DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s remarks/arguments 7/06/2026 for
response of the office action mailed on 4/08/2026. Claims 1 and 6-7 have been amended. Claim 8 have been canceled. Claims 1-4 and 6-7 remain pending in the application.
to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 7/06/2026 has been entered.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks (page 5-9), filed on 7/06/2026, with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered
but are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in page 6 for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that in Kadiri, the window "adjustment" (paragraph 97) is NOT triggered by the mere reception of data (paragraph 74). Instead, window adjustment is triggered by receiving an explicit "RLC AM window adjustment indication" from the base station (see Kadiri at paragraph 95). Furthermore, the adjustment in Kadiri is merely sliding an existing window (Update/Adjustment) during an already established communication.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Kim et al. (US 2021/0392467 Al) discloses (the bearer may denote a concept including a signaling radio bearer (SRB) and a data radio bearer (DRB). The SRB may be mainly used to transmit and receive an RRC message of an RRC entity, and the DRB may be mainly used to transmit and receive user layer data. Also, a UM DRB may denote a DRB using an RLC entity operating in an unacknowledged mode (UM), Kim: [0204]. the RLC entity or the PDCP entity may perform variable initialization (for example, initialization as 0) or reconfiguration (for example, configuration as a specific value). According to another method, the RLC entity may update a reception window variable (for example, RX_NEXT or RX_NEXT_Highest) as an RLC serial number of received data+1. According to another method, the PDCP entity may update a reception window variable (for example, RX_NEXT, RX_DELIV, or RX_REORD) as a PDCP serial number (or a COUNT value) of received data+1, Kim: [0535]-[0536]).
Regarding remarks in page 7 for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that Applicant respectfully submits that the artisan of ordinary skill should have understood that introducing "periodic window adjustment indications" of Kadiri into the UM mode would force the UM RLC entity to monitor and process complex downlink signaling overhead comparable to the AM mode, fundamentally ruining the technical significance of adopting the UM mode.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Kim et al. discloses (the MAC entity may not apply the process of transmitting HARQ ACK or NACK, retransmitting HARQ, or processing HARQ to the bearer supporting the MBS as default. Alternatively, configuration information of an SDAP entity may not be configured with respect to the first bearer structure, by using the system information, the RRC message (RRCSetup, RRCResume, RRCReconfiguration, RRCRelease, or the newly defined new RRC message), or the control message for the MBS channel, and the SDAP entity may not process (for example, bypassing) data of the first bearer and may directly transmit the data to the MBSapplication layer, Kim: [0210]. UE may configure an RLC entity corresponding to an MBS control data channel, an MBS user data channel, or a logical channel ID (or an MBS) of the MBS user data channel which is connected to an MAC entity. In the RLC UM or the AM, the RLC entity may apply the data processing process with respect to the MBS data. UE may receive MBS data according to an MBS configuration, Kim: [0211]-[0213], [0241], [0542]. a size of an RLC reception window may be configured and operated as a value greater than 0 (for example, value=2'(RLC serial number length-1)). the RLC entity may perform variable initialization (for example, initialization as 0) or reconfiguration (for example, configuration as a specific value). the RLC entity may update a reception window variable (for example, RX_NEXT or RX_NEXT_Highest) as an RLC serial number of received data+1. According to another method, the PDCP entity may update a reception window variable as a PDCP serial number (or a COUNT value) of received data, Kim: [0212], [0535]-[0538]).
Regarding remarks in page 8 for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that Applicant respectfully submits that the artisan of ordinary skill would not have been motivated to mathematically reverse-calculate Kim's "SN+l" back to "SN" when combined with Kadiri.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Kim et al. discloses (a size of an RLC reception window may be configured and operated as a value greater than 0 (for example, value=2'(RLC serial number length-1)), Kim: [0212]).
