DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action in response to applicant’s remarks submitted on 12/29/2025 for response of the office action mailed on 10/29/2025. Independent claims 1 and 20 are amended. No claims are cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-20 are pending and addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 20 in lines 2 and 4, "calculating, by the terminal, a channel busy rate CBR, in a case that a quantity of resources where the terminal performs partial sensing and/or the terminal performs physical sidelink shared channel PSSCH reception and/or the terminal performs physical sidelink control channel PSCCH reception in Z1 measurement window(s) is greater than or equal to a first preset threshold, Z1 is a positive integer.” should be replaced by, “calculating, by the terminal, a channel busy rate CBR, in a case that a quantity of resources, where the terminal performs partial sensing and/or the terminal performs physical sidelink shared channel PSSCH reception and/or the terminal performs physical sidelink control channel PSCCH reception in Z1 measurement window(s), is greater than or equal to a first preset threshold, Z1 is a positive integer.”, as per the remarks at page 16 as submitted on 12/29/2025, to bring clarity the limitations.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-2, 8, 11-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan et al. (2023/0284136, provisional 63/056,230, before the EFD of the instant application, provisional application is used for the instant office action), Ganesan230 hereinafter, in view of Lee et al. ( 2022/0416969), Lee969 hereinafter
Re. claims 1 and 20, Ganesan230 teaches an information determining method (Fig. 11-13 & ¶0386/¶0379: ¶0380/¶0393), and an information determining apparatus (Fig. 2, 200), comprising: a memory (Fig. 2, 204), a processor (Fig. 2, 202) and a computer program stored in the memory and executable by the processor (Fig. 2 & ¶0044 - memory 204 also stores program code and related data, such as an operating system or other controller algorithms operating on the remote unit 102.), wherein the processor executes the computer program to: obtaining, by a terminal, a measurement window in case that a target configuration is configured, wherein the target configuration comprises a first configuration and/or a second configuration (Fig. 11-13 & ¶0379: ¶0380 - Receiving a first DRX configuration [for a first SL application], the first DRX configuration including at least one of slot offset, on-duration duration <i.e., activity time/active time> and periodicity. Receiving an indication to perform [partial] sensing, the sensing being performed in a sensing window, the sensing window < i.e., activity time/detection time for sensing window, as per instant application, at least in ¶0070-¶0071> is the active time of the first DRX configuration. Fig. 11-13 & ¶0379: ¶0383 - further comprising receiving a second DRX configuration, the second DRX configuration including at least one of slot offset, on-duration and periodicity, the second configuration to be applied for CBR/CR measurements; Fig. 11-13 & ¶0386 - receiving a second DRX configuration, the third DRX configuration including at least one of slot offset, on-duration and periodicity, the third configuration to be applied for CBR/CR measurements. Fig. 11-13 & ¶0393 - receiving a DRX configuration for each of the applications operational in the UE, further comprising estimation of CBR/CR measurement during DRX cycle on-duration, for each of the DRX configurations configured at the UE. Here, target configuration refers to first DRX configuration, second DRX configuration or any DRX configurations applicable for sidelink communication as disclosed supra & first resource/ measurement window refers to sensing window, active time/on-duration of the respective DRX configurations, as per definitions used in the instant application, at least in ¶0059-¶0061), the first configuration is a Sidelink Discontinuous Reception SL DRX configuration (Fig. 11-13 & ¶0379: ¶0380 - Receiving a first DRX configuration [for a first SL application], the first DRX configuration including at least one of slot offset, on-duration duration <i.e., activity time/active time> and periodicity), and the second configuration is a partial sensing configuration (Fig. 11-13 & ¶0380 - Receiving an indication to perform [partial] sensing, the sensing being performed in a sensing window < i.e., activity time/detection time for sensing window, as per instant application, at least in ¶0070-¶0071>, the sensing window is the active time of the first DRX configuration. Fig. 11-13 & ¶0384 - receiving a second DRX configuration, the second DRX configuration including at least one of slot offset, on-duration and periodicity, the second configuration to be applied for CBR/CR measurements, further comprising where the first DRX configuration and the second DRX configuration are identical);
Yet, Ganesan230 does not expressly teach calculating, by the terminal, a channel busy rate CBR, in a case that a quantity of resources where the terminal performs partial sensing and/or the terminal performs physical sidelink shared channel PSSCH reception and/or the terminal performs physical sidelink control channel PSCCH reception in Z1 measurement window(s) is greater than or equal to a first preset threshold, Z1 is a positive integer.
However, in the analogous art, Lee969 explicitly discloses calculating, by the terminal, a channel busy rate CBR, in a case that a quantity of resources where the terminal performs partial sensing and/or the terminal performs physical sidelink shared channel PSSCH reception and/or where the terminal performs physical sidelink control channel PSCCH reception in Z1 measurement window(s) is greater than or equal to a first preset threshold (Fig. 12-24 & ¶0115 - UE may autonomously select a resource within a selective window by performing a sensing and resource (re)selection procedure. For example, the sensing may be performed in unit of subchannels. Fig. 12 & ¶0121 - Referring to FIG. 12, CBR may denote the number of sub-channels in which a measurement result value of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) has a value greater than or equal to a pre-configured threshold as a result of measuring the RSSI by a UE on a sub-channel basis for a specific period (e.g., 100 ms). …. the CBR may denote a ratio of sub-channels having a value greater than or equal to a pre-configured threshold among sub-channels for a specific duration. Fig. 12-24 & ¶0282 – CBR may be measured for the resource pool for a time interval including a plurality of slots before the first slot. For example, the CBR may be measured for the resource pool for the time interval from (i) a third slot before 100 slots from the first slot to (ii) a fourth slot before 1 slot from the first slot. For example, the CBR may be measured for the resource pool for the time interval from (i) 100 ms before the first slot to (ii) 1 ms before the first slot. Fig. 12-24 & ¶0285 - the first device may transmit, to the second device, information related to a sensing type of the first device. For example, the sensing type may include partial sensing or full sensing. Please note that the examiner followed the limitation as underlined based on the remarks at page 16 (e.g., Feature A) as 12/29/2025. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “and/or “in the limitation), Z1 is a positive integer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ganesan230’s invention of a system and a method for SL resource assignment for power saving in a wireless communication system to include Lee969’s invention of a system and a method for controlling sidelink (SL) congestion in NR V2X in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for autonomously determining an optimum size and frequency of use for resources to be used by V2X capable terminals, without deteriorating overall performance due to mutual interferences as experienced in a specific region at a specific time in the NR V2X in a wireless communication system. (¶0117-¶0120, Lee969)
Re. Claim 2, Ganesan230 and Lee969 teach claim 1.
