DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-13 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s specifically argues on page 2 of the Remarks that “the reading unit 13 of Hara does not move side-to-side such that it would overlap the motor 52 by crossing the vertical line. See annotated Hara Fig. 3, shown below. Rather, the recording unit 34 of Hara moves side-to-side such that it would overlap the motor 52 by crossing the vertical line. Id. The recording unit of Hara, however, does not have an image reading function. Therefore, Hara fails to disclose, "wherein the motor is disposed to overlap with the reading unit along upward and downward directions inside the housing," as recited in claim 1, and a person having ordinary skill in the art would not arrive at the claimed limitations by modifying the teachings of Watanabe with Hara.
However, the Examiner, respectfully disagrees. Since, the prior art of Hara discloses in Sect. [0028] that the recording unit 12 and the image reading unit 13 are combined as a single entity, thus, the recording carriage 34 embedded within the recording unit 12 which is singly combined with the image reading unit 13 moves side-to-side such that it would overlap the motor 52 by crossing the vertical line. Id. With combined image reading function based on the combined single entity configuration making the image reading characteristics of the image reading unit 13 connected with the recording unit 12 and embedded recording carriage 34 as required by the claim.
Claim Interpretation
7. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“means for including a transparent flat plate on an upper surface on which an object to be read is placed” in claim 13.
“means for reading information on the object to be read by coming into contact with a lower surface of the transparent flat plate inside the means for including the transparent flat plate” in claim 13.
“means for causing the means for reading information to move back and forth within a scan area inside the means for including the transparent flat plate” in claim 13.
“means for providing power to the means for causing the means for reading information to move inside the means for including the transparent flat plate” in claim 13.
(a) Claim 13: “means for including a transparent flat plate on an upper surface on which an object to be read is placed” corresponds to “Transparent flat plate 11, surface 11a, object to be read 95”. The object to be read 95 be an object which can be placed on an upper surface 11a of the first transparent flat plate 11. (See Applicant’s Drawing, Fig. 1, Transparent flat plate 11, surface 11a, object to be read 95 and Applicant’s Specification, Para. [0024] lines 1-2).
(b) Claim 13: “means for reading information on the object to be read by coming into contact with a lower surface of the transparent flat plate inside the means for including the transparent flat plate” corresponds to “Reading unit 20, Transparent flat plate 11, surface 11b, object to be read 95. ‘A reading unit 20 that reads information on the object to be read 95 by coming into contact with a lower surface 11b of the first transparent flat plate 11. (See Applicant’s Drawing, Fig. 1, Reading unit 20, Transparent flat plate 11, surface 11b, object to be read 95 and Applicant’s Specification, Para. [0023] lines 3-5).
(c) Claim 13: “means for causing the means for reading information to move back and forth within a scan area inside the means for including the transparent flat plate” corresponds to “Movement Unit 30, Reading Unit 20, Scan Area SA, Motor 40”. a movement unit 30 that causes the reading unit 20 to move back and forth within a scan area SA; and a motor 40 that provides power to the movement unit 30. (See Applicant’s Drawing, Fig. 1, Movement Unit 30, Reading Unit 20, Scan Area SA, Motor 40 and Applicant’s Specification, Para. [0023] lines 5-7).
(d) Claim 13: “means for providing power to the means for causing the means for reading information to move inside the means for including the transparent flat plate” corresponds to “motor 40”. The motor 40 is an electric motor that provides power to the movement unit 30. As illustrated in Fig. 1, the motor 40 includes a motor body 41, and a drive shaft 42. The motor body 41 is a body in which components to cause the drive shaft 42 to rotate are internally 9 stored. The drive shaft 42 is a shaft that outputs rotational power in a state of projecting from one end of the motor body 41. (See Applicant’s Drawing, Fig. 1, Motor 40 and Applicant’s Specification, Para. [0050]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claims 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US PG. Pub. 2020/0304665 A1) in view of Hara (US PG. Pub. 2012/0086991 A1).
