DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the request for continued examination (RCE) received 23 January 2026 and the amendments and remarks received 19 December 2025. Claims 1 - 10, 12, 13, 16, 18 and 19 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 14 of claim 1 recites, in part, “based on the improved estimated position; and” which appears to contain inconsistent claim terminology and/or a minor informality. The Examiner suggests amending the claim to --based on the improved estimated position of the first reference pattern; and-- in order to maintain consistency with line 13 of claim 1 and to improve the clarity and precision of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 1 - 2 of claim 12 recite, in part, “the improved estimated position relative to a global” which appears to contain inconsistent claim terminology and/or a minor informality. The Examiner suggests amending the claim to --the improved estimated position of the first reference pattern relative to a global-- in order to maintain consistency with line 13 of claim 1 and to improve the clarity and precision of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Clam 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 14 - 15 of claim 13 recite, in part, “based on the improved estimated position; and” which appears to contain inconsistent claim terminology and/or a minor informality. The Examiner suggests amending the claim to --based on the improved estimated position of the first reference pattern; and-- in order to maintain consistency with lines 12 - 13 of claim 13 and to improve the clarity and precision of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 17 - 18 of claim 13 recite, in part, “the laser treatment device or printer device” which appears to contain a minor informality. The Examiner suggests amending the claim to --the laser treatment device or the printer device-- in order to improve the clarity and precision of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “treatment unit, including at least one of a laser treatment device or a printer device, configured to: acquire… detect…” in claims 13 and 16.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 19 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 5 - 6 of the remarks the Applicant’s Representative argues that independent claims 1 and 13 are patentable over the cited references at least because “Applicant cannot find anywhere that Ochs teaches calibrating a treatment unit, and following calibration of the treatment unit, treating the printing plate with the treatment unit.” In particular, the Applicant’s Representative argues that, “in Ochs, the component from which the image is captured (i.e., the printing plate) is the same component that is calibrated based on the image (i.e., also the printing plate)” which “is simply not the same as explicitly recited in Applicant's Claim 1, which requires that the image data is acquired from the plastic card and that the treatment unit, which is separate and distinct from the plastic card, is the component that is calibrated based on the captured image data.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Initially, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Furthermore, the Examiner asserts that Ochs discloses “calibrating a treatment unit, and following calibration of the treatment unit, treating the printing plate with the treatment unit”, see at least page 1 paragraphs 0006 - 0008 and 0015, page 2 paragraphs 0020 - 0021 and 0032 and page 6 paragraphs 0130 - 0132 of Ochs wherein it is disclosed that usually “each single color image is printed on the substrate using a specific printing plate. It is obvious that these printing plates need to be positioned within the printing machine with utmost precision. Otherwise, areas of different color would be offset or tilted with respect to each other” [0006], that it “is known in the art to equip printing plates with optical markers. These markers can be used to precisely position the printing plates within a printing machine. Such markers can be arranged on the printing plate such that they create a part of an image to be printed, i.e. the marker produces a portion of a printed image on the substrate. Alternatively, markers can be arranged in a margin area of the printing plate... In both cases the position of the print created by the marker is analyzed. Based thereon the position of the corresponding printing plate inside the printing machine is corrected until a satisfactory alignment is achieved” [0007], that an “alternative approach consists in using the markers for detecting the position of a printing plate during its mounting on the corresponding printing cylinder… the marker on the printing plate is observed by a camera system. Subsequently, a captured image is processed in order to derive a current position of the printing plate and compare it to a desired position. If necessary, the position of the printing plate may be adjusted by a manipulator interacting therewith” [0008], that in “a preferred embodiment, the printing plate is a flexible relief printing plate, e.g. elevated elements of the relief receive the ink for printing” [0015], that “a relief printing plate is created, wherein elevated elements of the relief are configured for receiving the ink for printing” [0021], that the “method may be used for precisely positioning the printing plate on a corresponding printing cylinder. This means that the derived position of the printing plate is either used for determining a correction value by which the printing plate needs to be moved in order to be in the desired position or the derived position is used as a parameter for a printing machine in which the printing plate is used” [0032] and that “detection of the position of the printing plate 10 and a corresponding correction thereof can be performed in a closed loop control system” [0132].
The Examiner asserts that, as shown herein above and in the cited portions, Ochs discloses correcting the position of a printing plate in a printing machine or using the derived position as a parameter for a printing machine in which the printing plate is used, i.e., calibrating a treatment unit, and using a printing machine with a precisely positioned printing plate to produce a printed image by providing ink to the printing plate, i.e., treating the printing plate with the treatment unit. In addition, the Examiner asserts that the instant disclosure and claims do not explicitly disclose or recite how the treatment unit is calibrated and even appears to disclose that an object is manipulated in order to calibrate a treatment unit, see at least page 14 lines 12 - 20 and page 15 lines 15 - 28 of the instant specification. Thus the Examiner asserts that broadest reasonable interpretation of calibrating the treatment unit encompasses an interpretation wherein a position of a printing plate, object and/or card within a treatment unit is adjusted in order to calibrate the treatment unit.