Ganesan230 further teaches wherein the SL DRX configuration comprises an active time (Fig. 11-13 & ¶0379: ¶0380 - Receiving a first DRX configuration [for a first SL application], the first DRX configuration including at least one of slot offset, on-duration duration <i.e., activity time/active time> and periodicity) and/or an inactive time (Outside of the on-duration duration <i.e., activity time/active time>, refers to inactivity period/inactivity time, well known to an person of ordinary skill in the field of knowledge, see Fig. 11-12, where UE goes into sleep mode), and the partial sensing configuration comprises a detection time (Fig. 11-13 & ¶0380 - Receiving an indication to perform [partial] sensing, the sensing being performed in a sensing window < i.e., activity time/detection time for sensing window, as per instant application, at least in ¶0070-¶0071>, the sensing window is the active time of the first DRX configuration. Fig. 11-13 & ¶0384 - receiving a second DRX configuration, the second DRX configuration including at least one of slot offset, on-duration and periodicity, the second configuration to be applied for CBR/CR measurements, further comprising where the first DRX configuration and the second DRX configuration are identical. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “and/or “in the limitation) and/or a non-detection time;
Re. Claim 8, Ganesan230 and Lee969 teach claim 1.
Yet, Ganesan230 does not expressly teach wherein the measurement window is related to a time point related to triggering of CBR calculating; and the measurement window satisfies at least one of the following: starting earlier by a first preset time than the active time and/or the detection time comprised in the target configuration; and ending later by a second preset time than the active time and/or the detection time comprised in the target configuration.
However, in the analogous art, Lee969 explicitly discloses wherein the measurement window is related to a time point related to triggering of CBR calculating; and the measurement window satisfies at least one of the following: starting earlier by a first preset time than the active time and/or the detection time comprised in the target configuration (Fig. 12 & ¶0121 - Referring to FIG. 12, CBR may denote the number of sub-channels in which a measurement result value of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) has a value greater than or equal to a pre-configured threshold as a result of measuring the RSSI by a UE on a sub-channel basis for a specific period (e.g., 100 ms). Alternatively, the CBR may denote a ratio of sub-channels having a value greater than or equal to a pre-configured threshold among sub-channels for a specific duration. Fig. 12-24 & ¶0282 – CBR may be measured for the resource pool for a time interval including a plurality of slots before the first slot. For example, the CBR may be measured for the resource pool for the time interval from (i) a third slot before 100 slots from the first slot to (ii) a fourth slot before 1 slot from the first slot. For example, the CBR may be measured for the resource pool for the time interval from (i) 100 ms before the first slot to (ii) 1 ms before the first slot. Fig. 12-24 & ¶0285 - the first device may transmit, to the second device, information related to a sensing type of the first device. For example, the sensing type may include partial sensing or full sensing. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of “in the limitation); and ending later by a second preset time than the active time and/or the detection time comprised in the target configuration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ganesan230’s invention of a system and a method for SL resource assignment for power saving in a wireless communication system to include Lee969’s invention of a system and a method for controlling sidelink (SL) congestion in NR V2X in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for autonomously determining an optimum size and frequency of use for resources to be used by V2X capable terminals, without deteriorating overall performance due to mutual interferences as experienced in a specific region at a specific time in the NR V2X in a wireless communication system. (¶0117-¶0120, Lee969)
Re. Claim 11, Ganesan230 and Lee969 teach claim 1.
Ganesan230 further teaches wherein in a case that the terminal obtains a plurality of sets of first configurations and/or second configurations, the obtaining a measurement window in a case that a target configuration is configured (Fig. 11-13 & ¶0309: ¶0311 - Channel busy ratio (CBR) reporting per DRX cycle configuration, congestion control per resource pool per DRX cycle configuration. CBR/CR time window size could include one or more DRX cycle configuration. UE reports CBR/CR measurement per each DRX cycle configuration from its configured DRX cycle configuration. Fig. 11-13 & ¶0379: ¶0380 - Receiving a first DRX configuration [for a first SL application], the first DRX configuration including at least one of slot offset, on-duration duration <i.e., activity time/active time> and periodicity. Receiving an indication to perform [partial] sensing, the sensing being performed in a sensing window, the sensing window < i.e., activity time/detection time for sensing window, as per instant application, at least in ¶0070-¶0071> is the active time of the first DRX configuration. Fig. 11-13 & ¶0379: ¶0383 - further comprising receiving a second DRX configuration, the second DRX configuration including at least one of slot offset, on-duration and periodicity, the second configuration to be applied for CBR/CR measurements.) comprises: obtaining, by the terminal, a measurement window satisfying constraints of the plurality of sets of first configurations and/or second configurations (Fig. 11-13 & ¶0318 - Congestion control mechanism of restricting PSSCH/PSCCH TX parameters is applied per resource pool per each DRX cycle configuration. As an example, Congestion control mechanism of restricting TX parameters could be applied differently to the same resource pool based on the CBR/CR measurement results performed in each of the DRX cycle configuration. Fig. 11-13 & ¶0319: ¶0324 - Congestion control could limit following parameters: the upper bound on channel occupancy ratio (CR), CRlimit per DRX cycle/active; range of MCS for a given MCS table, range of number of subchannels, upper bound on (re)transmissions and upper bound on TX power.).
Re. Claim 12, Ganesan230 and Lee969 teach claim 1.