Referring to Claim 1, Watanabe teaches a reading device (See Watanabe, Figs. 1-10, Image Forming Apparatus 1 with Reading Device 2, Sect. [0022], FIG. 1 is a schematic sectional view illustrating an internal configuration of Image forming apparatus 1), comprising:
a housing (See Watanabe, Fig. 4, Housing 270) including a transparent flat plate (See Watanabe, Fig. 4, platen glass PG 3) on an upper surface on which an object to be read is placed (See Watanabe, Fig. 4, Sect. [0043] lines 2-5, The housing 270 is a casing with a box-like shape elongated in the depth direction of the image reading device 2. As shown in Fig. 4, the housing 270 included in carriage 25 includes a platen glass PG3 on its upper surface wherein an image on sheet S placed on the platen glass PG3 is read.);
a reading unit (See Watanabe, Figs. 1-2, Image Reader 23 of Image Reading Device 2) that reads information on the object to be read by coming into contact with a lower surface of the transparent flat plate inside the housing (See Watanabe, Fig. 2, Sect. [0023] lines 1-3 and [0038], the image reading device 2 includes an image reader 23 made up of charged coupled device (CCD) line sensor which includes an image sensor IS for an image on sheet S to be read. Thus, as sheet S passes over the sheet passing surface (see Fig. 2, lower surface (PG1)) of the platen glass PG3 within housing 270 guided toward a reading sensor 232 by a sheet guide PG2 provided on the right side, in FIG. 2, with respect to the sheet passing surface PG1, sheets a read by the image reader 23 and the read image is converted into image data in the form of an electrical signal.);
a movement unit (See Watanabe, Fig. 2, Carriage 25) that causes the reading unit to move back and forth within a scan area inside the housing (See Watanabe, Fig. 2, Sect. [0039], The image reader 23 includes a carriage 25 held by a case 24 that is movable back and forth in a sub-scanning direction (a lateral direction, i.e. the X direction) which is a moving direction of the housing 270.).
Watanabe fails to explicitly teach
a motor that provides power to the movement unit inside the housing, wherein the motor is disposed to overlap with the reading unit along upward and downward directions inside the housing.
However, Hara teaches
a motor that provides power to the movement unit inside the housing, wherein the motor is disposed to overlap with the reading unit along upward and downward directions inside the housing (See Hara, Figs. 3-4, Motor 52, Sect. [0055], The motor 52 provides power using a driving power source recess portion 68 for extending the movement space of the motor 52 in the downward direction formed in the base portion of the reading unit case 15 along the main scanning direction X, in a position that corresponds with that of the support portion 59 in the transport direction Y, wherein the motor 52 of the image reading unit 13 is disposed in a forward position distanced from above and below the recording carriage 34, and is disposed so as to overlap with the recording carriage 34 in the vertical direction of the large housing space with the recording unit 12).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a motor that provides power to the movement unit inside the housing, wherein the motor is disposed to overlap with the reading unit along upward and downward directions inside the housing. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an image reading apparatus capable of suppressing tilting in a reading sensor supported by a carriage (See Sect. [0008] of the Hara reference). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Watanabe and Hara to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Referring to Claim 2, the combination of Watanabe in view of Hara teaches the reading device according to claim 1 (See Watanabe, Figs. 1-10, Image Forming
Apparatus 1 with Reading Device 2), wherein the movement unit is disposed below the reading unit (See Watanabe, Fig. 2, the movement unit 25 is on lower part of the image reader 23).
Watanabe fails to explicitly teach
the motor and the reading unit are disposed in a same area with respect to the movement unit as a border in upward and downward directions inside the housing.
However, Hara teaches
the motor and the reading unit are disposed in a same area with respect to the movement unit as a border in upward and downward directions inside the housing (See Hara, Fig. 3, Sect. [0055] lines 8-14, the motor 52 of the image reading unit 13 is disposed in a forward position distanced from above and below the recording carriage 34, and is disposed so as to overlap with the recording carriage 34 in the vertical direction in the large housing space.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the motor and the reading unit are disposed in a same area with respect to the movement unit as a border in upward and downward directions inside the housing. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an image reading apparatus capable of suppressing tilting in a reading sensor supported by a carriage (See Sect. [0008] of the Hara reference). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Watanabe and Hara to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
Referring to Claim 3, the combination of Watanabe in view of Hara teaches the
reading device according to claim 1 (See Watanabe, Figs. 1-10, Image Forming Apparatus 1 with Reading Device 2).
Watanabe fails to explicitly teach
wherein the motor is disposed outward of the scan area inside the housing.