Regarding remarks in page 8 for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that Kadiri does not disclose the concept of a "reassembly window" unique to the UM mode, nor does it disclose setting an initial value of a variable that defines the end point of such a window.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Kim et al. discloses (a size of an RLC reception window may be configured and operated as a value greater than 0 (for example, value=2'(RLC serial number length-1)). reordering of the MBS data may have to be performed based on the RLC reception window or the RLC serial number, or a reordering timer may have to run, to support the MBS in sequence. the RLC entity may perform variable initialization (for example, initialization as 0) or reconfiguration (for example, configuration as a specific value). the RLC entity may update a reception window variable (for example, RX_NEXT or RX_NEXT_Highest) as an RLC serial number of received data+1, Kim: [0212]-[0213], [0535]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US
2021/0392467 Al, hereinafter “Kim”) in view of KADIRI et al. (US 2021/0126745 Al, hereinafter “Kadiri”)
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses:
A communication control method used in a mobile communication system for providing a multicast broadcast service (MBS) from a base station to a user equipment, the communication control method comprising (a method, performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, is provided. The method includes transmitting, to a UE, configuration information on MBS, and transmitting, based on the configuration information, MBS data in a RRC Connected mode, Kim: [0014]):
wherein the message comprises an information element designating an operation mode for the RLC entity for an MBS traffic channel transmitting MBS data (a unacknowledged mode (UM) DRB may denote a DRB using an RLC entity operating in an unacknowledged mode (UM), and an AM DRB may denote a DRB using an RLC entity operating in an acknowledged mode (AM). MBS user data, or MBS may be demultiplexed and transmitted to each RLC entity. That is, to support the MBS, a different logical channel ID may be configured or defined for each of the MBS control data channel, the MBS user data channel, and the MBS. In the second bearer structure, the configured RLC entity may be configured to be in a transparent mode TM, Kim: [0204], [0211]);
configuring, by the user equipment, a RLC entity based on the message (UE may configure an RLC entity corresponding to an MBS control data channel, an MBS user data channel, or a logical channel ID (or an MBS) of the MBS user data channel which is connected to an MAC entity, Kim: [0211]); and
receiving, by the user equipment, MBS data from the base station (UE may receive MBS data according to an MBS configuration, Kim: [0212], [0215], [0218], [0542]); and
UE may configure an RLC entity corresponding to an MBS control data channel, an MBS user data channel, or a logical channel ID (or an MBS) of the MBS user data channel which is connected to an MAC entity. In the RLC UM or the AM, the RLC entity may apply the data processing process with respect to the MBS data. UE may receive MBS data according to an MBS configuration, Kim: [0211]-[0213], [0241], [0542]),
configuring, a size of an RLC reception window may be configured and operated as a value greater than O (for example, value=2'(RLC serial number length-1)). the RLC entity may perform variable initialization (for example, initialization as 0) or reconfiguration (for example, configuration as a specific value). the RLC entity may update a reception window variable (for example, RX_NEXT or RX_NEXT_Highest) as an RLC serial number of received data+1. According to another method, the PDCP entity may update a reception window variable as a PDCP serial number (or a COUNT value) of received data, Kim: [0212], [0535]-[0538]),
wherein the variable defines an end point of the reassembly window (a size of an RLC reception window may be configured and operated as a value greater than 0 (for example, value=2'(RLC serial number length-1)). reordering of the MBS data may have to be performed based on the RLC reception window or the RLC serial number, or a reordering timer may have to run, to support the MBS in sequence. the RLC entity may perform variable initialization (for example, initialization as 0) or reconfiguration (for example, configuration as a specific value). the RLC entity may update a reception window variable (for example, RX_NEXT or RX_NEXT_Highest) as an RLC serial number of received data+1, Kim: [0212]-[0213], [0535]).