Ganesan230 further teaches wherein in a case that the terminal obtains a plurality of sets of first configurations and/or second configurations (Fig. 11-13 & ¶0309: ¶0311 - Channel busy ratio (CBR) reporting per DRX cycle configuration, congestion control per resource pool per DRX cycle configuration. CBR/CR time window size could include one or more DRX cycle configuration. UE reports CBR/CR measurement per each DRX cycle configuration from its configured DRX cycle configuration. Fig. 11-13 & ¶0379: ¶0380 - Receiving a first DRX configuration [for a first SL application], the first DRX configuration including at least one of slot offset, on-duration duration <i.e., activity time/active time> and periodicity. Receiving an indication to perform [partial] sensing, the sensing being performed in a sensing window, the sensing window < i.e., activity time/detection time for sensing window, as per instant application, at least in ¶0070-¶0071> is the active time of the first DRX configuration. Fig. 11-13 & ¶0379: ¶0383 - further comprising receiving a second DRX configuration, the second DRX configuration including at least one of slot offset, on-duration and periodicity, the second configuration to be applied for CBR/CR measurements;),
Yet, Ganesan230 does not expressly teach the performing a first operation comprises: calculating, by the terminal, one CBR for the plurality of sets of first configurations and/or second configurations based on the first resource measurement window.
However, in the analogous art, Lee969 explicitly discloses the performing a first operation comprises: calculating, by the terminal, one CBR for the plurality of sets of first configurations and/or second configurations based on the first resource measurement window (Fig. 12-24 & ¶0115 - UE may autonomously select a resource within a selective window by performing a sensing and resource (re)selection procedure. For example, the sensing may be performed in unit of subchannels. Fig. 12 & ¶0121 - Referring to FIG. 12, CBR may denote the number of sub-channels in which a measurement result value of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) has a value greater than or equal to a pre-configured threshold as a result of measuring the RSSI by a UE on a sub-channel basis for a specific period (e.g., 100 ms). Alternatively, the CBR may denote a ratio of sub-channels having a value greater than or equal to a pre-configured threshold among sub-channels for a specific duration. Fig. 12-24 & ¶0282 – CBR may be measured for the resource pool for a time interval including a plurality of slots before the first slot. For example, the CBR may be measured for the resource pool for the time interval from (i) a third slot before 100 slots from the first slot to (ii) a fourth slot before 1 slot from the first slot. For example, the CBR may be measured for the resource pool for the time interval from (i) 100 ms before the first slot to (ii) 1 ms before the first slot. Fig. 12-24 & ¶0285 - the first device may transmit, to the second device, information related to a sensing type of the first device. For example, the sensing type may include partial sensing or full sensing. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “and/or “in the limitation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ganesan230’s invention of a system and a method for SL resource assignment for power saving in a wireless communication system to include Lee969’s invention of a system and a method for controlling sidelink (SL) congestion in NR V2X in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for autonomously determining an optimum size and frequency of use for resources to be used by V2X capable terminals, without deteriorating overall performance due to mutual interferences as experienced in a specific region at a specific time in the NR V2X in a wireless communication system. (¶0117-¶0120, Lee969)
Re. Claim 13, Ganesan230 and Lee969 teach claim 1.
Ganesan230 further teaches wherein in a case that the terminal obtains a plurality of sets of first configurations and/or second configurations (Fig. 11-13 & ¶0309: ¶0313 - Channel busy ratio (CBR) reporting per DRX cycle configuration, congestion control per resource pool per DRX cycle configuration. CBR/CR time window size could include one or more DRX cycle configuration. UE reports CBR/CR measurement per each DRX cycle configuration from its configured DRX cycle configuration; Congestion control mechanism of restricting PSSCH/PSCCH TX parameters is performed per resource pool per each DRX cycle configuration; Reconfigure the sidelink DRX configuration like offset, on-duration for a TX UE or group of UEs or destination id(s) based on the congestion control mechanism by receiving CBR/CR measurement per each DRX cycle configuration. Fig. 11-13 & ¶0379: ¶0380 - Receiving a first DRX configuration [for a first SL application], the first DRX configuration including at least one of slot offset, on-duration duration <i.e., activity time/active time> and periodicity. Receiving an indication to perform [partial] sensing, the sensing being performed in a sensing window, the sensing window < i.e., activity time/detection time for sensing window, as per instant application, at least in ¶0070-¶0071> is the active time of the first DRX configuration. Fig. 11-13 & ¶0379: ¶0383 - further comprising receiving a second DRX configuration, the second DRX configuration including at least one of slot offset, on-duration and periodicity, the second configuration to be applied for CBR/CR measurements), the target configuration is a configuration that satisfies a preset condition in the plurality of sets of first configurations and/or second configurations (Fig. 11-13 & ¶0131: ¶0134 - selection of T1 is up to UE implementation under 0 ≤ T1 ≤ Tproc,1 , where Tproc,1 is TBD; - if T2min is shorter than the remaining packet delay budget (in slots) then T2 is up to UE implementation subject to T2min ≤ T2 ≤ remaining packet budget (in slots); otherwise T2 is set to the remaining packet delay budget (in slots). The total number of candidate single-slot resources is denoted by Mtotal ; The sensing window is defined by the range of slots [n-T0, n-Tproc,o ] where T0 is defined above and Tproc,1 is TBD. The UE shall monitor slots which can belong to a sidelink resource pool within the sensing window except for those in which its own transmissions occur);
Yet, Ganesan230 does not expressly teach wherein the preset condition comprises: the target configuration is a configuration corresponding to a resource pool in which a first object that triggers CBR calculating is located.
However, in the analogous art, Lee969 explicitly discloses wherein the preset condition comprises: the target configuration is a configuration corresponding to a resource pool in which a first object that triggers target quantity determining is located (Fig. 12-24 & ¶0115 - UE may autonomously select a resource within a selective window by performing a sensing and resource (re)selection procedure. For example, the sensing may be performed in unit of subchannels. Fig. 12 & ¶0121 - Referring to FIG. 12, CBR may denote the number of sub-channels in which a measurement result value of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) has a value greater than or equal to a pre-configured threshold as a result of measuring the RSSI by a UE on a sub-channel basis for a specific period (e.g., 100 ms). Alternatively, the CBR may denote a ratio of sub-channels having a value greater than or equal to a pre-configured threshold among sub-channels for a specific duration. Fig. 12-24 & ¶0191 - the location of the PSSCH resource related to the PSFCH resource and/or the location of the PSCCH resource related to the PSFCH resource may be configured or pre-configured for the UE for each resource pool.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ganesan230’s invention of a system and a method for SL resource assignment for power saving in a wireless communication system to include Lee969’s invention of a system and a method for controlling sidelink (SL) congestion in NR V2X in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for autonomously determining an optimum size and frequency of use for resources to be used by V2X capable terminals, without deteriorating overall performance due to mutual interferences as experienced in a specific region at a specific time in the NR V2X in a wireless communication system. (¶0117-¶0120, Lee969)
Re. Claim 14, Ganesan230 and Lee969 teach claim 1.