Moreover, the Examiner asserts that Sagan et al. also disclose “treating the printing plate with the treatment unit”, see at least figure 34, page 3 paragraphs 0035 and 0043 - 0044, page 4 paragraph 0086, page 18 paragraphs 0361 - 0366 and page 19 paragraphs 0370 and 0380 - 0382 of Sagan et al. wherein they disclose “a device for identifying a printing plate for a document”, “a means of printing at least one document with said plate”, that “a printing plate is marked with said image to be printed” and that “at least one document is printed with said plate.”
Additionally, the Examiner asserts that Li et al. also disclose treating the printing plate with the treatment unit, see at least page 7 paragraph 0055 of Li et al. wherein it is disclosed that “a flexographic printer may utilize printing plates made of rubber or plastic with a slightly raised image thereon. The inked plates are rotated on a cylinder which transfers the image to the sheet. Some configurations may include a printer 306 in the form of a gravure printer. Gravure printing may utilize an image etched on the surface of a metal plate. The etched area is filled with ink and the plate is rotated on a cylinder that transfers the image to the substrate.”
Therefore, the Examiner asserts that at least Ochs discloses “calibrating a treatment unit, and following calibration of the treatment unit, treating the printing plate with the treatment unit.”
b. On pages 5 - 7 of the remarks the Applicant’s Representative argues that independent claims 1 and 13 are patentable over the cited references at least because “Ochs cannot be modified in view of Sagan or any other reference to treat the printing plate with the treatment unit… as such modification would not make sense in the context of Ochs.” The Applicant’s Representative argues that paragraphs 0006 - 0008 of Ochs describe “prior art systems that are explicitly unsatisfactory” and that “Ochs solves certain problems of the prior art systems with its method”. Furthermore, the Applicant’s Representative argues that “Ochs teaches against using an image printed on the substrate” because they explicitly rely on an image of the printing plate. Moreover, the Applicant’s Representative argues that “any modification to Ochs based on Sagan, Li, or any other reference to instead use an image printed on the substrate would improperly change the explicit principle of operation of Ochs, which solves certain problems of the prior art systems by capturing an image of the printing plate and using a marker from that image to adjust or calibrate the position of the printing plate.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Initially, the Examiner asserts that Ochs was modified to include defining a region of interest in the image data based on the first position data and detecting a second reference pattern in the region of interest as taught by Sagan et al. not to include treating the printing plate with the treatment unit. The Examiner asserts that Ochs can be modified to include defining a region of interest in the image data based on the first position data and detecting a second reference pattern in the region of interest as taught by Sagan et al. The Examiner asserts that the invention of Ochs can be modified as proposed at least because such a modification would not render the invention of Ochs unsatisfactory for its intended purpose nor change its principle operation since the invention of Ochs, modified as proposed, would still detect both of the first and second reference patterns and also determine and utilize their corresponding position data. Moreover, the Examiner asserts that the invention of Ochs can be modified as proposed at least because Ochs teaches and suggests that, in addition to the inner structure of the marker, the periphery of the marker can be utilized for detection purposes, that more than one technique may be utilized to identify the marker, that edge detection can also be utilized when identifying the marker and that edge detection should only be applied to parts of the image showing the marker, see at least page 1 paragraph 0012, page 3 paragraphs 0034 - 0038 and 0042 and page 5 paragraphs 0102 - 0109 of Ochs.
In addition, although Ochs describes unsatisfactory prior art systems in paragraphs 0006 - 0008, the Examiner asserts that Ochs discloses that the problems of the unsatisfactory prior art systems are solved by their method of using improved markers of printing plates, see at least page 1 paragraph 0010 of Ochs.
Furthermore, the Examiner asserts that Ochs does not teach against using an image printed on the substrate at least because Ochs does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage using an image printed on the substrate, see at least MPEP § 2145.
Lastly, the Examiner asserts that the proposed modifications to Ochs would not improperly change the explicit principle of operation of Ochs as alleged by the Applicant’s Representative at least because the proposed modifications to Ochs do not include modifying Ochs “to instead use an image printed on the substrate”.
Therefore, the Examiner asserts that Ochs can be modified in view of Sagan et al. and Li et al. as proposed and that independent claims 1 and 13 are not patentable over the cited prior art references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 - 8, 10, 12, 13, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochs U.S. Publication No. 2023/0256729 A1 in view of Sagan et al. U.S. Publication No. 2011/0142294 A1 in view of Li et al. U.S. Publication No. 2019/0340740 A1.