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
receiving by the user equipment from the base station, a message used to perform configuration related to a Radio Link Control (RLC) entity of the user equipment,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kadiri teaches:
receiving by the user equipment from the base station, a message used to perform configuration related to a Radio Link Control (RLC) entity of the user equipment (base station may transmit, to the UE, a configuration for an multicast or broadcast radio bearer (MRB) for RLC AM. the UE may receive a configuration for an MRB in an RLC AM. MRB configuration may indicate a multicast/broadcast control channel (MCCH) for transmission of multicast/broadcast control messages. the MRB configuration may indicate a multicast/broadcast traffic channel (MTCH) for transmission of multicast/broadcast data. the base station may configure a set of UEs for a multicast or broadcast traffic flow. the base station may transmit, to one or more UEs of the set of UEs, an indication of the adjustment of the RLC AM transmission window, Kadiri: [0085], [0143], [0150]-[0152]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Kadiri in order to further modify receiving by the user equipment from the base station, a message used to perform configuration related to a Radio Link Control (RLC) entity of the user equipment from the teachings of Kadiri.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the described techniques can be used to improve reliability of communications via the MRB by enabling retransmissions in an RLC AM (Kadiri: [0047]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses:
An apparatus controlling a user equipment in a mobile communication system for providing a multicast broadcast service (MBS) from a base station to the user equipment, the apparatus comprising a processor and a memory coupled to the processor, the processor configured to (a method, performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, is provided. The method includes receiving configuration information on a MBS, The UE includes a transceiver and at least one processor connected with the transceiver. The at least one processor is configured to receive configuration information on a MBS, Kim: [0013], [0015])
the message comprises an information element designating an operation mode for the RLC entity for an MBS traffic channel transmitting MBS data (a unacknowledged mode (UM) DRB may denote a DRB using an RLC entity operating in an unacknowledged mode (UM), and an AM DRB may denote a DRB using an RLC entity operating in an acknowledged mode (AM). MBS user data, or MBS may be demultiplexed and transmitted to each RLC entity. That is, to support the MBS, a different logical channel ID may be configured or defined for each of the MBS control data channel, the MBS user data channel, and the MBS. In the second bearer structure, the configured RLC entity may be configured to be in a transparent mode TM, Kim: [0204], [0211]);
configure a RLC entity based on the message (UE may configure an RLC entity corresponding to an MBS control data channel, an MBS user data channel, or a logical channel ID (or an MBS) of the MBS user data channel which is connected to an MAC entity, Kim: [0211]);
receive MBS data from the base station (UE may receive MBS data according to an MBS configuration, Kim: [0212], [0215], [0218], [0542]); and
UE may configure an RLC entity corresponding to an MBS control data channel, an MBS user data channel, or a logical channel ID (or an MBS) of the MBS user data channel which is connected to an MAC entity. In the RLC UM or the AM, the RLC entity may apply the data processing process with respect to the MBS data. UE may receive MBS data according to an MBS configuration, Kim: [0211]-[0213], [0241], [0542]),
configure, the RLC entity may perform variable initialization or reconfiguration (for example, configuration as a specific value). the RLC entity may update a reception window variable (for example, RX_NEXT or RX_NEXT_Highest) as an RLC serial number of received data+1. According to another method, the PDCP entity may update a reception window variable as a PDCP serial number (or a COUNT value) of received data, Kim: [0535]-[0536]),
wherein the variable defines an end point of the reassembly window (a size of an RLC reception window may be configured and operated as a value greater than 0 (for example, value=2'(RLC serial number length-1)). reordering of the MBS data may have to be performed based on the RLC reception window or the RLC serial number, or a reordering timer may have to run, to support the MBS in sequence. the RLC entity may perform variable initialization (for example, initialization as 0) or reconfiguration (for example, configuration as a specific value). the RLC entity may update a reception window variable (for example, RX_NEXT or RX_NEXT_Highest) as an RLC serial number of received data+1, Kim: [0212]-[0213], [0535]).
