Response to Amendment
The following is a final office action in response to the communication filed on 07/16/2025. Claims 1, 5, 10, 17, 18 and 19 have been amended. Claim 2 has been cancelled, and claim 21 has been added. Claims 1 and 3-21 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and remarks filed on 07/16/205 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s amendments overcome the objections to the claims.
Applicant’s arguments provided for the U.S.C. §103 rejections of claims 1-20 have been considered but are not persuasive.
(A) Applicant argues, “Therefore, Applicant's specification teaches a mobile device comprising an antenna system with three linearly polarized antennas that is configured to receive a circularly polarized signal comprising rotating electric field vectors to help reduce multipath interference at the antenna system.
“In contrast, Chang discloses a linearly polarity (LP) hub that receives signals in circularly polarity (CP) format with vertical and horizontal linearly polarity components.
“More specifically, Chang discloses in paragraph [0050] that S2 signals in LHCP format are "transmitted in both HP and VP with a fixed phase distribution." Chang continues in paragraph [0050] that as the S2 signals arrive at LP hub 122, both VP and HP components will be picked up concurrently by two LP active channels, one in VP 122 a and the other in HP 122 b. Here, Chang teaches that the S2 signals in circularly polarity format are transmitted in two linearly polarity components respectively having a polarity direction in a vertical direction and in a horizontal direction.
“Therefore, Chang fails to teach or suggest an antenna system comprising first, second, and third linearly polarized antennas configured to receive a circularly polarized signal radiated from a source, the circularly polarized signal comprises rotating electric field vectors, the antenna system comprising a processing stage configured to determine an orientation of the mobile device via the IMU, and to adjust, based at least in part on the orientation, one or more of a phase or a gain of a signal on each of the first, second, and third linearly polarized antennas to direct a beam of the antenna system toward a direction of the source,” (from remarks page 9).
As to point (A), Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant appears to be drawing a contrast between the circular polarization of the subject application, which comprises rotating electric field vectors, and the circular polarization disclosed by Chang, which is transmitted in the form of vertical and horizontal linear polarity components. Examiner gently notes that both descriptions are non-exclusively true: circular polarization comprises a rotating electric field vector, and this vector can be expressed as the superposition of vertical and horizontal polarization components. This concept is illustrated by Fig. 2 of the instant application, where circularly polarized signal 200 comprises a first electric field 202, which is drawn in a horizontal orientation, and second electric field 204, which is drawn in a vertical orientation. The superposition of these two electric fields results in electric field vector 208, which rotates. Regarding Applicant’s assertion that Chang does not teach linearly polarized antennas, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
(B) Applicant argues, “Kossin fails to cure the deficiencies of Chang. Kossin discloses a fixed triaxial antenna comprising a controller 107 that "controls the x, y, and z complex weights to apply a polarization to the RF energy as manifested in the combined signal . . . to rotate/steer a plane of the polarization in any direction relative to the x, y, and z axes (i.e., in 3D) in the receive processor, without moving the triaxial antenna." Here, Kossin teaches controlling complex weights to rotate a plane of polarization without moving the triaxial antenna.
“However, Kossin does not mention adjusting, based at least in part on the orientation of a mobile device, a signal on each of the first, second, and third linearly polarized antennas to direct a beam of the antenna system as claimed.
“In view of the above, the cited combination of Chang and Kossin fails to teach or suggest at least the elements of amended claim 1 of an antenna system comprising first, second, and third linearly polarized antennas configured to receive a circularly polarized signal radiated from a source, the circularly polarized signal comprises rotating electric field vectors, the antenna system comprising a processing stage configured to determine an orientation of the mobile device via the IMU, and to adjust, based at least in part on the orientation, one or more of a phase or a gain of a signal on each of the first, second, and third linearly polarized antennas to direct a beam of the antenna system toward a direction of the source,” (from remarks page 10).
As to point (B), Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant correctly states that Kossin does not mention adjusting the antenna signal direction based on the orientation of a mobile device, but Applicant’s argument is against the reference individually and does not consider the combination. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
(C) Applicant argues, “Claims 2, 4-9 depend from and include all of the elements of amended claim 1, and therefore are not obvious over the cited combination of Chang and Kossin for at least these reasons.
As to point (C), see points (A) and (B).
(D) Regarding independent claims 10 and 17, Applicant argues, “Additionally, the cited combination of Chang and Kossin fails to teach or suggest at least the elements of an antenna system comprising first, second, and third linearly polarized antennas configured to receive a circularly polarized signal radiated from a source, the circularly polarized signal comprises rotating electric field vectors. Therefore, the cited combination of Chang and Kossin fails to teach or suggest at least the element of amended claim 10 of receiving a circularly polarized signal via the antenna system comprising first, second, and third linearly polarized antennas, the circularly polarized signal comprises rotating electric field vectors, and adjusting one or more of a phase or a gain of a signal on at least one of the first, second, and third linearly polarized antennas based at least in part on the orientation of the mobile device,” (from remarks page 11).
