DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 11-16 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Niikura et al (US# 4997009).
Niikura et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claim including; a method of charging a bellows accumulator 10 for a vehicle suspension system including a damper, the method comprising: providing an outer shell 15 with an accumulator port 18 and a gas charging port 47; inserting a bellows assembly 30 within the outer shell, the bellows assembly including an annular bellows wall 31 and a plate 32 defining a gas chamber 47 of variable volume, the plate being axially movable between a first position (figure 10) and a second position (figure 11), the gas chamber 45 arranged in fluid communication with the gas charging port 47, wherein an accumulation chamber 41/58 is provided between the outer shell 15 and the bellows assembly 30, the accumulation chamber being in fluid communication with the accumulator port 18; positioning a valve 35 in fluid communication with the accumulation chamber 41/58; operating the valve in an open condition when the plate is not at the second position (figure 10) and operating the valve in a closed condition when the plate is at the second position (figure 11), filling the accumulation chamber with fluid prior to filling the gas chamber with pressurized gas when the plate is not at the second position; supplying pressurized gas to the gas charging port; providing a pressure differential between the pressurized gas chamber and the accumulation chamber to axially extend the annular bellows wall and axially translate the plate to the second position; and operating the valve in the closed condition to maintain fluid between the outer shell and the annular bellows wall. Col. 4, line 66 to col. 5, line 16 and col. 6, line 58 to col. 7, line 9.
Regarding claim 2, further including providing a pressure differential between the pressurized gas chamber and the accumulation chamber to axially collapse the annular bellows wall and axially translate the plate away from the second position when filling the accumulation chamber with fluid prior to filling the gas chamber with pressurized gas. Note a pressure differential is required to collapse the bellows and the valve must be open to fill the backup liquid chamber as described by the reference.
Regarding claim 4, positioning a valve includes providing a seal 35 on one of the bellows assembly 30 and the outer shell, the seal being engaged with the other 15 of the bellows assembly and the outer shell when in the closed condition.
Regarding claim 5, operating the valve in the closed condition includes engaging a seal 24 coupled to the plate 32 with the outer shell 15.
Regarding claim 11, further including fluidly coupling the bellows accumulator 30 to the damper 12/60 and applying a pressure to fluid in the damper from the pressurized fluid in the bellows accumulator. Col. 1, lines 8-9; col. 3, lines 12-14; col. 5, lines 58-60.
Regarding claim 12, Niikura et al disclose a method comprising: providing an outer shell 15; providing a bellows assembly 30 including an annular bellows wall 31 and a plate 32 defining a gas chamber 45 of variable volume, the plate being axially movable between a first position and a second position; providing an accumulation chamber 41 in fluid communication with the bellows assembly; providing a valve 35 in fluid communication with the accumulation chamber, wherein the valve is in an open condition when the plate is not at the second position and the valve in a closed condition when the plate is at the second position; filling the accumulation chamber with fluid; filling the gas chamber with pressurized gas such that the gas chamber contains pressurized gas and the fluid is entrapped within a charge chamber 47 between the annular bellows wall and the outer shell when the valve is in the closed condition; and protecting the bellows from damage by maintaining the presence of the fluid between the annular bellows wall and the outer shell during an application of fluid pressure to the accumulation chamber based on operation of the vehicle suspension. Col. 6, line 67 to col. 7, line 9.
Regarding claim 13, protecting the bellows from damage includes maintain a substantially equivalent magnitude of pressure within the gas chamber 45 and the charge chamber 58. Note when valve 35 is closed, fluid is trapped in chamber 58 and would be pressurized to substantially the same pressure as the gas chamber due to the flexibility of the bellows.
Regarding claim 14, Niikura et al disclose a bellows accumulator for a vehicle suspension system including a damper, the bellows accumulator comprising: an outer shell 15 with an accumulator port 18 and a gas charging port 47; a bellows assembly 30 including an annular bellows wall 31 and a plate 32 defining a gas chamber 45 of variable volume, the plate being axially movable between a first position and a second position, the gas chamber arranged in fluid communication with the gas charging port, wherein an accumulation chamber 41 is provided between the outer shell and the bellows assembly, the accumulation chamber being in fluid communication with the accumulator port; and a valve 35 in fluid communication with the accumulation chamber, wherein the valve is in an open condition when the plate is not at the second position and the valve in a closed condition when the plate is at the second position, the accumulation chamber being configured to be filled with fluid prior to filling the gas chamber with pressurized gas when the plate is not at the second position, and wherein the gas chamber contains pressurized gas and the fluid is entrapped between the annular bellows wall and the outer shell when the valve is in the closed condition.
