Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Remarks pg. 5-6, filed May 26, 2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed May 26, 2026, with respect to the rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Koch fails to teach “an accessory comprising a ‘first resistive element provided on the plug’ and a ‘second resistive element provided on the plug,’” because “[t]he probe 108 is a distinct and separate component from the plug 104 and an element located on a probe at one end of a cable cannot be considered ‘provided on the plug’ at the other end.” (Applicant Remarks, pg. 6)
This is not persuasive. Koch discloses a temperature sensing probe with resistive elements in connection with contact engagement elements at the plug. For each circuit (Terminals A, B and C), a resistor at any point in the circuit will be sensed by the controller through the contact element as each contact element is electrically connected to their respective resistive elements and dictated by Ohm’s Law. To this point, Fig. 1 in Koch specifically illustrates the measuring sensors are schematically provided at the plug, because the change in Voltage/Current across each contact element is directly associated with the change in resistance in the measuring sensors. Put simply, each contact element provides the resistance of measuring sensors (109-111) detected by the controller, and thus, the resistive elements can be understood to be provided on the plug.
For further support, other patents in the art (Citations directly follow) demonstrate that the electrical components associated with the contact points of a TRS/TRRS plug are not physically provided on the plug, but in electrical contact with the socket via a lead wire connection, and still schematically represented as physically “on” the plug. (References: US 2016/0026768 [Fig. 2], EP 2980549 [Fig. 4], DE 102020105475 [Figs. 10-12] and CN 115183898 [Figs. 1-8])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koch.
Regarding Claim 1, Koch discloses,
a cooking appliance assembly [Fig. 1], comprising:
a cooking appliance [Fig. 1 (101)] defining a port [Fig. 1] (Examiner Note: Koch discloses a socket, which is necessarily contained in a port.) comprising a socket [Fig. 1 (105)];
at least one cooking accessory [Fig. 1 (102)] selectively coupled to the port [Fig. 1, para. 59] (Examiner Note: Koch discloses the accessory is coupled via a connection between the plug and socket, which lies within a port, and thus reads onto this limitation.), the at least one cooking accessory [Fig. 1 (102)] comprising:
an accessory sensor [Fig. 1 (108)];
a plug [Fig. 1 (104)] selectively engaged with the socket [Fig. 1 (105)];
a first resistive element [Fig. 1 (109)] provided on the plug [(104), para. 41] (Examiner Note: Noting the response to argument above, Koch discloses a resistive element connected to a corresponding plug contact (112) that provides electrical contact engagement with the socket, and thus reads onto this limitation.), the first resistive element being configured to obtain a voltage change relating to the cooking accessory [paras. 9, 26] (Examiner Note: Koch discloses a circuit where the voltage across first resistive element (109) relates to the temperature measured by the cooking accessory, and therefore anticipates this limitation.)
and a second resistive element [Fig. 1 (110)] provided on the plug [Fig. 1 (104)] (Examiner Note: Koch discloses a second resistive element connected to a corresponding plug contact (113) that provides electrical contact engagement with the socket, and thus reads onto this limitation.) adjacent to the first resistive element [Fig. 1 (110), paras. 41-42], the second resistive element having a unique resistance value [Fig. 1 (110)] directly associated with the cooking accessory (Examiner Note: As a voltage will be sensed across the second resistor only when a 3-point gravitometer is connected, thus any non-null resistance value is directly associated with a 3-point gravitometer. As the sensed resistance values associated with a 1 vs 3-point gravitometer are different from each other, Koch is understood to disclose this limitation.) to adjust a resolution of a determined voltage change sensed by the accessory sensor. [Para. 68] (Examiner Note: Koch discloses the use of a second resistive element helps verify the sensor resistance value. As the determination of the sensor resistance affects the resolution, it can be understood to read onto this limitation. Moreover, the addition of resistors as disclosed in Koch will increase the resolution of the sensor as it helps reduce noise by allowing more accurate calibration of the sensor signal, and increase the gain of the signal.)
Regarding claim 9, the cooking appliance assembly of claim 1, wherein the accessory sensor [Fig. 1 (102)] further comprises at least one temperature sensor [Fig. 1 (109-111)] for measuring a temperature of an item within the cooking appliance. [“The thermometer 102 has a probe on the front side, which is designed as a three-point probe 108, which can be introduced into a food to be cooked.” Para. 39]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koch et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gregory.