As to point (D), see points (A) and (B).
(E) Applicant argues, “Claims 11-12 and 14-16 depend from and include all of the elements of amended claim 10, and claims 18-20 depend from and include all of the elements of amended claim 17. Therefore, claims 11-12, 14-16, and 18-20 are not obvious over the cited combination of Chang and Kossin. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1, 4-12, and 14-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103. Claim 2 is canceled without prejudice, rendering the rejection of this claim moot.”
As to point (E), see point (D).
(F) Applicant argues, “Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Kossin, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 7,009,558 (Fall et al., hereinafter Fall).
“Applicant respectfully traverses the rejection. Claim 3 depends from and includes all of the elements of amended claim 1, and claim 13 depends from and includes all of the elements of amended claim 10. As discussed above, the combination of Chang and Kossin fails to teach or suggest all of the elements of either amended claim 1 or amended claim 13. Further, Fall fails to cure the deficiencies of the combination of Chang and Kossin. Fall discloses an attitude measuring device on a vehicle that comprises accelerometers to measure the direction of gravity on the vehicle (Fall, col. 4, 11. 29 and 42-43).
“Therefore, the cited combination of Chang, Kossin, and Fall fails to teach or suggest the elements of an antenna system comprising first, second, and third linearly polarized antennas configured to receive a circularly polarized signal radiated from a source, the circularly polarized signal comprises rotating electric field vectors, the antenna system comprising a processing stage configured to determine an orientation of the mobile device via the IMU, and to adjust, based at least in part on the orientation, one or more of a phase or a gain of a signal on each of the first, second, and third linearly polarized antennas to direct a beam of the antenna system toward a direction aligned with reference to gravity.
“Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests the withdrawal of claims 3 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 103.
As to point (F), see points (A), (B) and (D).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-12 and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US-20120183295-A1; hereinafter, Chang) in view of Kossin (US-20200153119-A1; hereinafter, Kossin).
Regarding claim 1, Kossin discloses [note: what Kossin fails to disclose is strike-through]:
A (see at least Abs, “An apparatus, comprising…”), comprising:
an antenna system (see at least Fig. 1a, triaxial antenna 102) configured to receive a circularly polarized signal (see at least [0052] – [0058], which describes the process for “determining/detecting a polarization of the RF energy received at triaxial antenna 102 using the complex weights.” One of the polarizations of received signal that the apparatus is equipped to identify is RHCP, see [0057]) radiated from a source (see at least [0042]; “In the example of FIG. 1A, controller 107 adjusts the complex weights and the angle signals for/corresponding to each receive processor 106(i) to point the polarization at a particular satellite, e.g., to generate RHCP and point the normal of the polarization plane for the RHCP at the particular satellite.”),
a first linearly polarized antenna (see at least Fig. 1a, dipole 102x. See also [0032]; “By way of example only, the embodiments presented herein describe the triaxial antenna as including orthogonal dipoles. It is understood that, more generally, the embodiments may employ one or more triaxial antennas that each include orthogonal x, y, and z (i.e., 3D) linearly polarized elements. Examples of linearly polarized elements include, but are not limited to, monopoles, dipoles, patch antennas, circular loops, and the like, configured to transmit and receive linearly polarized energy.”),
a second linearly polarized antenna (see at least Fig. 1a, dipole 102y),
a third linearly polarized antenna (see at least Fig. 1a, dipole 102z), and
a processing stage configured to (see at least [0025]; “…the x, y, and z complex weights apply a polarization to the RF energy as manifested in the combined signal, and the angle signals rotate a plane of the polarization relative to the x, y, and z axes, without moving the triaxial antenna.”), one or more of a phase or a gain of a signal on each of the first, second, and third linearly polarized antennas (see at least [0042]; “To achieve directional polarization, receive system 100 controls the amplitude and phase of complex signals 110x, 110y, and 110z relative to each other based on the complex weights to apply a desired polarization and rotates a plane of the polarization in different directions based on the angle signals.” See also [0033], which shows how signals 110 are associated with antennas 102: “RF down-converter/digitizer assembly 104 includes RF downconverters/digitizers 104x, 104y, and 104z (referred to simply as x, y, and z “downconverters” or x, y, and z “converters”) having inputs to receive RF signals 108x, 108y, and 108z from dipoles 102x, 102y, and 102z, respectively. RF downconverters 104x, 104y, and 104z frequency-downconvert and then digitize RF signals 108x, 108y, and 108z, to produce triaxial (3D), digitized, baseband, complex (i.e., quadrature I, Q) signals 110x, 110y, and 110z, respectively (also referred to simply as (triaxial) complex signals 110x, 110y, and 110z, and also as x, y, and z complex signals).”) to direct a beam of the antenna system toward a direction of the source (see at least [0060]; “With reference to FIG. 3, there is an example method 300 of determining a direction in 3D space (i.e., a spatial direction) from which the RF energy is received at triaxial antenna 102 using the angle signals. The RF energy may have an LP or a CP.” See also [0065]; “Once controller 107 determines the direction of the RF energy, the controller may set the angle signals to point the polarization to be imposed on the RF energy to that direction.”).