- With regards to claim 1, Ochs discloses a method for calibrating a treatment unit, include at least one of a laser treatment device or a printer device, and treating a card, (Ochs, Figs. 1 & 2, Pg. 1 ¶ 0006 - 0008 and 0015, Pg. 2 ¶ 0020 - 0021 and 0030 - 0032, Pg. 4 ¶ 0065, Pg. 5 ¶ 0111 - 0115, Pg. 6 ¶ 0128 - 0132) the method comprising: acquiring image data on the card; (Ochs, Figs. 1 - 4, Pg. 1 ¶ 0008, Pg. 2 ¶ 0024 - 0031, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 - 0037, 0041 - 0044 and 0046, Pg. 4 ¶ 0063 - 0065, Pg. 5 ¶ 0101 - 0109 and 0112, Pg. 6 ¶ 0119 - 0125) detecting a first reference pattern based on the image data, and determining first position data for the first reference pattern the first position data comprising an estimated position of the first reference pattern, (Ochs, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011 - 0012, Pg. 2 ¶ 0026 - 0030, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 - 0037 and 0042 - 0043, Pg. 5 ¶ 0099 - 0104) detecting a second reference pattern, (Ochs, Figs. 1 - 6, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011 - 0012, Pg. 2 ¶ 0026 - 0030, Pg. 3 ¶ 0042 - 0043, Pg. 4 ¶ 0069 - 0075, Pg. 5 ¶ 0099 - 0106 and 0109 - 0111) wherein there is a known spatial relation between the first reference pattern and the second reference pattern, (Ochs, Abstract, Figs. 3, 5, 7, 9, 11 & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011 - 0012 and 0016, Pg. 2 ¶ 0018 - 0019 and 0027, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 and 0042, Pg. 4 ¶ 0070 - 0073, Pg. 4 ¶ 0080 - Pg. 5 ¶ 0083, Pg. 5 ¶ 0089 - 0091 and 0102, Pg. 6 ¶ 0122) and determining second position data for the second reference pattern; (Ochs, Figs. 1 - 6, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011 - 0012, Pg. 2 ¶ 0026 - 0030, Pg. 3 ¶ 0042 - 0043, Pg. 4 ¶ 0069 - 0075, Pg. 5 ¶ 0099 - 0106 and 0109 - 0111) based on the second position data and the known spatial relation between the first reference pattern and the second reference pattern, determining an improved estimated position of the first reference pattern; (Ochs, Figs. 1 - 11, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011 - 0012 and 0016, Pg. 2 ¶ 0018 - 0019 and 0026 - 0030, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 - 0036 and 0042 - 0043, Pg. 4 ¶ 0069 - 0075, Pg. 4 ¶ 0080 - Pg. 5 ¶ 0083, Pg. 5 ¶ 0099 - 0106 and 0109 - 0111, Pg. 6 ¶ 0122) calibrating the treatment unit based on the improved estimated position; (Ochs, Pg. 1 ¶ 0006 - 0008 and 0015, Pg. 2 ¶ 0020 - 0021 and 0030 - 0032, Pg. 5 ¶ 0111 - 0115, Pg. 6 ¶ 0130 - 0132) and following calibration of the treatment unit, treating the card with the treatment unit. (Ochs, Figs. 1 & 2, Pg. 1 ¶ 0006 - 0008 and 0015, Pg. 2 ¶ 0020 - 0021 and 0030 - 0032, Pg. 5 ¶ 0111 - 0115, Pg. 6 ¶ 0130 - 0132) Ochs fails to disclose expressly a plastic card, based on the first position data, defining a region of interest in the image data; and in the region of interest, detecting a second reference pattern. Pertaining to analogous art, Sagan et al. disclose a method for a treatment unit, include at least one of a laser treatment device or a printer device, and treating a card, (Sagan et al., Abstract, Figs. 19, 20, 28A, 28C & 34, Pg. 3 ¶ 0034 - 0035 and 0043 - 0045, Pg. 4 ¶ 0085 - 0086, Pg. 5 ¶ 0117 - 0118, Pg. 6 ¶ 0125, Pg. 18 ¶ 0361 - 0366, Pg. 19 ¶ 0369 - 0371 and 0378 - 0382) the method comprising: acquiring image data on the card; (Sagan et al., Abstract, Figs. 16A, 17, 18, 20, 23, 28A, 28C & 34, Pg. 2 ¶ 0025 - 0027, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 - 0038, Pg. 4 ¶ 0086, Pg. 5 ¶ 0117 - 0119, Pg. 9 ¶ 0181, Pg. 10 ¶ 0213 and 0222 - 0225, Pg. 11 ¶ 0233 and 0238 - 0239, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0276, Pg. 15 ¶ 0310, Pg. 17 ¶ 0345, Pg. 18 ¶ 0361 - 0365, Pg. 19 ¶ 0371, 0374, 0383 and 0386) detecting a first reference pattern based on the image data, and determining first position data for the first reference pattern, the first position data comprising an estimated position of the first reference pattern; (Sagan et al., Pg. 5 ¶ 0109, 0113 and 0117 - 0119, Pg. 12 ¶ 0269 - 0270, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0277, Pg. 15 ¶ 0315 - 0316, Pg. 15 ¶ 0323 - Pg. 16 ¶ 0328, Pg. 19 ¶ 0384 - 0387) based on the first position data, defining a region of interest in the image data; (Sagan et al., Pg. 5 ¶ 0109 and 0117 - 0119, Pg. 12 ¶ 0269 - 0270, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0277, Pg. 15 ¶ 0314 - 0316, Pg. 15 ¶ 0323 - Pg. 16 ¶ 0328, Pg. 19 ¶ 0384 - 0387) in the region of interest, detecting a second reference pattern, (Sagan et al., Pg. 5 ¶ 0118 - 0119, Pg. 12 ¶ 0269 - 0270, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0277, Pg. 15 ¶ 0315 - 0316 and 0323 - 0327, Pg. 19 ¶ 0384 - 0387) wherein there is a known spatial relation between the first reference pattern and the second reference pattern, (Sagan et al., Figs. 9 - 11, Pg. 5 ¶ 0109 and 0117 - 0119, Pg. 12 ¶ 0269 - 0270, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0277, Pg. 15 ¶ 0323 - 0327) and determining second position data for the second reference pattern; (Sagan et al., Pg. 5 ¶ 0118 - 0119, Pg. 12 ¶ 0269 - 0270, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0277, Pg. 15 ¶ 0315 - 0316 and 0323 - 0327, Pg. 19 ¶ 0384 - 0387) and treating the card with the treatment unit. (Sagan et al., Fig. 34, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 and 0043 - 0044, Pg. 4 ¶ 0085 - 0086, Pg. 18 ¶ 0361 - 0366, Pg. 19 ¶ 0369 - 0371 and 0378 - 0383) Sagan et al. fail to disclose expressly a plastic card. Pertaining to analogous art, Li et al. disclose a method for a treatment unit, include at least one of a laser treatment device or a printer device, and treating a plastic card, (Li et al., Abstract, Pg. 1 ¶ 0004, Pg. 6 ¶ 0050 - 0051, Pg. 7 ¶ 0055) the method comprising: treating the plastic card with the treatment unit. (Li et al., Abstract, Pg. 1 ¶ 0004, Pg. 6 ¶ 0050 - 0051, Pg. 7 ¶ 0055) Ochs and Sagan et al. are combinable because they are both directed towards image processing systems and methods that determine the position of patterns in images. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ochs with the teachings of Sagan et al. This modification would have been prompted in order to enhance the base device of Ochs with the well-known and applicable technique Sagan et al. applied to a comparable device. Defining a region of interest in the image data based on the first position data and detecting a second reference pattern in the region of interest, as taught by Sagan et al., would enhance the base device of Ochs by improving its ability to accurately, reliably and efficiently detect and locate the position of the second reference pattern in the image data since the area of the image data that needs to be analyzed to detect and locate the second reference pattern would be limited to an area of the image data defined with respect to an easily identifiable pattern in the image data, such as the rectangular-shaped border of the marker, thereby reducing the overall number of computations required to detect and locate the second reference pattern and helping ensure that the second reference pattern is correctly detected. Furthermore, this modification would have been prompted by the teachings and suggestions of Ochs that, in addition to the inner structure of the marker, the periphery of the marker can be utilized for detection purposes, that more than one technique may be utilized to identify the marker, that edge detection can also be utilized when identifying the marker and that edge detection should only be applied to parts of the image showing the marker, see at least page 1 paragraph 0012, page 3 paragraphs 0034 - 0038 and 0042 and page 5 paragraphs 0102 - 0109 of Ochs. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that a region of interest would be defined in the image data based on the first position data and the second reference pattern would be detected in the region of interest so as to improve the ability of the base device of Ochs to accurately, reliably and efficiently detect and locate the position of the second reference pattern in the image data since the area of the image data that needs to be analyzed to detect and locate the second reference pattern would be limited to an area of the image data defined with respect to an easily identifiable pattern in the image data. In addition, Ochs in view of Sagan et al. and Li et al. are combinable because they are all directed towards image processing systems and methods utilized in combination with printing plates and printer devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. with the teachings of Li et al. This modification would have been prompted in order to substitute the material used to make the printing plate of Ochs for the plastic printing plate material of Li et al. The plastic printing plate material of Li et al. could be substituted in place of the material used to make the printing plate of Ochs utilizing well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that in the combination the printing plate of Ochs would be made of plastic. Furthermore, this modification would have been prompted by the teachings and suggestions of Ochs that a flexible relief printing plate may be utilized and that the printing plate may be made from a UV-curing polymer, see at least page 1 paragraph 0015, page 2 paragraphs 0020 - 0022 and page 4 paragraph 0065 of Ochs. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that the printing plate of the combined base device would be made of the plastic printing plate material of Li et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ochs with Sagan et al. and Li et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
- With regards to claim 3, Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the first reference pattern comprises at least one of: crossing lines, a dot shape, an elliptical shape, a round shape, a rectangular shape, or a square shape. (Ochs, Figs. 1 - 3, 5, 7, 9, 11 & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011, Pg. 2 ¶ 0018 - 0019, Pg. 4 ¶ 0069 - 0072 and 0080 - 0081, Pg. 5 ¶ 0089 - 0091 and 0094 - 0097) In addition, analogous art Sagan et al. disclose wherein the first reference pattern comprises at least one of: crossing lines, a dot shape, an elliptical shape, a round shape, a rectangular shape, or a square shape. (Sagan et al., Pg. 5 ¶ 0109 and 0118 - 0119, Pg. 12 ¶ 0269 - 0270, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0275, Pg. 15 ¶ 0323 - Pg. 16 ¶ 0328)
- With regards to claim 4, Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. disclose the method of claim 3, wherein the second reference pattern comprises a plurality of features that are arranged periodically along a periodicity axis. (Ochs, Figs. 3 & 5, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011 and 0016, Pg. 4 ¶ 0069 - 0075) In addition, analogous art Sagan et al. disclose wherein the second reference pattern comprises a plurality of features that are arranged periodically along a periodicity axis. (Sagan et al., Pg. 12 ¶ 0259 - 0260 and 0265 - 0268, Pg. 15 ¶ 0315 - 0316, Pg. 15 ¶ 0324 - Pg. 16 ¶ 0331, Pg. 16 ¶ 0334 - 0337, Pg. 18 ¶ 0357 - 0358)
- With regards to claim 5, Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. disclose the method of claim 4, wherein the second reference pattern comprises parallel lines that run perpendicular to the periodicity axis. (Ochs, Figs. 3 - 5, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011 and 0016, Pg. 4 ¶ 0069 - 0075)