Regarding claim 15, the valve includes a seal 35 on one of the bellows assembly 30 and the outer shell, the seal being engaged with the other 15 of the bellows assembly and the outer shell when the valve is in the closed condition.
Regarding claim 16, the valve includes a seal 35 coupled to the plate 32 and in engagement with the outer shell when the valve is in the closed condition.
Regarding claim 22, the accumulator port is in fluid communication with the damper 12/60 to apply a pressure to fluid within the damper from the pressurized gas.
Claim(s) 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arikawa (US# 20200003233).
Arikawa discloses a bellows accumulator for a vehicle suspension system including a damper, the bellows accumulator comprising: an outer shell 2/22 with an accumulator port 24 and a gas charging port 23a, a bellows assembly 3 including an annular bellows wall 31c and a plate 32 defining a gas chamber 4 of variable volume, the plate being axially movable between a first position and a second position, the gas chamber arranged in fluid communication with the gas charging port, wherein an accumulation chamber 5 is provided between the outer shell and the bellows assembly, the accumulation chamber being in fluid communication with the accumulator port; and a valve 35 in fluid communication with the accumulation chamber, wherein the valve is in an open condition when the plate is not at the second position and the valve in a closed condition when the plate is at the second position, the accumulation chamber being configured to be filled with fluid prior to filling the gas chamber with pressurized gas when the plate is not at the second position, and wherein the gas chamber contains pressurized gas and the fluid is entrapped between the annular bellows wall and the outer shell when the valve is in the closed condition. The structure of Arikawa is capable of the recited prior filling and trapping of fluid.
Regarding claim 15, the valve includes a seal 35 on one of the bellows assembly 30 and the outer shell, the seal being engaged with the other 22 of the bellows assembly and the outer shell when the valve is in the closed condition.
Regarding claim 16, the valve includes a seal 35 coupled to the plate 32 and in engagement with the outer shell when the valve is in the closed condition.
Regarding claim 17, the bellows assembly includes a protrusion 32a extending from the plate, wherein a seal 35 is coupled to the protrusion, the seal being coupled to the plate and engaging the outer shell when the valve is in the closed condition.
Regarding claim 18, the seal is over-molded to the protrusion. [0049] note vulcanization bonding.
Claim(s) 14-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2000-249101.
JP ‘101 discloses a bellows accumulator for a vehicle suspension system including a damper, the bellows accumulator comprising: an outer shell 1 with an accumulator port 5 and a gas charging port (top port with screw), a bellows assembly 2/3 including an annular bellows wall 2 and a plate 3 defining a gas chamber A of variable volume, the plate being axially movable between a first position and a second position, the gas chamber arranged in fluid communication with the gas charging port, wherein an accumulation chamber 5 is provided between the outer shell and the bellows assembly, the accumulation chamber being in fluid communication with the accumulator port; and a valve 8-11 in fluid communication with the accumulation chamber, wherein the valve is in an open condition when the plate is not at the second position and the valve in a closed condition when the plate is at the second position, the accumulation chamber being configured to be filled with fluid prior to filling the gas chamber with pressurized gas when the plate is not at the second position, and wherein the gas chamber contains pressurized gas and the fluid is entrapped between the annular bellows wall and the outer shell when the valve is in the closed condition. The structure of JP ‘101 is capable of the recited prior filling and trapping of fluid.
Regarding claim 15, the valve includes a seal 8-9 on one of the bellows assembly 2/3 and the outer shell, the seal being engaged with the other 1 of the bellows assembly and the outer shell when the valve is in the closed condition.
Regarding claim 16, the valve includes a seal 4/8 coupled to the plate 3 and in engagement with the outer shell when the valve is in the closed condition.
Regarding claim 17, the bellows assembly includes a protrusion 9 extending from the plate, wherein a seal 11 is coupled to the protrusion, the seal being coupled to the plate and engaging the outer shell when the valve is in the closed condition.
Regarding claim 19, the outer shell includes a tapered seat 10 and the bellows assembly includes a tapered protrusion 9, wherein the tapered protrusion engages the tapered seat when the valve is in the closed condition.
