DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. Applicant’s amendment and accompanying remarks filed 12/29/25 have been fully considered and entered. Claims 1 and 8-10 have been amended as requested. Claim 7 has been canceled. Applicant’s amendments are not found sufficient to overcome the cited prior art of record and Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive of patentability.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicants argue a lack of motivation to combine references on the grounds that while the secondary reference of Uekusa et al., US 2012/0220728 teach the claimed nucleating agent of 2,2-methylenebis(4,6-di-t-butylphenyl) sodium phosphate (Uekusa et al., title, abstract, paragraph 0262), the resins used in the examples of Uekusa all have melting points of 250 °C or lower, and no description is provided regarding their thermal decomposition temperatures. Accordingly, Applicants submit that Uekusa et al., neither discloses nor suggests the requirement and effect of the claimed invention; namely, using a resin (A) having a high melting point and thus requiring a high molding temperature in combination with an aromatic cyclic phosphate ester represented by formula (1) as a foaming nucleating agent (B).
In response, it is respectfully pointed out that the primary reference of Shiotsuki et al., was relied upon to teach a resin composition comprising a fluororesin (A) and a filler (X) and a nucleating agent (B) (title, abstract, 0057 and 0063-0065). Said resin can include a fluororesin but can also include the claimed thermoplastic resins of polyetheretherketones (PEEK) and polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) resins (paragraph 0078). The Examiner is of the position that the (PEEK) resin which is a species of PAEK type resins and/or a PPS resin would have the claimed dielectric constant value, pyrolosis temperature and melting point temperatures as set forth in claims 1,2 and 4. Applicants are invited to prove otherwise. The secondary reference of Uekusa et al., was relied upon to teach a resin composition that can be foamed and molded comprising the claimed nucleating agent of 2,2-methylenebis(4,6-di-t-butylphenyl) sodium phosphate (title, abstract, paragraph 0262). Uekusa et al., teach that nucleating agents further improve moldability (paragraphs 0262 and 0393). The Examiner maintains that based on the combined disclosures of Shiotsuki et al., and Uekusa et al., a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the nucleating agent of Uekusa et al., can be used as the nucleating agent in the composition of Shiotsuki et al., to further improve the moldability. Uekusa et al., was not relied upon to teach the claimed resin (A). It is also noted that Applicants do not claim that resin (A) has a “high” melting point and thus requiring a “high molding temperature”. The Examiner is of the position that Applicants arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claimed subject matter. Further, the "test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference... Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art", In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413,208 USPQ 871,881 (CCPA 1981) and that "combining the teachings of references does not involve an ability to combine their specific structures", In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USP 224, 226 (CCPA)
As such, the Examiner maintains that it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to formulate the resin composition of Shiotsuki et al., with the nucleating agent of 2,2-methylenebis(4,6-di-t-butylphenyl) sodium phosphate as taught by Uekusa et al. The modification involves the mere substitution of one nucleating agent with another nucleating to further improve moldability and would yield a predictable variation whose application is well within the skill of the art.
For these reasons, the Examiner maintains that the combination of cited prior art renders the rejected claims obvious.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-16 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiotsuki et al., US 2004/0198886 in view of Uekusa et al., US 2012/0220728.
The published patent application issued to Shiotsuki et al., teach a resin composition comprising a fluororesin (A) and a filler (X) and a nucleating agent (B) (title, abstract, 0057 and 0063-0065). Said resin can include a fluororesin but can also include the claimed thermoplastic resins of polyetheretherketones (PEEK) and polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) resins (paragraph 0078). The Examiner is of the position that the (PEEK) resin which is a species of PAEK type resins and/or a PPS resin would have the claimed dielectric constant value, pyrolosis temperature and melting point temperatures as set forth in claims 1,2 and 4. Applicants are invited to prove otherwise. Shiotsuki et al., further teach that other components may also be a sulfonic or phosphonic acid or a salt thereof, and such acid or salt includes free acid and salt forms of totally or partially fluorinated aliphatic sulfonic and phosphonic acids optionally having cycloalkyl groups and/or ether oxygens as well as free acid and salt forms of aromatic sulfonic and phosphonic acids whose aromatic ring may optionally have a substituted alkyl, fluorine-containing alkyl and/or hydroxyl group(s) (paragraph 0081). Shiotsuki et al., teach that the foamed composition can be used as a covering to insulate wiring (paragraph 0147).
With regard to the claimed phosphoric acid ester and salts and complexes as set forth in claims 1 and 6-10, Shiotsuki et al., teach adding nucleating agents and phosphonic acid and salts thereof, but fails to explicitly teach the claimed phosphoric acid ester and salts and complexes.
The published patent application issued to Uekusa et al., teach a resin composition that can be foamed and molded comprising the claimed nucleating agent of 2,2-methylenebis(4,6-di-t-butylphenyl) sodium phosphate (title, abstract, paragraph 0262). Uekusa et al., teach that nucleating agents further improve moldability (paragraphs 0262 and 0393).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to formulate the resin composition of Shiotsuki et al., with the nucleating agent of 2,2-methylenebis(4,6-di-t-butylphenyl) sodium phosphate as taught by Uekusa et al. The modification involves the mere substitution of one nucleating agent with another nucleating to further improve moldability and would yield a predictable variation whose application is well within the skill of the art.
With regard to the claimed molding ratio set forth in claims 12 and 14, the combination of cited prior art does not explicitly teach this limitation. The Examiner is of the position that absent unexpected results it would be obvious to optimize the foaming ratio of the molded body and/or covering as function of desired final intended use. It has been held that the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable that might be characterized as routine experimentation is not patentable. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10, 14, 17, 24 and 25 of co-pending Application No. 18/158748(reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter sought is encompassed by subject matter of co-pending Application No. 18/158748.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
6. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LYNDA SALVATORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789