama et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0115446 A1; hereinafter Gautama).
Regarding claim 1, Perez discloses:
A method, comprising: receiving, by network equipment (network bus or other wired or wireless mechanisms, see at least [0022]) comprising a processor (processor of vehicle, see at least [0039]) a request for a coordinated activity associated with an event (coordinating operations of a ground vehicle 101 and unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) 140, see at least [0020]; server transmits assignment request to pick up user 190, see at least [0040]), wherein the request identifies a first vehicle type and a second vehicle type, wherein the first vehicle type is different from the second vehicle type (ground vehicle 101 and unmanned aerial vehicle 140, see at least [0020]), and wherein the coordinated activity comprises a first activity for the first vehicle type and a second activity for the second vehicle type (assignment to pick up a user 190, see at least [0041]; vehicle travels route to pickup location 210, see at least [0042]; UAV 140 is deployed to lead user 190 to vehicle 101, see at least [0043]);
based on an event type of the event (to pick up a user, see at least [0039]), selecting, by the network equipment, a first activity profile for the first vehicle type (vehicle receives dispatch instructions from the server, server transmits instructions and route for vehicle to proceed to a specific location, see at least [0040]), and a second activity profile for the second vehicle type (determine whether to deploy UAV, see at least [0043]);
applying, by the network equipment, the first activity profile to the first vehicle to perform the first activity in coordination with the second vehicle (vehicle 101 begins to travel a route to the pickup location, see at least [0042]); and
applying, by the network equipment, the second activity profile to the second vehicle to perform the second activity in coordination with the first vehicle (UAV 140 is deployed to lead the user 190 to the vehicle 101, see at least [0043]; computer causes UAV 140 to be released from the vehicle to deploy and assignment information is sent, see at least[0048]).
Perez does not explicitly disclose:
activity profile
wherein the first activity profile includes one or more first parameters associated with the first vehicle type, the first parameters configured to control a desired cabin environment for the event, including changes to cabin illumination, audio, video, heating, and ventilation, and wherein the second activity profile includes one or more second parameters associated with the second vehicle type, the second parameters configured to control aerial positioning for the event;
coordinating, by the network equipment, travel of a first vehicle of the first vehicle type and a second vehicle of the second vehicle type from respective starting points to a common destination point associated with the event
applying, by the network equipment, the first activity profile to the first vehicle to perform the first activity in coordination with the second vehicle, wherein the first activity profile is applied upon arrival at the common destination point
applying, by the network equipment, the second activity profile to the second vehicle to perform the second activity in coordination with the first vehicle, wherein the second activity profile is applied to the second vehicle upon arrival at the common destination point
Although Perez does not explicitly disclose “activity profile,” Examiner sets forth that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the “activity profile” can be a set of instructions for the vehicles to carry out based on the “event.” In this case, the event is picking up a user and each of the vehicles (vehicle 101 and UAV 140) have a different set of instructions to be followed for carrying out the “activity” or “event” of picking up a user.
However,, Krystek teaches:
wherein the first activity profile includes one or more first parameters associated with the first vehicle type and wherein the second activity profile includes one or more second parameters associated with the second vehicle type (vehicle performance characteristic component may include a vehicle profile for each type of vehicle that indicates various characteristics, capabilities, functionality, capacities, parameters, and modes of providing transportation, see at least [0074]; “vehicle” may include automobiles and UAVs or drones, see at least [0015]) *Examiner sets forth “each type of vehicle” has a profile which means an automobile and drone, for example, would each have a profile
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicles with different instructions disclosed by Perez by adding the vehicle profile taught by Krystek with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so that “performance characteristics of an autonomous vehicle may be adjusted if a user experience satisfaction level is less than a predetermined threshold” (see [0003]).
