DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the amendments and remarks received 10 June 2026. Claims 1 - 10, 12, 13, 16, 18 and 19 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
The objections to claims 1, 12 and 13, due to minor informalities, are hereby withdrawn in view of the amendments and remarks received 10 June 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “treatment unit, including at least one of a laser treatment device or a printer device, configured to: acquire… detect…” in claims 13 and 16.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 - 10, 12, 13, 16, 18 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 - 8, 10, 12, 13, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Augustinus et al. U.S. Publication No. 2019/0262937 A1 in view of Ochs U.S. Publication No. 2023/0256729 A1 in view of Sagan et al. U.S. Publication No. 2011/0142294 A1.
- With regards to claim 1, Augustinus et al. disclose a method for calibrating a treatment unit, including at least one of a laser treatment device or a printer device, (Augustinus et al., Abstract, Pg. 1 ¶ 0002 and 0008 - 0009, Pg. 2 ¶ 0016 - 0017 and 0020 - 0023, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035, Pg. 3 ¶ 0043 - Pg. 4 ¶ 0046) and treating a plastic card, (Augustinus et al., Abstract, Figs. 1 & 3a - 3c, Pg. 1 ¶ 0003 and 0009 - 0011, Pg. 2 ¶ 0016 - 0017 and 0020 - 0022, Pg. 3 ¶ 0034 - 0035 and 0039 - 0045 [“Laser engraver systems are used to engrave, perforate or mark products or objects. A laser is controlled and used to engrave products such as for instance plastic cards or passports” and “The controller is set up to use this difference to now calibrate the laser, preferably to modify the control of the laser for the future engraving of the product”]) the method comprising: acquiring image data on the plastic card, (Augustinus et al., Abstract, Figs. 1 & 3a - 3c, Pg. 1 ¶ 0003, 0009 and 0011, Pg. 2 ¶ 0016 and 0020, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 [“A laser is controlled and used to engrave products such as for instance plastic cards or passports” and “camera 20 captures the image and position of this pattern on the product”]) the plastic card being a target object on which one or more permanent marks are to be at least one of laser etched by the laser treatment device or printed by the printer device; (Augustinus et al., Figs. 1 & 3a - 3c, Pg. 1 ¶ 0003, 0007 and 0009 - 0011, Pg. 2 ¶ 0016 - 0018 and 0021 - 0022, Pg. 3 ¶ 0027, Pg. 3 ¶ 0042 - Pg. 4 ¶ 0046) detecting a first reference pattern based on the image data, and determining first position data for the first reference pattern, the first position data comprising an estimated position of the first reference pattern; (Augustinus et al., Abstract, Figs. 3a - 3c, Pg. 1 ¶ 0009 - 0011, Pg. 2 ¶ 0016 - 0017 and 0020, Pg. 3 ¶ 0025 and 0035) detecting a second reference pattern, and determining second position data for the second reference pattern; (Augustinus et al., Figs. 3a - 3c, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011, Pg. 2 ¶ 0020 - 0022, Pg. 3 ¶ 0025 - 0027 and 0039 - 0044) calibrating the treatment unit based on the improved estimated position of the first reference pattern; (Augustinus et al., Abstract, Pg. 1 ¶ 0002, 0009 and 0011, Pg. 2 ¶ 0017 - 0018 and 0020 - 0022, Pg. 3 ¶ 0025 - 0027, 0035 - 0036 and 0042 - 0045) and following calibration of the treatment unit, producing the one or more permanent marks on the plastic card by at least one of laser etching using the laser treatment device or printing using the printer device. (Augustinus et al., Figs. 1 & 3a - 3c, Pg. 1 ¶ 0003, 0007 and 0009 - 0011, Pg. 2 ¶ 0016 - 0018 and 0021 - 0022, Pg. 3 ¶ 0027, Pg. 3 ¶ 0042 - Pg. 4 ¶ 0046) Augustinus et al. fail to disclose explicitly based on the first position data, defining a region of interest in the image data; in the region of interest, detecting a second reference pattern, wherein there is a known spatial relation between the first reference pattern and the second reference pattern; and based on the second position data and the known spatial relation between the first reference pattern and the second reference pattern, determining an improved estimated position of the first reference pattern. Pertaining to analogous art, Ochs discloses a method for calibrating a treatment unit, including at least one of a laser treatment device or a printer device, (Ochs, Figs. 1 & 2, Pg. 1 ¶ 0006 - 0008 and 0015, Pg. 2 ¶ 0020 - 0021 and 0030 - 0032, Pg. 4 ¶ 0065, Pg. 5 ¶ 0111 - 0115, Pg. 6 ¶ 0128 - 0132) the method comprising: acquiring image data; (Ochs, Figs. 1 - 4, Pg. 1 ¶ 0008, Pg. 2 ¶ 0024 - 0031, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 - 0037, 0041 - 0044 and 0046, Pg. 4 ¶ 0063 - 0065, Pg. 5 ¶ 0101 - 0109 and 0112, Pg. 5 ¶ 0115 - Pg. 6 ¶ 0116, Pg. 6 ¶ 0119 - 0125) detecting a first reference pattern based on the image data, and determining first position data for the first reference pattern, the first position data comprising an estimated position of the first reference pattern; (Ochs, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011 - 0012, Pg. 2 ¶ 0026 - 0030, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 - 0037 and 0042 - 0043, Pg. 5 ¶ 0099 - 0104) detecting a second reference pattern, (Ochs, Figs. 1 - 6, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011 - 0012, Pg. 2 ¶ 0026 - 0030, Pg. 3 ¶ 0042 - 0043, Pg. 4 ¶ 0069 - 0075, Pg. 5 ¶ 0099 - 0106 and 0109 - 0111) wherein there is a known spatial relation between the first reference pattern and the second reference pattern, (Ochs, Abstract, Figs. 3, 5, 7, 9, 11 & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011 - 0012 and 0016, Pg. 2 ¶ 0018 - 0019 and 0027, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 and 0042, Pg. 4 ¶ 0070 - 0073, Pg. 4 ¶ 0080 - Pg. 5 ¶ 0083, Pg. 5 ¶ 0089 - 0091 and 0102, Pg. 6 ¶ 0122) and determining second position data for the second reference pattern; (Ochs, Figs. 1 - 6, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011 - 0012, Pg. 2 ¶ 0026 - 0030, Pg. 3 ¶ 0042 - 0043, Pg. 4 ¶ 0069 - 0075, Pg. 5 ¶ 0099 - 0106 and 0109 - 0111) based on the second position data and the known spatial relation between the first reference pattern and the second reference pattern, determining an improved