DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-5 and 8-20) in the reply filed on 10/30/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 6-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/30/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kubota (US 2020/0185726).
As to claim 8, Kubota discloses an electrode film, comprising: an active material (figure 9 #19, [0267], [0134], discussed throughout); and a binder selected from the group consisting of an acrylated polyurethane resin, a hydroxy modified acrylated polyurethane resin, an acrylate-methacrylate monomer blend, a monoacrylate of mono-ethoxylated phenol, a cellulose, trimethylolpropane ethoxy triacrylate (TMPEOTA), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), a polyolefin, polyalkylenes, polyethers, styrene-butadiene, co-polymers of polysiloxanes, a polysiloxane, branched polyethers, polyvinylethers, co-polymers thereof, and combinations thereof ([0134], [0129] and discussed throughout).
As to claim 9, Kubota discloses wherein, the active material is an anode active material (figure 9 #19, [0267], [0134], discussed throughout).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubota (US 2020/0185726), and further in view of Yoshizumi (US 2021/0188068).
As to claim 1, Kubota discloses a cathode electrode film (figure 9 #14, [0059], discussed throughout), comprising: a cathode active material ([0123]-[0124], discussed throughout) and a binder selected from the group consisting of an acrylated polyurethane resin, a hydroxy modified acrylated polyurethane resin, an acrylate-methacrylate monomer blend, a monoacrylate of mono-ethoxylated phenol, a cellulose, trimethylolpropane ethoxy triacrylate (TMPEOTA), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), a polyolefin, polyalkylenes, polyethers, styrene-butadiene, co-polymers of polysiloxanes, a polysiloxane, branched polyethers, polyvinylethers, co-polymers thereof, and combinations thereof ([0129], discussed throughout).
Kubota discloses wherein the cathode active material conventionally known materials and can be lithium cobalt oxide, lithium manganese oxide and lithium iron phosphate ([0124]). However, Kubota is silent to wherein the active material consists of manganese dioxide. Yoshizumi disclose a solid battery ([0327]) wherein the cathode active material can be manganese dioxide, lithium cobalt oxide, lithium manganese oxide and lithium iron phosphate ([0260]-[0264]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to use the manganese dioxide active material from Yoshizumi within Kubota as the only active material as a mere simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143 I (B)).
As to claim 2, modified Kubota discloses wherein, the polyolefin is selected from the group consisting of polyethylene (PE), polypropylene (PP), polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), co-polymers thereof, and combinations thereof ([0129], discussed throughout).
As to claim 3, modified Kubota discloses a cathode electrode (figure 9 #10, [0226], [0238], discussed throughout), comprising: a current collector (figure 9 #11, [0239], discussed throughout); and the cathode electrode film of claim 1 disposed over the current collector (figure 9 #14 and #11, discussed throughout).
As to claim 4, modified Kubota discloses further comprising a carbon coating disposed between the current collector and the cathode electrode film (figure 9 #13, [0239], discussed throughout).
As to claim 5, modified Kubota discloses an energy storage device (figure 9 #100, [0238], discussed throughout), comprising: the cathode electrode of claim 3 (figure 9 #10, [0239], discussed above); an anode electrode (figure 9 #40, [0239], discussed throughout); and a housing ([0254], discussed throughout), wherein the cathode and anode electrodes are disposed within the housing ([0254], discussed throughout).
Claims 10-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubota (US 2020/0185726), and further in view of Hu (US 2020/0403266).
As to claim 10, Kubota discloses an electrode film (figure 9 #14, [0059], discussed throughout), comprising: an active material ([0123]-[0124], discussed throughout); a binder selected from the group consisting of an acrylated polyurethane resin, a hydroxy modified acrylated polyurethane resin, an acrylate-methacrylate monomer blend, a monoacrylate of mono-ethoxylated phenol, a cellulose, trimethylolpropane ethoxy triacrylate (TMPEOTA), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), a polyolefin, polyalkylenes, polyethers, styrene-butadiene, co-polymers of polysiloxanes, a polysiloxane, branched polyethers, polyvinylethers, co-polymers thereof, and combinations thereof ([0129], discussed throughout).
Kubota is silent to the use of a surfactant. Hu discloses a solid state battery ([0069]) wherein a surfactant is used within the cathode ([0329], [0161], [0246]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to use the surfactant from Hu within the cathode of Kubota as a mere combing prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143 I) and because the surfactant helps even dispersion of the cathode ([0246], discussed throughout).
As to claim 11, modified Kubota discloses wherein, the active material is a cathode active material ([0123]-[0124], discussed throughout).
As to claim 12, modified Kubota discloses wherein, the cathode active material is selected from the group consisting of carbon monofluoride, manganese dioxide, lithium iron phosphate (LFP), lithium cobalt oxide (LCO), nickel manganese cobalt oxide (NMC), nickel cobalt aluminum oxide (NCA), lithium titanate (LTO), lithium manganese iron phosphate (LMFP), and combinations thereof ([0123]-[0124], discussed throughout).
As to claim 13, modified Kubota discloses wherein, the electrode film comprises about 85-95 wt. % of the active material ([0133], discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 14, modified Kubota discloses wherein, the surfactant is selected from the group of consisting of a non-ionic surfactant, a polymeric surfactant, and combinations thereof ([0161], [0295], polyvinylpyrrolidone, Hu, discussed throughout).
As to claim 16, modified Kubota discloses wherein, the surfactant is selected from the group consisting of a polyethylene glycol derivative, polyvinylpyrrolidone, poly(ethyleneimine), poly(acrylic acid), and combinations thereof ([0295], Hu, discussed throughout).
As to claim 17, modified Kubota discloses wherein, the electrode film comprises about 0.01-0.5 wt. % of surfactant ([0161], [0295], discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 18, modified Kubota discloses further comprising a conductive additive ([0123], [0130], discussed throughout).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Kubota as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Youn (KR 2021/0030788 see attached translation).
As to claim 15, modified Kubota is silent to wherein, the surfactant comprises a molecular weight of at most about 50,000 g/mol. You discloses a surfactant used within a lithium ion battery (page 2 and throughout) wherein the surfactant is polyvinylpyrrolidone (page 2 and throughout) and wherein the molecular weight is 20,000 to 40,000 (page 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to use the molecular weight of the polyvinylpyrrolidone form Youn within modified Kunota as a mere combing prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143 I).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Kubota as applied to claims 10 and 18 above, and further in view of Yoshizumi (US 2021/0188068).
As to claim 19 and 20, Kubota is silent to wherein, the electrode film comprises about 1-10 wt. % of the conductive additive (claim 19) and the electrode film comprises about 3-15 wt. % of the binder (claim 20).
Yoshizumi disclose a solid battery ([0327]) with a cathode comprising the cathode active material ([0260]-[0264]), a conductive additive the content of the conductive additive is 1-10 weight percent of the cathode active material ([0274]) ([0274]) and a binder ([0274]) wherein the content of the binder is 1-10 weight percent of the cathode active material ([0274]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to use the weight percentages from Yoshizumi within modified Kubota as a mere combing prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143 I). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
Contact Information
/BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724