As discussed above, Koch discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Regarding claim 2, Koch further discloses the controller ([107]) is communicatively coupled ([106]) with the at least one cooking accessory and the controller performs an operation of determining the accessory type. [para. 34] (Examiner Note: Koch discloses the apparatus automatically detects whether the device is a 1- or 3-point thermometer, and thus determines the accessory type.) Koch further discloses that the voltage change relating to the cooking accessory corresponds to a temperature change of an item within the appliance, but does not explicitly disclose a method to determine the temperature corresponding to the voltage. [paras. 3, 9, 39] (Examiner Note: Koch discloses that the measured voltage change detected by the sensor is converted to determine the temperature of the item, but does not disclose a table or equation to determine this temperature.)
Koch does not disclose the controller selecting a corresponding temperature table or equation based on the determined type of the at least one cooking accessory.
However, Gregory discloses, “programmed options can be made available for user selection of various types of food that can are intended to be cooked with the particular configuration of accessory 10 identified. Such selections can have corresponding, associated cook times and temperatures (and corresponding ranges of power output required to achieve such temperatures) that can be automatically implemented based on selection of one of such options.” [para 25] In other words, a temperature table for the determined type of accessory is selected by the controller and thus meets this limitation.
Regarding claim 8, Koch does not disclose retrieving a unique temperature table from a plurality of stored temperature tables within the cooking appliance, the unique temperature table being directly associated with the determined accessory type of the at least one cooking accessory.
However, Gregory discloses, the device provides a selection of cooking programs “specifically tailored to the type of accessory” that include “specific cooking durations, [and] temperatures.” [para 32] A number of stored temperature tables relating to the accessories is implicit, as these tables would be required for the oven to accurately control the temperature of the cooking cycles. In other words, a temperature table directly associated with the accessory type is selected from the plurality of stored cooking program options, and thus, meets this limitation.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the instant application to incorporate the selection and retrieval of temperature tables associated with the determined device type as disclosed in Gregory with Koch. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize Gregory could be combined with Koch with a reasonable expectation of success because they are both related to the communication of powered cooking accessories within an appliance assembly. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of Gregory with Koch because Gregory discloses these features allow the cooking assembly to facilitate communication between components so the oven can “provide specific functionality related to the control of the accessory.” [para. 2] The claimed features help improve user experience and overall utility of appliance as a user can more easily utilize the full range of functionality of the appliance and its accessories and allows the oven to easily accommodate a variety of cooking accessories. Accordingly, claims 2 and 8 are rejected as obvious over Koch further in view of Gregory.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koch et al. in view of Gregory as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Mok et al.
As discussed above, all of the limitations of claim 2 are disclosed by Koch in view of Gregory.
Regarding claim 3, neither Koch nor Gregory discloses a user interface that emits a request to identify the accessory type and receives the selection. Koch implicitly discloses a user interface capable of processing requests and selections as Koch discloses using the apparatus for the “automated control of the cooking appliance … to control a cooking process for a food,” based on user instructions, but does not explicitly disclose the controller operation as claimed. [para. 9] (Examiner Note: Koch clearly requires a user interface in order to implement the step of cooking cycle selection. However, Koch does not disclose manual identification of the accessory to be used with the oven.) Gregory discloses a user interface that requests and receives selections for cooking cycles, but does not disclose a step requiring the user to identify the sensor type. [para. 25, 32]
However, Mok discloses a user interface with “a display for indicating electrode programming information… a keypad or buttons for user requested inputs… and LEDs for visually indicating error, alarm or programming status,” [para. 48] wherein each electrode (sensor) is provided with “its own sensor serial number and user-selected ID number.” [para 46] This identification is a coded command that requires the user to manually select the identification code from the interface via the DIP switch, and then the data is encoded into the controller for subsequent operation. [para. 40, 52] In other words, the user interface emits a request to identify the sensor (via request for user to encode on the DIP switch) and then receives the selection to produce the sensor readings, and thus, reads onto this limitation.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the instant application to incorporate an operation of emitting a request to identify the accessory type and receiving the selection as disclosed in Mok with the user interface as disclosed in Koch in view of Gregory. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize Mok could be combined with Koch with a reasonable expectation of success because they are both related to user interfaces in the identification and control of sensors. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of Mok because manual input of sensor identification information makes it more customizable for the user experience, creates fewer potential points of failure, and decreases the complexity and processing power of the control system. Furthermore, it is well within the ordinary skill of an artisan to modify a controller designed for automatic detection of a sensor to instead require manual user input of sensor information. Accordingly, claim 3 is rejected as obvious over Koch in view of Gregory, and further in view of Mok.
Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koch in view of Gregory, and further in view of Gross (EP 3527894).
Regarding Claim 19, Koch discloses,
A cooking appliance assembly [Fig. 1], comprising:
a cooking appliance defining a port comprising a socket [Fig. 1 (105)] (Examiner Note: Koch discloses a socket (105) for receiving the plug (104) of the sensor (102), and thus necessarily contains a port to receive the socket-plug connection.);
at least one cooking accessory [Fig. 1 (102)] selectively coupled to the port [Fig. 1, paras. 59] (Examiner Note: As discussed above, the socket is necessarily contained in a port, and thus the socket-plug connection in Koch will necessarily couple the accessory to the port.), the at least one cooking accessory comprising:
an accessory sensor [Fig. 1 (102)];
a plug [Fig. 1 (104)] selectively engaged with the socket [Fig. 1 (105)];
a first resistive element [Fig. 1 (109)] integrated with the plug [Fig. 1 (104)] for contact engagement within the socket [Fig. 1 (112)] (Examiner Note: Koch discloses the first resistive element (109) is connected to the plug through terminal A to the first plug contact (112). Under the plain meaning, an integrated system combines distinct components into a single functioning whole. Accordingly, Koch can be understood to disclose a first resistive element integrated with the plug via the terminal A that connects the resistive element with the contact element (112) of the plug, and thus, creates an integrated circuit allowing contact engagement with the plug and the resistor (109)), the first resistive element being configured to obtain a voltage change relating to the cooking accessory [Paras. 9, 26] (Examiner Note: As discussed above, Koch discloses the voltage across the first resistive element (109) related to the temperature measured by the cooking accessory.);
a second resistive element [Fig. 1 (110)] integrated with the plug for contact engagement within the socket [Fig. 1 (113)] (Examiner Note: Similarly as above, Koch is construed to disclose a second resistive element (110) integrated with the plug for contact engagement as the Terminal B integrates the resistor with the plug via connection with second contact element (113).) and positioned adjacent to the first resistive element [Fig. 1],
and a controller having a memory [Fig. 1 (107)] (Examiner Note: Koch discloses a controller (107) that performs the detection and sensing functions of the device. As a controller is a processor with memory, it is a controller with memory.), the controller configured to perform an operation, the operation comprising:
determining an accessory type of the at least one cooking accessory engaged with the socket of the cooking appliance; [Para. 34] (Examiner Note: Koch discloses that the controller is configured to determine whether a 1- or 3-point gravitometer is present, and thus discloses accessory identification.)
Koch does not disclose the second resistive element having a predetermined, constant resistance value specific to a type of the at least one cooking accessory to adjust a resolution of a determined voltage change sensed by the accessory sensor (Examiner Note: While Koch teaches an additional resistor associated with the cooking accessory in order to increase the resolution of an accessory sensor (discussed in Claim 1 above), the second resistive element in Koch is a variable resistance (i.e. switches between a null and non-null value).);
a memory storing a plurality of distinct temperature conversion data sets , the controller configured to perform an operation, the operation comprising:
selecting a corresponding temperature table or equation based on the determined type of the at least one cooking accessory. (Examiner Note: Koch discloses a controller with memory, but not a controller configured for the claimed operation.)
However, Gregory teaches, a memory storing a plurality of distinct temperature conversion data sets [Gregory: Para. 32] (Examiner Note: As discussed above, Gregory discloses, a controller (i.e. a processor with memory) with a plurality of stored cooking programs “specifically tailored to the type of accessory,” and thus discloses this limitation.), the controller configured to perform an operation, the operation comprising:
selecting a corresponding temperature table or equation based on the determined type of the at least one cooking accessory [Gregory: Para. 25] (Examiner Note: As discussed above, Gregory discloses a cooking system with programmed options configured for each accessory (10) identified with specific operations associated with user selections and the accessory capabilities and thus teaches this limitation).