Kossin does not explicitly teach the circularly polarized signal comprises rotating electric field vectors. However, A Dictionary of Physics (Rennie, R., & Law, J. (Eds.), A Dictionary of Physics. Oxford University Press. Retrieved 25 Jul. 2025, from https://www.oxfordreference.com/), under the entry for “polarization of light”, teaches: “In circularly polarized light, the tip of the electric vector describes a circular helix about the direction of propagation with a frequency equal to the frequency of the light. The magnitude of the vector remains constant.” Based on this definition, it can be understood that the circularly polarized signals taught in Kossin comprise rotating electric field vectors.
However, the apparatus of Kossin is not a mobile device, it does not comprise an inertial measurement unit, and thus it does not determine an orientation of the mobile device via the IMU or use a detected orientation in adjusting the phase or gain of the signals on the antennas.
Kossin is directed to triaxial antenna reception and transmission, and Chang discloses a wireless communication technique allowing communication between portable terminals and hubs of incompatible polarity formats (circular polarity and linear polarity). Chang teaches:
A mobile device (see at least Fig. 2a, portable device 210) comprising:
an inertial measurement unit, IMU (see at least Fig. 2a, MEM IMU 227), and
an antenna system (see at least Fig. 2a, receiving/radiating elements 211) configured to receive a circularly polarized signal (see at least [0012]; “We will illustrate how to use LP hubs to access CP portable devices efficiently in this application. It would be obvious that a person with ordinary skills in the art can derive similar techniques using CP hubs to access LP portable devices.”), the antenna system comprising
a first antenna,
a second antenna,
a third antenna (see at least Fig. 2a, at least 3 receiving/radiating elements 211 are visible), and
a processing stage (see at least dynamic beam forming network 225) configured to determine an orientation of the mobile device via the IMU (see at least [0058], orientation knowledge gained from MEM IMU), and to adjust (see at least [0058]; “DBF 225 performs weighted summations of all received signals captured by N individual elements, where N is an integer and N>2. Complex weightings are then performed by N complex digital multipliers 2251, with the summing via digital combiners 2252.”), based at least in part on data from the IMU (see at least [0058]; “The multiplicands are the N captured received signals and the multipliers are beam weight vectors (BWV), of which the components feature complex parameters dynamically controlled by controller 226 based on the knowledge of the device current positions and orientation with respect to the designated hubs locations and orientations. The data is gained from embedded inertial reference devices such as MEM IMU 227, and other stored information 228 such as array geometries of the remote device, the directions of intended hubs, etc.”), one or more of a phase or a gain of a signal on each of the first, second, and third antennas to direct a beam of the antenna system toward a direction of the circularly polarized signal (see at least [0058]; “The controller will "calculate" or "derive" the proper BWV such that the composite receiving patterns from distributed array 211 will feature adequate antenna gains and excellent polarization orientations toward the intended base-stations or communications hubs.” See also [0012]; “We will illustrate how to use LP hubs to access CP portable devices efficiently in this application. It would be obvious that a person with ordinary skills in the art can derive similar techniques using CP hubs to access LP portable devices.”).
Kossin teaches an antenna design composed of multiple linearly-polarized antennas able to transmit or receive circularly-polarized RF energy (see at least [0026], [0039]), with the polarization plane electronically steered in order to maximize signal reception (see at least [0042]). Chang teaches a mobile device comprising and IMU and multiple antennas, with knowledge of the device orientation used to electronically steer the polarization plane for maximum signal reception (see at least [0058]). Kossin gives GPS signals from satellites as an example received signal (see at least [0026]). Chang gives signals from satellites as an example received signal (see at least [0015]), and the mobile device of Chang is also taught to include GPS receivers (see Chang at least [0009]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a configuration or linearly polarized antennas similar to those taught by Kossin in a mobile device such as the one taught by Chang, and to steer the polarization plane of the antennas as a function of the IMU-measured device orientation, also as taught by Chang. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to implement a form of Kossin’s antenna design in Chang’s device in order to maximize the reception of GPS signals, as taught by Kossin (see Kossin at least [0003] and [0026]; “The embodiments result in GNSSs that are robust and resilient to multipath, jamming, and spoofing, while minimizing the size, weight, RF and direct current (DC) power required of the GNSS system, whether receiver or transmitter. The embodiments receive or transmit RF energy using at least one triaxial antenna having orthogonal linearly polarized elements, and apply complex weights to triaxial signals associated with the linearly polarized elements to create a particular antenna polarization, control a direction of the polarization 3D space, and create antenna pattern nulls.”).
