DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office action is in response to the amendments filed with the abovementioned request for continued examination filed on December 9, 2025.
Receipt and entry of the replacement drawing for Figure 1, the amendments to the specification, the amended abstract, and the amended claims are acknowledged.
Applicant’s statement of the substance of the interview held on November 25, 2025 is acknowledged and is acceptable.
Claims 1, 2, and 4 through 18 are pending, all as amended directly or indirectly.
Response to Arguments
Upon reconsideration in view of the amendments and persuasive arguments filed on December 9, 2025, the examiner hereby withdraws the various objections and rejections as cited in the previous Office action.
Drawings
The replacement drawings for Figure 1 were received on December 9, 2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 through 7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (U.S. Patent No. 7,948,767 B2).
With regard to claim 1 of the instant application, Chen discloses a heat dissipation structure 1 essentially as claimed, including, for example: a plate 16; a heating element comprising a housing (broadly readable on protection layer 14) having a first surface attached to the plate 16, and a second side opposite and parallel to the first surface and having an opening (i.e., as shown in the figures), and a heater or semiconductor die 10 positioned inside the housing 14 and facing the opening on the second side and from which heat is emitted; a vapor chamber or heat pipe 122 (i.e., see column 4, lines 28-32) in thermal contact with the heater or die 10 via the opening and configured to receive and diffuse the heat emitted from the heater or die 10; a thermal pad (i.e., readable on bond pads 17) configured to transfer the heat received from the vapor chamber or heat pipe 122 to a heat sink or fins 124 (i.e., at least indirectly as broadly interpreted as required); and, the heat sink or fins 124 attached to the thermal pad or bond pads 17 (i.e., at least indirectly as broadly interpreted as required) and configured to emit the heat received from the thermal pad or bond pads 17.
With regard to claim 2 of the instant application, Chen further discloses a thermal compound or thermal adhesive in gap 11 (i.e., see column 5, lines 39-42) applied between the heating element or die 10 plus housing 14 and the vapor chamber or heat pipe 122 (i.e., as shown in Figure 6E, for example) to transfer heat from the heating element to the vapor chamber or heat pipe 122.
With regard to claim 4 of the instant application, Chen further discloses that the thermal compound in gap 11 is applied on an upper surface of the heater or die 10 as shown in at least Figure 6E.
With regard to claim 5 of the instant application, Chen further discloses that the vapor chamber or heat pipe 122 comprises a protrusion (i.e., rounded bottom end of the heat pipe 122 as shown in at least Figure 6E) at least partially inserted into the opening on the second side of the housing 14.
With regard to claim 6 of the instant application, Chen further discloses that the thermal pad or bond pads 17 is configured to bond the vapor chamber or heat pipe 122 and the heat sink (i.e., in this case the heat sink being alternately and broadly readable as required on the bottom portion of housing 18 in Figure 6E at least).
With regard to claim 7 of the instant application, Chen further discloses at least one connector (i.e., broadly readable on the bottom portion of the housing 18 as shown in Figure 6E) connecting the vapor chamber or heat pipe 122 and the plate 16 (i.e., as shown in Figure 6E at least).
With regard to claim 11 of the instant application, Chen further discloses that the thermal compound in gap 11 is at an interface directly between the vapor chamber or heat pipe 122 and the heater or die 10 (i.e., as shown in Figure 6E).
The reference thus reads on the claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 through 10 and 12 through 18 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not show nor reasonably suggest the heat dissipation structure including all of the various elements in combination which are structurally and functionally interrelated as recited in claims 8 through 10 and 12 through 18 of the instant application.
Conclusion
/Ljiljana V. Ciric/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
LJILJANA (Lil) V. CIRIC
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3763