Regarding claim 20, the valve includes a stopper 13 and a spring 12, the spring urging the stopper away from a seated position to place the valve in the open condition, the stopper being engaged by the bellows assembly with a force overcoming the spring to move the stopper to the seated position when the valve is in the closed condition.
Claim(s) 1-4, 10, 12-15 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2001-82401.
JP ‘401 discloses all the limitations of the instant claim including; a method of charging a bellows accumulator 1 for a vehicle suspension system including a damper, the method comprising: providing an outer shell 11 with an accumulator port 29 and a gas charging port 6; inserting a bellows assembly 2 within the outer shell, the bellows assembly including an annular bellows wall and a plate defining a gas chamber 3 of variable volume, the plate being axially movable between a first position and a second position ([0007](7)), the gas chamber 3 arranged in fluid communication with the gas charging port 6, wherein an accumulation chamber 30 is provided between the outer shell 11 and the bellows assembly 2, the accumulation chamber being in fluid communication with the accumulator port 29; positioning a valve (seal [0007] or check 8) in fluid communication with the accumulation chamber 30; operating the valve in an open condition when the plate is not at the second position and operating the valve in a closed condition when the plate is at the second position, filling the accumulation chamber with fluid prior to filling the gas chamber with pressurized gas when the plate is not at the second position [0007][0020]; supplying pressurized gas to the gas charging port; providing a pressure differential between the pressurized gas chamber and the accumulation chamber to axially extend the annular bellows wall and axially translate the plate to the second position [0023]; and operating the valve in the closed condition to maintain fluid between the outer shell and the annular bellows wall.
Regarding claim 2, further including providing a pressure differential between the pressurized gas chamber and the accumulation chamber to axially collapse the annular bellows wall and axially translate the plate away from the second position when filling the accumulation chamber with fluid prior to filling the gas chamber with pressurized gas. ([0020] When the liquid injection amount is larger than the specified amount or when the balance of the vacuum pressure is lost, the bellows portion of the bellows 2 may contract in the axial direction during or after the liquid injection)
Regarding claim 3, wherein providing a pressure differential between the pressurized gas chamber and the accumulation chamber to axially collapse the annular bellows wall and axially translate the plate away from the second position includes applying a vacuum to the pressurized gas port. [0019][0020]
Regarding claim 4, positioning a valve includes providing a seal 32 on one of the bellows assembly and the outer shell 11, the seal being engaged with the other 2 of the bellows assembly and the outer shell when in the closed condition. [0023]
Regarding claim 10, the valve 8 includes a plunger (check element) and a spring, the spring urging the plunger toward a seated position to operate the valve in the closed condition, the method further including supplying pressurized fluid to the plunger to urge the plunger toward an unseated position against a force provided by the spring and operate the valve in the open condition. Figure 2a.
Regarding claim 12, JP ‘401 disclose a method comprising: providing an outer shell 11; providing a bellows assembly 2 including an annular bellows wall and a plate defining a gas chamber 3 of variable volume, the plate being axially movable between a first position and a second position; providing an accumulation chamber 30 in fluid communication with the bellows assembly; providing a valve 32/8 in fluid communication with the accumulation chamber, wherein the valve is in an open condition when the plate is not at the second position and the valve in a closed condition when the plate is at the second position; filling the accumulation chamber with fluid; filling the gas chamber with pressurized gas such that the gas chamber contains pressurized gas and the fluid is entrapped within a charge chamber between the annular bellows wall and the outer shell when the valve is in the closed condition; and protecting the bellows from damage by maintaining the presence of the fluid between the annular bellows wall and the outer shell during an application of fluid pressure to the accumulation chamber based on operation of the vehicle suspension. [0023]
Regarding claim 13, protecting the bellows from damage includes maintain a substantially equivalent magnitude of pressure within the gas chamber 3 and the charge chamber 30. Note when valve 32 is closed, fluid is trapped in chamber 58 and would be pressurized to substantially the same pressure as the gas chamber due to the flexibility of the bellows.