Regarding claim 4, Kossin in view of Chang teaches the device of claim 1. Kossin further teaches:
wherein the direction comprises a direction toward a global positioning system, GPS, satellite (see at least [0042]; “In the example of FIG. 1A, controller 107 adjusts the complex weights and the angle signals for/corresponding to each receive processor 106(i) to point the polarization at a particular satellite, e.g., to generate RHCP and point the normal of the polarization plane for the RHCP at the particular satellite.” See also [0031]; “With reference to FIG. 1A, there is a block diagram of an example receive system 100 that uses complex weights and angle signals to control receive polarization in order to implement the above mentioned receive embodiments. In the example of FIG. 1A, receive system 100 receives and processes GPS signals from multiple GPS satellites in parallel.”).
Regarding claim 5, Kossin in view of Chang teaches the device of claim 1. Kossin further teaches:
wherein the antenna system is further configured to transmit the circularly polarized signal (see at least [0103]; “In one example, for a terrestrial or indoor navigational system, triaxial antenna 706 may transmit CP aimed at the horizon, hopped between RHCP and LHCP responsive to values of a PN code (e.g., where the PN code transitions between values of 1 and 0, which results in polarization transitions between RHCP and LHCP).”).
Regarding claim 6, Kossin in view of Chang teaches the device of claim 1. Kossin further teaches:
wherein the circularly polarized signal comprises a right hand circularly polarized, RHCP, signal (see at least [0042]; “In the example of FIG. 1A, controller 107 adjusts the complex weights and the angle signals for/corresponding to each receive processor 106(i) to point the polarization at a particular satellite, e.g., to generate RHCP and point the normal of the polarization plane for the RHCP at the particular satellite.”).
Regarding claim 7, Kossin in view of Chang teaches the device of claim 1. Kossin further teaches:
wherein the first, second, and third linearly polarized antennas are positioned within a half a wavelength of each other (see at least [0116]; “Triaxial antennas 800(1)-800(4) are arranged/placed relative to each other to form respective corners of a square that lies in a plane parallel to plate 906. That is, triaxial antennas 800(1)-800(4) are equally spaced (e.g., with spacings ranging from a half wavelength down to a quarter-wavelength of the RF energy to be received or transmitted) from each other in orthogonal directions atop plate 906.” Examiner notes that if the multiple triaxial antenna structures are within ½ wavelength of each other, then the linear antennas comprised in each of the triaxial antenna are also within that distance).
Regarding claim 8, Kossin in view of Chang teaches the device of claim 1. Kossin further teaches:
wherein the wavelength comprises a global positioning system, GPS, wavelength (see at least [0116]; “That is, triaxial antennas 800(1)-800(4) are equally spaced (e.g., with spacings ranging from a half wavelength down to a quarter-wavelength of the RF energy to be received or transmitted) from each other in orthogonal directions atop plate 906.” See also [0031]; “In the example of FIG. 1A, receive system 100 receives and processes GPS signals from multiple GPS satellites in parallel.”).
Regarding claim 9, Kossin in view of Chang teaches the device of claim 1. Chang further teaches:
wherein one or more of the first, second, or third (see at least Fig. 2a, where receiving/radiating elements 211 are located on the edge of portable device 210).
However, Chang does not explicitly teach linearly polarized antennas.
Kossin teaches linearly polarized antennas (see at least Fig. 1a, dipole 102x. See also [0032]; “By way of example only, the embodiments presented herein describe the triaxial antenna as including orthogonal dipoles. It is understood that, more generally, the embodiments may employ one or more triaxial antennas that each include orthogonal x, y, and z (i.e., 3D) linearly polarized elements. Examples of linearly polarized elements include, but are not limited to, monopoles, dipoles, patch antennas, circular loops, and the like, configured to transmit and receive linearly polarized energy.”).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Chang and Kossin for the reasons given regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Chang teaches:
On a mobile device (see at least Fig. 2a, portable device 210) comprising an inertial measurement unit (IMU) (see at least Fig. 2a, portable device 210 comprises MEM IMU 227), and an antenna system comprising a first, a second, and a third (see at least Fig. 2a, at least 3 receiving/radiating elements 211 are visible), a method comprising:
determining an orientation of the mobile device via the IMU (see at least [0058]; “The multiplicands are the N captured received signals and the multipliers are beam weight vectors (BWV), of which the components feature complex parameters dynamically controlled by controller 226 based on the knowledge of the device current positions and orientation with respect to the designated hubs locations and orientations. The data is gained from embedded inertial reference devices such as MEM IMU 227, and other stored information 228 such as array geometries of the remote device, the directions of intended hubs, etc.”);
receiving a circularly polarized signal (see at least [0012]; “We will illustrate how to use LP hubs to access CP portable devices efficiently in this application. It would be obvious that a person with ordinary skills in the art can derive similar techniques using CP hubs to access LP portable devices.”) via the antenna system (see at least [0058]; “FIG. 2A 200a depicts a receiving beam-forming block diagram for portable device 210 with receiving/radiating elements 211 distributed as depicted.”),
adjusting one or more of a phase or a gain of a signal (see at least [0058]; “The controller will "calculate" or "derive" the proper BWV such that the composite receiving patterns from distributed array 211 will feature adequate antenna gains and excellent polarization orientations toward the intended base-stations or communications hubs.”) on at least one of the first, second, and third (see at least [0058]; “The multiplicands are the N captured received signals and the multipliers are beam weight vectors (BWV), of which the components feature complex parameters dynamically controlled by controller 226 based on the knowledge of the device current positions and orientation with respect to the designated hubs locations and orientations. The data is gained from embedded inertial reference devices such as MEM IMU 227, and other stored information 228 such as array geometries of the remote device, the directions of intended hubs, etc.”).