estimated position of the first reference pattern; (Ochs, Figs. 1 - 11, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011 - 0012 and 0016, Pg. 2 ¶ 0018 - 0019 and 0026 - 0030, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 - 0036 and 0042 - 0043, Pg. 4 ¶ 0069 - 0075, Pg. 4 ¶ 0080 - Pg. 5 ¶ 0083, Pg. 5 ¶ 0099 - 0106 and 0109 - 0111, Pg. 6 ¶ 0122) and calibrating the treatment unit based on the improved estimated position of the first reference pattern. (Ochs, Pg. 1 ¶ 0006 - 0008 and 0015, Pg. 2 ¶ 0020 - 0021 and 0030 - 0032, Pg. 5 ¶ 0111 - 0115, Pg. 6 ¶ 0130 - 0132) Ochs fails to disclose expressly based on the first position data, defining a region of interest in the image data; and in the region of interest, detecting a second reference pattern. Pertaining to analogous art, Sagan et al. disclose a method for a treatment unit, including at least one of a laser treatment device or a printer device, (Sagan et al., Abstract, Figs. 19, 20, 28A, 28C & 34, Pg. 3 ¶ 0034 - 0035 and 0043 - 0045, Pg. 4 ¶ 0085 - 0086, Pg. 5 ¶ 0117 - 0118, Pg. 6 ¶ 0125, Pg. 18 ¶ 0361 - 0366, Pg. 19 ¶ 0369 - 0371 and 0378 - 0382) the method comprising: acquiring image data; (Sagan et al., Abstract, Figs. 16A, 17, 18, 20, 23, 28A, 28C & 34, Pg. 2 ¶ 0025 - 0027, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 - 0038, Pg. 4 ¶ 0086, Pg. 5 ¶ 0117 - 0119, Pg. 9 ¶ 0181, Pg. 10 ¶ 0213 and 0222 - 0225, Pg. 11 ¶ 0233 and 0238 - 0239, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0276, Pg. 15 ¶ 0310, Pg. 17 ¶ 0345, Pg. 18 ¶ 0361 - 0365, Pg. 19 ¶ 0371, 0374, 0383 and 0386) detecting a first reference pattern based on the image data, and determining first position data for the first reference pattern, the first position data comprising an estimated position of the first reference pattern; (Sagan et al., Pg. 5 ¶ 0109, 0113 and 0117 - 0119, Pg. 12 ¶ 0269 - 0270, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0277, Pg. 15 ¶ 0315 - 0316, Pg. 15 ¶ 0323 - Pg. 16 ¶ 0328, Pg. 19 ¶ 0384 - 0387) based on the first position data, defining a region of interest in the image data; (Sagan et al., Pg. 5 ¶ 0109 and 0117 - 0119, Pg. 12 ¶ 0269 - 0270, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0277, Pg. 15 ¶ 0314 - 0316, Pg. 15 ¶ 0323 - Pg. 16 ¶ 0328, Pg. 19 ¶ 0384 - 0387) and in the region of interest, detecting a second reference pattern, (Sagan et al., Pg. 5 ¶ 0118 - 0119, Pg. 12 ¶ 0269 - 0270, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0277, Pg. 15 ¶ 0315 - 0316 and 0323 - 0327, Pg. 19 ¶ 0384 - 0387) wherein there is a known spatial relation between the first reference pattern and the second reference pattern, (Sagan et al., Figs. 9 - 11, Pg. 5 ¶ 0109 and 0117 - 0119, Pg. 12 ¶ 0269 - 0270, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0277, Pg. 15 ¶ 0323 - 0327) and determining second position data for the second reference pattern. (Sagan et al., Pg. 5 ¶ 0118 - 0119, Pg. 12 ¶ 0269 - 0270, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0277, Pg. 15 ¶ 0315 - 0316 and 0323 - 0327, Pg. 19 ¶ 0384 - 0387) Augustinus et al. and Ochs are combinable because they are both directed towards image processing systems and methods that utilize detected positions of patterns in images to calibrate a treatment unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Augustinus et al. with the teachings of Ochs. This modification would have been prompted in order to substitute the predefined reference pattern(s) of Augustinus et al. for the marker(s) of Ochs. The marker(s) of Ochs could be substituted in place of the predefined reference pattern(s) of Augustinus et al. using well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that, in the combination, the base device of Augustinus et al. would utilize the marker(s) of Ochs, which comprise first and second reference patterns having a known spatial relation between them, as the predefined reference pattern(s) used to calibrate the laser system. Furthermore, this modification would enhance the base device of Augustinus et al. by improving its ability to accurately and reliably determine the position of the reference patterns, and thus accurately and reliably calibrate the laser system to achieve high quality results, since the known spatial relation between the first reference pattern and the second reference pattern of the marker(s) of Ochs enable them to be detected with high reliability and precision while reducing the likelihood of false positive detections, as taught and suggested by Ochs, see at least page 1 paragraphs 0011 - 0012 and page 1 paragraph 0016 - page 2 paragraph 0019 of Ochs. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that the base device of Augustinus et al. would utilize the marker(s) of Ochs, which comprise first and second reference patterns having a known spatial relation between them, as the predefined reference pattern(s) used to calibrate the laser system. In addition, Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs and Sagan et al. are combinable because they are all directed towards image processing systems and methods that are utilized in combination with treatment units and determine the position of patterns in images. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs with the teachings of Sagan et al. This modification would have been prompted in order to enhance the combined base device of Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs with the well-known and applicable technique Sagan et al. applied to a comparable device. Defining a region of interest in the image data based on the first position data and detecting a second reference pattern in the region of interest, as taught by Sagan et al., would enhance the combined base device by improving its ability to accurately, reliably and efficiently detect and locate the position of the second reference pattern in the image data since the area of the image data that needs to be analyzed to detect and locate the second reference pattern would be limited to an area of the image data defined with respect to an easily identifiable pattern in the image data, such as the rectangular-shaped border of the marker, thereby reducing the overall number of computations required to detect and locate the second reference pattern and helping ensure that the second reference pattern is correctly detected. Furthermore, this modification would have been prompted by the teachings and suggestions of Ochs that, in addition to the inner structure of the marker, the periphery of the marker can be utilized for detection purposes, that more than one technique may be utilized to identify the marker, that edge detection can also be utilized when identifying the marker and that edge detection should only be applied to parts of the image showing the marker, see at least page 1 paragraph 0012, page 3 paragraphs 0034 - 0038 and 0042 and page 5 paragraphs 0102 - 0109 of Ochs. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that a region of interest would be defined in the image data based on the first position data and the second reference pattern would be detected in the region of interest so as to improve the ability of the combined base device to accurately, reliably and efficiently detect and locate the position of the second reference pattern in the image data since the area of the image data that needs to be analyzed to detect and locate the second reference pattern would be limited to an area of the image data defined with respect to an easily identifiable pattern in the image data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Augustinus et al. with Ochs and Sagan et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
- With regards to claim 3, Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the first reference pattern comprises at least one of: crossing lines, a dot shape, an elliptical shape, a round shape, a rectangular shape, or a square shape. (Augustinus et al., Figs. 3a - 3c, Pg. 3 ¶ 0039 - 0042) In addition, analogous art Ochs discloses wherein the first reference pattern comprises at least one of: crossing lines, a dot shape, an elliptical shape, a round shape, a rectangular shape, or a square shape. (Ochs, Figs. 1 - 3, 5, 7, 9, 11 & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011, Pg. 2 ¶ 0018 - 0019, Pg. 4 ¶ 0069 - 0072 and 0080 - 0081, Pg. 5 ¶ 0089 - 0091 and 0094 - 0097) Additionally, analogous art Sagan et al. disclose wherein the first reference pattern comprises at least one of: crossing lines, a dot shape, an elliptical shape, a round shape, a rectangular shape, or a square shape. (Sagan et al., Pg. 5 ¶ 0109 and 0118 - 0119, Pg. 12 ¶ 0269 - 0270, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0275, Pg. 15 ¶ 0323 - Pg. 16 ¶ 0328)
- With regards to claim 4, Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. disclose the method of claim 3. Augustinus et al. fail to disclose explicitly wherein the second reference pattern comprises a plurality of features that are arranged periodically along a periodicity axis. Pertaining to analogous art, Ochs discloses wherein the second reference pattern comprises a plurality of features that are arranged periodically along a periodicity axis. (Ochs, Figs. 3 & 5, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011 and 0016, Pg. 4 ¶ 0069 - 0075) In addition, analogous art Sagan et al. disclose wherein the second reference pattern comprises a plurality of features that are arranged periodically along a periodicity axis. (Sagan et al., Pg. 12 ¶ 0259 - 0260 and 0265 - 0268, Pg. 15 ¶ 0315 - 0316, Pg. 15 ¶ 0324 - Pg. 16 ¶ 0331, Pg. 16 ¶ 0334 - 0337, Pg. 18 ¶ 0357 - 0358)
- With regards to claim 5, Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. disclose the method of claim 4. Augustinus et al. fail to disclose explicitly wherein the second reference pattern comprises parallel lines that run perpendicular to the periodicity axis. Pertaining to analogous art, Ochs discloses wherein the second reference pattern comprises parallel lines that run perpendicular to the periodicity axis. (Ochs, Figs. 3 - 5, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011 and 0016, Pg. 4 ¶ 0069 - 0075)
- With regards to claim 6, Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. disclose the method of claim 4. Augustinus et al. fail to disclose explicitly wherein at least one of an integration step or an averaging step is performed on the image data within the region of interest, and wherein the image data is at least one of integrated or averaged along a direction perpendicular to the periodicity axis. Pertaining to analogous art, Ochs discloses wherein at least one of an integration step or an averaging step is performed on the image data within the region of interest, (Ochs, Figs. 3 - 6, Pg. 1 ¶ 0016 - Pg. 2 ¶ 0018, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 and 0042, Pg. 4 ¶ 0053 - 0056 and 0072 - 0078, Pg. 5 ¶ 0102 - 0109) and wherein the image data is at least one of integrated or averaged along a direction perpendicular to the periodicity axis. (Ochs, Figs. 3 - 6, Pg. 1 ¶ 0016 - Pg. 2 ¶ 0018, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 and 0042, Pg. 4 ¶ 0053 - 0056 and 0072 - 0078, Pg. 5 ¶ 0102 - 0109) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. with additional teachings of Ochs. This modification would have been prompted in order to substitute the unspecified predefined pattern position determination process of Augustinus et al. for the marker structure detection process of Ochs. The marker structure detection process of Ochs could be substituted in place of the unspecified predefined pattern position determination process of Augustinus et al. using well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that, in the combination, the marker structure detection process of Ochs would be utilized to detect and determine the position(s) of the predefined reference pattern(s) of the combined base device. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that the marker structure detection process of Ochs would be utilized to detect and determine the position(s) of the predefined reference pattern(s) of the combined base device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. with additional teachings of Ochs to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