Regarding claim 14, JP ‘401 disclose a bellows accumulator for a vehicle suspension system including a damper, the bellows accumulator comprising: an outer shell 15 with an accumulator port 29 and a gas charging port 6; a bellows assembly 2 including an annular bellows wall and a plate defining a gas chamber 3 of variable volume, the plate being axially movable between a first position and a second position, the gas chamber arranged in fluid communication with the gas charging port, wherein an accumulation chamber 30 is provided between the outer shell and the bellows assembly, the accumulation chamber being in fluid communication with the accumulator port; and a valve 32 in fluid communication with the accumulation chamber, wherein the valve is in an open condition when the plate is not at the second position and the valve in a closed condition when the plate is at the second position, the accumulation chamber being configured to be filled with fluid prior to filling the gas chamber with pressurized gas when the plate is not at the second position, and wherein the gas chamber contains pressurized gas and the fluid is entrapped between the annular bellows wall and the outer shell when the valve is in the closed condition. [0007][0023]
Regarding claim 15, the valve includes a seal 32 on one of the bellows assembly and the outer shell 11, the seal being engaged with the other 2 of the bellows assembly and the outer shell when the valve is in the closed condition. [0023]
Regarding claim 21, the valve 8 includes a plunger (check element) and a spring, the spring urging the plunger toward a seated position to operate the valve in the closed condition, the method further including supplying pressurized fluid to the plunger to urge the plunger toward an unseated position against a force provided by the spring and operate the valve in the open condition. Figure 2a.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2, 4-6, and 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2000-249101 in view of Niikura et al (US# 4997009).
JP ‘101 discloses a method including providing an outer shell 1 with an accumulator port 5 and a gas charging port (top port with screw), inserting a bellows assembly 2/3 within the outer shell, bellows assembly 2/3 including an annular bellows wall 2 and a plate 3 defining a gas chamber A of variable volume, the plate being axially movable between a first position and a second position, the gas chamber arranged in fluid communication with the gas charging port, wherein an accumulation chamber 5 is provided between the outer shell and the bellows assembly, the accumulation chamber being in fluid communication with the accumulator port; positioning a valve 8-11 in fluid communication with the accumulation chamber, operating the valve in an open condition when the plate is not at the second position and operating the valve in a closed condition when the plate is at the second position. JP ‘101 lacks the details of the filling of the accumulator. Niikura et al disclose a similar device and further teach a method of charging the accumulator including the steps of; filling the accumulation chamber with fluid prior to filling the gas chamber with pressurized gas when the plate is not at the second position; supplying pressurized gas to the gas charging port; providing a pressure differential between the pressurized gas chamber and the accumulation chamber to axially extend the annular bellows wall and axially translate the plate to the second position; and operating the valve in the closed condition to maintain fluid between the outer shell and the annular bellows wall. Col. 4, line 66 to col. 5, line 16 and col. 6, line 58 to col. 7, line 9. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the method of charging taught by Niikura et al for the accumulator of JP ‘101 to prevent the bellows from being excessively deformed, thereby preventing damage to the accumulator.
Regarding claim 2, further including providing a pressure differential between the pressurized gas chamber and the accumulation chamber to axially collapse the annular bellows wall and axially translate the plate away from the second position when filling the accumulation chamber with fluid prior to filling the gas chamber with pressurized gas. Note a pressure differential is required to collapse the bellows and the valve must be open to fill the backup liquid chamber as described by the reference.
Regarding claim 4, the valve includes a seal 8-9 on one of the bellows assembly 2/3 and the outer shell, the seal being engaged with the other 1 of the bellows assembly and the outer shell when the valve is in the closed condition.
Regarding claim 5, the valve includes a seal 4/8 coupled to the plate 3 and in engagement with the outer shell when the valve is in the closed condition.
Regarding claim 6, the bellows assembly includes a protrusion 9 extending from the plate, wherein a seal 11 is coupled to the protrusion, the seal being coupled to the plate and engaging the outer shell when the valve is in the closed condition.
Regarding claim 8, the outer shell includes a tapered seat 10 and the bellows assembly includes a tapered protrusion 9, wherein the tapered protrusion engages the tapered seat when the valve is in the closed condition.
Regarding claim 9, the valve includes a stopper 13 and a spring 12, the spring urging the stopper away from a seated position to place the valve in the open condition, the stopper being engaged by the bellows assembly with a force overcoming the spring to move the stopper to the seated position when the valve is in the closed condition.