Gregory is in the same field of invention as the application because they are both related to cooking systems configured for detection and operation of powered cooking accessories, and thus qualifies as analogous art. [MPEP 2141.01(a)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Koch with the controller configuration in Gregory in order to improve control and functionality of the cooking system. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Gregory could be combined with Koch with a reasonable expectation of success as they both relate to cooking systems configured for detection and operation of powered cooking accessories. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate the controller disclosed in Gregory in order to provide “provide specific functionality related to the control of the accessory.” [Gregory: para. 2]
Neither Koch nor Gregory disclose the second resistive element having a predetermined, constant resistance value specific to a type of the at least one cooking accessory to adjust a resolution of a determined voltage change sensed by the accessory sensor.
However, Gross teaches the second resistive element having a predetermined, constant resistance value [Gross: Paras. 56, 65] specific to a type of the at least one cooking accessory to adjust a resolution of a determined voltage change sensed by the accessory sensor [Gross: Paras. 49-50] (Examiner Note: Gross discloses a cooking system for detecting and operating accessory devices (110) where each accessory device has a fixed resistance for providing identification of each cooking accessory. Gross further teaches that coding of each accessory device (i.e. configuring the system for each accessory is affected by means of different resistors and different strengths for identifying the accessory, and thus further discloses using the sensor to adjust the sensor resolution as the coding is affected by the detected strength.)
Gross is in the same field of invention as the application because they are both related to controller operated cooking systems, and thus qualifies as analogous art. [MPEP 2141.01(a)]
It is obvious to substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results. [MPEP 2143(B)] The MPEP states the prior art must: (1) teach a device (method) which differs from the claimed device (method) by the substitution of some component or step with another component (step), (2) teach that the substituted components and their functions were known, and (3) show that one of ordinary skill could have substituted one known element for another to yield predictable results. [MPEP 2143(B)]
As discussed above, Koch discloses a cooking system having all of the recited structure and function, except for a constant resistor. The resistor of the accessory device (110) of Gross and the resistor in Koch both perform the functions of accessory device identification. One having ordinary skill in the art could have replaced the 2nd resistor (110) of Koch with the resistor of the accessory device (110) in Gross, to achieve the predictable result of accessory device identification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cooking system of Koch by replacing the 2nd resistor (110) with the resistor of the accessory device (110) from Gross because the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Accordingly, Claim 19 is rejected as obvious over Koch in view of Gregory, and further in view of Gross.
Double Patenting
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,747,023 (Reference Patent 1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 17 of Reference Patent 1 anticipates instant claim 9.
The table below compares instant claims with that of Reference Patent 1.
Instant Application (18/163,634)
Reference Patent 1 (11,747,023)
Claim 1:
A cooking appliance assembly, comprising:
a cooking appliance defining a port comprising a socket;
at least one cooking accessory selectively coupled to the port,
the at least one cooking accessory comprising:
an accessory sensor;
a plug selectively engaged with the socket;
a first resistive element provided on the plug,
the first resistive element being configured to obtain a voltage change relating to the cooking accessory;
and a second resistive element provided on the plug adjacent to the first resistive element, the second resistive element having a unique resistance value directly associated with the cooking accessory to adjust a resolution of a determined voltage change sensed by the accessory sensor.
Claim 14:
An oven appliance assembly, comprising:
an oven appliance, comprising: a cabinet defining an oven cavity;
a heat source disposed within the oven cavity;
and a port comprising a socket;
a plurality of oven accessories compatible with the oven appliance, each of the plurality of oven accessories comprising a probe, a plug, and at least one resistive element adjacent to and contacting the plug,
each of the plugs comprising a unique configuration for engagement with the socket of the port, wherein the socket comprises a tip-ring-ring-sleeve (TRRS) configuration and the plug comprises a corresponding TRRS configuration;
and a controller communicatively coupled with the oven appliance for determining a type of each of the plurality of oven accessories when a respective plug is engaged with the port based on a resistance value of each of the resistive elements of each of the plurality of oven accessories.