Yet, Ganesan230 does not expressly teach wherein the target configuration is related to a feature of a first object that triggers target quantity determining or triggers target monitoring; wherein the first object comprises at least one of the following: a service, a data packet, a media access control protocol data unit MAC PDU, data, and a transport block.
However, in the analogous art, Lee969 explicitly discloses wherein the target configuration is related to a feature of a first object that triggers target quantity determining or triggers target monitoring; wherein the first object comprises at least one of the following: a service, a data packet, a media access control protocol data unit MAC PDU, data, and a transport block. (Fig. 12-24 & ¶0115 - UE may autonomously select a resource within a selective window by performing a sensing and resource (re)selection procedure. For example, the sensing may be performed in unit of subchannels. Fig. 12 & ¶0121 - Referring to FIG. 12, CBR may denote the number of sub-channels in which a measurement result value of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) has a value greater than or equal to a pre-configured threshold as a result of measuring the RSSI by a UE on a sub-channel basis for a specific period (e.g., 100 ms). …. the CBR may denote a ratio of sub-channels having a value greater than or equal to a pre-configured threshold among sub-channels for a specific duration. Fig. 12-24 & ¶0211 - the maximum SL transmit power value of the UE may be configured differently for the UE for each priority related to SL information (e.g., packet or service). Herein, for example, if the UE performs SL transmission on (logical) slot #N (in the resource pool), a CBR value used to set the maximum SL transmit power value of the UE may be a CBR value measured by the UE on (logical) slot #(N−X) (in the resource pool). Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of “in the limitation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ganesan230’s invention of a system and a method for SL resource assignment for power saving in a wireless communication system to include Lee969’s invention of a system and a method for controlling sidelink (SL) congestion in NR V2X in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for autonomously determining an optimum size and frequency of use for resources to be used by V2X capable terminals, without deteriorating overall performance due to mutual interferences as experienced in a specific region at a specific time in the NR V2X in a wireless communication system. (¶0117-¶0120, Lee969)
Re. Claim 15, Ganesan230 and Lee969 teach claim 1.
Ganesan230 further teaches wherein in a case that the terminal obtains a plurality of sets of first configurations and/or second configurations (Fig. 11-13 & ¶0309: ¶0313 - Channel busy ratio (CBR) reporting per DRX cycle configuration, congestion control per resource pool per DRX cycle configuration. CBR/CR time window size could include one or more DRX cycle configuration. UE reports CBR/CR measurement per each DRX cycle configuration from its configured DRX cycle configuration; Congestion control mechanism of restricting PSSCH/PSCCH TX parameters is performed per resource pool per each DRX cycle configuration; Reconfigure the sidelink DRX configuration like offset, on-duration for a TX UE or group of UEs or destination id(s) based on the congestion control mechanism by receiving CBR/CR measurement per each DRX cycle configuration. Fig. 11-13 & ¶0379: ¶0380 - Receiving a first DRX configuration [for a first SL application], the first DRX configuration including at least one of slot offset, on-duration duration <i.e., activity time/active time> and periodicity. Receiving an indication to perform [partial] sensing, the sensing being performed in a sensing window, the sensing window < i.e., activity time/detection time for sensing window, as per instant application, at least in ¶0070-¶0071> is the active time of the first DRX configuration. Fig. 11-13 & ¶0379: ¶0383 - further comprising receiving a second DRX configuration, the second DRX configuration including at least one of slot offset, on-duration and periodicity, the second configuration to be applied for CBR/CR measurements),
Yet, Ganesan230 does not expressly teach the obtaining a measurement window in case that a target configuration is configured comprises: obtaining, by the terminal, a measurement window in each set of first configurations or each set of second configurations separately.
However, in the analogous art, Lee969 explicitly discloses the obtaining a measurement window in case that a target configuration is configured comprises: obtaining, by the terminal, a measurement window in each set of first configurations or each set of second configurations separately (Fig. 12-24 & ¶0115 - UE may autonomously select a resource within a selective window by performing a sensing and resource (re)selection procedure. For example, the sensing may be performed in unit of subchannels. Fig. 12 & ¶0121 - Referring to FIG. 12, CBR may denote the number of sub-channels in which a measurement result value of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) has a value greater than or equal to a pre-configured threshold as a result of measuring the RSSI by a UE on a sub-channel basis for a specific period (e.g., 100 ms). …. the CBR may denote a ratio of sub-channels having a value greater than or equal to a pre-configured threshold among sub-channels for a specific duration. Fig. 12-24 & ¶0211 - the maximum SL transmit power value of the UE may be configured differently for the UE for each priority related to SL information (e.g., packet or service). Herein, for example, if the UE performs SL transmission on (logical) slot #N (in the resource pool), a CBR value used to set the maximum SL transmit power value of the UE may be a CBR value measured by the UE on (logical) slot #(N−X) (in the resource pool). For example, the X value may be configured differently or independently for the UE for each SL communication-related numerology (e.g., SCS). Fig. 12-24 & ¶0214 - the X value may be configured for the UE for each service type. For example, the X value may be configured for the UE for each service priority. For example, the X value may be configured for the UE for each QoS requirement. For example, X may be 2. For example, the X value may be configured for the UE for each resource pool-related congestion level. … Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “of “in the limitation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ganesan230’s invention of a system and a method for SL resource assignment for power saving in a wireless communication system to include Lee969’s invention of a system and a method for controlling sidelink (SL) congestion in NR V2X in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for autonomously determining an optimum size and frequency of use for resources to be used by V2X capable terminals, without deteriorating overall performance due to mutual interferences as experienced in a specific region at a specific time in the NR V2X in a wireless communication system. (¶0117-¶0120, Lee969)
Re. Claim 17, Ganesan230 and Lee969 teach claim 1.