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
receive from the base station, a message used to perform configuration related to a Radio Link Control (RLC) entity of the user equipment, wherein
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kadiri teaches:
receive from the base station, a message used to perform configuration related to a Radio Link Control (RLC) entity of the user equipment (base station may transmit, to the UE, a configuration for an multicast or broadcast radio bearer (MRB) for RLC AM. the UE may receive a configuration for an MRB in an RLC AM. MRB configuration may indicate a multicast/broadcast control channel (MCCH) for transmission of multicast/broadcast control messages. the MRB configuration may indicate a multicast/broadcast traffic channel (MTCH) for transmission of multicast/broadcast data. the base station may configure a set of UEs for a multicast or broadcast traffic flow. the base station may transmit, to one or more UEs of the set of UEs, an indication of the adjustment of the RLC AM transmission window. the user equipment may receive the data packet by using the multicast RLC entity or the unicast RLC entity based on a configuration of the access network device, and then deliver the data packet to the multicast PDCP layer, Kadiri: [0085], [0143], [0150]-[0152], [0288]), wherein
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Kadiri in order to further modify receiving from the base station, a message used to perform configuration related to a Radio Link Control (RLC) entity of the user equipment from the teachings of Kadiri.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the described techniques can be used to improve reliability of communications via the MRB by enabling retransmissions in an RLC AM (Kadiri: [0047]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses:
A user equipment in a mobile communication system for providing a multicast broadcast service (MBS) from a base station to the user equipment, the user equipment comprising a processor and a memory coupled to the processor, the processor configured to (a method, performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, is provided. The method includes receiving configuration information on a MBS, The UE includes a transceiver and at least one processor connected with the transceiver. The at least one processor is configured to receive configuration information on a MBS, Kim: [0013], [0015])
wherein the message comprises an information element designating an operation mode for the RLC entity for an MBS traffic channel transmitting MBS data (a unacknowledged mode (UM) DRB may denote a DRB using an RLC entity operating in an unacknowledged mode (UM), and an AM DRB may denote a DRB using an RLC entity operating in an acknowledged mode (AM). MBS user data, or MBS may be demultiplexed and transmitted to each RLC entity. That is, to support the MBS, a different logical channel ID may be configured or defined for each of the MBS control data channel, the MBS user data channel, and the MBS. In the second bearer structure, the configured RLC entity may be configured to be in a transparent mode TM, Kim: [0204], [0211]);
configure a RLC entity based on the message (UE may configure an RLC entity corresponding to an MBS control data channel, an MBS user data channel, or a logical channel ID (or an MBS) of the MBS user data channel which is connected to an MAC entity, Kim: [0211]);
receive MBS data from the base station (UE may receive MBS data according to an MBS configuration, Kim: [0212], [0215], [0218], [0542]); and
UE may configure an RLC entity corresponding to an MBS control data channel, an MBS user data channel, or a logical channel ID (or an MBS) of the MBS user data channel which is connected to an MAC entity. In the RLC UM or the AM, the RLC entity may apply the data processing process with respect to the MBS data. UE may receive MBS data according to an MBS configuration, Kim: [0211]-[0213], [0241], [0542]),
configure, a size of an RLC reception window may be configured and operated as a value greater than O (for example, value=2'(RLC serial number length-1)). the RLC entity may perform variable initialization (for example, initialization as 0) or reconfiguration (for example, configuration as a specific value). the RLC entity may update a reception window variable (for example, RX_NEXT or RX_NEXT_Highest) as an RLC serial number of received data+1. According to another method, the PDCP entity may update a reception window variable as a PDCP serial number (or a COUNT value) of received data, Kim: [0212], [0535]-[0538]),
wherein the variable defines an end point of the reassembly window (a size of an RLC reception window may be configured and operated as a value greater than 0 (for example, value=2'(RLC serial number length-1)). reordering of the MBS data may have to be performed based on the RLC reception window or the RLC serial number, or a reordering timer may have to run, to support the MBS in sequence. the RLC entity may perform variable initialization (for example, initialization as 0) or reconfiguration (for example, configuration as a specific value). the RLC entity may update a reception window variable (for example, RX_NEXT or RX_NEXT_Highest) as an RLC serial number of received data+1, Kim: [0212]-[0213], [0535]).
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
receive from the base station, a message used to perform configuration related to a Radio Link Control (RLC) entity of the user equipment, wherein
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kadiri teaches:
receive from the base station, a message used to perform configuration related to a Radio Link Control (RLC) entity of the user equipment (base station may transmit, to the UE, a configuration for an multicast or broadcast radio bearer (MRB) for RLC AM. the UE may receive a configuration for an MRB in an RLC AM. MRB configuration may indicate a multicast/broadcast control channel (MCCH) for transmission of multicast/broadcast control messages. the MRB configuration may indicate a multicast/broadcast traffic channel (MTCH) for transmission of multicast/broadcast data. the base station may configure a set of UEs for a multicast or broadcast traffic flow. the base station may transmit, to one or more UEs of the set of UEs, an indication of the adjustment of the RLC AM transmission window, Kadiri: [0085], [0143], [0150]-[0152]), wherein
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Kadiri in order to further modify receiving from the base station, a message used to perform configuration related to a Radio Link Control (RLC) entity of the user equipment from the teachings of Kadiri.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the described techniques can be used to improve reliability of communications via the MRB by enabling retransmissions in an RLC AM (Kadiri: [0047]).