Claim 2:
The cooking appliance assembly of claim 1, wherein the cooking appliance comprises
a controller communicatively coupled with the at least one cooking accessory,
the controller configured to perform an operation,
the operation comprising:
determining an accessory type of the at least one cooking accessory engaged with the socket of the cooking appliance;
and selecting a corresponding temperature table or equation based on the determined type of the at least one cooking accessory,
wherein the voltage change relating to the cooking accessory corresponds to a temperature change of an item within the cooking appliance.
Claim 14 (above) discloses the controller is communicatively coupled to the oven accessory.
Claim 15:
The oven appliance of assembly claim 14, wherein the controller further comprises one or more memory devices having at least one of a table or equation stored therein, the table or equation relating a plurality of types of oven accessories with respective resistance values.
Claim 16:
The oven appliance of assembly claim 15, wherein the controller is further configured to identify a cooking cycle to use with each of the plurality of types of oven accessories. (Examiner Note: This will be understood as a controller configured to perform a function to determine the accessory type, as the accessory type must be determined in order to identify compatible cooking cycles.)
Claim 3:
The cooking appliance assembly of claim 2, wherein the cooking appliance further comprises a user interface, and
wherein determining the accessory type of the at least one cooking accessory comprises:
emitting, via the user interface, a request to identify the accessory type of the at least one cooking accessory;
and receiving, via the user interface, a selection identifying the accessory type of the at least one cooking accessory engaged with the socket.
Claim 16:
The oven appliance of assembly claim 15, wherein the controller is further configured to identify a cooking cycle to use with each of the plurality of types of oven accessories.
(Examiner Note: This will be understood as a controller configured to perform a function to determine the accessory type, as the accessory type must be determined in order to identify compatible cooking cycles. Furthermore, the accessory must be engaged with a socket for any operation to be performed.)
Claim 8:
The cooking appliance assembly of claim 2,
wherein obtaining the corresponding temperature table or equation comprises:
retrieving a unique temperature table from a plurality of stored temperature tables within the cooking appliance,
the unique temperature table being directly associated with the determined accessory type of the at least one cooking accessory.
Claim 15:
The oven appliance of assembly claim 14, wherein the controller further comprises one or more memory devices having at least one of a table or equation stored therein, the table or equation relating a plurality of types of oven accessories with respective resistance values.
Claim 9:
The cooking appliance assembly of claim 1, wherein the accessory sensor further comprises at least one temperature sensor for measuring a temperature of an item within the cooking appliance.
Claim 17:
The oven appliance assembly of claim 16, wherein the probes of the plurality of oven accessories each comprise at least one temperature sensor for measuring a temperature of an item during the cooking cycle within the oven cavity.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of Reference Patent 1 in view of Koch et al. (11,747,023).
Regarding claim 1, is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of Reference Patent 1 in view of Koch et al. While Reference Patent 1 implicitly discloses additional resistive elements, Koch discloses the use of a second resistive element to improve sensor resolution. [para. 68] (Examiner Note: Koch discloses the use of a second resistive element, and further discloses that the resistor helps verify the sensor resistance value. As accurate determination of the sensor resistance affects the sensor resolution, it teaches this limitation.). One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate Koch because the additional resistive elements would enable the apparatus to improve sensor resolution, improving its accuracy and functionality. Furthermore, the addition of a resistor is well within the ordinary skill of an artisan, and they would recognize that the additional element would improve sensor-measurement quality. Accordingly, claim 1 is obvious on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claim 14 of Reference Patent 1 in view of Koch.
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15 and 16 of Reference Patent 1 in view of Gregory (2016/0095469).
Regarding claim 2, is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of Reference Patent 1 in view of Gregory. While Reference Patent 1 implicitly discloses a temperature table is selected (accessory temperature table would necessarily be included in selecting an appropriate cooking cycle), Gregory explicitly discloses the selection of a cooking cycle based on the determined accessory type. [para. 25] As described in the 103 rejection of claim 2 above, Gregory teaches the selection of a cooking cycle, and therefore it would have been obvious to include this limitation for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 8, is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of Reference Patent 1 in view of Gregory. As described in the 103 rejection of claim 8 above, Gregory teaches retrieving a temperature table directly associated to the determined accessory type, and therefore it would have been obvious to include this limitation for the same reasons.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of Reference Patent 1 in view of Gregory (2016/0095469), and further in view of Mok (2003/0109905).