Yet, Ganesan230 does not expressly teach wherein after the calculating a CBR, the method further comprises: sending the calculated CBR.
However, in the analogous art, Lee969 explicitly discloses wherein after the calculating a CBR, the method further comprises: sending the calculated CBR. (Fig. 12-23 & ¶0119 - UE may determine whether energy measured in a unit time/frequency resource is greater than or equal to a specific level, and may adjust an amount and frequency of use for its transmission resource based on a ratio of the unit time/frequency resource in which the energy greater than or equal to the specific level is observed….the ratio of the time/frequency resource in which the energy greater than or equal to the specific level is observed may be defined as a channel busy ratio (CBR). The UE may measure the CBR (see Table 6) for a channel/frequency….., the UE may transmit the measured CBR to the network/BS. Fig. 15 & ¶0210 - in step S1510, the UE may measure CBR. For example, the UE may measure the CBR for a resource pool. For example, the UE may measure the CBR based on Table 6, and may obtain a CBR value. In step S1520, the UE may perform SL transmission based on the CBR value. For example, the UE may transmit a PSCCH and/or a PSSCH based on the CBR value. For example, the UE may determine transmit power related to the PSCCH and/or the PSSCH based on the CBR value, and the UE may transmit the PSCCH and/or the PSSCH based on the transmit power.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ganesan230’s invention of a system and a method for SL resource assignment for power saving in a wireless communication system to include Lee969’s invention of a system and a method for controlling sidelink (SL) congestion in NR V2X in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for autonomously determining an optimum size and frequency of use for resources to be used by V2X capable terminals, without deteriorating overall performance due to mutual interferences as experienced in a specific region at a specific time in the NR V2X in a wireless communication system. (¶0117-¶0120, Lee969)
Re. Claim 18, Ganesan230 and Lee969 teach claim 1.
Ganesan230 further teaches wherein the method further comprises: in a case that a quantity of resources where the terminal performs partial sensing (Fig. 11-13 & ¶0286 - P-UE is configured with a partial sensing configuration where sensing i.e., decoding SCI and measuring sidelink RSRP is performed only within specified minimum candidate subframe and duration provided as part of the higher layer partial sensing configuration. Fig. 11-13 & ¶0289 - One or more DRX cycle can be configured as part of partial sensing operation where one or more DRX cycle configuration like slot offset, on-duration, periodicity are identical for partial sensing and actual data reception from an application. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “and/or “in the limitation) and/or the terminal performs PSSCH reception and/or the terminal performs PSCCH reception in Z1 measurement window(s) is less than the first preset threshold, not calculating the CBR.
Re. Claim 19, Ganesan230 and Lee969 teach claim 1.
Ganesan230 further teaches wherein in a case that the terminal has a plurality of transmission modes (See table 3 & ¶0082 in page 15),
Yet, Ganesan230 does not expressly teach in a case that a quantity of resources where the terminal performs partial sensing and/or where the terminal performs PSSCH reception and/or the terminal performs PSCCH reception in Z1 measurement window(s) is greater than or equal to a first preset threshold, calculating a CBR comprises: in the case that a quantity of measurable resources comprised in the measurement window is greater than or equal to the first preset value; and/or, in the case that a quantity of resources the terminal performs partial sensing and/or the terminal performs PSSCH reception and/or the terminal performs PSCCH reception in Z1 measurement window(s) is greater than or equal to the first preset threshold, separately calculating the CBR for at least one of the plurality of transmission modes.
However, in the analogous art, Lee969 explicitly discloses in a case that a quantity of resources where the terminal performs partial sensing and/or where the terminal performs PSSCH reception and/or the terminal performs PSCCH reception in Z1 measurement window(s) is greater than or equal to a first preset threshold, calculating a CBR comprises: in the case that a quantity of measurable resources comprised in the measurement window is greater than or equal to the first preset value (Fig. 12 & ¶0121 - Referring to FIG. 12, CBR may denote the number of sub-channels in which a measurement result value of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) has a value greater than or equal to a pre-configured threshold as a result of measuring the RSSI by a UE on a sub-channel basis for a specific period (e.g., 100 ms). Alternatively, the CBR may denote a ratio of sub-channels having a value greater than or equal to a pre-configured threshold among sub-channels for a specific duration. Fig. 12-24 & ¶0282 – CBR may be measured for the resource pool for a time interval including a plurality of slots before the first slot. For example, the CBR may be measured for the resource pool for the time interval from (i) a third slot before 100 slots from the first slot to (ii) a fourth slot before 1 slot from the first slot. For example, the CBR may be measured for the resource pool for the time interval from (i) 100 ms before the first slot to (ii) 1 ms before the first slot. Fig. 12-24 & ¶0285 - the first device may transmit, to the second device, information related to a sensing type of the first device. For example, the sensing type may include partial sensing or full sensing. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “and/or “in the limitation.); and/or, in the case that a quantity of resources the terminal performs partial sensing and/or the terminal performs PSSCH reception and/or the terminal performs PSCCH reception in Z1 measurement window(s) is greater than or equal to the first preset threshold, separately calculating the CBR for at least one of the plurality of transmission modes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ganesan230’s invention of a system and a method for SL resource assignment for power saving in a wireless communication system to include Lee969’s invention of a system and a method for controlling sidelink (SL) congestion in NR V2X in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for autonomously determining an optimum size and frequency of use for resources to be used by V2X capable terminals, without deteriorating overall performance due to mutual interferences as experienced in a specific region at a specific time in the NR V2X in a wireless communication system. (¶0117-¶0120, Lee969)
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan230, in view of Lee969, further in view of Lee et al. (2023/0007670), Lee670 hereinafter
Re. Claim 3, Ganesan230 and Lee969 teach claim 1.