Additionally, Gil teaches:
wherein the first activity profile includes one or more first parameters associated with the first vehicle type, the first parameters configured to control a desired cabin environment for the event (two loading robots 500 positioned within vehicle 10 to assist in moving parcel carriers, see at least [0219]) *Examiner sets forth the movement of parcels within vehicle reads on changes within a “cabin”, and wherein the second activity profile includes one or more second parameters associated with the second vehicle type, the second parameters configured to control aerial positioning for the event (UAV 100 may be dispatched from vehicle 10 to deliver parcel to delivery location, see at least [0366]) *Examiner sets forth a route to delivery is “aerial positioning”;
coordinating, by the network equipment, travel of a first vehicle of the first vehicle type and a second vehicle of the second vehicle type from respective starting points to a common destination point associated with the event (plurality of UAVs 100 are configured to be dispatched from the vehicle and return to the vehicle 10, see at least [0115]; vehicle may be moved to a certain location to deliver parcels, see at least [0256]) *Examiner sets forth that the coordinated activity is for the vehicle 10 to transport both the UAV and vehicle to a delivery location (common destination associated with the event)
applying, by the network equipment, the first activity profile to the first vehicle to perform the first activity in coordination with the second vehicle, wherein the first activity profile is applied upon arrival at the common destination point (in response to delivery vehicle 10 entering geofenced area, UAV 100 is dispatched from vehicle, see at least [0366]; loading robot 500 moves parcel to available pair of extending arms, see at least [0235]; loading robot positions parcel under UAV chassis 110 for UAV 100 to deliver parcel to destination, see at least [0245]-[0246])
applying, by the network equipment, the second activity profile to the second vehicle to perform the second activity in coordination with the first vehicle, wherein the second activity profile is applied to the second vehicle upon arrival at the common destination point (in response to delivery vehicle 10 entering geofenced area, UAV 100 is dispatched from vehicle 10 to deliver parcels, see at least [0366])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cooperation between a ground vehicle and UAV disclosed by Perez and the vehicle profile taught by Krystek by adding the UAV dispatch and delivery taught by Gil with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification “for efficiently delivering parcels in a variety of environments” (see [0110]).
Furthermore, Gautama teaches:
changes to cabin illumination, audio, video, heating, and ventilation (settings which may be adjusted by vehicle control system in response to instructions include interior lighting, audio system, Heads up Display, heating, and ventilation, see at least [0021])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cooperation between a ground vehicle and UAV disclosed by Perez, the vehicle profile taught by Krystek, and the UAV dispatch and delivery taught by Gil by adding the vehicle components taught by Gautama with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification “to automate the execution of driver preferences for a vehicle” (see [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Perez, Krystek, Gil, and Gautama teaches the elements above and Perez further discloses:
the first vehicle type is a passenger vehicle type (user 190 can board the vehicle 101 for transport, see at least [0021] and Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Perez, Krystek, Gil, and Gautama teaches the elements above and Perez further discloses:
the first activity comprises transporting a passenger associated with the request to a location associated with the event (vehicle 101 can depart from the pickup location to a destination, see at least [0051]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Perez, Krystek, Gil, and Gautama teaches the elements above and Perez further discloses:
the second vehicle type is an aerial drone type (unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) 140, see at least [0020] and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Perez, Krystek, Gil, and Gautama teaches the elements above and Perez further discloses:
the second activity comprises video recording the event (UAV 140 includes image sensor 150 such as video and/or camera to capture digital images, see at least [0032]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Perez, Krystek, Gil, and Gautama teaches the elements above and Perez further discloses:
the second activity further comprises movement of video recording equipment (UAV captures images of person at the target location and control the camera to capture images in a predetermined radius, see at least [0057]; UAV 140 navigates to the vehicle for user to follow, see at least [0059]-[0060]) *Examiner sets forth moving from the pickup location to the vehicle would also move the camera because the camera is located on the UAV.