Regarding claim 12, JP ‘101 lacks the details of the filling of the accumulator. Niikura et al disclose a similar device and further teach a method of charging the accumulator including the steps of; filling the accumulation chamber with fluid; filling the gas chamber with pressurized gas such that the gas chamber contains pressurized gas and the fluid is entrapped within a charge chamber 47 between the annular bellows wall and the outer shell when the valve is in the closed condition; and protecting the bellows from damage by maintaining the presence of the fluid between the annular bellows wall and the outer shell during an application of fluid pressure to the accumulation chamber based on operation of the vehicle suspension. Col. 6, line 67 to col. 7, line 9. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the method of charging taught by Niikura et al for the accumulator of JP ‘101 to prevent the bellows from being excessively deformed, thereby preventing damage to the accumulator while providing damping function to a vehicle suspension arrangement.
Regarding claim 13, protecting the bellows from damage includes maintain a substantially equivalent magnitude of pressure within the gas chamber and the charge chamber. Note when the valve is closed, fluid is trapped in chamber and would be pressurized to substantially the same pressure as the gas chamber due to the flexibility of the bellows.
Claim 1-2, 4-7, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arikawa (US# 20200003233) in view of Niikura et al (US# 4997009).
Arikawa discloses a method including providing an outer shell 2/22 with an accumulator port 24 and a gas charging port 23a, inserting a bellows assembly 3 within the outer shell, bellows assembly including an annular bellows wall 31c and a plate 32 defining a gas chamber 4 of variable volume, the plate being axially movable between a first position and a second position, the gas chamber arranged in fluid communication with the gas charging port, wherein an accumulation chamber 5 is provided between the outer shell and the bellows assembly, the accumulation chamber being in fluid communication with the accumulator port; positioning a valve 35 in fluid communication with the accumulation chamber, operating the valve in an open condition when the plate is not at the second position and operating the valve in a closed condition when the plate is at the second position. Arikawa lacks the details of the filling of the accumulator. Niikura et al disclose a similar device and further teach a method of charging the accumulator including the steps of; filling the accumulation chamber with fluid prior to filling the gas chamber with pressurized gas when the plate is not at the second position; supplying pressurized gas to the gas charging port; providing a pressure differential between the pressurized gas chamber and the accumulation chamber to axially extend the annular bellows wall and axially translate the plate to the second position; and operating the valve in the closed condition to maintain fluid between the outer shell and the annular bellows wall. Col. 4, line 66 to col. 5, line 16 and col. 6, line 58 to col. 7, line 9. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the method of charging taught by Niikura et al for the accumulator of Arikawa to prevent the bellows from being excessively deformed, thereby preventing damage to the accumulator.
Regarding claim 2, further including providing a pressure differential between the pressurized gas chamber and the accumulation chamber to axially collapse the annular bellows wall and axially translate the plate away from the second position when filling the accumulation chamber with fluid prior to filling the gas chamber with pressurized gas. Note a pressure differential is required to collapse the bellows and the valve must be open to fill the backup liquid chamber as described by the reference.
Regarding claim 4, the valve includes a seal 35 on one of the bellows assembly 30 and the outer shell, the seal being engaged with the other 22 of the bellows assembly and the outer shell when the valve is in the closed condition.
Regarding claim 5, the valve includes a seal 35 coupled to the plate 32 and in engagement with the outer shell when the valve is in the closed condition.
Regarding claim 6, the bellows assembly includes a protrusion 32a extending from the plate, wherein a seal 35 is coupled to the protrusion, the seal being coupled to the plate and engaging the outer shell when the valve is in the closed condition.
Regarding claim 7, the seal is over-molded to the protrusion. [0049] note vulcanization bonding.
Regarding claim 12, Arikawa lacks the details of the filling of the accumulator. Niikura et al disclose a similar device and further teach a method of charging the accumulator including the steps of; filling the accumulation chamber with fluid; filling the gas chamber with pressurized gas such that the gas chamber contains pressurized gas and the fluid is entrapped within a charge chamber 47 between the annular bellows wall and the outer shell when the valve is in the closed condition; and protecting the bellows from damage by maintaining the presence of the fluid between the annular bellows wall and the outer shell during an application of fluid pressure to the accumulation chamber based on operation of the vehicle suspension. Col. 6, line 67 to col. 7, line 9. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the method of charging taught by Niikura et al for the accumulator of Arikawa to prevent the bellows from being excessively deformed, thereby preventing damage to the accumulator while providing damping function to a vehicle suspension arrangement.
Regarding claim 13, protecting the bellows from damage includes maintain a substantially equivalent magnitude of pressure within the gas chamber and the charge chamber. Note when the valve is closed, fluid is trapped in chamber and would be pressurized to substantially the same pressure as the gas chamber due to the flexibility of the bellows.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
BTK