- With regards to claim 6, Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. disclose the method of claim 4, wherein at least one of an integration step or an averaging step is performed on the image data within the region of interest, (Ochs, Figs. 3 - 6, Pg. 1 ¶ 0016 - Pg. 2 ¶ 0018, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 and 0042, Pg. 4 ¶ 0053 - 0056 and 0072 - 0078, Pg. 5 ¶ 0102 - 0109) and wherein the image data is at least one of integrated or averaged along a direction perpendicular to the periodicity axis. (Ochs, Figs. 3 - 6, Pg. 1 ¶ 0016 - Pg. 2 ¶ 0018, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 and 0042, Pg. 4 ¶ 0053 - 0056 and 0072 - 0078, Pg. 5 ¶ 0102 - 0109)
- With regards to claim 7, Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein determining the second position data comprises a line scan within the region of interest, including at least one of integrating or averaging the image data in a direction perpendicular to the direction of the line scan. (Ochs, Figs. 3 - 6, Pg. 1 ¶ 0016 - Pg. 2 ¶ 0018, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 and 0042, Pg. 4 ¶ 0053 - 0056 and 0072 - 0078, Pg. 5 ¶ 0102 - 0109)
- With regards to claim 8, Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. disclose the method of claim 1. Ochs fails to disclose explicitly based on the second reference pattern, determining an orientation of the second reference pattern in relation to at least one of the first reference pattern or the region of interest. Pertaining to analogous art, Sagan et al. disclose based on the second reference pattern, determining an orientation of the second reference pattern in relation to at least one of the first reference pattern or the region of interest. (Sagan et al., Fig. 20, Pg. 13 ¶ 0276 - 0283, Pg. 16 ¶ 0334 - 0336, Pg. 17 ¶ 0347 - 0354) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. with additional teachings of Sagan et al. This modification would have been prompted in order to enhance the combined base device of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. with the well-known and applicable technique Sagan et al. applied to a comparable device. Determining an orientation of the second reference pattern in relation to at least one of the first reference pattern or the region of interest, as taught by Sagan et al., would enhance the combined base device by improving its ability to accurately and reliably determine an amount and/or direction by which the position of a printing plate needs to be moved in order to place the printing plate in a desired position to achieve high quality printing results since in addition to the position of the second reference pattern an orientation of the second reference pattern would also be determined. Furthermore, this modification would have been prompted by the teachings and suggestions of Ochs that printing plates need to be precisely positioned within printing machines so as to avoid areas of different color from being offset or tilted with respect to each other and that their teachings may be used to determine an amount and/or direction by which a position of a printing plate should be moved in order to be in a desired position, see at least page 1 paragraphs 0006 - 0007, p[age 2 paragraph 0032 and page 6 paragraphs 0131 - 0132 of Ochs. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that an orientation of the second reference pattern in relation to at least one of the first reference pattern or the region of interest would be determined in order to improve the ability of the combined base device to accurately and reliably determine an amount and/or direction by which a position of a printing plate needs to be moved in order to place the printing plate in a desired position to achieve high quality printing results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. with additional teachings of Sagan et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
- With regards to claim 10, Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising determining a plurality of second reference positions for a plurality of second reference patterns. (Ochs, Figs. 1 - 6, Pg. 4 ¶ 0063 - 0073, Pg. 5 ¶ 0083 - 0088, 0099 - 0106 and 0109 - 0111, Pg. 6 ¶ 0122 - 0128) In addition, analogous art Sagan et al. disclose determining a plurality of second reference positions for a plurality of second reference patterns. (Sagan et al., Pg. 5 ¶ 0117 - 0119, Pg. 11 ¶ 0240, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0285, Pg. 15 ¶ 0314 - 0316 and 0323 - 0326, Pg. 16 ¶ 0334 - 0336, Pg. 17 ¶ 0347 - 0354)
- With regards to claim 12, Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising determining the improved estimated position relative to a global or local coordinate system. (Ochs, Pg. 2 ¶ 0027 - 0030, Pg. 5 ¶ 0111 - 0113)