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kadiri and in
further view of HUANG et al. (US 2020/0323024 Al, hereinafter “Huang”).
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of Kadiri teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Kim in view of Kadiri does not explicitly disclose:
The communication control method according to claim 1, wherein
the information element designates, as the operation mode of the RLC entity, a first mode in which automatic retransmission control is performed and/or a second mode in which the automatic retransmission control is not performed.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Huang teaches:
the information element designates, as the operation mode of the RLC entity, a first mode in which automatic retransmission control is performed and/or a second mode in which the automatic retransmission control is not performed (The RLC configuration information may be a corresponding acknowledged mode (acknowledged mode, AM) RLC configuration or an unacknowledged mode (Unacknowledged Mode, UM) RLC configuration, and a mapping relationship between the RLC configuration and a logical channel, to be specific, the RLC configuration may be mapped to a unicast logical channel or a multicast logical channel, or may be mapped to both a unicast logical channel and a multicast logical channel. The PDCP configuration information may include a mapping relationship between a PDCP layer and the RLC configuration and indication information indicating that the PDCP layer supports a retransmission function. retransmission initiated by the multicast RLC entity may be performed at an RLC PDU granularity, Huang: [0225], [0289]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim and Kadiri in view of Huang in order to further modify the information element designates, as an operation mode of the RLC entity, a first mode in which automatic retransmission control is performed from the teachings of Huang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because a communication method and a
related product are provided, to improve the transmission efficiency of the multicast communication (Huang: [0006]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of Kadiri teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Kim further discloses:
the message further comprises an identifier identifying the MBS traffic channel (UE may configure an RLC entity corresponding to an MBS control data channel, an MBS user data channel, or a logical channel ID (or an MBS) of the MBS user data channel which is connected to an MAC entity, Kim: [0213]), and
Kim in view of Kadiri does not explicitly disclose:
the information element is associated with the identifier.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Huang teaches:
the information element is associated with the identifier (multicast service receiving information carries a multicast service identifier, Huang: [0207]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim and Kadiri in view of Huang in order to further modify the information element that is associated with the identifier from the teachings of Huang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because a communication method and a
related product are provided, to improve the transmission efficiency of the multicast communication (Huang: [0006]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim-Kadiri-Huang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Kim further discloses:
The communication control method according to claim 2, further comprising:
configuring the operation mode of the RLC entity in accordance with the information element when the user equipment is in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connected state (a base station or a network supports a multicast or broadcast service (MBS) for a terminal in an RRC connected mode, an RRC inactive mode, or an RRC idle mode by configuring the MBS by using system information, an RRC message, or a control message for an MBS channel or a structure of a bearer that is established for the terminal to receive the MBS. When the UE in the RRC connected mode, the RRC inactive mode, or the RRC idle mode is configured to process the process of transmitting HARQ ACK or NACK, retransmitting HARQ. base station may perform retransmission of the MBS data only for the UE in the RRC connected mode, the RRC idle mode, or the RRC inactive mode, which transmits NACK or indicates an unsuccessful reception through the transport resource, Kim: [0026], [0212]), and
configuring the second mode regardless of the information element when the user equipment is in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state (a base station or a network supports a multicast or broadcast service (MBS) for a terminal in an RRC connected mode, an RRC inactive mode, or an RRC idle mode by configuring the MBS by using system information, an RRC message, or a control message for an MBS channel or a structure of a bearer that is established for the terminal to receive the MBS. When the UE in the RRC connected mode, the RRC inactive mode, or the RRC idle mode is configured to process the process of transmitting HARQ ACK or NACK, retransmitting HARQ. base station may perform retransmission of the MBS data only for the UE in the RRC connected mode, the RRC idle mode, or the RRC inactive mode, which transmits NACK or indicates an unsuccessful reception through the transport resource, Kim: [0026], [0212]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension
of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
be directed to SANG C LEE whose telephone number is (703)756-1461. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00AM-5:00PM EST.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467