Regarding claim 8, Perez discloses:
Network equipment (network bus or other wired or wireless mechanisms, see at least [0022]), comprising: a processor (processor of vehicle, see at least [0039]); and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processor (processor receives instructions from a memory, see at least [0067]), facilitate performance of operations, comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment, a request for a coordinated activity associated with an event (user 190 with user device 195 inputs request to server 130 when a pickup is needed, see at least [0040]; coordinating operations of a ground vehicle 101 and unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) 140, see at least [0020]), wherein the request identifies a first vehicle type and a second vehicle type, wherein the first vehicle type is different from the second vehicle type, and wherein the coordinated activity comprises a first activity for the first vehicle type and a second activity for the second vehicle type (assignment to pick up a user 190, see at least [0041]; vehicle travels route to pickup location 210, see at least [0042]; UAV 140 is deployed to lead user 190 to vehicle 101, see at least [0043]);
choosing, based on an event type of the event (to pick up a user, see at least [0039]), a first activity profile for the first vehicle type (vehicle receives dispatch instructions from the server, server transmits instructions and route for vehicle to proceed to a specific location, see at least [0040]), and a second activity profile for the second vehicle type (determine whether to deploy UAV, see at least [0043]);
transmitting the first activity profile to the first vehicle of the first vehicle type to perform the first activity in coordination with the second vehicle (vehicle 101 begins to travel a route to the pickup location, see at least [0042]); and
transmitting the second activity profile to the second vehicle to perform the second activity in coordination with the first vehicle (UAV 140 is deployed to lead the user 190 to the vehicle 101, see at least [0043]; computer causes UAV 140 to be released from the vehicle to deploy and assignment information is sent, see at least[0048]).
Perez does not explicitly disclose:
activity profile
the first activity profile includes one or more first parameters associated with the first vehicle type, the first parameters configured to control a desired cabin environment for the event, including changes to cabin furniture, communications, power, and external visibility and wherein the second activity profile includes one or more second parameters associated with the second vehicle type, the second parameters configured to control aerial positioning for the event
coordinating travel of a first vehicle of the first vehicle type and a second vehicle of the second vehicle type from respective starting points to a common destination point associated with the event
wherein the first activity profile is transmitted upon arrival at the common destination point
wherein the second activity profile is transmitted to the second vehicle upon arrival at the common destination point
Although Perez does not explicitly disclose “activity profile,” Examiner sets forth that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the “activity profile” can be a set of instructions for the vehicles to carry out based on the “event.” In this case, the event is picking up a user and each of the vehicles (vehicle 101 and UAV 140) have a different set of instructions to be followed for carrying out the “activity” or “event” of picking up a user.
Additionally, Krystek teaches:
wherein the first activity profile includes one or more first parameters associated with the first vehicle type and wherein the second activity profile includes one or more second parameters associated with the second vehicle type (vehicle performance characteristic component may include a vehicle profile for each type of vehicle that indicates various characteristics, capabilities, functionality, capacities, parameters, and modes of providing transportation, see at least [0074]; “vehicle” may include automobiles and UAVs or drones, see at least [0015]) *Examiner sets forth “each type of vehicle” has a profile which means an automobile and drone, for example, would each have a profile
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicles with different instructions disclosed by Perez by adding the vehicle profile taught by Krystek with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so that “performance characteristics of an autonomous vehicle may be adjusted if a user experience satisfaction level is less than a predetermined threshold” (see [0003]).