- With regards to claim 7, Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. disclose the method of claim 1. Augustinus et al. fail to disclose explicitly wherein determining the second position data comprises a line scan within the region of interest, including at least one of integrating or averaging the image data in a direction perpendicular to the direction of the line scan. Pertaining to analogous art, Ochs discloses wherein determining the second position data comprises a line scan within the region of interest, including at least one of integrating or averaging the image data in a direction perpendicular to the direction of the line scan. (Ochs, Figs. 3 - 6, Pg. 1 ¶ 0016 - Pg. 2 ¶ 0018, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 and 0042, Pg. 4 ¶ 0053 - 0056 and 0072 - 0078, Pg. 5 ¶ 0102 - 0109) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. with additional teachings of Ochs. This modification would have been prompted in order to substitute the unspecified predefined pattern position determination process of Augustinus et al. for the marker structure detection process of Ochs. The marker structure detection process of Ochs could be substituted in place of the unspecified predefined pattern position determination process of Augustinus et al. using well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that, in the combination, the marker structure detection process of Ochs would be utilized to detect and determine the position(s) of the predefined reference pattern(s) of the combined base device. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that the marker structure detection process of Ochs would be utilized to detect and determine the position(s) of the predefined reference pattern(s) of the combined base device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. with additional teachings of Ochs to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
- With regards to claim 8, Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. disclose the method of claim 1. Augustinus et al. fail to disclose explicitly based on the second reference pattern, determining an orientation of the second reference pattern in relation to at least one of the first reference pattern or the region of interest. Pertaining to analogous art, Sagan et al. disclose based on the second reference pattern, determining an orientation of the second reference pattern in relation to at least one of the first reference pattern or the region of interest. (Sagan et al., Fig. 20, Pg. 13 ¶ 0276 - 0283, Pg. 16 ¶ 0334 - 0336, Pg. 17 ¶ 0347 - 0354) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. with additional teachings of Sagan et al. This modification would have been prompted in order to enhance the combined base device of Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. with the well-known and applicable technique Sagan et al. applied to a comparable device. Determining an orientation of the second reference pattern in relation to at least one of the first reference pattern or the region of interest, as taught by Sagan et al., would enhance the combined base device by improving its ability to accurately and reliably determine an amount and/or direction by which the laser system needs to be calibrated in order to place the main image engraving in a desired position to achieve high quality results with high position precision since in addition to the position of the second reference pattern an orientation of the second reference pattern would also be determined. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that an orientation of the second reference pattern in relation to at least one of the first reference pattern or the region of interest would be determined in order to improve the ability of the combined base device to accurately and reliably determine an amount and/or direction by which the laser system needs to be calibrated in order to place the main image engraving in a desired position to achieve high quality results with high position precision. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. with additional teachings of Sagan et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
- With regards to claim 10, Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. disclose the method of claim 1. Augustinus et al. fail to disclose explicitly determining a plurality of second reference positions for a plurality of second reference patterns. Pertaining to analogous art, Ochs discloses determining a plurality of second reference positions for a plurality of second reference patterns. (Ochs, Figs. 1 - 6, Pg. 2 ¶ 0023, Pg. 4 ¶ 0063 - 0073, Pg. 5 ¶ 0083 - 0088, 0099 - 0106 and 0109 - 0111, Pg. 6 ¶ 0122 - 0128) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. with additional teachings of Ochs. This modification would have been prompted in order to enhance the combined base device of Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. with the well-known and applicable technique Ochs applied to a comparable device. Determining a plurality of second reference positions for a plurality of second reference patterns, as taught by Ochs, would enhance the combined base device by improving its ability to accurately and reliably determine an amount and/or direction by which the laser system needs to be calibrated in order to place the main image engraving in a desired position to achieve high quality results with high position precision since a plurality of second reference patterns and positions thereof would provide the combined base device with additional position information to aid in the calibration of the laser system. Furthermore, this modification would have been prompted by the teachings and suggestions of Ochs that providing more than one marker enhances positioning precision, especially with prints of big size, and creates redundancy which increases the reliability of marker detection, see at least page 2 paragraph 0023 of Ochs. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that a plurality of second reference positions for a plurality of second reference patterns would be determined in order to improve the ability of the combined base device to accurately and reliably determine an amount and/or direction by which the laser system needs to be calibrated in order to place the main image engraving in a desired position to achieve high quality results with high position precision. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. with additional teachings of Ochs to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10.