Chang does not explicitly teach the circularly polarized signal comprises rotating electric field vectors. However, A Dictionary of Physics (Rennie, R., & Law, J. (Eds.), A Dictionary of Physics. Oxford University Press. Retrieved 25 Jul. 2025, from https://www.oxfordreference.com/), under the entry for “polarization of light”, teaches: “In circularly polarized light, the tip of the electric vector describes a circular helix about the direction of propagation with a frequency equal to the frequency of the light. The magnitude of the vector remains constant.” Based on this definition, it can be understood that the circularly polarized signals taught in Chang comprise rotating electric field vectors.
However, Chang does not explicitly teach linearly polarized antennas in a portable device. As Chang states in paragraph [0012], the examples given are directed to communication between circularly polarized portable devices and linearly polarized hubs.
Kossin teaches:
an antenna system (see at least Fig. 1a, triaxial antenna 102) comprising a first, a second, and a third linearly polarized antennas (see at least Fig. 1a, dipoles 102x, 102y and 102z. See also [0032]; “By way of example only, the embodiments presented herein describe the triaxial antenna as including orthogonal dipoles. It is understood that, more generally, the embodiments may employ one or more triaxial antennas that each include orthogonal x, y, and z (i.e., 3D) linearly polarized elements. Examples of linearly polarized elements include, but are not limited to, monopoles, dipoles, patch antennas, circular loops, and the like, configured to transmit and receive linearly polarized energy.”),
a method comprising:
receiving (see at least [0031]; “With reference to FIG. 1A, there is a block diagram of an example receive system 100 that uses complex weights and angle signals to control receive polarization in order to implement the above mentioned receive embodiments.”) a circularly polarized signal (see at least [0039]; “Similarly, controller 107 may set the complex weights to produce RHCP or LHCP, and adjust the angle signals AZ and EL to steer/rotate a polarization plane of the RHCP or the LHCP in any direction in 3D space (e.g., with respect to the x, y, and z axes).” via the antenna system (see at least [0031]; “Receive system 100 includes a triaxial antenna 102, an RF downconverter/digitizer assembly 104 coupled to the triaxial antenna, parallel receive processors 106(1)-106(3) (collectively referred to as receive processors 106) coupled to the RF downconverter/digitizer assembly, and a controller 107 coupled to the receive processors.”);
adjusting one or more of a phase or a gain of a signal on at least one of the first, second, and third linearly polarized antennas (see at least [0042]; “To achieve directional polarization, receive system 100 controls the amplitude and phase of complex signals 110x, 110y, and 110z relative to each other based on the complex weights to apply a desired polarization and rotates a plane of the polarization in different directions based on the angle signals.” See also [0033], which shows how signals 110 are associated with antennas 102: “RF down-converter/digitizer assembly 104 includes RF downconverters/digitizers 104x, 104y, and 104z (referred to simply as x, y, and z “downconverters” or x, y, and z “converters”) having inputs to receive RF signals 108x, 108y, and 108z from dipoles 102x, 102y, and 102z, respectively. RF downconverters 104x, 104y, and 104z frequency-downconvert and then digitize RF signals 108x, 108y, and 108z, to produce triaxial (3D), digitized, baseband, complex (i.e., quadrature I, Q) signals 110x, 110y, and 110z, respectively (also referred to simply as (triaxial) complex signals 110x, 110y, and 110z, and also as x, y, and z complex signals).”).
Chang is directed to communication between portable terminals and hubs of incompatible polarity formats (circular polarity and linear polarity). Chang gives detailed examples of linearly polarized hubs communicating with circularly polarized devices, and Chang furthermore states (in [0012]), “It would be obvious that a person with ordinary skills in the art can derive similar techniques using CP hubs to access LP portable devices.” Kossin teaches an antenna design composed of multiple linearly-polarized antennas able to transmit or receive circularly-polarized RF energy (see at least [0026], [0039]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use in the mobile device of Chang a configuration of linearly polarized antennas to send or receive circularly polarized signals, as taught by Kossin. One of ordinary skill would recognize that the antenna configuration of Kossin could be used in the application suggested by Chang (in [0012]), to enable “CP hubs to access LP portable devices.”