Additionally, Gil teaches:
the first activity profile includes one or more first parameters associated with the first vehicle type, the first parameters configured to control a desired cabin environment for the event (two loading robots 500 positioned within vehicle 10 to assist in moving parcel carriers, see at least [0219]) *Examiner sets forth the movement of parcels within vehicle reads on changes within a “cabin”, and wherein the second activity profile includes one or more second parameters associated with the second vehicle type, the second parameters configured to control aerial positioning for the event (UAV 100 may be dispatched from vehicle 10 to deliver parcel to delivery location, see at least [0366]) *Examiner sets forth a route to delivery is “aerial positioning”
coordinating travel of a first vehicle of the first vehicle type and a second vehicle of the second vehicle type from respective starting points to a common destination point associated with the event (plurality of UAVs 100 are configured to be dispatched from the vehicle and return to the vehicle 10, see at least [0115]; vehicle may be moved to a certain location to deliver parcels, see at least [0256]) *Examiner sets forth that the coordinated activity is for the vehicle 10 to transport both the UAV and vehicle to a delivery location (common destination associated with the event)
wherein the first activity profile is transmitted upon arrival at the common destination point (in response to delivery vehicle 10 entering geofenced area, UAV 100 is dispatched from vehicle, see at least [0366]; loading robot 500 moves parcel to available pair of extending arms, see at least [0235]; loading robot positions parcel under UAV chassis 110 for UAV 100 to deliver parcel to destination, see at least [0245]-[0246])
wherein the second activity profile is transmitted to the second vehicle upon arrival at the common destination point (in response to delivery vehicle 10 entering geofenced area, UAV 100 is dispatched from vehicle 10 to deliver parcels, see at least [0366])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cooperation between a ground vehicle and UAV disclosed by Perez and the vehicle profile taught by Krystek by adding the UAV dispatch and delivery taught by Gil with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification “for efficiently delivering parcels in a variety of environments” (see [0110]).
Furthermore, Gautama teaches:
changes to cabin furniture, communications, power, and external visibility (settings which may be adjusted by vehicle control system in response to instructions include seat position, radio stations, driving mode, and windshield wipers, see at least [0021]) *Examiner sets forth that a seat position is cabin furniture, radio stations require communications, driving mode changes power used, and windshield wipers affect external visibility
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cooperation between a ground vehicle and UAV disclosed by Perez, the vehicle profile taught by Krystek, and the UAV dispatch and delivery taught by Gil by adding the vehicle components taught by Gautama with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification “to automate the execution of driver preferences for a vehicle” (see [0005]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Perez, Krystek, Gil, and Gautama teaches the elements above and Perez further discloses:
the first vehicle type is a type representative of a passenger vehicle (user 190 can board the vehicle 101 for transport, see at least [0021] and Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Perez, Krystek, Gil, and Gautama teaches the elements above and Perez further discloses:
the first activity comprises transporting a user of the user equipment to a location associated with the event (vehicle 101 can depart from the pickup location to a destination, see at least [0051]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Perez, Krystek, Gil, and Gautama teaches the elements above and Perez further discloses:
the second vehicle type is a type representative of a drone vehicle (unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) 140, see at least [0020] and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Perez, Krystek, Gil, and Gautama teaches the elements above and Perez further discloses:
the second activity comprises a recording of the event (UAV 140 includes image sensor 150 such as video and/or camera to capture digital images, see at least [0032]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Perez, Krystek, Gil, and Gautama teaches the elements above and Perez further discloses:
the second activity further comprises obtaining payload comprising recording equipment (UAV 140 includes image sensor 150 such as video and/or camera to capture digital images, see at least [0032]) *Examiner sets forth the image sensor 150 includes video which is recording equipment and is considered a payload according to the definition of “payload” from the Miriam-Webster dictionary which says “the load carried by a vehicle exclusive of what is necessary for its operation” which would include sensors such as a camera
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez Barrera et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0385442 A1; hereinafter Perez) in view of Krystek et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0218271 A1; hereinafter Krystek) and further in view of Gil et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0349840 A1; hereinafter Gil) and Szczerba (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0084852 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Perez discloses:
A non-transitory machine-readable medium (computer-readable medium providing instructions to be read by a computer, see at least [0068]), comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor (processor receives instructions from a memory, see at least [0067]), facilitate performance of operations, comprising:
receiving a request for a coordinated activity associated with an event (coordinating operations of a ground vehicle 101 and unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) 140, see at least [0020]; server transmits assignment request to pick up user 190, see at least [0040]), wherein the request identifies a first vehicle type and a second vehicle type, wherein the first vehicle type is different from the second vehicle type (ground vehicle 101 and unmanned aerial vehicle 140, see at least [0020]), and wherein the coordinated activity comprises a first activity for the first vehicle type and a second activity for the second vehicle type (assignment to pick up a user 190, see at least [0041]; vehicle travels route to pickup location 210, see at least [0042]; UAV 140 is deployed to lead user 190 to vehicle 101, see at least [0043]);
selecting, based on an event type of the event (to pick up a user, see at least [0039]), a first activity profile for the first vehicle type (vehicle receives dispatch instructions from the server, server transmits instructions and route for vehicle to proceed to a specific location, see at least [0040]), and a second activity profile for the second vehicle type (determine whether to deploy UAV, see at least [0043]);
communicating the first activity profile to a first vehicle of the first vehicle type to perform the first activity in coordination with a second vehicle of the second vehicle type (server transmits instructions and route for vehicle 101 to proceed to a specified location, see at least [0040]); and
communicating the second activity profile to the second vehicle of the second vehicle type to perform the second activity in coordination with the first vehicle (computer sends message to UAV to deploy and sends assignment information such as user target location and user identity, see at least [0048]).
