DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendments were received on 1/22/26. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 10 and 15 are withdrawn-currently amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (EP0318161) in view of Bergfelt et al. (ᶓ-Caprolactone-based solid polymer electrolytes for lithium ion batteris:synthesis electrochemical characterization and mechanical stabilization by block copolymerization), on claims 1, 2, 7-9 are withdrawn because the Applicant amended the claims.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerasopoulos et al. (US Publication 2019/0237803) in view of Park et al. (Quasi-Solid-State Electrolyte Synthesized Using a Thiol-ene Click Chemistry for Rechargeable Lithium Metal Batteries with Enhanced Safety), on claims under 1-9 are withdrawn because the Applicant amended the claims.
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerasopoulos et al. (US Publication 2019/0237803) in view of Kii (EP 0971431).
Regarding claim 1, the Gerasopoulos et al. reference discloses an electrochemical device, comprising an anode, a cathode, and a cured electrolyte composition disposed between the anode and the cathode. At least a portion of the electrolyte composition interpenetrates at least a portion of both the anode and the cathode; and the cathode and the anode exhibits a stacked geometry (Abstract, P6). The Gerasopoulos reference further discloses the cured electrolyte composition comprises polymeric crosslinking networks including polyethylene glycol, polymethacrylate but is silent in specifying polyethylene imine. However, the Kii et al. reference discloses gel electrolyte composition obtained by crosslinking and curing a polymer comprising copolymers of polyethylene glycol, polymethacrylate, polyethylene imine. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate copolymer of polyethylene imine for polyethylene glycol, polymethacrylate for crosslinked and cured polymer disclosed by the Kii et al. reference for the crosslinked and cured polymers comprising polyethylene glycol, polymethacrylate disclosed by the Gerasopoulos reference. The substitution of known equivalent structures involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Fout 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982); In re Susi 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971); In re Siebentritt 152 USPQ 618 (CCPA 1967); In re Ruff 118 USPQ 343 (CCPA 1958). When a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result. KSR v. Teleflex
Regarding claim 2, the Gerasopoulos et al. reference discloses the cured electrolyte composition is a single layer without an interface (the interface is not simple planar but the electrolyte penetrates into the electrodes; P66).
Regarding claims 3, the Gerasopoulos et al. reference discloses wherein the cured electrolyte composition comprises a gel polymer electrolyte (P24).
Regarding claims 4, the Gerasopoulos et al. reference discloses the gel polymer electrolyte comprises a hydrogel of a copolymer and a salt dispersed in the hydrogel of a copolymer (P30, P45).
Regarding claim 5, the Gerasopoulos et al. reference discloses wherein the cured electrolyte composition comprises a biodegradable electrolyte composition (water).
Regarding claim 6, the Gerasopoulos et al. reference discloses the cured electrolyte composition comprises an aqueous-based (hydrogel) electrolyte composition.
Regarding claim 7, the Gerasopoulos et al. reference discloses the cured electrolyte composition comprises a non-aqueous electrolyte composition (organic; P44).
Regarding claim 8, the Gerasopoulos et al. reference discloses the cured electrolyte composition comprises an organic electrolyte composition (P44). .
Regarding claim 9, the Gerasopoulos et al. reference discloses the cured electrolyte composition further comprises a lithium salt (P45).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Helen Oi K CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752