Regarding claim 11, Chang in view of Kossin teaches the method of claim 10. Chang further teaches:
further comprising combining the signals adjusted on the first, second, and third (see at least [0058]; “DBF 225 performs weighted summations of all received signals captured by N individual elements, where N is an integer and N>2. Complex weightings are then performed by N complex digital multipliers 2251, with the summing via digital combiners 2252. The multiplicands are the N captured received signals and the multipliers are beam weight vectors (BWV), of which the components feature complex parameters dynamically controlled by controller 226 based on the knowledge of the device current positions and orientation with respect to the designated hubs locations and orientations.”), and decoding the signals combined (see at least [0059]; “Additional circuits (not shown) may be added to enhance the polarization isolations between the RHCP and LHCP channels. The additional diagnostic circuits may be based on correlations between RHCP and LHCP assuming these are completely independent and therefore completely uncorrelated. An optimization loop may be incorporated as one of the drivers for altering the two sets of BWVs. The optimization goals are to minimize the cross-correlations between RHCP and LHCP channels.”).
However, Chang does not explicitly teach linearly polarized antennas.
Kossin teaches linearly polarized antennas (see at least Fig. 1a, dipole 102x. See also [0032]; “By way of example only, the embodiments presented herein describe the triaxial antenna as including orthogonal dipoles. It is understood that, more generally, the embodiments may employ one or more triaxial antennas that each include orthogonal x, y, and z (i.e., 3D) linearly polarized elements. Examples of linearly polarized elements include, but are not limited to, monopoles, dipoles, patch antennas, circular loops, and the like, configured to transmit and receive linearly polarized energy.”).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Chang and Kossin for the reasons given regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Chang in view of Kossin teaches the method of claim 10. Chang further teaches:
wherein adjusting the one or more of the phase or the gain comprises adjusting the one or more of the phase or the gain to direct a beam of the antenna system toward a direction of the circularly polarized signal (see at least [0058]; “The controller will "calculate" or "derive" the proper BWV such that the composite receiving patterns from distributed array 211 will feature adequate antenna gains and excellent polarization orientations toward the intended base-stations or communications hubs.” See also [0012]; “We will illustrate how to use LP hubs to access CP portable devices efficiently in this application. It would be obvious that a person with ordinary skills in the art can derive similar techniques using CP hubs to access LP portable devices.”).
Regarding claim 14, Chang in view of Kossin teaches the method of claim 12. Chang further teaches:
wherein the direction comprises a direction toward a global positioning system, GPS, satellite (see at least [0015]; “Virtual links can also be applied for satellite communications transporting data within a fields of view common to selected transponders. Our proposed "Polarization Utility Waveforms" can successfully deliver signals via LP transponding satellites using CP ground terminals, and vice versa.” See also [0009]; “Since the advent of low cost integrated Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS) receivers such as the Global Positioning System (GPS) in addition to the usage of commercial off-the-shelf Micro-Electro-Mechanical Sensor (MEMS) accelerometers and gyroscopes, estimation of the "orientations" and motion trends of individual personal portable devices with respect to a fixed coordination system has become practical and affordable, as evidenced by their proliferation to the previously mentioned portable devices. GNSS and related technologies are satellite-based geo-location systems.”).
Regarding claim 15, Chang in view of Kossin teaches the method of claim 10. Chang further teaches:
wherein receiving the circularly polarized signal comprises receiving a right hand circularly polarized, RHCP, signal (see at least [0023]; “The Wavefront multiplexed (WF muxed) polarization diversity methods as described with the present invention may be utilized for peer-to-peer communications to enhance capacity so long as user terminals on both ends of a link are not compatible in polarization formats. For example, when a transmitting device on a Bluetooth link uses a RHCP format, the device on the receiving side of the Bluetooth link will use both HP and VP (two components of LP format).”).
Regarding claim 16, Chang in view of Kossin teaches the method of claim 10. Chang further teaches:
wherein adjusting the one or more of the phase or the gain comprises adjusting the one or more of the phase or the gain continuously (see at least [0089]; “At destination 532, four concurrent receiving functions are present: RHCPa, RHCPb, LHCPa, and LHCPb. The associated phase and amplitude differential effects among the 4 propagation channels at different frequencies and polarizations must be continuously calibrated and equalized to assure orthogonality among multiple WFs when they arrive at destination 532.”).