Perez does not explicitly disclose:
activity profile
wherein the first activity profile includes one or more first parameters associated with the first vehicle type, the first parameters configured to control a desired cabin behavior, location, and an orientation associated with illumination for the event, and wherein the second activity profile includes one or more second parameters associated with the second vehicle type, the second parameters configured to control a second vehicle type operation of video recording equipment for the event
coordinating travel of a first vehicle of the first vehicle type and a second vehicle of the second vehicle type from respective starting points to a common destination point associated with the event
wherein the first activity profile is communicated upon arrival at the common destination point
wherein the second activity profile is communicated to the second vehicle upon arrival at the common destination point
Although Perez does not explicitly disclose “activity profile,” Examiner sets forth that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the “activity profile” can be a set of instructions for the vehicles to carry out based on the “event.” In this case, the event is picking up a user and each of the vehicles (vehicle 101 and UAV 140) have a different set of instructions to be followed for carrying out the “activity” or “event” of picking up a user.
Additionally, Krystek teaches:
wherein the first activity profile includes one or more first criteria associated with the first vehicle type and wherein the second activity profile includes one or more second criteria associated with the second vehicle type (vehicle performance characteristic component may include a vehicle profile for each type of vehicle that indicates various characteristics, capabilities, functionality, capacities, parameters, and modes of providing transportation, see at least [0074]; “vehicle” may include automobiles and UAVs or drones, see at least [0015]) *Examiner sets forth “each type of vehicle” has a profile which means an automobile and drone, for example, would each have a profile
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicles with different instructions disclosed by Perez by adding the vehicle profile taught by Krystek with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so that “performance characteristics of an autonomous vehicle may be adjusted if a user experience satisfaction level is less than a predetermined threshold” (see [0003]).
Additionally, Gil teaches:
wherein the first activity profile includes one or more first parameters associated with the first vehicle type, the first parameters configured to control a desired cabin environment for the event (two loading robots 500 positioned within vehicle 10 to assist in moving parcel carriers, see at least [0219]) *Examiner sets forth the movement of parcels within vehicle reads on changes within a “cabin”, and wherein the second activity profile includes one or more second parameters associated with the second vehicle type, the second parameters configured to control aerial positioning for the event (UAV 100 may be dispatched from vehicle 10 to deliver parcel to delivery location, see at least [0366]) *Examiner sets forth a route to delivery is “aerial positioning”;
coordinating travel of a first vehicle of the first vehicle type and a second vehicle of the second vehicle type from respective starting points to a common destination point associated with the event (plurality of UAVs 100 are configured to be dispatched from the vehicle and return to the vehicle 10, see at least [0115]; vehicle may be moved to a certain location to deliver parcels, see at least [0256]) *Examiner sets forth that the coordinated activity is for the vehicle 10 to transport both the UAV and vehicle to a delivery location (common destination associated with the event)
wherein the first activity profile is communicated upon arrival at the common destination point (in response to delivery vehicle 10 entering geofenced area, UAV 100 is dispatched from vehicle, see at least [0366]; loading robot 500 moves parcel to available pair of extending arms, see at least [0235]; loading robot positions parcel under UAV chassis 110 for UAV 100 to deliver parcel to destination, see at least [0245]-[0246])
wherein the second activity profile is communicated to the second vehicle upon arrival at the common destination point (in response to delivery vehicle 10 entering geofenced area, UAV 100 is dispatched from vehicle 10 to deliver parcels, see at least [0366])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cooperation between a ground vehicle and UAV disclosed by Perez and the vehicle profile taught by Krystek by adding the UAV dispatch and delivery taught by Gil with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification “for efficiently delivering parcels in a variety of environments” (see [0110]).