- With regards to claim 13, Ochs discloses a treatment unit, including at least one of a laser treatment device or a printer device, (Ochs, Figs. 1 & 2, Pg. 1 ¶ 0006 - 0008 and 0015, Pg. 2 ¶ 0020 - 0021, Pg. 2 ¶ 0030 - Pg. 3 ¶ 0033, Pg. 3 ¶ 0040 - 0043, Pg. 3 ¶ 0045 - Pg. 4 ¶ 0049, Pg. 5 ¶ 0111 - 0115, Pg. 6 ¶ 0118 - 0122, 0126 and 0128 - 0132) configured to: acquire image data on a card; (Ochs, Figs. 1 - 4, Pg. 1 ¶ 0008, Pg. 2 ¶ 0024 - 0031, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 - 0037, 0041 - 0044 and 0046, Pg. 4 ¶ 0063 - 0065, Pg. 5 ¶ 0101 - 0109 and 0112, Pg. 5 ¶ 0115 - Pg. 6 ¶ 0116, Pg. 6 ¶ 0119 - 0125) detect a first reference pattern based on the image data, and determine first position data for the first reference pattern, the first position data comprising an estimated position of the first reference pattern; (Ochs, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011 - 0012, Pg. 2 ¶ 0026 - 0030, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 - 0037 and 0042 - 0043, Pg. 5 ¶ 0099 - 0104) detect a second reference pattern, (Ochs, Figs. 1 - 6, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011 - 0012, Pg. 2 ¶ 0026 - 0030, Pg. 3 ¶ 0042 - 0043, Pg. 4 ¶ 0069 - 0075, Pg. 5 ¶ 0099 - 0106 and 0109 - 0111) wherein there is a known spatial relation between the first reference pattern and the second reference pattern, (Ochs, Abstract, Figs. 3, 5, 7, 9, 11 & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011 - 0012 and 0016, Pg. 2 ¶ 0018 - 0019 and 0027, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 and 0042, Pg. 4 ¶ 0070 - 0073, Pg. 4 ¶ 0080 - Pg. 5 ¶ 0083, Pg. 5 ¶ 0089 - 0091 and 0102, Pg. 6 ¶ 0122) and determine second position data for the second reference pattern; (Ochs, Figs. 1 - 6, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011 - 0012, Pg. 2 ¶ 0026 - 0030, Pg. 3 ¶ 0042 - 0043, Pg. 4 ¶ 0069 - 0075, Pg. 5 ¶ 0099 - 0106 and 0109 - 0111) based on the second position data and the known spatial relation between the first reference pattern and the second reference pattern, determining an improved estimated position of the first reference pattern; (Ochs, Figs. 1 - 11, Pg. 1 ¶ 0011 - 0012 and 0016, Pg. 2 ¶ 0018 - 0019 and 0026 - 0030, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 - 0036 and 0042 - 0043, Pg. 4 ¶ 0069 - 0075, Pg. 4 ¶ 0080 - Pg. 5 ¶ 0083, Pg. 5 ¶ 0099 - 0106 and 0109 - 0111, Pg. 6 ¶ 0122) calibrate the at least one of the laser treatment device or the printer device based on the improved estimated position; (Ochs, Pg. 1 ¶ 0006 - 0008 and 0015, Pg. 2 ¶ 0020 - 0021 and 0030 - 0032, Pg. 5 ¶ 0111 - 0115, Pg. 6 ¶ 0130 - 0132) and following calibration of the at least one of the laser treatment device or the printer device, treat the card with the at least one of the laser treatment device or printer device. (Ochs, Figs. 1 & 2, Pg. 1 ¶ 0006 - 0008 and 0015, Pg. 2 ¶ 0020 - 0021 and 0030 - 0032, Pg. 5 ¶ 0111 - 0115, Pg. 6 ¶ 0130 - 0132) Ochs fails to disclose expressly a plastic card; based on the first position data, defining a region of interest in the image data; and in the region of interest, detecting a second reference pattern. Pertaining to analogous art, Sagan et al. disclose a treatment unit, including at least one of a laser treatment device or a printer device, (Sagan et al., Abstract, Figs. 19, 20, 28A, 28C & 34, Pg. 3 ¶ 0034 - 0035 and 0043 - 0045, Pg. 4 ¶ 0085 - 0086, Pg. 5 ¶ 0117 - 0118, Pg. 6 ¶ 0125, Pg. 18 ¶ 0361 - 0366, Pg. 19 ¶ 0369 - 0371 and 0378 - 0382) configured to: acquire image data on a card; (Sagan et al., Abstract, Figs. 16A, 17, 18, 20, 23, 28A, 28C & 34, Pg. 2 ¶ 0025 - 0027, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 - 0038, Pg. 4 ¶ 0086, Pg. 5 ¶ 0117 - 0119, Pg. 9 ¶ 0181, Pg. 10 ¶ 0213 and 0222 - 0225, Pg. 11 ¶ 0233 and 0238 - 0239, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0276, Pg. 15 ¶ 0310, Pg. 17 ¶ 0345, Pg. 18 ¶ 0361 - 0365, Pg. 19 ¶ 0371, 0374, 0383 and 0386) detect a first reference pattern based on the image data, and determine first position data for the first reference pattern, the first position data comprising an estimated position of the first reference pattern; (Sagan et al., Pg. 5 ¶ 0109, 0113 and 0117 - 0119, Pg. 12 ¶ 0269 - 0270, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0277, Pg. 15 ¶ 0315 - 0316, Pg. 15 ¶ 0323 - Pg. 16 ¶ 0328, Pg. 19 ¶ 0384 - 0387) based on the first position data, define a region of interest in the image data; (Sagan et al., Pg. 5 ¶ 0109 and 0117 - 0119, Pg. 12 ¶ 0269 - 0270, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0277, Pg. 15 ¶ 0314 - 0316, Pg. 15 ¶ 0323 - Pg. 16 ¶ 0328, Pg. 19 ¶ 0384 - 0387) in the region of interest, detect a second reference pattern, (Sagan et al., Pg. 5 ¶ 0118 - 0119, Pg. 12 ¶ 0269 - 0270, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0277, Pg. 15 ¶ 0315 - 0316 and 0323 - 0327, Pg. 19 ¶ 0384 - 0387) wherein there is a known spatial relation between the first reference pattern and the second reference pattern, (Sagan et al., Figs. 9 - 11, Pg. 5 ¶ 0109 and 0117 - 0119, Pg. 12 ¶ 0269 - 0270, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0277, Pg. 15 ¶ 0323 - 0327) and determine second position data for the second reference pattern; (Sagan et al., Pg. 5 ¶ 0118 - 0119, Pg. 12 ¶ 0269 - 0270, Pg. 13 ¶ 0272 - 0277, Pg. 15 ¶ 0315 - 0316 and 0323 - 0327, Pg. 19 ¶ 0384 - 0387) and treating the card with the at least one of the laser treatment device or printer device. (Sagan et al., Fig. 34, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035 and 0043 - 0044, Pg. 4 ¶ 0085 - 0086, Pg. 18 ¶ 0361 - 0366, Pg. 19 ¶ 0369 - 0371 and 0378 - 0383) Sagan et al. fail to disclose expressly a plastic card. Pertaining to analogous art, Li et al. disclose a treatment unit, including at least one of a laser treatment device or a printer device, (Li et al., Abstract, Pg. 1 ¶ 0004, Pg. 6 ¶ 0050 - 0051, Pg. 7 ¶ 0055) configured to: treat a plastic card with the at least one of the laser treatment device or printer device. (Li et al., Abstract, Pg. 1 ¶ 0004, Pg. 6 ¶ 0050 - 0051, Pg. 7 ¶ 0055) Ochs and Sagan et al. are combinable because they are both directed towards image processing systems and methods that determine the position of patterns in images. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ochs with the teachings of Sagan et al. This modification would have been prompted in order to enhance the base device of Ochs with the well-known and applicable technique Sagan et al. applied to a comparable device. Defining a region of interest in the image data based on the first position data and detecting a second reference pattern in the region of interest, as taught by Sagan et al., would enhance the base device of Ochs by improving its ability to accurately, reliably and efficiently detect and locate the position of the second reference pattern in the image data since the area of the image data that needs to be analyzed to detect and locate the second reference pattern would be limited to an area of the image data defined with respect to an easily identifiable pattern in the image data, such as the rectangular-shaped border of the marker, thereby reducing the overall number of computations required to detect and locate the second reference pattern and helping ensure that the second reference pattern is correctly detected. Furthermore, this modification would have been prompted by the teachings and suggestions of Ochs that, in addition to the inner structure of the marker, the periphery of the marker can be utilized for detection purposes, that more than one technique may be utilized to identify the marker, that edge detection can also be utilized when identifying the marker and that edge detection should only be applied to parts of the image showing the marker, see at least page 1 paragraph 0012, page 3 paragraphs 0034 - 0038 and 0042 and page 5 paragraphs 0102 - 0109 of Ochs. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that a region of interest would be defined in the image data based on the first position data and the second reference pattern would be detected in the region of interest so as to improve the ability of the base device of Ochs to accurately, reliably and efficiently detect and locate the position of the second reference pattern in the image data since the area of the image data that needs to be analyzed to detect and locate the second reference pattern would be limited to an area of the image data defined with respect to an easily identifiable pattern in the image data. In addition, Ochs in view of Sagan et al. and Li et al. are combinable because they are all directed towards image processing systems and methods utilized in combination with printing plates and printer devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. with the teachings of Li et al. This modification would have been prompted in order to substitute the material used to make the printing plate of Ochs for the plastic printing plate material of Li et al. The plastic printing plate material of Li et al. could be substituted in place of the material used to make the printing plate of Ochs utilizing well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that in the combination the printing plate of Ochs would be made of plastic. Furthermore, this modification would have been prompted by the teachings and suggestions of Ochs that a flexible relief printing plate may be utilized and that the printing plate may be made from a UV-curing polymer, see at least page 1 paragraph 0015, page 2 paragraphs 0020 - 0022 and page 4 paragraph 0065 of Ochs. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that the printing plate of the combined base device would be made of the plastic printing plate material of Li et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ochs with Sagan et al. and Li et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
- With regards to claim 16, Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. disclose the treatment unit of claim 13. Ochs fails to disclose explicitly wherein the treatment unit comprises a laser engraving unit. Pertaining to analogous art, Sagan et al. disclose wherein the treatment unit comprises a laser engraving unit. (Sagan et al., Pg. 4 ¶ 0086, Pg. 6 ¶ 0125) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. with additional teachings of Sagan et al. This modification would have been prompted in order to substitute the printing machine of Ochs for the laser engraving unit of Sagan et al. The laser engraving unit of Sagan et al. could be substituted in place of the printing machine of Ochs utilizing well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that in the combination a laser engraving unit would be utilized as the printing machine of the combined base device. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that a laser engraving unit would be utilized as the printing machine of the combined base device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. with additional teachings of Sagan et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 16.
- With regards to claim 19, Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. disclose the method of claim 1. Ochs fails to disclose explicitly wherein the treatment unit comprises a laser engraving unit. Pertaining to analogous art, Sagan et al. disclose wherein the treatment unit comprises a laser engraving unit. (Sagan et al., Pg. 4 ¶ 0086, Pg. 6 ¶ 0125) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. with additional teachings of Sagan et al. This modification would have been prompted in order to substitute the printing machine of Ochs for the laser engraving unit of Sagan et al. The laser engraving unit of Sagan et al. could be substituted in place of the printing machine of Ochs utilizing well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that in the combination a laser engraving unit would be utilized as the printing machine of the combined base device. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that a laser engraving unit would be utilized as the printing machine of the combined base device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. with additional teachings of Sagan et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 19.