Yet, Ganesan230 does not expressly teach calculating, by the terminal, the CBR, in a case that a quantity of measurable resources comprised in the measurement window is greater than or equal to a first preset value;
However, in the analogous art, Lee969 explicitly discloses calculating, by the terminal, the CBR, in a case that a quantity of measurable resources comprised in the measurement window is greater than or equal to a first preset value (Fig. 12 & ¶0121 - Referring to FIG. 12, CBR may denote the number of sub-channels in which a measurement result value of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) has a value greater than or equal to a pre-configured threshold as a result of measuring the RSSI by a UE on a sub-channel basis for a specific period (e.g., 100 ms). Alternatively, the CBR may denote a ratio of sub-channels having a value greater than or equal to a pre-configured threshold among sub-channels for a specific duration. Fig. 12-24 & ¶0282 – CBR may be measured for the resource pool for a time interval including a plurality of slots before the first slot. For example, the CBR may be measured for the resource pool for the time interval from (i) a third slot before 100 slots from the first slot to (ii) a fourth slot before 1 slot from the first slot. For example, the CBR may be measured for the resource pool for the time interval from (i) 100 ms before the first slot to (ii) 1 ms before the first slot. Fig. 12-24 & ¶0285 - the first device may transmit, to the second device, information related to a sensing type of the first device. For example, the sensing type may include partial sensing or full sensing.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ganesan230’s invention of a system and a method for SL resource assignment for power saving in a wireless communication system to include Lee969’s invention of a system and a method for controlling sidelink (SL) congestion in NR V2X in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for autonomously determining an optimum size and frequency of use for resources to be used by V2X capable terminals, without deteriorating overall performance due to mutual interferences as experienced in a specific region at a specific time in the NR V2X in a wireless communication system. (¶0117-¶0120, Lee969)
Yet, Ganesan230 and Lee969 do not expressly teach wherein the first preset value is either of the following: 100*2µ*J, wherein µ is an integer greater than or equal to 0, and J is greater than 0; and a numerical value related to the target configuration.
However, in the analogous art, Lee670 explicitly discloses wherein the first preset value is either of the following: 100*2µ*J, wherein µ is an integer greater than or equal to 0, and J is greater than 0; and a numerical value related to the target configuration (Fig. 12- 13 & ¶0115 - Referring to FIG. 12, CBR may denote the number of sub-channels in which a measurement result value of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) has a value greater than or equal to a pre-configured threshold as a result of measuring the RSSI by a UE on a sub-channel basis for a specific period (e.g., 100 ms). Alternatively, the CBR may denote a ratio of sub-channels having a value greater than or equal to a pre-configured threshold among sub-channels for a specific duration. For example, in the embodiment of FIG. 12, if it is assumed that a hatched sub-channel is a sub-channel having a value greater than or equal to a pre-configured threshold, the CBR may denote a ratio of the hatched sub-channels for a period of 100 ms. Also, see ¶0113. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “either of the following “in the limitation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ganesan230’s invention of a system and a method for SL resource assignment for power saving in a wireless communication system and Lee969’s invention of a system and a method for controlling sidelink (SL) congestion in NR V2X in a wireless communication system to include Lee670’s invention of method and device for performing congestion control in 5G/NR (New Radio) V2X (Vehicle-to-everything) communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a wireless device capable of sidelink communication in determining power for SL (sidelink) transmission based on congestion control, paves the way for overall performance improvement with reduced mutual interferences for wireless devices performing V2X sidelink communication in a specific region at a specific time in the in 5G/NR (New Radio) V2X wireless network system. (¶0112-¶0113, Lee670)
Re. Claim 5, Ganesan230 and Lee969 claim 1.
Yet, Ganesan230 and Lee969 do not expressly teach wherein the measurement window satisfies at least one of the following: a proportion of resources within the active time and/or the detection time in Z2 measurement windows is greater than or equal to a second preset threshold; a quantity of resources within the inactive time and/or the non-detection time in Z3 measurement windows is less than or equal to a third preset threshold; a proportion of resources within the in active time and/or the non-detection time in Z4 measurement windows is less than or equal to a fourth preset threshold; a quantity of resources comprised in Z5 measurement windows is greater than or equal to a fifth preset threshold; a ratio of a quantity of resources comprised in Z6 measurement windows is greater than or equal to a sixth preset threshold; a quantity of resources comprised in Z7 active times and/or the detection times is greater than or equal to a seventh preset threshold; and a ratio of a quantity of resources comprised in Z8 active times and/or the detection times is greater than or equal to an eighth preset threshold, wherein Z1, Z2, Z3, Z4, Z5, Z6, Z7, and Z8 are positive integers.
However, in the analogous art, Lee670 explicitly discloses wherein the measurement window satisfies at least one of the following: a proportion of resources within the active time and/or the detection time in Z2 measurement windows is greater than or equal to a second preset threshold; a quantity of resources within the inactive time and/or the non-detection time in Z3 measurement windows is less than or equal to a third preset threshold; a proportion of resources within the in active time and/or the non-detection time in Z4 measurement windows is less than or equal to a fourth preset threshold; a quantity of resources comprised in Z5 measurement windows is greater than or equal to a fifth preset threshold (Fig. 12-13 & ¶0113 - the UE may need to observe a channel situation. If it is determined that an excessively great amount of resources are consumed, it is preferable that the UE autonomously decreases the use of resources. In the present disclosure, this may be defined as congestion control (CR). For example, the UE may determine whether energy measured in a unit time/frequency resource is greater than or equal to a specific level (interpreted as a to a fifth preset threshold), and may adjust an amount and frequency of use for its transmission resource based on a ratio of the unit time/frequency resource in which the energy greater than or equal to the specific level (interpreted as a to a fifth preset threshold) is observed. In the present disclosure, the ratio of the time/frequency resource in which the energy greater than or equal to the specific level (interpreted as a to a fifth preset threshold) is observed may be defined as a channel busy ratio (CBR). The UE may measure the CBR for a channel/frequency. Also, see ¶0115. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of “in the limitation ); a ratio of a quantity of resources comprised in Z6 measurement windows is greater than or equal to a sixth preset threshold; a quantity of resources comprised in Z7 active times and/or the detection times is greater than or equal to a seventh preset threshold; and a ratio of a quantity of resources comprised in Z8 active times and/or the detection times is greater than or equal to an eighth preset threshold, wherein Z1, Z2, Z3, Z4, Z5, Z6, Z7, and Z8 are positive integers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ganesan230’s invention of a system and a method for SL resource assignment for power saving in a wireless communication system and Lee969’s invention of a system and a method for controlling sidelink (SL) congestion in NR V2X in a wireless communication system to include Lee670’s invention of method and device for performing congestion control in 5G/NR (New Radio) V2X (Vehicle-to-everything) communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a wireless device capable of sidelink communication in determining power for SL (sidelink) transmission based on congestion control, paves the way for overall performance improvement with reduced mutual interferences for wireless devices performing V2X sidelink communication in a specific region at a specific time in the in 5G/NR (New Radio) V2X wireless network system. (¶0112-¶0113, Lee670)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-7, 9-10 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The Examiner has conducted a search of Patent and Non-Patent Literature and was unable to find any prior art which solely or in combination with another reference teaches the limitation of:
Claim 4 – wherein the measurement window comprises an active time and/or a detection time, and a quantity of resources comprised in the active time and/or the detection time is greater than or equal to a second preset value, and/or a quantity of resources comprised in the inactive time and/or the non-detection time is less than a third preset value; wherein the method further comprises: in a case that a first condition is satisfied, performing, by the terminal, a second operation, wherein the second operation comprises at least one of the following: not calculating the CBR; and not performing a processing operation based on the calculated CBR, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: the quantity of resources comprised in the active time and/or the detection time is less than the second preset value; and the quantity of resources comprised in the inactive time and/or the non-detection time is greater than or equal to the third preset value; wherein the performing a second operation comprises: performing, by the terminal, the second operation for at least one of the following: all configurations obtained by the terminal; active times and/or detection times of all configurations obtained by the terminal; a target configuration to which an active time and/or a detection time not satisfying a requirement of the second preset value belongs; all active times and/or detection times of a target configuration to which an active time and/or a detection time not satisfying a requirement of the second preset value belongs; a resource pool corresponding to an active time and/or a detection time not satisfying a requirement of the second preset value; and an active time and/or a detection time not satisfying a requirement of the second preset value.