Furthermore, Szczerba teaches:
control a desired cabin behavior, location, and an orientation associated with illumination for the event (interior components such as sun visors, steering wheel, or rearview mirror may change illumination color, see at least [0032]) *Examiner sets forth that if different components are being lit up, the behavior, location, and orientation of lighting is being changed
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cooperation between a ground vehicle and UAV disclosed by Perez, the vehicle profile taught by Krystek, and the UAV dispatch and delivery taught by Gil by adding the interior illumination taught by Szczerba with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification “for communicating information to an operator of a vehicle without unnecessarily distracting the operator by illuminating an interior of the vehicle with different colors” (see [0005]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Perez, Krystek, Gil, and Szczerba teaches the elements above and Perez further discloses:
the first vehicle type is indicative of a passenger vehicle (user 190 can board the vehicle 101 for transport, see at least [0021] and Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Perez, Krystek, Gil, and Szczerba teaches the elements above and Perez further discloses:
the first activity comprises transporting a passenger associated with the request to a location associated with the event (vehicle 101 can depart from the pickup location to a destination, see at least [0051]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Perez, Krystek, Gil, and Szczerba teaches the elements above and Perez further discloses:
the second vehicle type is indicative of an unmanned aerial vehicle (unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) 140, see at least [0020] and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Perez, Krystek, Gil, and Szczerba teaches the elements above and Perez further discloses:
the second activity comprises a recording of the event (UAV 140 includes image sensor 150 such as video and/or camera to capture digital images, see at least [0032]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Perez, Krystek, Gil, and Szczerba teaches the elements above and Perez further discloses:
the second activity further comprises obtaining payload comprising recording equipment (UAV 140 includes image sensor 150 such as video and/or camera to capture digital images, see at least [0032]) *Examiner sets forth the image sensor 150 includes video which is recording equipment and is considered a payload according to the definition of “payload” from the Miriam-Webster dictionary which says “the load carried by a vehicle exclusive of what is necessary for its operation” which would include sensors such as a camera
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez in view of Krystek, Gil, and Gautama as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Patton et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0286793 A1; hereinafter Patton).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Perez, Krystek, Gil, and Gautama teaches the elements above but does not teach:
the event type is a concert type
However, Patton teaches:
the event type is a concert type (event category can include concerts, see at least [0101])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle coordination disclosed by Perez, the vehicle profile taught by Krystek, the UAV dispatch and delivery taught by Gil, and the vehicle components taught by Gautama by adding the concert event type taught by Patton with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order “to determine parameters describing the event” and “to better facilitate improved event-based routing” (see [0101] and [0104]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez in view of Krystek, Gil, and Gautama as applied to claim 8 above and further in view of Brown (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0383728 A1).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Perez, Krystek, Gil, and Gautama teaches the elements above but does not teach:
the event type is a type representative of a parade.
However, Brown teaches:
the event type is a type representative of a parade (situations where temporary deployment may be applicable may include parades, see at least [0231])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle coordination disclosed by Perez, the vehicle profile taught by Krystek, the UAV dispatch and delivery taught by Gil, and the vehicle components taught by Gautama by adding the parade event type taught by Brown with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order “to provide functionality appropriate for an event or time period where demand for the service or functionality is expected to exceed normal or static demand” (see [0231]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/DALE W HILGENDORF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662