DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendments were received on 4/17/26. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 10 and 15 are withdrawn-currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerasopoulos et al. in view of Kii, on claims 1-9 are withdrawn because the Applicant amended the claims.
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerasopoulos et al. (US Publication 2019/0237803) in view of Chopra et al. (WO2021034899).
Regarding claim 1, the Gerasopoulos et al. reference discloses an electrochemical device, comprising an anode, a cathode, and a cured electrolyte composition disposed between the anode and the cathode. At least a portion of the electrolyte composition interpenetrates at least a portion of both the anode and the cathode; and the cathode and the anode exhibits a stacked geometry (Abstract, P6). The Gerasopoulos reference further discloses the cured electrolyte composition comprises polymeric crosslinking networks that may include acrylate but is silent in specifying block copolymer comprising at least two polycaprolactone chains coupled with a polymer center block of polylactic acid, polyethylene imine polyglycolic acid, however, the Chopra et al. discloses copolymer for cured electrolytes that may include acrylates but a more specific example is at least two polycaprolactone (PCL) chains attached or coupled with a polymeric center block (CB). For example, the copolymer may be a block copolymer or a graft copolymer including at least two PCL chains coupled with the polymeric center block, such as PCL-CB-PCL. In another example, the copolymer may be a block copolymer or a graft copolymer including at least one or more of polylactic acid (PLA), polyglycolic acid (PGA), polyethylene imine (PEI) or combinations thereof, coupled with the polymeric center block. These electrolytes can be biodegradable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate copolymer of two polycaprolactone chains coupled with a polymer center block of polylactic acid, polyethylene imine polyglycolic acid for the teaching of cured electrolytes polymers comprising acrylates disclosed by the Chopra et al. reference for the cured electrolytes polymers comprising acrylates disclosed by Gerasopoulos reference in order to provide biodegradable materials for environmentally friendly or biodegradable batteries that may be recycled.
Regarding claim 2, the Gerasopoulos et al. reference discloses the cured electrolyte composition is a single layer without an interface (the interface is not simple planar but the electrolyte penetrates into the electrodes; P66).
Regarding claims 3, the Gerasopoulos et al. reference discloses wherein the cured electrolyte composition comprises a gel polymer electrolyte (P24).
Regarding claims 4, the Gerasopoulos et al. reference discloses the gel polymer electrolyte comprises a hydrogel of a copolymer and a salt dispersed in the hydrogel of a copolymer (P30, P45).
Regarding claim 5, the Gerasopoulos et al. reference discloses wherein the cured electrolyte composition comprises a biodegradable electrolyte composition (water).
Regarding claim 6, the Gerasopoulos et al. reference discloses the cured electrolyte composition comprises an aqueous-based (hydrogel) electrolyte composition.
Regarding claim 7, the Gerasopoulos et al. reference discloses the cured electrolyte composition comprises a non-aqueous electrolyte composition (organic; P44).
Regarding claim 8, the Gerasopoulos et al. reference discloses the cured electrolyte composition comprises an organic electrolyte composition (P44). .
Regarding claim 9, the Gerasopoulos et al. reference discloses the cured electrolyte composition further comprises a lithium salt (P45).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Helen Oi K CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752