Claim 6 – wherein the first resource comprises a measurement window, and the measurement window comprises at least one active time and/or one detection time; and the performing a first operation based on the first resource the calculating, by the terminal, a channel busy rate CBR, in a case that a quantity of measurable resources comprised in the measurement window is greater than or equal to a first preset value; and/or, in a case that a quantity of resources where the terminal performs partial sensing and/or where the terminal performs PSSCH reception and/or where the terminal performs PSCCH reception in Z1 measurement window(s) is greater than or equal to a first preset threshold comprises: calculating, by the terminal, the CBR the first operation based on a resource within the at least one activity time active time and/or detection time in the case that the quantity of measurable resources comprised in the measurement window is greater than or equal to the first preset value; and/or, in the case that the quantity of resources where the terminal performs partial sensing and/or where the terminal performs PSSCH reception and/or where the terminal performs PSCCH reception in Z1 measurement window(s) is greater than or equal to the first preset threshold; wherein the obtaining a measurement window in a target configuration when a target configuration is configured comprises: obtaining, by the terminal, first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to determine a measurement window that requires target monitoring and/or that is used to determine the target quantity calculate the CBR; wherein the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of the following: an active time and/or a detection time corresponding to the measurement window; a quantity of activity times active times and/or detection times corresponding to the measurement window; a preset active time and/or a preset detection time corresponding to the measurement window; a start point of an e active time and/or a detection time corresponding to the measurement window; an end point of an active time and/or a detection time corresponding to the measurement window; a quantity of measurement windows; and the measurement window ;in a case that the first indication information is determined by the terminal, an active time and/or a detection time determined based on the first indication information is a latest active time and/or a latest detection time that satisfies a requirement of a second preset value; the measurement window comprises resources belonging to a first resource pool and/or a preset resource pool ;wherein the performing the first operation calculating the CBR based on a resource within the at least one activity time active time and/or detection time comprises either of the following: calculating, by the terminal, the CBR based on a resource that is within the at least one activity time active time and/or detection time and that belongs to the preset resource pool; and calculating, by the terminal, the CBR based on a resource that is within the at least one activity time active time and/or detection time and that belongs to the first resource pool; the calculating CBR based on a resource within the at least one activity time active time and/or detection time comprises: determining, by the terminal, a first target quantity based on the resource within the at least one activity time active time and/or detection time; and adjusting, by the terminal, the first target quantity by using a first scale factor, to obtain the target quantity CBR; wherein the first scale factor is either of the following: a ratio between a fourth preset value and a quantity of resources within the at least one activity time active time and/or detection time; and a ratio between a total quantity of resources in a reference window and a quantity of resources within the at least one activity time active time and/or detection time.
Claim 7 – wherein the calculating a CBR comprises one of the following: calculating, by the terminal, the CBR based on a resource that is in the measurement window and that overlaps the active time and/or the detection time; and calculating, by the terminal, the CBR based on a remaining resource after the inactive time and/or the non-detection time is excluded from the measurement window; wherein the measurement window is within the active time and/or the detection time; or the measurement window comprises the inactive time and/or the non-detection time; a quantity of overlapping resources is greater than or equal to a ninth preset threshold; and the ninth preset threshold is either of the following: 100*2µ*J, wherein µ is an integer greater than or equal to 0, and J is greater than 0; and a numerical value related to the target configuration; the overlapping resource is not later than a first time point, and the overlapping resource is a resource closest to the first time point, within the active time and/or the detection time comprised in the target configuration, wherein the first time point is a time point related to triggering of CBR calculating; the obtaining a measurement window a target configuration is configured comprises: obtaining, by the terminal, second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used to determine a measurement window that is used to calculate the CBR; wherein the second indication information is used to indicate at least one of the following: an active time and/or a detection time comprised in the measurement window; a quantity of active times and/or detection times comprised in the measurement window; an active time and/or a detection time that is used to calculate the CBR, wherein the active time and/or the detection time corresponds to the measurement window; a quantity of activity times that are used to calculate the CBR, wherein the active times and/or detection times correspond to the measurement window; a preset active time and/or a preset detection time that is used to calculate the CBR, wherein the preset active time and/or the preset detection time corresponds to the measurement window; a start point of an active time and/or the detection time that is used to calculate the CBR, wherein the active time and/or the detection time corresponds to the measurement window; and an end point of an active time and/or an detection time that is used to calculate the CBR, wherein the active time and/or the detection time corresponds to the measurement window; the measurement window comprises resources belonging to a first resource pool and/or a preset resource pool; wherein the calculating the CBR based on a resource that is in the measurement window and that overlaps the active time and/or the detection time comprises either of the following: calculating, by the terminal, the CBR based on a resource that is in the measurement window and that overlaps the active time and/or the detection time and belongs to the first resource pool; and calculating, by the terminal, the CBR based on a resource that is in the measurement window and that overlaps the active time and/or the detection time and belongs to the preset resource pool; the calculating the CBR based on a resource that is in the measurement window and that overlaps the active time and/or the detection time comprises: determining, by the terminal, a second target quantity based on the resource that is in the measurement window and that overlaps the active time and/or the detection time; and adjusting, by the terminal, the second target quantity by using a second scale factor, to obtain the CBR; wherein the second scale factor is a ratio between a fifth preset value and a quantity of resources within an active time and/or a detection time corresponding to the measurement window..