Regarding claim 3, is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of Reference Patent 1 in view of Gregory, and further in view of Mok. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize Mok could be combined with Gregory with a reasonable expectation of success because they are both related to user interfaces in the identification and control of sensors. As described in the 103 rejection of claim 3 above, Gregory in view of Mok teaches a user interface that emits a request to identify the accessory and receives a selection, and therefore it would have been obvious to include this limitation for the same reasons.
Claims 1, 2, 3, 8 and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 7 & 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,449,317 (Reference Patent 2). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of Reference Patent 2 anticipates instant claims 1 and 2, claim 4 of Reference Patent 2 anticipates instant claim 3, and claim 7 of Reference Patent 2 anticipates instant claim 8, and claim 9 of Reference Patent 2 anticipates instant claim 9.
The table below compares instant claims with claims of Reference Patent 2.
Instant Application (18/163,634)
Reference Patent 2 (12,449,317)
Claim 1:
A cooking appliance assembly, comprising:
a cooking appliance defining a port comprising a socket;
at least one cooking accessory selectively coupled to the port,
the at least one cooking accessory comprising:
an accessory sensor;
a plug selectively engaged with the socket;
a first resistive element provided on the plug,
the first resistive element being configured to obtain a voltage change relating to the cooking accessory;
and a second resistive element provided on the plug adjacent to the first resistive element, the second resistive element having a unique resistance value directly associated with the cooking accessory to adjust a resolution of a determined voltage change sensed by the accessory sensor.
Claim 1:
A cooking appliance assembly, comprising: a
cooking appliance comprising: a heat source; and a port comprising a socket;
at least one cooking accessory comprising an accessory sensor, a plug, and at least one resistive element, the plug being removably received within the socket;
a variable resistance module provided within the cooking appliance and operably connected with the port;
and a controller comprising at least one processor and at least one memory, the controller communicatively coupled with the cooking appliance and the at least one cooking accessory, the controller configured to perform an operation, the operation comprising: determining an accessory type of the cooking accessory with a value of the at least one resistive element, when the plug engaged with the port of the cooking appliance; adjusting, via the variable resistance module, a reference resistance at the variable resistance module based on the determined accessory type; and selecting a corresponding temperature table or equation based on the determined accessory type of the cooking accessory. (Examiner Note: Koch discloses the use of a second resistive element, and further discloses that the resistor helps verify the sensor resistance value. As accurate determination of the sensor resistance affects the sensor resolution, it reads onto this limitation. Furthermore, as the resistance is adjustable, the element can have a unique (ie constant) resistance value for each accessory and thus still reads onto this limitation.)
Claim 2:
The cooking appliance assembly of claim 1, wherein the cooking appliance comprises
a controller communicatively coupled with the at least one cooking accessory,
the controller configured to perform an operation,
the operation comprising:
determining an accessory type of the at least one cooking accessory engaged with the socket of the cooking appliance;
and selecting a corresponding temperature table or equation based on the determined type of the at least one cooking accessory,
wherein the voltage change relating to the cooking accessory corresponds to a temperature change of an item within the cooking appliance.
Claim 1:
A cooking appliance assembly, comprising: a
cooking appliance comprising: a heat source; and a port comprising a socket; at least one cooking accessory comprising an accessory sensor, a plug, and at least one resistive element, the plug being removably received within the socket; a variable resistance module provided within the cooking appliance and operably connected with the port;
and a controller comprising at least one processor and at least one memory, the controller communicatively coupled with the cooking appliance and the at least one cooking accessory, the controller configured to perform an operation, the operation comprising: determining an accessory type of the cooking accessory with a value of the at least one resistive element, when the plug engaged with the port of the cooking appliance; adjusting, via the variable resistance module, a reference resistance at the variable resistance module based on the determined accessory type; and selecting a corresponding temperature table or equation based on the determined accessory type of the cooking accessory.
Claim 3:
The cooking appliance assembly of claim 2, wherein the cooking appliance further comprises a user interface, and wherein determining the accessory type of the at least one cooking accessory comprises:
emitting, via the user interface, a request to identify the accessory type of the at least one cooking accessory; and
receiving, via the user interface, a selection identifying the accessory type of the at least one cooking accessory engaged with the socket.
Claim 4:
The cooking appliance assembly of claim 1, further comprising:
a user interface provided on the cooking appliance, and wherein determining the accessory type comprises:
emitting, via the user interface, a request to identify the accessory type; and
receiving, via the user interface, a selection identifying the accessory type engaged with the port.