However, Hara teaches
wherein the motor is disposed outward of the scan area inside the housing (See Hara, Fig. 3, Sect. [0055] lines 9-13, the motor 52 of the image reading unit 13 is disposed in a forward position distanced from above and below the recording carriage 34 in the vertical scan X direction in the large housing space).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the motor is disposed outward of the scan area inside the housing. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an image reading apparatus capable of suppressing tilting in a reading sensor supported by a carriage (See Sect. [0008] of the Hara reference). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Watanabe and Hara to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
Referring to Claim 4, the combination of Watanabe in view of Hara teaches the
reading device according to claim 1 (See Watanabe, Figs. 1-10, Image Forming Apparatus 1 with Reading Device 2), where the reading unit moves back and forth inside the housing (See Watanabe, Sect. [0039], The image reader 23 has a case 24. The case 24 of the image reader 23 housing a carriage 25 is movable back and forth in a sub-scanning direction (a lateral direction, i.e. the X direction).).
Watanabe fails to explicitly teach
wherein the motor is disposed outward of an area.
However, Hara teaches
wherein the motor is disposed outward of an area (See Hara, Fig. 3, Sect. [0057] lines 7-9, the motor 52 of the image reading unit 13 is disposed downstream from the recording carriage 34 in the transport direction Y.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the motor is disposed outward of an area. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an image reading apparatus capable of suppressing tilting in a reading sensor supported by a carriage (See Sect. [0008] of the Hara reference). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Watanabe and Hara to obtain the invention as specified in claim 4.
Referring to Claim 5, the combination of Watanabe in view of Hara teaches the reading device according to claim 1 (See Watanabe, Figs. 1-10, Image Forming
Apparatus 1 with Reading Device 2),wherein the movement unit is constituted by a guide unit (See Watanabe, Figs. 5 and 6, Guide Members 280) that supports and guides the reading unit along a direction in which the reading unit moves back and forth (See Watanabe, Fig. 5 and 6, Sect. [0046] lines 1-6 and 14-16, in FIGS. 5 and 6, the carriage 25 is mounted with guiding members 280 provided in the case 24 at respective positions on the near side and the far side that extend in the long-side direction of the case 24, i.e. the sub-scanning direction. The carriage 25 of image reader 23 is movable along the guiding members 280 using belt 281 and pulleys 281A and 281B and moves back and forth in the sub-scanning direction along the guiding members 280 (see the arrow illustrated in FIG. 5).);
a movement member (See Watanabe, Fig. 6, Belt 281) that is fixed to part of the reading unit, disposed along the guide unit, and moves (See Watanabe, Fig. 6, Belt 281, Sect. [0046] lines 6-13, In Fig. 6, The case 24 which holds the carriage 25 of image reader 23 is fixed with a belt 281 as an exemplary endless member in a central part thereof in the direction intersecting the moving direction and movable along the guiding members 280. The belt 281 is stretched between pulleys 281A and 281B and endlessly travels between a starting position and a terminal position in the sub-scanning direction.); and
a rotary holder (See Watanabe, Fig. 5, Pulleys 281A and 281B) that rotates while movably holding the movement member (See Watanabe, Fig. 5, Sect. [0046] lines 9-12, The pulleys 281A and 281B rotates and endlessly moves between a starting position and a terminal position in the sub-scanning direction holding the belt 281 stretched between.).
Watanabe fails to explicitly teach
a drive shaft of the motor is directly connected to the rotary holder.
However, Hara teaches
a drive shaft of the motor is directly connected to the rotary holder (See Hara, Figs. 3-4, Sect. [0046] lines 4-5, an output shaft 52a of the motor 52 connected with worm gear 60 and pinion 61 serving as the rotational member.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a drive shaft of the motor is directly connected to the rotary holder (See Sect. [0008] of the Hara reference). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Watanabe and Hara to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Referring to Claim 6, the combination of Watanabe in view of Hara teaches the reading device according to claim 1 (See Watanabe, Figs. 1-10, Image Forming
Apparatus 1 with Reading Device 2), wherein the movement unit is constituted by a guide unit (See Watanabe, Figs. 5 and 6, Guide Members 280) that supports and guides the reading unit along a direction in which the reading unit moves back and forth (See Watanabe, Fig. 5 and 6, Sect. [0046] lines 1-6 and 14-16, in FIGS. 5 and 6, the carriage 25 is mounted with guiding members 280 provided in the case 24 at respective positions on the near side and the far side that extend in the long-side direction of the case 24, i.e. the sub-scanning direction. The carriage 25 of image reader 23 is movable along the guiding members 280 using belt 281 and pulleys 281A and 281B and moves back and forth in the sub-scanning direction along the guiding members 280 (see the arrow illustrated in FIG. 5).);
a movement member (See Watanabe, Fig. 6, Belt 281) that is fixed to part of the reading unit, disposed along the guide unit, and moves (See Watanabe, Fig. 6, Belt 281, Sect. [0046] lines 6-13, In Fig. 6, The case 24 which holds the carriage 25 of image reader 23 is fixed with a belt 281 as an exemplary endless member in a central part thereof in the direction intersecting the moving direction and movable along the guiding members 280. The belt 281 is stretched between pulleys 281A and 281B and endlessly travels between a starting position and a terminal position in the sub-scanning direction.); and
a rotary holder (See Watanabe, Fig. 5, Pulleys 281A and 281B) that rotates while movably holding the movement member (See Watanabe, Fig. 5, Sect. [0046] lines 9-12, The pulleys 281A and 281B rotates and endlessly moves between a starting position and a terminal position in the sub-scanning direction holding the belt 281 stretched between.), and
Watanabe fails to explicitly teach
a drive shaft of the motor is coupled to a power transmission unit that relays and transmits power to the rotary holder.