Claims 2, 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochs U.S. Publication No. 2023/0256729 A1 in view of Sagan et al. U.S. Publication No. 2011/0142294 A1 in view of Li et al. U.S. Publication No. 2019/0340740 A1 as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Hill et al. U.S. Publication No. 2010/0020180 A1.
- With regards to claim 2, Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein illumination is applied while acquiring the image data. (Ochs, Pg. 2 ¶ 0026 and 0031) Ochs fails to disclose explicitly color-specific or wavelength-specific illumination. Pertaining to analogous art, Hill et al. disclose wherein a color-specific or wavelength-specific illumination is applied while acquiring the image data. (Hill et al., Fig. 2, Pg. 3 ¶ 0047 - 0048, Pg. 7 ¶ 0070) Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. and Hill et al. are combinable because they are all directed towards image processing systems and methods and, similar to Ochs and Sagan et al., Hill et al. is also directed towards determining the position of patterns in images. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. with the teachings of Hill et al. This modification would have been prompted in order to enhance the combined base device of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. with the well-known and applicable technique Hill et al. applied to a comparable device. Utilizing color- specific or wavelength- specific illumination, as taught by Hill et al., would enhance the combined base device by improving its ability to discriminate between portions of the image data corresponding to the marker(s) and portions of the image data corresponding to the background thereby facilitating its ability to accurately, reliably and efficiently detect and locate the marker(s) in the captured image data. Furthermore, this modification would have been prompted by the teachings and suggestions of Ochs that the marker may be illuminated during image capture so as to enhance the quality of the captured image, see at least page 2 paragraph 0031 of Ochs. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that color- specific or wavelength- specific illumination would be utilized during image capture in order to enhance the contrast between the marker(s) and the background in the captured image data so as to improve the ability of the combined base device to accurately, reliably and efficiently detect and locate the marker(s) in the captured image data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. with Hill et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
- With regards to claim 9, Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. disclose the method of claim 1. Ochs fails to disclose explicitly based on the second reference pattern, determining a focus property corresponding to acquisition of the image data. Pertaining to analogous art, Hill et al. disclose based on the second reference pattern, determining a focus property corresponding to acquisition of the image data. (Hill et al., Figs. 7 & 10 - 15, Pg. 2 ¶ 0013 and 0027, Pg. 5 ¶ 0057 - 0058, Pg. 5 ¶ 0060 - Pg. 6 ¶ 0062, Pg. 6 ¶ 0064 - 0067) Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. and Hill et al. are combinable because they are all directed towards image processing systems and methods and, similar to Ochs and Sagan et al., Hill et al. is also directed towards determining the position of patterns in images. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. with the teachings of Hill et al. This modification would have been prompted in order to enhance the combined base device of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. with the well-known and applicable technique Hill et al. applied to a comparable device. Determining a focus property corresponding to acquisition of the image data based on the second reference pattern, as taught by Hill et al., would enhance the combined base device by helping ensure that the reference position is determined accurately thereby improving its ability to precisely and reliably position printing plates to achieve high quality results. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that a focus property corresponding to acquisition of the image data would be determined based on the second reference pattern so as to ensure that the reference position is accurately determined thereby improving the ability of the combined base device to reliably and precisely position printing plates in their desired positions to achieve high quality results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. with Hill et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
- With regards to claim 18, Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. disclose the method of claim 1. Ochs fails to disclose explicitly wherein acquiring the image data comprises using a wavelength-selective photosensitive device. Pertaining to analogous art, Hill et al. disclose wherein acquiring the image data comprises using a wavelength-selective photosensitive device. (Hill et al., Pg. 1 ¶ 0002 - 0003, Pg. 3 ¶ 0045 - 0048, Pg. 6 ¶ 0064 - 0065, Pg. 7 ¶ 0070 - 0073 [“sensor model number TC246RGB-B0 commercially available from Texas Instruments”. The Examiner asserts that Texas Instruments sensor model number TC246RGB-B0 is a color CCD image sensor that is sensitive to light within a specific range of wavelengths approximately corresponding to the visible spectrum.]) Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. and Hill et al. are combinable because they are all directed towards image processing systems and methods and, similar to Ochs and Sagan et al., Hill et al. is also directed towards determining the position of patterns in images. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. with the teachings of Hill et al. This modification would have been prompted in order to substitute the camera of Ochs for the RGB imaging array of Hill et al. The RGB imaging array of Hill et al. could be substituted in place of the camera of Ochs using well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that in the combination the RGB imaging array of Hill et al. would be utilized to capture the image(s) comprising the marker(s) of the combined base device. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that the RGB imaging array of Hill et al. would be utilized to capture the image(s) comprising the marker(s) of the combined base device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ochs in view of Sagan et al. in view of Li et al. with Hill et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. Augustinus et al. U.S. Publication No. 2019/0262937 A1; which is directed a calibration system for a laser engraver, wherein a pattern is engraved on a product, a camera captures the position of the engraved pattern and a difference between an intended position and an actual position of the engraved pattern is utilized to calibrate the laser engraver.
/ERIC RUSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2677