Claim 8:
The cooking appliance assembly of claim 2,
wherein obtaining the corresponding temperature table or equation comprises:
retrieving a unique temperature table from a plurality of stored temperature tables within the cooking appliance,
the unique temperature table being directly associated with the determined accessory type of the at least one cooking accessory.
Claim 7:
The cooking appliance assembly of claim 1, wherein selecting the corresponding temperature table or equation comprises:
retrieving a unique temperature table from a plurality of stored temperature tables within the cooking appliance, the unique temperature table being directly associated with the reference resistance.
Claim 9:
The cooking appliance assembly of claim 1, wherein the accessory sensor further comprises at least one temperature sensor for measuring a temperature of an item within the cooking appliance.
Claim 9:
The oven appliance assembly of claim 8, wherein the accessory sensor further comprises at least one temperature sensor for measuring a temperature of an item during the cooking cycle within the cooking appliance.
Claim 19 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,747,023 (Reference Patent 1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 17 of Reference Patent 1 anticipates instant claim 19.
The table below compares instant claims with claims of Reference Patent 1.
Instant Application (18/163,634)
Reference Patent 1 (11,747,023)
Claim 19:
A cooking appliance assembly, comprising:
a cooking appliance defining a port comprising a socket;
at least one cooking accessory selectively coupled to the port,
the at least one cooking accessory comprising:
an accessory sensor;
a plug selectively engaged with the socket;
a first resistive element integrated with the plug for contact engagement within the socket, the first resistive element being configured to obtain a voltage change relating to the cooking accessory;
a second resistive element integrated with the plug for contact engagement within the socket and positioned adjacent to the first resistive element, the second resistive element having a predetermined, constant resistance value specific to a type of the at least one cooking accessory to adjust a resolution of a determined voltage change sensed by the accessory sensor;
and a controller having a memory storing a plurality of distinct temperature conversion data sets, the controller configured to perform an operation, the operation comprising:
determining an accessory type of the at least one cooking accessory engaged with the socket of the cooking appliance;
and selecting a corresponding temperature table or equation based on the determined type of the at least one cooking accessory, wherein the voltage change relating to the cooking accessory corresponds to a temperature change of an item within the cooking appliance.
Claim 14:
An oven appliance assembly, comprising:
an oven appliance, comprising: a cabinet defining an oven cavity;
a heat source disposed within the oven cavity;
and a port comprising a socket;
a plurality of oven accessories compatible with the oven appliance, each of the plurality of oven accessories comprising a probe, a plug, and at least one resistive element adjacent to and contacting the plug,
each of the plugs comprising a unique configuration for engagement with the socket of the port, wherein the socket comprises a tip-ring-ring-sleeve (TRRS) configuration and the plug comprises a corresponding TRRS configuration; (Examiner Note: This will be understood to disclose the second resistive element with a predetermined constant value specific to the accessory type, as the resistive element’s value is specific to each accessory, and the disclosed resistive element is a film resistor with a known, constant value.)
and a controller communicatively coupled with the oven appliance for determining a type of each of the plurality of oven accessories when a respective plug is engaged with the port based on a resistance value of each of the resistive elements of each of the plurality of oven accessories.
Claim 15:
The oven appliance of assembly claim 14, wherein the controller further comprises one or more memory devices having at least one of a table or equation stored therein, the table or equation relating a plurality of types of oven accessories with respective resistance values.
Claim 16:
The oven appliance of assembly claim 15, wherein the controller is further configured to identify a cooking cycle to use with each of the plurality of types of oven accessories. (Examiner Note: This will be understood as a controller configured to perform a function to determine the accessory type, as the accessory type must be determined in order to identify compatible cooking cycles.)
Claim 17:
The oven appliance assembly of claim 16, wherein the probes of the plurality of oven accessories each comprise at least one temperature sensor for measuring a temperature of an item during the cooking cycle within the oven cavity. (Examiner Note: This is understood to anticipate the first resistive element that detects a voltage change relating to the temperature change across the accessory as the disclosed temperature sensor is an RTD.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Has et al. (WO 2020148329) discloses a controlled cooking system with cooking accessory detection employing resistive elements, and operation capabilities.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761