DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is indefinite as to whether the “strain” is required to be the “strain” as recited in claim 1. The word - - the - - should be inserted before “strain” to avoid this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
he following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bobeck et al (US 11,542,211) ( with reliance on corresponding provisional application No. 62/169,942).
Regarding claim 1, Provisional application 62/169,942 discloses Gluconacetobacter diazotrophicus as a microbe capable of nitrogen fixation on page 5, lines 10-13 and in section (6) in claim 2. The difference between the composition disclosed in provisional 62/169962, and that recited in applicant’s claims, is that provisional 62/169962 does not disclose that the strain of Gluconacetobacter diazotrophicus is a strain deposited with CABI in the United Kingdom under deposit accession number IMI 504958 or under deposit accession number IMI 504998. It would be obvious to provide a strain of Gluconacetobacter diazotrophicus having properties identical or similar to the strains recited in applicant’s claim 1 as the nitrogen fixation strains of provisional 62/169962. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, since one could determine through routine experimentation which strains would be capable of nitrogen fixation, and there is no evidence on record of unexpected results which would emanate from the use of the strains recited in claim 1, as opposed to other nitrogen fixation strains of Gluconacetobacter diazotrophicus.
There is no “description support” in applicant’s foreign priority document (United Kingdom GB 1413333.4 which was filed on July 28, 2014) for a strain deposited with CABI in the United Kingdom under deposit accession number IMI 504958 (formerly IMI 504853). Accordingly the earliest effective filing date which can be accorded applicant’s claims is July 28, 2015 (the filing date of grandparent application 15/326996), and Bobeck et al is properly available as prior art since the filing date of its corresponding provisional application pre-dates applicant’s earliest effective filing date.
Regarding claim 2, provisional application 62/169942 discloses on page 9, lines 8-11 that the composition can be applied to a plant or plant seed.
Regarding claim 3, provisional application 62/169942 discloses on page 9, lines 3-7 that the microbial inoculant is present in a fertilizer composition.
Regarding claim 4, provisional application 62/169942 discloses a solvent-based formulation. Such formulation would typically be applied as a spray, especially since provisional application 62/169942 discloses that the composition can be applied to the plant or plant part.
Conclusion
The articles by Christina Kennedy, Luc F. M. Rouws, L. F. M. Rous, Rodrigo V. Serrato and Euan K. James are made of record for disclosing various strains of Gluconacetobacter diazotrophicus.
/WAYNE A LANGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736