- With regards to claim 12, Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising determining the improved estimated position of the first reference pattern relative to a global or local coordinate system. (Augustinus et al., Abstract, Figs. 2 - 3c, Pg. 1 ¶ 0009 - 0011, Pg. 2 ¶ 0015 - 0017 and 0019 - 0023, Pg. 3 ¶ 0025 - 0027, 0035 - 0037 and 0042 - 0044) In addition, analogous art Ochs discloses determining the improved estimated position of the first reference pattern relative to a global or local coordinate system. (Ochs, Pg. 2 ¶ 0027 - 0030, Pg. 5 ¶ 0111 - 0113)
- With regards to claim 13, Augustinus et al. disclose a treatment unit, including at least one of a laser treatment device or a printer device, (Augustinus et al., Abstract, Fig. 1, Pg. 1 ¶ 0002 and 0008 - 0011, Pg. 2 ¶ 0016 - 0017 and 0020 - 0023, Pg. 3 ¶ 0034 - 0037, Pg. 3 ¶ 0043 - Pg. 4 ¶ 0046) configured to: acquire image data on a plastic card, (Augustinus et al., Abstract, Figs. 1 & 3a - 3c, Pg. 1 ¶ 0003, 0009 and 0011, Pg. 2 ¶ 0016 and 0020, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 [“A laser is controlled and used to engrave products such as for instance plastic cards or passports” and “camera 20 captures the image and position of this pattern on the product”]) the plastic card being a target object on which one or more permanent marks are to be at least one of laser etched by the laser treatment device or printed by the printer device; (Augustinus et al., Figs. 1 & 3a - 3c, Pg. 1 ¶ 0003, 0007 and 0009 - 0011, Pg. 2 ¶ 0016 - 0018 and 0021 - 0022, Pg. 3 ¶ 0027, Pg. 3 ¶ 0042 - Pg. 4 ¶ 0046) detect a first reference pattern based on the image data, and determine first position data for the first reference pattern, the first position data comprising an estimated position of the first reference pattern; (Augustinus et al., Abstract, Figs. 3a - 3c, Pg. 1 ¶ 0009 - 0011, Pg. 2 ¶ 0016 - 0017 and 0020, Pg. 3 ¶ 0025 and 0035) detect a second reference pattern, and determine second position data for the second reference pattern; (Augustinus et al., Figs. 3a - 3c, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011, Pg. 2 ¶ 0020 - 0022, Pg. 3 ¶ 0025 - 0027 and 0039 - 0044) calibrate the at least one of the laser treatment device or the printer device based on the improved estimated position of the first reference pattern; (Augustinus et al., Abstract, Pg. 1 ¶ 0002, 0009 and 0011, Pg. 2 ¶ 0017 - 0018 and 0020 - 0022, Pg. 3 ¶ 0025 - 0027, 0035 - 0036 and 0042 - 0045) and following calibration of the at least one of the laser treatment device or the printer device, produce the one or more permanent marks on the plastic card by at least one of laser etching using the laser treatment device or printing using the printer device. (Augustinus et al., Figs. 1 & 3a - 3c, Pg. 1 ¶ 0003, 0007 and 0009 - 0011, Pg. 2 ¶ 0016 - 0018 and 0021 - 0022, Pg. 3 ¶ 0027, Pg. 3 ¶ 0042 - Pg. 4 ¶ 0046) Augustinus et al. fail to disclose explicitly based on the first position data, defining a region of interest in the image data; in the region of interest, detecting a second reference pattern, wherein there is a known spatial relation between the first reference pattern and the second reference pattern; and based on the second position data and the known spatial relation between the first reference pattern and the second reference pattern, determine an improved estimated position of the first reference pattern. Pertaining to analogous art, Ochs discloses a treatment unit, including at least one of a laser treatment device or a printer device, (Ochs, Figs. 1 & 2, Pg. 1 ¶ 0006 - 0008 and 0015, Pg. 2 ¶ 0020 - 0021, Pg. 2 ¶ 0030 - Pg. 3 ¶ 0033, Pg. 3 ¶ 0040 - 0043, Pg. 3 ¶ 0045 - Pg. 4 ¶ 0049, Pg. 5 ¶ 0111 - 0115, Pg. 6 ¶ 0118 - 0122, 0126 and 0128 - 0132) configured to: acquire image data; (Ochs, Figs. 1 - 4, Pg. 1 ¶ 0008, Pg. 2 ¶ 0024 - 0031, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 - 0037, 0041 - 0044 and 0046, Pg. 4 ¶ 0063 - 0065, Pg. 5 ¶ 0101 - 0109 and 0112, Pg. 5 ¶ 0115 - Pg. 6 ¶ 0116, Pg. 6 ¶ 0119 - 0125) detect a first reference pattern based on the image data, and determine first position data for the first reference pattern, the first position data comprising an estimated position of the first reference pattern; (Ochs, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011 - 0012, Pg. 2 ¶ 0026 - 0030, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 - 0037 and 0042 - 0043, Pg. 5 ¶ 0099 - 0104) detect a second reference pattern, (Ochs, Figs. 1 - 6, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011 - 0012, Pg. 2 ¶ 0026 - 0030, Pg. 3 ¶ 0042 - 0043, Pg. 4 ¶ 0069 - 0075, Pg. 5 ¶ 0099 - 0106 and 0109 - 0111) wherein there is a known spatial relation between the first reference pattern and the second reference pattern, (Ochs, Abstract, Figs. 3, 5, 7, 9, 11 & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011 - 0012 and 0016, Pg. 2 ¶ 0018 - 0019 and 0027, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 and 0042, Pg. 4 ¶ 0070 - 0073, Pg. 4 ¶ 0080 - Pg. 5 ¶ 0083, Pg. 5 ¶ 0089 - 0091 and 0102, Pg. 6 ¶ 0122) and determine second position data for the second reference pattern; (Ochs, Figs. 1 - 6, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011 - 0012, Pg. 2 ¶ 0026 - 0030, Pg. 3 ¶ 0042 - 0043, Pg. 4 ¶ 0069 - 0075, Pg. 5 ¶ 0099 - 0106 and 0109 - 0111) based on the second position data and the known spatial relation between the first reference pattern and the second reference pattern, determining an improved estimated position of the first reference pattern; (Ochs, Figs. 1 - 11, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011 - 0012 and 0016, Pg. 2 ¶ 0018 - 0019 and 0026 - 0030, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 - 0036 and 0042 - 0043, Pg. 4 ¶ 0069 - 0075, Pg. 4 ¶ 0080 - Pg. 5 ¶ 0083, Pg. 5 ¶ 0099 - 0106 and 0109 - 0111, Pg. 6 ¶ 0122) and calibrate the at least one of the laser treatment device or the printer device based on the improved estimated position of the first reference pattern. (Ochs, Pg. 1 ¶ 0006 - 0008 and 0015, Pg. 2 ¶ 0020 - 0021 and 0030 - 0032, Pg. 5 ¶ 0111 - 0115, Pg. 6 ¶ 0130 - 0132) Ochs fails to disclose expressly based on the first position data, defining a region of interest in the image data; and in the region of interest, detecting a second reference pattern. Pertaining to analogous art, Sagan et al. disclose a treatment unit, including at least one of a laser treatment device or a printer device, (Sagan et al., Abstract, Figs. 19, 20, 28A, 28C & 34, Pg. 3 ¶ 0034 - 0035 and 0043 - 0045, Pg. 4 ¶ 0085 - 0086, Pg. 5 ¶ 0117 - 0118, Pg. 6 ¶ 0125, Pg. 18 ¶ 0361 - 0366, Pg. 19 ¶ 0369 - 0371 and 0378 - 0382) configured to: acquire image data; (Sagan et al., Abstract, Figs. 16A, 17, 18, 20, 23, 28A, 28C & 34, Pg. 2 ¶ 0025 - 0027, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 - 0038, Pg. 4 ¶ 0086, Pg. 5 ¶ 0117 - 0119, Pg. 9 ¶ 0181, Pg. 10 ¶ 0213 and 0222 - 0225, Pg. 11 ¶ 0233 and 0238 - 0239, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0276, Pg. 15 ¶ 0310, Pg. 17 ¶ 0345, Pg. 18 ¶ 0361 - 0365, Pg. 19 ¶ 0371, 0374, 0383 and 0386) detect a first reference pattern based on the image data, and determine first position data for the first reference pattern, the first position data comprising an estimated position of the first reference pattern; (Sagan et al., Pg. 5 ¶ 0109, 0113 and 0117 - 0119, Pg. 12 ¶ 0269 - 0270, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0277, Pg. 15 ¶ 0315 - 0316, Pg. 15 ¶ 0323 - Pg. 16 ¶ 0328, Pg. 19 ¶ 0384 - 0387) based on the first position data, define a region of interest in the image data; (Sagan et al., Pg. 5 ¶ 0109 and 0117 - 0119, Pg. 12 ¶ 0269 - 0270, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0277, Pg. 15 ¶ 0314 - 0316, Pg. 15 ¶ 0323 - Pg. 16 ¶ 0328, Pg. 19 ¶ 0384 - 0387) and in the region of interest, detect a second reference pattern, (Sagan et al., Pg. 5 ¶ 0118 - 0119, Pg. 12 ¶ 0269 - 0270, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0277, Pg. 15 ¶ 0315 - 0316 and 0323 - 0327, Pg. 19 ¶ 0384 - 0387) wherein there is a known spatial relation between the first reference pattern and the second reference pattern, (Sagan et al., Figs. 9 - 11, Pg. 5 ¶ 0109 and 0117 - 0119, Pg. 12 ¶ 0269 - 0270, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0277, Pg. 15 ¶ 0323 - 0327) and determine second position data for the second reference pattern. (Sagan et al., Pg. 5 ¶ 0118 - 0119, Pg. 12 ¶ 0269 - 0270, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0277, Pg. 15 ¶ 0315 - 0316 and 0323 - 0327, Pg. 19 ¶ 0384 - 0387) Augustinus et al. and Ochs are combinable because they are both directed towards image processing systems and methods that utilize detected positions of patterns in images to calibrate a treatment unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Augustinus et al. with the teachings of Ochs. This modification would have been prompted in order to substitute the predefined reference pattern(s) of Augustinus et al. for the marker(s) of Ochs. The marker(s) of Ochs could be substituted in place of the predefined reference pattern(s) of Augustinus et al. using well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that, in the combination, the base device of Augustinus et al. would utilize the marker(s) of Ochs, which comprise first and second reference patterns having a known spatial relation between them, as the predefined reference pattern(s) used to calibrate the laser system. Furthermore, this modification would enhance the base device of Augustinus et al. by improving its ability to accurately and reliably determine the position of the reference patterns, and thus accurately and reliably calibrate the laser system to achieve high quality results, since the known spatial relation between the first reference pattern and the second reference pattern of the marker(s) of Ochs enable them to be detected with high reliability and precision while reducing the likelihood of false positive detections, as taught and suggested by Ochs, see at least page 1 paragraphs 0011 - 0012 and page 1 paragraph 0016 - page 2 paragraph 0019 of Ochs. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that the base device of Augustinus et al. would utilize the marker(s) of Ochs, which comprise first and second reference patterns having a known spatial relation between them, as the predefined reference pattern(s) used to calibrate the laser system. In addition, Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs and Sagan et al. are combinable because they are all directed towards image processing systems and methods that are utilized in combination with treatment units and determine the position of patterns in images. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs with the teachings of Sagan et al. This modification would have been prompted in order to enhance the combined base device of Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs with the well-known and applicable technique Sagan et al. applied to a comparable device. Defining a region of interest in the image data based on the first position data and detecting a second reference pattern in the region of interest, as taught by Sagan et al., would enhance the combined base device by improving its ability to accurately, reliably and efficiently detect and locate the position of the second reference pattern in the image data since the area of the image data that needs to be analyzed to detect and locate the second reference pattern would be limited to an area of the image data defined with respect to an easily identifiable pattern in the image data, such as the rectangular-shaped border of the marker, thereby reducing the overall number of computations required to detect and locate the second reference pattern and helping ensure that the second reference pattern is correctly detected. Furthermore, this modification would have been prompted by the teachings and suggestions of Ochs that, in addition to the inner structure of the marker, the periphery of the marker can be utilized for detection purposes, that more than one technique may be utilized to identify the marker, that edge detection can also be utilized when identifying the marker and that edge detection should only be applied to parts of the image showing the marker, see at least page 1 paragraph 0012, page 3 paragraphs 0034 - 0038 and 0042 and page 5 paragraphs 0102 - 0109 of Ochs. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that a region of interest would be defined in the image data based on the first position data and the second reference pattern would be detected in the region of interest so as to improve the ability of the combined base device to accurately, reliably and efficiently detect and locate the position of the second reference pattern in the image data since the area of the image data that needs to be analyzed to detect and locate the second reference pattern would be limited to an area of the image data defined with respect to an easily identifiable pattern in the image data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Augustinus et al. with Ochs and Sagan et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
- With regards to claim 16, Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. disclose the treatment unit of claim 13, wherein the treatment unit comprises the laser treatment device, (Augustinus et al., Abstract, Fig. 1, Pg. 1 ¶ 0002 and 0009 - 0011, Pg. 3 ¶ 0034 - 0037) and wherein at least one of the one or more permanent marks on the plastic card is produced by laser etching. (Augustinus et al., Figs. 1 & 3a - 3c, Pg. 1 ¶ 0003, 0007 and 0009 - 0011, Pg. 2 ¶ 0016 - 0018 and 0021 - 0022, Pg. 3 ¶ 0027, Pg. 3 ¶ 0042 - Pg. 4 ¶ 0046)
- With regards to claim 19, Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the treatment unit comprises the laser treatment device, (Augustinus et al., Abstract, Fig. 1, Pg. 1 ¶ 0002 and 0009 - 0011, Pg. 3 ¶ 0034 - 0037) and wherein at least one of the one or more permanent marks on the plastic card is produced by laser etching. (Augustinus et al., Figs. 1 & 3a - 3c, Pg. 1 ¶ 0003, 0007 and 0009 - 0011, Pg. 2 ¶ 0016 - 0018 and 0021 - 0022, Pg. 3 ¶ 0027, Pg. 3 ¶ 0042 - Pg. 4 ¶ 0046)
Claims 2, 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Augustinus et al. U.S. Publication No. 2019/0262937 A1 in view of Ochs U.S. Publication No. 2023/0256729 A1 in view of Sagan et al. U.S. Publication No. 2011/0142294 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hill et al. U.S. Publication No. 2010/0020180 A1.