Regarding claim 17, Chang teaches:
On a mobile device (see at least Fig. 2a, portable device 210) comprising an inertial measurement unit, IMU (see at least Fig. 2a, portable device 210 comprises MEM IMU 227), and an antenna system comprising a first, a second, and a third (see at least Fig. 2a, at least 3 receiving/radiating elements 211 are visible), a method comprising:
determining an orientation of the mobile device via the IMU (see at least [0060]; “The multiplicands are the N captured received signals and the multipliers are the beam weight vectors (BWV). The components featuring complex parameters that are dynamically controlled by controller 226 are based on the knowledge of the device's current positions and orientations with respect to the designated hubs locations and orientations. This knowledge is derived from embedded inertial reference devices 227, and other stored information 228 such as array geometries of the remote device, and the directions of intended hubs.”);
adjusting one or more of a phase or a gain of a signal on at least one of the first, second, and third linearly polarized antennas (see at least [0060]; “The controller will "calculate" and/or "derive" the proper BWV such that the composite receiving patterns from the distributed array 211 will feature adequate antenna gains and excellent polarization orientations toward the intended base-stations or communications hubs.”) based at least in part on (see at least [0060]; “This knowledge is derived from embedded inertial reference devices 227, and other stored information 228 such as array geometries of the remote device, and the directions of intended hubs.”); and
communicating (see at least [0060]; “FIG. 2B 200b depicts a transmitting beam-forming block diagram for portable device 210, with receiving/radiating elements 211 distributed as depicted.”) a circularly polarized signal (see at least [0060]; “The transmitting signals are sent to transmitting digital beam forming (DBF) networks 235, dynamically generating two CP beams for the N-element distributed arrays, one in RHCP and the other LHCP, where N is an integer and N>2.”) via the antenna system based at least in part on the one or more of the phase or the gain adjusted of the signal on the at least one of the first, second, and third (see at least [0060]; “DBF functions 235 for a CP beam perform signal replications by first re-generating N-identical components, and then weight replicating streams individually by N components of a BWV. The weighted N signals from the RHCP DBF and those from the LHCP DBF for individual radiating elements are summed together before conversion to analogue format by D/As 234, frequency up-converted by up-converters 233 and power amplified by power-amplifiers 232 before being radiated individually to free space by distributed array elements 211…The controller will "calculate" and/or "derive" the proper BWV such that the composite receiving patterns from the distributed array 211 will feature adequate antenna gains and excellent polarization orientations toward the intended base-stations or communications hubs.”),
Chang does not explicitly teach the circularly polarized signal comprises rotating electric field vectors. However, A Dictionary of Physics (Rennie, R., & Law, J. (Eds.), A Dictionary of Physics. Oxford University Press. Retrieved 25 Jul. 2025, from https://www.oxfordreference.com/), under the entry for “polarization of light”, teaches: “In circularly polarized light, the tip of the electric vector describes a circular helix about the direction of propagation with a frequency equal to the frequency of the light. The magnitude of the vector remains constant.” Based on this definition, it can be understood that the circularly polarized signals taught in Chang comprise rotating electric field vectors.
However, Chang does not explicitly teach linearly polarized antennas in a portable device, nor does Chang explicitly teach adjusting the phase or gain based on a change in the orientation of the mobile device.
Regarding adjustments to the phase or gain based on a change in orientation, Chang does teach tracking the changing orientation of the mobile device over time (see at least [0009]; “Since the advent of low cost integrated Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS) receivers such as the Global Positioning System (GPS) in addition to the usage of commercial off-the-shelf Micro-Electro-Mechanical Sensor (MEMS) accelerometers and gyroscopes, estimation of the "orientations" and motion trends of individual personal portable devices with respect to a fixed coordination system has become practical and affordable, as evidenced by their proliferation to the previously mentioned portable devices.”). Chang furthermore teaches dynamically adjusting the antenna gains based on the most current position and orientation estimate (see at least [0036]; “FIG. 2A depicts a handheld device in a receiving mode with a digital beam forming (DBF) process capable of performing dynamic polarization realignment, which is based on the knowledge of orientation and location of the handheld device and potential hub locations with respect to common local fixed coordinates.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the dynamic polarization realignment would in certain cases reflect a change in the orientation of the mobile device, due to the realignment’s use of the most current device orientation and the recognized possibility of mobile devices changing orientation.
However, Chang does not explicitly teach linearly polarized antennas in a portable device.
