DETAILED ACTION
Restriction/Election Requirement
The Office acknowledges the Applicant’s election of Group 2 (first and second host materials are same) in the Response filed 06/25/26.
The election reads on Claims 1-20.
Claims 1-20 are pending. No claims have been withdrawn from consideration.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The Specification filed 02/01/23 recites the following structure:
(page 14) which is illegible due to its low resolution. The structure needs to be replaced by one with clearer graphics (i.e., with solid lines).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim, which is dependent on Claim 16 (and thus on Claim 1), recites “the first layer” which lack antecedent basis. The Office has interpreted the term to refer to “the first light-emitting layer” for the purpose of this Examination.
Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyashita et al. (US 2020/0403173 A1).
Miyashita et al. discloses the following organic electroluminescent (EL) device (organic light-emitting element):
comprising insulating layer (1), anode (2), hole-transporting layer (3), third light-emitting layer (4c) and first light-emitting layers (4b) (second light-emitting layer), second light-emitting layer (4b) (first light-emitting layer), electron-transporting layer (5), and cathode (6) ([0030]). Miyashita et al. discloses that each of the light-emitting layers comprises a host material and dopant material ([0055]); the first and third light-emitting layers emit in the red and green (i.e., comprises red and green-emitting dopant materials), while the second light-emitting layer emits in the blue (i.e., comprises blue-emitting dopant material) ([0071]). Miyashita et al. discloses the following embodiment for the host material:
(page 6) (first and second host materials) (equivalent to Applicant’s EM1 with HOMO = -6.02 eV and LUMO = -3.10 eV; see Table 1 of the present national phase publication), blue-emitting dopant material:
(page 13) (first dopant material) (equivalent to Applicant’s BD19 with HOMO = -6.11 eV and LUMO = -3.48 eV; see Table 1 of the present national phase publication), red-emitting dopant material:
(page 25) (second dopant material) (equivalent to Applicant’s RD5 with HOMO = -5.61 eV and LUMO = -3.63 eV; see Table 1 of the present national phase publication), and green-emitting dopant material:
(page 21) (third dopant material) (equivalent to Applicant’s GD3 with HOMO = -5.40 eV and LUMO = -2.60 eV; see Table 1 of the present national phase publication). Miyashita et al. requires the following condition to be satisfied:
([0009]) (such that LUMOh1 > LUMOd1 [1] as recited in Claim 1 is satisfied as the second light-emitting layer of Miyashita et al. corresponds to the “first light-emitting layer”). Miyashita et al. discloses the following material to comprise the electron-transporting layer:
(page 32) (equivalent to Applicant’s ET2 with HOMO = -6.12 eV and LUMO = -3.07 eV; see Table 1 of the present national phase publication). Miyashita et al. discloses the additional presence of a hole-blocking layer (functional layer) between the electron-transporting layer and the second light-emitting layer (first light-emitting layer) ([0094]); the hole-blocking layer comprises electron-transporting materials ([0100]) such as any one of the following:
(page 33) (composed of a hydrocarbon alone), among others (pages 32-34). However, Miyashita et al. does not explicitly disclose an organic EL device that reads on condition [3] as recited in Claim 1. Nevertheless, it is the position of the Office that the incorporation of any one of the electron-transporting materials as disclosed by Miyashita et al. (including the hydrocarbon materials shown above) into the hole-blocking layer (functional layer) would inherently result in HOMOFL > HOMOh1 (-6.02 eV). The motivation is provided by the fact it has been long established that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not invention to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (see also MPEP 2144.05). Miyashita et al. explicitly discloses a wide class of electron-transporting materials (and thus having a wide range of HOMO values) any one of which can be incorporated into the hole-blocking layer during the normal course of experimentation. It is the position of the Office that the incorporation of ET10 as disclosed by Miyashita et al. (above), for example, would result in condition [3] being met as ET10, a compound with significantly less conjugation (electronic delocalization) to that of Applicant’s FL4:
(HOMO = -6.04 eV; see Table 1 of the present national phase publication) can be reasonably expected to have significantly higher HOMO value (thus also satisfying condition [7] as recited in Claim 10).
Miyashita et al. further discloses displays (such as those shown in Figs. 5A, 5B, and 6A), a display apparatus comprising a plurality of pixels, wherein at least one of the pixels comprises the organic EL device (Claim 16), an image pickup apparatus comprising an optical unit including a plurality of lenses, an image pickup element configured to receive light that has passed through the optical unit, and a display unit (Claim 17), an illumination apparatus comprising a light source (comprising the organic EL device) and a light diffusion unit (Claim 18), and a moving object comprising a lighting fixture comprising the organic EL device with a body (Claim 10), and an exposure light source (comprising the organic EL device) in an electrophotographic image-forming apparatus ([0129]).
Conclusion
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786