- With regards to claim 2, Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. disclose the method of claim 1. Augustinus et al. fail to disclose explicitly wherein a color-specific or wavelength-specific illumination is applied while acquiring the image data. Pertaining to analogous art, Ochs discloses wherein illumination is applied while acquiring the image data. (Ochs, Pg. 2 ¶ 0026 and 0031) Ochs fails to disclose explicitly color-specific or wavelength-specific illumination. Pertaining to analogous art, Hill et al. disclose wherein a color-specific or wavelength-specific illumination is applied while acquiring the image data. (Hill et al., Fig. 2, Pg. 3 ¶ 0047 - 0048, Pg. 7 ¶ 0070) Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. and Hill et al. are combinable because they are all directed towards image processing systems and methods that determine the position of patterns in images. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. with the teachings of Hill et al. This modification would have been prompted in order to enhance the combined base device of Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. with the well-known and applicable technique Hill et al. applied to a comparable device. Utilizing color- specific or wavelength-specific illumination, as taught by Hill et al., would enhance the combined base device by improving its ability to discriminate between portions of the image data corresponding to the marker(s) and portions of the image data corresponding to the background thereby facilitating its ability to accurately, reliably and efficiently detect and locate the marker(s) in the captured image data. Furthermore, this modification would have been prompted by the teachings and suggestions of Ochs that the marker may be illuminated during image capture so as to enhance the quality of the captured image, see at least page 2 paragraph 0031 of Ochs. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that color-specific or wavelength-specific illumination would be utilized during image capture in order to enhance the contrast between the marker(s) and the background in the captured image data so as to improve the ability of the combined base device to accurately, reliably and efficiently detect and locate the marker(s) in the captured image data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. with Hill et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
- With regards to claim 9, Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. disclose the method of claim 1. Augustinus et al. fail to disclose explicitly based on the second reference pattern, determining a focus property corresponding to acquisition of the image data. Pertaining to analogous art, Hill et al. disclose based on the second reference pattern, determining a focus property corresponding to acquisition of the image data. (Hill et al., Figs. 7 & 10 - 15, Pg. 2 ¶ 0013 and 0027, Pg. 5 ¶ 0057 - 0058, Pg. 5 ¶ 0060 - Pg. 6 ¶ 0062, Pg. 6 ¶ 0064 - 0067) Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. and Hill et al. are combinable because they are all directed towards image processing systems and methods that determine the position of patterns in images. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. with the teachings of Hill et al. This modification would have been prompted in order to enhance the combined base device of Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. with the well-known and applicable technique Hill et al. applied to a comparable device. Determining a focus property corresponding to acquisition of the image data based on the second reference pattern, as taught by Hill et al., would enhance the combined base device by helping ensure that the reference position is determined accurately thereby improving its ability to precisely and reliably calibrate the laser system in order to place the main image engraving in a desired position and achieve high quality results with high position precision. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that a focus property corresponding to acquisition of the image data would be determined based on the second reference pattern so as to ensure that the reference position is accurately determined thereby improving the ability of the combined base device to reliably and precisely calibrate the laser system in order to place the main image engraving in a desired position and achieve high quality results with high position precision. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. with Hill et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
- With regards to claim 18, Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. disclose the method of claim 1. Augustinus et al. fail to disclose explicitly wherein acquiring the image data comprises using a wavelength-selective photosensitive device. Pertaining to analogous art, Hill et al. disclose wherein acquiring the image data comprises using a wavelength-selective photosensitive device. (Hill et al., Pg. 1 ¶ 0002 - 0003, Pg. 3 ¶ 0045 - 0048, Pg. 6 ¶ 0064 - 0065, Pg. 7 ¶ 0070 - 0073 [“sensor model number TC246RGB-B0 commercially available from Texas Instruments”. The Examiner asserts that Texas Instruments sensor model number TC246RGB-B0 is a color CCD image sensor that is sensitive to light within a specific range of wavelengths approximately corresponding to the visible spectrum.]) Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. and Hill et al. are combinable because they are all directed towards image processing systems and methods that determine the position of patterns in images. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. with the teachings of Hill et al. This modification would have been prompted in order to substitute the camera of Augustinus et al. for the RGB imaging array of Hill et al. The RGB imaging array of Hill et al. could be substituted in place of the camera of Augustinus et al. using well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that, in the combination, the RGB imaging array of Hill et al. would be utilized to capture the image(s) comprising the marker(s) of the combined base device. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that the RGB imaging array of Hill et al. would be utilized to capture the image(s) comprising the marker(s) of the combined base device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Augustinus et al. in view of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. with Hill et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 18.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC RUSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2677