Kossin teaches:
an antenna system (see at least Fig. 1a, triaxial antenna 102) comprising a first, a second, and a third linearly polarized antennas (see at least Fig. 1a, dipoles 102x, 102y and 102z. See also [0032]; “By way of example only, the embodiments presented herein describe the triaxial antenna as including orthogonal dipoles. It is understood that, more generally, the embodiments may employ one or more triaxial antennas that each include orthogonal x, y, and z (i.e., 3D) linearly polarized elements. Examples of linearly polarized elements include, but are not limited to, monopoles, dipoles, patch antennas, circular loops, and the like, configured to transmit and receive linearly polarized energy.”),
a method comprising:
adjusting one or more of a phase or a gain of a signal on at least one of the first, second, and third linearly polarized antennas (see at least [0093]; “Transmit system 700 includes a polarization generator 702, quadrature (frequency) upconverter-modulators 704x, 704y, and 704z (also referred to as x, y, and z quadrature upconverter-modulators) coupled to the polarization generator, a triaxial antenna 706 coupled to the quadrature upconverter-modulators, and a controller 708 coupled to the polarization generator and the quadrature upconverter-modulators.”); and
transmitting a circularly polarized signal via the antenna system based at least in part on the one or more of the phase or the gain adjusted of the signal on the at least one of the first, second, and third linearly polarized antennas (see at least [0093] – [0096]; “With reference to FIG. 7A, there is a block diagram of an example transmit system 700 that uses complex weights and angle signals to implement steerable, polarized spatial modulation… In this example, the above translations/rotations steer the RHCP x-y polarization plane in the desired direction by changing the values of the x, y, and z complex signals as applied to the inputs to the x, y, and z antenna dipoles.”).
Chang is directed to communication between portable terminals and hubs of incompatible polarity formats (circular polarity and linear polarity). Chang gives detailed examples of linearly polarized hubs communicating with circularly polarized devices, and Chang furthermore states (in [0012]), “It would be obvious that a person with ordinary skills in the art can derive similar techniques using CP hubs to access LP portable devices.” Kossin teaches an antenna design composed of multiple linearly-polarized antennas able to transmit or receive circularly-polarized RF energy (see at least [0026], [0039]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use in the mobile device of Chang a configuration of linearly polarized antennas to send or receive circularly polarized signals, as taught by Kossin. One of ordinary skill would recognize that the antenna configuration of Kossin could be used in the application suggested by Chang (in [0012]), to enable “CP hubs to access LP portable devices.”
Regarding claim 18, Chang in view of Kossin teaches the method of claim 17. Chang further teaches:
wherein adjusting the one or more of the phase or the gain comprises, adjusting the one or more of the phase or the gain to direct a beam of the antenna system toward a receiver (see at least [0060]; “The controller will "calculate" and/or "derive" the proper BWV such that the composite receiving patterns from the distributed array 211 will feature adequate antenna gains and excellent polarization orientations toward the intended base-stations or communications hubs.”).
Regarding claim 19, Chang in view of Kossin teaches the method of claim 17. Chang further teaches:
wherein communicating the circularly polarized signal comprises communicating a right hand circularly polarized (RHCP) signal (see at least [0060]; “The transmitting signals are sent to transmitting digital beam forming (DBF) networks 235, dynamically generating two CP beams for the N-element distributed arrays, one in RHCP and the other LHCP, where N is an integer and N>2.”).
Regarding claim 20, Chang in view of Kossin teaches the method of claim 17. Chang further teaches:
wherein adjusting the one or more of the phase or the gain comprises adjusting the one or more of the phase or the gain continuously (see at least [0089]; “At destination 532, four concurrent receiving functions are present: RHCPa, RHCPb, LHCPa, and LHCPb. The associated phase and amplitude differential effects among the 4 propagation channels at different frequencies and polarizations must be continuously calibrated and equalized to assure orthogonality among multiple WFs when they arrive at destination 532.”).
Regarding claim 21, Kossin in view of Chang teaches the mobile device of claim 1. Chang further teaches:
wherein the processing stage is configured to adjust one or more of the phase or the gain (see at least [0060]; “The controller will "calculate" and/or "derive" the proper BWV such that the composite receiving patterns from the distributed array 211 will feature adequate antenna gains and excellent polarization orientations toward the intended base-stations or communications hubs.”) based upon (see at least [0060]; “The components featuring complex parameters that are dynamically controlled by controller 226 are based on the knowledge of the device's current positions and orientations with respect to the designated hubs locations and orientations.”).
However, Chang does not explicitly teach adjusting the phase or gain based on a change in the orientation of the mobile device.
Regarding adjustments to the phase or gain based on a change in orientation, Chang does teach tracking the changing orientation of the mobile device over time (see at least [0009]; “Since the advent of low cost integrated Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS) receivers such as the Global Positioning System (GPS) in addition to the usage of commercial off-the-shelf Micro-Electro-Mechanical Sensor (MEMS) accelerometers and gyroscopes, estimation of the "orientations" and motion trends of individual personal portable devices with respect to a fixed coordination system has become practical and affordable, as evidenced by their proliferation to the previously mentioned portable devices.”). Chang furthermore teaches dynamically adjusting the antenna gains based on the most current position and orientation estimate (see at least [0036]; “FIG. 2A depicts a handheld device in a receiving mode with a digital beam forming (DBF) process capable of performing dynamic polarization realignment, which is based on the knowledge of orientation and location of the handheld device and potential hub locations with respect to common local fixed coordinates.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the dynamic polarization realignment would in certain cases reflect a change in the orien