However, Hara teaches
a drive shaft of the motor is coupled to a power transmission unit that relays and transmits power to the rotary holder (See Hara, Fig. 4, Sect. [0046], an output shaft 52a of the motor 52, where the motor 52 is supported by a support portion 59 provided in a position that is on the downstream side of the reading carriage 51 in the transport direction Y. A worm gear 60 that is connected to an output shaft 52a of the motor 52 and a pinion 61 serving as an example of a rotational member that engages with the worm gear 60 and rotates in accordance with the driving of the motor 52 are supported by the support portion 59 of the reading carriage 51. In addition, a rack portion 62, which serves as an example of a guide portion that engages with the pinion 61 from the front and guides the movement of the reading carriage 51, is provided on the downstream side of the reading unit case 15 in the transport direction Y, extending in the main scanning direction X.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a drive shaft of the motor is coupled to a power transmission unit that relays and transmits power to the rotary holder (See Sect. [0008] of the Hara reference). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Watanabe and Hara to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
Referring to Claim 7, the combination of Watanabe in view of Hara teaches an image forming apparatus (See Watanabe, Figs. 1-10, Image Forming Apparatus 1, Sect. [0022], FIG. 1 is a schematic sectional view illustrating an internal configuration of Image forming apparatus 1) comprising:
the reading device according to claim 1 (See Watanabe, Fig. 2, Image Reader 23 of Image Reading Device 2) and
an image forming unit (See Watanabe, Fig. 2, Image Forming Unit 3) that forms information read by the reading device as an image on a recording medium (See Watanabe, Fig. 1, Sect. [0024] lines -7 and [0026], The image forming unit 3 receives the image data from the image processing unit 5, wherein, The image processing unit 5 generates image data from the image read by the image reading device 2 and printing information received from an external apparatus and forms a toner image corresponding to the image data on a piece of paper P that is fed from the paper feeding device 32.).
Referring to Claim 8, arguments analogous to claim 7 are applicable herein. Thus, “An image forming apparatus” of claim 8 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in the rejection of claim 7.
Referring to Claim 9, arguments analogous to claim 7 are applicable herein. Thus, “An image forming apparatus” of claim 9 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in the rejection of claim 7.
Referring to Claim 10, arguments analogous to claim 7 are applicable herein. Thus, “An image forming apparatus” of claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in the rejection of claim 7.
Referring to Claim 11, arguments analogous to claim 7 are applicable herein. Thus, “An image forming apparatus” of claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in the rejection of claim 7.
Referring to Claim 12, arguments analogous to claim 7 are applicable herein. Thus, “An image forming apparatus” of claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in the rejection of claim 7.
Referring to Claim 13, arguments analogous to claim 1 are applicable herein. The structural elements of “A reading device” in claim 1 perform all of the functions of “A reading device” in claim 13. Thus, “A reading device” in claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Cited Art
15. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wang et al. (US PG. PUB. 2011/0181923 A1) discloses a scanning apparatus includes a scanning module. The scanning module includes plural light emitting diodes, a porous reflective plate with plural openings, and a reflective element. When the scanning apparatus starts scanning a document, the light beams emitted by the light emitting diodes are directed to the porous reflective plate. A portion of light beams reflected by the porous reflective plate are defined as reflected light beams. The light beams penetrating through the openings are diffracted to be diffractive penetrated light beams. The reflected light beams reflected by the reflective element and the diffractive penetrated light beams are projected on the document, so that enhanced uniform illumination efficacy is achieved.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DARRYL V DOTTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683
/DARRYL V DOTTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683