Claim 9 – wherein the calculating a CBR comprises: performing, by the terminal, target monitoring based on a resource in the measurement window, to obtain a first monitoring result; and calculating, by the terminal, a ratio between a quantity of resources whose first monitoring results are higher or lower than a tenth preset threshold and a first quantity, to obtain the CBR; or calculating, by the terminal, a ratio between a quantity of resources satisfying a first relationship with the first monitoring results and a first quantity, to obtain the CBR, wherein the first quantity is any one of the following: a quantity of resources in the measurement window; a quantity of resources that are in the measurement window and within the active time and/or the detection time; a quantity of resources in a first measurement window; and a quantity of resources that are in a first measurement window and within the active time and/or the detection time; wherein the performing target monitoring based on a resource in the measurement window, to obtain a first monitoring result comprises: determining, by the terminal, the first monitoring result based on a resource that is in the measurement window and within the active time and/or the detection time; wherein in a case that the measurement window comprises the inactive time and/or the non-detection time, the calculating a ratio between a quantity of resources whose first monitoring results are higher or lower than a tenth preset threshold and a first quantity, to obtain the CBR comprises: calculating, by the terminal, a ratio between a quantity of resources whose first monitoring results are higher or lower than an adjusted tenth preset threshold and the first quantity, to obtain the CBR, wherein the adjusted tenth preset threshold is obtained by adjusting the tenth preset threshold by using a first adjustment value; wherein the tenth preset threshold is a threshold obtained by the terminal for calculating the CBR; or the tenth preset threshold is a threshold obtained by the terminal for calculating the CBR when the target configuration is not activated or enabled, and the adjusted tenth preset threshold is a threshold for calculating the CBR after the target configuration is activated or enabled; the first adjustment value is related to a first ratio; and the first ratio is a ratio between the active time and/or the detection time comprised in the target configuration and the inactive time and/or the non-detection time comprised in the target configuration.
Claim 10 – wherein the calculating a CRB comprises: performing, by the terminal, target monitoring based on a resource that is in the measurement window and within the active time and/or the detection time, to obtain a second monitoring result; performing, by the terminal, target monitoring based on a resource that is in the measurement window and within the inactive time and/or the non-detection time, to obtain a third monitoring result; determining, by the terminal, a second ratio based on the second monitoring result; determining, by the terminal, a third ratio based on the third monitoring result; and obtaining, by the terminal, the CBR based on the second ratio and the third ratio; wherein the obtaining the CBR based on the second ratio and the third ratio comprises: adjusting, by the terminal, the second ratio by using a second adjustment value, and/or adjusting the third ratio by using a third adjustment value; and obtaining, by the terminal, the CBR based on any one of the following: an adjusted second ratio and the third ratio; the second ratio and an adjusted third ratio; and an adjusted second ratio and an adjusted third ratio.
Claim 16 – wherein in a case that the terminal obtains a plurality of sets of first configurations and/or second configurations, the calculating a CBR comprises: calculating, by the terminal, the CBR for each set of first configurations or each set of second configurations separately; before the obtaining a measurement window a target configuration is configured, the method further comprises either of the following: determining, by the terminal, that simultaneous enabling of the first configuration and the second configuration is not allowed; and determining, by the terminal, that the measurement window for calculating the CBR satisfies a constraint of the first configuration and/or the second configuration; wherein the determining that the measurement window for calculating the CBR satisfies a constraint of the first configuration and/or the second configuration comprises: obtaining, by the terminal, constraint indication information; and determining, by the terminal based on the constraint indication information, that the measurement window for calculating the CBR satisfies the constraint of the first configuration and/or the second configuration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/29/2025 with respect to claims 1 and 20 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding arguments in page 16 as submitted on 12/29/2025 for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that Tseng (2023/0066448, provisional 62/964,012) fails to teach the amended claimed limitation, such as, “calculating, by the terminal, a channel busy rate CBR, in a case that a quantity of resources where the terminal performs partial sensing and/or the terminal performs physical sidelink shared channel PSSCH reception and/or the terminal performs physical sidelink control channel PSCCH reception in Zl measurement window(s) is greater than or equal to a first preset threshold, Zl is a positive integer. (Annotation and Emphasis added”, termed as Feature A. Tseng is NOT used in the instant office action.
Examiner agrees, however, in the analogous art, Lee969 (2022/0416969), discloses the limited. For example, Lee969 discloses that the highlighted limitation (due to the presence of “and/or”) as pointed out by the applicant at page 16 as submitted on 12/29/2025.
Lee969 discloses that UE may autonomously select a resource within a selective window by performing a sensing and resource (re)selection procedure. For example, the sensing may be performed in unit of subchannels. See ¶0115 along with Fig. 12-14. Lee969 further discloses that CBR may denote the number of sub-channels (see Fig. 12) in which a measurement result value of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) has a value greater than or equal to a pre-configured threshold as a result of measuring the RSSI by a UE on a sub-channel basis for a specific period (e.g., 100 ms). …. the CBR may denote a ratio of sub-channels having a value greater than or equal to a pre-configured threshold among sub-channels for a specific duration. See ¶0121 along with Fig. 12.
The same argument is applicable for independent claim 20.
For reasons as explained supra, it is maintained that independent claim 1 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan230, in view of Lee969.
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claim 1, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu et al; (2023/0082194); See Abstract, ¶0006-¶0070, ¶0078-¶0558 along with Fig.1-11.
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467